Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

My brother just returned from Pakistan... His verdict is that Nawaz Sharif will win and form Govt with a small coalition party.

Mera halqa :-) Haji Akram Ansari is such a useless creature but keeps on winning just because he is ANSARI. I don't know much about PTI candidate but he should fancy his chances as this is urban constituency and there are quite a few educated people but i haven't seen much PTI activity in Faisalabad so not sure about our presence which is sad considering there are 11 NA seats on offer and it has not been a stronghold of PMLN.

That 5 time MNA is former federal communication minister Raja Nadir Pervez..

Raja got 41,448 votes in 2002 elections on PML N ticket and defeated PPP against all odds when no one was supporting N league under Musharaf rule...

Haji Akram got 72197 votes on N ticket in 2008 and defeated another Ansari, Shakeel of PPP who got 46461 votes...

Ansari baradari looks strong here...

Nawaz seems to be losing some hair, i am afraid he will use all the government funds and get another Hair Transplant if he come into power.

let's see if Insafians question Cheema's credibility now like they did a few pages back :asif

What is there to question at first place? Is he giving his opinion or talking about factual images which we all have seen. Let me be the first, this tweet of cheema is insignificant yet stating the obvious.

First stop today Renala Khurd

65630_10151437196344527_920346880_n.jpg

IK reaches Depalpur chowk Okara

BIiDpwECcAAeU6k.jpg:large

What are your views on this AZ?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-cards="hidden"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PTI">#PTI</a> invites <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PMLN">#PMLN</a> 4 live debate b/w imran khan n nawaz sharif, embarrassing 4 N league if mian sb opts out. <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23e2013">#e2013</a> <a href="http://t.co/yP7U399fsR" title="http://twitter.com/AasmaChaudhry/status/326338559927791616/photo/1">twitter.com/AasmaChaudhry/…</a></p>— Asma Chaudhry (@AasmaChaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/AasmaChaudhry/status/326338559927791616">April 22, 2013</a></blockquote>

in faisalabad PMLN had to gather school children for their jalsa in order to avoid any embarrassment :))

With the general election drawing nearer, the war of words between the Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf (PTI) and the Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) is heating up as they try to woo voters by holding rallies in various cities of Punjab.

Addressing a rally on Tuesday in Punjab’s Renala Khurd region, Imran Khan, the cricketer-turned-politician chief of PTI, ridiculed his political opponent saying Nawaz Sharif, the PML-N chief, could not beat him in a game of cricket.

“He should come on TV to have a debate with me because I know he cannot beat me in cricket,” Khan told his supporters, taunting Sharif of being afraid of facing him.

He also accused the PML-N of engaging in a secret alliance with the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) in the outgoing regime.

Khan’s tirade against Sharif prompted an immediate reaction from his political foes.

At a press conference in Lahore, Hamza Shahbaz, son of former Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif, and Maryam Nawaz, daughter of the PML-N chief, accused the PTI leader of choosing to stay away from contesting against Sharif in Lahore’s NA-120.

“If Imran is running away from contesting election against Nawaz Sharif, how will he come on a TV debate to face my father,” Maryam told newsmen.

Moreover, Hamza claimed some PTI leaders were shunning the party and joining the PML-N.

PML-N spokesman Senator Pervaiz Rasheed also came down hard on the PTI leader, questioning his role in the lawyers’ movement.

“Imran should not be talking about political ethics. He is alleging that Nawaz Sharif fears facing him. Where was Imran hiding during the lawyers’ movement?” Rasheed asked.

Referring to an incident where PTI workers protested outside Khan’s residence, the PML-N spokesman said the PTI chief was perhaps the only political leader who was seeking security against his own.

Punjab, Pakistan’s most populous province which is traditionally a PML-N stronghold, is slated to be the battleground between the two parties. And while the war of words between the two is not a novel phenomenon, its intensity and frequency appears to be on the rise with the coming general election fast approaching.

From Dawn News

http://dawn.com/2013/04/23/imran-challenges-nawaz-to-tv-debate/

So,finally temperature is increasing...

N league's youth aka Maryam Nawaz :)) blames Imran for running away from NA 120 but what about Khadim-e-Punjab's adventure in Mianwali..?

Hamza saying some PTI leaders are joining N league......This is all they can do to divert people's attention from PTI by showing them their team of electables....

From Dawn News

http://dawn.com/2013/04/23/imran-challenges-nawaz-to-tv-debate/

So,finally temperature is increasing...

N league's youth aka Maryam Nawaz :)) blames Imran for running away from NA 120 but what about Khadim-e-Punjab's adventure in Mianwali..?

Hamza saying some PTI leaders are joining N league......This is all they can do to divert people's attention from PTI by showing them their team of electables....

this should be merged with the game of thrones thread :asif

I found this picture. I don't know in what context this picture was taken.. but... this sums up events of last 20 years in Pakistan very well.

shahbaz-sharif-eating-with-poor-Liqatpur-District-Rahim-Yar-Khan-Shahbaz-showed-a-nice-gesture-by-accepting-a-poor-villager%E2%80%99s-request-to-have-food-at-his-house-19-july-2008.jpg

Nawaz is a manufactured leader. Even BB never took such cowardly measures and she had direct threats and attempts on her life when she came back. Nawaz don't even have to worry about TTP or any of the local Punjab based secterian org. as they have already made secret pacts with them. Why the hell is he so afraid then ?

Nawaz versus Imran live on television has to happen!

nawaz to bilkul nanga ho jaye ga!

Nawaz is a manufactured leader. Even BB never took such cowardly measures and she had direct threats and attempts on her life when she came back. Nawaz don't even have to worry about TTP or any of the local Punjab based secterian org. as they have already made secret pacts with them. Why the hell is he so afraid then ?

shoes?

Ns vs IK on LIve TV...............impossible the Noora doesn't have the courage to stand alone.......

saw a prog on PTV from NA56.. looks more like a swing const than a PMLN stronghold.. from the responses the anchor got. lot of ppl wanting PTI.. didnt count the responses but PTI seemed to have edge in that prog.

PTI razakars are still around 2 to 3 lakh.....It will be impossible to get even 5 lakh razakars....It is a difficult job to visit door to door ...

In ur face ...Fake Survey rather "Paid Survey"

<iframe width="600" height="350" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=69271&folder=2013/04/23/&width=600&height=350&autoplay=no" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen scrolling="no"></iframe>

Here is story about journalist beating in Pindi by PTI

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/AqCvByyLlT0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hanif Abbasi days are counted..

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/awKmjcFKs7E" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>facing worst cyber abusive attack of <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PPP">#PPP</a> n <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PMLN">#PMLN</a> trolls,so insulting as I shared the survey given by dr gillani in capital talk <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PTI">#PTI</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23e2013">#e2013</a></p>— Asma Chaudhry (@AasmaChaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/AasmaChaudhry/status/326751017960099840">April 23, 2013</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PTI">#PTI</a> enjoys a good image comparably,it must pursue anti-corruption policies.Its clear more youth support PTI thn ny other party. <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PMLN">#PMLN</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PPP">#PPP</a></p>— Asma Chaudhry (@AasmaChaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/AasmaChaudhry/status/320535697012436992">April 6, 2013</a></blockquote>

Hanif Abbasi days are counted..

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/awKmjcFKs7E" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I could not watch more than 15 mins of this crap. So many idiots still want NS. Amazing, just amazing

What are your views on this AZ?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-cards="hidden"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PTI">#PTI</a> invites <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PMLN">#PMLN</a> 4 live debate b/w imran khan n nawaz sharif, embarrassing 4 N league if mian sb opts out. <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23e2013">#e2013</a> <a href="http://t.co/yP7U399fsR" title="http://twitter.com/AasmaChaudhry/status/326338559927791616/photo/1">twitter.com/AasmaChaudhry/…</a></p>— Asma Chaudhry (@AasmaChaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/AasmaChaudhry/status/326338559927791616">April 22, 2013</a></blockquote>

would love to see it but it won't happen because it would make the perception that IK is an 'equal' to NS a reality, something which PMLN have always downplayed.

would be completely in advantage of IK and PTI.

now my turn, what are your views on this, PTI?
Levelling allegations : PTI youth wing accuses party leaders of selling tickets
By Our Correspondent

Former PTI district president Zafar Khattak alleged the ticket for PK-Peshawar was sold for Rs. 10 million. PHOTO: FILE
PESHAWAR:

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) youth wing on Tuesday accused the party’s parliamentary board of taking bribes in exchange for allotting tickets to candidates for the upcoming polls.

Addressing a press conference at the Peshawar Press Club, PTI youth wing provincial General Secretary Fahim Ahmad Khan claimed he was initially allotted a ticket to contest from PK-6. Khan alleged some people from the parliamentary board later demanded money from him, saying if he did not pay up, his ticket would be given to someone else.

“Imran Khan himself recommended my name to the board for a ticket, but the members ignored me because they asked for money and I refused to pay. Thus, my ticket was given to another person,” Fahim alleged.

“Initially, I was asked to pay Rs1.5 million. However, the amount later came down to Rs0.5 million. I was told to deposit the money to an account number that was sent to me. All this communication was done through the president of PTI youth wing backed by PTI’s provincial president and general secretary,” claimed Fahim.

He accused Shah Farman, Parvez Khattak and PTI provincial president Asad Qaiser of demanding money from candidates.

Fahim added a ticket for PK-40 Karak was to be issued to Altaf Qadir Khattak, but when he went to the returning officer (RO) he was informed his ticket had been issued to someone else.

Former PTI district president Zafar Khattak also spoke at the press conference. He alleged the ticket for PK-1 Peshawar was sold for Rs10 million, while the rates of some other tickets were fixed at Rs5 million.

Zafar maintained the PTI was violating its own rule of allotting tickets on merit. He said they [the youth wing] would start a campaign against corrupt politicians who are destroying the PTI’s image. However, the former office bearer said they would neither quit the party nor stop supporting Imran Khan.

“We will go into Asad Qaiser and Parvez Khattak’s constituencies and tell voters to be careful of who they vote for,” said Zafar.

The activists of the youth wing demanded PTI chief Imran Khan to form an inquiry committee to probe the accusations, and cancel the membership of those found guilty.

Published in The Express Tribune, April 24th, 2013.

Famous TV Writer Haseena Moin endorses Imran Khan

[utube]ZwTO8T8hGwg[/utube]

would love to see it but it won't happen because it would make the perception that IK is an 'equal' to NS a reality, something which PMLN have always downplayed.

there are allegations like this in every party. Definitely needs an inquiry but notice the difference, the accusing people are still in party and still support IK and trust party leadership for justice. Stark contrast to other parties where people have left party and running as independent candidates !

Valid concern

I support IK but I am not a blind supporter

You can't please everyone but it does seem that not all tickets were distributed fairly by PTI. Understandably, some workers are disgruntled & angry with Imran. However violence (the attack the other day on his house by some miscreants) has no place anywhere.

Such pathetic behaviour is inexcusable but it is not exclusive to PTI or necessarily a reflection of PTI workers. It is a sad reflection of the society we live in. some party workers are mohazzab, some are not so mohazzab and then there are unruly elements or troublemakers within each party. If PTI tickets have been awarded to some unscrupulous people (even if they represent a very tiny minority of all tickets distributed by PTI), then PTI supporters should rightly express their displeasure and not just blindly support it. Otherwise there will be no difference between PTI supporters and jiyalas for instance.

35 percent youth candidates. 80 percent of people have never been corrupted by the system and have never been to parliament. Tell me which other party has done that

While IK may not be corrupt, PTI is by no means perfect just like Pakistan is not a perfect country. But it is as perfect or complete as our society.

PTI razakars are still around 2 to 3 lakh.....It will be impossible to get even 5 lakh razakars....It is a difficult job to visit door to door ...

when will the "Tabdeeli Razakaar" group start active campaigning of door to door visits? any idea. I signed up for TR long time back but only get messages to create more TRs :yk

Lets take it Point By Point:
1- “Imran Khan himself recommended my name to the board for a ticket, but the members ignored me because they asked for money and I refused to pay. Thus, my ticket was given to another person,” Fahim alleged.
So it shows that "If" this guy was deserving than even IK realized it and recommended but due to alleged monopoly of elected unions.He couldnt get ticket.
2- If they are right than they had many ways to prove their claims with evidence.We are living in a digital world so having evidence is not a difficult thing now a days.
They could have used this evidence and would have put pressure on PTI leadership to kick out those are ruining the image of party and asking for money.
3- As expected many guys who didnt got tickets from party are putting allegations some are true and some are false.
So till its proved it will remain as alleged. Not proven.
4- It shows PTI is not like PML-N or other parties where IK can behave like king and decide everything on his own.
This is called democracy within party.

when will the "Tabdeeli Razakaar" group start active campaigning of door to door visits? any idea. I signed up for TR long time back but only get messages to create more TRs :yk

bring 20 neighboring homes to polling station and tell them to vote for PTI ... this is every TR job ... you do the same on your own please

@PTI

^^ is this the first time we are hearing that there has been arm-twisting, blackmail and even money being changed hands for PTI party tickets and indeed in the party elections?

certainly not, and it went as far as supporters attacking the house of their own party leader, beyond shocking.

you may like to spin it as showing a 'fair and open' process but it just looks like IK is not in control.

NS behaving like a king is just a useless point, PMLN just like the PTI has a central council to decide ticket allocation, if there was such a big injustice being done you would have seen protests bigger than PTI.

@PTI

^^ is this the first time we are hearing that there has been arm-twisting, blackmail and even money being changed hands for PTI party tickets and indeed in the party elections?

certainly not, and it went as far as supporters attacking the house of their own party leader, beyond shocking.

you may like to spin it as showing a 'fair and open' process but it just looks like IK is not in control.

NS behaving like a king is just a useless point, PMLN just like the PTI has a central council to decide ticket allocation, if there was such a big injustice being done you would have seen protests bigger than PTI.

I am not spinning i state the facts.You have nothing left to say that why these allegations have no proof so you are trying to imply other problems.
Who said PTI is full of angels? Did I?
Nothing is perfect in this world other than ALLAH.
But we need to see who is trying and who is not.who is trying to change system.
These were the 1st intra party elections in history of asian politics let alone pakistan.
I wish PML-N had done it whom you are trying to do face saving but sadly they never did and still not doing because they dont want to loose power.
PMLN has central council is saying like we have SHO and police everywhere but the point is implementation of law.Just by having police department and making laws is not the solution rather implementation of laws is important with infrastructure.
If PML=N is soo good than why Saad Rafique was holding mic of maryam and hamza shehbaz.search for program "Talaash" in whch your Saad Rafique told he is against dynasty politics.
Rather than criticizing PTI intra party elections 1st ask PML-N to have courage to carry out intra party elections.

All my Life I have voted for PML-N considering they are lesser evil and as claimed by all PML-N supporters and even now Shahbaz sharif is making people afraid that dont vote for PTI because bigger evil will come to power.
So now i found even lesser evil than PML-N in the form of PTI.So I will vote for them.PTI has its flaws and its in transition phase but atleast IK is trying to give it dimension.

I could not watch more than 15 mins of this crap. So many idiots still want NS. Amazing, just amazing

waqar bhai same feeling here but people only vote for things they can already see rather than dreams. Imran Khan's disadvantage is that he never had any chance of building these bridges and roads so 50% people reject him straightaway without taking into consideration pathetic governance, corruption, police system, nepotism, job losses etc etc etc.
This is main city, expect things to be lot worse in rural areas? It's going to be tough for Imran i think.

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10151911101313146" width="400" height="300" frameborder="0"></iframe>

So what do you guys have to say about Sir Sahir Lodhii now :D

waqar bhai same feeling here but people only vote for things they can already see rather than dreams. Imran Khan's disadvantage is that he never had any chance of building these bridges and roads so 50% people reject him straightaway without taking into consideration pathetic governance, corruption, police system, nepotism, job losses etc etc etc.
This is main city, expect things to be lot worse in rural areas? It's going to be tough for Imran i think.

well these 50% people will most probably die of hunger before the next elections so we won't be worrying about them then.

Nawaz-Zardari Secret Alliance exposed [Don't Miss] (22 April)

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10200910578596838" width="320" height="240" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Do not know about Sindh but i am in Punjab...They are active in few areas....Because only about 2 to 3 lakh TR have been registered hence this formula....2(5)=10....but it is a difficult job to take such a responsibilty of visiting door to door.....

Another function of TR is to monitor the election booths on May 11 to check transparency and stop fraud and malpractices..

I also registered and they send me a message everyday,each day they are calling TR of a single constituency of every district for gathering at a certain ground or darra/hujjra for training and orientation......but many would not go there despite registration,as i am also not going to attend any of these gatheringa but i will personally make sure many PTI voters in shape of my friends,acquaintances ...

Nawaz-Zardari Secret Alliance exposed [Don't Miss] (22 April)

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10200910578596838" width="320" height="240" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Lmao.....:)))

Zardari sahb na inhe samjhaya hai k 18th amendment k bad CM Punjab has as much resources as PM...So, stop whinning about it....

Thanks guys for sharing non-youtube links.....Much appreciated..:14:

Keep it coming...

Just watched some photos of N league jalsas.......The space between Stage and audience surrounds more area than the ground people cover..:)))

In one thing I am disappointed by some PTI fans in this topic, They are continuously calling people stupids and idiots who are supporting PMLN. Everyone has his opinion and views why calling people stupid and idiots.

You can make them look stupid with your arguments,opinion and views here...:)

Stupid people have idiotic opinions so calling them idiots is justified. No sane person would support pml-n after all these years.

jab aqal aur jawab dono hi kum hon to log aise hi bolte hain :amin

We say it because after five terms, only a real moron would support the sharif family.

Shahbaz Sharif forcing govt employees to like/Follow his FB & Twitter page.
Yeh to LOL ho gya

BInbUB8CEAAPfw4.jpg

Stupid people have idiotic opinions so calling them idiots is justified. No sane person would support pml-n after all these years.

So you trying to say only Pakistani left sane are PTI supporters?

Its good to not use use this language for anyone even If they are not agree with your point of view. :misbah

AZ,you have a very good cam.....:D

I was expecting this.....So,lets see how he does in next jalsa,rally....

Some kind of security is a must

Neither AZ nor arsalan660 have ever debated or presented their arguments here in support of N league....

I asked couple of times from AZ too,but he said he can not do anything here in the presence of so many PTI supporters...

Clearly,knows his arguments of roads,laptops,taxis,loans, wont last here....

Yeh hai bhai jan
BIncspSCUAEyY0h.jpg

:)) for IK it is police persistence but NS is a coward?

good one.

Neither AZ nor arsalan660 have ever debated or presented their arguments here in support of N league....

I asked couple of times from AZ too,but he said he can not do anything here in the presence of so many PTI supporters...

Clearly,knows his arguments of roads,laptops,taxis,loans, wont last here....

Bhai jaan please read this thread then - http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=175655&highlight=nawaz

My #1 argument in their favour has always been reinvigoration of the economy, and improved relations with India.

carrying out the atomic tests sure did improve relations :yk - not to degrade the importance of the tests.

good one.

I'm pretty sure its police persistence for IK, because he has never been seen behind the glass before- on the other hand Nawaz is always behind a glass twice his height.

good one.

Bhai jaan please read this thread then - http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=175655&highlight=nawaz

If Imran goes behind glass once out of 100 jalsas and Nawaz Sharif 100/100 then it's common sense :-)

Anyway, i personally think Imran, Nawaz and all others MUST use maximum security during election campaign as our country simply cannot afford any sad incident right now.

good one.

lolwut reinvogaration?

just because Sharif keeps lying you believe it. Reminds me of the old saying that if you lie enough times, the truth witll become murky and everyone will end upbelieving the lie

Pakistan was on the verge of bankruptcy last time he was the PM