2nd test Pak vs. England : day 1 thread.

Ace Base said:
Okay, this is turning into a good partnership, Masha Allah.

One thing about Malik, he never looks convincing but always manages to do the job.

he hasnt look that bad. apart from 1-2 careless shots. His defence is compact and far far better than Taufiq, Yasir or Farhat

giles on in the 8th over :13: may be Vaughan thinking for Naseer Hussain's negative tactics via Giles

SIXXX, by malik down the deep long on boundary.. down the wicked and BANG !!

Masha Allah, Malik.

Okay, Pakistan are rolling now. They must ensure they bat WITHOUT loss until lunch.

Shoaib Malik and Salman Butt have almost the same number of runs in their Test careers and similar averages.

hopefully both can cement their places in this series and have long fruitful careers for Pakistan

Wiqi saying that this pitch is shame. Oh chacha Waqar bhai we have 2 good leggies in our side. Home team will make the pitch which suits them. beside we our 1/0 up. Paul Allott beechara roooo raha hai :))

the curators of this ground shud be taken to task !! i dont understand , how hard is it to make a goddamn supporting wicket ?

octavian said:
the curators of this ground shud be taken to task !! i dont understand , how hard is it to make a goddamn supporting wicket ?

octavian do we get spin pitches in England. we are 1/0 up. we have got better spinners. Pacers on both side are good but why we dont give chance to our spinners. i wud say its a perfect pitch in the interest of Team Pakistan.

Gasherbrum said:
10 overs into the game and we're ready to lynch the groundsmen?

don't worry... everyone will get their turn. nobody escapes the love here.

we're going to ride the openers very soon... after that it will be Woolmer's turn and then before you know it we'll be deriding Rameez and Waqar's English because we all have PhDs from Stanford... groundsmen are just a start.

They said the same thimg about Multan in the first hour and later they were all singing its praises, the ball will reverse big time here

anybody in canada watchin these matches thru CBN ,,,WTH they are showing Aus Vs WI instead of pak vs eng ,,,

If England were batting, there would be no complaints about the batting.

Inzamam is a good tosser. He can't help it if Vaughan isn't. :D

Gasherbrum said:
10 overs into the game and we're ready to lynch the groundsmen?

i think so groundsmen has done what they were asked for. And for once Pak management has done the right thing. come on guys we r 1/0 up. England have got great pacers but their spinner are $$hits. we have got 2 very leggies so why should we give them a green wicket. Home team always play to their strengths. why not we get a spin friendly wicket in Aus, New or England

zaf1986 said:
If England were batting, there would be no complaints about the batting.

Inzamam is a good tosser. He can't help it if Vaughan isn't. :D

exactly zaf. Wiqi and Rameez are turning out to be gora ..... lickers. Rameez kee tu khair hai but really surprised with Wiqi bhai.

badxhah said:
anybody in canada watchin these matches thru CBN ,,,WTH they are showing Aus Vs WI instead of pak vs eng ,,,

They are going to Show pak vs eng after the Aus vs Wi game ends

i think so this team of commentators is the best. Sanjay and David Lloyd. way better than Ramiz, Paul, Botham and Wiqi

man giles is getting clocked into a hip injury excuse already , dont kno about u all , but say a prayer for udal :)

geeez you guys get seriously SUNKY when a Pakistani commentator makes remarks that are even sympathetic to the opposition. Rameez and Waqar are just stating their views of the pitch, dont like them? Mute the channel and start your own commentry

nedian21 said:
octavian do we get spin pitches in England. we are 1/0 up. we have got better spinners. Pacers on both side are good but why we dont give chance to our spinners. i wud say its a perfect pitch in the interest of Team Pakistan.

yar looks like a pitch thats made for a run-fest and a draw. Well. lets wait and see

slowly waqar is becoming a chamcha to foreigners talking... wth is the problem heree? 47-0 at runrate of 4... we saw this in Ashes almost every game. They said multan was flat, but bowlers didn't have embarassing figures at all in Multan.

Aus have bouncy wickets at Perth n those are considered sporting? I personally enjoy watching teams play at Perth because i like express bowlers like Lee n Akhtar duking it out.. however ther's nothing wrong in having a pitch like the one at faislabad. It's no flatter than Multan and Multan game was a cracker :D

this pitch making decision could also have back-fired.. if we had lost the toss.

Okay, Pakistan can go on cruise mode from here on. No need to do anything conceited. Just sit back, enjoy the game, hit the occasional 4, rack up 500+ and then let Danish and Afridi have a go.

Ace Base said:
Okay, Pakistan can go on cruise mode from here on. No need to do anything conceited. Just sit back, enjoy the game, hit the occasional 4, rack up 500+ and then let Danish and Afridi have a go.

couldnt have agreed more

octavian said:
this pitch making decision could also have back-fired.. if we had lost the toss.

No it wouldnt have. true our pacers wouldnt have been that effective but we have way better spinner than Lollypop Giles and Udal. but bhai why you are even thinking like this. we have won the toss. we are 1/0 up we have got better spinners. bat sensibly and bat England out of the game.

Is anybody reading the guardian unlimited commentary? Its hilarious!

Well Butt throws his wicket away again, its a crime to throw your wicket away on a pitch like this after you have gotten in.