Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

Lawyers1.jpg

Pipliya lawyers beating up the lawyer who filed objection against the nomination papers of Qaim Ali Shah

Well they still need to be cleared by the people. Awam ki adalat sab se BADI adalat.If people vote these guys in again then so be it.

Yaar, you know this is not true. In pakistan, awam ke adalat doesnt take into account tax and loan defaults.

CJ said that fake degree holders will not qualify. Yet, Dasti just got his conviction overturned. I am really disappointed at this

Now Dasti cleared...what a joke...in someway one wonders Qadri had a point about this ECP.
yes he was right about ECP; they appointed a respected person as the chief election commissioner so people cannot go too much against ECP but behind the scenes there is no accountability.

I don't believe in Technical knockouts.

We have to beat them on May 11. People are watching what's happening and they have a decent choice in front of them this time. If they still vote for them then that's their choice.

PTI Ad on Tv

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=587776201247452" width="720" height="404" frameborder="0"></iframe>

We have to beat them on May 11. People are watching what's happening and they have a decent choice in front of them this time. If they still vote for them then that's their choice.

The fifty percent awaam without television sets do not "See what's happening".

It's not about "believing" in technical knockouts or not. It's about principals. Fake degree holders and defaulters should NOT be allowed to contest elections.

another PTI ad on TV!

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=586334818051209" width="720" height="576" frameborder="0"></iframe>

It's not about "believing" in technical knockouts or not. It's about principals. Fake degree holders and defaulters should NOT be allowed to contest elections.

Awam Did not have Tv in 1946, Awam Did not have Tv in 1970.

Do not count out Awam just yet!

Why haven't they announced their Punjab candidates yet?
Failure to meet deadlines. Hakumat main aa kar kia karein gey? :P

Everything has a time and process. If you start throwing all the people with fake degrees and loan defaulters out especially big fishes you will create so much chaos and this in return may delay the elections.

This process of proper scrutiny should have started long time ago with members of National assembly and provincial assembly.

I actually kind of agree with this. I was angry at first, but think about it rationally. If major PPP and PMLN candidates get disqualified, they will cry foul, and hurt the credibility of these elections.

Honestly, I dont think these disqualifications will have ANY impact on the results whatsoever. If dasti can win, so can his brother from the same seat. Same applies to others as well.

People need to make a a choice. If they want thugs to rule them, then so be it. They will select other thugs if the current ones are disqualified

PTI will have to win and if Nooras n Pee Pee won through any dodgyness then i urge everyone to run riot and anyone is PTI doing jalsa at Liaquat Bagh on MAy 9....:13:

PTI Jalsas to start on April 18th from Lodhran..

Anyone know what they will be doing till then? will they be working in their own respective constituencies?

IK needs to also put the work in in the Lahore and Rawalpindi Constituencies.

I actually kind of agree with this. I was angry at first, but think about it rationally. If major PPP and PMLN candidates get disqualified, they will cry foul, and hurt the credibility of these elections.

Honestly, I dont think these disqualifications will have ANY impact on the results whatsoever. If dasti can win, so can his brother from the same seat. Same applies to others as well.

People need to make a a choice. If they want thugs to rule them, then so be it. They will select other thugs if the current ones are disqualified

But again, it's not a question of what will benefit us or in what "way" we want to win.

Like I said, it's a matter of principals. Just because Dastis brother will win from the same constituency, it doesn't mean the laws wont apply to him.

The bottom line is, fake degree holders and defaulters need to be disqualifies, disregarding what or who it affects

^ of course, I am not disagreeing with the principals part. But our democracy isn't ripe enough to implement all the required rules and principals. That's a sad fact.

If PTI wins the elections, and delivers, then the next time around, EC can kick the thugs out of the elections, and no one will complain. Until then, these disqualifications will raise eyebrows, and only allow these thugs to become victims, and get sympathy votes for their party

"Name 15 fruits in English"..one of the questions asked by Returning Officers.:)))

whats up with NA-240 seat in Karachi? Just saw previous 2 results from this seat and MQM barely won this seat with only 6K margin.

2002 Results:
Sarkaruddin Advocate MQM 30408
Moulana Shireen Muhammad MMA 22764
Muhammad Buksh Lashari PPP 15374
K.S. Mujahid Khan Baloch PMLQ 6090
Mr.Muhammad Iftikhar Ahmed Bhatti ST 6063

2008 Results:
Khawaja Sohail Mansoor MQM 67799
Abdullah Bloch PPPP 61017

who are the candidates now for this seat? If JI & JUI makes an alliance with PPP or PTI they will win this seat.

Tahiq Ul Qadri was spot on about this ECP. it sold out and its corrupt to the cored.

The awam of Pakistan has been fooled once again.

Tax evaders, loan defaulters are back to rule the roost.

Shame on your Ebrahim sahab.

Best summary of corruption in last 5 years - a must watch show!

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/I2l46EhcEiU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

realism is good but people do need optimism at this time. there is no harm in trying. Failure only makes people stronger and better!

Tsunami or No Tsunami.

Murad Saeed has good chance of winning in Swat.

562990_328900483879011_1822424561_n.jpg

561460_449755821771797_1921434329_n.jpg

can anybody tell me contact of this guy from PATOKI ? ... we have dairy farm in patoki, i can arrange a jalsa and help in other ways....

jamshed dasti is back with a bang and i'm 100% certain that this "shaheed" will get reelected. expect all the fake degree holders to get acquitted now. there's no way he has a legit degree. i bet the judge even knew it was perjury on the witnesses part

Supreme Court has once again ordered ECP to ensure participation of overseas voters on May 11....

does anyone have a link to all of PTI's candidates? or has this not been decided yet?
Hasn't been decided yet. They initially gave a date for the 7th but then extended it to 10th of April.
KPK candidates were announced long ago.

I am in Lahore right now. Idhar to Bijlee hi nahi aati logon ko ghantay ka nahi pata baahir kya ho raha hai....

Media and internet play big role in the elections but here 18 hours load shedding... forget about voting coz right now there is only one big problem and that is bijlee.

Hasn't been decided yet. They initially gave a date for the 7th but then extended it to 10th of April.
KPK candidates were announced long ago.

I think list is finalized yesterday but PTI like other parties won't announce it until they are sure the nominations are not objectionable.

Taliban Gunmen Kill Pakistani Election Candidate Fakrul Islam

Taliban assailants on a motorcycle gunned down a candidate running in Pakistan's upcoming elections on Thursday, an official and a Taliban spokesman said, underscoring threats to the country's former ruling party and other secular and political groups.

Fakhurl Islam, whose party has spoken out strongly against the militant group, was killed near his home in Hyderabad city in southern Sindh province, police official Saqib Ismail Memon said. He had been running for provincial assembly in voting scheduled for next month.

"We condemn this heinous crime and we demand that all the candidates should be provided better security by the government," said Qamar Mansoor, a spokesman for Islam's party, the Muttahida Quami Movement or MQM.

Hours later, Pakistani Taliban spokesman Ahsanullah Ahsan claimed responsibility and vowed to continue such attacks in future. The Taliban have threatened to attack members of the MQM because of its statements.

The MQM was once part of a coalition government with former prime minister Benazir Bhutto's Pakistan People's Party, which came into power following the 2008 parliamentary elections after her assassination. Bhutto's party completed its term last month but has been fielding candidates for both national and provincial assemblies.

On Thursday, the Taliban's Ahsan vowed to continue targeting the MQM, the Awami National Party and Bhutto's party "for working against them" when the three parties were in power from 2008 to 2013.

Taliban militants in recent years have mainly targeted the ANP leaders in the northwest, killing one of its senior politicians, Bashir Bilour, in a suicide attack in December 2012 in the city of Peshawar.

On March 31, the Taliban attacked the motorcade of a campaigning ANP politician with a roadside bomb in the northwestern city of Bannu, wounding him and killing two of his supporters.

Thursday's attack indicated the Taliban threat was not confined to northwest or Karachi as the latest attack took place some 100 kilometers (60 miles) northeast of Karachi, the country's financial capital where MQM enjoys major support.

Is it true???

If you have not sat on tractor and listened to Attaullah EasaKhelvi's song then you have experienced nothing in life :paindoo :P

Best summary of corruption in last 5 years - a must watch show!

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/I2l46EhcEiU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The first part is really important . Basically candidates can be disqualified even after winning elections or even on the day of the elections if SC gets its way .

jamshed dasti is back with a bang and i'm 100% certain that this "shaheed" will get reelected. expect all the fake degree holders to get acquitted now. there's no way he has a legit degree. i bet the judge even knew it was perjury on the witnesses part

Jamshed's Deasti degree wasn't a fake degree but a degree which isn't acceptable by the board of Education (or whichever depart assesses your degree). He had a degree from Madarrassa which wasn't accepted as an equivalent. He never forged a degree.

Something for all First Timers and Newbies :)

At the time of vote counting there are 4 types of votes
1) Valid Vote
2) Challenged Vote
3) Tender Vote
4) Cancelled Vote.

Valid Vote:
Valid Vote is a vote which is correct in all respects and contains only one stamp on it against name and symbol of any candidate.

Challenged Vote:
When a polling agent challenges the status of a voter after paying a prescribed fee. This fee previously was Rs 2 per vote till 2002 and now a days it is Rs 10 per vote. After polling agent pays the prescribed fee, the voter is given a right to vote but his vote instead of going in ballot box goes in a special envelop duly issued by ECP.

Tender Vote:

Suppose a voter goes to cast his vote and his vote has already been cast as per polling officer record as against his name a tick appears. In this case voter has to prove that he did not come to vote before. Irremovable ink mark on the thumb serves as a valid proof in this regard. Then such claimant voter is given a ballot paper to use his right and instead of putting it in box it is placed in a special envelop duly issued by ECP.

Challenged and Tender Vote are sent to ECP office who at the time of announcing the result adds these votes to valid votes.

Cancelled Vote:
Cancelled vote is a vote which is declared cancelled at the time of counting and is separated from valid votes. Under following conditions a vote is deemed cancelled.
i) It carries stamp mark on more than one candidate
II) the voter has posted stamp in such a way that it appears in more than two boxes.
III) in addition to stamping the voter has posted any remarks or some sign inadvertently or deliberately.

At the end of polling all four type of votes are sealed separately and before sending to ECP these are sent to local magistrate first.

bhai jaan aik bar you leave pakistan, i dont think you will be going back with such nice thoughts... you will be quite busy filling your own banks with $$$/trying to lead a good life (which there is nothing wrong with)... but you wont be all or as charitable... :shafiq

I never left pakistan in the first place haha but did live there for a year at one point almost a decade ago so much has happend since then in the country :/, am from the UK born in England...but at heart i will always be a pakistani and intend to go back one day to build a mosque or school in my village and who knows many more inshallah......but the 2013 elections will prove that nothing can be acheived through politics when Imran Khan fails

Imran seeks CEC, CJ help for overseas Pakistanis' voting rights.

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan Thursday expressed grave concern over the ECP’s excuses for granting the overseas Pakistanis their right of voting and urged Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Justice (retd) Fakhruddin G. Ebrahim to intervene and implement the direction made by the Supreme Court in this regard.

The PTI chief made this statement during his meeting with a 30-member delegation comprising eminent members of the overseas Pakistanis who called on him here to discuss the matter.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had reiterated its stance that it might be impossible to include overseas Pakistanis in the polling process with days left in the general elections due to legal and other factors.

“Overseas Pakistanis are an asset for the country and denying them the right to vote is a grave injustice. It was PTI that had filed a petition in the Supreme Court for giving right of vote to overseas Pakistanis and after the decision of the apex court every effort should have been made to ensure that this became possible,” a statement issued here quoted Imran Khan as telling the delegates.

The PTI chief said unnecessary bureaucratic hurdles were being made as an excuse just to deny the overseas Pakistanis of their right and this was cause of grave concern for his party.

Khan said that he could not comprehend as to why the options of Nadra’s e-voting software and postal ballot were being opposed to facilitate the overseas Pakistanis.

“It is a fact that the Pakistanis living in other countries are our ambassadors. They are sending billions of dollars every year from abroad which was a major source of running our expenditure. But unfortunately, the government institutions have been denying them their basic right for which the overseas Pakistanis are feeling detached,” he said.

Imran Khan urged the CEC and the chief justice to take cognisance of the matter and take measures o remove any hurdles in way of the right to vote to the Pakistanis living abroad.

“Our Pakistani brothers and sisters need to be brought in the mainstream. The refusal of right to vote to them has made them second-rate citizens. They are also facing problems due to the refusal of passports to them. The CEC must act to ensure right to vote for overseas Pakistanis,” Khan concluded.

http://dawn.com/2013/04/11/imran-seeks-cec-cj-help-for-overseas-pakistanis-voting-rights/

Tahiq Ul Qadri was spot on about this ECP. it sold out and its corrupt to the cored.

The awam of Pakistan has been fooled once again.

Tax evaders, loan defaulters are back to rule the roost.

Shame on your Ebrahim sahab.

Fakhru is an old time jiyala...this was to be expected...I and a few others pointed out at the outset of his appointment that PTI were being highly naive in accepting his nomination...

Once a jiyala, always a jiyala, nothing less or honest ought be expected from them...

I think in Pakistan there is need for a live debate between the Umar brothers.. Asad Umar from PTI and Zubair Umar from PMLN.. both playing part in policy making and manifestos.

On a side note can one shed some light on what Nawaz Sharif gov did when it froze the foreign currency accounts? Where did that money go? somewhere in between when PMLN talks abouts its economic successes they miss this critical point which had big impact on the economy.

Does any one have a good list of PTI KPK candidates. For NA-29, some reports(mainly on facebook) have Sher Shah Khan from PTI but in the posts above in this thread i see Murad Saeed running for this seat.

I am from this area and i will be visiting there in a few days. There is a lot of support for IK and PTI but nobody really likes Sher Shah Khan. He is not new and has been in politics for a long time under other parties. He is a 'Khan' (like a vadera kind of) and hence why people aren't so much in his favor.

Fakhruddin Ebrahim, head of NAB, head of FIR and head of state bank should be taken to court for high treason. They have sold out Pakistan for money.

all of them should rot in jail. We are screwed as a country.

^looks great. We need to reach out in under developed cities specially south of Punjab. PTI can also get seats from Hyderabad (4 NA up for grabs) as people there are very angry at PPP and MQM is not as influential there. Naveed Qamar won from Hyderabad last time but I heard he didnt got the party ticket this year.

^^

I agree. I think we are going to give some pleasant surprise to both our supporters and opponents in Sindh.

In Rawalpindi, we have 12,000+ Tabdeeli Razakars (last week Count) + Party officials planning things already. waiting for Officials to announce tickets so they unleash the tsunami on Hanif Abbasi and co :)

^ Was there a target in terms of number of TRs in pakistan? And was that target met?

Target is 1,000,000 the last number was 200,000 don't know where we stand on that today.

I know someone who is working as Tabdeeli Razakar coordinator for district Rawalpindi and he is happy with the numbers in pindi but says we will increase our numbers in pindi soon and that's a week old number.

^ How is NA 56 looking? are they still going to be protesting on not choosing Fyaz-ul-Hassan for the MPA seat?

Whats this story on Fyaz ul Hasan anyways? He has impressed me at least.

Aap please iss pay tabsara karein :)

Inzi too.... Where? when? did I miss something :)

In the news where they told who is supporting who. Aaqib Javed and Rashid Latif would be supporting MQM where as Inzi and some Olympian (forgot his name) are supporting Imran. I was surprised about Inzi too. I thought after all the criticism from Imran on Inzi's captaincy he would never support him but turned out inzi never took it personally. #respect.

credit where its due, impressive stuff from PML-N :14:

This has been their USP in previous elections too, they have gauged the local-mentality of Punjabis and I'm sure many people can relate to these commercials.

can anyone share some links of PTI tv ads? don't get to see them on Pak channels over here.

I have travelled by Metro once...And i have a tale to tell...

After watching a stop I went towards it..In search of entrance i travelled around the jangla but could not find an openning,then i asked a labourer about it,he pointed the underground entrance,still i could not get it..After repeated conversation , i got it...First i went down into ground through stairs,here again i had 3 options to choose from the tunnels,i inspected each of these and then chose the middle one.. i had to use the stairs to reach at the ticket point..and then again i had to climb up the elevators to reach the point where bus picks up passengers..........
Number of people travelling daily are innumerable...As i reached the point,the bus also reached,i thought about entering...but after watching rush and some of people not opting for it,i decided to wait for next one,meanwhile some pathans started to have pictures and videos of the terminal...then again next bus also came fully crowded,but i entered the bus..As i stepped into the bus,a naughty boy spoke loudly",O pathan faer reh gaye jae":))...may be they were travelling first time like me...

Thank God,i did not have to use the stairs for exiting the stop,as lift was working there...

I appreciate the project...Give credit where it is due....but to me it is more of a makeover to hide the true face of their's

I have travelled by Metro once...And i have a tale to tell...

After watching a stop I went towards it..In search of entrance i travelled around the jangla but could not find an openning,then i asked a labourer about it,he pointed the underground entrance,still i could not get it..After repeated conversation , i got it...First i went down into ground through stairs,here again i had 3 options to choose from the tunnels,i inspected each of these and then chose the middle one.. i had to use the stairs to reach at the ticket point..and then again i had to climb up the elevators to reach the point where bus picks up passengers..........
Number of people travelling daily are innumerable...As i reached the point,the bus also reached,i thought about entering...but after watching rush and some of people not opting for it,i decided to wait for next one,meanwhile some pathans started to have pictures and videos of the terminal...then again next bus also came fully crowded,but i entered the bus..As i stepped into the bus,a naughty boy spoke loudly",O pathan faer reh gaye jae":))...may be they were travelling first time like me...

Thank God,i did not have to use the stairs for exiting the stop,as lift was working there...

I appreciate the project...Give credit where it is due....but to me it is more of a makeover to hide the true face of their's

There is no need for you to mention such racist jokes.

^^

I agree. I think we are going to give some pleasant surprise to both our supporters and opponents in Sindh.

In Rawalpindi, we have 12,000+ Tabdeeli Razakars (last week Count) + Party officials planning things already. waiting for Officials to announce tickets so they unleash the tsunami on Hanif Abbasi and co :)

according to IK tickets gonna be announced on tuesday 16th april

There is no need for you to mention such racist jokes.

Sorry if it hurt you.....I shared in earlier part that i could not find a path to enter the terminal....So i am making joke of myself before mentioning them...Even i had the difficulty in comprehending the procedure,ways and routes there..so,if some new comers from other province had also some difficulty in understanding the procedure or schedule then what is wrong in sharing it?
Like me they were travelling first time....

"meanwhile some pathans decided to start taking pictures" could've been "some people decided to start taking pictures.

I had to gave a single name to them on both occasions...otherwise it would have not made sense,because the same pathan brothers were left behind.....

I tell you when Metro was inaugurated plenty of people took part in it like a festival,and they were locals or Punjabis and they did every kind of act including damage to buses,let alone capturing snaps or pictures ...

As new comers it was like inauguaration day because they had not seen it before ....

Looks like Hamid Miraj from NA 123 Lahore is Farigh and ticket is now going to some youngsta beauty

536897_10200447403540797_404109897_n.jpg

can anyone share some links of PTI tv ads? don't get to see them on Pak channels over here.

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=587776201247452" width="720" height="404" frameborder="0"></iframe>