Virat Kohli - The Mega Discussion

Ok found a clip on youtuve.

This is the type of quality, aggression and attitude we need in the team if we are to be revived. It pains me to say that but the whole Pakistan team combined is not worth half the package Kohli is.

He is going to be a fantastic captain and leader and is already on his way to becoming a legend with the bat.

The hell are you talking about? I'm his biggest fan easily. I have the same facial hair and hairstyle as well. He has signed my friend's sister's Pakistani jersey.

I'm not going to get into a ****** contest. Everybody in this thread knows how much I love the guy. :))

Don't worry. There's plenty of Kohli to go around. :D

Did you see the send off he gave Steven Smith when he got ?? Someone please post a video of it.

I couldn't stop cracking :)))

He's one entertaining guy, have to say.

Just to give more context Steve smith was giving running commentary during that over as he had a microphone linked to the Tv Commentators and this was obviously irking Kohli as Assuies were coasting at that time.

Basically he told him to shut his trap once he got out.

Kohli putting the ICC player of the year (embarrassingly) in his place and let him, know who still is the real boss in world cricket. These ICC awards mean nothing even Sangakkara has 2 of them lol.

Kohli has a history with Smithy.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nhS2SOOB0Z4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Also good to see Kohli putting Dhoni in his place as well. MSD is too soft and wants to protect his players from bans and fines but sometimes a man's either gotta let it out or let it consume him from the inside. A chhotu like Smithy must know who the alpha is.

Good on mah Delhi boy. :kohli

This is the type of quality, aggression and attitude we need in the team if we are to be revived. It pains me to say that but the whole Pakistan team combined is not worth half the package Kohli is.

He is going to be a fantastic captain and leader and is already on his way to becoming a legend with the bat.

Bro I want aggression as well but not fake aggression if you can't back it up with performances on the field.

Kohli at least walks the talk and can back it.

Yeah sure agree these current ones Pak players are timid compared to past players but the main problem is that their performances are not good enough to warrant any extra aggression.

To be honest knowing the kind of stuff Pakistani players would speak out, you'd rather have them stay silent. Still remember Ahmed Shehzad's failed attempt at sledging with Dilshan when brought religion into it. :facepalm: What a wannabe :kohli

The flick to Tait for 6 was beastly but that shot when he charged and flicked it for 4 over mid-wicket off Richardson (?) was something else. The guy has wrists of steel.

To be honest knowing the kind of stuff Pakistani players would speak out, you'd rather have them stay silent. Still remember Ahmed Shehzad's failed attempt at sledging with Dilshan when brought religion into it. :facepalm: What a wannabe :kohli

Fat boy selfie is just a beta version of the alpha :kohli

Our lot are mentally weak & kamzaur (apart from Wahab mainly).

Kohli has every right to be arrogant- the guy is a beastly batsman. Already a legend imo.

What makes Kohli the T20 batsman tick?

The guy averages 48 in T20Is with a S/R of 134 and next best is Aaron finch with 40. This is a very vast difference in T20s.
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/records/282912.html

Question -
He is neither a power hitter nor a opener yet he owns this format like nobody else. I mean he is not even a good domestic T20 batsman besides you would expect de Villiers, warner type batsman to have this format for breakfast but even they pale in Shadow of kohli. What is working for him in T20I ? Is it his strike rotation capability, his wristful games to pierce through narrowest of gap possible, positive mindset making up for lacking in power game front or combination of all of these ?
Discuss.

His ability to play risk free cricket. He has all the shots in the world and he doesn't need to play the reverse sweeps, ramp shots etc. His elastic but strong wrists can take care of rotating the strike very easily. The same wrists help him in hitting a ball through covers or mid wicket.

Above all this, he is a very responsible cricketer. You can see Rohit playing a lot of rash shots but Kohli doesn't. He is very calculative in his approach and is always desperate to dominate and win.

He averages 87 in last 10 innings at strike rate of 140. Thats incredible of him. He rotates strike well. Plays very less dot balls and has ability to find gaps at any point of time. He can hit classic sixes as well, Overall nothing beats this guy.

Who needs afridi kind of hitter when you have Kohli

It's his attitude which makes him different than other players.
Yeh attitude don't get me wrong but it's true.

I remember in 2008 when he was probably making to the national squad my younger counsin told me he is going to break SRT record and looking at the go he yet proved it he is the one who is capable of.

Sent from my SM-G900FD using Tapatalk

ATG already. Whenever I am in poor form I watch Kohli bat as he is the model batsman who is teaching OZ a lesson in manners. Anyone who denies that it is too early to compare to Sachin blah blah, should stop living in the past. Saying this with a heart as clean as a whistle with no bad intentions.

He is probably a better ODI bat then Sachin but no way close in tests

He doesn't change the recipe that works for him (ODIs), instead he just spices it up a little for this format. You won't see him trying the ramp shots just because he's playing T20s.

His game is based on strike rotation and putting the bad balls away. When he goes out to bat, India usually have a couple of overs of powerplay still to go. He uses that opportunity to get off to a moderately good start playing risk-free cricket and just getting one or two boundaries.

Then come the middle-overs, this is Kohli's bread and butter. His strike-rotating skills are really put on show here. You'll see he's more than happy to take 1s and 2s. Usually in the middle overs, teams bring on their spinners and his release shots against them are the pull over midwicket or the loft to extra cover. Both shots he has absolute command over.

One thing I've noticed is that he's very methodical in the middle-overs. He's content to just get one boundary an over and you can see he sets certain targets for himself within an over. Very rarely will you see him attempt two lofts over extra cover in the same over. Not because he doesn't back himself, but he would much rather not take the risk of charging down the pitch again.

The last 5 overs then become a little bit easier for him because he's then well set and seeing it like a football. He usually brings out everything he has in his arsenal for the last 5 and his abilitiy to pierce the gaps really helps him in this regard. I feel like he considers a single a failure in the last 5. He'll either actively go for the boundary and hit the ball in a gap where 2 is easily available.

That's pretty much all there is to him but it just requires so much skill and dedication. The reason why he's so special in this format is because his skill-set is complete. You have specialist openers that get you off to a flier, players than anchor the innings and then you have your finishers. This guy does a little bit of all 3 which is what makes him comfortably the best T20I batsman out there right now.

He was unlucky last time not to win the T20 WC as he essentially carried that Indian batting line-up but this time I think he'll finish the job.

His ability to play risk free cricket. He has all the shots in the world and he doesn't need to play the reverse sweeps, ramp shots etc. His elastic but strong wrists can take care of rotating the strike very easily. The same wrists help him in hitting a ball through covers or mid wicket.

Above all this, he is a very responsible cricketer. You can see Rohit playing a lot of rash shots but Kohli doesn't. He is very calculative in his approach and is always desperate to dominate and win.

Very well said. He plays classical strokes and pretty much plays risk free cricket and understands the value of rotating the strike, someone our Nincompoop XI should learn from.

He doesn't change the recipe that works for him (ODIs), instead he just spices it up a little for this format. You won't see him trying the ramp shots just because he's playing T20s.

His game is based on strike rotation and putting the bad balls away. When he goes out to bat, India usually have a couple of overs of powerplay still to go. He uses that opportunity to get off to a moderately good start playing risk-free cricket and just getting one or two boundaries.

Then come the middle-overs, this is Kohli's bread and butter. His strike-rotating skills are really put on show here. You'll see he's more than happy to take 1s and 2s. Usually in the middle overs, teams bring on their spinners and his release shots against them are the pull over midwicket or the loft to extra cover. Both shots he has absolute command over.

One thing I've noticed is that he's very methodical in the middle-overs. He's content to just get one boundary an over and you can see he sets certain targets for himself within an over. Very rarely will you see him attempt two lofts over extra cover in the same over. Not because he doesn't back himself, but he would much rather not take the risk of charging down the pitch again.

The last 5 overs then become a little bit easier for him because he's then well set and seeing it like a football. He usually brings out everything he has in his arsenal for the last 5 and his abilitiy to pierce the gaps really helps him in this regard. I feel like he considers a single a failure in the last 5. He'll either actively go for the boundary and hit the ball in a gap where 2 is easily available.

That's pretty much all there is to him but it just requires so much skill and dedication. The reason why he's so special in this format is because his skill-set is complete. You have specialist openers that get you off to a flier, players than anchor the innings and then you have your finishers. This guy does a little bit of all 3 which is what makes him comfortably the best T20I batsman out there right now.

He was unlucky last time not to win the T20 WC as he essentially carried that Indian batting line-up but this time I think he'll finish the job.

yeah he really is a thinking cricketer, you can see it in the way he bats, the intensity in his eyes.
It's like he sets a target for each over, very methodical cricketer.

Very well said. He plays classical strokes and pretty much plays risk free cricket and understands the value of rotating the strike, someone our Nincompoop XI should learn from.

I think Pak and WI batsmen don't understand the value of a single as Australians or Indians do. Be it the heroes of the past or constantly looking for a glory hit or the general inability to rotate the strike.

If you have 10 runs to score in an over, Australians and Indians will look for a 2, 4 singles and then a boundary. WI and Pak batsmen look for a six and a boundary.

[MENTION=137238]Anchorman[/MENTION]

Great post. If you breakdown Kohli's batting, it is very simple. His match awareness is exceptional and his batting is methodical rather than instinctive, but his execution requires a lot of skill in terms of rotating the strike and piercing the gaps.

Since he paces his innings so well with his strike rotation, he's never under pressure to hit those big shots to get his SR to an acceptable level.

Simply put, he is a genius.

Good post [MENTION=137238]Anchorman[/MENTION].. Kohli has a great game awareness, he is always calculating the next step in his mind. That is the reason he's more successful at chasing. Setting targets is his weakness as he is not really aware what's 'enough'. I'm sure he's going to break 50 centuries barrier in ODIs. But I'm more interested in how he'll go about test matches..

Very well analysed :14:
This explains why he doesn't look at his absolute best when he has to come in at 16-17 over of the innings (which is rare though).

Kohli is like two batsmen : 1 sheet anchor , 1/2 opener and 1/2 finisher.
And the scary thing is while chasing he becomes a totally different batsman and reaches beast level. That chase against SA in semi-final and how he timed it was something so rarely seen in cricket.

[MENTION=137238]Anchorman[/MENTION]

Great post. If you breakdown Kohli's batting, it is very simple. His match awareness is exceptional and his batting is methodical rather than instinctive, but his execution requires a lot of skill in terms of rotating the strike and piercing the gaps.

Since he paces his innings so well with his strike rotation, he's never under pressure to hit those big shots to get his SR to an acceptable level.

Simply put, he is a genius.

Precisely. One more thing I'd like to add is that while he's passionate about winning whenever he steps onto the field, you can sense that when he plays for India, he takes special pride and feels added responsibility to perform. I'm comparing this with his career at RCB. I'm positive he still tries his best but somewhere in his head, he knows that this is not the pinnacle; international cricket is.

His skillset is such that there are not many players that can do what he does. As you said, he is a genius. Ironically, the only person who has the skillset to replicate him is AB. However, AB has been a tremendous flop in T20Is which reiterates our point about having the skills but not being able to apply them.

Good post [MENTION=137238]Anchorman[/MENTION].. Kohli has a great game awareness, he is always calculating the next step in his mind. That is the reason he's more successful at chasing. Setting targets is his weakness as he is not really aware what's 'enough'. I'm sure he's going to break 50 centuries barrier in ODIs. But I'm more interested in how he'll go about test matches..

Thanks, mate. Interesting point about Kohli's weakness while setting targets. I actually think there won't be much of a disparity between the two averages in T20Is. If someone can actually dig the stats out, that would be great. I would but I'm on my phone.

The gulf is actually much bigger in T20's. 34 vs 80

sYYUYPq.png

As good as it gets in the limited over formats. Yet to fully develop test match mentality.

If i had to really nitpick, i would say he still has to develop big match temperament. Haven't really seen him seize the initiative in deciders/knockout matches like the greatest ODI batsmen have done often over their careers. But i would expect a player of his caliber to overcome this soon.

Anything short of 40 ODI centuries would be underwhelming for him at this stage.

The gulf is actually much bigger in T20's. 34 vs 80

sYYUYPq.png

Yikes! And this includes the 90* he made so that would've boosted that stat by 3-4. Definitely needs some work while setting a target but what a ridiculous average while chasing. Damn!

Even in tests his averages are abnormally tilted.

Averages much higher in the 2nd and 4th innings than he does in the 1st and 3rd. Clearly needs a target to plan his innings.

As good as it gets in the limited over formats. Yet to fully develop test match mentality.

If i had to really nitpick, i would say he still has to develop big match temperament. Haven't really seen him seize the initiative in deciders/knockout matches like the greatest ODI batsmen have done often over their careers. But i would expect a player of his caliber to overcome this soon.

Anything short of 40 ODI centuries would be underwhelming for him at this stage.

Don't agree with this. We was very young in 2011 WC but still stabilized the game with Gambhir.
He was the top run scorer for India in CHampions trophy final.
He played very well in the T20 SF and final last time.

Hate his attitude but the guy is a superstar.

More so than the likes of KW, Smith and Root, don't get me wrong they're superior bats in the longer formats but I wouldn't call them superstars.

He just has the 'it' factor, the others don't.

Poor from Kohli.

Smith has dominated India like no other the last few years.

He shouldn't start talking big over a poor performance in T20.

Poor from Kohli.

Smith was commentating while batting, may be thats why. It's hard to concentrate in batting while commentating at the same time, but I guess Smith's priority was commentary.

More so than the likes of KW, Smith and Root, don't get me wrong they're superior bats in the longer formats but I wouldn't call them superstars.

Ugliest batsman (batting wise) I have ever seen.

I agree, we're bloody pussycats! Saddens me when you look at our past and the aggression shown by Waqar, Akram, Shoaib, Rashid etc... And compare them to the 'yes sir' 'do as you say sir' players we have now.

It's why I'm such a fan of Wahab's. He has the attitude and presence of players from yesteryear.

never seen a batsman using the wrist more effectively..

Would look like an idiot if he can't walk the talk, even Cricket Australia's fb page has said "India walks the talk" and put Kohli's face up there lol.He still needs to keep improvising i'm sure the opposition will figure out his middle over strategy.

Wahab's performance got only better when he became aggressive ,maybe Pakistani players need to do same to improve their performance irrespective of it being backfired or not.

Didn't watched the last game but must be another great inning from Kohli.The guy is a genius.He just need to start hitting the purple patch in longer format. If he can take his avg to 50 in tests, his stature overall would anyways get elevated due to his brilliance in other formats.

Agreed.

And I think he is extremely pissedoff on being relegated statistically in the longer version despite the fact that he remains the biggest star in the game. His sledging attempts with Smith give it away. I don't think he rates Smith in his heart. While Smith has been playing on Aussie flat beds, Kohli's been fighting for evry run on Indian spin mines. He is far better than what an average of 44 suggests.

With all due respect KW, Smith, Root etc despite having better test stats are not bigger cricketers than Kohli yet.

Kohli is the alpha.

Poor from Kohli.

I'm sorry but I don't consider that domination.

Come to India and do what KP and Cook did and I will hail Smithy until then he is a chhotu.

Agreed.

And I think he is extremely pissedoff on being relegated statistically in the longer version despite the fact that he remains the biggest star in the game. His sledging attempts with Smith give it away. I don't think he rates Smith in his heart. While Smith has been playing on Aussie flat beds, Kohli's been fighting for evry run on Indian spin mines. He is far better than what an average of 44 suggests.

With all due respect KW, Smith, Root etc despite having better test stats are not bigger cricketers than Kohli yet.

Kohli is the alpha.

Kohli is a bigger and better player than kW, smith and root, at the end of his career he will be rated higher than those 3

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

He is the best bat in T20is today. Not close to being the best Test bat though but among the best in ODIs.

Don't agree with this. We was very young in 2011 WC but still stabilized the game with Gambhir.
He was the top run scorer for India in CHampions trophy final.
He played very well in the T20 SF and final last time.

I am not talking about handy 30's and 40's.

Tendulkar at 23 almost single handedly carried India to the finals or semis of 1996 WC. Viv Richards has a legendary record in knockouts and finals, Kohli in comparison averages in his 20's in tournament finals, and i would suspect would average lower in knockouts. ABDV has done very well too in such scenarios

I am not counting Kohli among very good ODI batsmen anymore but a potential ATG, and that is why i am comparing his record with the best of all times.

I'm sorry but I don't consider that domination.

Come to India and do what KP and Cook did and I will hail Smithy until then he is a chhotu.
How many tons does he have against India in the last 2 years? 7 at least, that includes a match winning knock in the WC Semi Final.

Ohh Mamoon Bhai, how time has changed! There was a time when we used to marvel the agression of Pakistani players and used to curse our Indian team!

Bro I want aggression as well but not fake aggression if you can't back it up with performances on the field.

Kohli at least walks the talk and can back it.

Yeah sure agree these current ones Pak players are timid compared to past players but the main problem is that their performances are not good enough to warrant any extra aggression.

Wahab Riaz has!!

I agree, we're bloody pussycats! Saddens me when you look at our past and the aggression shown by Waqar, Akram, Shoaib, Rashid etc... And compare them to the 'yes sir' 'do as you say sir' players we have now.

It's why I'm such a fan of Wahab's. He has the attitude and presence of players from yesteryear.

Wahab has played with Shoib Akhtar. Would have learnt from him

Smith was talking with commentators of Channel 9 while batting yesterday. Kohli gestured him that it is not television show where you would talk after he got out

How many tons does he have against India in the last 2 years? 7 at least, that includes a match winning knock in the WC Semi Final.

Equals to zero.

Even Sangakkara has 4 back to back tons in world cup. What does that prove? That he is an ODI great?

Smithy us a pretender. He will sooner or later reach his deserved average of 42.74

I just saw in some Indian daily that some die hard Pakistani fan of Kohli been arrested as he has hoisted Indian flag after yesterday's match on his house. Is this news true! :O

Apparently true. Check out Timepass section.. there's a thread on it

If he's a terrific batsman as you said, why won't he be overhyped?

Kane, Smith and Root are all terrific batsmen around the same age and even better in the longest format, but none of them are as hyped as he is.

Only Kohli in whole world cricket would have put this pretender lulloo in his place. Should show some respect, this is not BBL circus where players are allowed to act like clowns.

I would have to agree with you guys, ever since smith became captain his body language changed and started acting tough when we all know how much of a wuss he was back in the days...Ponting literally made him **** his pants in one of those world cup games while running for the catch.

When some guy brings Sanga, even when the thread don't have any link to Sanga and series is between India and Aus, it shows some insecurity :)))

yaar bass kartho, thaktay nahee ho subha sham kohi ke aagay. I believe you get a kick out of boosting india and indian players cus you know you're ticking few Pakistanis off. I understand they're way ahead of us when it comes to batting but you have this knack of comparing everything they do with Pakistani cricketers .. Either my friend you're very hurt as a Pakistani fan or you have some sort of insecurities.

When some guy brings Sanga, even when the thread don't have any link to Sanga and series is between India and Aus, it shows some insecurity :)))

Agree. Not sure what is wrong with Freelance :facepalm:

Kohli is a brilliant batsman and it is universally accepted. But also people need to realize he has some technical issues and he needs to work on them if he want to have 50+ avg in test cricket.

He is not a flawless batsman like Tendulkar/Sanga etc.

Agree. Not sure what is wrong with Freelance :facepalm:

Kohli is a brilliant batsman and it is universally accepted. But also people need to realize he has some technical issues and he needs to work on them if he want to have 50+ avg in test cricket.

He is not a flawless batsman like Tendulkar/Sanga etc.

Agree with this 100%. Kohli is nowhere near the test bat that guys like Sanga/SRT were. I'm not even convinced he's a greater ODI bat than SRT was.

Too much hype.

ODIs and T20s he has done it before, needs to up his test batting in tough conditions to really get into the league of greatest batsmen of his generation. ODIs an T20s alone wont take him there.

Too much hype.

ODIs and T20s he has done it before, needs to up his test batting in tough conditions to really get into the league of greatest batsmen of his generation. ODIs an T20s alone wont take him there.

too much hype ? LOL

This guy has 4 to 5 100's in Test series alone in AUS

Show me one good PAK player who is anywhere near close to him

Too much hype.

How much tougher do you want the conditions to be than Australia, South Africa and New Zealand? I agree that he needs to play more there but he it isn't like he hasn't done well there so far.

Agree with this 100%. Kohli is nowhere near the test bat that guys like Sanga/SRT were. I'm not even convinced he's a greater ODI bat than SRT was.

Of course he isn't. I don't even see how you use can say "I'm not even convinced he's a greater ODI bat than SRT was." You're making it seem like he is even close. But the other person brought in Sangakkara to show that some meaningless hundreds aren't too impactful.

too much hype ? LOL

This guy has 4 to 5 100's in Test series alone in AUS

Show me one good PAK player who is anywhere near close to him

On pitches like those, I bet Hafeez and Younis would get at least two centuries in our upcoming series.

Just because it is Australia, doesn't mean that the pitches were difficult, like they used to be. Steven Smith himself has been complaining about his own home pitches, which have been pathetic during the last couple of years.

On pitches like those, I bet Hafeez and Younis would get at least two centuries in our upcoming series.

Just because it is Australia, doesn't mean that the pitches were difficult, like they used to be. Steven Smith himself has been complaining about his own home pitches, which have been pathetic during the last couple of years.

I wonder why others (expect maybe Williamson and Amla, who aren’t Asian so it is slightly easier for them) haven’t done as well as Kohli despite playing on the same pitches.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...2;spanval1=span;template=results;type=batting

Hafeez? Lmao

we all saw how well they did last time pak toured aus:uakmal

Hafeez and UAEyounis ? :yk2:irfan

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pakistani_cricket_team_in_Australia_in_2009–10

Wait, wait, don't let the facts stop the hype machine, uae is the toughest place to bat and since hafeez and shehzad score centuries over there, they are the best in the world :murali

I seriously died laughing when he is comparing UAEKHAN to Kohli..

Hafeez is no way near close not even 30%

Younis maybe, Hafeez never. Pitches have been flat for long time in Australia. Earlier bounce and pace was left. Now even that is vanishing. Still pakistani batsmen have poor record in Australia. I don't see how theybwill improve suddenly now.

Kane, Smith and Root are all terrific batsmen around the same age and even better in the longest format, but none of them are as hyped as he is.

Then watch matches involving Root. He is already hyped more than anyone else in tests.

Lol at Hafeez's name getting thrown in.

Thanks for the haasa bhra. :)))

Why is it so painful to admit that someone not from your country is good or even great? Is talent only native to Pakistan..? Goddamn it... the lengths sone people go to. This is why I'm currently residing in Macedonia right now with my wife. Either there is a great player whose countrymen decide to be modest and brown nose their way into downplaying his achievements or there are the snobby ignorants who see a player of sheer quality not from their country and smear dirt on his name.

yaar bass kartho, thaktay nahee ho subha sham kohi ke aagay. I believe you get a kick out of boosting india and indian players cus you know you're ticking few Pakistanis off. I understand they're way ahead of us when it comes to batting but you have this knack of comparing everything they do with Pakistani cricketers .. Either my friend you're very hurt as a Pakistani fan or you have some sort of insecurities.

No Indian would deny the greatness of Wasim Akram, Imran Khan or Waqar Younis. We all know the capabilities of Riaz or Amir. They don't have any performances to show, but we acknowledge their potential.

Dost, it's a game. Nothing wrong in admiring good players. Even Indians would want some of the bowlers Pakistan has.. but we don't get them and are waiting to find them..