Virat Kohli - The Mega Discussion

Seriously? Kohli getting stick.... The guy will get 50+ international hundred. Flat track bully? Lets be honest Pakistan could do with some FTBs of Virats quality, the way India could do with some of Pakistans pace bowlers.

Personally for me, I love the way Inzamam used to bat. So I wanted to check how often Inzi would get 50/50+ scores in ODIs. Below are the numbers for some of the modern day wonderful ODI batsmen. I am not good with statsguru so if someone wants to do a more refined version of this go ahead. Kohli is ahead of some of the very big names mentioned below except for Hashim Amla and that just shows what a player Amla has turned out to be.

As for flat track bully and all that, at the end of the day you have to score in whatever pitch is laid in front of you. So shut up and perform. Its not their fault they are made to play on such pitches.

Inzi - 3.76
Yousuf - 3.45

Sachin - 3.11
Dravid - 3.35
Sehwag - 4.58
kohli - 2.55

Ponting - 3.26
Amla - 2.07
Kallis - 3.01

James producing the usual rubbish he has been doing of late. You were a lot better when you were Whippy.

What? Is Kohli getting stick for today's failure?

It was a t20 game and he got out trying to play a big shot... lol big deal. He is by far the best young batsman in the world and already has an int'l record seasoned cricketers would envy.

People here are crazy.

No one compared Afridi to Kohli.

Kohli is better than Umar Akmal, Yes, but how the hell does Junior come into this discussion?

Kohli has flaws? YES! Almost every batsman has some flaws.

Kohli struggling against pace? That really depends, I dont think even Amla or Cook would have done very well if they had faced M Irfan there.

Is Kohli a great? NO

Is he the best batsman in Subcontinent? In ODIs = Yes, Test Matches = No

People jumping on the gun after he failed today....

Kohli is not some one who will end up with stats like Sachin, Ponting etc. Judging him by his temperament, he looks more like someone who willl end up with around 20-25 hundreds in tests. I am not totally sure about him putting in the hard yakka when the things get difficult.

Fine. If he can at least be somebody like a Ross Taylor, it's fine.

He is definitely one of the best batsmen currently , however , his dismissal today and his reaction was just \o/

[utube]CnEj5Ukvo98[/utube]

Didn't yuvraj complement for doing just that, reflecting on where he himself failed ? . .

He'll be a lot bigger than Ross.

I think you're underestimating Taylor there, who's all class across all formats and a certified match-winner. To say that Kohli will be better than him says that he'll be up there with Sangakkara/Ponting/Dravid........well, looks unlikely as of now doesn't it?

And I'm not just saying that because of this T20 innings. It's more because he's struggled in more test innings than he's succeeded in, and the skewed stats show this.

He did exactly that at Nagpur. The guy was flopping and he stuck it out and got a gritty hundred. He has toned down his cockiness remarkably and works very hard. He is not a great yet but he is a very promising player who if he continues down this path will taste great success.

Huh? Ross Taylor is a good batsman. It's not like I was referring to Dwayne Smith or Ravi Bopara or anybody.

If you look at the greats of the contemporary game, and the rung right below that, Taylor will find himself in the latter category. He's won enough tests/ODIs to be considered as such.

He did exactly that at Nagpur. The guy was flopping and he stuck it out and got a gritty hundred. He has toned down his cockiness remarkably and works very hard. He is not a great yet but he is a very promising player who if he continues down this path will taste great success.
Yeah that was quite a desperate situation and he was like fighting for his place! Well done to the boy but he also flopped in six innings prior to that in his home conditions. And Eng bowling until the 3rd test when Jimmy came to the party was not that frightening at all.

And all people dissing Taylor, both the current Pak and Ind line ups would be many times better with Taylor in it.

People felt Gibbs would become an ATG he when burst on to the stage and he was much more gifted than Kohli.

Yeah that was quite a desperate situation and he was like fighting for his place! Well done to the boy but he also flopped in six innings prior to that in his home conditions. And Eng bowling until the 3rd test when Jimmy came to the party was not that frightening at all.

And I don't have a clue whether indeed it is a mental issue or not, but he seems to score runs only in the last game of any series / when the cause is lost / a dead situation. Bit worrying.

Well Gibbs was a few steps below being an ATG. Always threatened to break into that league. The 175 vs Aus was pure trendsetting stuff. You cannot dismiss it as just another ODI knock.

Look at Samuels. He was called the next :viv. But failed miserably. Everybody wrote him off. Look at him now. Gibbs and Samuels always struck me as lazy the latter even more so. But Samuels has worked hard and is now a very good player.

And I agree that Taylor is grossly underrated. An excellent batsman.

And to top off what I said, I have never seen a Sachin or a Ponting hit a full toss straight to a fielder in a test match.

Quoting you again, but you're referring to the Mumbai test, an occasion in which it was forgivable. Bloke was getting jammed up at the crease and pegged back with dot after dot that he mentally 'leapt' on receiving a hittable ball and shot it straight down a fielder's throat.

I can think of several worse circumstances than that, by players who're more experienced than Kohli. None more so than the guy who bats at #4 in that innings itself.

As big a Flat Track Bully as they come...gone for a big Anda against a bit of inswing...

Can't play any bit of seam or bounce...somebody make some roads so that this typical indian FTB can pad up his stats...like his 13 ODI hundreds courtesy of pathetic/mediocre attacks on batting tracks...

I wouldnt discredit him. Hes been a class act, and he will make a comeback-just hope its not against Pakistan thou.

Can you PLEASE give credit to the bowler?
The way Junaid has bowled today, he could have troubled some of the greats
Kohli is a class act, and comments like this just express jealousy towards him

I wouldnt discredit him. Hes been a class act, and he will make a comeback-just hope its not against Pakistan thou.

He is doing that perfectly well on his own everytime he steps on the field against Lankans, Bangers or Kiwis on flat roads...

As big a Flat Track Bully as they come...gone for a big Anda against a bit of inswing...

Can't play any bit of seam or bounce...somebody make some roads so that this typical indian FTB can pad up his stats...like his 13 ODI hundreds courtesy of pathetic/mediocre attacks on batting tracks...

Dude, calm down...he has been outdone by a very good delivery...form is temporary, class is permanent.

Can you PLEASE give credit to the bowler?
The way Junaid has bowled today, he could have troubled some of the greats
Kohli is a class act, and comments like this just express jealousy towards him

Jealousy? Sorry I am not Umar Akmal who is equally pathetic mind you...

He was undone by some great bowling. I won't ridicule him but appreciate the bowler. Kohli is a class in ODIs and he has proved that everywhere...

This recent trend of bumping threads after every innings is lame and is getting ridiculous

Kohli has proven himself to be a class player, the odd low score doesn't change that

False prophet. A genuine FTB. Has failed under pressure, unfavourable batting conditions just too many times. Shame. :(

Out of everybody you should be supporting him.

The awkward moment when a Pakistani supports and backs an Indian batsman. He is a class player, and he can make a comeback (just hope its no in this series).

This recent trend of bumping threads after every innings is lame and is getting ridiculous

Kohli has proven himself to be a class player, the odd low score doesn't change that

Odd low score? the odd low scores are more of a long trend starting with the arrival of English and from the test series to now against Pakistan...

Against probably the top-3 bowling line up Pak and Eng...the higher score (extremely slow 3rd innings century in a dead rubber on a batting pitching) was the oddity, not the low scores...

Dude no one can score in every game or every series heavily. He's bound to fail just like everyone else. He has played some very good innings in South Africa too.

Odd low score? the odd low scores are more of a long trend starting with the arrival of English and from the test series to now against Pakistan...

Against probably the top-3 bowling line up Pak and Eng...the higher score (extremely slow 3rd innings century in a dead rubber on a batting pitching) was the oddity, not the low scores...

The series has just started, I suspect by the end of it you will have egg on your face

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Out of everybody you should be supporting him.

The awkward moment when a Pakistani supports and backs an Indian batsman. He is a class player, and he can make a comeback (just hope its no in this series).

I think f_c was being sarcastic

People are insane....bumping threads...changing opinions after every ininings....well if that keeps you busy :D

The series has just started, I suspect by the end of it you will have egg on your face

Correction, the trend started with the test series against England...

And of course if BCCI rolls out flat roads from here in out...which is guranteed to be the case....nothing is more sacred to Indians, not even wins, more then the inflated averages of their FTBs...

Kohli failed to score in 3 back to back tests against England on flat roads..was that world class batting?just scoring against NZ-SL-WI doesn't make you world class batsman..you should be able to bat in all conditions against all type of bowlers..the moment he faces half a good fast bowler he struggles.

People are insane....bumping threads...changing opinions after every ininings....well if that keeps you busy :D

Oye bhai...my opinion hasn't changed...go back to my earliest post in this thread...

I know it hurts, but dil kay bheylano ko yeh khayal acha hai..

Kohli failed to score in 3 back to back tests against England on flat roads..was that world class batting?just scoring against NZ-SL-WI doesn't make you world class batsman..you should be able to bat in all conditions against all type of bowlers..the moment he faces half a good fast bowler he struggles.

but he learnt and came back with a century in tough conditions...same in australia...struggled 3 tests..learnt and then scored a century in the last !!!

one duck and he is an FTB??

what about his chase of 340 in 36 overs in Australia?

that ball would have troubled Lara/Sachin in there prime unfortunate to recieve such a good one early on.

but he learnt and came back with a century in tough conditions...same in australia...struggled 3 tests..learnt and then scored a century in the last !!!

one duck and he is an FTB??

what about his chase of 340 in 36 overs in Australia?

not one duck..I gave him two series against quality bowling sides of Aus and Eng to judge his class as a test batsman and he failed to impress me..yes he played two good knocks but in the rest of the matches he flopped.

he can bat on flat tracks only. against a good bowling attack on supporting wkts he cant bat for longer, we have seen that

Kohli did get exposed again but this time in a much worse fashion :kohli

Bechara kaka (24 almost 25) khoo gaya tha

Does anyone know if he is seriously injured? I hope it's not too severe for him. That looked like career threatening stuff.

Dhoni will cop it so hard if it's a serious injury.

Making your star batsman bowl. Lol.

getting out on zero deo not mean you are FTB. he is class player. he just failed today.

lets not take away credit from junaid. that was super bowling.

Does anyone know if he is seriously injured? I hope it's not too severe for him. That looked like career threatening stuff.

Hardly, at must he may miss couple of games. But hopefully not, i think Pakistanis wrongly asume that he have attitude problem like Ghambir. Personally i think he is very honest and hard working cricketer.

And the way he celebrates its because he gets huge amount of money from ads and companies expect him to behave like that. :zoni

That Facepalm is legitimate, but Umar Akmal for one has never played at home (so not home track bully) and did decently on english and WI pitches where he won us matches. (Talking tests)

Then again, Kohli has a century in Australia too.

Its happened before

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/f-Jl09flWoU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Conditions were a real tester for him today and he struggled like the others.

Poor Series . Flop in T20s - Flop in 1st Two Odis - now expect him to score a Big hundred in last Odi after series is over .

Tells you why "Don Bradman" was so special. PPers were making him look like the Don who can score centuries every other game. No player can be so consistent esp. in ODIs.

Below par series for him anyway and Pakistan has done well to keep him under pressure with some really good bowling.

Tells you why "Don Bradman" was so special. PPers were making him look like the Don who can score centuries every other game. No player can be so consistent esp. in ODIs.

Below par series for him anyway and Pakistan has done well to keep him under pressure with some really good bowling.

Don was special.

But still Bradman was playing international cricket for only a few days every year and there were long gaps between tours. These guys seem to be playing cricket for more than one half of an year! No one can match the Don nowadays. They must play less, then quality will go up.

Fail....

Kohli is a very special batsman indeed...champion of below the knee straight slow bowling...