India vs England | 1st Test | Ahmedabad | 18/11/12 | Day 4

Well done Cookie!

One of only two reliable batsmen in the side!

Take a bow cook. Punishing the bad balls away and nicely rotating the strike. Thats the only way of scoring big in SC.

Marshie, I dunno why you hate England so much. Especially since I'm rooting for NZ as my second team, and they're doing great vs. SL. :(

Expecting Belly to perish to a pacer anytime soon. Perhaps Dhoni or Kohli off a bouncer at ~20.

Marshie, I dunno why you hate England so much. Especially since I'm rooting for NZ as my second team, and they're doing great vs. SL. :(

I'm in fact enjoying Cook's innings at the crease, and kudos to Swanny for that 5-fer yesterday.

Lol Bell, then Fatel. Top selection work Poms!

You must be optimistic about the Ashes next summer. This England team is mentally gone to pieces. Pick Starc and get cummins fit and I can see you guys troubling Eng. No more Hilfi please.

Cook is standing between an outright innings victory and convincing 10 wickets win

(Off Topic - @Marshy, NZ is doing superbly well in SL. Southee ripped through SL top order with a 4 wickets burst. Now just need the wicket of Mahela to wrap the things up for NZ)

You must be optimistic about the Ashes next summer. This England team is mentally gone to pieces. Pick Starc and get cummins fit and I can see you guys troubling Eng. No more Hilfi please.

Nah, you need tracks that have the stigma of being spinner friendly, even if they aren't. A full time spinner from the subcontinent.

Without those, I feel like England will feel at home. Especially since it will be at home...

Not really, we have no spinners and no batters.

Forget the Aussies, we in NZ are optimistic when they come over here for their next series. I'm calling a 1-1.

(Off Topic - @Marshy, NZ is doing superbly well in SL. Southee ripped through SL top order with a 4 wickets burst. Now just need the wicket of Mahela to wrap the things up for NZ)

Yeah, Jayawardene is what is stopping us from rolling them over for below our score.

Nah, you need tracks that have the stigma of being spinner friendly, even if they aren't. A full time spinner from the subcontinent.

Without those, I feel like England will feel at home. Especially since it will be at home...

Well, the Saffas didn't need them to beat England at home not more than four months ago.

Forget the Aussies, we in NZ are optimistic when they come over here for their next series. I'm calling a 1-1.

Yeah, Jayawardene is what is stopping us from rolling them over for below our score.

Nah, your pitches are what our pacers pad their averages with. That and English pitches.

Well, the Saffas didn't need them to beat England at home not more than four months ago.

The Saffas also have really good batsmen and the pitches were flat.

You make flat pitches and get rolled by the batsmen, you make pace friendly pitches and get rolled by Steyn/Morkel/Philander. Especially with English batsmen being among the most mentally fragile of the lot.

NZ batting is too thin to trouble Eng.

I love NZ, and root for them all the time apart from NZ-Eng matches. But you can't help but think any time they win against a non BD, non Zim, non WI side, it's a pretty big upset.

Half the NZ wickets to fall in the NZ-SL match were to pacers, and for 221...

To Sri Lankan pacers... Seriously?

Another think I like about NZ, it's always the bowling that keeps them in the hunt. I love that about them. Can't say much for the batting though.

India away are better than us, and NZ might give us a good run, but...Australia? Come on now that's a bit mean on England, we're not that bad :P

What's happened to our middle order? lol it used to be alright.

India away are better than us, and NZ might give us a good run, but...Australia? Come on now that's a bit mean on England, we're not that bad :P

What's happened to our middle order? lol it used to be alright.

Middle order?

We never had one. We have Cook and Trott, occasionally a bloke that knocks stuff around called KP, and then our tail which keeps wagging.

Another think I like about NZ, it's always the bowling that keeps them in the hunt. I love that about them. Can't say much for the batting though.

We have very few good batsmen coming through from the domestic circuit, to put it succinctly.

Wonder if these two could bat the afternoon session. Would at least make the match interesting. But I'm not expecting a fifth day to be honest.

We have very few good batsmen coming through from the domestic circuit, to put it succinctly.

Import them. I hear there are plenty of Saffers who can't break into the Saffer team.

Some of these appeals are pretty ridiculous. That one was Dhoni trying to mask the fact he can't catch any ball coming into his gloves.

Watson, Cowan, Punter, Clarke and Hussey looks a decent line up and Patto, Starc and Cummins will surely hold their own over here.

Outside of clarke i think our batting will struggle again in england, we just don't have the sort of team that exposes englands weaknesses.

I see the balance of the sides as being similar as the 2009 Ashes, where nobody was that great. We won that one and we'd probably be favourites again at home.

An Absorbing first session comes to an end. Still Cook is the key wicket. Need to get him out ASAP after the lunch break.

LOL Ashwin is cutting the umpire and bowling an offie from over the to right hander.

Import them. I hear there are plenty of Saffers who can't break into the Saffer team.

We got a bowler already - Neil Wagner. Seems to go pretty good.

And a wicket keeper - Kruger van Wyk.

Not tried any bats yet.

One last session of first test coming up...

Good fight shown by Cook..but rest are useless...

In subcontinent KP is a sitting duck...all the hoopla over is exclusion during last test against SA looks silly now :))

Going to bed. Hoping for Eng to bat the day out with 5/6 down and 40/50 ahead. You can't beat a fifth day decider but realistically India need cook and Innings win is their,s.

Outside of clarke i think our batting will struggle again in england, we just don't have the sort of team that exposes englands weaknesses.

Perhaps, but what you've got going for you is that England are just as poor these days.

An Absorbing first session comes to an end. Still Cook is the key wicket. Need to get him out ASAP after the lunch break.

Little bit of optimism wont be bad...this match is done and dusted when England bowled out for 191 in first innings..

Ashwins turn to pick ip wickets in nxt session an cleanup tail

Even Zak and Yadav will come to party

Wouldn't mind a facesaving 5th day loss with making them get 100 runs.

Going to bed. Hoping for Eng to bat the day out with 5/6 down and 40/50 ahead. You can't beat a fifth day decider but realistically India need cook and Innings win is their,s.

Even of Cook stays at one end we can cleanup rest easily.....

In subcontinent KP is a sitting duck...all the hoopla over is exclusion during last test against SA looks silly now :))

Don't celebrate too soon, that guy can turn it on at the flick of a switch. If England end up 2-1 in this test series, that victory will be because of him.

Yeah, he can score big and turn the game anytime, but between those brilliant innings his failures look awful.

How do NZ produce even half a decent cricketers again and again among just a 4 million available bunch ?

Does every kid plays cricket there ? Its seems that many kids in Nz try there hands at cricket inspite of being a Rugby loving country .

Sky pundits are very critical on KP and his ability to play spin bowling. Both Nass and Bumble said KP is not a great player of spin instead he had one great inning against spin (SL test this year). KP = Best player of spin bowling is a myth. This is what they implied.

Nick Knight restrained himself from mouthing anything bad about KP's technique but he did pointed out that it was the worst dismissal of the morning (similar to Bell's yesterday).

Highlight of the show for me is Nass's analysis of Zak's bowling tricks(or the setting up of batsmen) before getting Compton out, that was simply brilliant.

How do NZ produce even half a decent cricketers again and again among just a 4 million available bunch ?

Cricket is a summer sport, and so you're likely to get a few talented folks every now and then. Our system is nothing to speak of, but it's still workable and churns out reasonable guys match after match.

But yes, a population of 4.3 mil is scanty to build an all time great, world conquering team.

59 overs left in the day
if england want to drawn this test match thay should not lose more than 1 wicket today

Why does Zaheer Khan behaves like Wasim Akram after dismissing Compton ? The pair batted for more than 40 overs and khans reaction is that of a bowler who just finished with figures of 7/20 .

Ball's really reversing isn't it? India might be tempted to delay the new ball

Ramiz : yadav ke paas pace hai, swing hai, jawani hai. :))
Ramiz bhai kya bol rahe ho..

Poor decision on the second wicket, but marginal on the first.The Captain Cook sinking with the ship. Brave man that he is.

Oh dear, poor old Sandwich has been sawn off twice in one match!

Why no DRS?

Innings defeat back on now. I actually feel really bad for Cook. He seems to permanently wear the expression of a bloke who wonders what he did to deserve so many useless team-mates lol.

Was wondering why that took so long. England always lose wickets in clusters IMO.

Needs another one of those hero innings from Prior. One of our best batsmen these days.

Unlucky for samit to be given out twice wrongly (but he did escape one very good shout from Ashwin in the 1st inning before being given wrongly LBW) in the same game

Poor decision on the second wicket, but marginal on the first.The Captain Cook sinking with the ship. Brave man that he is.

The first one was out.Second one was marginal yes.

But Yadav is reversing the ball at pace.Never thought will see and Indian doing that.Well done Umesh.

Wish Patel's dismissals had been more clean. He might find a way to keep his place now.

Cook is playing on what seems to be a pancake. They must be changing the pitch whenever a different batsman is on strike.

The first one was out.Second one was marginal yes.

But Yadav is reversing the ball at pace.Never thought will see and Indian doing that.Well done Umesh.

Second was clearly not. Would have missed leg, and it was a nick anyways.

First was shaving leg if anything.

Pretty chanceless test match for Cook, scored 163 runs for one dismissal currently.
Difficult to tell if he is so good or we are so rubbish though.

He hit the ball and it was going down leg and thats marginal?

Does seem a bit unfair but Cook had a let-off and Fatel is rubbish anyway, he only would have scored 10 and got out. The right and wrong umpiring decisions usually even out.

Pretty chanceless test match for Cook, scored 163 runs for one dismissal currently.
Difficult to tell if he is so good or we are so rubbish though.

I think he's genuinely good, reminds me of Border, I know too tall order :misbah_old

Feel sorry for Cook. He's fighting hard out there and leading from the front while rest of them (except Swann and maybe Prior as well) doing bugger all.

Safe to say Cook is probably the best batsman England has produced in a very long time anyway.

It seems Umpire Hill wants to go home early. He is thinking of an early tea and get on the flight :wasim

I wonder why is the England think tank reluctant to promote Prior to no.6. Has all that is required for a rearguarding no6 batsman. Certainly cant do worse thn Sammich Fatel and Ian Fail