Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

I can notice usage of words alleged,accused etc in news.....

Certainly a lot more potent case than water theft cases or false declaration of assets

Agli Baar koi Election contest he nai karay Ga :)))

HAHAHAHA. I am enjoying this. Finally some transparency.. we still need to do a lot of work to clean the system.

I agree with you saying that faking degree is a crime.

All I am saying that law requiring MNAs to have a degree is discriminatory. If this absurd law was not there, there would be no reason to fake degrees.

90% of Pakistan does not have degrees which means they cannot be in the NA.

That rule of holding degree is no more valid.

But in last election under Mush, it was valid and these guys faked degrees at that time ....

What's with Ayaz Amir's nomination papers being rejected....thats just ridiculous. The charge is that he wrote against the ideology of Pakistan......WTH, what does that really mean ! This is just pure and simple witch-hunting.

Agli Baar koi Election contest he nai karay Ga :)))

HAHAHAHA. I am enjoying this. Finally some transparency.. we still need to do a lot of work to clean the system.

Certainly fun to watch this unfold.

But I'm a bit nervous about Imran's papers, given how ridiculous 62 and 63 are

^^

Koi nai khair hai...

I will take Imran Khan's disqualification if it means we get clean and honest candidates :)

I wonder what will happen to Rehman Malik when he will be asked to recite Quran or Verse

Certainly fun to watch this unfold.

But I'm a bit nervous about Imran's papers, given how ridiculous 62 and 63 are

Objection has been raised against Imran for the reason that he had himself admitted indulging in gambling in his own book..

yes that part is crazy around "good moral character"

I mean come on.

I dont care if you drink, gamble, are a womaniser, that is your personal choice.

as long as you are a good administrator,

yes that part is crazy around "good moral character"

I mean come on.

I dont care if you drink, gamble, are a womaniser, that is your personal choice.

as long as you are a good administrator,

Perhaps you are completely unfamiliar with article 62 & 63 brought by Zia...

It demands candidate to have a good understanding with Islam,should believe in Islamic Ideology of Pakistan and should have a good moral and personal character in addition to other requirements

:facepalm: all of these requirements are quite subjective.....

This is What happens When two biggest Parties of Pakistan decide to protect their interests instead of looking out for People of Pakistan.

The Price of NooraKhusti and MukMuka!

PTI's Jehangir Tareen is also a Bank Defaulter. State Bank

40 karor 70 lac that is.

^^

No default?

‏@mosharrafzaidi 14m
On bank loans by PTI leader Jahangir Tareen. RT @frooq: owing and getting them written off are two separate issues no?

Dr. Shahid Masood

This will be most RIGGED elections in the history of Pakistan ever.

"Unknown people" have come in govt. & bureaucracy.

This EC is putting dust in public eyes. It is highly politicized & sold out ECP.

Media helping the corrupt elite (Ex-govt., bureaucracy, EC & interim govt. etc) is also part of this DUST, diverting people's attention from the real issues:

- Where is the accountability of Billions of Dollars looted in this 5 years ???
- What's the directives of EC/Bureaucracy to cope with terrorism during elections ???
- NRO case was judged by judiciary and verdict was given. Where is the implementation ???
- Similarly there are too many other issues.

This is an NRO-2. Musharraf return is the part of it & with consensus with PMLN.

Waves of Arab spring / Disturbance in Middle East (which was started with the Invasion on Iraq & ending up to Syrian Crisis) & Sectarian exploitations are also coming to Pakistan.

This is a border-less world now. US, UK & Arab Stooges are behind this NRO-2.

In Pakistan, there were similar crisis just when NRO-1 was being done in 2007.

(I've broke the news about NRO-1 but all people blamed me of lies).

The current govt. of 2008 was decided in NRO-1.

Elections2008 was just the dust in the eye.

Similarly there is similar crisis during this NRO-2 in 2013.

Political alliances & people traveling from one party to other is the part of this.

Media is profiting too much by helping the rigging of elections.

It is creating the hype that democracy has been strengthen.

First time Civilian to Civilian transition of power is being carried out.

Fake degree issues is also a drama being played to divert people from NRO-2.

Capital Circuit (3rd April 2013) Dr. Shahid Masood Khan [Exclusive Interview]

[utube]eOYyOeALPh0[/utube]

Alternate Link

<param name="movie" value="http://cdn.playwire.com/bolt.swf">
<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true">
<param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always">
<param name="flashvars" value="configuration=http://cdn.playwire.com/12187/embed/222606_e.xml">
<embed id="playwire_player_222606" name="playwire_player_222606" src="http://cdn.playwire.com/bolt.swf" wmode="transparent" width="640" height="450" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" flashvars="configuration=http://cdn.playwire.com/12187/embed/222606_e.xml">
</embed>
</object>

Imagine an election decision taken by cricket tourny between PTI PML and all other P's and M's etc.

You know who is going to win for sure! :D

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-n...-2013/-drunk-mqm-applicant-for-na-95-arrested

GUJRANWALA - The MQM candidate from NA-95 was arrested by the police on the order of a returning officer over the suspicion of being under the influence of alcohol or drugs during scrutiny of the former’s nomination papers, it is learnt.

Earlier, Abdul Karim alias Tokay Khan visited the office of Returning Officer Rao Abdul Jabbar for scrutiny. The medical samples have been sent to Lahore for analysis. However, the MQM candidate said that he was ill.

ECP is rejecting papers of people from ALL parties which is good.
And Regardless of the fact that articles 62 and 63 are not ideal(Ayaz Amir rejection is wierd), this is the first time something like this happened AFAIK.
And they are also p**ing off the right people(As most of the candidates who filed their papers are probably corrupt) and also dr. Shahid masood has reacted strangly to it in his program with allegations of poll rigging. Media must be going crazy
As to what is really happening, in pakistani politics we never know, So we can only pray for a free and fair election(and Vote Ofcourse)

A little worried about the PTI divisions (reappearing from intra part election days maybe) And SMQ not naming any party against his name.

the better question would be to ask if anyone would be eligible to contest the election :iqasim

Online everywhere I see is flooded by PTI! But then again, most voters of Pakistan don't have internet? :asif

What is the talk in local Jamaat? I think that's accurate Poll than online polls.

So who is winning in the polls so far?

Well i think most analysts are predicting that PML-N will win most seats in the elections, however some analysts like hasan nisar are saying that PTI will win punjab with a majority(very optimistic most people would say). In pakistani parliament whoever wins punjab usually forms the government.(punjab has 140ish seats out of 272 directly elected 1 think)
The thing is it is very difficult to predict our elections for variety of reasons.
We dont know how free and fair they will be. Many analysts are predicting a bloody election(God forbid).
Also you have to remember, unlike india this is the first time we are been given a choice to approve/disapprove a previously elected parliament. So hopefully voter turnout is expected to be high(also given the numerous problems of inflation, loadshedding, and very little law and order, security etc) Usually voter turn is in the 25-35% region. If we can get it to 60-70% some statusquo parties are going to be shocked.
Apart from security there is also another worrying sign and that is that election commision has declared 39 million+ unregistered voters out of 80 million some time back on their website(www.ecp.gov.pk) itself. Dont know if that is resolved.
Also most previous voters in pakistan vote on a variety of reasons based on caste,religion, tribal afiliations, honest canditdate, party support, even food distributed on election day. the new registered voters are mostly PTI suporters.
And also there are alot of twists and turns to come leading upto election day. So predicting this pakistan election isnot easy.
Assesing PTIs chances are difficult for obvious reasons of the unpredictable elections. Their strong bases are KhyberPakhtunkhwa and punjab with some succcesshopefully in balouchistan. So far there isvery little penetration into sindh and karachi. but still time is there.Fata may be a worry coz some people say JUI-F is gna do well there(corrupt "mullahs")
The difference this time is that we actually have a third party to vote for. It does have flaws but leader is as Honest,intelligent,charismatic as any. I mean other party heads are no comparison to him. Also there a lot of good honest intelligent candidates who have been selected by PTI
So this time for pakistan we simply have to give him a chance and start criticizing when he actually sits in parliament(hopefully as Prime Minister or atleast Minority Leader)

Online everywhere I see is flooded by PTI! But then again, most voters of Pakistan don't have internet? :asif

What is the talk in local Jamaat? I think that's accurate Poll than online polls.

don't go by internet polls, they mean very little when it comes to pakistan. the majority still votes for those that they've been voting for from the start i.e those that their elders vote for.

Well i think most analysts are predicting that PML-N will win most seats in the elections, however some analysts like hasan nisar are saying that PTI will win punjab with a majority(very optimistic most people would say). In pakistani parliament whoever wins punjab usually forms the government.(punjab has 140ish seats out of 272 directly elected 1 think)
The thing is it is very difficult to predict our elections for variety of reasons.
We dont know how free and fair they will be. Many analysts are predicting a bloody election(God forbid).
Also you have to remember, unlike india this is the first time we are been given a choice to approve/disapprove a previously elected parliament. So hopefully voter turnout is expected to be high(also given the numerous problems of inflation, loadshedding, and very little law and order, security etc) Usually voter turn is in the 25-35% region. If we can get it to 60-70% some statusquo parties are going to be shocked.
Apart from security there is also another worrying sign and that is that election commision has declared 39 million+ unregistered voters out of 80 million some time back on their website(www.ecp.gov.pk) itself. Dont know if that is resolved.
Also most previous voters in pakistan vote on a variety of reasons based on caste,religion, tribal afiliations, honest canditdate, party support, even food distributed on election day. the new registered voters are mostly PTI suporters.
And also there are alot of twists and turns to come leading upto election day. So predicting this pakistan election isnot easy.
Assesing PTIs chances are difficult for obvious reasons of the unpredictable elections. Their strong bases are KhyberPakhtunkhwa and punjab with some succcesshopefully in balouchistan. So far there isvery little penetration into sindh and karachi. but still time is there.Fata may be a worry coz some people say JUI-F is gna do well there(corrupt "mullahs")
The difference this time is that we actually have a third party to vote for. It does have flaws but leader is as Honest,intelligent,charismatic as any. I mean other party heads are no comparison to him. Also there a lot of good honest intelligent candidates who have been selected by PTI
So this time for pakistan we simply have to give him a chance and start criticizing when he actually sits in parliament(hopefully as Prime Minister or atleast Minority Leader)

Thanks for reply. I was talking with few Pakistanis in December, they were also saying Nawaz Sharif party might win. And some were saying PTI will win, well he was a fanboi of IK. Personally, whoever comes, I think random blasts that were/are here and there should and I am hopeful that it will stop. Because my conspiracy theory tells me that some groups don't like the current party and they are showing their anger by doing these blasts.

So, I hope this election gets over asap!

Good Luck Pakistan!

Just saw live with Talat (nowshera) seems like a lot of problems in PTI there ,workers not happy with ticket allotment.I hope this is sorted cause this could be bad news .same thing in manshera pti workers not happy there as well.

Badshah is from nowshera maybe he can throw some light on it.

Tickets to "outsiders" PTI elected members fuming with anger

The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, Lahore, elected members on Thursday revolted against party`s Central Parliamentary Board`s (CPB) controversial decision of awarding tickets `to outsiders and non-elected persons` for national and provincial assembly seats in the city.

About a dozen PTI candidates nominated for provincial and national assembly seats announced returning their party tickets in protest to express their unity with the elected members from 10 towns in Lahore, who were ignored.

PTI central information secretary Shafgat Mahmood said no candidate had so far been granted party ticket and the final list of candidates would be issued after scrutiny on April 8. `Everybody has a right to protest and appeal against any wrong decision, he said.

PTI Lahore district president Abdul Aleem Khan also announced returning party tickets issued to him for NA127 and PP-147. He said PTI must adhere to its slogan that `party members will elect their leaders`. He said the party`s CPB did not honour the recommendations of the Lahore District Parliamentary Board and reshuffled candidates like `public servants` Those, who have announced returning party tickets, include Mian Hamid Meraj (NA-123), Talib Sindhu (NA-130), Muhammad Yameen Tipu (PP-144), Mian Iftikhar (PP-145), Jamshaid Iqbal Cheema (PP-146), Hamid Sarwar (PP-157) and others.

The CPB`s announcement of party tickets for Lahore national and provincial assem-bly seats drew strong resentment on Thursday and all elected representatives from towns and district level approached Lahore district president Aleem Khan at The Mall office and recorded their protest. It is learnt that the elected representatives stated that the party`s CPB did not consider the genuine elected leaders and gave party tickets to outsiders and non-elected persons.

Most of Lahore town`s elected members said that they were shocked for being ignored. An elected representative from Lahore Cantt said that as many as eight candidates were recommended (to select from) for award of party ticket but all of them were ignored.

The visibly agitated elected leaders said the party had also awarded tickets to such candidates, who had not applied for. They protested against the award of tickets to different candidates including Hafiz Farhat Abbas (PP155), Haji Fayyaz (PP-151) and PTI intra-party chief election commissioner Hamid Khan (NA-125). It is learnt that Muhammad Madni was awarded ticket, though he did not want to contest election from NA-119.

They also stated that party`s workers and elected representatives including Shoaib Siddiqui and Farrukh Javed Moon were denied party tickets, while Jamshaid Iqbal Cheema was nominated for PA seat instead of MNA slot.

Talking to Dawn, Aleem Khan said the genuine party workers, who made thousands of people as PTI members and then won elections at union council, town and district levels, should not be ignored by the party leadership. `Theelected representatives are demanding their right and not begging for seats,` he asserted.

He regretted that the CPB had picked only one out of nine elected town presidents for party tickets in Lahore.

Aleem Khan strongly criticised the nomination of Hamid Khan (NA-125) and Hafiz Farhat Abbas (PP-155) stating that they were outsiders in the respective constituencies. He also lambasted Shafgat Mahmood for imposing decisions on elected representatives.

Expressing his dissatisfaction over CPB`s constitution, Aleem Khan said, a few leaders could not judge the true representatives in all constituencies in the country. `The respective district`s presidents, general secretaries as well as town presidents should be part of the meeting while deciding nominations for party tickets.

Meanwhile, a senior PTI leader requesting anonymity said party chief Imran Khan could not be blackmailed by negative tactics.

When contacted, Shafgat Mahmood said the protesters should follow a proper process of filing objections for redressal of their grievances.

He said the CPB was the final authority to recommend candidates across the country. He said the respective districts and provinces` parliamentary boards had recommended three candidates for each constituency.

Besides, he said, many candidates had also applied directly to the CPB for party tickets. `In almost 90 per cent cases, the CPB had picked candidates recommended by the districts and provinces` parliamentary boards,` he claimed.

PTI leaders "oppose" seat adjustment with JI

It seems some key leaders of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) are against seat adjustment with the Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and their opposition is stopping the two parties from reaching an agreement on seats despite last month`s talks between their party heads on this issue.

JI chief Syed Munawar Hasan and PTI chairman Imran Khan formed committees at provincial as well as national level on March 25 to finalise the seat adjustment plan for various constituencies, especially in Punjab.

`Mr Hasan met Mr Khan twice in recent days to discuss the seat adjustment issue, but still there is no progress on the issue,` says a JI official in Mansoora.

He said some PTI leaders were opposing their party`s plan for seat adjustment with the JI.

A PTI leader from southern Punjab said his party`s top three leaders were responsible for the delay in finalisation of the seat adjustment plan with the JI. `Three of our top party leaders from southern Punjab are against seat adjustment with the JI,` he said.

Talking to Dawn, Hasan said there was no progress on theseat adjustment issue after formation of committees by the two parties last month. `It is because of Javaid Hashmi who has yet to call a meeting of the committee, which was meant to discuss the seat adjustment plan at the national level,` Hasan said.

PTI information secretary Shafgat Mahmood said provincial leaders from both parties were in contact with each other on the seat adjustment issue.

He said the PTI had no ideological differences with the JI, but there was difference of opinion within his party on seat adjustment with the JI.

From Dawn News

reading headlines that Mush's papers for kasur rejected..

this is becoming a tamasha! also the PTI really needs to work on intra party discipline..but heres hoping things work out in the end..

havent seen the above vids yet but if its NR0-2 then I assume its to favour the curent lot and the PMLN who will continue the yanks agenda. There seems to bea major push to ensure that people like cuptaan are dealt with once and for all!!

Elections: Musharraf's nomination papers rejected

KASUR: Former president Pervez Musharraf’s nomination papers for NA-139 were rejected by the returning officer of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday, Express News reported.

His papers were rejected following six objections made by advocate Javed Kasuri.

One of the objections stated that the ex-general does not meet the criteria established in Article 62 and 63 of the constitution.

After hearing arguments, the returning officer declared Musharraf ineligible to contest the elections from NA-139.

The former president will be able to appeal the decision.

Musharraf had submitted his nomination papers from the constituency NA-139 Kasur and was planning to contest elections from other constituencies including Karachi, Islamabad and Chitral.

Supreme Court case

The Supreme Court has approved an application requesting action against Musharraf under Article 6 of the constitution.

The application stated that Musharraf is a traitor.

The case against him is based on imposing martial law on October 12, 1999 and enforcing emergency on November 3, 2007.

The hearing will commence on Monday under a three-member bench headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry.

PML-N acts

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader Ahsan Iqbal had filed an application in the ECP, earlier the same day, against former Musharraf.

Musharraf violated the constitution of Pakistan several times, alleged Iqbal.

Iqbal had requested the ECP to reject Musharraf’s papers and disqualify him from contesting the upcoming general elections.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/531486/musharraf-disqualified-from-contesting-elections/

Just saw live with Talat (nowshera) seems like a lot of problems in PTI there ,workers not happy with ticket allotment.I hope this is sorted cause this could be bad news .same thing in manshera pti workers not happy there as well.

Badshah is from nowshera maybe he can throw some light on it.

Yep, some problems. All I know is I'm voting for PTI there.

Junooon at TRP in Lahore today:

<iframe width="600" height="350" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=58980&folder=2013/04/05/&width=600&height=350&autoplay=no" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen scrolling="no"></iframe>

LOL @ Elected officials of PTI at district levels. They want all tickets for their group and no tickets for the losing side. I am Glad Imran Khan is representing the losing side in PB.

so whats the problem? will it be sorted??

Well this Parvez Khattak guy: People don't like him.

People are blaming him for giving tickets to his yes men in KPK rather than deserving men.

I am not fully aware of the situation though. As for it being sorted or not, time will tell. These problems always happen before elections.

SMQ in Sindh!

58794_641767125850483_1343227018_n.jpg

This has to be the most hilarious story :))) :)))

<iframe width="600" height="350" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=58972&folder=2013/04/05/&width=600&height=350&autoplay=no" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen scrolling="no"></iframe>

All of my excitement has toned down due to Imran's papers being challenged. He may very wel lbe disqualified. And Nawaz's papers were accepted even though he is a known defaulter.

No he won't! Sita white case was cleared by ECP judges in 2007. The outcome is still on ECP website.

Second accusation is dumb anyway. Imran didn't claim that he took part in gambling.

Besides I don't think ECP has guts to take on top leadership of any party. All topi drama going on these days regarding degrees and Islamic questions etc. Real challenge is to block defaulters, corrupt and other solid cases which ECP not gonna do.

^^

You really think Imran Khan's paper would be rejected. I thought you have been following pakistani politics for a while now :P

ECP doesn't have balls to disqualify any of these big leaders sad fact. Anyways there are already alternative plans in place if Imran Khan is disqualified.

LOL @ Elected officials of PTI at district levels. They want all tickets for their group and no tickets for the losing side. I am Glad Imran Khan is representing the losing side in PB.

I am glad that aleem khan group has exposed themselves (Mansha Sindhu openly telling his followers that he joined PTI for ticket and not for raising PTI flag around lahore). Hopefully IK and top leadership will watch that clip and kick these guys out.

This tamasha is being done by ECP to show that they are working very hard for elections...........but faisal raza abidi on Tv said elections can be delayed to a month or fornight..............AZ has his own plans.:P

Rauf Klasra ‏@KlasraRauf6h
Shahbaz sharif is rightly claims he is not bank deaulter becaz he uses LHC to stay against recovery of Rs4.5bn loan since 1998.What a joke!

Why 9 banks including NBP not asked to make comment on default of "House of Sharifs" to clear dust and expose role of LHC since 1998?
Above are the Tweets of Rauf Klasra

Will these Sharifs be ever caught.....in mardoodo se kab jaan chote gi

shiamourning.jpg

Sectarian violence is raging in Pakistan, and some commentators are now describing the relentless assaults on Shia Muslims as genocide. Predictably, many observers fear that this unrest-coupled with a dangerous overall security situation-could delay Pakistan's May 11 national elections.

It's an understandable, yet ultimately misplaced, concern. As was recently pointed out, Pakistan has held elections under much more trying conditions-including one in Swat in 2008, during the height of the Pakistani Taliban's insurgency there.

Few commentators, however, are talking about another possible impact of sectarian strife on the elections: Shias-roughly 20 percent of the Pakistani population-mobilizing en masse to vote the ruling political party out of power.

Their motivations would be obvious. Shias-like Ahmadis, Christians, and other religious minorities in Pakistan-are incensed at the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) for failing to protect them, and for taking no meaningful action against those who terrorize them. In the blunt words of Abdul Khaliq Hazara, a prominent Hazara Shia in Quetta who heads the Hazara Democratic Party, "the government doesn't have the will to go after them."

Under this scenario, who would the Shia vote for? Probably not the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)-Pakistan's chief opposition party and the current favorite to lead the next governing coalition. The PML-N's bastion is in Punjab Province, which is also the home base of some of Pakistan's most vicious sectarian extremist groups, including the Lashkar-e-Jhangvi (LeJ). Yet instead of confronting the LeJ, the PML-N is seemingly courting it. Last year, the law minister of Punjab's provincial government (led by the PML-N) campaigned with the leader of Sipah-e-Sahaba Pakistan (SSP), LeJ's parent organization. And just days ago, the secretary general of Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat (ASWJ)-like the LeJ, a splinter group of SSP- bragged: "We have thousands of voters in almost every constituency of the South and Central Punjab and the PML-N leadership is destined to knock at our doors when the elections come."

Rumors have abounded that, with the election in mind, the PML-N is negotiating a "seat-adjustment" agreement with ASWJ. (The Express Tribune, in an article later removed from its website, described the deal as follows: the PML-N will support the ASWJ in races for three National Assembly seats, while in return the ASWJ, "whose votes often play a vital role in helping candidates win," will withdraw its candidates from contesting about a dozen National Assembly seats in Punjab) Last month the PML-N denied the rumors-only to be contradicted just days later by SSP's leader. Regardless of who's telling the truth, the PML-N has done little to dispel the expectation that, if it leads the next government, it will do little to address the Shias' plight.

A more likely choice for the Shias might be voting for Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party. The PTI, more so than the PML-N or PPP, has gone out of its way to condemn the country's sectarian bloodshed and its chief instigators. Pakistani analysts have contrasted Khan's strong and unequivocal denunciations with the "obfuscations and meaningless remarks" uttered by the Pakistani government. After an LeJ bombing killed nearly 90 people in a Quetta market last month, Khan declared at a press conference: "I tell you by name, Lashkar-e-Jhangvi...there can be no bigger enemy of Islam than you." He also accused the LeJ of exhibiting "the worst kind of enmity towards Islam." Such strong language is rarely used by the PPP or PML-N. In January, Khan even endorsed Shia demands for targeted operations against religious militants.

Admittedly, the PTI has no plans to take aim at the root causes of sectarian violence. For example, reforming-much less repealing-Pakistan's blasphemy laws (which are often used as a pretext to persecute religious minorities) is a move no political party in Pakistan dares make; the late Punjab governor Salman Taseer was assassinated for merely criticizing them. Nonetheless, compared to the two major parties, the PTI gives the impression of genuinely caring about, and wanting to help, Pakistan's besieged minorities (along with other vulnerable segments of the population; the party recently released a new manifesto to protect the disabled). Tellingly, after an attack on a Quetta snooker hall targeting Hazara Shias left more than 100 dead in January, Khan visited the victims' grieving families-a meeting that occurred before the arrival of Pakistani government officials. Shias in Lahore and other areas of Punjab-home to 148 of Pakistan's 272 national assembly seats-could cause significant damage to the PML-N's electoral prospects if they vote as a bloc for the PTI.

But there's little reason to believe Pakistan's Shias will actually turn out in droves to vote for the PTI. Many Shias are suspicious of Khan because of his support for talks with the Taliban and other gestures perceived as sympathetic to religious militants. Such suspicions intensify when PTI officials (including party vice chairman Ajaz Chaudhry) share the stage with hardline Islamist figures-including members of the ASWJ-during rallies of the Pakistan Defense Council, a collective of conservative religious parties. A recent video produced by the Shia rights group ShiaKilling.com captures the contempt that Pakistani Shias harbor toward the PTI (and toward the PML-N as well). One Shia cleric (who does not appear to enjoy a large following) has even peddled an elaborate conspiracy theory involving Saudi Arabia and the ISI colluding to install Khan as the leader of a new "Saudi-Wahhabi Islamic State" of Pakistan.

There's also little reason to believe Shias will band together and vote en masse for any other political party. Formal research on Pakistani Shia voting patterns is limited, but based on informal conversations and anecdotal evidence, it's safe to say that such patterns are far from monolithic. On May 11, some will vote along ethnic lines. Others will opt for the PPP; in a by-election last year in the Punjab city of Multan, the PPP candidate triumphed-and analysts noted that he earned Shia votes (in fact, according to research by Andrew Wilder, Shias in Punjab tended to vote for the PPP as far back as the 1990s -because of the perception that it was more liberal and tolerant of religious minorities than were other parties). Others still will vote for the MQM. This is a party that has controlled Karachi politics for decades-and has traditionally received many Shia votes (though given Karachi's violent political culture, many of them were probably cast under pressure). Some will simply choose a sympathetic patron. Finally, many Shias-due to fear, apathy, or sheer disgust-probably won't vote at all.

This isn't to say Shias aren't joining forces to pursue political goals. Last November, a top official with the Majlis-e-Wahdat-e-Muslimeen (MWM), a collaborative of Pakistani Shia religious scholars, announced that the organization would be establishing a Shia Solidarity Council "to promote harmony" among the country's Shias. The MWM, he added, "has been making all-out efforts to unite all Shia parties of Pakistan at one platform." (MWM party leaders, incidentally, have also said they seek to "counter [the] nefarious designs of the imperialist forces" against Pakistan, and the MWM has staged U.S. flag-burnings in front of the American embassy in Islamabad.)

Several weeks ago, the MWM registered as a political party with Pakistan's Election Commission, and has now decided to contest elections. Party officials have vowed to field candidates for 100 parliamentary seats (60 of them in the national assembly), mostly representing Shia-majority areas in Punjab and in Pakistan's other three provinces. However, owing to a variety of factors-such as the lack of electoral success of Pakistani religious parties, and the MWM's dearth of political resources-the party's big-picture prospects appear dim.

The takeaway? Pakistan's sectarian violence is unlikely to delay this year's election. And, owing to the strong likelihood of a PPP or PML-N victory on May 11, the votes cast by those in the crosshairs of that violence will fail to delay the inevitable-the arrival in power of another fragile coalition unable or unwilling to protect them.

http://afpak.foreignpolicy.com/posts/2013/04/04/pakistans_protest_vote

I am betting on Youth, Shias and minoroties voting as a bloc for PTI.. Can't say that for women yet.

^This is big news. Sialvi's are devout followers of the Aastana-e-Alia or whatever it is called. It's a rural constituency mainly.
PTI is using a pragmatic approach towards village politics. Let's see how well it pays off.

The decision against Musharraf to not let him contest is biased

^^

You really think Imran Khan's paper would be rejected. I thought you have been following pakistani politics for a while now :P

ECP doesn't have balls to disqualify any of these big leaders sad fact. Anyways there are already alternative plans in place if Imran Khan is disqualified.

I have been following pakistan politics for a while, thats why I am afraid of this happening. Good people find it hard in pakistani politics. And NS and AZ are NOT good people, so they wont have issues

No he won't! Sita white case was cleared by ECP judges in 2007. The outcome is still on ECP website.

Second accusation is dumb anyway. Imran didn't claim that he took part in gambling.

Besides I don't think ECP has guts to take on top leadership of any party. All topi drama going on these days regarding degrees and Islamic questions etc. Real challenge is to block defaulters, corrupt and other solid cases which ECP not gonna do.

I hope thats true. THis 62 63 BS is over the top. Anyone can be caught in this

any bank defaulter should be ineligible for elections IMO

Not following elections very closely so wanted to ask you guys what Altaf Hussain is talking about here :

He added that the scrutiny process was not child’s play and serious efforts were needed to make the process transparent. He was also critical of the ROs for asking contesting candidates personal and humiliating questions.

“They have no right to ask how many wives a candidate has and how much time he spends with them. This is unfair and is not only against the Constitution of Pakistan, but negates the teachings of Islam as well,” the MQM chief said, referring to news reports that an RO questioned a female candidate about her age and directed her to unveil her face.

He said, “We have not seen such a society where such questions are being asked by the returning officers who do not even know about the history of their own country and Islam.”

Who and what is he referring to ?

I agree with you saying that faking degree is a crime.

All I am saying that law requiring MNAs to have a degree is discriminatory. If this absurd law was not there, there would be no reason to fake degrees.

90% of Pakistan does not have degrees which means they cannot be in the NA.

So you think People who are going to run your country should be uneducated?

Not following elections very closely so wanted to ask you guys what Altaf Hussain is talking about here :

He added that the scrutiny process was not child’s play and serious efforts were needed to make the process transparent. He was also critical of the ROs for asking contesting candidates personal and humiliating questions.

“They have no right to ask how many wives a candidate has and how much time he spends with them. This is unfair and is not only against the Constitution of Pakistan, but negates the teachings of Islam as well,” the MQM chief said, referring to news reports that an RO questioned a female candidate about her age and directed her to unveil her face.

He said, “We have not seen such a society where such questions are being asked by the returning officers who do not even know about the history of their own country and Islam.”

Who and what is he referring to ?

Agree with him.

The returning officers of Election commission of Pakistan have been humiliating politicians with these stupid questions.

They have so far not asked any serious question about loan default and financial corruption. They are Joking with people of pakistan by asking kalmas, Dua Qanoot, and other trivial stuff.

This cartoon quite succinctly describes what is going on in Pakistan right now.....

images.jpg

^^

I Blame PPP and PMLN for failing to do any electoral reforms and they deserve what's happening to them. Vast majority of politicians humiliated belong to these two parties.

^^

I Blame PPP and PMLN for failing to do any electoral reforms and they deserve what's happening to them. Vast majority of politicians humiliated belong to these two parties.

These article are in place since the 80's. Even Zia himself did not apply them on his parliament. Who knew that this would happen. TUQ brought it out in the public, probably on behalf of the Army and now this.....:facepalm:

^^

They endorsed it with 18th amendment. They were asked to do reforms but they ignored it thinking it would benefit them.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/i24mU1_e1TE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

voter's IQ :zardari

A local resident, Mohammad Hafeez Abbasi, brought a written objection to the constituency’s returning officer, stating that in his memoir, “Me and My Pakistan,” Imran Khan “had confessed to consuming liquor… and this is a clear violation of Articles 63 and 64 of the Constitution.”

tomorrow is going to be very interesting! :))) i hope imran knows his 3rd kalma :moyo

these have to be the most absurd articles ever written. congratulations to my extremist muslims, maulvis will be running the country to the ground in the near future.

LHC bars ROs from asking irrelevant questions

A local resident, Mohammad Hafeez Abbasi, brought a written objection to the constituency’s returning officer, stating that in his memoir, “Me and My Pakistan,” Imran Khan “had confessed to consuming liquor… and this is a clear violation of Articles 63 and 64 of the Constitution.”

tomorrow is going to be very interesting! :))) i hope imran knows his 3rd kalma :moyo

these have to be the most absurd articles ever written. congratulations to my extremist
muslims, maulvis will be running the country to the ground in the near future.

LAHORE: The Lahore High Court has restrained Returning Officers from asking irrelevant questions from the aspirants of contesting general election.

According to reports, the ban was imposed on Returning Officers working in Punjab on Friday.

The LHC said that the ROs could raise questions on the information provided by the candidates in their nominations papers.

The court has also imposed ban on carrying TV cameras in the offices of the Returning officers. LHC judge Mansoor Ali Shah issued the directives.

http://www.geo.tv/GeoDetail.aspx?ID=95482
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Btw IK never mentioned in his book that he drank liquor. The complainant obviously has comprehension problems :)

These article are in place since the 80's. Even Zia himself did not apply them on his parliament. Who knew that this would happen. TUQ brought it out in the public, probably on behalf of the Army and now this.....:facepalm:

Articles 62 and 63 have been part of discussions for a while now. It is PPP and PMLN's fault for not modifying them. This shows them to not only be corrupt, but dumb. Ab bhugto

To be honest, i don't really think our public is informed enough as yet to vote for someone who is capable of changing the system. I can't even blame them enough because i would probably have same thinking if i was living there in those conditions. Although most people agree Imran is honest and educated but they would only vote for people who have built roads and bridges for them or improved infrastructure regardless of their character, lifestyle, intelligence etc

Imran is just a good guy who hasn't given them mega projects unlike Sharifs so why should they vote for Imran? Many people even admit that they believe Sharifs are also corrupt but their argument is at least they also spend on people beside the looting.

i just cant understand why Ansar Abbasi is getting so much TV time on various channels.. hes only a investigative journo ffs... he is taking such moral high ground..bet he cant utter a word against his own owners who are defaulters n tax evaders n whatnot..

Imran Khan cleared to contest polls from Lahore’s NA-122
The cricketer-turned-politician is slated to contest polls from NA-1 (Peshawar-II), NA-56 (Rawalpindi-VII), NA-71 (Mianwali-I), NA-122 (Lahore-V), and NA-125 (Lahore-VIII) constituencies.

Speaking to reporters at the Karachi Airport on Saturday, Khan said that the result of the polls would be similar to the outcome of the 1992 cricket World Cup, which Pakistan had unexpectedly swept under Khan’s captaincy.

Khan said that the deployment of the Army at polling stations was critical for security during the coming election. He said that the democratic process would fail if the people are unable to cast votes due to security concerns.

Regarding seat adjustment with other parties, Khan said that negotiations were underway concerning the matter.

A decision on Khan’s nomination papers for Rawalpindi’s NA-56 is also expected Saturday. According to reports, the returning officer has reserved ruling on the objections raised against Khan’s candidacy.

A local Pindi resident had raised the objection that in his memoir, “Me and My Pakistan,” Imran Khan “had confessed to consuming liquor,” thus violating the constitution. The RO had asked Khan to ‘clarify his position’ regarding the allegations.

http://dawn.com/2013/04/06/imran-khan-cleared-to-contest-polls-from-lahores-na-122/

WHy can't ECP reject NS ans SS paper's...........they have looted this whole country and its a travesty that people still want to vote for them.......even the biased media is giving them more time.......

Imran Khan's nomination papers accepted for NA-122...

I am not sure about NA-56 but i think he has been cleared there too...

Imran Khan's nomination papers accepted for NA-122...

I am not sure about NA-56 but i think he has been cleared there too...

Both Imran Khan and Ephedrine Abbasi's nomination papers for NA 56 accepted.

Sheikh Rasheed from NA 55 also cleared.