Could Jasprit Bumrah be India's greatest ever bowler?

What was Rahul Dravid's average against Australia and South Africa? Especially in their conditions? Are you now going to claim that Babar Azam is already a better batsman than 'The Wall'? You keep trying to pick holes in the careers of great players but fail to realize that, as of now, the likes of Shami and Bumrah have done nothing to warrant a comparison. Let Shami end his career and then we'll figure out who ended with more holes and who won more matches.

Shoaib Akhtar had around as many wickets as Shami does right now but at a far better average in both formats and as anyone who has watched the game will tell you, Akhtar's impact went beyond simple numbers.

far better average? are you sure?
akthar was not only overrated, he was also a ped abuser, a cheater and had a terrible bowling average against the top nations of his time.

dravid scored some match winning innings vs auatralia along with laxman. shoaib did nothing.

Not nitpicking but if you dont perform vs the top teams then you shouldn't be ranked as a ATG level player.

shami helped india win a series in australia. depleted or not; it doesn't matter. India have travelled plenty of times and faced a much weaker Australian side and still lost.

India under virat are yet to lose a game when they win the toss.

akthar was not only overrated, he was also a ped abuser, a cheater and had a terrible bowling average against the top nations of his time.

dravid scored some match winning innings vs auatralia along with laxman. shoaib did nothing.

Not nitpicking but if you dont perform vs the top teams then you shouldn't be ranked as a ATG level player.

shami helped india win a series in australia. depleted or not; it doesn't matter. India have travelled plenty of times and faced a much weaker Australian side and still lost.

Iam waiting for the day when virat won the toss and still looses then I will see your excuse.
Don't be optimistic that Virat will win if he wins the toss.

Your indian goat bumrah is currently averaging 89 against nz

he is just back from injury and he was clearly overworked. We all saw how good Pakistan's bowling was in australia.

Remind me how many matches Naseem and Shaheen have played

also this thread is about Bumrah not about the Pakistani bowlers so what's with the whataboutery?:ishant

Your indian goat bumrah is currently averaging 89 against nz

His career average is 20 which is better than Imran, Wasim and Waqar.

Now don't say sample size. That's what I am trying to explain here. Bumrah has played 1 test only in NZ.

His career average is 20 which is better than Imran, Wasim and Waqar.

Now don't say sample size. That's what I am trying to explain here. Bumrah has played 1 test only in NZ.

Dont worry bro even abbas after playing 11 tests had better average than wasim waqar and imran

he is just back from injury and he was clearly overworked. We all saw how good Pakistan's bowling was in australia.

Bumrah and Shami are better than current Pakistan bowlers by big margin, we don’t have issue with that but when you make bumrah and Shami better than Waqar and Shoaib we have reservations

You are being extremely ignorant. It's gotten to the point where you contradict your own arguments in the same post.

Let me ask you this: Is Rahul Dravid an ATG?

But like Jimmy Broad, Ishant has only gone better. He averages under 27 since 2014. He too is an exception to rule. Shami is legendary in Asia and decent away. Not ATG but can be a great bowler, already halfway.

Batsmen is equivalent to bowlers, not fast bowlers only. So, India also have Kumble, Bedi, Ashwin and Srinath.

You can't call him an exception when he's still around 30 years old. If Ishant is still around in a couple of years time, then you can place him in the category of Anderson and Broad. As for Shami, halfway is not much progress for someone who is almost 30. At best, Shami and Ishant will become two of India's best pace bowlers but greats of the game? That is beyond them.

Kumble, Bedi and Ashwin do not tilt the scales in any meaningful way. Pakistan's batsmen have been better than India's bowlers.

Loo le you started watching cricket few days ago.

He clearly isn't watching cricket for a long time and has this attitude of I know everything.

What I don't understand is that this thread is about India's best bowler ever to the comparaison should only be between Indian players.

put it this way. if dravid isn't an ATG which he clearly is then no batsmen from pakistan is an ATG.
Firstly, Dravid clearly is an ATG.

Secondly, equally clearly, no Pakistani is anywhere close to being an ATG batsman. The closest is Javed “Never LBW at Home” Miandad.

Zaheer Abbas and Hanif Mohammad are not ATG?

Hanif was before my time, but Zaheer definitely not.

Watching Zaheer was like watching a more elegant version of Graeme Hick. Absolutely beautiful timing, but absolutely petrified by fast bowling.

younis khan is an all time great in my opinion. I don't see why not? His record is Impressive and he scored some big runs at home. Good record in SENA.

Hanif was before my time, but Zaheer definitely not.

Watching Zaheer was like watching a more elegant version of Graeme Hick. Absolutely beautiful timing, but absolutely petrified by fast bowling.

Hmm I haven’t watched them play, however they both have good averages for back then.

put it this way. if dravid isn't an ATG which he clearly is then no batsmen from pakistan is an ATG.

t s not about this quote,You have been consistently posting rubbish there.Dravid is an ATG as Waqar is and no indian fast bowler is ATG except Kapil who is ATG allrounder.

he is a minnow basher. philander has a better bowling average than wasim and waqar. so philander> both?

average and stats isn't everything bud.

You can't call him an exception when he's still around 30 years old. If Ishant is still around in a couple of years time, then you can place him in the category of Anderson and Broad. As for Shami, halfway is not much progress for someone who is almost 30. At best, Shami and Ishant will become two of India's best pace bowlers but greats of the game? That is beyond them.

Kumble, Bedi and Ashwin do not tilt the scales in any meaningful way. Pakistan's batsmen have been better than India's bowlers.

Firstly, Shami is 29 and Ishant's age is 31.5. Ishant has been brilliant in the past five years and while he has 9 5-fer away only 2 at home but these days he is doing better at home also. So, Ishant is every bit becoming an exception to the rule just like Broad (33 year old now) was.

Shami is 29 and at peak of his career. He is halfway and has 177 wickets. So, considering he is a Sub continent player, it is highly likely that he will play till 37-38 and can get to 350+ test wickets which means longevity would no longer be a concern for him.

They aren't greats of the game but Shami and Kapil as bowler alone are country greats like Inzy and ever-smiling Khan. Only Bumrah has potential just like Babar has. But even from Pakistan, only Miandad is an ATG. Overall, it's pretty much equivalent between Pakistan batsmen and Indian bowler.

Firstly, Shami is 29 and Ishant's age is 31.5. Ishant has been brilliant in the past five years and while he has 9 5-fer away only 2 at home but these days he is doing better at home also. So, Ishant is every bit becoming an exception to the rule just like Broad (33 year old now) was.

Shami is 29 and at peak of his career. He is halfway and has 177 wickets. So, considering he is a Sub continent player, it is highly likely that he will play till 37-38 and can get to 350+ test wickets which means longevity would no longer be a concern for him.

They aren't greats of the game but Shami and Kapil as bowler alone are country greats like Inzy and ever-smiling Khan. Only Bumrah has potential just like Babar has. But even from Pakistan, only Miandad is an ATG. Overall, it's pretty much equivalent between Pakistan batsmen and Indian bowler.
Can you tell number of test match 5fers shami has

350+ wickets this is exaggeration

lolz have no time to reply to some rubbish being posted by you.

it's only rubbish because you know the truth hurts. You can parade your GOAT waqar. I don't care. He underperformed vs top sides. That's the truth. It's an Insult to compare him to wasim and imran who were true greats. Pioneers. The real artists.

Hell shoaib had more of an impact than waqar. Shoaib I would say is actually Pakistan's 3rd greatest bowler and possibly 3 or 4th greatest Asian bowler of all time.

Once shami finishes his career he will be ahead of shoaib. Make no mistake about it.

Can you tell number of test match 5fers shami has

philander has a better bowling average than wasim and waqar and shoaib bhai. ATG? Kya? tekay?

Why does 5 fers matter again? he played a grand total of 46 tests. Not sure if that warrants ATG status actually but he obviously had ability. He was wildly inconsistent though.

it's only rubbish because you know the truth hurts. You can parade your GOAT waqar. I don't care. He underperformed vs top sides. That's the truth. It's an Insult to compare him to wasim and imran who were true greats. Pioneers. The real artists.

Hell shoaib had more of an impact than waqar. Shoaib I would say is actually Pakistan's 3rd greatest bowler and possibly 3 or 4th greatest Asian bowler of all time.

Once shami finishes his career he will be ahead of shoaib. Make no mistake about it.

And what about bumrah who bullied some club level windies batsmen and australian c team

Australia C team because they missed 2 players. That same team would annihilate your Pakistani side and literally every team that toured australia. It was a full strength pace attack. Home batsmen will be familiar with their conditions. No excuses.

india also missed kohli and pujara for one or 2 matches in 2016 and still whooped their butt in the decider.

Bumrah got wickets vs a full strength south african side and the English as well. He missed the first 2 games due to an injury. He has literally played vs top teams barring west indies.

Australia C team because they missed 2 players. That same team would annihilate your Pakistani side and literally every team that toured australia. It was a full strength pace attack. Home batsmen will be familiar with their conditions. No excuses.

india also missed kohli and pujara for one or 2 matches in 2016 and still whooped their butt in the decider.

Bumrah got wickets vs a full strength south african side and the English as well. He missed the first 2 games due to an injury. He has literally played vs top teams barring west indies.

smith and warner are more than 50 % of australian baating labushane is new the sa side you played down fall of their main batters had started and current wnglish batting line in tests is very weak

In your way only,

Lol, What a joke!

That shows your ignorance about cricket lets suppose shami plays 40 odd more test matches if he takes 3 wickets per match so his total wickets will be around 290 ideally besides i dont see him lasting beyond 2023 and taking 280 wickets

I think he will play more. I haven't seen sub continent players retiring before 35, whether bowlers or batsmen. If Shami fades away, that will be another thing but it is most likely that he will continue his peak for 4 more years and then carry on further till 36-37.

Except wasim akram i dont remember any fast bowler from sc who played tests till 37 imran khan was more of a batsman in latter stages of his career and dont know about zak

Shami till now has played 48 tests and got 177 test wickets. He had injuries in past(which is why he has played slightly lesser games) and that kept him away from game.

It's in last four years that he has gone better and has become an integral member of this team and has been playing pretty much all the games for India. If he plays till 35, he will easily double the number of tests and end up comfortably with 160-170 more test wickets.

He has gone better with time and if he takes 130 wickets in next 45 matches he plays, his average will slip to 30 and considering how brilliant he has been in Asia its unlikely. I am quite sure he will easily take 150 more wickets or else if he doesn't then that means that average will slip to 30s.

Shami till now has played 48 tests and got 177 test wickets. He had injuries in past(which is why he has played slightly lesser games) and that kept him away from game.

It's in last four years that he has gone better and has become an integral member of this team and has been playing pretty much all the games for India. If he plays till 35, he will easily double the number of tests and end up comfortably with 160-170 more test wickets.

He has gone better with time and if he takes 130 wickets in next 45 matches he plays, his average will slip to 30 and considering how brilliant he has been in Asia its unlikely. I am quite sure he will easily take 150 more wickets or else if he doesn't then that means that average will slip to 30s.

So lets wait and see

smith and warner are more than 50 % of australian baating labushane is new the sa side you played down fall of their main batters had started and current wnglish batting line in tests is very weak

English batting in swing seam conditions are very good. So bumrah performed real well vs the..

the South Africa india played had ABD steyn and morkel. Bumrah was fantastic in that series too. Averaged 21.

I think Bumrah already is Indias greatest ever bowler, he is the only subcontinent bowler who is well respected in Aussie forums.

[MENTION=150610]tyron_woodley[/MENTION] too

Well there might be Aussie fans (a minority) who reflect those opinions but by and large, not true of most fans here.

Ishant actually gets a lot of respect here- anyone who remembers him at 18, charging in bowling 145k & nearing 150k and totally working over Ricky Ponting knew we were seeing something that could be special. Then working his way back & slowly learning to take wickets all over the world... I respect Ishant as a Test bowler over Bumrah actually. Bumrah if he gets his zip back maybe better ODI.

Historically, Imran gets mad respect in Oz. We love him. Never heard anyone here talk him down really.

Oz past players often mention Wasim as the toughest or one of the toughest they ever faced- I'd say his name pops up as often as any other West Indian or whatnot. Oz fans (as opposed to players) are a bit more dubious on Wasim due to the fixing.

Zaheer Khan was respected- he held it together in Oz & was dangerous at home with old & new ball. Smart operator.

I don't think we ever saw Waqar at his best out here. People accept he was a great bowler though. We've all seen the yorkers.

Old Sarfraz Narwaz gets a lot of love out here actually- he often bowled well with Imran. He took buckets of wickets out here. Stuart Clarke used to get called "Sarfraz" because his bowling style reminded some of the action- that tells you how much Sarfraz was still remembered.

English batting in swing seam conditions are very good. So bumrah performed real well vs the..

the South Africa india played had ABD steyn and morkel. Bumrah was fantastic in that series too. Averaged 21.

Develiers was struggling in tests and what morkel and stayen have to do with bumrah's average

When India beat Australia the Aussies were missing two batsmen who literally had THREE TIMES AS MANY Test centuries as the rest of the team combined.

Australia had a two man batting unit......minus the two men.

Well there might be Aussie fans (a minority) who reflect those opinions but by and large, not true of most fans here.

Ishant actually gets a lot of respect here- anyone who remembers him at 18, charging in bowling 145k & nearing 150k and totally working over Ricky Ponting knew we were seeing something that could be special. Then working his way back & slowly learning to take wickets all over the world... I respect Ishant as a Test bowler over Bumrah actually. Bumrah if he gets his zip back maybe better ODI.

Historically, Imran gets mad respect in Oz. We love him. Never heard anyone here talk him down really.

Oz past players often mention Wasim as the toughest or one of the toughest they ever faced- I'd say his name pops up as often as any other West Indian or whatnot. Oz fans (as opposed to players) are a bit more dubious on Wasim due to the fixing.

Zaheer Khan was respected- he held it together in Oz & was dangerous at home with old & new ball. Smart operator.

I don't think we ever saw Waqar at his best out here. People accept he was a great bowler though. We've all seen the yorkers.

Old Sarfraz Narwaz gets a lot of love out here actually- he often bowled well with Imran. He took buckets of wickets out here. Stuart Clarke used to get called "Sarfraz" because his bowling style reminded some of the action- that tells you how much Sarfraz was still remembered.

I agree with everything here, but the "Sarfraz" epithet was also because Clark is actually half-Indian - both his parents are half-Indian.

When India beat Australia the Aussies were missing two batsmen who literally had THREE TIMES AS MANY Test centuries as the rest of the team combined.

Australia had a two man batting unit......minus the two men.

Great post

I agree with everything here, but the "Sarfraz" epithet was also because Clark is actually half-Indian - both his parents are half-Indian.

Hmm the story is Australia has always been Mark Waugh gave him the nicname at NSW & it stuck. Perhaps they are sanitising the reason behind it.

He’s already short, and from the end of this year he’s going to get slower and slower.

He’s already a 135-140K proposition in Tests. Why would India want a 130K Shami aged 33, let alone a 125K 35 year old version?

I'd be positively staggered if Shami goes on to pick more than 300 test wickets, he simply doesn't have the fitness or stamina to play that long. Whereas, Bumrah would do well to get past 250 test wickets.

A point being underestimated is the FTP scheduling going forward, the ICC is bent on reducing the number of test matches so I doubt players will have the same opportunities to pad up their statistics as the ones who played during the 90s and 2000s.

Great post

that same team that india faced with smith and warner would literally annihilate all teams at home.

No other team has even an lota of a half chance to even draw vs vs australia in australia regardless whether smith or warner plays.

waqar definitely not that respected here. That dude was straight cannon fodder in australia and india. I do not rate him and I would even put shoaib bhai above him.

pace toh pace yaaar fans can keep overeating waqar but in reality the truth unfortunately will hurt.

Irfan Pathan is better than wasim akram

Zahir khan is better than wasim akram

Ashish Nehra is better than wasim akram

Balaji is better than Wasim Akran

Munaf patel is better than wasim akram

VrV Singh is better than wasim akram

all came , were decent for a couple of years and then faded away for good

now the indians have bummrah... he is doing great but let him do this for 5/6 years then we can argue

for now, he is just a bowler with big potential

now the indians have bummrah... he is doing great but let him do this for 5/6 years then we can argue

But they all came during non-professional era in Indian Cricket! Let's see...

hit the point ... "Lets see" .... in 3/4 years, if bummrah can keep his avg below 22, win a few series overseas (be man of the series) ... then maybe the comparison can begin... he is def doing better than most bowlers but time will tell

Well, if you're so sure about it, I'll just have to trust you on that. Let's see how they both go in the next two years or so.

You're being silly if you actually think Shami the bowler is anywhere near Inzamam the batsman. Kapil the bowler is inferior to Inzamam the batsman as well. Younis Khan was just as great as Miandad and Dravid, if not better. 10,000+ runs and great averages in England, Australia and India is hard to argue against.

It's not equivalent and is one of the reasons why Pakistan has historically been the better cricket team.

yes and he actually performed vs top teams.

Dravid has a tail-ender's average in South Africa and averages an inflated 40 in Australia. By your logic, he is not a great of the game but then again, it's not like anyone gives a rat's tail about your idiotic logic.

You have no idea how difficult it is to recover from a stress fracture. The guy has been thrown straight back into cricket. He is playing every game without much rest. He should have started his recovery by playing first class cricket so his body can get use to bowling again. Than should have returned to international cricket after a few first class games.

It will take him a while to get back to his best. Playing in the IPL may not help his recovery.

hasan ali
junaid khan
wahab riaz
mohammed irfan
rahat ali

pretty evenly matched.

You have no idea how difficult it is to recover from a stress fracture. The guy has been thrown straight back into cricket. He is playing every game without much rest. He should have started his recovery by playing first class cricket so his body can get use to bowling again..

Sure, Imran was out for two years.

Well, if you're so sure about it, I'll just have to trust you on that. Let's see how they both go in the next two years or so.

You're being silly if you actually think Shami the bowler is anywhere near Inzamam the batsman. Kapil the bowler is inferior to Inzamam the batsman as well. Younis Khan was just as great as Miandad and Dravid, if not better. 10,000+ runs and great averages in England, Australia and India is hard to argue against.

It's not equivalent and is one of the reasons why Pakistan has historically been the better cricket team.

Dravid has a tail-ender's average in South Africa and averages an inflated 40 in Australia. By your logic, he is not a great of the game but then again, it's not like anyone gives a rat's tail about your idiotic logic.

dravid is a notch above your greatest batsmen. inzamam and younis are not close to dravid. Never have been. Never will be. Maybe in your delusional world. You aren't being objective here dummy.

India's pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah says he feels most comfortable bowling with the Dukes ball manufactured in England compared to the India made SG Test or the Australian Kookaburra as it provides even competition in a game that is increasingly loaded in favour of batsmen. In fact Bumrah is the latest Indian bowler to express his fondness for either Dukes or Kookaburra compared to SG Test that is used in India.

Bumrah during an interaction for ICC podcast with former West Indies pacer Ian Bishop and former South African captain Shaun Pollock spoke on a range of issues, including how he developed an outswinger (inswinger for left-handers) and secret of his eight-step run-up that generates extreme pace.

"I love bowling with Dukes. It seams, it swings, so basically when you have a little bit of help, it does help as it is difficult to be a fast bowler with grounds getting shorter and wickets getting flatter," Bumrah said during the interaction.

"So if the ball does something, it becomes even competition. So you feel you are in the game. With no help, you only have few things to play with. So I enjoy bowling most with Dukes ball." Bishop asked Bumrah about how he developed the outswinger, which becomes an inswinger for the left-handers and the India international called it a gradual process.

"I always want to bring new things. My different action, may be once or twice people will be surprised, but they will find you out. So you need to improve and keep on evolving.

"So I had the outswinger but when I came into the international set-up, I wasn't confident about it, may be it wasn't coming out well, may be the pace, you should have the feel of it. Slowly, you work on it in the nets. In the West Indies, the ball (Dukes with pronounced seam) was helpful, conditions were helpful," he said.

Bumrah said that many people advised him to increase his run-up but he felt that pace never increased with the length of his run-up which is around eight steps to load up.

His unconventional action has been under scanner for long with greats like Michael Holding terming it injury prone. He then divulged the secret of his short sprint to the crease.

"Basically, I have never been coached a lot. No professional coaching or camps. Till date, everything is self-taught, everything, through TV, videos. There is no proper reason for action. I have never really listened to people who told that action needs to be changed, kept on developing on strengths if I could have self belief," he said.

Paucity of space in his backyard was the reason for such a run-up.

"Playing in backyard. My run-up is because of that as we didn't have so much of space, so this (8 step run up) is the longest that you could have had, may be this could have been the case. I have tried longer run-up and nothing changes, speed is still the same so why to run so much."

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/jas...h-dukes-ball-as-it-assists-seam-swing-2238364

Reading through this last page is a joke. I am the first to say waqar, Wasim are overhyped but they are still greats. Bumrah is good and could easily become India’s greatest bowler, but he isn’t facing any competition as he would have no chance if he was from Aus/SA/WI/Eng/Pak/SL/NZ. India just haven’t produced any top tier fast or spin bowlers

a great player like bumrah would find a spot in any team.

Many teams he would not make including:
WI attack with Garner, Roberts, Holding, Marshall
WI attack with Bishop, Marshall,Ambrose, Walsh
Pak attack with Imran, Waqar, Wasim, Spinner
Eng attack with Trueman, Statham, Bedser/Tyson, Spinner
Aus attack with Miller, Lindwall, Johnston, Spinner
SA attack with Pollock, Donald, De Villers in some conditions
SA attack led by Proctor and Pollock

Many teams he would not make including:
WI attack with Garner, Roberts, Holding, Marshall
WI attack with Bishop, Marshall,Ambrose, Walsh
Pak attack with Imran, Waqar, Wasim, Spinner
Eng attack with Trueman, Statham, Bedser/Tyson, Spinner
Aus attack with Miller, Lindwall, Johnston, Spinner
SA attack with Pollock, Donald, De Villers in some conditions
SA attack led by Proctor and Pollock

he plays in a batsman friendly era. He would comfortably make it in any of those teams. He is a generational talent. He has just started. Give him some time.

stop being ignorant and overrate past greats. There is no way to compare.

bishop himself said he is a generational talent and he would be a star in any team he plays for.

NEW DELHI: Former Pakistan fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar felt that Jasprit Bumrah will find it difficult to sustain himself in all formats of the game due to his unique action. Bumrah averages in the early 20s in all formats of the game and has 68 wickets in Tests alongwith 104 in ODIs and 59 in T20Is.

"Bumrah has a difficult action. He cannot play in all formats," said Akhtar on Aakash Chopra's Youtube show Aakash Vani.

"It is his braveness that he showed his skills in Test matches. He is a very hard working guy and is very focused. He knows where he wants to go. But will his back support him. Till when will his back withstand that much load. It had to break down."

Bumrah burst into Test cricket with sensational performances in the 2018 series in South Africa and was being called the best fast bowler in the world when India beat Australia Down Under in the 2018/19 series.

However a stress fracture to his back had led to him being ruled out of what would have been his maiden Test series in India ahead of the South Africa series in 2019.

"I was watching his matches before he broke down. I was telling my friends that he will break down," Akhtar said.

"People tell me that it was just 4-5 steps run-up. I told them it is not a question of steps but about loading during the delivery stride, his back will not be able to sustain that much.

"A niggle will happen and that's what happened. I think he broke down after a couple of Test matches. He has to be very careful and his captain because you get very few such talents."

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...mats-akhtar/articleshow/77434255.cms?from=mdr