Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

these politicians need to be asked the tough questions.They have made a carrier out of not answering the real question and beat around the bush . I appreciate it when an anchor forces them to give a straight answer. These political talk shows aren't supposed to be about politicians going up there and talk up their parties,They are there so question can be answered.

I did not watch a talk show first time .....

You have every right to ask a tough question ...but their are some rules of decency which have to be followed....Anchors were way too dictorial and had a mocking behavior towards their guests

551289_440208452733090_1828922852_n.jpg

^^

did you say Jiyalas :))

ہو جاتا ہے تو پھر کسی کی نہیں سنتا۔۔!!
یہ عشق بھی مجھے عمران خان لگتا ہے

But PTI needs electables and big names. You cannot expect PTI to make major inroads with candidates whom the electorate does not recognise.

I think PTI's jalsas would be equally big without SMQ or JH. SMQ and JH would get us two seats prolly no more. People would vote PTI.

SMQ and JH started the trended of lotas jumping to PTI and now all the hard workers are being ignored and these topi drama people are getting the tickets!

Qureshi will stand as an independent from one constituency?

Lotas showing their hand at the right time?

SaadiBaba is a logical poster but a real pessimist.

He is right, its not pessimism, he is telling you something you dont want to hear!

This is the most absurd situation ever and made pti a luaghing stock.

He shoud be sacked immediately along with the other feudal lotas.

I did not watch a talk show first time .....

You have every right to ask a tough question ...but their are some rules of decency which have to be followed....Anchors were way too dictorial and had a mocking behavior towards their guests

i saw that sad episode... where it was two little twits questioning and answering to them as they pleased.... this is my question, and this is my answer.... i think the PTI members handled themselves in a great manner...

lucman and badami were trying to impress god knows who... it was more like 2 dangro'N ko anchor bana diya ho....

ask tough questions all you want, but give them a chance to answer as well... no fun asking questions when you dont even want to hear an answer... they were giving them stick for supporting a dictator, while were being dictators throughout the show themselves :manzoor

i dont know why ppl are so jumpy and itchy with SMQ going independent... they have all clearly stated from top to bottom, that it is to gain a stronghold in SINDH... nothing else... they have to get in there somehow... they were hoping to surprise ppl, but looks like ppl are too dumb or dull to get it... there is no wrongdoing there... if it works power to them... and for those claiming that smq will scoot away to PMLN, 1 it wont happen, 2 if it does SMQ poori qaum ke aagay nanga ho jaye ga, little fish can pull those moves at this moment, not big ones, as all the scanners are on them... think about it...

People are rightly complaining about SMQ....

I have noticed unlike Imran Khan or even Javed Hashmi he has always avoided criticising N league...He has a soft corner for them....

If his mureeds are going to vote him then they will vote him as a PTI candidate too....You do get a feeling that he has kept his options open unlike Hashmi.......I wish this proves to be only an allusion for us...

i dont know why ppl are so jumpy and itchy with SMQ going independent... they have all clearly stated from top to bottom, that it is to gain a stronghold in SINDH... nothing else... they have to get in there somehow... they were hoping to surprise ppl, but looks like ppl are too dumb or dull to get it... there is no wrongdoing there... if it works power to them... and for those claiming that smq will scoot away to PMLN, 1 it wont happen, 2 if it does SMQ poori qaum ke aagay nanga ho jaye ga, little fish can pull those moves at this moment, not big ones, as all the scanners are on them... think about it...

They are not jumpy or itchy, they are laughing at the naivity of pti and its genuine supporters.

Head in sand approach will not get pti anywhere.

was watching geo news today and seen some ex movie star sitting an exam by reciting aytul qursi, not the best tajweed but still, she then sighed a big sigh of relief and probly took her chaddar off

Duno who smq is but if i understand correctly he's the vp of the pti running as an independent then ik's learnt the wrong lessons from the egyptian election

People are rightly complaining about SMQ....

I have noticed unlike Imran Khan or even Javed Hashmi he has always avoided criticising N league...He has a soft corner for them....

If his mureeds are going to vote him then they will vote him as a PTI candidate too....You do get a feeling that he has kept his options open unlike Hashmi.......I wish this proves to be only an allusion for us...

mere bhai beech mein thori politics bhi toh karni hain na... peer pagara is respecting him by saying go ahead contest in the area and my folks will back/vote you... however, they will not really vote for him if he shows up as PTI ticket holder...

to put it frankly, we need to grab the dumb and illiterate ppl that have no sense for the future of Pakistan, we have to do whats right for them... it sounds crude, or wrong, but in the long term future of PAK, thats needed.... i AM cool with it...

it will make sense eventually...

They are not jumpy or itchy, they are laughing at the naivity of pti and its genuine supporters.

Head in sand approach will not get pti anywhere.

yeah, like the rest of the approached of N league, Ppp, pml-q, mqm, anp, etc etc are awe worthy and set the standards sooo damn high... (thumbsup)

kitni khushi hoti hai when a person is questioned who are you gona vote for "pmln" "ppp" comes a response, what have they done for you "ummmm......... road.... bridge.....nothing", why vote them then "coz they are good, and thats who i have voted forever, and they will do something eventually or one day"..... sad state of affairs in Pak....

Imran Khan's interview on PTV News

<iframe width="600" height="350" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=60130&folder=2013/04/07/&width=600&height=350&autoplay=no" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen scrolling="no"></iframe>

^^

I am waiting for the official candidate list. Lots of things need to be fixed in many division. There is one final meeting of Parliamentary board tomorrow to finalize the candidates.

According to interview Imran and CEC did plan a policy for sitting MNAs joining PTI to award them tickets but then Intra party election overruled their decision. Sardar Asif should've realized that but as Imran said these guys have old habits from previous parties. So PTI did try to have some sort of compromise between Kasuri and Sardar but his bloated ego didn't let him join the meeting. I say good riddance even though he sounded a decent person.

Inamullah was rejected by local leadership so Imran can't do any thing about it. Good example of democracy.

Also expecting a kick on the back side of Aleem khan group tomorrow.

^ Very disappointed with PTI lahore.

Lahore is the most important city for the elections, and so much turbulence there is not a good sign. I am not sure how Imran can kick Aleem Khan group, since they are elected people.

Also, it will definitely impact the party big time. With just a month left in the elections, kicking out a whole group from a city like Lahore is going to hurt the party

^Waqar kicking means no ticket. The obvious reaction ot that will be resignation from party.
Aleem khan was present in that protest where Mansha Sindhu said he joined PTI only for ticket and not to run around lahore raising PTI flag. Both of these guys were in the list of ticket awardees but they have made the situation worse. At least mansha sindhu won't get ticket even if Aleem khan does. In other words their exposing protest won't improve any thing for them.

My personal favourites were Quaid-e-Azam being born on 23rd March and Allama Iqbal wrote the national anthem.

Some classics in this video as well.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/wwTqgeUZgPU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Sorry but why ask religious questions? This is so dumb, no wonder Pakistan is no better then gutter.

Just wondering, if it was alright to have a smile on face while reading this? May 11th is the "Revenge day"

p1_25.jpg

MNA/MPA from last goverment are completely satisfied with themselves . They know they will lose election ,some are not even standing for re-election but they are happy . They have made enough money in last 5 yrs that they dont care about seat that much ,they know what ever happens to pak or inflation they are safe money wise.

They also know people have short memories and money talks so they are hoping for a come back in not this election but the next.

apparently ECP has declared that there will be no overseas voting in these elections.

Good. I was afraid the government would abuse the overseas votes. A dent in PTI's vote bank for sure but it's okay, we'll have to do with the locals

which government would abuse the vote, the caretaker one? and why?

PTI leader booked under ‘rape’ charges

April 08, 2013 ASIM QADEER RANA

Islamabad - As a major setback to Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI), Islamabad police have recently booked one of the advisors of Imran Khan on charges of allegedly raping wife of his business partner.

The case that is currently under investigation of Islamabad police somehow could not draw attention of local media for the reason to be known yet. However, Station House Officer of Islamabad Women police Station, where an FIR was lodged against central leader of PTI on 3rd of April, believes police would soon reach into depth of the case. Surprisingly, the man is none other than advisor to chairman Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) Imaran Khan on minority affair Sajid Ishaq whom his business partner accused of allegedly raping his wife.
According to details, the complainant, Zafar Iqbal, a bank officer by profession, filed an application with Islamabad women police station that Sajid Ishaq forcibly raped his wife Shazia Zafar. He mentioned it clearly through his written complaint that both he and the accused have family relations and were running an NGO jointly. He accused his partner of establishing extramarital relationship with his wife.
Taking up the application, Women Police station has registered FIR against Ishaq under section 338-A, 506 and started investigating the case. When contacted Sajid Ishaq, owner of the renowned NGO that is working for interfaith harmony and leader of PTI, said the allegations were baseless and the FIR was registered on fake evidence.
“My political rivals want to harass me but I will face the allegation. However, I have got bail before arrest until 9 April from the Session Judge Islamabad,” Sajid Ishaq said.
Station House Officer SHO women Police Station Sadaf while talking to The Nation on Sunday confirmed that police have registered the FIR against Sajid Ishaq. She said that both complainant and accused was the business partners and that Sajid Ishaq threatened the complainant Zafar Iqbal on her wife issues with dire consequences.
“We are investigating into the case,” said the SHO, refusing to share further information regarding the case.

Naya Pakistan?

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-n...Apr-2013/pti-leader-booked-under-rape-charges

^ Someone forgot to read the actual text of the report coz if his happiness over a PTI worker being accused of something

I do not mind if some one dislikes Imran but i do feel sorry when an educated individual likes Nawaz :facepalm:

^ Someone forgot to read the actual text of the report coz if his happiness over a PTI worker being accused of something

Whatever it takes to downplay "Naya Pakistan" slogan :)

PTI gave tickets to 29 new candidates in KPK out of 35 and response of PMLN?
Huh 6 are still old, is this your Naya Pakistan?

Whatever it takes to downplay "Naya Pakistan" slogan :)

PTI gave tickets to 29 new candidates in KPK out of 35 and response of PMLN?
Huh 6 are still old, is this your Naya Pakistan?

Had they given all 35 tickets to new candidates, PMLN would have come back with the usual "no experience" excuse

Seriously are you rejoicing?

1. The charges are filed by the husband and NOT the lady!

2. He is accusing them of extramarital relations.

Seems consensual just from what the man has filed.

how am I rejoicing?

is PTI not the one party that boastfully claims to have people of unimpeachable character in their movement, and continue to lambast other parties for that?

how am I rejoicing?

is PTI not the one party that boastfully claims to have people of unimpeachable character in their movement, and continue to lambast other parties for that?

Well, I think you have misinterpreted PTI's stance.... PTI has always been talking about avoiding people who are financially corrupt or are tax evaders... because they will be dealing with State's money in the end...

And about moral corruption... any party (or any institution) can only filter/select people based on general character.

how am I rejoicing?

So you have based on one man's word convicted and maligned the character of the other? Bear in mind the supposed rape victim has not made a complaint to the police. Instead, the husband has accused her of extra marital affair.

But tell me, is this man corrupt and not fit to hold public office?

So you have based on one man's word convicted and maligned the character of the other? Bear in mind the supposed rape victim has not made a complaint to the police. Instead, the husband has accused her of extra marital affair.

But tell me, is this man corrupt and not fit to hold public office?

you read the line about extramarital affair but not the one before it stating forcibly raped? :dav

may just be me but yea I would think a (if proven) rapist is not fit to hold public office...how about you, would it acceptable?

^ Rapist is not fit to hold public office. But this has nothing to do with the party. So i am not sure why you are linking this with Naya Pakistan concept.

Or do you include this in the same bucket as ppp and pmln thugs looting public wealth through corruption, with the help and knowledge of the party?

If someone commits a crime, they should be dealt with in accordance to the law..

It is naive to think that everyone in the party will always be a law abiding citizen, its not the fact that a party's worker breaks the law, its how the party deals with law breakers...that's Naya Pakistan iA :)

when he has gone through the due course of law and found guilty, lets see how the party deals with that before making judgments :)

PML(N) supporters should worry about their own party - hum nay badla hai punjab, hum badlay gay Pakistan with one fake degree at a time..oh and also, by being bank defaulters, oh and also being looters and abusers like anjum Aqeel khan..aur hum pooray kay pooray Pakistan mein epherdine bhi phila dein gay - please keep supporting the sharif family :)

On NS tax declaration in his papers-
Nawaz Sharif assets grew by 956 million during one year
http://www.geo.tv/GeoDetail.aspx?ID=95216

I find it completely incomprehensible.

Unless there is a personal interest.

We have plenty of Nawaz league fans among our educated youth ,who are impressed by some roads,laptops and youth festivals.....

These educated ones should know their rights better than an illeterate individual...people do not consider efficient and transparent Police system,good educational facilities and hospitals as their primary rights....

I talked about it before too but my theory is that SMQ is keeping his options open by doing this. In case PTI is unable to make an impact in the coming elections, SMQ will then be free to join any party in the govt. as the 18th amendment rule of not being able to change parties will not apply to him as he would have won his seat as an independent.

even if contests elections as an independent in Sindh, he's still contesting elections as a PTI member from another seat. The rule of not joining other parties after the election would still apply.

So who else received an e-mail from Imran Khan today?

17.jpg

Dear PTI Supporters,

Being on the campaign trail, I have interacted with people all over the country and I am happy to share with you that Change has come to Pakistan!

This beautiful land of ours has suffered at the hands of Status quo for the past 65 years. They have failed miserably to improve the lives of its citizens. They have missed the noble opportunity of serving Pakistan because they were too busy serving themselves.

The General Elections of 2013 will be a pivotal moment in our history. The other parties will use money stolen from our country's honest, hardworking, taxpaying citizens. On the other hand, we will be armed with the passion of those citizens and our people living outside of Pakistan who wish to see a Change in Pakistan. Our people have realized that Pakistan is declining and they must take ownership of the country. They have decided to stand up against the Status quo and I am happy to tell you that people have chosen Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf as the means to save Pakistan.

It has taken us seventeen years to get to this point. Many sacrifices have been made, but I can tell you that it has all been well worth it. The once in a lifetime opportunity to create a 'Naya Pakistan' is knocking at our door. It is just 33 days away. I invite you to participate in this historic movement by joining my Tabdeeli Razakar team at http://tabdeeli.insaf.pk and/or by contributing $50 (Rs. 5000) or more to our Naya Pakistan fund at http://elections.insaf.pk/NayaPakistanFund or via the PayPal link below:

As a PTI supporter, you have played a phenomenal role in our success. Continue being part of the change you are seeking, we are only a few days away from building a Naya Pakistan!

Imran Khan
Chairman
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf

People in Punjab getting very angry with daily load-shedding of 12+ Hours :)

So who else received an e-mail from Imran Khan today?

I got it ... I also donated quite an huge amount to PTI but did not hear any thing. Nor do I care but it would be nice if they can send thanks email to all contributors to motivate them to pay more. Can you please pass this message ?

how am I rejoicing?

You r a good poster. If you r against PTI thats ok. I just hope an intelligent poster like you should not favor PPP or PMLN.

I don't think AZ has publicly accepted it but I personally think he is a BIG time noora. :shafiq

Why didnt imran send me an email!!!!
I even went to his jalsa
Dont worry i will still vote for PTI

thanks, will take that under advisement.

I don't think AZ has publicly accepted it but I personally think he is a BIG time noora. :shafiq

I have nothing more than a passing interest in politics, simply pointing out obvious hypocrisies.

anyways,

‘Prohibitively expensive’: ECP opposes online vote for expatriates

NADRA chairman Tariq Malik, said that the software had been prepared for online voting but he was unaware of the legal aspects.
ISLAMABAD:

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) took an unexpected U-turn when it opposed an online voting system for overseas Pakistanis, terming it expensive, time-consuming, and impracticable.

In its report submitted to the Supreme Court on Monday, the ECP contended that facilitating eligible overseas Pakistanis to cast their votes in the upcoming general elections was not advisable.

Quoting the unanimous decision of a committee comprising officials from ECP, NADRA and IT ministry, the commission stated that allowing overseas Pakistanis to vote through an uncertified computer system could be disastrous for the electoral process.

The Supreme Court had earlier directed the secretaries of law and justice, information technology, foreign affairs, ministry of oversees Pakistanis and the ECP, as well as the chairman NADRA to undertake coordinated efforts for devising a mechanism which would enable overseas Pakistanis to cast their votes in the coming polls.

NADRA chairman Tariq Malik, when approached, said that the software had been prepared for online voting but he was unaware of legal and technical aspects of the issue. “I will try convincing ECP and other institutions during today’s (April 9) briefing,” he added.

A representative of the ECP told The Express Tribune that NADRA’s software was imperfect, “If we exercise this option then as per the ‘one minute one vote’ facility only 6,000 overseas Pakistanis will be able to cast their vote,” he added.

The ECP report stated that comprehensive legislation is required to define a mechanism for extending voting rights for expatriate Pakistanis. It highlighted that the election schedule has already been announced, thus making voting arrangements for overseas Pakistanis impractical in a short span of time. The report emphasised that any decision taken in haste had the potential to create unforeseen problems and seriously damage the credibility of the upcoming elections, both within the country and abroad.

In its report, the commission noted that, “If we are unable to establish polling stations in all 120 countries where Pakistanis live, then it will go against the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), which Pakistan has ratified.”

In addition, the commission stated that following the principle of universal suffrage, the commission would have to provide voting facilities to overseas Pakistanis near their place of residence abroad, making the cost of the exercise prohibitively expensive.

A three-judge bench headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and comprising Justice Gulzar Ahmed and Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed was hearing two identical petitions seeking the right to suffrage for overseas Pakistanis. The court will take up issue on April 11.

Published in The Express Tribune, April 9th, 2013.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/533055/prohibitively-expensive-ecp-opposes-online-vote-for-expatriates/

I got it ... I also donated quite an huge amount to PTI but did not hear any thing. Nor do I care but it would be nice if they can send thanks email to all contributors to motivate them to pay more. Can you please pass this message ?

I did send a message to few people that are connected to officials. Lets see what they do. This does need some fixing.

ECP has bascially cleared everyone. I was on their website. So many people dont even have tax records. How can you stand for election if you have not submitted your taxes!

and some of the incomes are a joke.

^ ECP is a joke. Even those who were disqualified for fake degrees were done on the orders of the SC. Otherwise they would have made their way into the elections again.

Someone has filed a petition in the SC that no tax defaulters have been disqualified. I am hoping this results in something

basically ECP has not implemented the articles 62&63 correctly

Why dont you just admit about your soft-corner for Nawaz? it'll be much easier to debate :shafiq

As for your question, it is a case against moral character of a person, has nothing to do with his profession or the party he is affiliated with. Please do not mistake it with money laundry cases against PPP or other corruption cases against PML-N leadership. I hope you are educated enough to differentiate between the two :misbah_old

The elections will be rigged, there is no such thing as democracy in pakistan. Almost every leader is corrupt and the only way to win is through corrupt means. The guys hand out free rotis to an entire village for votes etc this is the state of pakistan, the best you can do is educate ourselves in countries such as the UK/USA and then go back to pak and build your own schools/mosques etc to give people an education which will give them hope in life.

Why dont you just admit about your soft-corner for Nawaz? it'll be much easier to debate :shafiq

As for your question, it is a case against moral character of a person, has nothing to do with his profession or the party he is affiliated with. Please do not mistake it with money laundry cases against PPP or other corruption cases against PML-N leadership. I hope you are educated enough to differentiate between the two :misbah_old
If ECP had implemented articles 62 & 63 correctly both Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan would be disqualified for elections.

even if contests elections as an independent in Sindh, he's still contesting elections as a PTI member from another seat. The rule of not joining other parties after the election would still apply.

I am not so sure about that, can u please quote me the source you got that information from.

this rule will not apply if he wins the election as an independent in Sindh and decides to keep that seat. then he will go in National Assembly as an independent and he is free to join any party or stay independent.

If ECP had implemented articles 62 & 63 correctly both Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan would be disqualified for elections.

If ECP had implemented article 62 and 63 correctly, I doubt if most of us (Awam of Pakistan) would even be eligible to contest elections. Democracy is all about representation from within the people. If our country was full of Sadiqs and Ameens, our leaders would have had no problem passing this test.

The elections will be rigged, there is no such thing as democracy in pakistan. Almost every leader is corrupt and the only way to win is through corrupt means. The guys hand out free rotis to an entire village for votes etc this is the state of pakistan, the best you can do is educate ourselves in countries such as the UK/USA and then go back to pak and build your own schools/mosques etc to give people an education which will give them hope in life.

bhai jaan aik bar you leave pakistan, i dont think you will be going back with such nice thoughts... you will be quite busy filling your own banks with $$$/trying to lead a good life (which there is nothing wrong with)... but you wont be all or as charitable... :shafiq

As was expected, Faisal Saleh Hayat, Ayaz Amir and Abid Imam's papers have been accepted after they were cleared in the hearing.

So,among all the 20,000 plus aspirants almost none of them is defaulter or does not pay his taxes.........................:))) :)))