official day 5 thread

England are definitely playing for a draw now, i thing they have accepted the fact that they are not going to win.

Now they are probably just trying to slow down the match so they don't have to face Akhtar and kaneria

inzi dropped in outfield by strauss

a dolly

lead 257

MenInGreen said:
From Inzis point of view - if one of Tresco, Flintoff, Pierterson plays a "blinder" of an innings - we could be in big trouble

Which is better : 1-0 to Lahore or 1-1 to Lahore ?

this is a risk in any game that is the unpredictability of cricket, speaking of unpredictability INZI IS DROPPED OF A SITTER BY STRAUSS

MenInGreen said:
From Inzis point of view - if one of Tresco, Flintoff, Pierterson plays a "blinder" of an innings - we could be in big trouble

Which is better : 1-0 to Lahore or 1-1 to Lahore ?

2-0 :)

yea why should pakistan take a draw from a good chance to win than instead going for and having a good chance of winning this game then having fun in the 3rd test as there is no pressure anymore and maybe even whitewash

pakistan should declare about 25 mins before lunch so they can have 15 min bowl @ england.

Doesn't seem like pakistan can force a win, so why is Inzi playing the way he is?

its still weak.. they cant play such a huge blinder of an innings.. 260 is a huge lead to chase down in 65 overs. which is realistic number of overs left in the day.

I think Inzi should declare now.

You Pakistaanis have very high expectations from your players.

Back off a bat, ikhwaan!

I mean they've done their utmost with what they have, Masha Allah.

Do you blame them for ensuring that they are undefeated in this series?

The time will come, Insha Allah when they will play like, nay better than the Australians.

Ace Base said:
You Pakistaanis have very high expectations from your players.

Back off a bat, ikhwaan!

I mean they've done their utmost with what they have, Masha Allah.

Do you blame them for ensuring that they are undefeated in this series?

The time will come, Insha Allah when they will play like, nay better than the Australians.

and that time is NOW!!

this match is done i think.. its a draw... 80 percent chance of a draw here.

80% draw
10% Eng win (will need something special)
10% Pak win (will need something special)

the only thing a declaration does is to provide this excellent Faislabad crowd a nice spectacle. Asides of giving England a chance of victory.
Pakistan shoud just bat for a draw.

Cartman said:
its still weak.. they cant play such a huge blinder of an innings.. 260 is a huge lead to chase down in 65 overs. which is realistic number of overs left in the day.

I think Inzi should declare now.

in one dayers people chase 300 in 50 overs bit frequently these days, with the willow bats and leatger balls with elevem players. Why is 260 in 65 overs impossible here ?

I'm just sitting here wondering why that dropped catch isn't on cricinfo. :13:

Ace Base said:
Masha Allah, Pakistan prevails.

Alhumduliallah.

For those of you who say Pakistan should have pressed on for a win, please remember, Ikhwaan, that this is a team that was almost written off before the series started. This is a team with teething troubles, with young players, without an established opening order.

Keep all this and more in perspective: Pakistan have done magnificently, Masha Allah and I am proud of them.

haan but now we have a chance. we shd give it a shot. England will be in a lot of pressure not only we have a good score now but Multan will also haunt them. I think so Inzi shd hit out and make the lead till 280 and take a chance or 2 before lunch. 1-2 wkts b4 lunch and England can be in trouble

On a slow and low day 5 pitch there is no way England will chase 260 in 65 overs

Gutless from Inzi. Why not let your bowlers have a go at 280 on a 5th day pitch? Pathetic

octavian said:
in one dayers people chase 300 in 50 overs bit frequently these days, with the willow bats and leatger balls with elevem players. Why is 260 in 65 overs impossible here ?

I agree
England can definetly chase down 250 in 65 overs
And thats assuming that Hair will not force Pakistan to bowl all 73 remaining overs even if its pitch dark by the time we are done.

Kurash said:
Gutless from Inzi. Why not let your bowlers have a go at 280 on a 5th day pitch? Pathetic

maybe coz we are only 259 ahead!

Kurash said:

because we are already 1-0 up in the series

because the lead is actually 258 not 280

because if he was to declare and england were to win, people like you would be calling him a donkey for declaring. He is damned if he does and damned if he doesn't

Oh - Flintoff to bowl. England should be coming out to bat soon.

This is horrible gameplay by England, for a team that claims to be number one now they have already accepted a draw if it were Australia they would definitely go for a win.

because if he was to declare and england were to win, people like you would be calling him a donkey for declaring. He is damned if he does and damned if he doesn't

:83: well said!

Go for quick runs and declare at 280, thats what i meant! Out with this 2 runs an over ********

Kurash said:

Nice 2nd post.
Did u take all the trouble to sign up here just to call Inzi gutless for doing the sensible thing?

mooz said:
I agree
England can definetly chase down 250 in 65 overs
And thats assuming that Hair will not force Pakistan to bowl all 73 remaining overs even if its pitch dark by the time we are done.

You people need to realize there is a world of difference in test cricket and one day cricket,. it might be easy to chase 300 in 50 overs in one day due to a fresh flat pitch, field restrictions, over limits for bowlers.. and strict wide ball rules..

in test cricket its idiotic to go for it.. captains prefer a draw over a chance of losing quick wickets and hence opening themselves for a defeat.

Sami gets single off last ball

hahahah

Sami has faced 30 balls now
Add that to Shoaib's 60 and these two have spent 15 overs at the crease! Well done!

Sami is annoying me a lot now, can't bloody take a single all over and always takes it on the last ball. Otherwise not even trying.

sami gone lbw

in a way am glad... come on kaneria slog!

in test cricket captains can have defensive fields, have upto 9 men on boundaries saving fours and sixes.. ask bowlers to bowl wide off stump line or leg stump line and hence killing chances of scoring quick runs. test cricket is a different animal than one day..

realistically speaking u can expect teams to score aat a rate of 4 an over at the most with over 200 runs to chase ..

Kurash said:
Go for quick runs and declare at 280, thats what i meant! Out with this 2 runs an over ********

If one of them got out now, Kaneria is in. Kaneria usually can't last an over. In that case the lead would be only 260 with 72 overs officially left. Pakistan could conceivably lose from that position. Better to play it safe.

Sami out but with a lead of 260 and an hout til lunch this might actually be a blessing if we are to win this game

Waseem said:
Sami is annoying me a lot now, can't bloody take a single all over and always takes it on the last ball. Otherwise not even trying.

That is because England are moving the field back.

Inzi is allowing the single and in doing so, showing confidence in his batsman. This is great to see. Other specialist batsman would have been taking the strike and refusing singles.

Cartman said:
You people need to realize there is a world of difference in test cricket and one day cricket,. it might be easy to chase 300 in 50 overs in one day due to a fresh flat pitch, field restrictions, over limits for bowlers.. and strict wide ball rules..

in test cricket its idiotic to go for it.. captains prefer a draw over a chance of losing quick wickets and hence opening themselves for a defeat.

Well said, Cartman.

It seems like some people here don't know the difference between pyjama cricket and the REAL deal.

Hash I know what u r saying. But bhai this is time wasting. he is giving Sami the strike and Sami is just blocking and leaving. there is no plan or urgency. up till now Inzi wud have attacked and made 280. even after Akhtar's wkt he hasnt shown any urgency. true he remembers Karachi but in that match England had to chase 174. In this one we are already 260 ahead and moreover after Akhtar's wkt if Inzi wud have up the tempo we wud have 280 up till now. as i said Sami is gone and he has faced 33 balls for 5 runs. say if Inzi wud have faced half of these he wud have scored 20 runs.

Waseem said:

Hes playing the ball on merit and playing for the team. He has been informed of his role and he is playing that. Its not his fault.

mooz said:
Nice 2nd post.
Did u take all the trouble to sign up here just to call Inzi gutless for doing the sensible thing?

Well no, I never thought i'd by calling Inzi gutless, but here we are! ;-)

I am happy that Sami is gone, i mean what was he doing out there???? give the strike to Inzi who is trying to hit out.
He was blocking and blocking and took singles on last ball at least 6 times in 8 overs.

Cartman said:
in test cricket captains can have defensive fields, have upto 9 men on boundaries saving fours and sixes.. ask bowlers to bowl wide off stump line or leg stump line and hence killing chances of scoring quick runs. test cricket is a different animal than one day..

realistically speaking u can expect teams to score aat a rate of 4 an over at the most with over 200 runs to chase ..

we shall see cartman, Pakistan is about to fold

Ace Base said:
Well said, Cartman.

It seems like some people here don't know the difference between pyjama cricket and the REAL deal.

The lack of cricketing knowledge on this forum in recent times has really dissapointed me

Cartman said:

I think that england chasing down the target is unlikely, but they would atleast have a chance. I don't think pakistan has any chance of bowling england out.
btw sami's dismissal just made the declaration a moot pt anyways, england should be batting soon enough now that kaneria is coming out to bat

I think Inzi will miss his 100 and he has himself to blame because he did not take most of the strike.

octavian said:
Pakistan defensive tactics may well cost them the match here
ya and if something bad happens in Lahore then we will be ruing our chanse in Faisalabad.

kasoo10 said:
I think Inzi will miss his 100 and he has himself to blame because he did not take most of the strike.

Yaar Inzi is less concerned with getting to a hundred than we pp posters are

Inzamam wants to remain not out so as to boost his average bit. :19: