Disrespectful boos heard in Ahmedabad for Babar Azam during the toss for India vs Pakistan ICC World Cup group stage match, 2023

Asad T

Babar Azam was booed loudly from the 100k crowd in the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. It seems that Pakistan won't be enjoying the same support as they did in Hyderabad. I can't remember hearing such vehement boos for an opposing team before. Is this a sign of disrespect from the hosts, or is it simply a passionate expression from the crowd?

1697271065906.png

When you're playing in Bharat its nothing surprising.

The national anthem was quite loud, so we couldn't hear if boos during the Pakistan national anthem, but it wouldn't surprise me if there were some.

Not all crowds are like Hyderabad's crowd

The national anthem was quite loud, so we couldn't hear if boos during the Pakistan national anthem, but it wouldn't surprise me if there were some.
The boos occured when Babar was speaking at the toss.

The same crowd dare not boo at the Pakistan national anthem!

Well, Pakistani players aren't getting respected when playing against India in India. Once the game is over they will be respected but till then you have to face the hostility and respond accordingly.

I suspect the vibrant Indian-Muslim community of Hyderabad were the ones who gave warm welcome to Pakistani team in Hyderabad. This was mistaken by Pakistanis as love by all Indians.

Well, Pakistani players aren't getting respected when playing against India in India. Once the game is over they will be respected but till then you have to face the hostility and respond accordingly.

Yes reflection on Indian crowds.

I suspect the vibrant Indian-Muslim community of Hyderabad were the ones who gave warm welcome to Pakistani team in Hyderabad. This was mistaken by Pakistanis as love by all Indians.
That's quite interesting as at the post match interview when Rizwan said Bismillah, there were loud cheers from the crowd.

You are wrong bro! do not want to get into north-south debate. South india historically supported pakistan be it chenni/hyderabad and bangalore to an extent.

Love the way Indian crowd wants to appreciate pakistan batters but then realize they shouldnt and quieten as the ball gets to the boundary

Childish immaturity is all that was. Would love to use other rosey words that would suit such a crowd much better

Yes reflection on Indian crowds.

It's a cricket match, not some kind of party celebrations that visitors should be respected. Play the game, win the game and then earn respect.

Not sure how much you know about Indian crowds but do you think they will respect Pakistan in the next game they play, should Pakistan win this?

Don't think they will respect them if they play like this and suffer collapses out of nowhere.

There are hostile home crowds in every sport. Why should cricket be an exception?

It is perfectly fine and reasonable to get booed by the opposition fans. You should have the mental strength to get a kick out of it and shut them up with your performance.

Cricket fans and cricketers are softer than plush pillows.

Very happy to see the crowd show zero appreciation for Pakistan. They are Indians not Pakistanis. They have no reason to be warm towards Pakistan.

I would hope and expect the same from Pakistani fans if India plays in Pakistan but Pakistani fans would probably lick Kohli’s boots. How embarrassing.

There are hostile home crowds in every sport. Why should cricket be an exception?

It is perfectly fine and reasonable to get booed by the opposition fans. You should have the mental strength to get a kick out of it and shut them up with your performance.

Cricket fans and cricketers are softer than plush pillows.

Very happy to see the crowd show zero appreciation for Pakistan. They are Indians not Pakistanis. They have no reason to be warm towards Pakistan.

I would hope and expect the same from Pakistani fans if India plays in Pakistan but Pakistani fans would probably lick Kohli’s boots. How embarrassing.

Not in cricket - maybe in Football.

Well deserved boos.

A pathetic team who have collapsed at the biggest stage. The Indians fan paid pretty dollar to watch a competitive match and they got a collapse for the ages.

I would be disgusted if I was them too.

Pakistani fans , please get real. Majority of you on this forum live in England and you’re so aware of the hostile football fan culture in Eastern Europe and all. This is nothing new. Rather this is real heat which is actually so rare in cricket.

In fact I must say, I was getting tired of fake sportiness from some other less patriotic Bharatiya cities.

Kudos to Ahmedabad for showing the cricket world what a proper hostile home crowd looks like.

@Mamoon

Pakistani fans , please get real. Majority of you on this forum live in England and you’re so aware of the hostile football fan culture in Eastern Europe and all. This is nothing new. Rather this is real heat which is actually so rare in cricket.

In fact I must say, I was getting tired of fake sportiness from some other less patriotic Bharatiya cities.

Kudos to Ahmedabad for showing the cricket world what a proper hostile home crowd looks like.

@Mamoon

Football is not Cricket.

Different styles of support.

This was done for political reasons and you need to be ashamed of your India instead of defending it.

Pathetic crowd and pathetic from anyone who defends this.

Who cares what the crowd does?! You are there to win a game, not listen to the crowd. There was only 1 answer, smash the Indian bowlers, but who am I kidding.

Football is not Cricket.

This was done for political reasons and you need to be ashamed of your India instead of defending it.

Bhai as long as there is no racism involved, this is complete fine.

This is the very thing that cricket lacks in modern era.

I’m glad patriotic Ahmedbad fans have brought the hostility back to cricket.

Hyderabad , watch , feel ashamed, and learn!!

Because its not done.

No one bood Australia captain in Ashes.

This is an Indian nahoosat which should not be accepted as normal.

Whatever you think of Pakistan cricket, this is not on.

Because its not done.

Why do Pakistani and Indian fans need to follow Ashes traditions?

Football is not Cricket.

We in Bharat, absolutely love our country and we are willing to put it all on the line for it.

Pakistani fans need to stop being soft, you guys are crying about this as if fans are throwing stuff at cricketers.

You’ve never known what a hostile home crowd looks and feels like. This is not even all that. Football fans in Eastern Europe are at an entirely different level. People deal with it

It was a cheap move by the crowd to boo Babar and it got me riled up too in the match thread. I was cringing fearing a boos during the Anthems but didn't hear any and in fact there was a decent cheer when the Pak anthem finished followed by a nice roar when the openers came out. So a 50-50 performance by the crowd.

However, I think these things rile you up more when your team performs poorly. You could see in the match thread that Pak posters were willing to ignore it when the boundaries were flowing and focused more on the pindrop silence from the crowd. So yeah, it affects you more based on your state of mind.

Bhai as long as there is no racism involved, this is complete fine.

This is the very thing that cricket lacks in modern era.

I’m glad patriotic Ahmedbad fans have brought the hostility back to cricket.

Hyderabad , watch , feel ashamed, and learn!!

Indian crowds are bigoted and matches in India are kinda boring and lacklustre in my opinion. Always dead silence whenever the opposite side (whether Pakistan or any other team) has a boundary or takes a wicket. Only a bigot will shame Hyderabadi crowd for being lively and vibrant.

We in Bharat, absolutely love our country and we are willing to put it all on the line for it.

Pakistani fans need to stop being soft, you guys are crying about this as if fans are throwing stuff at cricketers.

You’ve never known what a hostile home crowd looks and feels like. This is not even all that. Football fans in Eastern Europe are at an entirely different level. People deal with it

If your India has issues being civil then that is something you need to sort out.

Don't put lack of manners from your crowds on India.

The shame of it.

Because its not done.

Weren't a few Lords members banned for the way they behaved with Aussies?

What is pathetic about this? It's a hostile crowd and PAK need to be professionals about this.

Unless you missed the opening post.

We are discussing booing of Babar Azam at time of toss.

We will keep politics off this thread.

We are talking about the people in the ground

I'd
Unless you missed the opening post.

We are discussing booing of Babar Azam at time of toss.
Is it written somewhere that Pakistan should be cheered everywhere ?

You are arch rivals and the home teams didn't pay good money to be nice to you. They are well within their rights to boo and cheer as they please.

When Bobby and PAK fans were lapping up the support they got in Hyderabad, I wasn't complaining. Not sure why this is such an issue .

I'd

Is it written somewhere that Pakistan should be cheered everywhere ?

You are arch rivals and the home teams didn't pay good money to be nice to you. They are well within their rights to boo and cheer as they please.

When Bobby and PAK fans were lapping up the support they got in Hyderabad, I wasn't complaining. Not sure why this is such an issue .

Is it written that people should behave like animals?

We are talking about booing here.

Stop defending the indefensible.

Why does it matter. I would be more worried about out batting than their jeers

Agreed, crowds should be allowed to reflect their country, and these fans certainly do. But it's not Pakistan's concern, they should only be concerned why their batting line up is so unprofessional.

Considering the history of the rivalry and the politics behind both teams, I would have to say the Indians have been quite welcoming. If I was an Indian fan in the stadium, I would boo the Pakistani team like nobody’s business for this pathetic display.

Fans want to see competitive cricket, not a comprehensive capitulation like this.

Is it written that people should behave like animals?

We are talking about booing here.

Stop defending the indefensible.
Booing and hooting are very common in Aussie Ashes and they don't have a political rivalry at all

This is a mountain out of a molehill.

Looks like you have never been to a football stadium like Anfield !
Booing happens where there is some bad blood with the player. You have Babar praising the hyderabad crowd, no any statement been made by this team, yet Gujrati fans found a way to make themselves look like fools here.

Saying hum tumaray baap hai is again a pathetic statement aswell as ironic. Its below the belt.

They didnt boo during a wrong out decision or in some other context, but when the captain appeared for the toss.

The problem is in Pakistan being a good host is very important, even if they come and wallop your team.

What should matter is winning, not how good of a host you are.

Exactly. In fact I'd want Pakistan to create a hostile atmosphere if India was playing there so we shouldn't become snowflakes and feel entitled.

If Indian team visits pakistan in 2025 they should and would get a hostile reaction from the crowd.

If something racist or dangerous had occurred today, every Bharatiya fan here would have condemned it.

All we saw was sporting hostility and that’s actually a very missed part of the sports in cricket. We a rarely see this and this was actually a pleasant sight.

Please give me more of this.

If we went to Pakistan, please don’t be fake. Give us the heat

Exactly. In fact I'd want Pakistan to create a hostile atmosphere if India was playing there so we shouldn't become snowflakes and feel entitled.

There's a fine line between hostile and hatred. When the crowd is displaying hatred, that's not supporting your side, it's just politicised hatred, not that unexpected when you see the stuff their ministers come out with.

I would expect Pakistan to support their team vociferously in Pakistan, but I would be severely disappointed if they were hurling low grade abuse at the Indians.

The problem is in Pakistan being a good host is very important, even if they come and wallop your team.

Indian team has received plenty of hostile reaction in Pakistan.

Srikanth was attacked by a spectator during the match in Karachi in 1989.

There's a fine line between hostile and hatred. When the crowd is displaying hatred, that's not supporting your side, it's just politicised hatred, not that unexpected when you see the stuff their ministers come out with.

I would expect Pakistan to support their team vociferously in Pakistan, but I would be severely disappointed if they were hurling low grade abuse at the Indians.

What is politicised hatred?

Indian team has received plenty of hostile reaction in Pakistan.

Srikanth was attacked by a spectator during the match in Karachi in 1989.
Don't get into this.

We know what Indian crowds have done to Pakistani teams in the past, whilst on the field too.

My point is that in Pakistan the host stuff is too important these days it seems.

This. Pakistani fans have every right to do the same to visiting sides. Theres no advantage to being gracious to visiting teams.

Don't get into this.

We know what Indian crowds have done to Pakistani teams in the past, whilst on the field too.

My point is that in Pakistan the host stuff is too important these days it seems.

These days may be. Earlier certainly not. May be its because of that Lahore attack and a feeling of guilt.

I just gave an example. There are many such incidents. The 1989 tour was particularly hostile. If you get time read Sanjay Manjrekar's article on it.

Hatred whipped up by politicians.

So India Pakistan haven't fought 4 wars. Its all imaginary?

There is genuine hostility between the two nations.

And your posts on timepass reflect that many times.

Let's not try to be all goody here.

This. Pakistani fans have every right to do the same to visiting sides. Theres no advantage to being gracious to visiting teams.

Some posters seem to believe that there exists no real hostility between India and Pakistan and its all fake politics.

So India Pakistan haven't fought 4 wars. Its all imaginary?

There is genuine hostility between the two nations.

And your posts on timepass reflect that many times.

Let's not try to be all goody here.

Pakistan/India have played on plenty of occasions in highly charged atmospheres, but when the crowds start hurling abuse at players it's a reflection of your politicians. You know fine well this is true, as you are one of those who supports those same ministers, e.g. Yogi Adityanath.