Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

This is the problem with Pakistan. We think about our neighborhood, city, province before we think about Pakistan. The day we became a nation from a land where many different people live and it will solve many problems Pakistan is facing today.

No one even from the posh localities would come to help us solve the problems , I doubt someone from another city or province would come and help me . Sab ko apni sochni hai .

If I am not wrong ANP was/is also against the creation of Pakistan. It seems like most of these parties are cut from the same cloth.

Most of these are regional parties. N is Punjabi Party, MQM is Karachi Party, PPP is now Sindhi Party, ANP is KPK Party etc and they only do development work in their area and rest of Pakistan can go to hell in their view. Only PTI is national party in Pakistan.

No one even from the posh localities would come to help us solve the problems , I doubt someone from another city or province would come and help me . Sab ko apni sochni hai .

This thinking need to change for Pakistan to progress.

PPP and PML Q are the only national parties

PPP is a national party in a sense they believe in loot maar and corruption at national (and even international level)

PML Q?? Face palm.

Bhai aap Konsey ghaar mein rehtey hein?

pakistan-votes-map.gif

Looney no offence but all of the explanation you have presented sound like an excuse and nothing more, this victim mentality has been played out.
I am from Karachi, and lets say, one of my close friend's father is Altaf hussain's right hand man, so i have seen what MQM has done for karachi, yes they have done some good for Pakistan, but the time has come that we need a long term solution and the only party that will provide such solution is PTI.

saying that PTI has not done anything for Karachi, well PTI has not done anything for the rest of the Pakistan yet, because PTI has never been in power, PTI can be only be tested after they get the power. it is IK, himself, has given SKMH, Univ, and he is buidling a Hospital in Karachi as well now.

I am sure he understand that without Karachi, there is no Pakistan, so give him a chance.

Scenes from Lahore a while ago...lets hope they can stay awake

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10151420086157584" width="320" height="240" frameborder="0"></iframe>

the guy @ 5: 45 :)))

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10151420086157584" width="320" height="240" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Looks like Pak has won the WC :yk

I'm hoping for a simple PTI majority so they don't have to look for coalition partners.

Khuda se apne liye achi aql ki dua karaiN :moyo

haan bus yahi bakwaas jawaab hota hay jub such baat moan pay lugti hay.

The MQM is built on blood, both muhajir and non..

Just tell me one thing, is Karachi more peaceful now than it was in 1985 just as the MQm was making a mark.

Your party has been in power for over a decade and you still moan and complain.

at 5:36, ganjay sir ki shamat ai... PTI PTI

Voter turn out of 45% means 45 Seats for PTI. Voter turnout of 55%+ is a game changer

Clean sweep!!

Seems like Insaf, who had earlier boarded the clean sweep bandwagon, has decided to get off again. Insaf, sharam ker :P

I think the turnout in Punjab will be very good, not sure about Karachi, KP and Balochistan.

I like your confidence Waqar.....insaf is just being cautious, Im sure in his heart he is screaming "clean sweep"

Clean sweep!!

Seems like Insaf, who had earlier boarded the clean sweep bandwagon, has decided to get off again. Insaf, sharam ker :P

I think the turnout in Punjab will be very good, not sure about Karachi, KP and Balochistan.

Voter turnout will be high... 50% voters have already checked where there polling station is. so Things are looking good for us. the 45 seats is based on traditional election.

weather is looking good day. It seems Allah is with us :)

Election commission confirmed that 50% people has texted to confirm their polling stations :) #nayapakistan.

[utube]HwWBLdKdTIQ[/utube]

I won't be surprised if the voter turnout in Punjab goes over 70%....that would be awesome !

A question: Does one has to vote for the same party for NA and PA or can they choose two different parties ?

I think the option to choose two different parties may help traditional politicians more than new comers.

Kashif brought up badly planned fly overs (MQM's and World's No. 2 clown mayor's favorite pet project) in Karachi that have done more harm to common people, non-car owners, then any good...and Badami's panties got in a twist, so he decided to cut off Kashif's mic and take a break...

Pathetic, ARY is owned by MQM...

and u are owned by Jamat-e-Munafiqin SIR!! Rotay raho gay sari zindagi....

^^

You can vote for two parties. I have heard from a lot of PMLN voters that they will vote for PTI candidate in NA and provincial assembly for PMLN.

I like your confidence Waqar.....insaf is just being cautious, Im sure in his heart he is screaming "clean sweep"

Voter turnout will be high... 50% voters have already checked where there polling station is. so Things are looking good for us. the 45 seats is based on traditional election.

weather is looking good day. It seems Allah is with us :)

Saadi

If there is one thing I have learned from Imran, its to believe you will win. So, for me, its a clean sweep. Its just a question of simple majority, or two third majority.

Insaf, voter turnout will be high. I know so many people who are PTI, but have never voted before. I know many people whose families are divided for the first time.

In lahore, PTI voters have come out on the street already. They are saying they will go go to the polling stations together.

The castle of lahore is going to fall. And Khan will be the new PM of Pakistan

InshaAllah

For me the biggest thing right now is hoping no major terror event happens. Hope everyone stays safe. Parties good or bad need to be embraced or kicked through the vote and not by violence.

Saadi

If there is one thing I have learned from Imran, its to believe you will win. So, for me, its a clean sweep. Its just a question of simple majority, or two third majority.

Insaf, voter turnout will be high. I know so many people who are PTI, but have never voted before. I know many people whose families are divided for the first time.

In lahore, PTI voters have come out on the street already. They are saying they will go go to the polling stations together.

The castle of lahore is going to fall. And Khan will be the new PM of Pakistan

InshaAllah
Aap ke mu mein ghee shakar :asadrauf

You are a youngsta beauty :waqar

Best of luck to PTI!!! Maza nahi aaye ga simple majority ke bhagair :moyo

I'm off to work in a bit :yk

I could see Nawaz losing in NA 120 Lahore. Dr Yasmin Rashid has worked really hard in that constituency :)

lol love the jazba here..yup my heart is in charge right now..clean sweep inshallah

even if not then I think everyone will be shocked at the result either way..

and you can vote for two different parties in NA vs PA..

A friend of the family is standing as for punjab aseembly so heres hoping she wins!!

My so many relatives who I never imagined would ever vote are going to vote. Turnout is going to be high.

same its a joke us expats cant vote and ive got exams otherwise i would have went to pak with my mum and dad

and u are owned by Jamat-e-Munafiqin SIR!! Rotay raho gay sari zindagi....

Typical bughz bhara response, strong stench of a raazvi has permeated the air just this moment, and playing the religion card is ok whenever it suits Altaf's and his taqaiyya practicing desciples....Jamat-e-"Munafiqain" is a non-entity and has been for over two decades in Karachi...

The only crying is being done by people of Karachi...and Altaf sharabi bhagorray's chhotays armed with TT's are having the time of their life....

PTI has grown rapidly in the last week, it looked like ganja all the way but now it seems neck to neck.

There will be some major upsets i can see showbaz losing badly and maybe even NS.

However, there will be no clean sweeps and PTI will have to find not one but many different collation partners if it wants to form the gov. which may mean accepting MQM, otherwise ganja will make alliances with almost every other party and come to power.

MY PRIDICTIONS:

PTI: 80 SEATS
PMLN: 70 SEATS
PPP: 50 SEATS

alright lads im off to hit the sack, those of you in Pakistan get to the polling booths early and dont let us becharay overseas Junoonis down! Heres hoping I wake up to some good news but either way I think Imran has changed everythingin pak politics forever!

PTI Zindabad!

Those of you that are in Pakistan and are eligible to vote, please make sure you do. There is only one choice and that is PTI.

InshAllah something remarkable will happen.

I will be pretty rare though, to have a party take the majority and still sit in the opposition, but it can happen.

For all those in Pakistan out on the streets having a blast please please PLEASE set your alarms to wake you up and remember this is your only chance to make Pakistanis all over the world very very PROUD by voting for PTI and creating waves in the history of Pakistans Politics. .InshaAllah PTI will Sweep into power.

- IK will never make alliance with pml-n
- PML-N will ask pppp to make a collation govt, however, this pti cannot survive 5 more years...
so IK will have to share power with pppp.

pppp, already ready to sit in opposition...and this (nothing to lose position) really make them extremely powerful

:zardari is smiling...

another scenario

as if ppp shares power with pml-n at national level, they would like to make collation with pti in punjab... and weaken pml-n in punjab

i am looking forward to next couple of weeks,...

few more u-turns for ik

When does the voting start (est time)? Is there live poll, tv show etc. where you can get election updates? Inshallah PTI will clean sweep!!!

- PML-N will ask pppp to make a collation govt, however, this pti cannot survive 5 more years...

pppp, already ready to sit in opposition...and this (nothing to lose position) really make them extremely powerful

another scenario

as if ppp shares power with pml-n at national level, they would like to make collation with pti in punjab... and weaken pml-n in punjab

few more u-turns for ik

How could you support PPP?:(

any pakistani news channel bbc webiste is doing live coverage go imran go naya pakistan INSHALLAH

another scenario

few more u-turns for ik

Interesting scenarios.

What irony though. The party who ruled for 5 years, their chairman cannot even stay in the country, let alone campaign in it, their President has to vote through mail, their PM's son got abducted from his home town. After 5 years of their rule, this is what has become of Pakistan, this is what they have made of Pakistan that they themselves, with all the money, protection and guards in the world, are not safe in it anymore.

On Eve of Pivotal Election, Pakistan Orders Times Reporter to Leave

Pakistan’s Interior Ministry has ordered the expulsion of the Islamabad bureau chief for The New York Times on the eve of national elections, the newspaper said Friday. The Times has strongly protested the move and is seeking his reinstatement.

The ministry did not give any detailed explanation for the expulsion order, which was delivered by police officers in the form of a two-sentence letter to the bureau chief, Declan Walsh, at 12:30 a.m. Thursday local time at his home.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/05/11/w...declan-walsh-to-leave.html?smid=tw-share&_r=0

Hmmm.......something fishy in the making :98:

Good luck to all resident Pakistanis. May this election be change you are looking for. Stay safe.

http://dawn.com/2013/05/11/taliban-allow-women-to-cast-vote-in-waziristan/
PESHAWAR: Taliban shura (council) has allowed women voters from South Waziristan Agency area dominated by Ahmadzai Wazirs to exercise their franchise provided that proper purdah arrangements are made at polling stations.
The 120-member peace committee comprising Taliban commanders, and ulema and elders of Ahmadzai Wazir tribe announced a code of conduct for elections in Wana, South Waziristan Agency’s administrative headquarters, before Friday prayer.
Commander Salahuddin Ayubi, successor of Maulvi Mohammad Nazir, who was killed in a US drone strike in January last, heads the committee. Sources said the Taliban shura members also held a meeting in Wana on Thursday night and discussed polling arrangements.
“Women can poll vote on Saturday provided that proper purdah arrangements are made in and outside polling stations,” Amjad Wazir, an activist of Awami National Party in Wana by phone.
The committee decided that if anyone tried to disrupt polling process at any polling station in NA-41, South Waziristan Agency, he would be fined one million rupees cash and his house would be set on fire. Electioneering has remained peaceful in Wana so far.
Major political parties, including Awami National Party and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, have fielded candidates in the constituency. The committee placed a complete ban on display of all type of weapons and directed candidates and their supporters not to bring arms at polling stations.
“People can vote on their own free will,” it said and warned that nobody had the right to disturb polling process or stop voters from exercising their franchise in the area.
South Waziristan has two National Assembly’s constituencies, NA-41 (Ahmadzai Wazir tribe) and NA-42 (Mehsud tribe and other small clans).
A total of 38 candidates are in the running in the NA-41 constituency and 17 candidates in the NA-42 constituency.
The number of registered voters in NA-41 is 91,192, including 26,727 women, while there are 111,361 registered voters, including 38,858 women, in NA-42.
Displaced voters registered in NA-42 will be facilitated to cast vote at polling stations in Dera Ismail Khan and Tank districts. Polling stations have been set up for IDPs at food distribution points in these districts.
Sources said the authorities had notified establishment of separate polling stations for women in Wana and other areas of South Waziristan. Residents said ulema in their Friday sermons stressed the need for observing peace and patience and cooperate with each other in elections.
Unlike South Waziristan Agency, the fate of women about participation in elections has not been decided in the adjacent North Waziristan Agency until now. There are unconfirmed reports that womenfolk will be barred from casting vote in the volatile North Waziristan Agency on Saturday.

polling begins now

in karachi , polling staff and material not available in some places

Army called to Landhi polling stations due to firing

Firing exchanged between PTI and PMLN people

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10152843380425228" width="700" height="520" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Such a peaceful video & lol at I.K "Zardari ullu ka patha doosra Musharraf hai"

Army called to Landhi polling stations due to firing

Firing exchanged between PTI and PMLN people

Is this normal in every election? Or maybe N finally knows they have to compete unlike in the past.

Lahore polling station maiN sannata while people are lining up in Karachi #JagMerePunjab

SITE Area maiN polling amlay ko le jaane wali bus ka driver bhaag gaye - DAWN news :)))

Translation - Bus driver of polling crew in SITE Area has run away

Am very concerned, where is everyone

0321: BBC Urdu Pakistan editor @TheHaroonRashid

tweeted about the atmosphere on the streets as the country prepared to vote: Islamabad roads mostly deserted a couple of minutes before polls begin

Bhai its pakistan

the day doesnt begin till around 12 pm

They had been partying all night :facepalm:

Immy Bhai ki youth jago :P

PS I am half heartedly supporting Immy

Unless everyone moves their ***** they won't have time to cast their vote with the queues.

Very disappointed, they should have been swarming the voting booths. I am here awake at 438am, its not hard

Unless everyone moves their ***** they won't have time to cast their vote with the queues.

Very disappointed, they should have been swarming the voting booths. I am here awake at 438am, its not hard

Which is good sign right? It means turn over will be higher if people have to stand in long queues.