Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

LO jee kel lo gal. Tsunami kashmir be pohnch gai vo be india walay mein :P

2c34dae4-15d6-44b9-80ee-bcaa95454707hires.jpg

http://www.hindustantimes.com/India...s-J-amp-K-from-Pakistan/Article1-1054910.aspx

Do we have any predictions or latest opinion polls. On this forum-with most of us being PTI fans, you can get a false impression of the election so i want the let down to start now rather than feel deflated next week.

Just saw a clip where Asma Shirazi was asking a lady about her vote. She said she would vote for IK because he will make a 'naya pakistan', something like Jinnah has envisioned. Asma shirazi goes on & says 'Qaid Azam walay Taliban k saath to nai hotey'.

How unbiased.

yup, and then ppl think that the surveys they perform in their shows reflect true scenarios... its obvious that for their recordings of shows they prob get 3-1 ratio in favor of PTI but edit and cut and televise the non-live program so it depicts N league as ahead... :nasir

Syed Sabtain Gillani leaves NA 1 Peshawar seat for Imran khan and pledge full support for him.

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=434095103353993" width="480" height="360" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<iframe width="650" height="360" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=76011&width=650&height=360&autoplay=no" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Yesterday I was thinking that how can poll rigging be prevented... we certainly dont have any computerized system.. ppl go in stamp the ballot paper and drop it in a box... now after that, fake votes can be added, or ballots can be falsely claimed towards a particular party... why dont they do this... lets say on election day, in the camp, have a representative of ea party (or from PTI atleast for our sakes) sit down and tick away a number for every voter that casts a vote... (just like scoring in a cricket game, keep ticking off the numbers for each vote given in person)... so say if i am sitting in the camp and i see that 10000 ppl came in to vote in the particular camp... obviously when they tally up the votes and divide between the parties the numbers should add up to 10000 +/- 15-20 votes... this way parties wont be able to cast votes of deceased ppl, or fake voting... and we will get a true picture of what the results were...

The system is already inplace. They are called 'polling agents', one from each party/person contesting at that constituency is allowed. All of them have a copy of list of voters. Problem is when polling stations are hijacked, ballot boxes are stolen and plenty of bogus votes are entered magically :altaf

Do we have any predictions or latest opinion polls. On this forum-with most of us being PTI fans, you can get a false impression of the election so i want the let down to start now rather than feel deflated next week.

there was a recent polls in Lahore...

based on that:

- Imran will win from LHR
- NS will win heavily
- PPP will win the ghurki seat
- Saad Rafiq will lose

Bottom line

out of total 13 seats:

PML-N: 9
PTI: 3
PPP: 1

Details here: http://rtilive.pk/2013/04/30/election-2013-survey-by-rtilive/

Some ground realities for those who always come in and ask for "humain ground realities do, yeh non sense nahin"

آجکل میاں صاحب جس علاقے میں انتخابی مہم جلسے سے خطاب کرنے جاتے ہیں وہاں کے مقامی اُمیدوار سے پوچھتے ہیں کہ یہاں لوگ کیا سُن کر خوش ہونگے۔ وہ بتاتا ہے کہ لوگوں کو اِس شہر میں یونیورسٹی کا شوق ستاتا ہے، اِس گاؤں کے لوگ ضلع بنوانے کے خوہشمند ہیں۔ میاں صاحب بغیر آؤ تاؤ دیکھے جھٹ سے وہ اعلان فرما دیتے ہیں۔ نجانے کِتنے گلی محلوں کو ضلع اور تحسیل بنا چُکے اور کِتنوں کی شامت باقی ہے۔ ابھی گُذشتہ دِنوں مانسہرہ میں ایک عالم فراموشی میں ائیرپوٹ بنانے کا اعلان فرما ڈالا، اُس سے پہلے مردان میں بُلٹ ٹرین دوڑا آئے تھے۔ یہی حالت چھوٹے نورے کی بھی ہے۔ اُن پر میڈیکل کالجز بنانے کا خبط سوار ہے ۔ ۔ ۔ ۔ ۔ ۔ لگ بھگ اپنے سولہ سترہ جلسوں میں پچیس تیس میڈیکل کالجوں کا اعلان فرما چُکے ہیں۔ مریم نواز شریف بھی اِیسی درفنطنیاں چھوڑنے میں اپنے بزرگوں کو بھی پیچھے چھوڑ کر بھاگی جا رہی ہیں۔ (بھاگنا بھی کئی طرح کا ہوتا ہے آپ مریم کا نام سُنتے ہی ایک ہی طرف بھاگ پڑتے ہو)۔

خبطی میاں شور باز کی خواب فروشی اِس سطح پر پہنچ چُکی کہ ایک میڈیکل کالج کا اعلان شیخوپورہ میں کیا تو وہی رٹی رٹائی تقریر میڈیکل کالج کے وعدے سمیت خانقاہ ڈوگراں کے جلسے میں دہرا آئے جو شیخوپورہ سے چند میل کے فاصلے پر ایک قصباتی سا شہر ہے۔ احسن اقبال کو ابرارالحق نے نارووال میں گھیر رکھا ہے ورنہ وہی بتا دیتا کہ میاں صاحب اب تک آپ کوئی ستر میڈیکل کالجز، پچاس یونیورسٹیاں، دو درجن ائیر پورٹس اور نصف درجن سی پورٹس کا اعلان صِرف پنجاب میں کر چُکے ہیں حالانکہ سی پوٹس سے پہلے سمندر بھی بنوانا پڑتا ہے جو نہر سے کافی بڑا ہوتا ہے بلکہ دریا سے بھی وڈا۔ احس رشید کے بعد لے دے کے پرویز رشید بچتا تھا لیکن وہ موُا ہر جلسے میں کُرسیاں ہی گنتا رہتا ہے حالانکہ اُسے میاں صاحب کے کالجز، یونیورسٹیاں اور ائیرپورٹس وغیرہ گننے کا زیادہ ثواب مِلے گا۔

اگر کوئی شخص جِس نے پاکستان کبھی دیکھا نہ سُنا ہو وہ اگر اِن کی تقاریر کی آڈیو سُن لے تو پہلے تو سمجھے گا کہ یہ دونوں بھائی کِسی چھوٹے سے شہر کی میئر شپ کے اُمیدوار ہیں جو سڑکیں اور نالیاں بناتے پھِر رہے ہیں دوسرا خیال یہ آئے گا کہ ان حضرات نے اپنے گُزشتہ ادوار میں پرائمری اور سکینڈری ایجوکیشن پر جنگی بنیادوں پر کام کیا ہے لِہٰذا اب مُلک بھر میں تعلیم یافتہ نوجوانوں کی بہتات ہے چنانچہ اعلیٰ تعلیم از حد ضروری ہے سو آئیندہ مدت مکالجز اور یونورسٹیاں بنانے کے مشن پر ہیں ڈتے ہیں۔
کراچی سے فاٹا تک راوی چین ہی چین لِکھتا ہے، لوگ مچھروں سے مرتے ہیں نہ بچے خسرے سے، کھانسی کے سیرپ پیتے ہی مریض کی کھانسی ہمیشہ ہمیشہ کیلئے اُسکے سینے میں دفن ہو جاتی ہے، کارڈیالوجی سنٹر سے مفت دوائیں لینے والےحکومت کا احسان اپنی جان نچھاور کر کے اُتارتے ہیں، پولیس ایسی مستعد کے ڈر سے چوروں نے ایوان صدر، چیف و پرائم منسٹر ہاؤسز میں پنا لے رکھی ہے۔ عدل و انصاف کے ڈر سے قاتل جائے واردات پر کبھی اپنا نام پتا چھوڑ کر نہیں جاتے، ہمیشہ نامعلوُم ہی رہتے ہیں ۔ ۔ ۔ ۔

لگتا ہے اِن خبیثوں کے نوحے لِکھتے لِکھتے اُنگلیوں کی پوروں سے ماس اُدھڑ جائے گا لیکن شیطان کی آنت سے طویل تر ان کی خباثتیں ختم نہیں ہونگی۔ یہ نظام ہمارے گاؤں محلے کی سڑکوں کی طرح ہے جو ہر چار سال بعد ٹوٹ جاتا ہے تاکہ پانچویں سال الیکشن میں اُس کی تعمیر و مرمت پر قومی الیکشن لڑا جا سکے۔

نورا خاندان جِتنے وعدے کر چُکا ہے اِس سے یہ یقین پُختہ ہوتا ہے کہ وہ الیکشن نہیں جیت سکتے ورنہ وہ وعدے کبھی نہ کرتے جِن کی تکمیل کو ورلڈ بینک تھوڑا اور عُمرِ نوح چھوٹی ہے۔

Gr8 writing

The system is already inplace. They are called 'polling agents', one from each party/person contesting at that constituency is allowed. All of them have a copy of list of voters. Problem is when polling stations are hijacked, ballot boxes are stolen and plenty of bogus votes are entered magically :altaf

in 2010 when PTI and MQM contested for elections and when MQM got second highest number of votes including the biggest constituency chillas? and when PTI got thainga can you elaborate how MQM rigged elections and PTI lost that election, infact PTI had no lota to support its election there

^which election are you talking about bhai? 2010? local body election? IIRC, they were non-party based

maulana diesel's a legend :)))

imran's lucky to be half punjabi and half pashtun. he fits in perfectly :ik

With constant bombings and killings in Sindh , KPK and Balochistan , the voter turn out there will be really low . The elections will be based on how Punjab votes then ? Hardly fair , the elections should be postponed until they can provide better security .

^ when the parties that are being targeted are determined to contest elections then why should they be delayed.

Thats Cool

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=178109372347421" width="640" height="480" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Fazlur Rehman thought I'd declare Ahmadis Muslims, but I'm not a hypocrite: Imran Khan

PTI Chairman Imran Khan addressing a public gathering at Attock. PHOTO: RASHID ALI/EXPRESS

SWABI: “Maulana [Fazlur Rehman] thought I would declare Ahmadis Muslims but Imran Khan is not a munafiq (hypocrite)”, said Imran Khan while addressing supporters at a rally in Swabi on Saturday.

Imran spoke of initial allegations put forth by Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam – Fazl (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman of being supported by a Jewish lobby and said that the newest accusation of support from the Ahmadi lobby is to fool the nation.

“I’ve read the Holy Quran with translation and it clearly states that one who does not believe in the finality of Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) is not a Muslim. The Holy Quran asks us to follow the example of Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) and though it is not possible to reach his level of perfection, I try my best to be like him,” Imran said.

He further went on to say people like Rehman should stop selling religion to get votes and also asked them to prepare for a political death.

Background

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan on Thursday issued a statement saying that the “PTI totally subscribes to the article in the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan on the Ahmadis. It is not part of the PTI agenda to seek amendment of the said article in the Constitution.”

The PTI Chairman was referring to article 260-3 of the Constitution that declares Ahmadis non-Muslims. Additionally, articles 298-B and 298-C prohibit Ahmadis from posing as Muslims, calling their faith Islam, proselytising, or “in any manner whatsoever” outraging the religious feelings of Muslims.

This clarification came in response to a video clip that surfaced on social media, showing a woman named Nadia Ramzan Chaudhry in a meeting with Mirza Masroor Ahmad, spiritual leader of the Ahmadi community, in UK. According to the video, Chaudhry especially asked for Ahmadi votes on behalf of the PTI.

Khan denied any links with the woman and said that it would be against the Representation of the People Act, 1976 and instructions of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to ask for votes in this manner.

Read more: elections2013
this "born again" imran sounds very dangerous! it's unfortunate that the youth is following his rightist views.

IK's views are actually mainstream. Our whole populace has become rightist and religiously conservative and intolerant. IK simply representing the majority.

We became religiously conservative long time ago. Otherwise how would you explain BB with dubatta on her head and tasbeeh in her hand. Refusing a handshake with Mark Taylor during the WC's final presentation ceremony.

Still unfortunate to hear what he had to say about Ahmedis. I personally know of an Ahmedi family who are hard core IK supporters and their Ahmedi relatives in Lahore are actively campaigning for PTI. Wonder what must be going through their minds after hearing his comments.

Personally, I advise all Ahmedis to leave Pakistan if they have the means to and settle in US, UK or other western countries where they can get the freedom of religion to practice their faith like they want to. There is sadly no place for them in Pakistan and I don't see that changing in the near future.

We became religiously conservative long time ago. Otherwise how would you explain BB with dubatta on her head and tasbeeh in her hand. Refusing a handshake with Mark Taylor during the WC's final presentation ceremony.

True, the process has been continous and steady since the Objective resolution in 1949. BB after coming back to Pakistan hurriedly got married just to protect her image and make sure she does not get associated with every other man around her. She knew otherwise she would be playing into the stereotypical caricature made out of her by the right wing of being a liberal secular pro-western feminist. Same for the dupatta and other religious paraphernalia.

Still unfortunate to hear what he had to say about Ahmedis. I personally know of an Ahmedi family who are hard core IK supporters and their Ahmedi relatives in Lahore are actively campaigning for PTI. Wonder what must be going through their minds after hearing his comments.

Personally, I advise all Ahmedis to leave Pakistan if they have the means to and settle in US, UK or other western countries where they can get the freedom of religion to practice their faith like they want to. There is sadly no place for them in Pakistan and I don't see that changing in the near future.

I don't think Minorities would be at risk if Imran khan comes to power. They would not have to leave Pakistan.

Liberals ki khair nahi ab ki :sharif :imran

reminds me of those random wall chalkings in Karachi - " taliban aa rahe haiN " :P

I don't think Minorities would be at risk if Imran khan comes to power. They would not have to leave Pakistan.

It's not because of IK coming to power or not. Our whole society harbors the same sentiments against Ahmedis that are on open display by our mainstream politicians. The reality of this whole thing becoming a scandal, so potentially damaging to his chances at the poll that he had to come out and renounce Ahmedis multiple times, just goes to show what state of religious intolerance we live in today's Pakistan. That religious intolerance is the reason why I advocate they move abroad. Nothing to do with IK.

Smokers’ Corner: Pakistan: a very modern history

Pakistan occupies an area which was home to some of the earliest Neanderthal settlements, some of whose decedents can still be found hiding in caves in the mountains of North West Pakistan.

The only difference is, in the Stone Ages, these Neanderthals were armed with clubs and stones, but today they are armed with guns and bombs. Remarkably though, they remain as furry as they were millions of years ago.

The modern state of Pakistan was born out of the partition of the sub-continent in 1947 and has faced many regional confrontations, usually brought on by its continuing habit of poking its nose where it doesn’t belong.

Created to meet the demands of Indian Muslims, Pakistan was originally in two parts: Part 1 was called Maula Jat and Part 2 was called Jat in Dhaka.

The east wing — present day Flooded Republic of Bangladesh is on the Bay of Bengal bordering the Bollywood Republic of India and the Miserable Republic of Burma.

The west wing — present-day the Not-Quite-Arab Republic of Pakistan — stretches from the Arabian Sea to the Himalayas and according to famous poet, philosopher, military strategist, historian and judo expert, Zidee Hamid, the country actually stretches all the way to New Delhi, Kabul, Tashkent and maybe even Beijing and many parts of Mars.

The break-up of the two wings came in 1971 when the fish-eating east-wing seceded after fighting an insurgency culled and planned from the pages of the Protocols of the Elders of Zion and an early draft of the Di Vinci Code.

Civilian politics in Pakistan in the last few decades has been tarnished by corruption, inefficiency, confrontations and bad breath between various institutions and/or whatever institutions that are left in the country. Actually, the word political institution is an oxymoron when discussed in the context of Pakistani politics and the state.

Alternating periods of civilian and military rule have not helped to establish stability. In fact, instability is the only stable tradition in Pakistan; a tradition that is being passionately upheld by a series of TV talk shows because political stability would mean lack of viewership and advertising revenues for the channels and a drastic drop in popcorn sales that can spell disaster for the country’s economy.

Pakistan came under military rule once again in October 1999 after the ousting of a civilian government that had lost a great deal of support because the public lost its appetite for rich dishes such as nihari, paye, and biryani which Prime Minister Naraaz Sharif was a great fan of.

He has since become a vegetarian of sorts and is usually taunted as becoming a sissy by Brig (R) Cookie Monster Gul, the architect of the Afghan Jihad and the 1857 Indian Mutiny.

According to famous poet, philosopher, military strategist and lifestyle fascist, Maria Beep she also took part in the 1857 Mutiny as a gallant needle-worker.

Her gallantry was praised by the famous poet, philosopher, military strategist and flogging enthusiast, Sangsar Abbasi. Maria Beep still has her famous 1857 needles with which she now pokes voodoo dolls of her competitors in Pakistan’s cut-throat fashion industry.

Sanana & Safibarf are her two latest victims who launched a counterattack through their new summer collection that included Persian tea cosies worn as corporate aunty headgear.

After Pakistan’s last benevolent dictator, General Mush P. Bonaparte, eventually relinquished his uniform amidst tears in November 2007, in February 2008, his supporters were defeated in the election, also amidst tears.

The Pakistan Khapay Khapay Khapay Party formed a coalition government led by Asif Zulfikar Ali Bhutto Zardari Bhutto and an impeachment process was launched against Mush, who resigned (amidst more tears) in August 2008.

Pakistan’s place on the world stage shifted after the September 11, 2001, attacks in the US. It dropped its support for the Neanderthal regime in Afghanistan and was propelled into the frontline in the fight against terrorism, becoming a key ally of the Elders of Zion and assorted secret Freemason societies.

However, Pakistani forces have struggled to maintain control over the restive Neanderthal regions along the Afghan border, where Neanderthal militants are firmly entrenched with bombs strapped around their tummies which they claim is only a weight reducing exercise. Most Pakistanis entirely believe this to be true.

In the spring of 2009, the government attempted to reduce disaffection in the troubled north-western Swat district by agreeing to the imposition of the Whipping Women Law.

Far from improving security, this move allowed the Neanderthals to tighten their grip on the region, and the agreement broke down after only a few whips.

The government waged a military campaign to flush out the furry Neanderthals — an act that many sensitive Pakistanis such as poet, philosopher, politician and balaybaaz, Lord Jibran Can’t, and Mian Naraz Sharif criticised. Mainly just for the heck of it.

Asif Zulfikar Ali Bhutto Zardari Bhutto won the presidential race of September 6, 2008, by a big majority. His election came after his predecessor General P. Mush Bonaparte resigned amidst tears under threat of impeachment.

General P. Mush Bonaparte’s rule had ushered in increased freedom for the print media and a liberalisation of broadcasting policies. Television is the dominant medium, and there are around 50,000 private channels all babbling about the same things but each calling their individual babbling ‘exclusive.’

More than 100 private FM radio stations have been licensed. Fake American accents and low IQ levels are firm prerequisites for success.

Scores of unlicensed FM stations are said to operate in the tribal areas. They are usually operated by Neanderthal RJs of which DJ Fazalullah In Da Caaaaave is the most popular.

There are around 20 million internet users in Pakistan. A growing number of young Pakistanis have engrossing and intelligent discussions on various internet sites. Here is one example:

Superbilla:
What you think you think you are you kafir anti-Islam Pakistan Afghanistan Israeli Hindu dog!

Pakpunk:
Oh, you shut up you terrorist what you think you are you and I am I am great Muslim and Pakistan jeeay jeeay yea!!

Munchkins:
Oh why you fight you both, we all Muslim ummah and Pakistani patriots so we should make unity and gather and explode atom bum on India!!!!

Superbilla:
Oh you shut up you hypocrite you not real Pakistani but Ahmadi nonsense, oh you bastaaaaaaaa!!!

Munchkins:
Shut up your face you infidel man you destroy unity of Muslim ummah you too bastaaaaaaaa!!!!

Moderator:
Guys please refrain from using bad language. We’re Muslims and this is a respectable forum.

Munchkins:
Oh why you say this to me to me what about superbilla and pakpunk I am tolerant best Muslim in whole wide world like Pakistan best country in whole wide worldly universe.

Moderator:
I said exhibit tolerance and respect, okay?

BobbyBunny:
Thank you, sir, for the tolerant words. I am from the US and …

Moderator:
What? US? Oh, you bastaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!

http://dawn.com/2013/05/05/smokers-corner-pakistan-a-very-modern-history/

:))):)):)))

It's not because of IK coming to power or not. Our whole society harbors the same sentiments against Ahmedis that are on open display by our mainstream politicians. The reality of this whole thing becoming a scandal, so potentially damaging to his chances at the poll that he had to come out and renounce Ahmedis multiple times, just goes to show what state of religious intolerance we live in today's Pakistan. That religious intolerance is the reason why I advocate they move abroad. Nothing to do with IK.

@bolded.Couldn't have agreed more.

imran live in lahore right now... it's another islamic history lesson. please talk about what matters! terrorism, corruption, religious extremism and poverty. what happened 1400 years ago was a different era khan sahib

he wants to make dams on all the rivers in pakistan... good luck on getting sindh and pakhtunkhwa to agree :zardari

I agree, know a few Ahmadis who are hardcore PTI supporters. They are very patriotic Pakistanis but sadly it's not easy for them live in country like Pakistan.

You can't blame Imran Khan for his statements though, PMLN were spreading this propaganda that Imran has sent a delegation to request Ahmadis to vote for PTI and Imran will declare them muslims.

The second wave

By Cyril Almeida

KHAN said it was a dream; the Khanistas believed in him; everyone else scoffed — May 11 was supposed to be the validation of logic over irrationality.

Khan had no plan, no programme, no ideology. His wasn’t politics, it was anti-politics, the critics screamed.

No matter. Nothing seemed to stick to Teflon Khan. And here we are, a week from an election like no other and Khan looks like he may pull off an almighty surprise.

How big a surprise? Only the brave, or the foolish, would put numbers on their predictions, even now just six days out.

But it does come down to this: until a couple of weeks ago, of the 272 direct seats in parliament, the PML-N thought it had at least 90 in the bag — and perhaps as many as 110.

Now, today, the PML-N’s minimal haul is under threat. And that complicates everything.

For if 90 becomes 70 or even 65, the PML-N is suddenly neck-and-neck with the PPP, which can fairly reliably expect to pick up at least half of the 85-odd seats in south Punjab and interior Sindh and a handful of seats from the rest of Punjab and from Balochistan and KP.

The N-League neck-and-neck with the PPP complicates everything because of Zardari’s proven coalition-building and- sustaining skills and because the PPP has a larger number of potential allies in the next parliament. Finishing a close second to the N-League may be as good as winning for the PPP.

How big a threat is Khan? Spoiler status seemingly cemented, the question being whispered is whether Khan can steam past the PPP and perhaps, maybe, possibly mow down the PML-N.

The question is whispered in equal parts incredulity and disbelief because it never, ever seemed truly possible. Even now it doesn’t seem possible. Logic suggests it simply can’t happen.

But then … but then there is Khan, tearing through Punjab and KP, drawing monster crowds; the energy palpable, the voter real, the possibility ever-growing.

Why is Khan surging, why is the second wave materialising? Equally, what did the PML-N do wrong for it to find itself under pressure in its heartland, central and northern Punjab?

The answer seems to begin with the PPP. So utterly incompetent and dreadful was the PPP at the centre the past five years that it seems to have tainted everything status quo — including the N-League’s stodgy but reliable government in Punjab.

It’s not about specifics: about loadshedding or corruption or inflation or jobs. It’s something more, a feeling that the system is broken and that the status quo options cannot be part of the solution.

The PML-N didn’t help its own cause either. The folksy Nawaz understands and connects with voters in a way the administrator Shahbaz can’t — there is, after all, a reason why the party is called PML-N and not PML-Sharif.

But Punjab was run by the younger Sharif the past five years and it has hurt the party. The voter wants his representative to do stuff for him, but he also wants to feel loved; Shahbaz could dream up laptops and sasti rotis and metro buses but he couldn’t inspire Punjab politically.

That opened the door for someone else. That Khan is that someone else is, depending on who you ask, either down to his message or his audience.

The message is important — and long derided as inadequate by Khan’s critics.

Whether the simplicity of Khan’s message — you, the voter, deserve better but you will never get better from the tried and failed lot — is down to his brilliance or his inability to truly inspire is an argument for the pundits.

For the PTI, all that matters is when message has met audience, magic has been created.

The audience, though, has been key — particularly in Punjab. Obsessed with patronage and being the centre of their voters’ universe, the status quo politicians missed a trick: many a would-be voter just wants them to get the hell out of their way.

The dominant assumption has been that the voter is very different from the non-voter. The voter wants a state job or the protection that comes with being part of a dharra or seeks the benefits the politics of thana-kutchery can offer.

The non-voter is supposed to be different: he only wants the state to set the rules fairly, not help him play the game; he doesn’t want to do in a rival or flout the law gratuitously; he wants the system to work, fairly, reasonably and equal for all; he just wants the state to get the hell out of the way.

Finding none of that in the prevalent system, the non-voter stays out of the electoral process. So Khan’s challenge was supposed to be the impossible: getting the non-voter to vote.

But that either/or framework missed something terribly important: there’s a bit of the non-voter in the voter.

Much as the guy who does vote is immersed in the politics of patronage and thana-kutchery, he too dreams of a different reality, much like the one the non-voter wants.

Never really offered that something different by the status quo options, the voter worked the system to his advantage as best he could. Now, when someone else, Khan, has dared to offer that something else, the voter has leapt to embrace him.

The guy who traditionally votes and is now leaning towards Khan doesn’t really believe Khan can transform the system — he, the voter, knows the system too well to believe that transformation is possible.

But the voter is ready to protest the broken system that does serve him but, deep down, he doesn’t really like.

And that’s why Khan is surging: he’s tapped into the non-voter in every voter.

The writer is a member of staff.

cyril.a@gmail.com
Twitter: @cyalm

Wow, coming from an unbiased journalist like Cyril who has been extensively covering Punjab in the last few weeks, this is for real. IK has become the favorite to win now.

Last 7 days. IK going for the kill, Nooras sensing defeat and possible extinction, what will they do ???

Will they play the famous Jewish card (Maulana Diesel has already played it), will they dig up his former playboy lifestyle or do they have something else up their sleeve.....will it stick or will it blow right in their face ???

Interesting week ahead....

imran live in lahore right now... it's another islamic history lesson. please talk about what matters! terrorism, corruption, religious extremism and poverty. what happened 1400 years ago was a different era khan sahib

His message behind reference to Islamic history was about "tolerance". He has been giving similar references in jalsas asking people to think beyond ethnic lines and how Islam treats everyone equally. MOST of his speech was about country's potential and not Islamic history, if you believe Imran can reduce religious extremism by criticizing these people then you are living in fool's paradise. Religious extremism can only be eradicated by educating people and giving them justice.

A typically ignorant post...

Given that IK only echoed the logical and sound decision made by the Parliamentary board's hearings/investigation
on the matter back in '74, under the mediation of the Yahya Bakhtiyar, the then Attorney General, no fundamentalist
mullah by any stretch, and that too only AFTER the Qadiani Khalifa at the time, Mirza Nasir Ahmed, under cross-examination
had declared to the board all Non-Ahmedis to be Kafir...

So, your poor qadiani family friends have mutual feelings about Imran Khan...and in reality either they are truly
Kafirs or Imran Khan, take your pick...Degenerates would towards Imran Khan being kafir...

Last 7 days. IK going for the kill, Nooras sensing defeat and possible extinction, what will they do ???

Will they play the famous Jewish card (Maulana Diesel has already played it), will they dig up his former playboy lifestyle or do they have something else up their sleeve.....will it stick or will it blow right in their face ???

Interesting week ahead....

haha...nobody cares about that Jewish card......or IK past extra-curricular activities to the point that they won't vote for him or PTI

people care more about real issues like corruption, electricity, roads...

@Qadianis.....only If they would stop being "wannabe" muslims, their and everyone else's life would be easier...
even in the West where u want em moved, Nobody likes wannabe's........Assume they come to 'Murica and claim they are Christian while Not believing in Jesus as their savior and son of God and all that good stuff.....they're gonna be treated the same way, that they get treated in Pak.

so simple solution, say ur Qadiani and Not muslim, problem solved

I must admit that i never like Andleeb Abbas in TV shows because she is not a v.good debater or speaker but She has bring a lot to PTI.An unsung hero of PTI because she is the one who came up with the ideas of Tabdeeli Razakar and today AZM E Pakistan.

375116_537899639587024_1760264591_n.jpg

Sher being welcomed with Pak speciality :asif

but i thought litt'ers were for billi's only?

Guys, how does the election day/night work?

Voting polls are opened on the morning of 11th? When the close? When is winner announced? Details, please :)

^ That's too early. They should remain open till 7 or 8 at least.

ISF Inqilab Rally Hits Interior Lahore - Nonstop Junoon!

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=563042590385895" width="580" height="360" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Open at 7 am and close at around 5 pm i believe.

Thanks. So the votes are counted straight after? What time the finish counting? Is it like USA where results are showing on the screen all the time, or they only announce when every vote has been counted?

all the burger bacha's be sleepin till 5PM.......and when they wake up, "Oye yaar neend ee bari aye thi to phir vote denay kaisay jaatay"

Thanks. So the votes are counted straight after? What time the finish counting? Is it like USA where results are showing on the screen all the time, or they only announce when every vote has been counted?

Results will be announced on the 12th i believe.

all the burger bacha's be sleepin till 5PM.......and when they wake up, "Oye yaar neend ee bari aye thi to phir vote denay kaisay jaatay"

On the contrary i think you will see the youth lined up before polling booths even open.

Asma Shirazi ...Lifafa show

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10151406330680669" width="1280" height="720" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Results have already been printed out bu the joint effort in KSA, USA, UK...

you'll see the film on May 11

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=4891348042373" width="854" height="480" frameborder="0"></iframe>

All of these "who will you vote for" shows are crap and I say this not because most of them say PML N.

In one of Asma Shirazi's show, she was asking people who they'd vote for between Haneed Abbasi and Imran Khan and 95 % said Imran Khan on the show.

I've been to that "alaqa" plenty of times and if anything, Hanif Abbasi has the edge.

So yeah... these shows are fake.

Every day, PTI's growth is exponential while N leagues growth has stalled a bit.

Interesting tweet by Hamid Mir who says we're all in for a surprise and analysts will be proven wrong on the 11/12th.

Could it be PTI actually clean sweeping?

Or... could it be PPP coming back into power?

Guys, how does the election day/night work?

Voting polls are opened on the morning of 11th? When the close? When is winner announced? Details, please :)

voting period is from 8am to 5pm. Results of that particular polling booth is announced immediately after counting is finished. So you'll get complete results by midnight ! :imran

Not only is every constituency being shown live, but even the race of that particular constituency is being broadcasted live.

As soon as a polling station is closed its results are counted and announced.

I'm going to go really early in the morning to avoid any bomb blasts and lines. :cheema

Can anyone confirm the timings?

Where can I find a map of Punjab Provincial Constituencies? ie which village/town/city falls in which constituency?

Imran Khan schedule today

10:00 Aiwan-E-Iqbal LHR - Done

12:30 Khushab (Railway Ground) - Done
14:00 Chiniot (Hockey Ground)
15:30 Jhang (Talab Committee Ground)
16:30 Toba Tek Singh (Sports Stadium)
17:30 Faisalabad (Dhobi ghaat Ground)

Then 3 jalsas in Lahore constituencies

my health is dwindling a bit, but the love for IK has got me rolling...

---------------------------------

90,000 Fake Ballot Papers caught in Lower Dir, KPK. R.I.P Free & Fair Elections !!!

LOWER DIR: Police recovered at least 90 thousand fake ballot papers from Chakdara area of Lower Dir on Sunday.

According to DIG Malakand, the police have seized the recovered ballot papers and also arrested two accused, who belong to Lower Dir.

The case has been registered against the accused under section 419, 468, 420 and 471.

LAHORE: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Saturday took notice of a complaint by four Sialkot Jail officials stating that they were being coerced by their seniors to ensure that all voters in the prison voted for the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

Election Commission Director General Sher Afgan said they had received the complaint and that it had been sent to the Punjab Election Commissioner Mehboob Anwer for inquiry.
Anwer said the complaint had been sent to the Home Department. He said the department had been directed to respond at the earliest and file an inquiry report. However, he said, they had not yet received a reply from them.
Punjab Prisons IG Farooq Nazeer said he had constituted an inquiry committee under Prisons DIG Mubashar Ahmad Khan to probe the allegation. Khan’s report, he said, had been sent to the Home Department from where it would go to the ECP. Nazeer said the complaint appeared to be a mischief by some jail officials. “There are 1,110 votes in jails all over the Punjab. This gives an estimate of five to six votes per constituency. That would not make much difference to the results anywhere,” he said.
A similar complaint was filed last week by some jail officials from Lahore’s Camp Jail against their superintendent, Ejaz Asghar. Prisons DIG Saliq Jalal had visited the jail and decided that the allegation was false.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JpEXY3VbfK0?feature=player_embedded" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="650" height="360" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=76470&width=650&height=360&autoplay=no" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=287204098081525" width="720" height="450" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=287218814746720" width="720" height="450" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=287240381411230" width="720" height="450" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=287225444746057" width="720" height="450" frameborder="0"></iframe>

لاہور: 11مئی کو ہونے والے انتخابات سے قبل پاکستان میں مختلف سیاسی جماعتوں سے اخراج و شمولیت کا سلسلہ بھی زوروزور سے جاری ہے تاہم لاہورمیں دلچسپ واقعہ رونماہوا۔

پاکستانی صوبہ پنجاب کے دارالحکومت کے ایک حلقہ میں پیپلزپارٹی کے دفترپرتالاڈال کرپوری یونین کونسل کی تنظیم تحریک انصاف میں شامل ہو گئی۔

پاکستان میں سب سے ذیادہ وزٹ کی جانے والی آزادنیوزویب سائٹ دی نیوزٹرائب کے نمائندہ لاہورکے مطابق مذکورہ واقعہ قومی اسمبلی کے حلقہ 122میں پیش آیا۔

شاہ شمس قاری نامی علاقے میں پیپلزپارٹی کی یونین کونسل کی مکمل تنظیم نے پاکستان تحریک انصاف میں شمولیت کا اعلان کردیااورپی پی پی کے دفترپرتالا لاگا دیاگیا۔

مذکورہ حلقے سے پی ٹی آئی کے چئیرمین عمران خان قومی اسمبلی کے امیدوارہیں۔

پاکستان تحریک انصاف میں شامل ہونے والے پی پی پی کارکنوں کا کہناتھا کہ وہ پیپلزپارٹی کا دفتربند کر کے این اے 122سے عمران خان اورصوبائی حلقے سے تحریک انصاف کے امیدوارشعیب صدیقی کی مہم چلائیں گے۔

Khushab...

<iframe width="640" height="450" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=76471&folder=&width=640&height=450&autoplay=no" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen scrolling="no"></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="450" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/cv_sFkMAv0Q?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

If Imran Khan doesnt win the election he should retire from politics

He has made some very bold statements this time around. I dont know why is he so confident that he is going to win and defeat Nawaz Sharif.

Has anyone else noticed this? He is always telling his rivals that we'll see who wins on 11th May.

Now if he fails to win, wont it be an embarrassment for him? How can he continue?

He has put in so much effort to win in these elections. There is no way he can work more hard to win in the future elections if he doesnt win now. This should be the end of the road for him.

In my opinion, if Imran Khan doesnt win then he should gracefully retire from politics and focus his mind on Pakistan cricket.

He should be our bowling coach heading into the next world cup.

His sitting in the opposition will put enough pressure on nawaz if he wins. He would have wasted 20 years if he quits now. Cricket is not important. We need him to strengthen democracy in pakistan.

Maybe he's confident because he's being backed by the establishment? Doesn't matter who people vote for, pti will win by a majority :kiyani

He has made some very bold statements this time around. I dont know why is he so confident that he is going to win and defeat Nawaz Sharif.

Has anyone else noticed this? He is always telling his rivals that we'll see who wins on 11th May.

Now if he fails to win, wont it be an embarrassment for him? How can he continue?

He has put in so much effort to win in these elections. There is no way he can work more hard to win in the future elections if he doesnt win now. This should be the end of the road for him.

In my opinion, if Imran Khan doesnt win then he should gracefully retire from politics and focus his mind on Pakistan cricket.

He should be our bowling coach heading into the next world cup.

He has lived on a "never give up" attitude. If he was to quit, he would've quit after 2002 when he won only 1 seat.

All his hard work is finally coming to something. Even if he doesn't win, he'll try again and again.

Like he once said : "Jab tak mein haar nahi manta mujhe koyi nahi hara sakta ".

Cricket has no importance when it comes to your country. Even in the opposition, he can be very affecting to the ruling party.