[Report] ICC approves the hybrid model for the Champions Trophy 2025 following an agreement between the PCB and BCCI [Post Updated #4739]

Check the statement of ECB chief .

That is the opinion of ECB chief.

No country has said outright they "refuse to play CT in Pakistan without India".

Unfortunately, I completely agree that India will muscle its way into this CT by making it hybrid.

It's just that when you guys say "You don't care about CT or playing Pakistan" its a huge load of nonsense because if you clearly did not care, you wouldn't be muscling everyone to accept your power.

That is the opinion of ECB chief.

No country has said outright they "refuse to play CT in Pakistan without India".

Unfortunately, I completely agree that India will muscle its way into this CT by making it hybrid.

It's just that when you guys say "You don't care about CT or playing Pakistan" its a huge load of nonsense because if you clearly did not care, you wouldn't be muscling everyone to accept your power.
There will be voting for champions trophy hosting in next 48 hour by ICC.

You'll get which boards will support Pakistan or not.

15 memeber boards are participate in that voting .

India is just following the ICC rules book but Pakistan fans won't understand that.

No difference.

Either you are in it, or you aren't.

If you aren't, then that's that.

Stop begging the ICC to make it hybrid so you can play.

We don't care as long as ICC replaces your stars with another team.
What kind of logic is this? Everyone has the right to think about their own interests. You're saying we're begging from the ICC, and then you guyz turn around and call the ICC the "Indian Cricket Council." Come on, stick to one argument! Look, here's the reality: cricket is a business today, and every business runs on money. The ICC's business thrives because of us, and that's a fact. Pakistanis might not accept it, but other cricket boards do.

The BCCI wants India to play in the Champions Trophy and will do everything it can to push for the hybrid model. If the government had approved, Team India would have gone to Pakistan. But now, due to security concerns, they aren't sending the team, so some solution has to be worked out, right? After all, at the end of the day, it's a business.

INDIANS

"We ain't coming. Sorry ". :root

PAKISTANIS

"
Why won't you come.. everyone is coming." :dw

"We won't give you hybrid model" :dw

"We will boycott ICC " :dw

"Stop bringing politics into sports." :dw

"We won't come to India in 2026" :dw

"We won't play against you in future events" :dw
That would be the right approach against any aggressor state and it would be commendable if Pakistan can practice it considering how much money they would lose.
Your claim that Afghanistan lacks infrastructure to host international-standard tournaments is factually incorrect. Afghanistan has developed several international-standard stadiums, including:

1. Ghazi Amanullah Stadium (Jalalabad) – Designed to host international matches.

2. Kandahar International Cricket Stadium – Built to global standards.

3. Etisalat Cricket Stadium (Kabul) – A fully functional facility.

4. Herat and Kunduz Grounds – Emerging venues for competitive cricket.

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has officially stated that it's their security concerns, not infrastructure (as you mentioned), are the reason they host matches in neutral venues like the UAE or India. This is well-documented and easily verifiable—it's even mentioned on Wikipedia.

So, before making blanket statements, please ensure they’re backed by facts. Afghanistan's cricketing journey has been challenging, but to claim they lack infrastructure is to overlook their tremendous efforts and progress. To be clear, security concerns—not a lack of infrastructure—remain the primary hurdle for international cricket in Afghanistan.
There are plenty of international stadium in the world but those towns aren’t capable of holding international standard tournaments.

It is commendable that Afghanistan has made sporting stadium.

That would be the right approach against any aggressor state and it would be commendable if Pakistan can practice it considering how much money they would lose.

There are plenty of international stadium in the world but those towns aren’t capable of holding international standard tournaments.

It is commendable that Afghanistan has made sporting stadium.
Has the ACB ever stated that they can’t host matches because of their stadiums? Did the ICC whisper in your ear that infrastructure is the reason? Will you guarantee that if Afghanistan builds a stadium to your so-called ‘standards,’ international teams will suddenly start playing there? Building a cricket stadium isn’t rocket science, so why are you acting like Afghanistan hasn’t been able to do this in the past 10 years?

If the USA can set up temporary stadiums to host a T20 World Cup, do you really think Afghanistan, with ICC and international support, wouldn’t be able to organize even a bilateral series at home? But that’s not the point—the official reason, as stated by the ACB, is security concerns, not infrastructure.

I don’t know why, but when it comes to logic, some of you tend to turn a blind eye. Ignorance doesn’t make your argument valid.

ICC BCCI and PCB Drama!!

BCCI to ICC: "Tell PCB to host Champions Trophy on hybrid model."

ICC to PCB: "Kindly accept the proposal of BCCI regarding Champions Trophy on hybrid model."

PCB to ICC: "Thousand times no to hybrid model! Champions Trophy will only be played in Pakistan."

ICC to BCCi: You have no option left other than excuses. Visit Pakistan or withdraw. Because they deserve to host the CT25. Kindly visit Pakistan for CT25.

BCCI: blank

What kind of logic is this? Everyone has the right to think about their own interests. You're saying we're begging from the ICC, and then you guyz turn around and call the ICC the "Indian Cricket Council." Come on, stick to one argument! Look, here's the reality: cricket is a business today, and every business runs on money. The ICC's business thrives because of us, and that's a fact. Pakistanis might not accept it, but other cricket boards do.

The BCCI wants India to play in the Champions Trophy and will do everything it can to push for the hybrid model. If the government had approved, Team India would have gone to Pakistan. But now, due to security concerns, they aren't sending the team, so some solution has to be worked out, right? After all, at the end of the day, it's a business.

I think you need to make your own mind up. Is India refusing to come because the govt said so or because of security concerns? If it was security concerns then the BCCI would have pulled out even without govt intervention, but you are saying here that "Team India would have gone to Pakistan".

It's you who needs to stick to one argument.

ICC BCCI and PCB Drama!!

BCCI to ICC: "Tell PCB to host Champions Trophy on hybrid model."

ICC to PCB: "Kindly accept the proposal of BCCI regarding Champions Trophy on hybrid model."

PCB to ICC: "Thousand times no to hybrid model! Champions Trophy will only be played in Pakistan."

ICC to BCCi: You have no option left other than excuses. Visit Pakistan or withdraw. Because they deserve to host the CT25. Kindly visit Pakistan for CT25.

BCCI: blank
then everyone clapped and that woke them up from their dreams

ICC trying to convince PCB to organise tournament in hybrid model

The International Cricket Council's (ICC) executive board members are trying to convince Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to accept hybrid model for next year’s Champions Trophy on the promise of increased financial incentives, according to sources.

The schedule of the tournament is yet to be announced after India informed the global governing body of its inability to travel to Pakistan for the marquee event.

The ICC is scheduled to convene a meeting of its executive board on Tuesday to find a solution for the vexed issue. “With the PCB not willing to budge on hosting the event under a hybrid model, they are now being offered additional financial incentives to end the deadlock,” an insider said.

“Chances are (that) by tomorrow (Tuesday), a clear picture will emerge after a virtual discussion by board representatives on under which format the Champions Trophy would eventually be held early next year,” he added.

The insider said the PCB is being asked to accept additional financial incentives for allowing India to play its matches in UAE, with the final to be played in Dubai, in case if India qualifies.

www.deccanherald.com/sports/cricket/champions-trophy-icc-trying-to-convince-pcb-to-organise-tournament-in-hybrid-model-3291489

The International Cricket Council's (ICC) executive board members are trying to convince Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to accept hybrid model for next year’s Champions Trophy on the promise of increased financial incentives, according to sources.

The schedule of the tournament is yet to be announced after India informed the global governing body of its inability to travel to Pakistan for the marquee event.

The ICC is scheduled to convene a meeting of its executive board on Tuesday to find a solution for the vexed issue. “With the PCB not willing to budge on hosting the event under a hybrid model, they are now being offered additional financial incentives to end the deadlock,” an insider said.

“Chances are (that) by tomorrow (Tuesday), a clear picture will emerge after a virtual discussion by board representatives on under which format the Champions Trophy would eventually be held early next year,” he added.

The insider said the PCB is being asked to accept additional financial incentives for allowing India to play its matches in UAE, with the final to be played in Dubai, in case if India qualifies.

www.deccanherald.com/sports/cricket/champions-trophy-icc-trying-to-convince-pcb-to-organise-tournament-in-hybrid-model-3291489
Umm wait, i thought as per our indian friends pakistan was going to get the boot in the knockout vote tomorrow and now indian media is reporting that so called members are begging Pakistan to accept and now offering additional financial incentives? Strangeeee. :ba

PCB should only accept hybrid model if ALL future ICC events in India are also going to adapt the hybrid model for ALL Pakistan games where they will play on neutral venues including the knockouts and finals If they qualify.

I think you need to make your own mind up. Is India refusing to come because the govt said so or because of security concerns? If it was security concerns then the BCCI would have pulled out even without govt intervention, but you are saying here that "Team India would have gone to Pakistan".

It's you who needs to stick to one argument.
Let me break it down for you. The official reason why India isn’t traveling to Pakistan for the Champions Trophy is still unclear. However, there are two prevailing narratives—one from the Pakistani side and another from the Indian side.

According to Pakistani media, India is refusing to play in Pakistan due to political reasons. On the other hand, Indian media reports that the decision stems from security concerns, and the Indian government has not granted the team permission to travel. If permission had been granted, the team would have gone. And just to clarify, this isn’t my personal take—Rajiv Shukla himself has stated this on record.

PCB should only accept hybrid model if ALL future ICC events in India are also going to adapt the hybrid model for ALL Pakistan games where they will play on neutral venues including the knockouts and finals If they qualify.

I agree.

This should be the stipulation if Pakistan are to accept a hybrid model.

Pakistan shouldn't go to India if India don't go to Pakistan.

Let me break it down for you. The official reason why India isn’t traveling to Pakistan for the Champions Trophy is still unclear. However, there are two prevailing narratives—one from the Pakistani side and another from the Indian side.

According to Pakistani media, India is refusing to play in Pakistan due to political reasons. On the other hand, Indian media reports that the decision stems from security concerns, and the Indian government has not granted the team permission to travel. If permission had been granted, the team would have gone. And just to clarify, this isn’t my personal take—Rajiv Shukla himself has stated this on record.
Ha ha really?

PCB should make the following demands to the ICC in exchange for accepting the Hybrid Model

- Semi Final and Final should be in Pakistan if India doesn't qualify

- An significant increase in the CT compensation hosting fee for the PCB

- An increase in the ICC revenue share for the PCB

- PCB being granted the Hybrid Model option for future ICC events held in India

- An increase in the ODI, T20 and Test tours to Pakistan in the FTP from the likes of England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa

- Requesting ICC boards to not bar their players from playing in the PSL during the IPL Window

Umm wait, i thought as per our indian friends pakistan was going to get the boot in the knockout vote tomorrow and now indian media is reporting that so called members are begging Pakistan to accept and now offering additional financial incentives? Strangeeee. :ba
From " We are never going to accept hybrid model no matter what to icc begging for a hybrid model" so PCB is accepting the hybrid model .

Hahahaha nice face saving.

Has the ACB ever stated that they can’t host matches because of their stadiums? Did the ICC whisper in your ear that infrastructure is the reason? Will you guarantee that if Afghanistan builds a stadium to your so-called ‘standards,’ international teams will suddenly start playing there? Building a cricket stadium isn’t rocket science, so why are you acting like Afghanistan hasn’t been able to do this in the past 10 years?

If the USA can set up temporary stadiums to host a T20 World Cup, do you really think Afghanistan, with ICC and international support, wouldn’t be able to organize even a bilateral series at home? But that’s not the point—the official reason, as stated by the ACB, is security concerns, not infrastructure.

I don’t know why, but when it comes to logic, some of you tend to turn a blind eye. Ignorance doesn’t make your argument valid.
USA has an infrastructure to hold international cricket tournaments, Afghanistan doesn’t.

To you, infrastructure is limited to the stadium.

Is it just me or there has been a sudden influx of newly registered users in this thread?

I thought Indians didn't care? Word must be travelling fast!

PCB should make the following demands to the ICC in exchange for accepting the Hybrid Model

- Semi Final and Final should be in Pakistan if India doesn't qualify

- An significant increase in the CT compensation hosting fee for the PCB

- An increase in the ICC revenue share for the PCB

- PCB being granted the Hybrid Model option for future ICC events held in India

- An increase in the ODI, T20 and Test tours to Pakistan in the FTP from the likes of England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa

- Requesting ICC boards to not bar their players from playing in the PSL during the IPL Window
Bro Pakistan need to win against Zimbabwe first before making such absurd demands.

ICC is Jay Shah...he will probably laugh at it loud.

From " We are never going to accept hybrid model no matter what to icc begging for a hybrid model" so PCB is accepting the hybrid model .

You typed this in a hurry and no one said they support PCB accepting the hybrid model. I never did. :misbah3

Still begging pakistan for a hybrid model 🤣

Bro Pakistan need to win against Zimbabwe first before making such absurd demands.

ICC is Jay Shah...he will probably laugh at it loud.

He won't be laughing if CT25 gets postponed and/or future ICC events in India also get affected with current Pakistan stance of not playing any matches against India.

The final decision was suppose to come today.

What is the news?

Hybrid, postponed, played in 3rd country or Bhartiya players going to Pakistan?

@Devadwal @emranabbas

Just noticed an article on Cricinfo that says it'll have to go to a full Board Meeting on the 29th. All full members and representatives from the Associates will have to vote on the options.

I wonder when the actual options will be leaked.

This is highly unprofessional from governing body ICC and host board PCB. The tournament is suppose to start in Feb and we don't even know where the matches will be played. I am sure other wiser boards like BCCI, ECB and CA is rolling their eyes in disgust looking at the incompetency of host board.

That's why all the board metting called on 29 November .

PCB chief is busy with local problem so they are forget about champions trophy at this moment.

This is why today boards meeting was cancelled.

Looking at the current pakistan( watch naqvi latest statement ) situation its better to host entire champion trophy outside pakistan.

What does he said wrong? He is telling the truth .
No he is a liar and an opportunist

How the hell he knows what they are thinking. And even if they are thinking it doesn’t become official until they themselves announce it.

Rashid is causing damage just to get a few likes.

At least 5 people were killed yesterday in the establishment vs PTI saga.

If this escalates even a little bit , it's more than enough to scare other teams into not coming.

Whole CT should be pulled out of Pakistan in everyone's interests

So is it a proxy war by bcci for hybrid
Model or complete shift ?
Bangladesh had lost the hosting rights of Women’s T20 WC even though it was 2 months after the revolution. Same should happen with Champions Trophy. ICC can breath easy now as they gets best possible reason to Shift the champion trophy thanks to Pakistan and it's awam

The final decision was suppose to come today.

What is the news?

Hybrid, postponed, played in 3rd country or Bhartiya players going to Pakistan?

@Devadwal @emranabbas

There was no meeting held on Tuesday, as the PCB clarified a few days ago.

This is just the Indian media making fudu out of their jantaa, creating the impression that India is in control of the situation when they are not.

Unfortunately, individuals like Devadwal fall for this narrative.

Now, to cover up their earlier claims, the Indian media is reporting that a meeting is scheduled for Friday, but there is no meeting planned for that day either.

@Rajdeep @cricketjoshila
Pakistan and its state is giving every possible option to ICC/ BCCI to shift Champion trophy out of Pakistan.
If this is the situation then even hybrid model is not possible. I don't think teams like Eng & Aus want to visit Pakistan amidst this political chaos. I have a strong feeling Champions trophy will be postponed and will be played in England in June like previous 2 editions (2013 & 2017).

There was no meeting held on Tuesday, as the PCB clarified a few days ago.

This is just the Indian media making fudu out of their jantaa, creating the impression that India is in control of the situation when they are not.

Unfortunately, individuals like Devadwal fall for this narrative.

Now, to cover up their earlier claims, the Indian media is reporting that a meeting is scheduled for Friday, but there is no meeting planned for that day either.
Okay keep us informed how it goes bro.

After @Devadwal , you seem to be most knowledgeable in this subject.

Bangladesh had lost the hosting rights of Women’s T20 WC even though it was 2 months after the revolution. Same should happen with Champions Trophy. ICC can breath easy now as they gets best possible reason to Shift the champion trophy thanks to Pakistan and it's awam
Reason is fine but the hands are different. If the pcb head can't attend a meeting today since he is busy with internal matters is altogether a show stopper or marker.

It was highly unprofessional of the BCCI to inform the ICC just three months before the tournament that they wouldn’t be traveling to Pakistan, seemingly just to disrupt the 100-day countdown celebration. This level of pettiness from India is evident, yet you have the audacity to criticize the PCB. The BCCI had several years to notify the ICC if the Indian team wasn’t planning to travel to Pakistan.

This will end in a vote and either:

A- hybrid with pakistans co operation

B- the entire tournament will be shifted elsewhere resulting in Pakistan dropping out

I’ll go with option A.

And btw, this isn’t some victory for India

Ye Travis head ki duniya m hi rehta h .:ROFLMAO:

This is not Travis head thread but about champions trophy .

Yes and Travis head will win it no matter where the venue is. He ain't afraid of travelling to pakistan, India, Bamgaldesh or any place in the world to mark his dominance.

Genuinely once Travis head retired bcci and CA and Pcb shpuld all 3 give his position to manage their affairs.

Reason being is cause he can multi task and his aggressive fast paced nature will bring aggression to all 3 boards.

Jay Shah is nothing infront of Travis head.

B- the entire tournament will be shifted elsewhere resulting in Pakistan dropping out

I’ll go with option A.

Pakistan shouldn't give in. Otherwise, they would look weak.

If it becomes a hybrid model, Pakistan should refuse to play India.

At least 5 people were killed yesterday in the establishment vs PTI saga.

If this escalates even a little bit , it's more than enough to scare other teams into not coming.

Whole CT should be pulled out of Pakistan in everyone's interests

Why did PTI decided to organize protest and riots just before the tournament? This is where I question intellect of some people. They could have easily waited till February na?

In 2011, Anna Hazare & Arvind Kejriwal started their dharna (protest) in Delhi one day after world cup finals to ensure tournament finish smoothly first. That is called good planning even though I have political differences with them.

Cricinfo is effectively an Indian platform. It is CricIndia in practice.

It is a shame that cricket is yet to have a major neutral cricket site.
Even i in pak passion is for India with so many threads and users dedicated for Indian content. :cobra

Pakistan shouldn't give in. Otherwise, they would look weak.

If it becomes a hybrid model, Pakistan should refuse to play India.
PCB already agreed for hybrid model in Asia cup and came to India after giving initial threats of not coming.

If they repeat the same it will not make them look any weaker than they already are.

Have you read Rashid Latifs tweet above?

I’ll go with option A.

When they (PCB) already know that they will eventually accept the Hybrid model. Than why did they created so much drama ?

Suddenly I am getting a strong feeling that the tournament will be shifted to England and will be played in June.

Calendar wise it is perfect as most teams are free and last 2 editions of Champions Trophy there were super hit without any sub continental drama.

It is too late to organize tournament now in Feb

When they (PCB) already know that they will eventually accept the Hybrid model. Than why did they created so much drama ?

Most dramas are created by BCCI and Indians. They seem to think world is an extension to Bollywood.

These dramas wouldn't have happened if India were okay to come to Pakistan just like 6 other teams (England, Australia, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, New Zealand, and South Africa).

Suddenly I am getting a strong feeling that the tournament will be shifted to England and will be played in June.

Calendar wise it is perfect as most teams are free and last 2 editions of Champions Trophy there were super hit without any sub continental drama.

It is too late to organize tournament now in Feb
No , WTC final is already scheduled in June.

Sri Lanka A team is already thinking to postponed the series .

Pakistan Army issues shoot at sight orders as Imran Khan’s party protest in Islamabad. Four Security personnel already killed .

ICC Women T20 World T20 was already shifted from Bangladesh to UAE due to same reason
How big this issue is?

Some disturbance can be expected in a large country like Pakistan with all issues, but as long as it's safe for players, cricket can be played.

How big this issue is?

Some disturbance can be expected in a large country like Pakistan with all issues, but as long as it's safe for players, cricket can be played.
Read the news about current Pakistan situation and you'll get your answer.

@Buffet you can see here .
I went thorugh dawn for news. It seems domestic protest has esclated. I don't think it should have an impact on tournament happening after 6 months. Now if it keeps getting worse or if there are some terrorist killings then its a differnet situation.

Reports are calling it terorrist, but I think that's misleading. It's just domestic political protest getting out of hands.

I am not sure of the magnitude here. If it is really as bad as it looks even Pak fan should be reluctant to have this event there as any minor incident will have Pakistan permanently blacklisted. Yes there is an argument you can make "By the time CT starts these things will stop". But that is going to be a hard sell. If one more cricketing board express reservation (typically ECB or CA) then this will be shifted out. If it comes down to that i say cancel the CT and permanently get rid of it.

The new begging technique from the Indians

"There's protests in Pakistan we are not traveling to Pakistan rest of the teams shouldn't too" please hummein hybrid model bheek mein de do'

Some Protestors have even snatched away Guns from the Snipers, these are the scenes, its not a political thread so cant post more but many such incidents are being posted online, Pakistan has to present itself as a stable country where a tournament can be hold , not this picture.
Agree, this looks bad. Crowd taking guns from snipers.... seems things are esclated too much. I don't think snipers should be deployed to stop political protests. Does not serve any pupose other than to make sitaution more volatile.

Relax bro this is normal in Pakistan, these happen every 6 months when the PTI guys come in josh. It will be all over and done in few days
May very well be. But the timing of these events will definitely be a problem for PCB. If one of the big three joins BCCI it show will end. They can't just explain away. It is all about optics.

Some pictures from Dawn newspaper site,

View attachment 148042

View attachment 148043

View attachment 148044

View attachment 148045

Army called in Islamabad: state media​

Meanwhile, as tensions between PTI protesters and the government heightened, the Pakistan Army was called into Islamabad on Tuesday to “deal with miscreants”, state-run Radio Pakistan reported.

“Under Article 245, the Pakistan Army has been called in, and orders have been issued to deal with the miscreants with an iron hand,” Radio Pakistan stated.

Clear orders have also been issued to shoot miscreants and troublemakers on sight,” it added.

Citing security sources, the report said all necessary measures were being taken to “counter terrorist activities by disruptive and extremist elements”.

------------------------------

It looks domestic political protest and things getting worse due to armed forces clashing with protestors. It's not a terrorist activity. Also, tournament is not happening next month. Plenty of time to situation to calm down.
Bangladesh had lost the hosting rights of Women’s T20 WC even though it was 2 months after the revolution. Same should happen with Champions Trophy .

I went thorugh dawn for news. It seems domestic protest has esclated. I don't think it should have an impact on tournament happening after 6 months. Now if it keeps getting worse or if there are some terrorist killings then its a differnet situation.

Reports are calling it terorrist, but I think that's misleading. It's just domestic political protest getting out of hands.
Tournaments is happening just After 2 amd half months not 6 months.

I already said ICC Only thinking about current situation not what is going to happen after 2 month's.

Bangladesh had lost the hosting rights of Women’s T20 WC even though it was 2 months after the revolution. Same should happen with Champions Trophy .
2 months was too short a time and it was prime minister escaping the country and whole thing was upside down in Bangladesh.I am not sure it's apple to appple comparison. 6 months are left and it's not as bad as BD situation right now.