[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Arshad Nadeem - Pakistan's Javelin Throw star wins the first Gold Medal for Pakistan after 40 years in Paris Olympics 2024

KARACHI: The country's premier javelin thrower and Olympian Arshad Nadeem was scheduled to fly out of Lahore for the United States late Thursday night to flex his muscles in the World Athletics Championships to be held in Eugene, Oregon, from July 15-24.

This is the second time that the Asian Games bronze medalist will be taking part in the global event.

For the first time in his career he had appeared in the World Championships in Doha in 2019. Although he did not qualify for the finals but at least pulled off his personal best of 81.52m which was also a new national record.

Having finished fifth in the Tokyo Olympics with an 84.62 metre effort last year, Arshad did not feature in any event since then. And the global event in Eugene will be a real test of his temperament. It will be interesting to see whether he will be able to pull off his best throw or not.

As many as 32 javelin throwers from 20 nations are set to compete in the javelin throw event. The event's gold hopeful and reigning world champion Anderson Peters of Grenada, 2017 World Championship silver medalist Jakub Vadlejch of Czech Republic, Tokyo Olympics champion Neeraj Chopra of India, Oliver Helander of Finland, Julian Weber of Germany, 2012 Olympic champion Keshorn Walcott of Trinidad and Tobago, and Andreas Hofmann of Germany are in top form.

The competition will be missing the 2017 world champion and 2019 bronze medalist Johannes Vetter. The 29-year-old German, second on the all-time list with 97.76m, is out with a shoulder injury.

Carrying an elbow injury which Arshad developed in April last year in an event in Iran where he also recorded his personal best throw of 86.38m, it will be interesting to see how he delivers in the US.

A senior official of the Athletics Federation of Pakistan (AFP) is hopeful that Arshad will deliver in the US. “I am very much confident he will put in his best,” AFP secretary Mohammad Zafar told 'The News' from Lahore on Thursday.

Zafar is also accompanying Arshad during his US journey.

They will also be joined by the AFP president Major General (retd) Akram Sahi who is scheduled to leave for the US on July 18. Asked whether his injury will be of any concern for Arshad during the event, Zafar said he is feeling well.

“Arshad is in top shape and is training here at Lahore. He resumed training on July 12 after spending Eid with his family,” Zafar said.

Zafar revealed that London-based orthopedic specialist Dr Ali Sher Bajwa has been treating Arshad's injury. “We had involved him when Arshad was in South Africa and he is treating him well. Dr Bajwa will also come to the US to see Arshad,” he said.

Arshad will compete in the qualification phase in Eugene on July 21 and on July 23 he will fight in the finals if he is able to qualify.

Zafar said that Arshad would then directly go to Birmingham from the US to feature in the Commonwealth Games pencilled in for July 28 to August 8.

Arshad early this year underwent a two-month training in South Africa under South African coach Terseus Liebenberg. It is expected that Terseus will also handle Arshad during the World Championship.

“Terseus is coming to the US with his South African team and we will meet him there,” Zafar said.

Zafar did not exactly know whether Arshad would go directly from Birmingham to Konya, Turkey, which will host the Islamic Games slated to be held from August 9-18.

“We do not yet know the actual schedule. Yes we know that Arshad will go directly from the US to Birmingham on July 24,” Zafar said.

Arshad Nadeem of Pakistan has qualified for the final of the men's javelin throw event at the World Athletics Championships in Oregon, USA.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Assalam Alaikum with your prayers I have qualified for finals now on 24th pakistani time at 6.35Am my finals please pray Thanks <a href="https://t.co/aHcQNLwglG">pic.twitter.com/aHcQNLwglG</a></p>— Arshad Nadeem Olympian (@OlympianArshad) <a href="https://twitter.com/OlympianArshad/status/1550390660842151938?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2022</a></blockquote>

The man is amazing. Well done for reaching the final.

81.71M

Season's best and qualified as the 4th best in his group.

The final is in about 7 hours.

Olympic champion India’s Neeraj Chopra will go up against Pakistan’s Arshad Nadeem, defending champion Anderson Peters of Grenada and others for gold in the men’s javelin throw final on Sunday.

Chopra qualified for his maiden World Championships final with a stunning first attempt throw of 88.39m as India witnessed a historic day at the event with two of its javelin throwers making it to the medal round in Eugene, Oregon, USA.

The 24-year-old Indian superstar, the hot favourite for a medal, opened the Group A qualification round by sending his spear to 88.39m for his third career-best throw.

Chopra finished second best overall behind defending champion Anderson Peters of Grenada, who topped Group B with his opening round effort of 89.91m.

Nadeem also made it to the finals after finishing fourth in Group B, and ninth overall, with a best throw of 81.71m.

Those who cleared 83.50m or the 12 best performers across two qualification round groups qualified for the final to be held on Sunday (5.35 am UAE Time).

“It was a good start. I’ll give my 100 percent in the final. We’ll see. Every day is different. I’ll just give my best. We don’t know who can throw far on any given day,” Chopra said after his event.

“There is a little bit of zigzag in my run-up. I shook a little bit, but it was a good throw. There are so many throwers in good shape now. Five-six throwers have thrown PBs this year. They are all in excellent shape,” he added. Chopra’s qualification round lasted a few minutes as he did not need to take the remaining two throws after breaching the automatic qualification mark on his first attempt. A competitor gets three throws in the qualification round.

Another Indian in the fray, Rohit Yadav also made it to the finals after finishing sixth in Group B qualification round, and 11th overall, with his first round throw of 80.42m.

His second throw was a foul and he managed a modest 77.32m in his last attempt. The 21-year-old Indian had recorded a season’s and personal best of 82.54m while winning a silver at the National Inter-State Championships last month.

Chopra, who has a personal best of 89.94m, had competed in the 2017 London World Championships with the hope of at least making it to the finals but managed only 82.26m to fall short of the automatic qualification mark of 83m.

He had missed the 2019 World Championships in Doha as he was recovering from an elbow surgery.

In other events, Eldhose Paul became the first Indian to qualify for the triple jump final at the World Championships with an effort of 16.68m. He finished sixth in Group A qualification round and 12th overall to make the cut for Sunday’s final (5.20 am UAE Time).

The 25-year-old Paul, who reached here just a few days ago due to visa issues, has a season’s and personal best of 16.99m which he had recorded while winning gold in the Federation Cup in April. Chopra has beaten Peters twice this season while the 24-year-old Grenadian prevailed over the Indian once — at the Diamond League Meeting in Stockholm on June 30 — in their three meetings before the World Championships.

World leader Peters has thrown 90m-plus thrice with the best being a monster throw of 93.07m while winning gold at the year’s first Diamond League Meeting in Doha in May. After winning the gold in Stockholm, he had said he was not fully fit due to a back problem.

Germany’s Julian Weber was the fourth athlete to breach the automatic qualification mark, also with his opening throw of 87.28m. He was third overall. Four competitors across the two groups breached the automatic qualification mark.

If Chopra wins in the final on Sunday, he will become only the third male javelin thrower to follow Olympic success with World Championship gold after Norway’s Andreas Thorkildsen (2008-09) and world record holder Jan Zelezny of Czech Republic in 2000-01 and 1992-93.

Chopra had become the first Indian track and field athlete to bag an Olympic gold last year and is also the reigning Commonwealth Games and Asian Games champion. — PTI

https://www.msn.com/en-ae/sports/ot...sedgntp&cvid=465fe168db5d4d438fb5970e6873e2b2

Arshad Nadeem first throw was resulted in a red flag, and second throw was 75.13 he is currently sitting in 10th place.

after 3 rounds, Arshad Nadeem is 8th, and its the top 8 that advance to throw 3 more times. Peters of Grenada is currently first at 90.46m

tough like arshad, he will remain 5th best. Still what an effort, i love this guy

I follow him whenever he is playing some major finals. WHat a great representation for the country. Respect

Arshad Nadeem 6th and final throw was foul, but he seemed to match his record in Tokyo, regardless really proud of Arshad Nadeem he has come a long way. InshAllah, he will bring a medal for Pakistan Soon. Really Amazing what he has achieved considering no support and no proper facilities for javelin in Pakistan. Interesting they kept mentioning he play cricket too as a bowler, he looks like he could have been a solid fast bowler in test cricket :) really happy we went on to pursue Javelin.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanZindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanZindabad</a> <br><br>I got 5th place in the 2022 World Athletics Championship by season-best 86.16 Throw. insha'Allah Next time.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ArshadNadeem?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ArshadNadeem</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/5fEulzQhBL">pic.twitter.com/5fEulzQhBL</a></p>— Arshad Nadeem Olympian (@ArshadNadeem26) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArshadNadeem26/status/1551040505902948356?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2022</a></blockquote>

qNlt921.png

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 45.781%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/clarhz" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Well done Arshad Nadeem.

Best bit about him and Neeraj is that both India and Pakistan don't have javelin culture but these guys are still making their countries proud at the highest level and in the process inspiring so many others to follow them.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanZindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanZindabad</a><br>This is my 86.16 Throw. I do my Best but Unfortunately I miss my Last attempt.<a href="https://twitter.com/RealHa55an?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RealHa55an</a> , <a href="https://twitter.com/AasifAli45?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AasifAli45</a><a href="https://twitter.com/AbidAli_Real?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AbidAli_Real</a> , <a href="https://twitter.com/Sports_BoardPB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Sports_BoardPB</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ArshadNadeem?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ArshadNadeem</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/UWwHYml5NP">pic.twitter.com/UWwHYml5NP</a></p>— Arshad Nadeem (@ArshadNadeem26) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArshadNadeem26/status/1551047012602241024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 24, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

With his third throw in the javelin final at the World Athletics Championships on Saturday, Arshad Nadeem made sure his challenge would stay alive till the very end.

The only athlete from Pakistan to have qualified for a final in the history of the championships, Arshad had made the final eight halfway through the event at Hayward Field but his effort of 82.05m meant he was last among them.

By then the 25-year-old knew he had to improve on his personal best if he was to create more history for Pakistan by winning the country’s maiden medal at track and field’s biennial extravaganza.

At that point, the bar had been set by 24-years-old defending champion Anderson Peters of Granada (90.46m). Peters, who would go on to retain his title, was followed by Czech Jakub Vadlejch (88.09m) and Germany’s Julian Weber (86.86m). Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra of India (86.37m) was fourth.

The target set, Arshad took aim. He conjured up a season-best 86.16m — 22 centimetres less than his all-time best — with his fourth throw. It moved him fifth and that’s where he finished in the end, after failing to improve further with his last two throws.

“It’s a performance that makes me hopeful for the future,” Arshad, who made history by becoming the first athlete from Pakistan to qualify for a track and field final at the Olympics in Tokyo last year, told reporters.

Arshad has been nursing an elbow injury since the Olympics, where he also finished fifth, and he competed on Saturday with his throwing arm taped.

“This was my first event since the Olympics so naturally I was a bit worried,” he informed. “The officials of the Athletics Federation of Pakistan, the doctors worked a lot to ensure I could compete here against the best in the world.”

With the Commonwealth Games set to begin later this month, Arshad was hopeful of a podium finish in Birmingham.

“I’m satisfied with my performance and will try my best to win a medal at the Commonwealths,” Arshad, who won bronze at the last Asian Games, added.

Arshad also received a word of praise for his performance from Chopra, who eventually took silver behind Peters.

Chopra and Arshad have competed against each other several times, including at the Asian Games in 2018 where the former took gold and his rival from Pakistan finished third.

“I spoke to Arshad after the competition ended,” Chopra told a virtual news conference. “I told him that he did very well. He informed me he had issues with his elbow.

“I further congratulated him for a great throw and it was a great comeback from injury. It was commendable that he threw the javelin over 86 metres.”

Chopra threw a best of 88.13m with his fourth throw to finish ahead of bronze medallist Vadlejch, who won silver in Tokyo, and fourth-placed Weber. His effort was beyond the 87.58m he produced in Tokyo, where he became the first Indian to win an individual athletics gold.

His silver medal in Eugene was India’s first at a World Championships and just the country’s second overall after Anju Bobby George took bronze in the women’s long jump in Paris in 2003.

But there was no catching Peters, who led the competition throughout and saved his best for last with a throw of 90.54m.

Peters was the only athlete to breach the 90m-mark, doing so three times in windy conditions at Hayward Field.

“Most of the throwers prefer the wind from behind but today we had a head wind,” Peters said. “So it was a bit challenging today but I pulled it off. To defend the title is not an easy task. I had to push myself.

“The last attempt, I already knew I was a champion but I was working on my technique in every throw and I finally got it through.”

Finland’s Lassi Etelatalo was sixth (82.70m). Moldova’s Andrian Mardare and Finland’s Oliver Helander also threw beyond 82 metres in seventh and eighth respectively.

Published in Dawn, July 25th, 2022

Being awarded honourary membership by the Cambridge University Sports Centre had added to Arshad Nadeem’s motivation to win a medal at the Commonwealth Games.

Pakistan’s big medal hope, the 25-year-old javelin thrower is currently training at the facility where he’s also nursing his elbow injury under the supervision of Pakistan-origin Dr. Ali Sher Bajwa ahead of his event on Aug 5 at the Birmingham Games.“It has boosted my morale further and added to my motivation before the competition,” Arshad told Dawn in a message regarding the membership.

Arshad, who last year became the first athlete from Pakistan to qualify for a track and field final at the Olympics in Tokyo, heads into the Commonwealth Games after a fifth-place finish in the javelin event of the World Athletics Championship in the United States last week.

However, he is without his coach Salman Butt in Birmingham after the Pakistan Olympic Association couldn’t get his accreditation made in time after a delay on the part of the Pakistan Sports Board in sending the required documents.

Salman, however, has been holding training sessions virtually and said Arshad’s chances of winning a medal had been significantly increased with India’s Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra withdrawing from the Games due to injury.

“It’s difficult as you can only view a limited plan of his movements virtually but somehow we are managing,” Salman told Dawn on Friday.

“On current form, only world champion Anderson Peters of Grenada [ who won in Oregon with a throw over 90 metres ]stands between Arshad and a gold medal.

“Peters is the only one among the top four of the World Championships who will be competing in Birmingham and Arshad’s confidence is high that he can return with a medal.”

Salman informed Arshad was getting a medical check-up for his elbow pain and that his medical tests, scans and x-rays of his throwing elbow, had been done on Thursday. Despite the injury, Arshad managed a throw of 86.16m at the World Championships.

DAWN

Birmingham) Pakistan’s Arshad Nadeem arrived in Birmingham from London to participate in the javelin throw competition of the Commonwealth Games. Arshad Nadeem after reached was taken to the welcome centre of the Games, where he was tested for Covid-19, which came negative.

After the registration process, Arshad Nadeem Along with Dr Asad Abbas and Arshad Sattar reached Shackleton Village Birmingham where they were received by the Deputy CDM Major (R) Majid Wasim of the national contingent. Arshad Nadeem said that after one year of injury made a comeback in the World Athletics Championship held in America, and finished at the 5th spot after recording 86.16 meters throw. He further said that he is satisfied with his performance in the World Championship and has made full preparations for the Commonwealth Games.

In this regard, the chief medical officer of the national team, Dr Asda Abbas and Arshad Sattar are fully supporting me. It should be noted that the qualifying rounds of javelin throw will be held on August 5th in the Commonwealth Games, while the final round will be held on August 7th. Arshad requested the people of Pakistan for prayers.

MFnqhxz.png

Its coming home!

==

Pakistan’s star Javelin Thrower Arshad Nadeem has directly qualified for the final of the ongoing Commonwealth Games.

Earlier, Nadeem was set to feature in the qualifying round on August 5 before the final on August 7.

However, the event organisers decided against holding the qualifying round due to low number of athletes.

In a recent interview:

"I am well prepared for the event and really looking forward to showing my strength to win a medal for my country"

"My performance in World Athletics Championship was great learning for me. Unfortunately, I couldn't win a medal there but only participating there gave me a lot of confidence and self-belief"

"After World Athletics Championship, my injury deteriorated. I am feeling more pain now which is a bit concerning. But, I have doctors with me who are taking good care of me. So, it's too relaxing for me and I am focusing just on my preparations"

"Injury is a very small thing when it comes to country's pride. I will give my hundred percent out there. My injury complicates but I will try my best to win medal for Pakistan"

Arshad has often called India's superstar Javelin Thrower Neeraj his 'inspiration'. Neeraj, who won silver in World Athletics Championship, was ruled out of CWG 2022 sustaining an injury.

"Neeraj Bhai is a superstar and I learn a lot from him - His absence will surely be missed in CWG. I will pray for his speedy recovery and look forward to meeting him again at some other competition soon"

"Whoever I am today, it is just because of my fans and media - Media gave me immense coverage and made me world famous. I would like to thank them and request them to keep on supporting me"

"Pray for me. I am ready for the event and Inshallah, I will win a medal for Pakistan. Pakistan Zindabad!" concluded Arshad, who is one of the hopes for Pakistan to win a medal in CWG.

Training ahead of the CWG Javelin finals

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 54.717%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/cmh8e6" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Arshad Nadeem celebrates his Gold Medal and Games Record in the Javelin by proudly displaying the Pakistan flag <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CommonwealthGames2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CommonwealthGames2022</a> <a href="https://t.co/DhNGOpVzX5">pic.twitter.com/DhNGOpVzX5</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1556375227243941889?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Arshad Nadeem's throw of 90.18 metres is a Commonwealth Games record <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CommonwealthGames2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CommonwealthGames2022</a> <a href="https://t.co/7dP9SR4xrp">pic.twitter.com/7dP9SR4xrp</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1556374399095300096?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The Pride of Pakistan - Commonwealth Games Champion Arshad Nadeem <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CommonwealthGames2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CommonwealthGames2022</a> <a href="https://t.co/2p2gPMz1vH">pic.twitter.com/2p2gPMz1vH</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1556372134519250944?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2022</a></blockquote>

very impressive, think thats the best hes ever thrown in competition.

if hes supported could be a medal contender in next olympics.

He would have won the Olympics gold with that throw.
First south Asian to cross the 90 metres mark.

I hope he gets the support and he even throws further.

He was with injury in this competition as well as in world athletics championship.

This guy has to be supported by our govt and business. Why doesn't someone like Malik Riaz give him a house in Bahria Town. It would in a small way make up for the billions he has stolen

What a legend this guy is.

Love his attitude.

Not even 100% fit, coaching issues and he goes and breaks the Commonwealth Games record.

Fantastic stuff!

What a legend this guy is.

Love his attitude.

Not even 100% fit, coaching issues and he goes and breaks the Commonwealth Games record.

Fantastic stuff!

He would have won at athletics world championship if not for injury.

I hope they treat him well and provide the much needed support.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">WELL DONE & PROUD OF YOU ARSHAD NASEEM. <br>Rs 1m TOKEN OF APPRECIATION FROM ZF <a href="https://twitter.com/FoundationZalmi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@FoundationZalmi</a>.</p>— Javed Afridi (@JAfridi10) <a href="https://twitter.com/JAfridi10/status/1556388184736538626?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

So that's 3.5L INR or 4400 $
I hope GoP declares a bigger reward

Glad someone woke up :)

First Gold Shehbaz Sahib?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">What an amazing news to wake up to early this morning! Arshad Nadeem has done Pakistan proud by winning the first gold medal in Commonwealth Games. His consistency, passion & hard work hold lessons for our youth. Congratulations Arshad on your brilliant achievement.</p>— Shehbaz Sharif (@CMShehbaz) <a href="https://twitter.com/CMShehbaz/status/1556485119036227587?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 8, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">What a superb performance from Arshad Nadeem!<br><br>He earns Pakistan their first track and field Gold after 60 years &#55358;&#56647;&#55358;&#56647;, setting precedence with a new Games record. <br><br>Congratulations <a href="https://twitter.com/NOCPakistan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@NOCPakistan</a> &#55357;&#56399;&#55356;&#57342;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CommonwealthGames2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CommonwealthGames2022</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/B2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#B2022</a> <a href="https://t.co/6H5YlKxeLg">pic.twitter.com/6H5YlKxeLg</a></p>— Commonwealth Sport (@thecgf) <a href="https://twitter.com/thecgf/status/1556386167788118023?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2022</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations to javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem for overcoming injury & winning the Gold for Pakistan plus setting a new Games record with a throw of 90.18m. <a href="https://t.co/QSRyp5tQmd">pic.twitter.com/QSRyp5tQmd</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1556532598226165760?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 8, 2022</a></blockquote>

BIRMINGHAM: The gold delivered in record-smashing style, a 56-year medal drought in track and field for Pakistan at the Commonwealth Games ended, Arshad Nadeem sank to his knees and prostrated.

This meant a lot. This was incredible. Against all the odds, without his coach and with his throwing elbow heavily taped due to injury, Arshad won the javelin throw final at the Alexander Stadium with a monster 90.18-metre throw on Sunday evening.

Achieving that distance in his fifth throw, he came on top in a field that included world champion Anderson Peters, former Olympic champion Keshorn Walcott and former Commonwealth and world champion Julius Yego.

That brought Pakistan’s first athletics medal at the Games since 1966 and a first javelin gold for the country, bettering Mohammad Nawaz’s silver at the inaugural edition of the quadrennial multi-sport spectacle in 1954 and Jalal Khan’s second-placed finish in 1958.

It was Pakistan’s second gold in Birmingham and the first was also won with a Games record when Nooh Dasagir Butt triumphed in the +105kg weightlifting competition.

Like Nooh, Arshad was also one of Pakistan’s leading hopes for a medal going into the Games and he delivered a statement of his intent with just his first throw.

On an evening when he improved on his personal best thrice, Arshad’s first effort was 86.61 metres.

He was setting the distance to beat for the rest of the field and it was a question of whether it would be enough for gold.

A foul on his second attempt didn’t matter as Arshad imp*ro*ved his personal best again with a throw of exactly 88 metres.

Each effort, however, ended with Arshad grimacing in pain, the 25-year-old immediately reaching out to feel his right elbow, which he’s been nursing after last year’s Tokyo Olympics where he finished fifth. He finished at the same place at last month’s world championships. But in the lead halfway through the final, he could still afford a smile.

Arshad’s fourth throw landed just beyond the 85-metre mark but with two rounds remaining, he was still in the lead.

It was in the penultimate round, when Arshad finally trailed — Peters launching the javelin to 88.64 metres. Peters celebrated as if it was enough for gold but his joy was short-lived. This was Arshad’s gold to win and he immediately threw over the sport’s ‘holy grail’ mark of 90m. Doing so he became only the second Asian to cross that mark after Taiwan’s Chao-Tsun Cheng (91.36m). He also broke the Games record of 88.75m by South African Marius Corbett that stood since 1998.

Peters, who threw over 90 metres to win at the worlds in Oregon, tried with his final throw to overhaul Arshad but it wasn’t to be. He ended with silver with Kenya’s Yego picking up bronze with a best throw of 85.70m.

DAWN

Director General Pakistan Sports Board (PSB) Colonel (retd) Mohammad Asif Zaman announced a cash prize of Rs5 million for javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem following his historic gold in the ongoing Commonwealth Games.

The star athlete shone the other day in the men’s javelin throw final with his record throw of 90.18 metres, registering the best throw in Commonwealth games history, to win a gold medal for his country.

Zaman, in a recorded video message, congratulated Arshad for his remarkable feat at the event and announced the cash award for the gold medalist on behalf Prime minister of Pakistan, Federal Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination (IPC) Ehsan ur Rehman Mazari and PSB.

Earlier, DG PSB also announced a cash award of Rs5 million for weightlifter Nooh Dastgir Butt, who won the first gold for Pakistan in the Commonwealth Games 2022, and Rs1 million for bronze-medalist judoka Shah Hussain

A-Sports

Instead of giving these cash prizes why cant these boards utilize the money on providing these atheletes with foreign trips or equipment with upgrade.

Why do all the cash flow after achievement you invest before hand and you get a dozen Arshad nadeem

This is less about the medal and more about Nadeem breaching the 90m mark and setting the South Asian record despite carrying an injury and without any support from PSB. Congrats to him he did Pakistan proud.

Well put! Politicians will never change, some private bodies should step up and hone these athletes.

Exactly this does not prove anything infact it makes me sad how rotten our system is that there might be multiple Arshad Nadeems who will never be noticed.

This is less about the medal and more about Nadeem breaching the 90m mark and setting the South Asian record despite carrying an injury and without any support from PSB. Congrats to him he did Pakistan proud.
Yeah man that's true. There are not many javelin thrower who can breach 90 metres mark.

If he maintains his form and he remains injury free he surely can win at Olympics and world athletics championship.

Exactly this does not prove anything infact it makes me sad how rotten our system is that there might be multiple Arshad Nadeems who will never be noticed.

The system will take years to change, but at this point giving him big cash prizes is important. It will be an incentive for others.
He deserves at least 1 crore imo, considering he's done this with no support at all

The system will take years to change, but at this point giving him big cash prizes is important. It will be an incentive for others.
He deserves at least 1 crore imo, considering he's done this with no support at all

Arshad future is set and boy he deserves it but unless investment is made on upcoming talent rather then showering it on made talents then we keep on relying on 1-2 Arshad Nadeem's to crop up every 10-20 years for getting us on the podium .A genuine effort is needed to ensure a continuous stream of quality talents across 3-4 disciplines Pakistan with its population and physical attributes should be at 20-25 medals for CW games just 8 medals is a very poor return.

Na its all dramaybazi.

You see when nadeem came 5th in olympics there was so much talk about giving him money and improving system what not. This was an year ago.

Year later, you see arshad play in world atheletic games and after few days he goes to CWG. Notice one thing, Arshad wore the same shirt at CWG which he got at world athetics game.

Our sports board cant even provide them basic equipment. And yet when they win or perform good the politicians or sports board suddenly have money to give as rewards

Arshad is definitely a top bloke, doesn’t give into hatred or issues and just works hard!

IOA scholarship helped me to focus on the game; further horned my skills through better training: Arshad Nadeem

Birmingham: Pakistan's sports hero Arshad Nadeem, who on Sunday won the gold medal for the country in the javelin throw competition at the ongoing Commonwealth Games here, has thanked the International Olympic Association (IOA) for providing him with a scholarship till the Paris Olympics 2024 and hoped the financial assistance under this scholarship would help further shine his skills at javelin throw by availing better training facilities and continue to scale new heights of success. "I am also obliged to the Pakistan Olympic Association (POA) for its efforts in this regard to help him secure the much-needed IOA scholarship", he said, adding, I am thankful to Almighty God for enabling me to secure a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games for the country. Arshad, who emerged as the first javelin thrower from the entire sub-continent to cross the 90-metre mark to bag the gold medal, said that the scholarship would not only enable him to focus on the game in the real sense of the word but also provide him with an opportunity to get better training opportunity and enhance his capability in the game, which in turn would enable me to continue to win further laurel for the country at the international level, particularly the Paris Olympics, for which I am yearning.

On Sunday night, Pakistan's Arshad Nadeem set a new Commonwealth Games record in javelin, crossing the elite 90-metre barrier. He blew away a world-class field in Birmingham to win his country's first athletics CWG gold in 60 years with a throw of 90.18m.

In the mixed zone, Arshad spoke about what he was missing at the scene of his triumph. “Neeraj ki mujhe kami mehsoos hui hai. Woh hote toh aur bhi mazaa aata (I felt Neeraj's absence today while competing. If he were competing today, it would have even more fun),” he told reporters.

India's Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra skipped the CWG due to an injury he suffered at the World Championships in Oregon in July. Neeraj won silver in Oregon, while Arshad finished 5th.

“We are really good friends. Injuries are a part and parcel of the sport. I wish the Almighty gives him good health, too. I want to use this occasion to wish him luck for the upcoming events,” Arshad said.

Neeraj delivered his compliment in a few hours. “Congratulations Arshad bhai for gold medal and crossing 90 mtr with new games record. Aage ke competitions ke liye all the best (All the best for the competitions in the future),” he wrote on Instagram, replying to a post by Arshad.

The two javelin throwers share much in common, beyond the territorial divide of their countries and frosty ties. Both have a rural background and their careers have followed a near parallel path.

The 2016 South Asian Games in Guwahati was the first international competition for both. Neeraj made heads turn with a throw of 82.23m to win gold, while Arshad set a new national record for Pakistan, winning bronze with 78.33m. They competed again in 2018 at the Commonwealth Games (where Neeraj won gold and Arshad finished 8th), and the Asian Games (where Neeraj won gold and Arshad got bronze). At the Tokyo Olympics, Neeraj won India's first ever medal in athletics, while Arshad finished fifth.

Both athletes also have a cricket connect, though a very contentious one in Neeraj's case. As a youngster, Neeraj had a penchant for bowling bhatta (chucking) in cricket. Arshad, according to his coach Faiz Bukhari, however, had real talent as a fast bowler.

Seven years before he stunned the javelin world in Birmingham, Arshad had batters scurrying for cover on the pitches of Mian Channu in the south of Pakistan's Punjab province. “In 2015, we were conducting sports jobs trials for WAPDA (power distribution system) in Lahore. There was this very tall and powerfully built boy who had come to throw the javelin,” said Bukhari, a former javelin thrower.

That boy, Arshad, was a fast bowler at the school and club level in Mian Channu, but had participated in local javelin throw competitions. The son of a building contractor, Arshad wasn’t poor, but he was looking for a permanent job. “We induct youngsters on scholarship and once they are 18, they get employed,” said Bukhari.

Arshad didn’t have a throw in the job trials that would make people take notice. “Around 54m,” Bukhari recalled. But what stood out was his build. “He was this bada tagda ladka (very strong lad). He had some idea how to throw. He was a fast bowler at the club level, so he could throw.”

Within a few months, Bukhari knew he had found a special talent. “Arshad improved from 54m to 60m, then 66, then 70, then 80. He kept improving.”

While Arshad kept getting better, he needed a goal. While Pakistan had some history in the javelin throw – Muhammad Nawaz and Jalal Khan won silver medals at the 1962 and 1958 Commonwealth Games, those days were long gone. “In countries such as India and Pakistan, which don’t have a lot of support or infrastructure, you need to have a powerful goal. Unless you have a goal, you can't go anywhere. Unless you have a goal, you won’t even know what to target,” said Bukhari.

One help, Bukhari said, was that a goal was being set by a thrower right across the border. While Arshad was getting better, did the fact that Neeraj was making history provide the motivation? "Of course, it did," said Bukhari, who competed in New Delhi in 1990. “Of course, we were seeing what Neeraj was doing. Arshad jaise hamara bachha hai, Neeraj bhi hamara bachha hai. Dono ek hi family se hain na – javelin wali family (Arshad is my child and the same way Neeraj is also my child. They are both from the same family – the javelin family).

"We also look at throwers from Kenya and Germany, but Arshad is friendly with Neeraj. Ek dusre ko hello hi karte rehte hain (they exchange greetings). He often watches Neeraj’s videos,” said Bukhari.

While Arshad looked at Neeraj’s achievements for motivation, he had to progress his way. Both have very different throwing techniques. “Neeraj is a springy thrower, Arshad is more of a strength thrower. He’s bigger, so, he has to use that,” said Bukhari. Arshad is 6'4 and weighs 100kg, while Neeraj is nearly 6ft tall and weighs 86kg.

Over the years, Arshad’s technique has caught up with his natural strength, and his throws have improved. He had a personal best of 80.75m in 2018, improved it to 86.29m to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics. After finishing fifth at the Olympics, he registered a throw of 86.38m at the Islamic Solidarity Games in 2021. Then came Sunday night's whopper in Birmingham.

Arshad's powerful arm, coach Bukhari said, has invariably drawn the attention of scouts in cricket-loving Pakistan. Despite the thrower's experience with the cricket ball, Bukhari has no worries. "Arshad got a friendly feeler from (Pakistan Super League team) Lahore Qalandars after the Olympics. But he wasn't interested. When you can make your country's name shine at the world level in athletics, why would you return to cricket?"

But there is one worry. Arshad's very physical throwing style has invariably resulted in injuries. He clutched his right elbow after his early throws in Birmingham. He might consider surgery to treat his throwing elbow. He has also been carrying a knee injury.

Bukhari is confident Arshad will return even stronger. “Even in the throw he’s done now, his technique still isn’t good enough. He can probably improve his technique by some 25 per cent. There is still work to be done,” said Bukhari.

Will Arshad still look at Neeraj, now that he has thrown further than the Indian – 24cm more? “He still has a long way to go. Look how much Neeraj has achieved. Inshallah, hamara ladka bhi kar sakta hai (God willing, my boy can also do it),” says Bukhari.

At the moment, Arshad has Pakistanis delirious with joy. Some are even insisting on social media that his 90.18m feat is probably a greater sporting achievement than Pakistan's cricket world cup win in 1992. This is debatable, Arshad's quality isn't.

On Sunday night, Pakistan's Arshad Nadeem set a new Commonwealth Games record in javelin, crossing the elite 90-metre barrier. He blew away a world-class field in Birmingham to win his country's first athletics CWG gold in 60 years with a throw of 90.18m.

In the mixed zone, Arshad spoke about what he was missing at the scene of his triumph. “Neeraj ki mujhe kami mehsoos hui hai. Woh hote toh aur bhi mazaa aata (I felt Neeraj's absence today while competing. If he were competing today, it would have even more fun),” he told reporters.

India's Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra skipped the CWG due to an injury he suffered at the World Championships in Oregon in July. Neeraj won silver in Oregon, while Arshad finished 5th.

“We are really good friends. Injuries are a part and parcel of the sport. I wish the Almighty gives him good health, too. I want to use this occasion to wish him luck for the upcoming events,” Arshad said.

Neeraj delivered his compliment in a few hours. “Congratulations Arshad bhai for gold medal and crossing 90 mtr with new games record. Aage ke competitions ke liye all the best (All the best for the competitions in the future),” he wrote on Instagram, replying to a post by Arshad.

The two javelin throwers share much in common, beyond the territorial divide of their countries and frosty ties. Both have a rural background and their careers have followed a near parallel path.

The 2016 South Asian Games in Guwahati was the first international competition for both. Neeraj made heads turn with a throw of 82.23m to win gold, while Arshad set a new national record for Pakistan, winning bronze with 78.33m. They competed again in 2018 at the Commonwealth Games (where Neeraj won gold and Arshad finished 8th), and the Asian Games (where Neeraj won gold and Arshad got bronze). At the Tokyo Olympics, Neeraj won India's first ever medal in athletics, while Arshad finished fifth.

Both athletes also have a cricket connect, though a very contentious one in Neeraj's case. As a youngster, Neeraj had a penchant for bowling bhatta (chucking) in cricket. Arshad, according to his coach Faiz Bukhari, however, had real talent as a fast bowler.

Seven years before he stunned the javelin world in Birmingham, Arshad had batters scurrying for cover on the pitches of Mian Channu in the south of Pakistan's Punjab province. “In 2015, we were conducting sports jobs trials for WAPDA (power distribution system) in Lahore. There was this very tall and powerfully built boy who had come to throw the javelin,” said Bukhari, a former javelin thrower.

That boy, Arshad, was a fast bowler at the school and club level in Mian Channu, but had participated in local javelin throw competitions. The son of a building contractor, Arshad wasn’t poor, but he was looking for a permanent job. “We induct youngsters on scholarship and once they are 18, they get employed,” said Bukhari.

Arshad didn’t have a throw in the job trials that would make people take notice. “Around 54m,” Bukhari recalled. But what stood out was his build. “He was this bada tagda ladka (very strong lad). He had some idea how to throw. He was a fast bowler at the club level, so he could throw.”

Within a few months, Bukhari knew he had found a special talent. “Arshad improved from 54m to 60m, then 66, then 70, then 80. He kept improving.”

While Arshad kept getting better, he needed a goal. While Pakistan had some history in the javelin throw – Muhammad Nawaz and Jalal Khan won silver medals at the 1962 and 1958 Commonwealth Games, those days were long gone. “In countries such as India and Pakistan, which don’t have a lot of support or infrastructure, you need to have a powerful goal. Unless you have a goal, you can't go anywhere. Unless you have a goal, you won’t even know what to target,” said Bukhari.

One help, Bukhari said, was that a goal was being set by a thrower right across the border. While Arshad was getting better, did the fact that Neeraj was making history provide the motivation? "Of course, it did," said Bukhari, who competed in New Delhi in 1990. “Of course, we were seeing what Neeraj was doing. Arshad jaise hamara bachha hai, Neeraj bhi hamara bachha hai. Dono ek hi family se hain na – javelin wali family (Arshad is my child and the same way Neeraj is also my child. They are both from the same family – the javelin family).

"We also look at throwers from Kenya and Germany, but Arshad is friendly with Neeraj. Ek dusre ko hello hi karte rehte hain (they exchange greetings). He often watches Neeraj’s videos,” said Bukhari.

While Arshad looked at Neeraj’s achievements for motivation, he had to progress his way. Both have very different throwing techniques. “Neeraj is a springy thrower, Arshad is more of a strength thrower. He’s bigger, so, he has to use that,” said Bukhari. Arshad is 6'4 and weighs 100kg, while Neeraj is nearly 6ft tall and weighs 86kg.

Over the years, Arshad’s technique has caught up with his natural strength, and his throws have improved. He had a personal best of 80.75m in 2018, improved it to 86.29m to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics. After finishing fifth at the Olympics, he registered a throw of 86.38m at the Islamic Solidarity Games in 2021. Then came Sunday night's whopper in Birmingham.

Arshad's powerful arm, coach Bukhari said, has invariably drawn the attention of scouts in cricket-loving Pakistan. Despite the thrower's experience with the cricket ball, Bukhari has no worries. "Arshad got a friendly feeler from (Pakistan Super League team) Lahore Qalandars after the Olympics. But he wasn't interested. When you can make your country's name shine at the world level in athletics, why would you return to cricket?"

But there is one worry. Arshad's very physical throwing style has invariably resulted in injuries. He clutched his right elbow after his early throws in Birmingham. He might consider surgery to treat his throwing elbow. He has also been carrying a knee injury.

Bukhari is confident Arshad will return even stronger. “Even in the throw he’s done now, his technique still isn’t good enough. He can probably improve his technique by some 25 per cent. There is still work to be done,” said Bukhari.

Will Arshad still look at Neeraj, now that he has thrown further than the Indian – 24cm more? “He still has a long way to go. Look how much Neeraj has achieved. Inshallah, hamara ladka bhi kar sakta hai (God willing, my boy can also do it),” says Bukhari.

At the moment, Arshad has Pakistanis delirious with joy. Some are even insisting on social media that his 90.18m feat is probably a greater sporting achievement than Pakistan's cricket world cup win in 1992. This is debatable, Arshad's quality isn't.

Just imagine him as fast bowler.

Arshad Nadeem will be in action today at Islamic Solidarity Games. His event will start at 7:25 pm PKT.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&#55356;&#57285; ALHAMDULILA one more GOLD medal &#55356;&#57285; Arshad Nadeem bags gold medal for Pakistan at the 2022 Islamic Solidarity Games in Konya! <br>Arshad’s score: 79.40 - 88.55 - 75.50 - 82.40 - 83.33 <br>Congratulations <a href="https://twitter.com/ArshadOlympian1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ArshadOlympian1</a> <a href="https://t.co/kHRscds7DW">pic.twitter.com/kHRscds7DW</a></p>— Inam Butt (@InamTheWrestler) <a href="https://twitter.com/InamTheWrestler/status/1558137473779343368?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 12, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Fresh from his triumphs at the Commonwealth Games and the Islamic Solidarity Games, Arshad Nadeem will finally begin treatment on his injured elbow and knees from next month.

Despite the nagging injuries, the javelin thrower broke records to clinch gold at both events this month and on Tuesday revealed that he will undergo surgery in England.

“The target is to resume training by March-April next year,” the 25-year-old told a news conference alongside Athletics Federation of Pakistan president retired Maj Gen Akram Sahi.

Once done with the treatment, Arshad — who became only the second Asian to throw the javelin past the 90m mark during his Commonwealth triumph — reiterated he will continue his bid to set the javelin world record.

“I’ll try my best to improve my technique further and for it, I will need world-class coaching on modern lines,” he said.

Arshad praised Sahi and his coaches Arshad Saqi, Salman Butt and Fayyaz Bukhari. It was his namesake who unearthed his raw talent in Mian Chunnu, persuading him to quit tape-ball cricket and focus on the javelin.

Sahi, meanwhile, confirmed that Arshad and sprinter Shajar Abbas, who reached the 200m final at the Commonwealths, would be sent abroad for training.

The AFP is not affiliated with the Pakistan Olympic Association after four of the country’s track and field athletes returned positive dope tests at the South Asian Games in 2019.

“It is the AFP, whose membership was suspended by the POA, which has earned medals for Pakistan,” said Sahi, who alleged that the POA had failed to get the accreditation for Arshad’s coach Salman Butt at the Commonwealths.

The POA had already dispelled the impression, claiming the required documents of Salman were not sent by the Pakistan Sports Board to it by the deadline set by the Games organisers.

“The AFP had set a target some 10 years ago to produce an athlete who would earn gold medal at international events and now we are working on our Vision 2030 plan,” said Sahi.

Published in Dawn, August 24th, 2022

bOdpaTM.png

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">میں وزیر اعظم <a href="https://twitter.com/CMShehbaz?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@CMShehbaz</a> صاحب کا انتہائی مشکور ہوں کہ اُنہوں نے میری درخواست پر ڈیپارٹمنٹل اسپورٹس کو بہال کیا اور تمام میڈل جیتنے والے کھلاڑیوں کے گاؤں میں اچھے ہسپتال اور سکول بنانے کا اعلان کیا۔ ڈیپارٹمنٹل اسپورٹس کی بہالی سے بہت سے بیروزگار کھلاڑیوں کو پھر سے روزگار ملے گا۔ <a href="https://t.co/KQ943s0oWj">pic.twitter.com/KQ943s0oWj</a></p>— Arshad Nadeem (@ArshadOlympian1) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArshadOlympian1/status/1562814491959578624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 25, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

LAHORE: Olympian Arshad Nadeem won the gold medal in a javelin throw event during the three-day competition of the 50th National Athletics Championship in Lahore.

Pakistan Army was declared the winner in the men's competition while WAPDA was declared the winner in the women's competition.

As expected, Arshad secured a throw of 81.21 meters to claim the medal, while Army's Mohammad Abrar secured the second position.

ARSHAD Nadeem, whose record-breaking throw in the javelin final of the latest Commonwealth Games brought Pakistan’s first track and field medal in 56 years, underwent elbow surgery in London on Sunday.

The surgery was performed by Dr Ali Sher Bajwa, who said in a video message that he was confident about Mr Nadeem’s full recovery, according to a Geo News report.

Mr Nadeem, who was one of Pakistan’s leading hopes for a medal going into the Games held in July-August, had two injuries but was now recovering well, Dr Bajwa said.

“I’m happy and satisfied that our goal behind the surgery was achieved. We also used state-of-the-art facilities for the surgery,” Dr Bajwa said, adding that the 25-year-old javelin thrower from Mian Channu had proved to be a “warrior and a champion”.

KARACHI: Pakistan's talented javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem, who is currently in rehab, on Friday said if he gets fit in time then his main focus will be on the World Athletics Championship which will be held in Budapest, Hungary, from August 19 to 27.

Last year, Nadeem bagged gold medal for Pakistan in the Commonwealth Games and the Islamic Solidarity Games.

“The World Championship is my main target and I will try to achieve top fitness before that event,” Nadeem told 'The News' in a detailed chat.

“And if I recover earlier then I may also play the Asian Championship,” he was quick to add.

Nadeem underwent an elbow surgery in London a couple of months ago and he has been passing through a rehab programme at the PSB Coaching Centre, Lahore.

The rehab time-frame was seven to eight weeks, but Arshad said that it may take more time as the weather is a bit cold.

“You have to go along with such things,” he said. “Now I am doing light training along with the physiotherapy which is a routine exercise. I don't feel any such pain in my elbow but the exact condition will be known only when I begin hard training.”

“After a couple of months training I will know exactly where my fitness stands,” said Nadeem, who sustained an elbow injury during an international event in Iran a couple of years ago.

Despite the injury he featured in the Tokyo Olympics, World Athletics Championship, Commonwealth Games and Islamic Solidarity Games and stunned the world with his performances.

Nadeem is on the path of recovery at a stage when he has a load of major events this year, including the 19th Asian Games slated to be held in Hangzhou in September and October.

The javelin thrower won bronze in the previous Asian Games hosted by Indonesia in 2018.

“Yes, this year is full of events but currently I am focusing on my full recovery and the way I am progressing I am hopeful I will be able to achieve top fitness before all these major events,” he said.

Nadeem said that he trains in the evening and in the morning he swims at the facility of the Sports Board Punjab (SBP).

It is pertinent to mention here that Nadeem is in the official camp which has been held by the Athletics Federation of Pakistan (AFP) with the support of the Pakistan Sports Board (PSB) at Lahore. The country's major sprinter Shajjar Abbas is also training with him.

An AFP senior official told 'The News' the other day that it is working on sending Nadeem to Germany where he will also do his rehab and will train under a German coach to be managed by the Pakistan embassy in Germany.

The AFP wants to train Nadeem in Germany for a long duration as he also has to appear in the 2024 Paris Olympics.

Nadeem broke the 90-metre mark, managing a 90.18m throw in Brimingham last year, and is capable of snaring Olympics medal in Paris.

The country’s premier javelin thrower and the Commonwealth Games record holder Arshad Nadeem has resumed training here following a few days of Eid-ul-Fitr break in order to prepare for this year’s major events.

“Yes I have resumed training here at the Punjab Stadium,” Arshad told ‘The News’ in an informal chat on Wednesday here at the PSB Coaching Centre where he is staying.

“I train for around five hours daily. I also use running machine for running purposes, gymnasium and swimming pool facility is also available to me here at Nishtar Park.

“I'm throwing javelin but not so vigorously. I plan to try it in the next ten days."

Arshad Nadeem is the biggest medal hope of Pakistan at this year’s Asian Games slated to be held in Guangzhou, China, from September 23 to October 8.

Before that he also is set to feature in the Asian Championships to be held in Pattaya, Thailand, from July 12-16 and the World Championships to be held in Budapest, Hungary, from August 19-27.

Arshad, so far, has a few productive years as a javelin thrower. He won golds in the last year’s Commonwealth Games in Birmingham and Islamic Games in Turkey. He also won bronze in the 2017 Baku Islamic Games and 2018 18th Asian Games in Indonesia. He also pulled off a massive performance in the 2019 Nepal South Asian Games which also earned for him a seat in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

He finished fifth in the Tokyo Olympics and also ended fifth in the World Championships in the US last year.

Before setting his eyes solely on the major events, the 34th National Games is Arshad's immediate target where he wants to flex his muscles and earn gold for his department WAPDA.

“I will assess the situation. If there is no fitness issue then I will feature in the National Games. And if I see that it will be dangerous for me then I will skip it,” he said.

“The key task ahead is to achieve top fitness first and then show my mettle. If I remain fit then I believe that I will be on the victory podium in the Asian Championships, Asian Games and World Championships,” he added.

India’s Neeraj Chopra, who made his country proud by lifting gold in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics held with a year’s delay in 2021, will be the main opponent of Arshad in the Asian Games and any one of them may pick the gold in the quadrennial event in Hangzhou.

Since making his South Asian Games debut in 2016 in India with a bronze medal, Arshad has never returned without a medal in the events in the Asian circuit. A few months ago, he underwent elbow and knee laser surgeries in London and is making his all out effort to achieve top recovery before the major events.

He developed pain in his left knee while attempting a jump here during training just before leaving for South Africa for training early last year. His elbow injury occurred in Iran in early 2021 in an international meet in Mashhad in which he had claimed gold with his then best effort of 86.38m which he latter broke with a stunning 90.18 metre throw in Birmingham. Arshad said that there is always a ten-metre difference in what he does in training and what he achieves in an international meet.

Cash Reward of Rs 1 Million for National Hero Arshad Nadeem by Zalmi Foundation & Javed Afridi

Following his historic gold medal win for Pakistan in Javelin throw at the Commonwealth Games, Arshad Nadeem was announced as the recipient of a token of appreciation of RS 1M by our Chairman, Javed Afridi. Today, we were pleased to welcome Arshad Nadeem to the Zalmi Headquarters to present him with the well-deserved cheque by the Director Cricketing Affairs Peshawar Zalmi, Muhammad Akram. Zalmi takes pride in recognizing and celebrating the achievements of our national heroes, and encourages the youth from all walks of life to strive for excellence and make our country proud.

BlpF46T.png

Olympian Arshad Nadeem has been ruled out of the Asian Athletics Championship due to a knee injury, the Athletics Federation of Pakistan (AFP)'s president Akram Sahi shared in a press conference today.

According to the AFP chief, Arshad has sustained an injury in his right knee now. The javelin thrower went through left knee surgery last year.

"Arshad is not fit to participate in the Asian Athletics Championship," Sahi told reported in Lahore. "

Sahi blamed WAPDA for forcing Arshad to participate in the recently concluded National Games where he bagged a gold medal.

"Arshad was forced to participate in the National Games. We had told WAPDA to not take any risk in Arshad's case as he just recovered from knee injury," he said.

"But, just for a medal, Arshad was forced to participate in the event in Quetta where the track is also not up to the mark," the AFP boss added.

Sahi asked WAPDA's chairman to take care of national assets. "Questions should be asked from higher authorities. We need to take care of our players," he emphasised.

AFP spent around PKR10 million on Arshad's knee surgery in England. He recovered from the injury before taking part in the 34th National Games last month.

Commonwealth Games gold medalist Javelin Thrower Arshad Nadeem is getting ready to make a strong comeback in the upcoming World Athletics Championship, scheduled from August 25 to 27 in Hungary.

Arshad is currently preparing for the world event at the Punjab Stadium, Lahore. Speaking to Geo News on the sidelines of his training, Arshad shared he has recovered well from the knee injury.

"I have completely recovered from the knee injury," Arshad said. "Unfortunately, I missed the Asian championship due to injury. But, I have started full-fledged training now and looking forward to winning medals in the upcoming events," he added.

After World Athletics Championship, Arshad will feature in the Asian Games, starting on September 23 in Hangzhou, China.

Meanwhile, the national champion also eyes the 2024 Paris Olympics. "My target is next year's Olympics. I want to get ready for the Olympics once again. Government has provided me facilities but it could be improved to match the international standard," he highlighted.

"My Indian counterpart Neeraj Chopra gets much better facilities than me. That's the difference between us," he concluded.

It must be noted here that Arshad had suffered a knee injury during the 34th National Games.

According to the AFP chief Akram Sahi, Arshad had sustained an injury in his right knee. The javelin thrower went through left knee surgery last year.

Sahi also blamed WAPDA for forcing Arshad to participate in the National Games where he bagged a gold medal.

Pakistan's premier javelin thrower and Commonwealth Games and Islamic Games champion Arshad Nadeem on Friday was highly optimistic of a bright performance during his crucial stint in the upcoming World Championship in Hungary.

Arshad along with his coach Salman Butt will leave for Hungary in the wee hours of August 20 (Saturday night) to feature in the event. The javelin throw qualifying round will be held on August 25 with the final to be conducted on August 27.

This is the third time that the Olympian Arshad will be featuring in the World Championsh

Pakistan’s top javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem will be in action during the World Athletics Championship in Budapest, Hungary, on Friday.

37 athletes have been divided in two groups for the qualifying round tomorrow, with Nadeem in Group B. World number one Jakub Vadlejch is also in Nadeem’s group.

1692858150981.png