Sri Lanka v Pakistan| 2nd Test - Day 2 | Colombo | 13/07/09

Sri Lanka lead by 130 runs with 2 wickets remaining in the 1st innings

A bridge too far, I am afraid.

Well were you thinking that we might be at this position at lunch?

True - but our batting form does not inspire confidence.

We're still barely in it. We need our openers to bat out the whole day after we bowl Sri Lanka out..

mashallah great stuff from gulli and ajmal hope we get rid of these 2 batsmen asap and under 10runs.........

insaftak said:
need one more wicket before lunch

2 more to be safe and they should all go to Gul - he needs that confidence.

i hope i a wrong bu he 13 lead may be match winning lead

True - but our batting form does not inspire confidence.

Well and I dont wanna sound too optimistic but our batsmen are also capablle of making 300+

Inshallah.

indeed if sri lanka is given a target of 250 odd on day 5 then it might not be easy... particularly saeed ajmal will look to make it his first 5 for performance at international level

ice5968 said:
wasn't the last ball by saeed a wide?

Test match yaar. You're allowed some space leg side, unlike limited overs cricket where a ball 1mm from clipping leg stump is called wide.

i was wondoring why didn't people ran into the ground when pakistan won the final. it would have been great to see people rushing onto the ground when afridi made the last run.

Basically these two need to be knocked over asap.

Definitely before 250 is up.

But again, it all depends on Pakistan batting, doesn't inspire much confidence at the moment, but they need to give the bowlers something decent to defend.

Lets hope Pakistan can bat with some decency in 2nd inns and try and get back into this game.

That is surely what is needed.

Pakistan are going to have to probably score 350-400 atleast in 2nd inns to stay in this match!

150 runs lead is huge on this wicket especially with Pkaistan batting , but lets hope two batsman make centuries :)

Now we need some help from the local weather - a day lost here and there would help out immensely !

Malik should learn from Methews how to play with tail-enders.

Shame on Malik.

Alam_dar said:
Malik should learn from Methews how to play with tail-enders.

Shame on Malik.

Yaar - lay off Malik - he is the only one who contributed 39 to our 90 runs !

pitch is easier for batting in last two sessions. Therefore we should play with a run rate of around 3.9 and wipe out this lead today.

i want pakistan to bat now, they just ate lunch and they don't need freakin goddamm rest!!!!

Not impossible to save. Great bowling by Pakistan.

Need a 100 opening partnership.

ice5968 said:
i want pakistan to bat now, they just ate lunch and they don't need freakin goddamm rest!!!!

:))) laws are laws kid.

Take a chill pill.

Malik should be sent in to open with the tail-ender Manzoor. Fawad is more suited to the middle order where his technique won't get exposed as much as it did in the first innings (i.e. if we don't end up collapsing again)

Very good bowling performance from the bowlers. The pitch is doing nothing, absolutely nothing out of the ordinary for the bowlers. So its a huge achievement bowling out Sri Lanka for under 250 in this innings, if only we had gotten 150 somehow we would have been in a better position. Still a LOT of time to go in this test, I hope our batsmen think about that