Looking For A New Bat!

JN1301

So I am in need for a new bat! I have been looking at the 2011 ranges of Gun and Moore, Gray Nicolls and Kookaburra. I have narrowed my choices down to GM Icon, GM Flare, GN Oblivion, GN Powerbow, Kookaburra Kahuna, Kookaburra CCX or Kookaburra Ice.

I am a middle order batsmen and bowler. I like aggressive play so big edges and a big profile are for me. I also prefer medium weight bats.

Any thoughts will be appreciated.

If you ask around on this forum, you're likely to find that the GM Icon is very widely regarded as one of the better bats going around. It's got a beautiful pick up and balance and the sweetspot is nice and long which in turn makes it a pretty good bat for just about anybody.

As for other bats you might be interested in, check out the Kook CCX as it's not a bad piece of willow.

Good luck!

Welcome to forum mate, I hope you enjoy your stay here!

So looking at the bats you have narrowed to I will say cut the following bats from that list;

GN Powerbow
Kookaburra Kahuna
Kookaburra CCX
Kookaburra ICE/Rogue

These bats are useless lol

Anyways, since you want big edges then your best bet will be Oblivion. Since you are aggressive and like to get on top of bowler then Oblivion and Flare are your best bats.

So picking one from the list I would say Oblivion because it has big profile, edges will be thicker than Flare and it will be good if you like to have a slog. If your pitches have low bounce then it will be great for that as well.

If you have any more question(s) please don't hesitate to ask me.

thanks heaps, so icon or flare? our pitches are high bounce and very fast so that rules off the oblivion.

CD, you've just cut the list down to bats you've bought in the last month!

LOL Nahh mate its not that. One of my club matae has Kook Blade 950 and it is plank so after that I don't rate any Kook high although it is wrong.

If they didn't change Powerbow shape and if it was old one then that would have been ultimate choice for me seriously

I said Flare because it is all round sort of bat.

You can see from GM players who use Flare such as Nathan McCullum, Umar Akmal, Shane Watson etc they are aggressive batsman.

I said Flare because it is all round sort of bat.

You can see from GM players who use Flare such as Nathan McCullum, Umar Akmal, Shane Watson etc they are aggressive batsman.
if the flare is an all round type of bat, then whats the icon

Despite what GM says, the bats are not all that different. The Icon and Flare both have mid-high yet long sweetspots with excellent pick up. The only difference you'll find is the concaving on the Icon which gives it a slightly different feel from the Flare.

All in all, if you're deciding between these two bats, you can't go wrong either way. If you can find a shop nearby which stocks both bats, have a look and find out which one you prefer.

(If there isn't a shop nearby, go for the Flare as it looks cooler :p)

The bat of choice for Andrew Gale.

Sami, I see you're falling prey to GM's (top notch) marketing! If only they could sign another few Aussies, I'd be all over 'em.

I say icon...............flare is good too but icon is slightly thicker and has a bigger sweetspot. but its not a whole lot better.

Kook won't let it happen

You're right dude, Kook is pretty well placed in the Australian market and I doubt they'd give up that position by letting GM sponsor Aussie players.

Would be interesting though to see someone like Cam White using a Flare+ or Callum Ferguson using an Icon.

I agree would be quite interesting.

Out of Big Three I would say Gray Nicolls is the smartest and better off because they have factories in Australia and England so they basically have both markets.

I agree would be quite interesting.

Out of Big Three I would say Gray Nicolls is the smartest and better off because they have factories in Australia and England so they basically have both markets.

Yea GN has their own willow farms as well so that can't hurt their cause. I've yet to see GN or GM break strongly into the subcontinent market though. Moyo and the Akmals are the only players I recall using English bats.

You sure about Willow farm part?

Quite interesting actually just had a thought and indeed Akmals and Yousuf Bhai are the only ones who were sponsored by English brands.....Oh that keeper Sarfraz Ahmed and Zulqarnain Haider along Rana Naveed all three were sponsored I'm sure Sarfraz AHmed is still with them.

yeah im from australia and i can tell you now that gray nicolls are the only cricket brand company that grow their own willow. cool fact. other companies like kookaburra manufacture their bats in india/pakistan if i am correct

Kookaburra bats are made in India by SG.

JN1301 mate have you seen or used Gray Nicolls e41?

Will you be buying from GCCC if you opt out for GM? They charge a lot don't they ?!
yeah i have seen the e41 in gccc, absolute massive edges... but maintains a light pick up somehow lol and true, stores in australia like GCCC and kingsgrove are pretty damn expensive. But i am going to the uk for a holiday soon!

Do you mind telling more about e41? How is the shape and profile? I quite like that model because regardless what weight you opt out for edges42 will be 41mm or near that mark which I believe is quite impressive because they'll be using low density clefts for that.

A suggestion will be that when you buy make sure you get the invoice and before leaving UK file tax refund and you will get 20% back.

If you are aggressive/Watto style batsman then go for Flare I'd reckon but since you are going to stores make sure you pick both and select one which feels the best in your hands.

Will you be buying from GCCC if you opt out for GM? They charge a lot don't they ?!

Apparently bats are expensive everywhere in Australia. I wonder if it might be cheaper for him to have it shipped from the UK, especially GM bats.

shipping cost more than makes up for the low prices

He will then get stung by customs, taxes I believe are quite high in Australia.

Do you mind telling more about e41? How is the shape and profile? I quite like that model because regardless what weight you opt out for edges42 will be 41mm or near that mark which I believe is quite impressive because they'll be using low density clefts for that.

A suggestion will be that when you buy make sure you get the invoice and before leaving UK file tax refund and you will get 20% back.

If you are aggressive/Watto style batsman then go for Flare I'd reckon but since you are going to stores make sure you pick both and select one which feels the best in your hands.
hm, well i didnt go into a full inspection of the bat but from what i could see, the e41 has the largest profile i have ever seen and had edges bigger than a 50cent coin. the sweetspot is also in the middle so pretty good balance and pick up for a bat its size. For the curve, there is a bit but nothing too crazy. Hope that helped a bit lol

It helps thanks mate! I appreciate it!

It is lovely bat I have my eyes set on it :D

Do you mind if I ask what bat(s) do you currently use?

hey, i also found these pictures on the internet,

025.jpg

018.jpg

020.jpg

your right, i would have to pay shipping but i would save alot more than buying in australia. prices in australia are ridiculous.. trust me, i know lol

That's what I've heard from all of my mates in Melbourne. Try Prodirect, I believe they have flat rate shipping for most overseas countries.

If you don't mind sharing mate, is there a particular price range/grade you're looking at?

Thanks for the pictures mate I appreciate it!

Darn it looks lovely!! I love it!

You don't like this ?
i do like it but it was released this year so i just wanna hear more opinions on the bat and i just added another photo of the e41 from side angle, forgot about that one and i was previously using a kookaburra kahuna till it split in the handle ):

Once again thanks for the pictures mate I appreciate it!

It is seriously lovely profile look at sweetspot it looks very long!

I haven't heard great stories about Kookaburra bats. Its shame when you buy premium bat and pay premium price and at the end the bat breaks.

If the handle broke within a year they would be able to replace it for free of cost.

Once again thanks for the pictures mate I appreciate it!

It is seriously lovely profile look at sweetspot it looks very long!

I haven't heard great stories about Kookaburra bats. Its shame when you buy premium bat and pay premium price and at the end the bat breaks.

If the handle broke within a year they would be able to replace it for free of cost.
haha yeah looks like a great bat, and i have to agree , my friend had a kookaburra blade 750 and it cracked at the toe. But i really liked my kahuna ): last season it gave me, an average of around 35 with my highest score being 137

Wow thats great stats to be honest.

One of my clubmate bought three Kookaburras and one of them got stolen [was brand new almost], one turned out to be fake and one turned out a plank [Blade 950] hence I didn't recommend Kook to you :))

Wow thats great stats to be honest.

One of my clubmate bought three Kookaburras and one of them got stolen [was brand new almost], one turned out to be fake and one turned out a plank [Blade 950] hence I didn't recommend Kook to you :))

CD, is your mate's Kook really that bad? The Kook I got from Maj is only a 250 and it plays quite well, I can't imagine a 950 being THAT bad.

Yeah bro I myself tested it with mallet and I tested whole bat and it had no ping whatsoever.

I feel sorry for him to be honest!

Yeah bro I myself tested it with mallet and I tested whole bat and it had no ping whatsoever.

I feel sorry for him to be honest!

That's horrible! It wouldn't be a bad idea for him to get in touch with someone at Kookaburra, I'm not sure how good their customer service is, but if if half of what GM's is, they'll likely send over a new stick.

He did but no luck.

Riz, the thing is that when Kookaburra place and order with SG they tell them we need X numbers of bats and they should look good because they will be our top of the line bat. No one in this whole process test each bat with mallet or anything. Companies like CA, SS, MB, SG etc buy more than 10,000 clefts each year for there bats. Rest like Laver & Wood they just buy 1000 of them that's it!

yeah alot of companies mass produce their bats which is bad in some cases but lucky for me, kookaburra allowed a few people to go to their factory outlet and look at their new range (this was early last year) and choose a bat that you like (had to pay for it obviously). Guess who was one of those people! :D but mine still snapped at the handle anyway so yeah..

Even then, I'm honestly very surprised Kook didn't do anything about that. When Maj had the Blade he gave me, the handle came off and they fitted a new handle for him at no charge so hearing this is certainly a disappointment.

I guess you just take your chances in that case; probably why I don't spend too much on bats. Well, that and the fact that I have to save for my other hobbies. :p

yeah alot of companies mass produce their bats which is bad in some cases but lucky for me, kookaburra allowed a few people to go to their factory outlet and look at their new range (this was early last year) and choose a bat that you like (had to pay for it obviously). Guess who was one of those people! :D but mine still snapped at the handle anyway so yeah..

That is awesome because I have heard people going to Kookaburra's factory and they don't allow anyone to pick bats because you can only buy bats from retailers. So for you it was great to hear that.

Was it Ricky Pointing's Kahuna?

Even then, I'm honestly very surprised Kook didn't do anything about that. When Maj had the Blade he gave me, the handle came off and they fitted a new handle for him at no charge so hearing this is certainly a disappointment.

I guess you just take your chances in that case; probably why I don't spend too much on bats. Well, that and the fact that I have to save for my other hobbies. :p

If a bat turns out to be plank Kookaburra won't do anything they'll just say you didn't prepare it properly etc etc for your Blade it was different story and the retailer did everything, make sense ? You can't directly go to Kookaburra and say "look my bat is broken etc"

Well I don't have any other hobby now or anything to spend on except food, clothes and electronic

That is awesome because I have heard people going to Kookaburra's factory and they don't allow anyone to pick bats because you can only buy bats from retailers. So for you it was great to hear that.

Was it Ricky Pointing's Kahuna?

If a bat turns out to be plank Kookaburra won't do anything they'll just say you didn't prepare it properly etc etc for your Blade it was different story and the retailer did everything, make sense ? You can't directly go to Kookaburra and say "look my bat is broken etc"

Well I don't have any other hobby now or anything to spend on except food, clothes and electronic
ahaha, nah they dont let individuals choose but they do let cricket specialists. I work at kingsgrove sports centre and they sent me and a couple other people to the kookaburra factory to choose the best kookaburra bats. We went through like 30 boxes each containing around 15 bats lol. So yeah, i just bought it from kingsgrove meaning i got a discount yay!

Wait, you failed to mention you work for a cricket equipment retailer!?!?!?! LOL

Why are you asking us about bats, we should be asking you! :p

Wait, you failed to mention you work for a cricket equipment retailer!?!?!?! LOL

Why are you asking us about bats, we should be asking you! :p
LOL true, but kingsgrove doesnt sell much gm equipment. + they dont have the latest 2011 gm gear so im just asking for everyones opinion haha australia also has a different kookaburra and gray nicolls range compared to uk. for example, australia has kook ice and beast, uk has kook rogue and ccx.

I get the retailer bit, but even then it's just poor customer service! Not only did the company loose your friend as a future customer, they also lost people like you and I. From a marketing standpoint, that's a horrible way to satisfy customer needs.

As for hobbies, food is definitely one of them! Enough Popeye's chicken sandwiches will eventually put a hole in your wallet. :p

JN1301,

Aren't both Australian and UK range of Kookaburras made at same place ?

Stuart makes all senior bats in Australia, right? I know he for sure makes e41.

Do you know the price of e41?

Cheers

I get the retailer bit, but even then it's just poor customer service! Not only did the company loose your friend as a future customer, they also lost people like you and I. From a marketing standpoint, that's a horrible way to satisfy customer needs.

As for hobbies, food is definitely one of them! Enough Popeye's chicken sandwiches will eventually put a hole in your wallet. :p

The retailer/Jason did his bit actually he gave discount to my friend on his next purchase so he got happy with that.

Does anyone know if any Pakistani companies will exchange bats if it turns out to be a plank or the handle breaks?

lol yeah, cricket bats in australia do not com cheap ):

What do you think about local boy, Julian Millichamp? How are his bats if you have seen and played with one?

I have Flare, Icon and Oblivion so do you want picture comparision of all three to help you in your decisiojn making?

Does anyone know if any Pakistani companies will exchange bats if it turns out to be a plank or the handle breaks?

:)) Nahi yaar they would never do that unless you know the guy and he is your friend etc

What do you think about local boy, Julian Millichamp? How are his bats if you have seen and played with one?

I have Flare, Icon and Oblivion so do you want picture comparision of all three to help you in your decisiojn making?

:)) Nahi yaar they would never do that unless you know the guy and he is your friend etc
yes i have seen julian millichamps bats before, never played with one though. From what i hear, they are amazing but very expensive.

And yes, photos will be muchly appreciated! And may i ask, which one do you prefer using

Here are your pictures JN1301

Sorry for picture size, photobucket is down so this the only way :(

• DSC05715.jpg
    DSC05715.jpg
    156.9 KB · Views: 319
  • DSC05716.jpg
    DSC05716.jpg
    129.5 KB · Views: 329
  • DSC05717.jpg
    DSC05717.jpg
    181.8 KB · Views: 294
  • DSC05718.jpg
    DSC05718.jpg
    156.8 KB · Views: 288
More pictures....

• DSC05719.jpg
    DSC05719.jpg
    137.6 KB · Views: 333
  • DSC05720.jpg
    DSC05720.jpg
    171.6 KB · Views: 269
  • DSC05721.jpg
    DSC05721.jpg
    163.1 KB · Views: 226
  • DSC05722.jpg
    DSC05722.jpg
    235.2 KB · Views: 313
Last two..

Since you like to mix aggression in your game and bounce is high I'd recommend you Flare over Icon because I find it to be an allround bat

• DSC05723.jpg
    DSC05723.jpg
    166.7 KB · Views: 282
  • DSC05724.jpg
    DSC05724.jpg
    184.3 KB · Views: 296
wow, thanks alot bro! muchly appreciated. I think i might go with the flare :) especially after watching shane watson's innings yesterday! Once again, thanks

Out of your bats, which are you currently playing with?

wow, thanks alot bro! muchly appreciated. I think i might go with the flare :) especially after watching shane watson's innings yesterday! Once again, thanks

Out of your bats, which are you currently playing with?

Exactly you saw that brutal attack right!?! On WACA we can see ball going all over the park off your Flare!!!

Our season hasn't started yet and I didn't go to last few practice due to exams but I use a different bat every time because it is new and I am itching to use it lol

ahaha too bad i live in sydney ): but i have played at the scg 3 or 4 times now for grand finals. Won 2 of them i think. And wow, new bats every time.. rich D: ahah

SCG is a great stadium I must say! I wish to go there one day!

LOL my nets:bats ratio is off! I don't get enough time to go to nets we have like 4-5 nets a week!

ahaha yeah it is, its the best feeling when you smack a spinner for six in the scg because the scg really favors spinners.

And wow, i only get 2-3 net sessions a week due to work etc :(

ahaha yeah it is, its the best feeling when you smack a spinner for six in the scg because the scg really favors spinners.

And wow, i only get 2-3 net sessions a week due to work etc :(

We have mattings so they are basically lifeless :))

Actually it is two clubs and we are insane about cricket.

jn1301 what club do you play for i play for banstown district inshallah into bankstown grade

why cant australia make kookaburras why does sg have to make it for them cheapo bogans

Josh mate,

Was at Kingsgrove's Website and I see you guys selling GM bats, so if you buy from there won't you get a good price after all staff discount and everything?

Also are Oz Pumas made at same place as UK ones?

Josh mate,

Was at Kingsgrove's Website and I see you guys selling GM bats, so if you buy from there won't you get a good price after all staff discount and everything?

Also are Oz Pumas made at same place as UK ones?

Um the bats that kingsgrove has atm isnt the latest range. And as for pumas, i am not actually sure because im not really a fan of puma anymore. After they took down the ballistic, never really interested in them lol

Ah okay cheers

I haven't seen last year Flare but yes there is a different in this year and last years Icon.

2011 have bow while 2010 one didn't.

Ah okay cheers

I haven't seen last year Flare but yes there is a different in this year and last years Icon.

2011 have bow while 2010 one didn't.

All Icons have bowed blades, just not as much as the Catalyst/Apex have.

uzair bhai have you soaked the toe of your GN it looks soft and pressed?