Aussies vs Bangladesh - 1st Test

Mercenary said:
I always root for BD to win when they are not playing Pakistan
thanks mig bro and mercenary bro..dont mind..actually i was visiting many forum(including indian) and none of them wanted to give credit Bangladeshi's good batting display so i posted that comment.

Mashrafee_yorker said:
thanks mig bro and mercenary bro..dont mind..actually i was visiting many forum(including indian) and none of them wanted to give credit Bangladeshi's good batting display so i posted that comment.

Dunno which forums u have visited,but I have come across only praises for bangla team....any ways vry impressive performance,wud love to see you guys post 500 tomorw!

Gr8 stuff from Nafees and habibul bashar ... keep it up guyz !!!

I watched the match ... its true that the pitch made the MULTAN pitch look a bowler's dream but still to thrash bowlers like Shane Warne and Brett Lee without ne sort of problem is some brilliant performance

jusarrived said:
Dunno which forums u have visited,but I have come across only praises for bangla team....any ways vry impressive performance,wud love to see you guys post 500 tomorw!
ICF..but here most of the people posted logical comment..it does not matter anymore.even commentrator said that "Bangladesh played well":)

I hope Bangladesh will score 400.But its this time Bagladesh can avoid only an innings defeat.Aussie batting line up is much strongr and they will score minimn 600 in 1st innings.

Mashrafee_yorker said:
ICF..but here most of the people posted logical comment..it does not matter anymore.even commentrator said that "Bangladesh played well":)

I hope Bangladesh will score 400.But its this time Bagladesh can avoid only an innings defeat.Aussie batting line up is much strongr and they will score minimn 600 in 1st innings.

u sure know ppl hate ICF here,don you? I will give you the link to the thread if am allowed..cos i ahve checked all 62 posts on aus bangla match mostly appretiating banglas performance!

jusarrived said:
u sure know ppl hate ICF here,don you? I will give you the link to the thread if am allowed..cos i ahve checked all 62 posts on aus bangla match mostly appretiating banglas performance!

Please dont..

jusarrived said:

my mistake..make it every!

Great day for BAng - cannot belive people are putting it down to the pitch - we are talking about Bangladesh who historically could nt bat in batting friendly pitches, nor could they bowl on bowling paradises!!!

AND Aus should be able to knock ober Bang on ANY surface - so 10/10 to Bang for a super day's play!

go tigerz! LEt's see if Ponting can get partially get rid of the biggest stain on his record. Playing spin on turning tracks..

I would love to see Bangadesh bat for another 30 overs or so and really frustrate Australia. By then they should have a good total on the board too and you never know what can happen!!

If we had scored 355/5 on that pitch against Australia we'd be creaming ourselves over it so there's no reason why Bangladesh deserve anything less than the highest praise.

I still predict an Aussie victory, Bangladesh is just not a good enough test team, a few moments of brilliance is all they get.

It would be mighty difficult to stop the Aussies even though Bangladesh have won Day 1.

Forget about a Bangladesh victory, it would be a major achievement if they take a first innings lead or if they dismiss Aus for under 400 on this pitch.

Nauman said:
I still predict an Aussie victory, Bangladesh is just not a good enough test team, a few moments of brilliance is all they get.

I agree,bangla have been in similar position b4 too..its vry likely that they will colapse to a sub 400 total n aus n reply scoring 600+ n then winnig by a innings ...but only difference is taht they have a better bowling attack this time which on a good day is capable of bowling out oppositions for decent totals..hopefully bangla has learnt from their mistakes n make the most of this good start !

Romali_rotti said:
OHH miggy I am just playing round :) . You know Pak is my 2nd fav team fter India...But one point is that I just cant figure out why Pak havent beaten Aus so far, I mean they have the team to do it and if Bang beats Aus then I must admit it is freaky considering Pak is the best team in Asia at the moment...

Do not give us that second team BS. This is really disappointing, I saw you as a mature poster, yet you bring Pakistan randomly and are just acting like a troll. Pathetic, absolute pathetic.

Yeah we haven't won in Australia but rememebr Bangladesh are playing at home. Wait till Australia come to Pakistan, not BS neutral venues, but when they play in the likes of Karachi!

Its only day one, Bangladesh hasn't beat Australia yet. And of course India still sing praises of their series draw in Australia, yet forget the thrashing you got from us in Karachi!!!! Clutch onto your old straws as long as you can...

Amir said:
Do not give us that second team BS. This is really disappointing, I saw you as a mature poster, yet you bring Pakistan randomly and are just acting like a troll. Pathetic, absolute pathetic.

He has been doing that for a while now, I don't know why Oxy the Terminator hasn't done anything about it. Anyways, good show by Bangla.

Nice to see Gillespie back in the Australian ranks.. I saw his spell after lunch where he bowled 2 an immaculate line and length.

Romali_rotti said:
Um compare apples with apples not oranges.. I am discussing how teams have fared against the best side of their era AUS.. Nothing personal dude its ok, I am sure Pak will beat Aus atleast once in the next 10 years :19: ..

by the way talking abt apples and oranges, y did u bring this issue up in this thread anyway. this is abt bangla and aus. y did u start comparing ur batsmen to ours.

those who claim that pakistani fans here bash the indians for nothing, take a note of this.

o and the pitch is crappy to say the leat, doing nothing at all

the_game said:
He has been doing that for a while now, I don't know why Oxy the Terminator hasn't done anything about it.

I agree. It's poor stuff and really cheap.....all in the name of Pak being supposedly his "second fav team". :20:

I'm not sure whats more fun- Bangladesh doing well (everyone loves minnows) or the scum getting totally bashed

It is very unlikely Bangladesh will win the test- Bangladesh attack would do well to take 10 wkts against Australia, let alone 20. Remember that Australia have been written off after day 1 lots of times and come back to draw or win.

Still- huge praise is due to Bangladesh for a big day in their cricket history. They deserve our support, you can see a good team developing. Whatmore must be allowed to build a team and not be told that Bangladesh should be kicked out of test cricket by the 'experts'

Good stuff Bangladesh.

I expect Aussies to score atleast 750 on this pitch. :P

RR was told off in the morning and he apologised - we let all sorts of stuff go by from so called Pak fans as well.

Anyone with a different opinion to us is not necessarily a troll.

jusarrived if u want i can post you link with username by pm.I didn't not say "Only icf" i said "including icf"
And dear Romali_rotti,
Please dont change the topic.This is a math thread.

It has been a brilliant day for Bangladesh - having scored over 300 runs against the best team in the world is nothing short of amazing

I still feel Australia will win BUT it would be nice if they could atleast compete in the test match - it will give them a major boost

Bangladesh have some talented players BUT they need to start delivering on a more consistent basis, in about 5 years or so i can see Bangladesh becoming a decent side, they wont be the pushovers that they were/are - it would be brilliant for both Bangladesh and cricket if they became a competitive nation - Cricket needs more countries and stronger one's at that :19:

pakistani pride said:
agree if RR thinks that way then its his opinion. no need 2 make all those comments

WEll, it wasn't about his opinion, it is that he just brought it into the thread with no relavance. No whats funny is that this is typical Indian attitude, where they compare their achievement vs Australia and than rate it as the best ever, when they forget there are 9 other test playing nations.

Romali_rotti said:
Um compare apples with apples not oranges.. I am discussing how teams have fared against the best side of their era AUS.. Nothing personal dude its ok, I am sure Pak will beat Aus atleast once in the next 10 years :19: ..
mind telling me your away record? :13:

and could you tell me when was the last time austrailia played pakistan in pakistan ? :13:

honestly, i think bangla can win this....if they put up 500, they can't lose, and this pitch is taking turn.....call me crazy but, i think BAN has a chance here..

zushy_786 said:
:))) At least I don't have entra and cavin in your cubicle together :23:

mere bete, they own the goddamn place. No wonder you're a permanent resident ;)

Tupac said:
honestly, i think bangla can win this....if they put up 500, they can't lose, and this pitch is taking turn.....call me crazy but, i think BAN has a chance here..

pac,

400 is there for the taking...mashud and rafiq both have test tons (against WIndies), saleh is due to make his maiden ton any match now.

and mortaza can make afridi look like a slow batsman.

450 is possible, tho i doubt it, and 500 will be a huge challenge.

but even 500 against the aussies is not enough. remember if bangladesh are scoring runs, chances are aussies will too. and ponting is in great touch right now.

win lose or draw, I am looking forward to today's cricket in BD more than the upcoming 2 ODIs in AbuDhabi b/w Pakistan and India.

z10 said:
mere bete, they own the goddamn place. No wonder you're a permanent resident ;)
thats my hard earned image being the laydeeez man goes out of the window, GODDAMNIT stop ruining my image...........cav runs to entra :P

if the test match is a draw then thats victory to bangladesh!

A bit of a caning for the Baggy Greens so far eh. It was a good toss to win, but we deserved to be so far behind given how we bowled as well as other things like not having a practice match, etc. It was a bit of disrespect for the Bangles and the OZ paid the price. We bowled poorly in the opening two sessions, going for quick wickets rather than working hard on a placid pitch. No surprise that the wickets were taken by blokes who didn't play in SA and who are keen to cement places in the team. I'd say Ponting and Co have been given a rude awakening. 355 runs in a day - that's a record for the Banglas. Everyone's setting records against the OZ now eh.

I would expect that any complacency would have been well and truly eliminated by today though. Warney will probably continue to struggle on this pitch - he doesn't like slow turn with no bounce as he's not a tall bloke. Expect MacGill to continue to threaten but Warney to be ineffectual.

OZ will want to finish on the Banglas by lunch or just after if at all possible, and get started on their own batting. Given we're only playing five specialist bats all of them + Gilly will have to perform. As Whippy said (he's a Pom but he does talk a bit of sense now and then :D) the Bangles will have to take 20 OZ wickets to win this match and I don't know if they can do that. They will also have to do well in their second innings which is historically where they've folded. It's all about who's on top by Day 5, not Day 1.

Still, it's become a Test with a bit of excitement about it. I recall posting in this thread that the exciting matches are usually ones where another team is completely tearing us a new one (which Bangla is doing at the moment). The subtraction of fear by the underdog is an amazing, and compelling, thing in sport.

No matter what you say re pitch, this is phenomenal.

as a sidenote, whos this fool, clark?

Whippy squash said:
I'm not sure whats more fun- Bangladesh doing well (everyone loves minnows) or the scum getting totally bashed

I think its more fun watching scum getting bashed (by India in the ODI's and Pakistan in the tests) even though I'm glad Bangledesh are doing OK.

its nice to see bangladesh coming out with the right intent

aggression was the only way bangladesh was going to make a contest out of this test

unfortunately, its been quite dull today

Mashrafee_yorker said:
jusarrived if u want i can post you link with username by pm.I didn't not say "Only icf" i said "including icf"
And dear Romali_rotti,
Please dont change the topic.This is a math thread.

How much is 2+2...

cavin420 said:
thats my hard earned image being the laydeeez man goes out of the window, GODDAMNIT stop ruining my image...........cav runs to entra :P

if the test match is a draw then thats victory to bangladesh!

There goes the rest of your reputation and image...

pakistani pride said:
agree if RR thinks that way then its his opinion. no need 2 make all those comments

Aik to yeh civics and deniyat keh teachers saay jaan nahin chootni...even after I have been out of primary school for ages :9:

Monsee said:
Aik to yeh civics and deniyat keh teachers saay jaan nahin chootni...even after I have been out of primary school for ages :9:

ek dafa satisfactorily pass kar lo, to yeh baar baar ki musibat se bach jao.

Amir_rulez said:
ek dafa satisfactorily pass kar lo, to yeh baar baar ki musibat se bach jao.

Chalo ab aik head maashtarr sahib bhi peechaay perr gayaay hein...

Amir_rulez said:
Not to spoil the thread, but howz ur marriage going Monsee?

Quite nicely, me in Orlando, she in Lahore...just perfect :D

Monsee said:
Quite nicely, me in Orlando, she in Lahore...just perfect :D

Ideal Marriage huh

Macgill is about to tear his gills outs

1 Lbw shout turned down then a catch put down due to mis communications b/w the fielders ,,,,

Watched the highlights of the play yesterday. Nafees was absolutely brilliant against Warne. He was employing the English strategy of sweeping away the spinners and seldom played him on backfoot. Used his feet pretty well, both during lofting above midwicket or sweeping away. Saw Warne getting worried after a long time and many a time his look reminded me of Bhajji in Lahore when Afridi was bashing him all around.

Warne look remind me when he wakes up frm bed n realizes the fact he his India and has to bowl to Dravid n Co.

2 wickets in that MacGill over

Bangladesh 417/8 (118.0 ov)

Rafique and Saleh both gone

MacGill does well to get 8 wkts! he outperforms warne quite often when they are in the eleven together.

Mortaza bowled pretty well against England last summer, he's certainly a good quality bowler.

"Stevie Wonder would give that one out, it was that simple"

The most in form batsman in the world goes.....

43/2(11.3 overs)

14.4 Mohammad Rafique to Martyn, OUT, Rafique strikes in his first over, arm ball, quicker delivery, keeps a bit low, Martyn cuts, gets the edge on to the middle stump, third wicket down for Australia
Yahoo!!

Australia are 50/3 at tea on day 2, still 377 runs behind.

Brett Lee for his first ton in test cricket anyone?

I dont understand what the Aussies are doing here. They tried to bowl too many wicket-taking balls instead of just put the ball in good areas, and now when theyre batting they just think every ball is there to be hit.

Just do what everyone else has done - bowl at them and bat against them while showing the right amount of respect, and you will win. They are still a pretty poor quality team.

Who was it that said this pitch is more placid than Lahore and Faisalabad. I dont think so. 13 wickets in 5 sessions suggests we will see a result.

Hussey is the one they need still. The form he has been in of late, he cold still take this game away form Bangladesh!

Waao, Hosain The Bangla´s Mohammad Asif....C´mon, Bangla, prove this to Aussie team, you no minnow!