Virat Kohli - The Mega Discussion

^

Does he wear Mr.India watch while playing all those shots? Coz we don't really see them

www.youtube.com/watch?v=n3BihUHd5MQ
www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4SRhF8aihg
www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpWN4LXXDy0
www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3pDwM39ao0

It looks like you haven't watched Umar bat enough, watch these videos.

It was.... last year prior to removal of deadwood, post which we whitewashed Aussies

Dhawan,Vijay,Pujara and Dhoni still have a lot to prove in Tests.

Kohli is a very good Test Batsman.
Tendulkar is class.

^ Pujara is already proven in TEST arena... look at his stats....
MSD is crucial in the TEST cog wheel for IND, though not extraordinary he is pretty good.

Dhawan & VJ yes, they are unproven but Dhawan i suppose will do well... VJ might remain as an inconsistent player though!

Whereas less talented players like Kohli score hundred after hundred, the absolutely gifted ones like Rohit and Umar Akmal (in and out of the team) never bother about such hard work. They are "talented", you know ?

Sorry, completely disagree. The kind of shots Kohli plays and with such ease, the guys you mentioned can only dream of. Kohli is much more talented than both, particularly on ground shots. Both Sharma and Akmal are great back foot players and hit spectacular cut and pull shots which look great and exciting. But the does not make them more talented than him

MSD is crucial in the TEST cog wheel for IND, though not extraordinary he is pretty good.

Dhawan & VJ yes, they are unproven but Dhawan i suppose will do well... VJ might remain as an inconsistent player though!

Let see how Pujara does abroad, then only can he be called as good as Kohli.
He has been excellent till now but it is also important to do well abroad.

Umar Akmal can play all the strokes, more strokes than any Indian Cricketer currently.
He scores all around the ground, someone who does not have strokes can not do that.
Umar does not need any coaching as far as stroke making is concerned he can play all the strokes.

And the current Pakistani Test Batting lineup, is better than the Indian Test Batting lineup.

All Umar needs is a brain.

Absolutely Incorrect statement...based on pure delusion.

These videos proves nothing... Good but not extraordinary.

Averages 10 away from home....Proven test player :))

Absolutely Incorrect statement...based on pure delusion.

These videos proves nothing... Good but not extraordinary.

The video proves that he can play all the strokes.

More examples,
His wagonwheels of some innings,
They clearly show he is scoring all around the ground.

2fySUmd.jpg

YyWgCsa.jpg

IqYDGoJ.jpg

eg99xC5.jpg

^^^
but ahmed778 these wagon wheels still doesn't support your below statement which IMO is OTT.

Umar Akmal can play all the strokes, more strokes than any Indian Cricketer currently.

Virat at least of now in ODIs is the best batsmen of his age group without any doubt and I feel he has all the right ingredients to be at the same level in test matches.

Regarding others, I definitely feel Umar Akmal has range of strokes, though he seem to favour the onside more. His defense doesn't seem to be great though. I don't think he has the temperament yet to consistently play to his full potential, that may all change once he digs in few mammoth innings in test matches in relatively quick succession. This will give him the plan on how to build a long innings, and understand that it is not about bang and bang all the time in tests/ odis.

Pujara has a good defensive technique and a good range of shots, so he should be successful. One particular aspect of his batting I find disturbing is, he bends too much with his stance (a bit of crooked stance) and this might pose a problem on fast pitches against express bowlers when facing balls around chest or above.

Dhawan needs to tighten up his technique a bit to be a consistent performer in test matches. He looks cramped for room when the ball is on his ribs. In ODIs, these minor flaws in technique are not exposed that much by the bowlers due to various restrictions, but in test matches these may prove fatal.

Regarding Vijay, even though he looks as a very graceful batsman, I don't think he has got the technique to survive in difficult conditions. He plays very loosely and away from the body and I think he will be found out in SA tour. He will be good in Indian conditions though.

Rahane, we have to wait and watch before we can judge him.

Ahmed bhai, a lot of those band wagons are from 2009-10 days when he was not a frustrated man that he is now. More Indians believed in Umar than Pakistaniz back then, we all put him above Kohli back then based on a few knocks that we saw. But in last couple of years, he's hi rock bottom as a player. His game has regressed and he no longer plays all shots around the wicket.

His 3rd Last Innings in ODI Cricket in which he scored a Half Century.
Runs all around ground.

KmNi8Sx.jpg

Oh! come on even Murli Vijay plays more strokes.

No he does not, Sachin is the only current Indian Batsman who can plays more strokes than Umar.

From the day he started those "come on offside to hit on leg side" shots he lost all the range of shots Whatever he had.

Kohli mainly plays through the covers midwicket.

Playing more strokes does not mean that Umar is better than Kohli, Kohli is much much better than Umar.

He plays very well towards the square on the offside, especially square driving. The only thing which I don't see him play regularly are the straight drives, like punching down the ground of the fast bowler, the likes of which were played regularly by Sachin. Virat, I see as a wonderful all-round strokeplayer, though his output in the 'V' region is comparatively less compared to square of the wicket. But, the main thing I like about this guy is, he is never satisfied with the amount of runs he has scored, and always hungry for more. Such a great temperament will ensure he does well consistently. Very focused and very unlike Rohit, who seems as if someone has forced him to play cricket (looks so disinterested at the wicket).

Kohli mainly plays through the covers midwicket.

Playing more strokes does not mean that Umar is better than Kohli, Kohli is much much better than Umar.

Many would kill to play shots like that and in such precision.

Kohli doesn't drag to cow corner which some elegant fellow does as soon as the tail starts :)

He plays very well towards the square on the offside, especially square driving. The only thing which I don't see him play regularly are the straight drives, like punching down the ground of the fast bowler, the likes of which were played regularly by Sachin. Virat, I see as a wonderful all-round strokeplayer, though his output in the 'V' region is comparatively less compared to square of the wicket. But, the main thing I like about this guy is, he is never satisfied with the amount of runs he has scored, and always hungry for more. Such a great temperament will ensure he does well consistently. Very focused and very unlike Rohit, who seems as if someone has forced him to play cricket (looks so disinterested at the wicket).

So true about Rohit....:D

When they both started @ 2009 i felt Umar was a true competitor to Virat and was doing good infact Virat used to struggle to convert his 30's and 40's into meaningful knocks (CT 2009 against PAK, i was dejected at the way he got out)

He worked through those flaws even though he was playing in IPL, set his priorities right and worked towards them... "hardwork always pays", - now he stands as the best young batsman around the world and among top 3 across all formats!

Umar on the other hand has been mismanaged & his confidence was dented big time. He tried to change his apprcoah too few times which didn;t work and went back to his instincts which backfired and was thrown out of the team.

He is in doldrums and needs guidance, should be given support & encouragement at a fixed batting position for an extended period.

Last but not least. making him the stop gap keeper is not a wise decision!

I am not arguing about his brilliance.
He is a brilliant young Batsman, certainly one of the best Young Batsmen in world cricket.

Kohli doesn't drag to cow corner which some elegant fellow does as soon as the tail starts :)

I know, what ever stroke he plays he plays with perfection.
I am not arguing about him being a limited player, he is an excellent and versatile Batsman.
I was just talking about the number of strokes.

No this is not correct and I don't want to change your mind either ...:) Feel Good.

That is your opinion, you can be happy with yours and i will be happy with mine.

Re: Virat Kohli

Umar doesn't even have half the shots of an Under-19 Indian cricketer. I think even Ravichandran Ashwin and Bhuvneshwar Kumar can probably execute more cricketing strokes than Umar Akmal and i swear thats what i truly believe and seen. Umar has the most basic talent however, that of picking the line length of deliveries. He just does not have enough shots to handle stuff in the middle for hours. No leg glance, no sweeps, no gentle taps to pinch singles and even his off side drives have disappeared. Nowadays all i see him doing is picking short of length deliveries and trying to smash them out of the continent like an absolute paindoo.

Coaching is what makes people trained for the most basic things and not for the extravagant endeavors. Watch R.Ashwin or Bhuvi bat someday, both bowlers basically but years of rigorous coaching has programmed them on how to build an inning. They have no flashy shots in their armoury but play all deliveries on merit. Leave the good ones, take the singles when its there, change ends etc etc. Umar does not do that, so do most of the other batsmen in Pak these days. Why? Late coaching.

I think he over complicates things by trying to play too many strokes rather than keeping it simple. It's a mental issue with him. Pretty sure most fans will agree that the array of strokes is not what they worry about with him, it's his mental game.

Stats actually show he's improved since the start of his career.

Average mid 30 in the first half of his career.

The second half he's averaging 42.

The only reason :umarakmal gets into the national side because he plays for a batting deprived country like Pakistan. He wont even get into India "A" side as players like Rayudu, Rahane, Pandey, Sanju Sampson are way better than him. People comparing him with a Real Batsman like Kohli is outrageously funny.

If Umar Akmal played for India he'd be a much better batsmen, he'd be fighting for a position with quality batsmen and be learning from legends like Tendulkar, Dravid and VVS..

Err.. did you watch the CT final?.. Quite a few attempted slogs by Kohli without the tail... :facepalm: No doubt Kohli is a quality player but it doesn't give you the right to criticize other players.

What can you say about him except Kohli moley! The guy is a beast with the bat.

Poor Umar Akmal. Guy cannot get into his national side and he is being compared with biggies.

Umar gets runs by slogging, whereas kohli gets runs with pure cricketing shots. Slogger get out very soon, and the cricketer carrys on. End of the story.

Virat Kohli from position 5 onwards, avg of 30, SR of 96 only one 50.

Umar Akmal from position 5 onwards, avg of 39, SR of 84, 1 hundred/ 16 50s.

Point is Virat would not have anywhere near the stats or hundreds if he was batting at position 5 or lower. Since india realised this and moved him upto the top of the order he has been a transformed batsman. Pakistan should've done the same to Umar sadly management doesn't agree.

Virat Kohli from position 5 onwards, avg of 30, SR of 96 only one 50.

Umar Akmal from position 5 onwards, avg of 39, SR of 84, 1 hundred/ 16 50s.

Point is Virat would not have anywhere near the stats or hundreds if he was batting at position 5 or lower. Since india realised this and moved him upto the top of the order he has been a transformed batsman. Pakistan should've done the same to Umar sadly management doesn't agree.

I think Virat currently will score wherever he bats, he has evolved into a good batsman now.. just to prove this statement, he is not going to bat at 5 or lower now. Why should he bat at 5 when he is currently the best batsman in the side, best batsman of the side usually bats at 1-4 in ODIs.

Your assumption is pretty pointless anyway. It's like comparing Tendulkar's average batting at 6-7 (he used to do it earlier when he was new),
to Akmal and say Tendulkar wouldn't have averaged as much as Akmal. if he batted at 6. "Agar damm hai to 6th position par batting karo, tab maaneinge, why you are batting at 3 to get those hundreds".. waah.. a team decides the batting order and gives the no. 3 position to someone who can attack as well as carry the innings while providing stability. Lara/Ponting/Dravid all batted lower earlier and moved to no. 3 because of their ability to do these things better than other teammates.. same with Virat. It was not done to improve Virat's average etc.. but team's needs.

I am not sure of the reasons Pak doesn't bat Akmal at the top order, may be they feel he can't provide the stability at no.3 even though he is a dasher. But I am not expert on that, so can't say for sure.

I most humbly, will like to point out one more trend in this forum, people are bringing Umar Akmal and comparisons with him in a Virat Kohli thread easily. When the same thing was done in Inzy thread (Inzy the Test match winner) by discussing Inzy against Tendulkar/Dravid/Lax, some Pakistani posters called it Indian trolling and said Indians can't bear Pakistani player appreciation/Thread is about inzy, not India etc.

I am not against bringing other players in the thread, but a consistency should be maintained.

If Umar can be compared to Kohli & Sachin, then we can compare Yadav with Waqar & Wasim :)

I think Yadav Vs Akhtar would be a silly comparison, let alone Waqar/Wasim. Yadav has not done wonders till now..

Akmal Vs Kohli isn't that bad a comparison, and I never heard someone comparing Akmal to Tendulkar.

I most humbly, will like to point out one more trend in this forum, people are bringing Umar Akmal and comparisons with him in a Virat Kohli thread easily. When the same thing was done in Inzy thread (Inzy the Test match winner) by discussing Inzy against Tendulkar/Dravid/Lax, some Pakistani posters called it Indian trolling and said Indians can't bear Pakistani player appreciation/Thread is about inzy, not India etc.

I am not against bringing other players in the thread, but a consistency should be maintained.

Yes posters brought up the fact that Inzamam has 1 Match Winning Knock in South Africa whereas Tendulkar/Dravid have none.

Err.. did you watch the CT final?.. Quite a few attempted slogs by Kohli without the tail... :facepalm: No doubt Kohli is a quality player but it doesn't give you the right to criticize other players.
Yah, I did but there is a difference between exception and rule.

Gone.

Doesn't matter, job's done. 115 (108). Match winning. Opposition crushing. :kohli

It is INSANE Kohli already has 15 hundreds.

I think that is probably the same amount of ODI hundreds the entire Pakistani line-up that is playing today has

What a player.

Already same no of hundreds as Yousaf and Sehwag and one more than de Villiers.

Raina! lol lol lol :))) :))) :)))

Jadeja needs to mock him again, please. :)))

ODI great already.

Love his adaptable nature. Every batsman faces situations when scoring seems tough, the way some react to those challenges make all the differences. In that regard, Kohli is quite ahead of many other batsmen. His initial 20-30 runs usually come in a second fiddle role, never bothered about expectations. Just sticks to basics which almost seem test cricket style and then shifts gears gradually.

I HOPE he scores a ton every game.

I'll be honest I never used to like him much but as time has gone I've become a fan of him as a person. Especially after meeting him during the CT. This has made me appreciate his performance more.

Still he comes no where close to Umar Akmal :P

I HOPE he scores a ton every game.

I'll be honest I never used to like him much but as time has gone I've become a fan of him as a person. Especially after meeting him during the CT. This has made me appreciate his performance more.

Kya guft goon hui aap dono ke darmyaan jo ye badlaav dekhne ko mil raha hai..?
Zara tafseel se bayaan karne ki zehmat karein..

Unfortunately this hundred will be downplayed when his stats are shown up the next time.. Its a lose-lose situation for Kohli :sachin :yk