Sri Lanka v Pakistan| 2nd Test - Day 3 | Colombo | 14/07/09

This is the highest individual score from Pakistani opener for God knows how many years..

Mendis being treated like a school boy!

The lankans are very quite in the field now.

150 on debut from Alam ... and that too under pressure ... what a knock by the lad!

Highest score by any Pakistani batsman here in srilanka against sri lanka

just over 2 overs to go to the new ball is due...

next challenge is to survive to lunch.

It's possible though, that they may use the new ball in the next session of play though!

Fortunate boundary there for Alam, but the field is spread and no slips in place.

YK with a stupid shot and gives away his wicket to a parttimer, pathetic shot

Very poor by YK. 12 minutes to lunch and he plays a shot like that! Shocking!

If I recollect correctly there is at least one Pakistani who scored double century on debut.

It will be a big achievement if Fawad does it today. Very well played already.

What was Younus Khan thinking of playing reverse sweep? That shot was not needed. Really disappointed with his stupid shot that did seem like risk for trying.

Trying to reverse sweep a full ball on the leg side ... Younis why oh why???

Please don't collapse.

kasoo10 said:
If I recollect correctly there is at least one Pakistani who scored double century on debut.

inshallah !!!

Anyways, yaar 82 Runs when you aren't in form, under pressure and a captain is good enough.. Now its upto the rest of the batsmen.

Alam should be cautious.. Now there is no YK running. Its Mohammad Yousuf who is in a league of own regarding Run outs.

kasoo10 said:

Nope highest score on debut is Hameed with 170 against Bangla ... so Alam is well on course to set a new record here. Hopefully we can get Yousuf to bat around him now!

Thanks for correction.

Yousuf batting around debutant, that will be interesting.

163 more required to give Pakistan a good chance of winning/saving the Test

Ok, let us see who is the first to create a thread on Younus's shot. I can assure you we will see it in no time.

What a ball by Mendis!!! Easily the best ball of this match! Yousaf a bit fortunate to still be there!

Paranavita only gets the one over even though he picked up Younis ... Mendis back on.

kasoo10 said:

No, never happened.

156 more needed, 8 wickets in hand. Pakistan must apply themselves and bat out the day. Anything less than that is a mini-disaster

and it's lunch. Pakistan leads by 144 runs with 8 wickets in hand. Pakistan have a slight advantage here but that Sri Lanka will be really happy to see Younis back in the pavillion just at the right time.

How much better would it have been had Younis been walking off with Alam for lunch. Ah well if someone told me after the first day that we would be 144 runs ahead with 8 wickets in hand I would have laughed at them. Great comeback!

Ace Base said:
156 more needed, 8 wickets in hand. Pakistan must apply themselves and bat out the day. Anything less than that is a mini-disaster

yes and they were showing a scorecard of a previous match between pakstan and australia and pakistan went pretty close to wnning it so pakistan must get a good lead in order to get a firm hold of the match :moyo

I just thought about this. Even if Pakistan set Sri Lanka 300 to win there are too many overs left in the Test, hence Pakistan must look to occupy the crease for as long as possible. Run-making is not the priority now. They will come with time. Stay at the crease.

Pakistan must bat until lunch tomorrow.

The match will be un-winnable by the Sri Lankans by then

fantastic session for Pakistan! barring the Misbah-esque dismissal of Captaan sahab, was absolutely perfect cricket