India vs South Africa | 1st Test | Mohali | 5th-9th November | Match Thread | India won by 108 runs

Yeah but SA might bat better tmrw. They were not that confident today though. A couple more wickets and it wouldve favoured us. Anyway the fault lies in our horrible top order.

True.

And we wasted our overs towards today's end.

But tomorrow, hopefully it will spin more.

Remember, SA are not looking at 200. They are looking at 300 cos they will be batting last here. ;-)

Pretty substandard wicket but but box standard of what you expect to get in India, should make the rest of the game a low scoring but exciting one.

Ball didn't even turn for 10 overs even for Indian bowlers.

Don't mistake pathetic batting for pathetic pitch.

The old Fab 5 team would have racked up 400 here.

Pretty substandard wicket but but box standard of what you expect to get in India, should make the rest of the game a low scoring but exciting one.

How is this different from the green pitches that England produced at Lords last year? That Wimbledon curator would have been proud of that grass.

Though, I do agree that it shouldnt be so spin friendly on the 1st day of a test. Ok to be like this 3rd day onwards.

In India you would expect to have at least a couple of matches with such pitches, and the other two with normal pitches which would produce balanced cricket for 3 days (spin, pace and bat) and then become turners on the last days

Match might finish in 3 days

SA batting is bare bones

Sirji bohut zor ka joke arraha hai, Indian team planning strategy of run chase after South Africa made 438.
Dhoni to fellow players
" Rohit tu 200 karle, Virat tu 100 karle,
Rahane aap 50, Raina tu bhi 50."
Fellow player to Dhoni,
"aur sir aap"
Dhoni replies,
"main last ball pe six maroonga."

SA also 2 down,hmmm. Now it seems 201 is enough on this pitch and i think India will take some lead.

Sirji bohut zor ka joke arraha hai, Indian team planning strategy of run chase after South Africa made 438.
Dhoni to fellow players
" Rohit tu 200 karle, Virat tu 100 karle,
Rahane aap 50, Raina tu bhi 50."
Fellow player to Dhoni,
"aur sir aap"
Dhoni replies,
"main last ball pe six maroonga."

Need Burnol?

The joke (?) was lame as hell but why would he need burnol?

from a couple of other threads, he was way too happy about india's dismissal. After SA's batting his pleasure seems to have turned into random rants and lame jokes

Need Burnol?
Many posters do...not only him. Look at the amount of India related threads been bumped today. And we are only on 1st day of a test match :))

That obsession :yk

I mean I know we are a great nation but these obsession with India amongst our neighbours bewilder me always.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Whats your thoughts on todays play?

Saw the match or replay?

A little bit at (my) lunch time. Not much chance watching live matches on weekdays. The only option is cricinfo, cricketweb. (and PP of course!)

Day is even stevens I would say. India is slightly ahead as they got two early wickets in the bag. The Saffer batting depth is poor (esp against spin) and after AB I don't see them putting up resistance against Ashwin, Jaddu and Mishra. However, if Amla and AB stick around past lunch, SA will probably get a lead. Even a lead of 100 is not going to be healthy as SA have to bat last. If the first day is anything to go by, the side batting last may have a tough time here. SA is going to need a lead of 125-150 to put real pressure on India here.

Honors even after day one. Had India scored a hundred more runs, they would have all but won.

A little bit at (my) lunch time. Not much chance watching live matches on weekdays. The only option is cricinfo, cricketweb. (and PP of course!)

Day is even stevens I would say. India is slightly ahead as they got two early wickets in the bag. The Saffer batting depth is poor (esp against spin) and after AB I don't see them putting up resistance against Ashwin, Jaddu and Mishra. However, if Amla and AB stick around past lunch, SA will probably get a lead. Even a lead of 100 is not going to be healthy as SA have to bat last. If the first day is anything to go by, the side batting last may have a tough time here. SA is going to need a lead of 125-150 to put real pressure on India here.

I too feel the same including the 100 run lead.

But on further thoughts, I feel a lead of 100 by Saffers would put soo much pressure on us that we will likely crumble. 100 leads means we need to score atleast 250 to even give a 150 target which may be risky. So we need 300 to give atleast 200 target. Problem with our batting is that it can either pile on or crumble and we never know what happens. See how guys like Rahane, Pujara, Vijay, Kohli bat. All smooth and BAM...suddenly out. Been happening a lot.

So hopefully we get Saffers out for 200 or less. Max we can give 50 runs leads. Anything beyond that is too risky.

But on further thoughts, I feel a lead of 100 by Saffers would put soo much pressure on us that we will likely crumble. 100 leads means we need to score atleast 250 to even give a 150 target which may be risky. So we need 300 to give atleast 200 target. Problem with our batting is that it can either pile on or crumble and we never know what happens. See how guys like Rahane, Pujara, Vijay, Kohli bat. All smooth and BAM...suddenly out. Been happening a lot.

So hopefully we get Saffers out for 200 or less. Max we can give 50 runs leads. Anything beyond that is too risky.

I believe India is in a good place. Saf has a very weak lower order and with two wickets already down SAF is in trouble. Chasing anything over 200 on this wicket would be impossible.

SA have their work cut out here, this 201 must be multiplied by two.
Essentially India have been dismissed for 402.
The Rabada no ball to Ashwin will hurt in the end as it allowed a 40+ partnership to develop which is gold on this medicated pitch. Remember SA have to bat last and chasing anything above 150 is untenable on this deck.
If India were shunted for 180, then 290-320 would have been an imposing total.
Now SA have to look for 350+, which is impossible on a pitch where the ball is only ankle high.
This match won't even last a session on day 4, but its better than the rubbish happening down under. I'm by no means condoning this pitch though, two wrongs don't make a right.

0-50 lead - advantage India
50-100 lead - match even
125+ lead - adv SA

India will make 250 in the second innings. They won't fail twice at home against a side that does not have world class spinners.

SA will need everyone to contribute . Trying to block will not help.

Runs will matter in the end.

Why is kohli bowling Yadav from one end :facepalm:
Should have bowled ashwin from the other end.

Aaron has looked a lot more in control compared to Yadav. Umesh is a dumb bowler and will always stay so.

Rajiv: "Kohli is probably using Yadav to scuff up the ball, but conceding boundaries is probably not a great strategy. Need to bring in Ashwin and Jadeja now."

Really?

Yadav hasn't bowled all that badly has he? Although Ishants absence means we'll have to rely solely on spinners to win us matches.

Kohli just following MSD's footsteps as skipper.

Either of Ashwin/Jaddu should have been the one bowling now.

Yadav hasn't bowled all that badly has he? Although Ishants absence means we'll have to rely solely on spinners to win us matches.

Not one ball has beaten the batsmen.
He is just brainlessly bowling short and wide most of the times :facepalm:

Not one ball has beaten the batsmen.
He is just brainlessly bowling short and wide most of the times :facepalm:

Yeah but apparently he's the best we have and atleast he hasn't given too many away. I'm more worried about Mishra. Saffers might play him quite easily.

Aaron to Elgar, 4 leg byes, down the leg side with the angle, not the line he'd want to bowl, and it deflects off Elgar's pads to run away for four leg byes

Dummb di di dumb di di dumb di di do

MORON KOHLi.

Substandard captaincy of Kohli continues.

Giving away so many easy runs in the form of continuing to bowl too many overs from pacers (who have rarely been accurate/economical in their careers) on this track.

Apparently this pitch is unplayable according to some pper's here [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION]

lol.....Nothing will change.

If SA score, they will say "hey look, Indians tried their level best to make it unplayable but alien Saffers did well here". :))

The only way to change their mind is when WE DO WELL in 2 innings.

And not happy with the way close in fielders are present for both Mishra and Ashwin.

Have lots in close and have a 1 in deep for the cut shot to save the boundary.

How hard is it to get this right?

lol.....Nothing will change.

If SA score, they will say "hey look, Indians tried their level best to make it unplayable but alien Saffers did well here". :))

The only way to change their mind is when WE DO WELL in 2 innings.

Rahane and Vijay are key in the 2nd innings.

Great over by Ashwin. Getting his lengths better.

Escape for Amla.

Now 2 spinners please KOhli....we have suffered due to your comedy changes.

Manoj: "I dont see much spin as every1 are speaking...n i think virat is trying to create impressions on d pitch by making aaron bowl round d wicket...!!" There is turn, but not sharp or vicious

Kohli has learned his Captaincy from IPL - I am wondering why he is changing bowlers after 3/4 overs spell; ideally he should change after 2 overs............

Unfortuantely, even at IPL he wasn't the brightest of bulbs when it comes to captaincy.

Yesterday, had IND been all-out for 170, trust me, they could have been at better position by now.

As I wrote in other thread (where poster are a bit "too critical" about this Test wicket), the lap top that calculates SAF's strategy told last afternoon to close the day cautiously - so they batted 20 over for 28/2. Had IND finished inside 55 overs, SAF would have finished the day 60/4 in 35 overs.

Yesterday, had IND been all-out for 170, trust me, they could have been at better position by now.

As I wrote in other thread (where poster are a bit "too critical" about this Test wicket), the lap top that calculates SAF's strategy told last afternoon to close the day cautiously - so they batted 20 over for 28/2. Had IND finished inside 55 overs, SAF would have finished the day 60/4 in 35 overs.

But pitch is also flattening out a bit. It's not turning like yesterday.

Virat is using the field placing for AB against these 2. Amla we already know, but this guy Elger averages 45 in domestics at a SR of <50 - he 'll love this fielding.

No vicious turn or variable bounce. Theres some turn for the spinners while a bit of reverse for the pacers too. Why were people whining about this pitch ?

And Ashwin off the attack.

The only bowler who created the little chances we had is off the attack.

Ideally it should be Ashwin-Jaddu but Kohli's capatincy has been exemplery,

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] I am already missing Dhoni's captaincy on these pitches :))

It almost feels like Kohli took some birbe to do bowling changes and field placements. :))

You can't be this bad even if you tried.