What would be your favourite India + Pakistan ODI team from the current batch?

Rohit is a selfish player and I dont like selfish players, Rahul I have watched enough to see that Babar and Haris are better than him (have much better records too) in odis. Kid has a long way to go. Dhawan unfortunately missed out as Fakhar is a lion heart and I will pick him in a big match.

And lol at Haris and Babar as average stroke makers. What next should I select Hussain Talat on potential?

Lol, Rohit is selfish, then you have Babar.:)) not sure if I should take you seriously. Not even once Rohit played like the innings Babar played against Australia chasing 350+. You have seen Rahul played enough. Then you are comparing their ODI stats and calling others are better. Again seriously?

Check Dhawan’s record in Big tournaments and matches. Again seriously?

Fakhar
Dhawan
Kohli
Babar
Rahul
Dhoni (C)(WK)
Shadab
Hasan
Amir
Kuldeep
Bhuvneshwar

Fakhar-Dhawan would literally suck the life out of any bowling attack in the world. Then there's a middle order of Kohli-Babar-Rahul that's as world class and solid as it gets. Then comes the ultimate finisher Dhoni while Shadab can join in with a cameo or a solid rearguard effort in case things go awry at the top. Hasan and Amir are more than useful with the bat.

The bowling though is as exciting as it gets.
Bhuvneshwar and Amir is as lethal an opening pair as you can ask for. Both excellent swing bowlers who are always economical and on their day can decimate batting lineups on their own. The only difference here is the bowling angle and Amir's extra pace. Then there's the skiddy seamer, Hasan Ali, who's excellent in the middle overs. Kuldeep and Shadab bring their leg spinning magic with big turn alongwith Kuldeep's unorthodox chinaman deliveries.

KL Rahul has an extra gear that neither Babar nor Haris can dream of possessing. He is a special player who can not only play the anchor role but also be very explosive when required. He has greatly underperformed in ODIs so far, but it is only a matter of India giving him a consistent run at a fixed position..

So do you think Amir is better than Bumrah? Amir has an X factor and ability to rip through the best lineups that Bumrah can never dream of possessing. He is a special bowler who can not only contain but also rip through the opposition when the stakes are high. He has greatly underperformed in ODIs so far, but it is only a matter of him correcting a few minor flaws in his bowling and working on his fitness.

Yes, we have been hearing this nonsense for years. Get rid of XYZ and this will happen, that will happen. Before you, people came to this forum with Umar and Shehzad in their usernames and after you, someone will come with XYZ in their names.

Lmao. Before Malik and Hafeez everyone wanted Misbah out of the team and then Azhar. Ever since they have left and Sarfraz became captain the team mentality has changed and we are a different side. This Pakistan team plays to win, not just to lose while maintaining some respect.

A few changes in a team can have a massive impact. Look at the CT.

So after an hour you find that. LOL!

This is what i wrote "Azhar, Haris, Babar, Usman, Saad are better players of fast bowling then Indian batting which toured recently."

No where did I say 'Usman' is a better player than Kohli and Rahane.

And as we were talking about fast bowling so yes again, technically Azhar, Haris, Babar, Usman, Saad combine are better players of fast bowling than Indian batting which toured recently (which toured SA).

In the next posts I gave my reasosn too that Usman is scoring a lot of runs on bowler friendly pitches of North Punjab for 7 years now and Saad was a class above the rest this season in extreme seamer friendly pitches.

Next time be careful spreading false info.

This is what i wrote "Azhar, Haris, Babar, Usman, Saad are better players of fast bowling then Indian batting which toured recently."

And as we were talking about fast bowling so yes again, technically Azhar, Haris, Babar, Usman, Saad combine are better players of fast bowling than Indian batting which toured recently (which toured SA).

In the next posts I gave my reasosn too that Usman is scoring a lot of runs on bowler friendly pitches of North Punjab for 7 years now and Saad was a class above the rest this season in extreme seamer friendly pitches.

So other than being clueless about batting, you are also clueless about how time works. Well done.

No where did I say 'Usman' is a better player than Kohli and Rahane

So Kohli and Rahane are not part of Indian batting line up?

In the next posts I gave my reasosn too that Usman is scoring a lot of runs on bowler friendly pitches of North Punjab for 7 years now and Saad was a class above the rest this season in extreme seamer friendly pitches

And how exactly that translates to success in international cricket?

KL Rahul has an extra gear that neither Babar nor Haris can dream of possessing. He is a special player who can not only play the anchor role but also be very explosive when required. He has greatly underperformed in ODIs so far, but it is only a matter of India giving him a consistent run at a fixed position.

If you do not like selfish players, you should have seconds thoughts about how much you like Babar, a zero impact ODI batsman who has not learned how to pace an ODI innings in three years. Haris is a better batsman than him, but his fitness is shambolic, which is why he cannot play long innings like Babar.

A fit Haris is undoubtedly a better player than Babar. It is a shame that the selectors did not give him an opportunity earlier. Babar is out of his depth if Pakistan needs to chase 300+. He kills the momentum of the innings and consumes too many dot balls in the first half of his innings.

Mr KL Rahul has a mighty SR of 74 in list A cricket with a below 40 average after almost 50 matches and was rightly dropped by India. He is a good talent (I personally like him in tests) but right now nowhere near Haris and Babar as odi batsman.

I am following Babar from his first u-19 world cup (2010) and I dont think he is selfish like Rohit. Babar plays for a batting side which has Malik, and Hafeez as its main batsmen so that is why he play cautiously plus as our bowling is superior to Indian bowling, he knows a score like 260-270 will be enough. Once Babar has the support of the likes of Haris and Talat you will see him opening up early in the innings. Right now usay pata hai k mai gya to line lag jani. Limited hitter hai yes (is improving and will improve more in future), but selfish a big NO!

So other than being clueless about batting, you are also clueless about how time works. Well done.

So Kohli and Rahane are not part of Indian batting line up?

Where did I say 'Usman' is better than Kohli and Rahane? Still waiting!

Plus we were talking about 'FAST BOWLING' and I named 4-5 players that they are better players of fast bowling in whole compare to Indian batting which toured recently. And I don't need to see them in international cricket to make an opinion. This is what glory hunters and fair weather fans do when someone performs! I am backing these guys even when they are not big names!

"Azhar, Haris, Babar, Usman, Saad are better players of fast bowling then Indian batting which toured recently."

Read this again. And again. And again. Until you understand what it means.

Impossible to pick a team.... too many toss ups. The real challenge is to pick one team that can excel in all three formats. Ideally the bowling attack should have a left arm fast, right arm fast, leg spin, off spin, left arm orthodox spin and fast bowling all rounder.

Rohit
Dhawan
Babar / malik
Kohli
Fakhar / malik
Rahul/ sarfraz/ Dhoni / karthik
Pandya / Faheem / Talat
Shadab / kuldeep / chahal / Rashid khan
Hasan / Kumar / imad
Amir / Junaid
Bumrah / Kumar

Yes Bhuv Kumar with a bowling average of 38 in ODIs is a better bowler than Amir who has a bowling average of 29.

Sometimes it helps to remain quiet rather than speak up and expose your lack of knowledge.

Vinod Kambli has averages 50 something but he isn't good as many 40 averages players. so better average don't means better players, not always.

You don’t have anything to back up and blindly coming up with arbitrary statements like your batsmen are better than Indian batsmen against fast bowling. Did you see the way Indian batting lineup played on spicy SA wicket in the 3rd test where even SA players were afraid of batting? Did you see how Dhawan and Kohli scored runs for fun on those SA wickets in ODIs?

We all saw how Pak batsmen struggled in NZ, SA and Aus last time they toured.

Dhawan
Rohit
Kohli
Babar
Dhoni
Rahul
Shadab
Hasan
Bumrah
BK
Kuldeep

That would be my team..

So do you think Amir is better than Bumrah? Amir has an X factor and ability to rip through the best lineups that Bumrah can never dream of possessing. He is a special bowler who can not only contain but also rip through the opposition when the stakes are high. He has greatly underperformed in ODIs so far, but it is only a matter of him correcting a few minor flaws in his bowling and working on his fitness.

Amir is definitely more talented than Bumrah, and he has clearly underperformed. However, in spite of been been giving a consistent for two years now, he has not lived up to the hype.

If KL Rahul continues to struggle in ODIs after being given preferential treatment for two years, he will deserve the criticism.

Dhawan
Rohit
Kohli
Babar
Dhoni
Rahul
Shadab
Hasan
Bumrah
BK
Kuldeep

That would be my team..

I was about to say most balanced and neutral team on this thread and then I noticed BK instead of Amir and I was like :danish

Mr KL Rahul has a mighty SR of 74 in list A cricket with a below 40 average after almost 50 matches and was rightly dropped by India. He is a good talent (I personally like him in tests) but right now nowhere near Haris and Babar as odi batsman.

I am following Babar from his first u-19 world cup (2010) and I dont think he is selfish like Rohit. Babar plays for a batting side which has Malik, and Hafeez as its main batsmen so that is why he play cautiously plus as our bowling is superior to Indian bowling, he knows a score like 260-270 will be enough. Once Babar has the support of the likes of Haris and Talat you will see him opening up early in the innings. Right now usay pata hai k mai gya to line lag jani. Limited hitter hai yes (is improving and will improve more in future), but selfish a big NO!

Considering how explosive he is in T20s, the range of shots that he has and the effortless sixes that he hits, it is pretty clear that his 74 SR in List A is an anomaly, and there might be some underlying factors that have contributed to that anomaly.

A batsman with a SR of 70 odd does not possess the dynamism and ability that he does. He has a higher ceiling than both Babar and Haris; potentially he is the best all-round batsman India has produced since Kohli, although Gill can surpass him.

I have also watched and followed Babar since 2009-10. It was obvious that he was destined to make it at the top level, but he is not an explosive player. However, in spite of the limitations, I do see a selfish streak in him.

Batsmen have to be selfish at times, and there is nothing wrong in caring about personal milestones as long as they do not prove detrimental to the team’s cause.

You don’t have anything to back up and blindly coming up with arbitrary statements like your batsmen are better than Indian batsmen against fast bowling. Did you see the way Indian batting lineup played on spicy SA wicket in the 3rd test where even SA players were afraid of batting? Did you see how Dhawan and Kohli scored runs for fun on those SA wickets in ODIs?

I think he missed that series because he was busy enjoying the brilliance of our batsmen in New Zealand.

I was about to say most balanced and neutral team on this thread and then I noticed BK instead of Amir and I was like :danish

You can swap BK with Amir both are mediocre tbh and are only good at containing.. If Shaheen Afridi plays for Pakistan in next couple of years I hope he can get in.. I haven’t seen nagaroti ball so can’t comment on him but Shaheen Afridi is a superb talent and hopefully can replace Amir in your team soon and BK in this team..

aik baat samajh nahi aati, Indian nay aik test match kia jeet lya against SA lagta hai World Cup jeet lia. The way they are celebrating that dead rubber victory till this day is really funny. Pakistan drew the series against England last time but you wont see Pakistanis chest thumping on a draw.

Pretty low standards I must say if you are no 1 team and gloating about a victory in a dead rubber after 6 months.

Plus as I said I am not a glory hunter or fair weather fan. I rate these guys and back them to come good even now when they are nobody at international level. Have followed enough of domestic and international cricket to make this opinion. Any problem with that?

If KL Rahul continues to struggle in ODIs after being given preferential treatment for two years, he will deserve the criticism.

So you want to drop Babar Azam for a newbie who has not done anything in internationals and domestics.

Batsmen have to be selfish at times, and there is nothing wrong in caring about personal milestones as long as they do not prove detrimental to the team’s cause.

Rohit Sharma's 125 off 128 balls (with wickets in hand) against SL in champions trophy proved detrimental to his team's cause. Batting first on a batting paradise knowing that 330 is a below par score and Indian bowling not good enough to restrict even a weak opposition like SL but still he played for his personal milestone. Luckily for Indians they won against SA otherwise it was bye bye for them. If I was an Indian supporter I would take someone like Gambhir 10/10 times over the likes of Sharma even though Sharma has scored 3 200s. Team over personal glory!

Calling Babar (who has a completely different role and limited in hitting compare to Sharma) selfish from a person like you who seeks attention and love to troll is not surprising though. I would have debated a bit more with you but i know its a waste of time.

Rohit Sharma's 125 off 128 balls (with wickets in hand) against SL in champions trophy proved detrimental to his team's cause. Batting first on a batting paradise knowing that 330 is a below par score and Indian bowling not good enough to restrict even a weak opposition like SL but still he played for his personal milestone. Luckily for Indians they won against SA otherwise it was bye bye for them. If I was an Indian supporter I would take someone like Gambhir 10/10 times over the likes of Sharma even though Sharma has scored 3 200s. Team over personal glory!

Calling Babar (who has a completely different role and limited in hitting compare to Sharma) selfish from a person like you who seeks attention and love to troll is not surprising though. I would have debated a bit more with you but i know its a waste of time.

I should have known better after you stated that Pujara is a better Test batsman than Kohli. I do not value your opinion, because you lack objectivity due to your hyper patriotism.

Rohit is no Kohli, but he is a phenomenal ODI batsman. Moreover, his “role” is actually similar to Babar; unlike Dhawan, he doesn’t tee off from the first over because he is the most dangerous batsman in the world when set.

That’s why he has numerous 150+ scores, because no one else in the team (other than Kohli) can do the job that he does. In fact, even Kohli does not have the gear that Rohit has.

I would be more than happy with Babar’s approach if he learns to finish his innings as brutally as Rohit does, who can score a 50 in 80 balls but still end up with 264.

The problem with Babar is that unlike Rohit, he is not able to go up several notches once he is set, which is he has been able to make an impact against the big teams yet.

If Babar achieves against top teams like Australia what Rohit has, you may pass out of excitement.

Your statements such as our young batsmen are better against pace and movement than their Indian counterparts, and that Haris is the best player of swing in Asia are baseless and nothing but hot air, and you will be left disappointed in due time.

Now please remind us again that you follow players in domestic cricket with great dedication and are not a fair-weather fan, because you clearly haven’t told us yet.

Please excuse my harsh tone, but don’t expect pleasantries when you repeatedly label the other person a troll and an attention-seeker instead of addressing the points in a civilized fashion.

I don’t like to make things personal and I don’t like to walk this path, be you have forced my hand.

If you want to chicken out of the debate under the guise of “oh you are a troll I don’t want to waste my time” feel free to do so, but moving forward, remember to play the post and not the poster.

Yes, my reputation is daunting, and I do raise points that are not music to ears, but you should realize that I never indulge in ad hominem unless someone forces my hand, like you have now.

So Kohli and Rahane are not Indian players
First you say All ths saad usman babar better than indian batting which toured recently and then again you said that "i didn't said that they are better than kohli and
Rahane "

Are bhai aakhir kehena kya chahate ho😂😂

So Kohli and Rahane are not Indian players
First you say All ths saad usman babar better than indian batting which toured recently and then again you said that "i didn't said that they are better than kohli and
Rahane "

Are bhai aakhir kehena kya chahate ho����

Sir ji khna ye chahtay hain k apnay shayad discussion miss kr di..
I am talking about these 4-5 guys as a whole/in combination, ab whole likhna bhool gya aur apkay Indian bhayyun ki to neendain he kharab ho gayen..

So once again, technically Azhar, Haris, Babar, Usman, Saad combine are better players of fast bowling than Indian batting which toured recently. I am not talking about OVERALL batting but about playing against FAST BOWLING. Play these 5 in one team and Indian top 5/6 against a lethal fast bowling attack and I am pretty sure ours will perform better.

There are some Bradmans in Pak domestic too but I don't rate them playing fast bowling. I am specifically talking about these guys. I know Indians will jump when likes of Shafiq will fail and quote be out of context once again so let me remind you I am SPECIFICALLY talking about these players.

I hope its clear now.

I am talking about these 4-5 guys as a whole/in combination, ab whole likhna bhool gya aur apkay Indian bhayyun ki to neendain he kharab ho gayen..

So once again, technically Azhar, Haris, Babar, Usman, Saad combine are better players of fast bowling than Indian batting which toured recently. I am not talking about OVERALL batting but about playing against FAST BOWLING. Play these 5 in one team and Indian top 5/6 against a lethal fast bowling attack and I am pretty sure ours will perform better.

There are some Bradmans in Pak domestic too but I don't rate them playing fast bowling. I am specifically talking about these guys. I know Indians will jump when likes of Shafiq will fail and quote be out of context once again so let me remind you I am SPECIFICALLY talking about these players.

I hope its clear now.

Maaf kar do sirji galati ho gayi
I agree all ths legends Saad babar usman azhar better than most indian batsman...cheers

I hope its clear now.

what did they do when they toured last time? some of them don't even play international games. what made you to think Babar, Haris and other newbies are better than Indian batting lineup which has players like Rahul, Vijay, Kohli, Pujara, Rahane. these Indian players scored a lot of runs in places like Aus, SA and NZ. all these countries have good pace attack.

I asked this question earlier, you mentioned England tour that happened a few years back. Not sure Babar, Haris, other newbies even played in that series. Babar even failed in NZ and Aus last time he played test in those countries.

When I pointed out the way Indian batsmen played on toughest wicket, you shifted the goal post to overall series loss. Are we talking about Batting ability against pace bowling or team victory here? also you were giving excuses like being a no 1 should not gloat for dead rubber win. I was not even talking about the victory, I was only talking about their batting there.

what did they do when they toured last time? some of them don't even play international games. what made you to think Babar, Haris and other newbies are better than Indian batting lineup which has players like Rahul, Vijay, Kohli, Pujara, Rahane. these Indian players scored a lot of runs in places like Aus, SA and NZ. all these countries have good pace attack.

I asked this question earlier, you mentioned England tour that happened a few years back. Not sure Babar, Haris, other newbies even played in that series. Babar even failed in NZ and Aus last time he played test in those countries.

When I pointed out the way Indian batsmen played on toughest wicket, you shifted the goal post to overall series loss. Are we talking about Batting ability against pace bowling or team victory here? also you were giving excuses like being a no 1 should not gloat for dead rubber win. I was not even talking about the victory, I was only talking about their batting there.

People reject what they do not understand because it makes them feel small. They would rather believe in some other reality, even if it is only an illusion, so long as it makes them feel bigger.

lol this is coming from you.

that Rohit's innings cannot be called Selfish. yes he was slow and did not score as fast as he should have at the end. they overall underestimated SL team in that game. If you see it, once they score 300+, thought that's good enough against that average SL team. it happens.. nothing selfish about that innings whereas Babar and Shajeel's innings against Aus chasing 350 was a real selfish innings. especially Babar's. scoring like 60 of 80 while chasing 350+ on a flattest track.

Ofcourse apart from Azhar these are new kids and I cant give international stats as they haven't played many test matches.

There is something called potential. I have seen these guys in domestic and against fast bowling to make this opinion. Players like Haris have made centuries on pitches where the next highest score wasn't even 30. Its a shame he lost his 5 peak years. Babar scored a brilliant 92 against NZ on a green pitch (his failure against Aus (was more due to Hazlewood block). For Usman and Saad I have gave the reasons in my 2 previous posts. Azhar is someone who can see off the new ball and can score hundreds.

Imo these 5 are better players of fast bowling than our old team i-e Misbah, Younis, Shafiq etc. I don't have stats right now but time will tell, I am pretty hopeful! And as you asked what makes me say that? Lets just say My Eye.

Ofcourse apart from Azhar these are new kids and I cant give international stats as they haven't played many test matches.

There is something called potential. I have seen these guys in domestic and against fast bowling to make this opinion. Players like Haris have made centuries on pitches where the next highest score wasn't even 30. Its a shame he lost his 5 peak years. Babar scored a brilliant 92 against NZ on a green pitch (his failure against Aus (was more due to Hazlewood block). For Usman and Saad I have gave the reasons in my 2 previous posts. Azhar is someone who can see off the new ball and can score hundreds.

Imo these 5 are better players of fast bowling than our old team i-e Misbah, Younis, Shafiq etc. I don't have stats right now but time will tell, I am pretty hopeful! And as you asked what makes me say that? Lets just say My Eye.

overall its your opinion. not facts. Its pretty similar to me saying Umesh Yadav is better fast bowler than anyone Pakistan has ever had. now I don't have any stats to prove that.. similarly you can even say Usman and Harris are better than Sachin when it comes to playing fast bowling.

anyway if that's what your opinion is, then I cant say anything.

That's why I don't like to indulge in these "Potential of Player" argument.This debate is futile.

Zaman
Dhawan
Kohli
Babar
R Sharma
Dhoni
Pandya
Kuldeep/Chahal/Shadab
Amir
Hasan
Bumrah

I can't think of more deserving IND-PAK ODI team.

Rahul
Dhawan
kohli
Babar ( can replace him with an explosive hitter)
Rohit
Dhoni wk
Pandya
Shadab/Kuldeep
Hasan Ali
Amir
Bumrah

I like KL (Actually, I saw him first in 2014 Duleep Trophy final - he probably hit duel hundreds in the game & then & then I wrote that he'll travel to AUS, and a potential 20 Century Test player). But, for some reason, he is really poor in 50 overs game - his List A stats are like 38/75 (probably 40/70, if I take out his ODI stats), which is really poor for Indian List A stats. He isn't young either and already 4 years veteran, so no excuses.

I kept him at 5 because there is hardly any options - IND's ODI batting is head heavy, almost dependent on top 3 to fire or bust; PAK's 4-6 are Sarfraz, MoHa, Malik is some order - easily inferior to our 4-6 of Mushi, Shakib & Mahmudullah. Hence, KL comes, for his unreal potential - but, he has to deliver soon; probably this winter & there after WC is his last chance - otherwise IND'll go to prepare for next WC cycle, when Kohli, Shamra & Dhawan will be close to mid 30s, therefore KL might not be included in the plan (Uthappa missed an Indian career for same reason, Manoj Tewari as well - missed out to cash when sun was shining).

I like KL (Actually, I saw him first in 2014 Duleep Trophy final - he probably hit duel hundreds in the game & then & then I wrote that he'll travel to AUS, and a potential 20 Century Test player). But, for some reason, he is really poor in 50 overs game - his List A stats are like 38/75 (probably 40/70, if I take out his ODI stats), which is really poor for Indian List A stats. He isn't young either and already 4 years veteran, so no excuses.

I kept him at 5 because there is hardly any options - IND's ODI batting is head heavy, almost dependent on top 3 to fire or bust; PAK's 4-6 are Sarfraz, MoHa, Malik is some order - easily inferior to our 4-6 of Mushi, Shakib & Mahmudullah. Hence, KL comes, for his unreal potential - but, he has to deliver soon; probably this winter & there after WC is his last chance - otherwise IND'll go to prepare for next WC cycle, when Kohli, Shamra & Dhawan will be close to mid 30s, therefore KL might not be included in the plan (Uthappa missed an Indian career for same reason, Manoj Tewari as well - missed out to cash when sun was shining).

KL has poor List A stats cause he played almost all his List A domestic before his metamorphosis from a test player into an all round batsman. And you know his story in ODIs.

Dhawan
Fakhar
Kohli
Babar
Sarfaraz
Hardik
Faheem
Shadab
Hasan
Kuldeep
Bumrah

This is based on performance. i.e. not potential, so I have kept Rahul out

Fakhar Zaman
Shikhar Dhawan (Rhyming names there)
Virat Kohli (c)
Babar Azam
Rohit Sharma
Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
Hardik Pandya
Shadab Khan
Kuldeep Yadav
Hasan Ali
Jaspreet Bumrah

The issue with the team is that 3-5 bat very similarly, and Sarfaraz is no magician with the bat. He is good, but given what other teams have (Butler etc), I would want a more dependable bat/WK. This team would have had an ATG Dhoni till a few years back.

Ideally, I would like to open with KL Rahul (if he starts replicating his form in ODI) instead of Fakhar Zaman. Then replace Rohit Sharma with a more attacking batsman. Someone in the mould of Raina.

Hardik and Shadab at 7 and 8, make it a very strong lower order. Though Shadab has only really shone in 1 series. The bowling of the team is very solid with the only weak point being Hardik, especially in the early overs of a match. If Hardik could swing the ball, then this is nearly a perfect bowling XI.

So possible improvements in the long run

1. KL Rahul instead of Fakhar, Rahul becomes consistent in ODIs
2. Replace Rohit with a more aggressive bat. Iyer or Raina?
3. Replace Sarfaraz with a better WK Bat. Pant in the long run?
4. Some improvement from Hardik with the ball. Or replace him with Faheem if he improves. But #7 needs to have a good batsman, so Faheem would need to be more dependable.
5. Consistency from Shadab with the bat, or replace him with Washington Sundar if Sundar fulfils his current potential.

Lokesh rahul
Fakhar zaman
Virat kohli
Babar azam
Haris sohail
Sarfraz Ahmed
Faheem ashraf
Shadab khan
Kuldeep yadav
Mohd amir
Hasan Ali

Fakhar Zaman
Virat Kohli (c)
Babar Azam
Rohit Sharma
Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
Hardik Pandya
Shadab Khan
Kuldeep Yadav
Hasan Ali
Jaspreet Bumrah

Thats 6 Indians and 5 Pakistanis. India has generally been the better team in the last 5 years . It shows you how India have been dependent upon very few players to perform and the other have been dud.

The issue with the above Indo-Pak team is that 3-5 bat very similarly, and Sarfaraz is no magician with the bat. He is good, but given what other teams have (Butler etc), I would want a more dependable bat/WK. This team would have had an ATG Dhoni till a few years back.

Ideally, I would like to open with KL Rahul (if he starts replicating his form in ODI) instead of Fakhar Zaman. Then replace Rohit Sharma with a more attacking batsman. Someone in the mould of Raina.

Hardik and Shadab at 7 and 8, make it a very strong lower order. Though Shadab has only really shone in 1 series. The bowling of the team is very solid with the only weak point being Hardik, especially in the early overs of a match. If Hardik could swing the ball, then this is nearly a perfect bowling XI.

4. Some improvement from Hardik with the ball. Or replace him with Faheem if he improves. But #7 needs to have a good batsman, so Faheem would need to be more dependable.
5. Consistency from Shadab with the bat, or replace him with Washington Sundar if Sundar fulfils his current potential.

Interestingly, if you were to add Bangladesh to this equation, you will add 3/4 players

1. Shakib Al Hassan instead of Shadab. Though I think in the long run Shadab will become the better spin AR.
2. Mushfiqur instead of Sarfaraz
3. Mahmudullah instead of Rohit.

That would mean 5 Indians, 3 Pakistanis and 3 Bangladeshis

Again, shows you how dependent Bangladesh batting is on these 3. As for Pakistan, it is difficult to draw any conclusions. Possibly that their batting is too dependent on Zaman and Azam.

I would take Only Babar and Hasan from current Pakistan team. Rest of the Pakistani players r inferior to their Indian counterparts.

Fakhar Zaman
Virat Kohli (c)
Babar Azam
Rohit Sharma
Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
Hardik Pandya
Shadab Khan
Kuldeep Yadav
Hasan Ali
Jaspreet Bumrah

The issue with the team is that 3-5 bat very similarly, and Sarfaraz is no magician with the bat. He is good, but given what other teams have (Butler etc), I would want a more dependable bat/WK. This team would have had an ATG Dhoni till a few years back.

Really Good Team.

To make it more practical,I'd make two changes

1 Dhoni instead of Sarfaraz - Kohli & Dhoni combo has worked really well for India so far.Dhoni will provide calming influence on his teammates which kohli doesn't provide;that will help the side in tough/crunch situation.Sarfaraz hasn't been great either with bat recently.

2 Mohd Amir- I must admit this is slightly biased because of his CT final spell(one of the best spell) and him being left armer.Also Something doesn't feel right with Bumrah and Hassan opening bowling combination.Their stronger suit is in middle overs and death overs.

However,Both Shadab and kuldeep deserves to be in side more than Amir.

Ideally I would've liked 3 proper Seamers and 2 proper spinner(which include Shadab as an bowling AR).But Pandya's performance speaks for itself.

Shikhar Dhawan
Rohit Sharma
Virat Kohli
Lokesh Rahul
Rishabh Pant
Mahender Singh Dhoni
Hardik Pandya
Mohammad Amir
Yuzuvender Chahal
Kuldeep Yadav
Mohammad Hasan