Would you marry outside your race?

Somali Pirate

i got a bit of dilemma. A girl from a different race has caught my eye. Now the interaction between us is very good. So good that i am considering going to her family to ask for her hand. But i have not told her yet of my intentions. I suspect that she likes me too but is not sure about my own feelings.

My brain says the cost of crossing the barrier far outweighs the benefits. But i am smitten by her! I am tearing my head here. I can imagine the frenzy my family would raise. I cannot imagine what her family would think if they saw me knock on their door.

I seriously don't know what to do. When i was in my teens i would not have given a damn to what anyone would have thought. Love was enough was my motto.Now old as i am and realistic i know it takes more than love to make it work

You don't even know about her feelings and you are ready to go to her parents? What's wrong with you? Start dating her in a romantic way and see where it goes. Interracial relationships have their own problems, so be ready to sort out all the compatibility issues before jumping to any conclusion. That's what courtship is for!

As far I am concerned, I don't have a problem with interracial marriages if you know what you are doing and what to expect in the long run. Everyone's thinking is different though.

I hope you don't mind me asking, but which perticular races are involved in this situation?

The below are some assumptions correct me if I am wrong

You are somalian (im taking a guess)
The girl your interested in is probably Pakistani/Bangladeshi/Indian

I am assuming your both muslims

There are a couple of answers to your query, as a Muslim there is nothing wrong in seeking a bride, race is not a barrier, racism is haraam in islam and a muslim can marry another muslim if both agree to the marriage & all marriage conditions are met. Thats Islam

The problem is racism is alive and well and even if outright racism isnt a factor asian families tend to want there children to marry people they are culturally familiar with. Asian parents and the asian community have a long list of wants and desires when it comes to the spouses for there children and even if they are not racist they may be against the marriage of there daughter to a somalian because you cant speak the language or dont match there cultural expectations.

On another note racism IS a factor and they may just be outraged at the idea of there daughter marrying some one from another race

There are two factors which could help you

1- They are good muslim, honest muslims and will see your proposal from an islamic perspective where race is not an issue. So you will be judged on your qualities as a Muslim and they will ignore and cultural outrage from the community for the sake of islam

2- They are very liberal and dont mind who there daughter marries aslong as they fullfill the liberal qualities they hold dear

If they are "yourn typical asians they will hate your proposal and it could even be dangerous.

From a personal note my wife is English (white), even though she is a better muslim then alot of the people in my community there is still alot of negative talk and "vibe" at the fact that I married a gori

Wait, he is not really Somalian is he? I thought it was just a nickname?!?!?

Anyways, Somali I would be careful. Not sure if you are Muslim, but assuming you are its best you first figure out if you are compaitable before jumping to marriage. A room mate and I were discussing this one night, how would it work if we hypothetically we were to marry Arabs (as you know Pakistani moms want Pakistani daughter in law).

Anyways he told me of his discussion with our local imam who does marriage counseling and he says one of the big issues (at least amongst Muslim couples) that lead to divorce is the big difference in culture and their families inability to really adapt to one another. Now, don't get me wrong, marriage is about you two but in our cultures family plays a big role as opposed to Western culture where you send your mother in law to Pakistan (tongue in cheek). The imam said a lot of people jump into these marriages before discussing key issues like customs and traditions and before you know it, they are having problems, families are clashing and we really don't want to go against our family.

That is not to say it will never work or not to go for it. As from what I have heard, marrying outside your 'clan' per say creates new and mutual feelings of friendship. BUT in today's world where culture is such a big thing, especially amongst our parents its something not to be taken lightly and you should definitely seek the help of an imam (if you are Muslim) as opposed to just some PPers (who no offence more than likely - are going to tell you to go for it but that is a bit naive as they may accept it or allow it but do not understand the implications behind such a decision).

If you both prepared to stand by each other when conflicts arises from both sides due to different cultures ?

If yes, then go ahead. Else no you are not ready.

Being married to someone from diffrent culture within India, I can tell you conflicts and expectations from both families would come even after marriage. So if you both can stand for each other at that time then go ahead. :)

You don't even know about her feelings and you are ready to go to her parents? What's wrong with you? Start dating her in a romantic way and see where it goes. Interracial relationships have their own problems, so be ready to sort out all the compatibility issues before jumping to any conclusion. That's what courtship is for!

As far I am concerned, I don't have a problem with interracial marriages if you know what you are doing and what to expect in the long run. Everyone's thinking is different though.

errrm he is a muslim

What's religion got to do with getting to know the girl's intentions? I say first make sure the girl has the same feelings and then approach her parents.

If you Are a family guy,Khandani guy,Than better not to do it.
In the start you will live happily,but difference in families will be just too much for you.
if you are not that much of a Khandani guy,Than you can surely marry,no problem.
I also Like a girl,We both are agreed to marry,and also we both are sure families will agree,but she is punjabi and I am kashmiri,She says we will have lot of problem later in our life and I agree,I am too much khandani.
wese she is an Ideal girl,If she was kashmiri or even sudhan,My family would have agreed without seeing her.

I'm engaged to be married to a woman of a different race and different religion. Sure, there was resistance from my parents but they came around. Sometimes I'll go to her family's parties and feel lonely because I have no clue why people are laughing, due to different cultural factors in the sense of humour. But we love each other and it works pretty well overall. We compromise. We're getting married at a register office instead of a place of worship.

Wait, he is not really Somalian is he? I thought it was just a nickname?!?!?

Anyways, Somali I would be careful. Not sure if you are Muslim, but assuming you are its best you first figure out if you are compaitable before jumping to marriage. A room mate and I were discussing this one night, how would it work if we hypothetically we were to marry Arabs (as you know Pakistani moms want Pakistani daughter in law).

Anyways he told me of his discussion with our local imam who does marriage counseling and he says one of the big issues (at least amongst Muslim couples) that lead to divorce is the big difference in culture and their families inability to really adapt to one another. Now, don't get me wrong, marriage is about you two but in our cultures family plays a big role as opposed to Western culture where you send your mother in law to Pakistan (tongue in cheek). The imam said a lot of people jump into these marriages before discussing key issues like customs and traditions and before you know it, they are having problems, families are clashing and we really don't want to go against our family.

That is not to say it will never work or not to go for it. As from what I have heard, marrying outside your 'clan' per say creates new and mutual feelings of friendship. BUT in today's world where culture is such a big thing, especially amongst our parents its something not to be taken lightly and you should definitely seek the help of an imam (if you are Muslim) as opposed to just some PPers (who no offence more than likely - are going to tell you to go for it but that is a bit naive as they may accept it or allow it but do not understand the implications behind such a decision).

yes he is , i forgot his old user name

but seriously , you shouldn't be going anywhere close to her parents without knowing for sure the girl is interested .

i got a bit of dilemma. A girl from a different race has caught my eye. Now the interaction between us is very good. So good that i am considering going to her family to ask for her hand. But i have not told her yet of my intentions. I suspect that she likes me too but is not sure about my own feelings.

My brain says the cost of crossing the barrier far outweighs the benefits. But i am smitten by her! I am tearing my head here. I can imagine the frenzy my family would raise. I cannot imagine what her family would think if they saw me knock on their door.

I seriously don't know what to do. When i was in my teens i would not have given a damn to what anyone would have thought. Love was enough was my motto.Now old as i am and realistic i know it takes more than love to make it work

You need to first find out whether the feelings are mutual. Going direct to her parents without first asking her is just wrong on so many levels.

I wouldnt marry outside race - its just not worth the hassel in the long run (esp if one party is Pakistani as they like to create a drama out of anything)!

A good Pak friend of mine married a Bengali girl - and a really good Bengali friend married a Pakistani because he really didnt like Bengalis who he believed were vey backward!

I have a Chinese friend who converted to Islam - who married a Syrian girl!

A good Pak friend of mine married a Bengali girl - and a really good Bengali friend married a Pakistani because he really didnt like Bengalis who he believed were vey backward!

I have a Chinese friend who converted to Islam - who married a Syrian girl!

i know a pakistani "uncle" who married a Japanese "aunty"

ah well there was also imran and Jemima once upon a time.....

damn! oxy u didnt hv to say that

but since u mentioned it....there was also a 65yr old + saffer indian uncle who married an 18yr old girl from india ye he!

Obviously a 50 year old age gap is just grotesque on all levels, and happens where females live in poor countries - its a means of escaping poverty.

But an 'uncle' & 'aunty' marrying? Not an issue like you are making it out to be.

Obviously a 50 year old age gap is just grotesque on all levels, and happens where females live in poor countries - its a means of escaping poverty.

But an 'uncle' & 'aunty' marrying? Not an issue like you are making it out to be.

not making an issue.........well compared to me most ppl are gonna be uncles and aunties so i just put it in :)

oh yh and that age gap was grotesque yah yah!
first i used to thinkk she was his granddaughter :)))

Are you Somalian and she Pakistani? :D

yes.

The thing is it's really hard when your brain and heart are on the opposing sides of the spectrum. I am know for a fact that she likes me. But she's waiting for me to make the first move if you know what i mean. Now when i was in my teens or early twenties i would go straight for it without even worrying about the consequences. I would be like ' i love her and she loves me and who cares what others think' But right now i don't want to because i am not sure what the future holds.I dont want to appear to her as a user either. The type of male who simply gets what he wants and then leaves her on the road.

In other words i am not just thinking about my own feelings in the matter but also what the consequences would be i indulged in them. I really like her alot and i don't want to cause any sort of problems or frictions between her and her family. I have alot of pakistani friends who always say their family always matter in the grand scheme of things especially when it comes to marriage and yes even my culture is like that. Mothers always want to raise their grand kids and i think to myself what about the kids if i were to go through with this. how would it pan out? u see what i am getting at?

The last few days has been hard because i have been avoiding her at work. She's only got few days anyways before she leaves and she thinks i ought to spend more time with her as a result. But spending time with her would only cloud my mind and make me stop thinking logically and i would simply make a decision based on emotion.

You need to first find out whether the feelings are mutual. Going direct to her parents without first asking her is just wrong on so many levels.

like i said i know she likes me. Otherwise i would'nt even contemplate of marrying her in the first place. It's just that i don't see the point in carrying out a romantic relationship without an end goal in sight. Because for me any romantic relationship at this point in time in my life should be last one. I am getting old and i want to settle down.

Simply having a romantic relationship and then breaking off before finding a somalian bride is something i am not interested in

like i said i know she likes me. Otherwise i would'nt even contemplate of marrying her in the first place. It's just that i don't see the point in carrying out a romantic relationship without an end goal in sight. Because for me any romantic relationship at this point in time in my life should be last one. I am getting old and i want to settle down.

Simply having a romantic relationship and then breaking off before finding a somalian bride is something i am not interested in

Tell me,he or you are khandni guy,girl?
I hope you understand khandani word,because i dont have word for it in english.
If not marry her,if you love her more than these race problem and cultural differences.

THe fact that she likes you, is the first step in achieving that end goal that you are talking about.

Talk to her, be clear. She is a girl, of course she wants you to take the first step. Tell her your intentions, and then proceed, and talk to her parents.

Tell me,he or you are khandni guy,girl?
I hope you understand khandani word,because i dont have word for it in english.
If not marry her,if you love her more than these race problem and cultural differences.

i am a family guy so yeah my family's opinion though not final is important to me. Still i am the man so my mom would get around to it sooner or later. The question is her parents. Since she's the woman her parents opinion matter more to her than mine to my parents.

Opinion for your marriage can change,but when people live together one quarrel,the bad opinion about other race comes out again.
Have people in your family done this before?

I think you should go for it then. Approach her and her family. You've nothing to lose and everything to gain. And if it doesn't work out then at least you've tried.

If you don't then there will always be a part of you thinking 'what if'.

I think you should go for it then. Approach her and her family. You've nothing to lose and everything to gain. And if it doesn't work out then at least you've tried.

If you don't then there will always be a part of you thinking 'what if'.

Yeah I agree, if anything first talk to her. Pakistani parents can be very weird and if you approach them first and they disapprove, then they may not punish you, but punish her by forcing her to marry someone they don't want too (I seen it happen).

So best you talk to her first as she knows her parents best. If she is willing to approach her parents with you, then great, at least you know you are both committed. If not, well then there are early signs of family tension.

yes.

The thing is it's really hard when your brain and heart are on the opposing sides of the spectrum. I am know for a fact that she likes me. But she's waiting for me to make the first move if you know what i mean. Now when i was in my teens or early twenties i would go straight for it without even worrying about the consequences. I would be like ' i love her and she loves me and who cares what others think' But right now i don't want to because i am not sure what the future holds.I dont want to appear to her as a user either. The type of male who simply gets what he wants and then leaves her on the road.

In other words i am not just thinking about my own feelings in the matter but also what the consequences would be i indulged in them. I really like her alot and i don't want to cause any sort of problems or frictions between her and her family. I have alot of pakistani friends who always say their family always matter in the grand scheme of things especially when it comes to marriage and yes even my culture is like that. Mothers always want to raise their grand kids and i think to myself what about the kids if i were to go through with this. how would it pan out? u see what i am getting at?

The last few days has been hard because i have been avoiding her at work. She's only got few days anyways before she leaves and she thinks i ought to spend more time with her as a result. But spending time with her would only cloud my mind and make me stop thinking logically and i would simply make a decision based on emotion.

It shouldn't matter, but Pakistani aunties normally make a big deal and drama out of this sort of thing. If oyu can handle that, then by all means I think you should go to the girl's parents

As a Pakistani, I had always been keen on Pakistani exclusive marriages only. My thoughts have been changed some what in recent years.

My brother in law married a Muslim girl of African origin who is so hospitable and warm. I am amazed how similar her nature and culture is to us and to be honest, my mother in law could not have found a better mother in law.

my brother in law and wife are expecting their first child and I am sure that the mixed race will not be an issue and will even be exciting. They are happy to raise the child Muslim like they are and that is all that should ultimately count.

Credit to my mother in law for once, she could have been a complete dragon and not accepted the marriage.

As long as she likes you, all other barriers can be overcome - You live in a civilized country so chances of an honour lynch mob are low!

If the Girls family are educated individuals then they should be able to see past any prejudices that race brings.

One word of caution - if the inlaws from both sides are too involved in your lives then this will lead to pressures.

The choice, is yours !

my brother in law and wife are expecting their first child and I am sure that the mixed race will not be an issue and will even be exciting. They are happy to raise the child Muslim like they are and that is all that should ultimately count.

I wish and hope it won't be an issue.

But I recently experienced this as my kid (though not mixed race but mixed culture) had to go thru it for first few months.

My wife and myself had to put our foot down and made sure we do what can be acceptable. Both families tried to do all their religeous and cultural things which was becoming too much for the baby. :)

Would I marry outside my race? Yes - in fact I am doing so in 5 days time, inshallah. Though we have the blessings of both families, I would still have gone ahead without. The respect for parents will always be there, but life is ones own and needs to be lived with no regrets.

The only advice - follow your heart and nothing else.

Being a product of 3 different races means that I naturally don't feel there is an issue with marrying out of race...
Tbh in your case that isnt the sole issue here...based on the fact that you have an inking she likes you I'm presuming (correct me if im wrong) that you do know her on a personal level and it isnt some know her from afar thing...if thats the case then you should talk to her first...

Everyones different and everyones family are too...the girl may have no problem marrying out of race but her parents might and vice versa...it could very well happen that her and her parents dont mind but thats something you need to discuss with her...

I know plenty of boys and girls that have no issue with race when they date but when it comes to settling down its a completely different story...so if I havent drummed it in already you need to speak to her...no-one on this forum is going to be able to give you and sort of definitive answer...

Credit to my mother in law for once, she could have been a complete dragon and not accepted the marriage.

I would say 99% parents would be dragons though.

Would I marry outside my race? Yes - in fact I am doing so in 5 days time, inshallah. Though we have the blessings of both families, I would still have gone ahead without. The respect for parents will always be there, but life is ones own and needs to be lived with no regrets.

The only advice - follow your heart and nothing else.

Congratulations Brother. I hope it goes all well for you and your wife.

Thanks for the advice and also to everyone as well. I think i know what i must do from now on. All i need is a bit of courage.

Congratulations Brother. I hope it goes all well for you and your wife.

Thanks for the advice and also to everyone as well. I think i know what i must do from now on. All i need is a bit of courage.

and Dua from us to ask ALLAH to guide you to do the right thing! - Ameen!

I would say 99% parents would be dragons though.

Possibly but 100% of cases when it comes to the mother in law.

On a serious note,

My wife said: 'Can my mother come down for the weekend?' So I said: 'Why?' and she said: 'Well, she's been up on the roof two weeks already'.

:asif

Off topic but another classic:

Husband and wife had a tiff. Wife called up her mum and said, "He fought with me again,
I am coming to live with you." Mum said, "No darling, he must pay for his mistake. I am coming to live with you.”

Would You Marry Outside of Your Culture

what the thread title says

if yes then why
if no then why not

would people also be willing to marry outside of their ethnicity?

ill start it off... me... probably not but only because i want to continue my language on which is pushto...i dont like the future scenario whereby my kids cannot speak the language and are classified as fake pukhtuns...

have also seen uncles whos children cant speak it and they are amazed to see me speaking it and then also get sad afterwards...and they are married to non pushtuns...

so just curious...am i the only one?

Yes. Kids wont be a problem since I will make sure they understand my culture and speak urdu well :)

its easier said than done though dude...personal experiences...

especially harder if they grow up abroad

the really committed ones make it work but iv seen alot of hindrances too...which prevent the child from learning the language/culture

Yeah I think would. My parents don't agree with me on this, but I don't really see it as a barrier or a restriction. And, I certainly think it's possible for someone to retain their culture after marriage.

One of my wives is from egypt whilst the other is from USA. No problems at the moment. Things will probably change when kids come into the picture

Yeah I think would. My parents don't agree with me on this, but I don't really see it as a barrier or a restriction. And, I certainly think it's possible for someone to retain their culture after marriage.

possible but very hard man...again just by what i have seen...

pakistanis + non pakistani = kids cannot speak a word of urdu or understand it...just english...and most are pretty much barely desi...if you get what i mean by that...

possible but very hard man...again just by what i have seen...

pakistanis + non pakistani = kids cannot speak a word of urdu or understand it...just english...and most are pretty much barely desi...if you get what i mean by that...

Not always true ... it depends on how they are brought up ... my cousin is married to a Morrocan ... kids fully understand Urdu, Arabic and English. I would prefer my kids to be like that.

^^ really?

that is actually amazing...and fair play to both mother and father

do u mean just understand...can they speak it too?

They are not fluent in Urdu or Arabic ... but they can hold a conversation in both. It's not bad at all.

One of my relatives married a Chinese person. Their kid is still young so don't know how he will turn out. But they are lucky, he will probably be a genius of some sort.

I plan on doing so. As long as they're Muslim it's all gravy with me.

as long as the girl is smokin hot I am all for anyone.

Its like this " Fez likes them short Fez likes them tall Fez likes them black Fez likes them white as long as they are hot Fez likes them all :)"

For marriage to be successful you have no choice imo unless you just share excellent chemistry for some reason and can understand each other without talking.

20 years after marriage sex will get boring and she'll get fat anyways. And raising kids will be hell if she sticks to her culture and you to yours.

just want to see something * subcontinentals only

below are two pakistanis

two afghanis

two indians

guys have one pick...go for one of them...i want to see if somebody will naturally go for the their own :p

i already know the afghans and it wasnt really a hard choice even though all 6 are stunning...but everybody is different...

• dot.jpg
    dot.jpg
    237.3 KB · Views: 2,189
I think I am probably going to end up marrying a pakistani. the kind of pakistani isn't really that important

below are two pakistanis

two afghanis

two indians

guys have one pick...go for one of them...i want to see if somebody will naturally go for the their own :p

i already know the pukhtuns and it wasnt really a hard choice even though all 6 are stunning...but everybody is different...

the bottom right girl is really cute. i love her eyes :heart: My guess is that she is an afghani?

chaiwala : your indian right

boi wonder : pakistani?

legend killer : your obviously pakistani

upper_Cut: just put numbers on them now and dont know which one u were on about and i really dont know if your pakistani or afghani or sa :p lol...

did i somehow just derail the question at hand? lol...

im not going to say anything till i havea sufficient amount of replies haha

chaiwala : your indian right

boi wonder : pakistani?

legend killer : your obviously pakistani

upper_Cut: just put numbers on them now and dont know which one u were on about and i really dont know if your pakistani or afghani or sa :p lol...

did i somehow just derail the question at hand? lol...

im not going to say anything till i havea sufficient amount of replies haha

how did you know?:O

Caucasians / Europeans - Blue eyed blondes. Would love to convert one and trying my best. May God help everyone achieve their goals , amen.

Bro, it's hard enough to get married normally to them. You're trying to convert one too? Good luck with that.