PCB Patron’s XI v England XI (Day 1 thread)

Well the Patrons XI can replace Pak team against England for test .

Andrew Miller describers Najaf as a 'promising' left arm quick:

"The PCB's enforcers were Najaf Shah, a promising 20-year-old left-arm seamer from Lahore, who took the first two wickets of innings, and Yasir Arafat, Scotland's overseas player, who ripped through the middle order with three in 12 balls.
The first man to fall was Andrew Strauss, who offered no stroke in Najaf's second over of the day and was comprehensively bowled for 5 (10 for 1). Trescothick and Michael Vaughan had carried the score along to 41 for 1 by the drinks break, but Vaughan - who demonstrated a peculiar weakness against low bounce during the Ashes series - was a constant lbw candidate as he propped uncertainly forward. Sure enough, Najaf swung one back into his pads to earn a well-deserved second scalp."

Well atleast Najaf Shah can swing the ball back into the left hander unlike Bob's favourite blue eyed boy Mohommad Khalil.

yeah lets not get too carried away...i doubt the test matches will be like this although a moral boosting victory for the young guns will be a good start for the main test side...

the Great Khan said:
yeah lets not get too carried away...i doubt the test matches will be like this although a moral boosting victory for the young guns will be a good start for the main test side...

Agree with you there, for all we know this might be one of those evil English plans to make Pakistani team complacent :p

lol..maybe...you never know..they could have planned all of this lol..but arent najaf and yasir ali better than sami anyway??

Imran Tahir is a leggie I think and according to Monsee Yasir Ali is the fastest bowler in Pakistan.

This just looks like a repeat of the South Africa A match.. although at least we were bailed out by out tail in that game.

the Great Khan said:
lol..maybe...you never know..they could have planned all of this lol..but arent najaf and yasir ali better than sami anyway??

Thats for sure, Sami does not come close to both of them. Sami needs to work out on his bowling action. He does not look straight to the wicket before he drops the bowl in the air. He just concentrate on speed and speed like our Actor bhai but in Actor bhai's case, he has more speed and sometime he gets really lethal with his speed other than that both of them lacks in variation and line and length.

yasir ali and yasir arafat have both impressed...i wouldn't be surprised if arafat makes the odi squad, he's been in great form for a while now...i also think between irshad and yasir ali, yasir is the better bowler...and why is khalil rated ahead of najaf shah?

ominous that tresco is doing well..im sure he will be giving ngland some good starts as strauss seems to have become a notorious slow series starter...the bulletin says the pitch is slow and the ball is keeping low..i wanna se how the england bowlers bowl..

Marooned said:
No one knows!

Arafat might be more suited to the ODI format.

i think arafat could easily play in the odi team but because of razzaq's strangehold on his allrounder position arafat has been hard done...the najaf situation is mind boggling to say the least

Billy said:
This just looks like a repeat of the South Africa A match.. although at least we were bailed out by out tail in that game.

Its 14 players a side game so I wouldnt be surprised if England go on to score 200.

Najaf is tall, probably 6'2 or more and looked a good future prospect when playing for the under-19. Got good bounce, haven't seen him since but he has been a top performer over the past year.

I think Farhad saw him a few months ago and was impressed as well.

I think I have seen Najaf Shah bowl on TV before. If I remember correctly he is very similar to Bruce Reid.

On another note....good to see Mr.3-0 get bowled for a duck.

pathan- perhaps he is injured/off the field, who can say without actually watching the game

Marooned said:
It's 11 bat 11 field I think but they still have two proper bats out there.

Hmm I read in the newspaper that it is 14 players a side maybe I am wrong.

Well Prior seems to have come out to bat at number 9 so I think it is 14 a side.

Ok I think I got it now, out of 14 players any 11 can bat and any 11 can take the field.

i'm dissapointed in irshad especially his last few performances but maybe my expectations were too high with all the hype

173/8 right now, I think its tea because score hasnt been updated for a while.

I did say they still have two specialist bats still out there!

Though for some odd reason Bazid (who doesn't usually bowl) and Irshad (the worst of the lot today) are bowling. Wonder why Yasir Ali or Arafat are not being used.

good recovery by England. as usual Tresco will be the MAIN threat for Pakistan.

Why has Bazid bowled 6 overs for plenty and Yasir no more than 4??
I dont understand this bit....I dont think Yasir is injured...Misbahs due a call from me tonight!

The ball seemed to be doing a bit early on if the clips they showed on Sky Sports were anything to go by.

na it was judgement my friend!

this england team has a fight back mentality - and pak teams in general like to ease the foot off the pedal once on top

255/9

ME Trescothick 124 from 203 balls
AGR Loudon 2 from 18 balls (Zzzz)

Loudon is now on 3 off 30 balls.

He's obviously been at the valium.

If anyone is interested they are showing highlights on sky sports news. Najaf looked quite nippy

Quote by Noddy:

Why has Bazid bowled 6 overs for plenty and Yasir no more than 4??
I dont understand this bit....I dont think Yasir is injured...Misbahs due a call from me tonight!

I was just typing the following when I saw your post...you better talk with Misbah...if I am right, this is the 2nd or 3rd match under Misbah, where Yasir Ali got 6 odd overs or less, while others got to bowl 15+ overs each

This is like the 3rd or 4th game, on A level or part of the Pak team practice series, that Yasir Ali has been under-bowled...what has the poor guy done :12:

With figures of 4.0 overs 2 Maidens 2 Runs 1 wicket, I would be pretty mad if I was taken off when a guy like Bazid, who I have never seen bowling at this level, got to bowl 6 overs and all others got 12, 17, 17, and 18 overs respectively!

Noddy you better tell Misbah there are many who are pis$sed off at him for this obvious retardedness and bias

Marooned said:
Very strange indeed I would think he's off the field or something. It doesn't make sense otherwise.

I agree it would sense if he was off the field BUT this is the 2nd or 3rd game where this has happened

Each time Yasir Ali got to only bowl 4-6 overs, bowled really well each time, got 1 or 2 wickets in each game...and then was taken off

He can't be injured or off the field each time :13:

To top it off, if he was persisted with, England could have been bowled out for 180 or under...now we have 255 and a very confident Tresco...doesbn't bode well for Pak senior team cause Tresco is the main threat for me

I will wait for Noddy to get the whole story on Yasir...BTW, he is faster and a better bowler than all the other 3 bowlers, yet he was not given the new ball. What gives, when he has actually played a Test and none of the others have :12:

Misbah that bloomin dipstick. What is he doing, giving England the chance to regroup by bringing in Bazid into the attack and not killing it off? When a team is down, you should just finish them off and not fart around. Talk about lacking professionalism. It would have been good to give them a hammering and get an edge, now that they have recovered, it swings back into there favour.

We should commend him for his hospitality
Wait - this is a cricket match. Even if it is a practice game, he can stick his hospitable gestures somewhere else

Now watch Patron's XI loose while everyone will blame the batsmen, I would put it purely to Misbah's goonish captaincy

I mean a 6 year old monkey could have figured it out that Bazid is not gonna get a wicket when he was going a over 6 an over and he hardly bowls regularly

If a team cant even cross 260 or 270 why blame the captain for pathetic batting performance, true Misbah was awefull as a captain but that doesnt mean batsmen now have the license to get out for 120.

Nauman said:
If a team cant even cross 260 or 270 why blame the captain for pathetic batting performance, true Misbah was awefull as a captain but that doesnt mean batsmen now have the license to get out for 120.

My question is when you have a team down in the dumps at 150 odd and 1 or 2 wickets left only...who you throw the ball to???

Especially when Yasir Ali had bowled only 4 overs for 1 wicket, two of them maidens...I am sure even Ganguly could do much better here :D

I think Yasir would have had a roza also for sure...

I have already sent an sms to Yasir hit the sticks Arafat. Sky Sports News have been in touch and want to do an interview with him today which I am sorting out.

Noddy said:
I think Yasir would have had a roza also for sure...

I have already sent an sms to Yasir hit the sticks Arafat. Sky Sports News have been in touch and want to do an interview with him today which I am sorting out.

If Yasir Ali had a roza, then he should not have played or should have been asked to at least bowl 10-12 overs

You better get some scoop on this stupid Misbah...this is the 3rd time, from my memory, that I have seen (read) other bowlers bowling 12 + overs and Yasir having to contend with 6 overs max. Still each time he had a wicket or two to his name!

Eversince his 10 wicket haul against Aussie A, in a test, he has been pretty much ignored...what gives :20:

It's not like I want him in the team at all cost...he should be given a fair and equal chance as compared to others and then let the best boy/man win

Noddy said:
it was 10 against SA Academy not Aussie A

You know what I meant...now go find Misbah and give him some of this

Noddy :133: Misbah

It does seem that in the Test matches it will be KP at #4 with either Collingwood or Loudon at #5.

Funny pic there. Personally i dont think the patrons will get out that quickly. Remember they are playing without Harmison, Flintoff and Jones (who isnt touring) in this game. The batting is competent and they should seek to bat out the whole day if they can. Basically anything that can hamper Englands practice as much as possible!

Few thoughts:

Riffatullah Mehmond looks like a pretty decent batsman, from little of what I saw in highlights

Moron Commentators were as bad as I have ever seen one...any time you thought, 'They couldn't get any worse...they actually prooved me wrong' by saying a stupid comment or two

Who changed Mansoor Amjad's action...his old action looked fine and he got more spin and I believe some drift too. His new action is quite ordinary and he barely uses his left arm in it

Shoaib must have paid them idiots (AKA commentators) cause they kept praising his 'Supposed Improoved batting'...proof of which we have barely seen in an Int'l game. He always played like this...hit or miss

Shabbir's new action looks quite clean although he doesn't use both his arms very well...he needs some matches under his belt and hopefully he will be fine

Hasan Raza, apart from Inzi and YoMo, looked the best batsman on display...he played good scoring shots yet most of them were proper cricketing shots...no hara kari stuff

Mansoor Amjad is another case of being ruined.

Aaqib Javed is responsible.

:20: Shoaib must have paid them? No doubt commentators were praising Shoaib Akhtar to no limits but you can't blame Shoaib ^^ Whoever takes those commentators' words seriously probably wasn't hearing them correctly... the entire match they were rambling on with obvious comments such as "20/20 cricket one-day cricket ki tarah bilkul nahi hai" & when Butt slammed the ball to the fence for four one of them said "Suleiman ne behtareen shot khela hai off-side pe...", etc etc :D

But on an off-note those 2 sixes were pretty sweet :D ROP had a blast taking on the spinners