Pakistan v Australia | 1st Test | 25/10/2014 | Dubai (DSC) l Day 4

Pakistan is digging a hole for themselves by consuming time without scoring. They need to push on now.

selfish innings frim selfi boy. playing for his 100 rather than team's win.

Shehzad needs to show some urgency here. Younis, Misbah and Shafiq can hold the innings together for the next 45-50 overs.
Another selfish innings from Shehzad. Kills the momentum only for his runs.

If Misbah was 20 years younger [MENTION=56866]Bullet Drive[/MENTION] would've been fawning over him :)) and we already have a younger version of him in the team :shehzad

Not really. Has too many flaws. E.G., Misbah isn't as hopeless against speicifc type of bowling as Shehzad is against spin. Also a massive difference in consistency standard, the most important factor for a batsman.

Wicket has not changed much, it will be hard work to take 10 wickets and Warner has to get out early

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Pakistan need to get a move on , need to give bowlers a fair chance to get 10 Aussies wickets

If Pakistan is gonna bat like this draw looks certain. Looks like they are going to bat after tea as well.

Calm down guys there's nothing selfish to it. They'll accelerate soon but if they don't, and don't have a good lead by the end of 60 overs, it'll be a bad effort.

Not really. Has too many flaws. E.G., Misbah isn't as hopeless against speicifc type of bowling as Shehzad is against spin. Also a massive difference in consistency standard, the most important factor for a batsman.

Shahzad has played spin really well so far, don't understand this unnecessary hate. :facepalm:

Australia have to bat before tea if Pakistan want to win . Australia if go in tuk tuk mode they dont get out easily so need lot of time to get them.out

young tuk tuk should get out immedately after lunch or yk get him run out. so that pak can score quick and go for a win.

Shahzad has played spin really well so far, don't understand this unnecessary hate. :facepalm:

Today been decent so far agree, but Lyon and O'Keefe aren't really the type of spinners against whom you'd feel proud to score. They don't have any mystery ball/variation as well which often beats him when he's coming down the pitch and using his feet.

This next session we can easily get 100 runs.

Told u PAK have batted well and Shehzad has played good.

Shehzad can easily throw it away and look for quick runs. We know he can play the big shots. His place is secure in the team. Why isn't he? He understands how to play this game and that's why he is playing test cricket.

mamoon continuing to be the most biased poster on PP. Doesn't have a consistent opinion and is a terrible judge of a cricketer. Fix up please. [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Misbah also struggle against spin lol

Australia have to bat before tea if Pakistan want to win . Australia if go in tuk tuk mode they dont get out easily so need lot of time to get them.out
With 400 to chase in last day, Australia will go for it. PAK needs to fire now. 9 Wickets are still there and they can easily make 250 more runs.

I think Pakistan batted way too slow.

Probably Pakistan could win with just 3 sessions last day but why risk a draw by batting out whole day today?

I think Misbah wants to bat for 1 hour after tea take the lead to 450 or something and then declare.

But that misses the whole scenario.

For once I thought we should have played a bit faster.

Not saying to slog, but just a RR of 3.5-4.0 would have been adequate.

oh man, we've already consumed 42+ overs today?

Ideally we should reach 380-400 lead till the 60th over, but it looks impossible now.

Looks like tge bacha party on pp r getting impatient again. This is test cricket. They need to bat till tea. Grind down the aussies in the heat.

did the hard work and shut out the Aussies in the first session, time to cash in against the softer ball after Lunch.

great going, Pakistan.

No I am loving this batting masterclass. Needs to be on a Blu-ray.

The team plan given to Shehzad and co was to get through first session without losing more then two wickets. Middle session go at 3.5-4 and then one hour after tea go at around 6+ an over.

We have done this expertly well so far according to Misbah.

You guys love Misbah dontchyaaaaaaaa?

I think Shehzad is client no 1 for Bullet Drive these days. Umar Akmal will not be impressed. :shaq

Shehzad needs to show more urgency, hopefully it was decided to get through first session unscathed and after lunch turn up the heat.

Either way need to declare by tea.

did the hard work and shut out the Aussies in the first session, time to cash in against the softer ball after Lunch.

great going, Pakistan.

Exactly.

Finally some positiveness. All [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] does is spread negative hate but what can you expect from a guy across the border.

The team plan given to Shehzad and co was to get through first session without losing more then two wickets. Middle session go at 3.5-4 and then one hour after tea go at around 6+ an over.

and Misbah texted you his brilliant Masterplan. :najam

Pakistan will never declare at tea.

Will bat for 1 hour extra after tea and leave Australia 400 plus in about 110 overs.

That's the strategy which I feel.

Personally would have batted faster and declared at tea and given 4 sessions to Australia just in case there is a good session for Australia in which wickets don't fall.

Ideally we should reach 380-400 lead till the 60th over, but it looks impossible now.

Sorry I was wrong. We've played 31 overs today right?

Then it should be possible to reach 400 lead till 60th over of day 4! And leave 30 overs for AUS to bat.

We didn't do AS BAD as some people are getting worried, could've done better, but we should go at a good pace after lunch.

You don't even know the team plan bro :afridi

'Pakistan's session, as it has been for quite a while now. The lead has swollen past 250 and is edging towards 300. A few more after that should be enough to put Australia's batting under immense pressure. '

And I think Cricinfo know more then you :)

Exactly.

Finally some positiveness. All [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] does is spread negative hate but what can you expect from a guy across the border.

Mamoon bhai is our resident contrarian, jo cheez sab ko sahi lagey inko ghalat lagti hai :inzi

It's a great change that a Misbah fan is complaining about slow rr. [MENTION=131789]GreenKnightRises[/MENTION]:kakmal

Pakistan are 35-40 runs shot in this session... There was no reason to play so slow, now they need to reach 400 mark by tea, which is very difficult, need to score 130 in next session more than 4+ RR

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Lets talk after the lunch session.

And I'm sure most of u haters will disappear if we win this test.

Will bat for 1 hour extra after tea and leave Australia 400 plus in about 110 overs.

Personally would have batted faster and declared at tea and given 4 sessions to Australia just in case there is a good session for Australia in which wickets don't fall.

Giving them 20-30 overs to bat today is not bad. Neither overly aggressive neither too defensive.

Keep in mind our mediocre and inexperienced bowling lineup too, if Warner goes crazy, you never know what happens.

Mamoon bhai is our resident contrarian, jo cheez sab ko sahi lagey inko ghalat lagti hai :inzi

Guy definitely needs some happiness in his life.

I think hopefully IF we win it'll make him happy.

It's a great change that a Misbah fan is complaining about slow rr. [MENTION=131789]GreenKnightRises[/MENTION]:kakmal

Check my corrected post :misbah

Sorry I was wrong. We've played 31 overs today right?

Then it should be possible to reach 400 lead till 60th over of day 4! And leave 30 overs for AUS to bat.

We didn't do AS BAD as some people are getting worried, could've done better, but we should go at a good pace after lunch.

According to this, we're not too slow and if we properly accelerate, should get to 400 lead and give them 30 overs to bat today.

We are still very much favorites to win this because we are in a great position, but were aren't making life any easier for ourselves.

Nobody is expecting Shehzad to bat like Warner, but at least he should be maintaining a strike rate of 50-55 throughout the innings. If you cannot do that in Test cricket or bat at 75-80 in ODIs (throughout the innings, not by hitting out at the end after batting at 65 for 80 deliveries) without taking unnecessary risks, you really don't bring much value to the team other than boosting your personal statistics.

Yaar how is this the right approach. Shehzad should be the one accelerating here, not Younis. :moyo

True. And it would be the dumbest thing to do on this flat road against a team like Australia. Pakistan cannot get 10 wickets in 3 sessions. but they are trying to make sure they either draw or win not lose. This

A bit slow IMO but then again, they can accelerate now. Should score rapidly and post a lead of 450 and get at least a dozen overs at the Aussies at the end of the day.