Pakistan v New Zealand | 1st Test - Day 5 | Dunedin | 28/11/09

what would yousuf be thinking now...session? runs? defend? attack?balance play?
some pressure

Good to see Waqar in the box and MashahAllah he looks better this time around as he's looking a bit trimmed from the last time I saw him!

jusarrived said:
ok yaar , it was not out ..if that makes you feel better

some of you really .......

Some of you Indian's ... really
Zaid23 said:
other than Yousuf,Younis and Umar Akmal...........there are guys like Azhar Ali, Saaed Bin Nasir, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Amin with much better technique than these idiots like malik,Manzoor,Alam and Farhat

I bet you some of these player's with so called technique probably have **** temperaments

Omar Malik said:
Good to see Waqar in the box and MashahAllah he looks better this time around as he's looking a bit trimmed from the last time I saw him!
tidd or daari?

NZ commentator's sly subtle underhand slap of Indian pitches and recently concluded India test mtch.
Praising the current match describing it as 'going to the final day' good wicket, balance of bat and ball, exciting etc.

waqar: after praising nz catching.
"their hands are like buckets, what have we got? imran farhat's small hands? akmal's small hands?"

lol @ Waqar .... Imran Farhat has little hands in slips ..... how about him having a small brain as well in the batting?

tidd or daari?

By the word "trimmed" I was pointing towards his tidd! As for his daari I would've mentioned that word in the actual context if I had been!

Zaid23 said:
4 technically deficient players in this test team....and u xpect them to score 250.....lol......Players like Manzoor,Malik,Farhat and Fawad Alam...so is technique still overated???

Obviously technique is not overrated, look at their performances!

As i said before, Fawad Alam is possibly the most overated cricketer on these forums, it wasnt long ago when nearly more than three quarters (inluding myself) of this forum was crooning the name of Alam, calling him things like "Pakistans saviour" and what not, how wrong we where, Miandad said before the champions trophy that Alam has "one of the worst techniques", again it just goes to show that batting average means nothing, especially when those runs have come on pakistan pancackes, what matters most is technique.

Fawad Alam has scored 28 and 6 in this match (a bowler friendly wicket), he scored a 100 on a flat pitch in Sri Lanka (it was flat at the time), he is a superb fielder, can bowl but rarely does. Has obvious flaws against short pitched bowling....
remind you of anyone, specifically a "batsman" at number 6, in fact the only difference is Fawad has a much higher average in domestic...i hope fawad proves me wrong, i really do for the sake of pak cricket.

They are praising the test match. They think draw is non existence. Well in that case hope we win

Farhan! said:
RR: 1.50.. mashAllah!

Thats the least of our worries.

Let me explain: When a partnership builds, when player's get set the run rate automatically goes up. Comprende?

ahmed16 said:
As i said before, Fawad Alam is possibly the most overated cricketer on these forums, it wasnt long ago when nearly more than three quarters (inluding myself) of this forum was crooning the name of Alam, calling him things like "Pakistans saviour" and what not, how wrong we where, Miandad said before the champions trophy that Alam has "one of the worst techniques", again it just goes to show that batting average means nothing, especially when those runs have come on pakistan pancackes, what matters most is technique.

Fawad Alam has scored 28 and 6 in this match (a bowler friendly wicket), he scored a 100 on a flat pitch in Sri Lanka (it was flat at the time), he is a superb fielder, can bowl but rarely does. Has obvious flaws against short pitched bowling....
remind you of anyone, specifically a "batsman" at number 6, in fact the only difference is Fawad has a much higher average in domestic...i hope fawad proves me wrong, i really do for the sake of pak cricket.

Excellent points - couldn't agree more. The scatching indictment on camera of Fawad's technique in both these innings should be a sobering wake-up call for those who believe him to be the saviour of Pak cricket. He's determined and gritty, but since his first international innings quite a while ago, has never looked technically comfortable or sound - basically, a left-handed version of Shoaib Malik...!

Invade the Dunedin with some blasts. We need Chokkaaas and Chakkkkas. BTW is Ijazz Butt there or does he pick only ODIs of places he wants to tour

12thMan said:
Invade the Dunedin with some blasts. We need Chokkaaas and Chakkkkas. BTW is Ijazz Butt there or does he pick only ODIs of places he wants to tour

Lol! Butt Saab, watching a Test match in 12 degrees C? In a place with no fancy shopping for Aunty Butt and no R&R for the old man? Dream on...! ;)

Juggernaut said:
Thats the least of our worries.

Let me explain: When a partnership builds, when player's get set the run rate automatically goes up. Comprende?

I hope this partnership builds and both batsmen get settled to see us through!

Techniqui or not, Fawad will shine in the long run. He needs a couple of full series to sort it out. Mind over matter.

ajk88 said:
boring innings is boring

I don't know what evoked this comment, but I think this inning is at a very exciting stage. All three results are possible. It was always going to come down to Yousuf who at the moment is looking very good.

ajk88 said:
boring innings is boring

So battling to save a Test match for their country is boring for you? Bizarre! Perhaps sir might like to check out some other sporting pursuits instead of cricket then, gulli danda being an obvious example... :)

farsiddiqui said:
Techniqui or not, Fawad will shine in the long run. He needs a couple of full series to sort it out. Mind over matter.

I feel he has to be given a chance, to play out this series and the next as well. I'm more worried about the three stooges for 2 opening slots. I see 0 potential in them. I've a feeling when the series is over, the last 2 would have scored more than the top 2.

We MUST have openers who ccan bat also take cacthes.
Imran Farhat is standing high and never will take low catches.
1.Khalid Latif
2.Ahmed Shazad / Imran Nazir
3Younis Khan / Misbah
4.Yousef M
5.Umar Akmal
6.Shahid Afridi
7.Kamran Akmal
8.Amir M
9.Umar Gul / Ifitkhar Rao / Sohail Tanveer
10. Asif M
11. Saeed A / Danish k

farsiddiqui said:

He needs to work on his footwork and coordination - not saying he needs to become Yousuf or Dravid in perfection, but he needs to find a sensible approach that works for him and get it sorted pronto. At the moment, his efforts are pretty lame and no better than Malik or Faisal Iqbal etc. Fawad doesn't have the hand-eye coordination of a Sehwag or a Tresco, or the natural genius of a Lara... Hence he needs to work on ways which maximise his chances and not be such a sitting duck.

12thMan said:
MoYo almost out of danger zone. He is on 25
Pakistan 47-3 - need 204 to win
na na,:moyo has now entered the danger zone...Yousuf and Left Arm Spinners,you remember something??

ShehryarK said:
He needs to work on his footwork and coordination - not saying he needs to become Yousuf or Dravid in perfection, but he needs to find a sensible approach that works for him and get it sorted pronto. At the moment, his efforts are pretty lame and no better than Malik or Faisal Iqbal etc. Fawad doesn't have the hand-eye coordination of a Sehwag or a Tresco, or the natural genius of a Lara... Hence he needs to work on ways which maximise his chances and not be such a sitting duck.

In his last couple of innings he's looked more like a klutz than a batsman

12thMan said:
MoYo almost out of danger zone. He is on 25
Pakistan 47-3 - need 204 to win

I can almost sense the century coming from the Maestro MoYo's bat. I've been a little critical of him since his return, but if he carries the day, none would be more pleased than me.

Eid Mubarak everyone btw :afridi

This is going to go riiiiiiiiiiight down to the wire, all hangs on Moyo.

just play out next session and see the situation then , we shouldn't be thinking about winning.

Well done to :moyo and :umarakmal for surviving after a disasterous start but job is not done yet..another 198 required and these two have to score the majority of them