Virat Kohli - The Mega Discussion

Yeah. You bet. This is an excerpt from am article on KP and how he wanted a young Pak kid to be selected in trials but he was rejected by the coach.
Back at Trent Bridge, there was one short and chubby Pakistani kid, who was the youngest to chance his arm on the day. No way was he a cricketer. We were up against boys who played rugby in winter, were well into pubescence and reeking of Lynx, and here was a pudgy tween. Surely he would bowl us some loopy medium-pace and provide welcome respite to the barrage of pace from the rest of the bowlers.

He trundled up to the crease, and the batsman’s eyes lit up: the backlift became higher, the stance more pronounced. This was the one bowler against whom he could show off his full repertoire of strokes. I maintain that what followed was as close to a miracle as I have seen in sport, even surpassing*Dwayne Leverock’s effort. The short, chubby lad could bowl. On an indoor surface he was ripping leg-spin that was from another planet. Flippers, googlies, sliders, all being bowled by a kid who was unmistakably out of place.

Pietersen took an interest in the boy, asking how he gripped it, and then watched with befuddlement as batsmen were castled and lost balance against the spiteful bite that was being extracted. The boy was wide-eyed, totally naive. His father was a taxi driver, and had driven him to Trent Bridge in a black cab from Edinburgh. A two-day event, and they slept Saturday night in the cab.

On the second day, as the final picks of the trialists were being made, the leg-spinner had to be the first choice. A kid so talented, surely he would be fast-tracked to a county? Names were called out, and Inzy, as I’d come to know him, had not made the cut. I overheard Pietersen saying that he had vouched for him vehemently, but the other coaches had vetoed it on account of his lack of fitness. He just*could not understand*how such an obvious talent, such a stand-out diamond in the rough, begging to be polished, could be ignored in this country. He’s still no closer to understanding English cricket today.

Source - http://www.alloutcricket.com/cricket/blogs/kp-the-maverick-reject

Interesting read, thank you for sharing it

You are welcome. I am always fascinated by these stories of 'could have beens'. Another fascinating story is that of Anil Gurav. I know this is derailing the thread a little bit, but this is a story worth telling. Anil Gurav was the star batsman of Mumbai and tipped to be the next superstar, before alcohol and a criminal brother ruined his life. He was nicknamed Viv Richards of Mumbai and used to give tips to Sachin, when he was young. What a sad story. Read it, if you have time

http://archive.indianexpress.com/ne...chin-tendulkar-there-was-anil-gurav/1195838/0

Warner and Maxi lost the match for Australia the moment they passed 300.

Chasing over 300 is just too easy for Virat!

Warner and Maxi lost the match for Australia the moment they passed 300.

Chasing over 300 is just too easy for Virat!

You don't have to be insecure, in ODIs most Indian fans have conceded that he is not good overseas... So breathe easy don't need to be so restless...

Setting him up for another bashing I see. So clever.

Take it easy guys, it's just a warm up match!

I was just joking.

Actually, seeing the pitch, I will not be too surprised if India goes on to chase it.

Take it easy guys, it's just a warm up match!

I was just joking.

Actually, seeing the pitch, I will not be too surprised if India goes on to chase it.

I wasnt joking though when I said Kohli is not good in ODIs overseas... Unless ofcourse the opposition is Sri Lanka..

The 47484th time he has perished trying to dab a good length delivery to the third man for a single.

I heard Australia posted 300 today.
They probably lost the match as the "beast mode" was activated.
The obvious question is how many balls did it take for this beast to register his ton? While "shifting through gears"?
Dhoni probably finished the game off to still the show.
India are blessed with so many "match winners".

The obvious question is how many balls did it take for this beast to register his ton? While "shifting through gears"?

dont worry, if it comes to the knockout and we face proteas, you wont be so cheeky at the end when your boys choke on thin air.

LOL, it was a practice match. You guys only know the technique to win all such matches and break down when it really matters.

dont worry, if it comes to the knockout and we face proteas, you wont be so cheeky at the end when your boys choke on thin air.

Oh no! Don't tell me the chase did not go well.
Lol, what do the proteas have to do with anything? I was only endorsing the rock star, forgive me for jumping on the bandwagon.

Kohli was batting really well today and got out at an inopportune moment. I still think he will fare well over the next month

Anything else ? :sree

LOL, it was a practice match. You guys only know the technique to win all such matches and break down when it really matters.

Lol I was merely making an enquiry about the chase, what's with the insecurities? After all it was "just" a warm up, while the other matches were "just meaningless" bilaterals.

Haha.. you sound so insecure about the constant flak South Africans get for not winning a WC. :))

How did the flippin chase go? Gezzz!
It's a WC prep game so it does have relevance.
A win may not be significant but performances are very important (either bowlers or batsmen must show signs of improvement).
A non performance is not recommended at this stage however, not 6 days prior to the WC.

And he was looking so good out there, timing the ball perfectly with very good feet movement.

The 47484th time he has perished trying to dab a good length delivery to the third man for a single.

That's his greatest strength and weakness.

When it works, he rotates strikes and gets single while getting the feel of the ball and the match situation.

When it doesn't work, tame dismissal.

In Aus, its not working more often than not.

He either has to change his game accordingly (by being extra cautious or accounting for the bounce every single time) or he may not have a good WC.

Failed in five consecutive ODI/OD games. Not looking good for the the next Sachin/Ponting/Lara.

\kohli failed ans so did dhoni and rohit. But did anyone notice rahane, rayudu,dhawan get 50 plus....well eventually one out of dhoni/raina/virat might score big but if these 3 contribute something....a huge score is on cards.....and dont forget they scored against Aussie bowling attack

Didn't see him bat, but it's very unlikely for him to get out after 20 balls. May be the scoreboard pressure.

I think, VK 'll do well on 15th, big match player. He isn't in bad form, probably missing some clue; once he fixes that, he 'll score big.

Didn't see him bat, but it's very unlikely for him to get out after 20 balls. May be the scoreboard pressure.

I think, VK 'll do well on 15th, big match player. He isn't in bad form, probably missing some clue; once he fixes that, he 'll score big.

Heard he looked very good today until his tame dismissal happened.

Dawlat Zadran to Kohli, OUT, gone! That's very full outside off, almost yorker length, and it swings away late as Kohli pokes at it and takes his outside edge and Afsar Zazai takes a lovely low catch behind the wicket, diving to his right

Someone give this man a county stint.

Says an Indian on a Pakistani forum

This forum is a Sports<Cricket forum with focus on Pakistan not a Pakistani forum with focus on cricket. There is a difference.

for Pakistan specific threads there is the Others forum with TimePass etc other threads.

This forum is a Sports<Cricket forum with focus on Pakistan not a Pakistani forum with focus on cricket. There is a difference.

for Pakistan specific threads there is the Others forum with TimePass etc other threads.

Er not really. Its a Pakistani forum. And not only this, but a few other Pakistani forums that seem to be invaded by Indians in droves. Not wrong IMO but then its hilarious when Indians call us obsessive.

I said back when he was having a lean patch in England that he would be India's best batsman in Australia and average close to 50 in Tests; I was laughed at.

Everytime this thread is bumped and people question his form, I challenge them to have a sig/AV bet with me that he'll average above 50 in this WC. Not even once have the people who take constant digs at him and are convinced about his technical faults have taken me up on this offer. Offer still valid.

I said back when he was having a lean patch in England that he would be India's best batsman in Australia and average close to 50 in Tests; I was laughed at.

Everytime this thread is bumped and people question his form, I challenge them to have a sig/AV bet with me that he'll average above 50 in this WC. Not even once have the people who take constant digs at him and are convinced about his technical faults have taken me up on this offer. Offer still valid.

how many $$$?

Makes him a hypocrite.

Kohli is one of the world's biggest players, who happens to play for our arch rivals, so when he fails there will obviously be banter.

-Indians in Pakpassion are obsessed with Pakpassion.
-Pakistani posters are obsessed with Indian players and IPL. (Bilal bhai for example wouldn't bump an Amla bhai thread upon a warm-up failure)

Both these statements are true. As for the banter, Nooba bhai's response too sounded like a fun response. He even initiated his sentence with a LOL.

Just to be clear, you're taking me up on my offer? :yk2

sure why not i am always up for risks! btw is this ebt going to include minnow matches?

Me and another guy won a signature bet against Kohli back in 2013 lol when India toured SA i told him Amla will score more than Kohli and i was right :P

Says an Indian on a Pakistani forum

Er not really. Its a Pakistani forum. And not only this, but a few other Pakistani forums that seem to be invaded by Indians in droves. Not wrong IMO but then its hilarious when Indians call us obsessive.

No need for this tbh. Pakpassion is one of the largest cricket forums of the world, and we pride ourselves on our diversity. When a big rival player fails, there is bound to be banter and it should be taken in a light manner. India is the largest cricketing nation in the world so there's no surprise as to why there are so many Indians on PP, and the majority of them conduct intellectual debate and only a few resort to random trolling.

Ultimately, PP is a place for cricket enthusiasts to come and share their opinions on the game that they love. Whether you're a Kiwi, Aussie, Indian or Sri Lankan, doesn't matter.

sure why not i am always up for risks! btw is this ebt going to include minnow matches?

Me and another guy won a signature bet against Kohli back in 2013 lol when India toured SA i told him Amla will score more than Kohli and i was right :P

This will include all matches, even minnows and Sri Lanka. It will make even the matches against minnows interesting. :ksi

Let me take a big risk and pick a so called choker again i mean Amla will score more than Kohli in WC ready for sig bet?

It is not as big a risk you assume it to be bro. Amla is easily among the top-5 ODI batsmen in the world today. :amla

What was your prediction for Kohli's average in the CB tri-series?

-Indians in Pakpassion are obsessed with Pakpassion.
-Pakistani posters are obsessed with Indian players and IPL. (Bilal bhai for example wouldn't bump an Amla bhai thread upon a warm-up failure)

Both these statements are true. As for the banter, Nooba bhai's response too sounded like a fun response. He even initiated his sentence with a LOL.

Electron's obsession with Amla is the biggest fact of all. Kohli fails in six successive OD/ODI outings and suddenly Amla pops into the discussion. LOL. Now that you mentioned him though, Amla >> Kohli. The class difference grows wider.

I'm not Mamoon. I don't think Amla's a choker and I rate him to be one of top 3 batsmen of the world. I can definitely see him averaging close to 55 and having a more successful WC than Kohli as SA are significantly more likely to progress further than India in this WC.

Yes, our resident Naruto fanboy who suddenly stopped posting when his signature became "Amla is a better ODI batsman than Kohli" or something to that effect. :))

TBH after that day that guy is become an Amla fan you can see his posts praising amla time to time his name was Itachi remember?

What was your prediction for Kohli's average in the CB tri-series?

There was a thread going around "Predict Kohli's average in the Tests against Australia". That's where I made this prediction. But you are right, I did not expect him to be such a failure in the Tri-series.

I'm not Mamoon. I don't think Amla's a choker and I rate him to be one of top 3 batsmen of the world. I can definitely see him averaging close to 55 and having a more successful WC than Kohli as SA are significantly more likely to progress further than India in this WC.

ok than let me take biggest risk of my cricketing life and put my money on an inconsistent payer like shehzad and make it easy for you?

I just love taking risk even if in the end you guys make fun of me :p

Electron's obsession with Amla is the biggest fact of all. Kohli fails in six successive OD/ODI outings and suddenly Amla pops into the discussion. LOL. Now that you mentioned him though, Amla >> Kohli. The class difference grows wider.

Nah bro, you got it wrong. Amla bhai is one of the guys I really admire. Despite his limited talent, the guy is the fourth best ODI player behind behind AB, Kohli and Dhoni. I love him man. :bow:

What risk yaar, we are a 3rd class ODI team, win-less in the tour. :afaq

we are 4th class right now and chances of reaching semi and even quarter are slim and still i am putting my money on an inconsistent player like Shehzad you see this is called risk :D

Lekin bro, Kohli Steyn and Morkel khelega and Amla bhai Bhuvi and Shami khelega... I think I'll lose the bet that very match. :facepalm:

Nah bro, you got it wrong. Amla bhai is one of the guys I really admire. Despite his limited talent, the guy is the fourth best ODI player behind behind AB, Kohli and Dhoni. I love him man. :bow:

He's easily better than Kohli and Dhoni, who is pretty much finished and only ABCD is a better ODI batsman. Glad to see you admit to your Amla obsession though.

There was a thread going around "Predict Kohli's average in the Tests against Australia". That's where I made this prediction. But you are right, I did not expect him to be such a failure in the Tri-series.

Which is why you can't fault people for picking on the next Sachin/Ponting/Lara when Afghani bowlers are owning them with a swinging new ball. Especially when he has deluded fans like Electron who still rate him as the #2 ODI bat in the world.

TBH after that day that guy is become an Amla fan you can see his posts praising amla time to time his name was Itachi remember?

That was mostly sarcasm, I guess.

Lekin bro, Kohli Steyn and Morkel khelega and Amla bhai Bhuvi and Shami khelega... I think I'll lose the bet that very match. :facepalm:

Still you are playing safe! man you are not a man who is going to take big risks or gamble in life :P

Just to clarify my opinion on who's the best ODI batsman these days. I believe De Villiers to be the best batsman in the format, and I think if he has a solid WC and plays a clutch innings or two in the QF and semis then he will have a claim to be up there with the best ever.

The competition between Amla/Kohli is a lot tougher and both are head and shoulders above the rest. Kohli edges it for me based on the simple fact, that he has played a lot more memorable innings in his career, maybe because he's so good chasing which is why his great innings stay longer in the mind. Amla is a spectacular cricketer and I would not question anyone who thinks he is better than Kohli. He's significantly better than Virat when it comes to setting a total and is generally more reliable.

However, Kohli's record chasing is so insane, it's unbelievable. The amount of matches the guy has won India is remarkable, and his innings against SL in Hobart and the twin centuries against Australia chasing 300+ were unreal. Ultimately, the reason why I rate him to be a better batsman is because he has the ability to change gears better than Amla. All down to preference. It's not a India/Pakistan debate, you don't have to pick a side. You can be a fan of both.

Which is why you can't fault people for picking on the next Sachin/Ponting/Lara when Afghani bowlers are owning them with a swinging new ball. Especially when he has deluded fans like Electron who still rate him as the #2 ODI bat in the world.

Bhai don't call me deluded just because I don't share your delusions. Give me 5 best Amla ODI innings, and I will give you 5 best Kohli ODI innings.

That's the reason I rate Kohli more.

Still you are playing safe! man you are not a man who is going to take big risks or gamble in life :P

If runs scored in India-South Africa match don't count, then I am up for a bet bhai. :P

Trundlers ne game bigaad dena hai us match mein. :nehra

If runs scored in India-South Africa match don't count, then I am up for a bet bhai. :P

Trundlers ne game bigaad dena hai us match mein. :nehra

ok done India-South Africa match excluded every other match will count and Amla will score more than Kohli done?

Btw i can imagine your face if Amla fail against indian trundlers and Kohli score against Steyn and co lol than dont tell me this match count :p

Bhai don't call me deluded just because I don't share your delusions. Give me 5 best Amla ODI innings, and I will give you 5 best Kohli ODI innings.

That's the reason I rate Kohli more.

Forget five. Give me one innings of Kohli that had as much quality as the century Amla scored against a top notch Pakistani attack containing Akhtar, Ajmal, Afridi and Hafeez. Amla scored 119* out of a South African total of 228. An extremely tough pitch to bat on and it was an innings I shall never forget.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/461568.html

Or the 150* he scored against England on another tough pitch and Amla was at ease as usual. An English attack containing Anderson, Finn and Swann.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/534229.html

But ofcourse, for our IPL drunk Electron, Kohli flaying the Lankan bowlers on a flat track at a SR of 200 is better.