Pak V India: ODI series , POST DISCUSSION HERE!

replace Hafeez for the least
it took him some 20 balls to get off the mark and did nt even score tht big for us to forget this

to be honest, Hafeez did pretty well given the situation.

reason for Pakistan ODI 1 defeat

Indians are technically better batsman even if they dont have the will of the pakistani players. Indians technically adjusted thier game to ODIs. Sehwag played like he did in Tests that was no change and if u look at balls faced and runs scores dravid also played at the same pace as test level. the rest of the batsmen failed just like pakistani batsmen did as they were either new, out of form or are not as technically skilled. Salman Butt and Inzamam were the only 2 players who looked comfortable before perishing to thier own faults. another big factor was that the temperature and humidity when Pakistan were bowling was very very high, you could see it when afridi, the most energetic of all pakistanis couldnt cope with the heat after simply bowling 2 overs, that says alot. With better weather believe me pakistan can easily beat this indian side

With our unpredictable batting ---

can BW really afford to play 6 bowling options?
would we be better of if we dropped a bowler and played a specialist batsmen ?

I think this is a very important question in the make up of the squad. Back when Malik was bowling- playing 6 bowlers was a luxury that BW had- but that is not the case anymore. With the way our batting order can and does collapse almost regularly in ODIs we need to stick with just 5 bowlers and play an extra specialist batsmen.

With YK probably out for the second ODI as well, we only have Inzi as an in form and reliable bat. To bring more stability to the line up Asim Kamal needs to play. Yes many people say that he is too slow of a batsmen to play in an ODI. However the one think I have noticed about him is that he very rarely gets out cheaply- he is the perfect guy to be sent into situations where we loose a bunch of quick wickets because he is very calm and steady. He can stay at one side while players like Inzi and Yoyo can score runs from the other knowing that they have someone who will create a good partnership with them.

My message to BW- this unpredictable batting line up needs stability- and you have to sacrifice a bowler to provide it !!

YK isnt going to play...he is still unfit and especially because of the heat

and why r u guys making malik open? and droping butt some of you? malik isnt to open and afridi will singe in the runs opening

my team:

butt
afrid
malik
inzi
hafeez
yoyo
razzaq
akmal
rana
sami
arshad (why the hll wud u drop him?)

what i really fear is that Butt will be dropped....
which would be pretty dumb to say the least..
it was a decent opening partnership...and we might drop the only specialist opener

Well I guess its time to choose team for the next match and I think its time we kick out these bits and pieces players like Mohommad Hafeez and go with specialists. Shahid Nazir and Rao deserve a chance now both were brilliant against India A so here is my side

Salman Butt
Shoaib Malik
Abdul Razzaq
Yousaf Youhanna
Inzimam ul Haq
Shahid Afridi
Kamran Akmal
Shahid Nazir
Rana Naveed ul Hassan
Danisk Kaneria
Rao Iftikhar

Well Shahid Nazir is no muck with the bat and I am hundred percent sure that he can bat better than Mohommad Hafeez so he replaces Hafeez, Danish Kaneria will replace Arshad Khan because even though Arshad Khan has taken some wickets but he has been too expensive and only takes wickets when batsmen are going for slog even Yuvraj takes wickets then. What are your thoughts on this side:-

changes for 3rd odi

we need to make a few changes i wold go for this team:

butt
afridi
malik
inzi
youhana
younis
razzaq
akmal
shaid nazir
kaneria
rana

Forget Afridi opening if he plays more slogs across the line

Kaneria is a must for the next game.

He can get you a wicket at any stage in the match.

my side

butt
razzaq
yk
yoyo
inzi
kamal
akmal
afridi
s nazir
rana
sami

butt
afridi
inzi
yoyo
s malik
a razzaq
akmal
shabbir
akthar
s nazir
kaneria

time to fly out some decent bowlers and send the $hit ones home!

i have a feeling inzy may be banned coz of his on and off field outburst. if he is my team ould be
butt
afridi
razzaq
malik
yoyo
kamal(maybe swap wit afridi)
akmal
sami/shoaib
rana
nazir/shoaib
KANERIA
if inzy not nbanned play him insted of kamal. maybe younis will be fit, then i would drop nazir/shoaib, and tell younis to bowl a it

playing with 6 bowlers

if u r still giving 356 runs then no need for a 6th stupid 3 dimensional player. play 4 specialist bowlers and 2 allrounders.

On Indian wkts , everyone will say that we need more batsman. but in my view if u r chasing such mammoth target even 8 batsman wont help u. kami playing at 8 showed he is a good enough batsman to come at 8. great fight by batsman but we have to do something with out bowling.

my team in batting order (provided YK is unfit ):

1. Salman (though he shd be warned by Inzi and Bob. the shot he played was pathetic at that stage. no need was there. but he is looking in good form MASHALLAH)
2. Afridi (have to persist with him ; will come good)
3. Malik / Abdul
4. Inzi
5. Yo Yo
6. Abdul / Malik
7. Kami
8. Sami
9. Rana
10. Shahid Nazir (better than hafeez for sure and Sami and Rana can play quite well
11. Kaneria (plz play him. i m saying right from the beginning. we need a wicket taking bowler in the middle overs)

if YK is fit we have to drop Salman or Malik.

1. Salman (though he shd be warned by Inzi and Bob. the shot he played was pathetic at that stage. no need was there. but he is looking in good form MASHALLAH)
2. Afridi (have to persist with him ; will come good)
3. Malik / Abdul
4. Inzi
5. Yo Yo
6. Abdul / Malik
7. Kami
8. Sami
9. Rana
10. Shahid Nazir (better than hafeez for sure and Sami and Rana can play quite well
11. Kaneria (plz play him. i m saying right from the beginning. we need a wicket taking bowler in the middle overs)

Butt
Akmal
Younis
Inzi
Youhana
Malik
Razzaq
Afridi
Sami
Rana
Kaneria

my team for 3rd odi:

S Butt
K Akmal
A Kamal (We need a lefty to play against tendy)
I Haq (If banned then Y Khan)
Y Yousuf
A Razzaq
M Hafeez
S Nazir
R Naveed
M Sami
D Kaneria

butt
malik
y. khan
inzi
yoyo
razzak
afridi
akmal
sami
rana
kaneria/nazir

Salman Butt- has looked brilliant in both his innings but given his wicket away both times as well. Needs to learn that there is a time and a place to go for the shot he did today (in the park playing with your friends on sunday afternoon). But he has looked brilliant and I can sense a big score. Keep him on.

Kamran Akmal- go back to opening with him. He had a good innings today and inshallah we wont be chasing such a big total again so no need for the hit and miss of Shahid bhai.

Younis Khan/Shoaib Malik- If Khan saab is fit put him in otherwise persist with Malik who also looked quite good until he got out

Inzamam- I seriously think we would have won if he hadn't got run out.

Youhana- obvious

Razzaq- batted well for his 88. More of the same please Rizzy.

Afridi- hit and miss

Rana- if it wasn't for him we might well have been chasing 400. Decent batsman too......no idea what happened to him today

Sami- obvious choice.

Hafeez- quite close to being a disgrace to the green but we need the sixth bowler in the humidity and heat.

Kaneria- leg spinner is a must

Razzaq should bat no.3 in this series

First of all i would like to say that Razzaq today played a great innings, Akmal also impressed with the bat.
Now, Razzaq as we all know is weak against the spinners so i think it's better if he opens or bats at no.3 in this series, when the ball is hard and pacers are on.

What do you guys think?

if Khan saab is back then bring him in for Malik bhai

Butt- looks in excellent touch but keeps throwing his wicket. Will score big.
Akmal- batted v well today. I think we need to persist with him at 2.
Khan Saab- will be a boost to have him back for sure!
Inzi- looked v determined and strong until run out today
Youhana- excellent innings with v little support
Razzaq- batted well today! Keep it up Rizzy
Afridi- ummm......your better off here mate
Rana- if it wasn't for him we'd be chasing 400. Decent batsman.
Sami-came back well in 2nd spell today
Nazir/Arshad- Arshad gives away runs but gets wickets. Need to contain!
Kaneria- we need a specialist spinner who is actually good.

There is my team for 3rd ODI.

BATTING ORDER

There should be no need for Afridi to open or Razzaq to come in at three a hundred left of ten with afridi razzaq and kamal to come would have been possible.

Our batsmen should have been able to do the job of getting a flyer on such a pitch as salman was showing yoyo should have gone in at three and someone outside the squad should have opened PLEASE DROP HAFEEZ HE CANT BAT OR BOWL , GOOD FIELDER THOUGH. That would have been the plan on such a pitch.

We need a partner for Butt as it is holding him back aswell not having a stablle partner to gain an understanding with and learn from im sure he'd have progressed even more if had Des Haynes or Anwar to learn from.

Any Thoughts

We should try Rao or Nazir instead of Sami

I really think Rao or Shahid will be a better option to attack the bowling. Someone with less pace and more swing or variety. That is the only way to get Sehwag out. I think Virender has totally figured out Sami and he really toys with his balling. Rao had some good things going for him in Australia and he managed to trouble some frontline batters there.

i felt they should av let akmal and butt open today and let afridi come one down if needed

changes for third ODI

so we lost the second ODI and now we are looking at a series defeat we really need to change the look of our team

Here is what I would select for third ODI

Butt-->is in awsome form but just gets the hunger to go for the big one and gets caught (did u guyz see his fours today)
Akmal-->playing well and needs to open and not afridi
Younis-->if not fit replace with kamal and if kamals not fir then malik
Inzi-->needs to get his frustration out of the way
razzaq-->can play up the order and we need to split up inzi and youhana
youhana-->job as finisher (saw some majestic sixes today)
Afridi-->has to get back to form
rana
sami-->needs to get his form back
nazeer-->he should definetely replace hafeez
Danish-->we need a wicket-taking spinner

basically akmal goes back to open and afridi down the order to give some punch to lower order...

in the pacers sami, rana and nazeer should play...nazeer shoudl replace hafeez who is just crap

arshad should definetely be replaced by danish...we need wicket takers

for the one down position we have younis, asim, malik

i heard that younis might not be fit and asim has an infection so it looks like malik will be playing

Sami should be dropped and replaced with Nazir and Hafeez replaced by a batsman.

In India it is batting which will ODI's not the bowling.

Quite frankly our bowling will concede 300 runs per game in this series so if we bolster the batting we have a chance.

Butt
Afridi
Inzi
YKhan/Kamal
Yoyo
Malik
Akmal
Razaq
Kaneria
Rana
Rao/ Shabbir/ Nazir (Sami should be rested not dropped)

We would be stupid to play 4 pacers on these flat tracks so we definitely need 2/3 spinners. I think Afridi showed today why he shouldn't open the innings. He should look at the way Sehwag and Dhoni played and learn some lessons. I think Malik also deserves to be dropped from the side. I agree with Razzaq at 3 because of his poor technique against spin so my lineup would probably be:

Butt
Hafeez
Razzaq
Inzi
Youhana
YK/Asim
Akmal
Afridi
Rana
Sami
Kaneria/Arshad

This lineup would mean that we have very good players of spin in the middle order whilst having the weaker players of spin at the top of the order. The way he played today, Razzaq could also be considered as an opener. I think we saw today why we need a 6th bowler so Hafeez will have to be retained unless YK or Butt make major improvements to their bowling.

Pigs are more likely to succed in achieving Flight, then Pakistan winning a game with the Multi-dimentional hafeez in the side

so whatever the team be, lets keep hafeez out of it.

as a matter of fact, even drop him from the squad for a good omen.

I wud make 2 changes to the side fo the 3rd game. Sami shud be dropped for roa iftikhar. Sami is to **** in odi, and i belive roa iftikhar will do a good job, he is less wayward then sami for sure. and i think arshad khan should go for danish kaneria.

we need to completely change our bowling-

rana and razaq stay

sami replaced by nazir
arshad replaced by danish
hafeez replaced by rao

afridi dropped (don't wan't to see him go for 10 an over)

line up should be

1. butt
2. razzaq
3. malik
4. inzi
5. yoyo
6. yk
7. akmal
8. rana
9. rao
10. danish
11. nazir

kashif77 said:

rana and razaq stay

sami replaced by nazir
hafeez replaced by rao

line up should be

1. butt
2. razzaq
3. malik
4. inzi
5. yoyo
6. yk
7. akmal
8. rana
9. rao
10. danish
11. nazir

You are just kicking out Afridi because he had one bad day, remember he was phenominal in Australia so he should not be penalized for having just one bad day and also remember his bowling in the test matches, the problem is that Inzi does not know what type of field to set for Afridi when Dravid is batting and Dravid is the main threat to Afridi apart from Dravid Afridi has been very effective against all Indian batsmen.

butt
razzaq
inzi
kamal
yoyo
malik
akmal
afridi
s nazir
rana
kaneria

Salman Butt
Shoaib Malik
Younis Khan
Inzamam
Yousuf Youhana
Abdul Razzaq
Shahid Afridi
Kamran Akmal
Mohammed Sami
Naved Ul Hasan
Shahid Nazir

Nauman said:
kashif77 said:

rana and razaq stay

sami replaced by nazir
hafeez replaced by rao

line up should be

1. butt
2. razzaq
3. malik
4. inzi
5. yoyo
6. yk
7. akmal
8. rana
9. rao
10. danish
11. nazir

You are just kicking out Afridi because he had one bad day, remember he was phenominal in Australia so he should not be penalized for having just one bad day and also remember his bowling in the test matches, the problem is that Inzi does not know what type of field to set for Afridi when Dravid is batting and Dravid is the main threat to Afridi apart from Dravid Afridi has been very effective against all Indian batsmen.

not one bad day- indian batsmen have him completly figured out - i dont see him being able to bowl effectively again this series, especially on these flat wickets against an in form sehwag, dravid and dhoni.

BW needs to make the right decision- its ok to drop even a star like afridi if he is not effective in the current circumstances- look at India dropping Pathan, or even Aus dropping Hayden in the finals of VB.

bring in Kamal in place of Malik u need a left hander on this tour

I think the team and batting line up should remain the same as the 2nd ODI. We scored 300 runs batting second and if it werent for some irrational shots(Afridi, Butt, Yoyo), we i think were on coarse on winning that game where india had scored a massive 357. Hopefully Afridi will play better than he did in the last ODI.
Come on Afridi

agreed with afridi10, but i thonk kaneria should come in for arshad. and maybe younis khan for malik but i am not keen on that but younis is in incredible form, and we mayhave to cash in on it.

my team for the 3rd odi

salman butt
shahid afridi
abdul razzaq
inzamam ul haq
yousuf youhana
younis khan (s.malik if ykhan not fit)
kamran akmal
rana naveed
arshad khan
shahid nazir
danish kaneria

Yawar, that is the perfect squad. Damn pakistan cricket and their big egos! It's just not a pakistan v india match without Shoaib. He brings life to the game. *Sigh*

Muddy, you've got 4 pacers and only 1 seamer! Surely we need kaneria in there.

So this is the likely team.

Salman Butt
Shahid Afridi
Shoaib Malik
Inzamam
Yousuf Youhana
Younis Khan
Abdul Razzaq
Kamran Akmal
Rao Iftikhar
Rana Naveed
Danish Kaneria

Looks good to me! :)

Hopefully we will see Shahid Nazir given a chance too.

interesting.

so he seems to be hinting at

Butt
Afridi
Malik/Razzaq (depending on situation)
Inzi
Youhana
Younis
Malik/Razzaq
Kamran
Rana
Rao
Kaneria

----------------------
FIVE bowlers? FIVE? Am I reading that correctly? Have the Woolmer bashers finally got their own way? Well.....let's see if it works. It is going to be very hot and humid. I suppose Younis Khan can chip in a couple.....so can Butt.

Sami dropped! Mona, time for party? :)

Pizza ordered: Shoaibeef PineAkhter Pizza with toppings Hamstring and No-Ball.

i know you guys hate sami beig in the side but please change te thread name as he is rested not dopped and i tyhink it is a briolliant decision by bob adnwe weill win the last3 games of the series due to sami's performances.
SAMI ZINDABAD

1.Salman Booty ( sorry Butt)
2.Kammy
3.MYK (if fit)
4.Inzy
5.yoyo
6.Malik
7.Razzar
8.Afridi
9.Nazir
10.Rana
11.DKNY

Roa was good in Aus conditions i think nazir shud be given a go here.
Well Shewag at this moment can hit anyone out of the park.Shud try nazir instead of Roa.

well why would Nazir be any better than Rao?

interesting thing is that after having such a big totals as a targets in the previous 2 ODIs, they are making such a brave decision to leave out the 6th bowler on Indian pitches against the likes of Sehwag, Dhoni & Sachin (if he clicks, will make the life hell).

lets see if this works or not.

Aneel

karachi king- many of the woolmer bashers have been criticising him for insisting on a 6th bowler.

If he plays five and India blast another huge total......I can see them all changing tact and saying 'woolmer idiot, should have played 6 bla bla bla'

Rao in an all important 3rd game with no experience of playing against India before

has this team been confird by noddy bhai. surely if inzy said it, the team should already know. i will not believe the selection untill noddy bhai confirms.

i dont think tht the team wud be finalised so early as we still have some 2 more days before the game starts

karachi king- many of the woolmer bashers have been criticising him for insisting on a 6th bowler.

If he plays five and India blast another huge total......I can see them all changing tact and saying 'woolmer idiot, should have played 6 bla bla bla'

Hash!!! no matter if it works or not, let me tell you that i am against it from the beginning. Indian pitches are going to be supportive for the batsmen & Indians have some inform batsmen who can blst our current bowling attack any day. we need some support for them & give them some space to breath. it will be horrible to see any of our bowlers being trashed all over the park & then we go for Butt or YK (who have not been bowling for quite some time).

'it will work or not', is the matter to be decided on saturday but i am raising my hand against this decision.

Aneel

I dont care wether we play 5 or 6 bowlers as i still feel confident we can win series!

but younis at six is not the right place in odis for him so instead we can pick an extra bowler.

Good to see sami rested he played all 3 tests and also the 2 one dayers it can get to much !

ODIs in India are always going to be a batsmen competition.... Yes it is stupid to play 6 bowlers if you are sacrificing a specialist batsman.

India piled huge totals against 6 bowlers....so if they do so against 5 bowlers it won't mean the strategy failed.... How we bat is the gauge if we needed that extra specialist batsman or not...

But playing Kaneria and dropping Hafeez and Sami...I dunno man... it seems to be too much tilt on the other side now.

I would have Rana, Razzaq, Sami, Afridi, Arshad/Hafeez as the 5 bowlers

Butt, Akmal, Malik, Inzi, Youhana, Younus can be our top order with the 5 bowlers giving us batting till #8 with Rana, Sami and Hafeez all capable of batting as well.

I don't think I would agree with playing Rao in such an important game but I would keep Razzaq at 3 for his better technique against the pacers. I'm not too sure about Afridi opening the innings but he should have learnt his lesson from the 2nd game and will hopefully succeed this time around.

Considering our unpredictable bowling, it is a big gamble to play five bowlers. I think maybe Malik should have been dropped instead of Hafeez beacuse at least Hafeez can bowl and can also stick around with the bat as he did in the 1st game.

We have seen India succeed with the use of 3 or 4 spinners on these tracks so maybe we are making a mistake by only playing 2 spinners.

Pakistan also need to win the toss to gain an advantage as India have been doing so far. For them, Sehwag and Dravid are key players and Dhoni has shown that he can be dangerous aswell.

Pathan might also return so Afridi will be licking his lips.

suhaibonline!!!! they actually quoted Inzi. i don't think they (or any other site) can quote someone like this. although if they wanted to make up stories then they can come up with a famous name "soucres."

Aneel

Aneel they have been conceeding high totals with 6 bowlers surely it wouldnt be any worse with 5 bowlers and its not like our sixth bowler has been help full at all, if 5 cant bowl properly what makes you think that the sixth one will do the job for Pakistan, it is very rare that the 6th bowler wins you matches.

[/QUOTE]This is a joke and the biggest mistake yet made by the Pakistan selecters, Sami is one of the best fast bowlers in the wirld. He can easily bowl in excess of 90mph, thats rapid, and he can swing the ball, and he has good fast bouncers. This is a joke resting him when we are already losing 2-0.[/QUOTE]

So what, bowling 90mph is no big deal if you cannot trouble the batsmen with it, he has been bowling crap with exception of a good spell or two. He is looking flat and is by no means one of the best fast bowlers in the world you are abusing the likes of McGrath, Gellespie and Lee by putting Sami in their category. Best bowlers take wickets they dont complain about luck.

Best thing to come out of this news (if true) is that the management appears to have come to terms with the fact that we can do without the " indispensable 6th bowler" Hafeez.

I think YK/Butt will be given a few overs in the next game, and the idea should be to try and develop their bowling rather than play a 6th bowler for the heck of it.

Nauman said:
Aneel they have been conceeding high totals with 6 bowlers surely it wouldnt be any worse with 5 bowlers and its not like our sixth bowler has been help full at all, if 5 cant bowl properly what makes you think that the sixth one will do the job for Pakistan, it is very rare that the 6th bowler wins you matches.

Nauman!!!! when one of your bowler is low in confidence because of the runs he has conceeded then asking him to bowl his full qouta of 10 overs is extreamely dangerous. more runs over him will completely destroy him. 6th bowler atleast provide some space to the bowler that if someone is not feeling well, or injured or have conceeded sooooo many runs then he don't need to bowl 10 overs, he can curtail them to as much as a captain & himself is comfortable with. i am not saying 6th bowler alone can win you matches but 6th bowler definitely lessen the pressure from the specialists. remember Sehwag goes after every almost bowler (& he is in very good form as well), imagine our 3 or 4 bowlers being smashed all over the park, would you keep bringing them back??? or you would like to change the tempo of the game & bring in some non-regulars??? part-timers also save the energy & overs of the strike bowlers to take on the batting side in the last few overs. they can also chip in with few useful wickets.

part-timers are always useful to break the tempo & can be used to give some time to our main bowlers to regain some breath & gather themselves & then come in with more efforts.

Aneel

Best thing to come out of this news (if true) is that the management appears to have come to terms with the fact that we can do without the " indispensable 6th bowler" Hafeez.

NO HAFEEZ!!!!!!

\A/ \A/ \A/ \A/ \A/ \A/ \A/ \A/ \A/ \A/

Someone posted here the results in recent games that Hafeez has played and we have only won like 1 out of the last 10 games he has played in. He clearly isn't a positive influence on the side. Keep him away from Pakistan cricket for good now please.

I dont care what everywere says, not playing sami is a BIG mistake. This could cost us the series!

going in with only 5 bowlers....is very very risky...especially in hot and humid conditions in India...plus the absolute battin paradises

Although im not a Hafeez fan...he is an effective ODI bowler. Until Malik's action is not cleared.....stick with Hafeez

what advantage has the sixth bowler given us so far? None.

I don't think it could get any worse. It gives us the opportunity to put in an extra batsman in the batting paradises of India. If worst comes to worst then we just need 3 or 4 overs from somewhere. Younis and BUtt can do that. They are an unknown entity for the Indian batsman which might just bring about a bad shot.

Guys I will merge this onto the main thread on the top of the page.... pls continue discussion there.

The people who say argue for 6 bowlers forget that we play the 6th bowler at the expense of a SPECIALIST BATSMAN!!

sure it is easy to say we need 6 bowlers... hell why not 7 bowlers while we are at it...

You have to look at what you are losing and what you are gaining with a selection.... then make the decision...

The only way to play a 6th bowler (now that Younus is fit) would be to drop Malik, Butt or keep Younus out.

Who on this forum can justify dropping any one of the above in such high scoring games and batting friendly conditions???

Tell you the truth - one inspired selection like Kaneria who can bowl his overs for less than 4/over will be enough for a team with 5 batsman .

The fielding has to be top notch and Inzi needs to keep his cool.

In the 2nd ODI , it almost appeared that he lost interest in the proceedings - instead he just told himself that he would win the game for Pak - hence his reaction on being run out !