What would be your favourite India + Pakistan ODI team from the current batch?

Harshu814

We know this can never happen but if it were to...

My team would be,

Playing XI,
1)Shikhar Dhawan
2)Fakhar Zaman/Rohit sharma (Rohit on subcontinent/Fakhar on away)
3)Virat kohli
4)Babar Azam
5)KL Rahul(Wk)
6)Hardik Pandya
7)Shadab khan
8)kuldeep yadav
9)Mohammad Aamir
10)Hasan Ali
11)Jusprit Bumrah

I think this side would Dominate Home/away vs Anyone:hasan2

Bench,
-Junaid khan
-MSD
-chahal
-fahim ashraf

Note:-only try to pick players playing since 2017/current players

Fakhar zaman
Azhar Ali
Virat Kohli
Babar Azam
Hussain Talat
Asif Ali
Shadab Khan
Sarfaraz Ahmed
Fahim Ashraf
Hassan Ali
Mohammed Amir

Fakhar
Babar
Kohli
Sarfraz*+
Talat
Asif
Faheem
Shadab
Hasan
Amir
Shaheen

Best team in the world.

Sharp decline in batting after number 5.

Fakhar zaman
Azhar Ali
Virat Kohli
Babar Azam
Hussain Talat
Asif Ali
Shadab Khan
Sarfaraz Ahmed
Fahim Ashraf
Hassan Ali
Mohammed Amir

Bhai Azhar doesn't make Pak side on merit and here you are putting him in Pak + Ind side.... "kuch sharam hoti hai kuch haya hoti hai"

We know this can never happen but if it were to...

My team would be,

Playing XI,
1)Shikhar Dhawan
2)Fakhar Zaman/Rohit sharma (Rohit on subcontinent/Fakhar on away)
3)Virat kohli
4)Babar Azam
5)KL Rahul(Wk)
6)Hardik Pandya
7)Shadab khan
8)kuldeep yadav
9)Mohammad Aamir
10)Hasan Ali
11)Jusprit Bumrah

I think this side would Dominate Home/away vs Anyone:hasan2

Bench,
-Junaid khan
-MSD
-chahal
-fahim ashraf

Note:-only try to pick players playing since 2017/current players

On what basis did you put Fakhar in away conditions?

Fakhar can be good in both conditions but rohit sharma is really great in sub cont conditions otherwise fakhar is good to go for both home/away

My criteria was to try n put players from both countries in diff positions
I.e. one-one openers from both sides
1-1 middle order from both sides
1-1 allrounders from both sides
1-1 strike bowlers from both sides
Rest based on performance n skills
And i think i found fakhar to be best pak opener right now .. Otherwise i had go with rohit or Kl rahul anyday coz whats the point of making india-pak team if both countries dont have players at critical positions

Sharp decline in batting after number 5.

Sadly none of the team has effective and reliable all rounders that can consistently bat and bowl both but hardik and shadab seems good and besides top5 players are really good that i dont think most of the time #6-7 would need to bat ..also this side has really good bowling so targets shudnt be big

1) Shikhar Dhawan
2) KL Rahul
3) V Kohli
4) Babar Azam
5) Sarfaraz Ahmed
6) Hardik Pandya
7) Shadab Khan/Kuldeep Yadav
8) Bhuvneshwar Kumar
9) Mohammed Amir
10) Jasprit Bumrah
11) Hassan Ali

1) Shikhar Dhawan
2) KL Rahul
3) V Kohli
4) Babar Azam
5) Sarfaraz Ahmed
6) Hardik Pandya
7) Shadab Khan/Kuldeep Yadav
8) Bhuvneshwar Kumar
9) Mohammed Amir
10) Jasprit Bumrah
11) Hassan Ali

Bhuvneshwar, Shadab, Kuldeep and Hassan can bat and hit big

Bhuvi is overrated in odis. Not wicket taker. And this is coming from indian.

My bowling would be:

Hassan
Amir
Bumrah
Kuldeep
Chahal/Shadab

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli
Rahul
Babar
Dhoni
Pandya
Shadab
Amir
Hasan
Bumrah

1. Rohit
2. Dhawan
3. Kohli
4. Babar
5. KL
6. *MS+
7. Shadab
8. Kuldeep
9. Amir
10.Hasan
11. Bumrah

My actual combined XI would be:

Fakhar (hate Sharma, dot ball machine most of the time and terribly inconsistent)
Dhawan
Kohli
Babar
KL Rahul
Dhoni
Shadab
Hasan
Kuldeep
Amir
Bumrah

Can you make a combined Ind Pak Ban XI?

Same core - Shakib replaces one of the spinners, probably Shadab (but that makes 2 lefti spinner). Had Rohit been lefti, I would have replaced with Tamim, but left-right combo is better. If MS is not given Captaincy, the NZ Mushi replaces him (& Shakib leads - can’t make Kohli Captain) but MS will be my Captain, hence Mushi misses.

My fav would be:
1) Dhawan
2) Babar
3) Haris
4) Kohli
5) Fakhar
6) Dhoni
7) Shadab
8) Faheem/Pandya/ Kuldeep (fine with any of these players)
9) Hasan
10) Amir
11) Bumrah

Shikhar
R Sharma
Kohli(c)
Babar
S Malik
MS Dhoni (Wk)
S Khan
K Yadav
Hassan Ali
J Bumrah
BK/M Amir (if pitch favours swing thn BK or else Amir)

12th: KL Rahul

Id personally want KL Rahul at #5 instead of Malik, however Rahul hasn’t showed any impact batting at lower order.

1. Rohit
2. Dhawan
3. Kohli
4. Babar
5. KL
6. *MS+
7. Shadab
8. Kuldeep
9. Amir
10.Hasan
11. Bumrah

I am big fan of your posts. They are never biased and always provide the best point of view to look at a situation.
I am huge supporter of dhoni and even with his decline i thought he will be crucial to india in wc bcoz of his calmness in batting and critical inputs he gives to bowlers.
However at start of ipl he played two extremely poor innings and i remember even you saying that may be his time is over (in game against kkr). However he has improved greatly and played as good if not better than his peak days afterwards.
What do you make of it? Has he got his form back or is he getting lucky this season?

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli
Baber
Sarfaraz*(k)
Hafeez
H. Pandya
Hassan
Shadab
Amir
Bumrah

Rohit
Shikhar
Kohli *
Babar
Dhoni + (to support Kohli in captaincy)
Asif Ali (He looked like a proper hitter)
Shadab
Hassan
Amir
Junaid/ Shaheen/ Usman
Bumrah

12th Pandya

If we replace Kohli with Azhar ali it wil become the worst team ������

You mean the team that lost by 180 runs in a final,the biggest margin of defeat in an ICC final not so long ago?

No I don't think it's that team

I am big fan of your posts. They are never biased and always provide the best point of view to look at a situation.
I am huge supporter of dhoni and even with his decline i thought he will be crucial to india in wc bcoz of his calmness in batting and critical inputs he gives to bowlers.
However at start of ipl he played two extremely poor innings and i remember even you saying that may be his time is over (in game against kkr). However he has improved greatly and played as good if not better than his peak days afterwards.
What do you make of it? Has he got his form back or is he getting lucky this season?

Even if he starts playing little good in ints,he must make placefor youngsters within year..not that we dont like him but niether he is playing good in internationals nor his performance can justify his spot anymore

And ipl forms are temporart ,hardly have seen anyone getting good scores in internations after good ipl season ,but i hope dhoni make most of it,hu shud make people happy before he retires by playing some great innings

Even if he starts playing little good in ints,he must make placefor youngsters within year..not that we dont like him but niether he is playing good in internationals nor his performance can justify his spot anymore

And ipl forms are temporart ,hardly have seen anyone getting good scores in internations after good ipl season ,but i hope dhoni make most of it,hu shud make people happy before he retires by playing some great innings

His place in side may be questionable for fans however he is sure to play the 2019 wc and most probably leave international cricket after it.
I know that ipl form is not the best matric to judge the form of player however it surely gives you an idea of how he is playing. In my opinion he has overcome some of his problems in ipl this year like off stump yorker length balls etc. If he can ensure a sr of 100 coming at 5 he will be more valuable than a youngster playing at 120 becauae of the shear amount of experience and calmness he has.
I am pretty sure that top 3 will fail collectively at 2 times in the wc and dhoni even the tuk tuk model will be highly important in such situations.
The reason i referred this to MMHS is because he has been following cricket for long and provides non biased views and could tell whether MS has really transformed or is just going to do good for a season. This will answer the question regarding his form carrying into international season.

You mean the team that lost by 180 runs in a final,the biggest margin of defeat in an ICC final not so long ago?

No I don't think it's that team

No, it is the team that got destroyed 5-0 in New Zealand in last ODI series.

Only Hasan and Amir make the combined Pakistan-India ODI XI in my opinion. Babar deserves a spot based on his statistics, but I would prefer a more aggressive option.

Babar is surplus to requirements when you have Kohli and Rohit in the team. Another anchor like him is excessive.

This Pant guy looks special to me - might be the next Yuvraj. He has not proven himself in international cricket yet, but you can take your chances with talents like him, and India knows how to develop its batsmen.

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli *
KL Rahul
Pant
Dhoni +
Pandya
Amir
Hasan
Yadav
Bumrah

I went for KL Rahul over Babar because he is more explosive. He can play the Babar role but also do more.

Shadab is a better all-round cricketer than Yadav, but the latter is a better bowler. Considering the batting strength of this team, I don't think Shadab's superior batting would make a difference.

Amir vs Bhuvneshwar was a tough call, since both are good defensive options. However, Amir has slightly more wicket-taking ability, which is why he gets the nod.

This team has everything - batsmen who can anchor the innings and also turn it on when required (Kohli, Rohit, Dhawan, Rahul, Dhoni), two explosive hitters (Pant, Pandya), two strike bowlers (Hasan, Bumrah) and one defensive bowler to keep things tight (Amir). In addition, an excellent spinner.

Your precious team was destroyed 4-0 last time they went to NZ.

They are also ranked number one in ODIs, and have been consistently ranked in the top three for a decade or so.

If we talk history, then we can end the discussion here. Since 2006, Pakistan have only won three ODI series against the top sides. Yes, only three.

They are also ranked number one in ODIs, and have been consistently ranked in the top three for a decade or so.

If we talk history, then we can end the discussion here. Since 2006, Pakistan have only won three ODI series against the top sides. Yes, only three.

I guess no one was happier than you when we lost 5-0.

I wasn't happy, but I wasn't sad either, since I knew it was coming.

As I told you before the series, our fans' heads were in the clouds and we needed a reality check. It was a humiliation that we fully deserved. It was like taking a medicine - you don't want to take it, but you have to.

I wasn't happy, but I wasn't sad either, since I knew it was coming.

As I told you before the series, our fans' heads were in the clouds and we needed a reality check. It was a humiliation that we fully deserved. It was like taking a medicine - you don't want to take it, but you have to.

Ok lol. A reality check that told us things we already knew.

But let’s not derail the thread further.

Dhawan
Rohit
Kohli
Azam
Rahul
Pandya
Amir
Bumrah
Ali
Chahal
Yadav

Dhawan-sharma opening pair is best in ODI cricket.Especially dhawan is a 45 avg beast.
Chahal averages 21 over shadab 28.
Amir a bit better than bhuvi.

Based on One Inning
CT Final hundred
One 💯 and fakhar become better player than Rohit Sharma...matlab hadd hai yaar..

Noone said fakhar is better than rohit other than your self ,but rohit is struggling big time in away tours.

It wasnt just CT final hundread but also pak tour of NZ where fakhar was only standout batsman perfoming ,for somre reasons he was denied few of the matches i dont kbow why ,still he was good

Noone said fakhar is better than rohit other than your self ,but rohit is struggling big time in away tours.

It wasnt just CT final hundread but also pak tour of NZ where fakhar was only standout batsman perfoming ,for somre reasons he was denied few of the matches i dont kbow why ,still he was good

Which away tour apart from SA?

Apart from SA,india hasnt done much away ODI tours lately,only SL away tour was where Rohit was good,he is a good ODI player but SA weights much more than SL and WI,ZIM tours rohit wasnt part of

England are ranked number 1, not India.

Apart from SA,india hasnt done much away ODI tours lately,only SL away tour was where Rohit was good,he is a good ODI player but SA weights much more than SL and WI,ZIM tours rohit wasnt part of

He was gud in CT

Fakhar
Rohit
Dhawan
Babar
Kohli
Dhoni (c)
Hardik
Shadab
Hasan Ali
Amir
B Kumar

reserves:
Kuldeep
Chahal
Bumrah
Haris Sohail
KL Rahul

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Rohit Sharma
3) Virat Kohli
4) Babar Azam
5) Lokesh Rahul
6) Hardik Pandya
7) Krunal Pandya (surely has to be selected)
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hassan Ali
10) Mohammad Amir
11) Jasprit Bumrah

Subs

MS Dhoni
Dinesh Karthik
Bhuvi
Yuzi Chahal
Asif Ali/Hussain Talat/ Usman Shinwari

Fakhar can be good in both conditions but rohit sharma is really great in sub cont conditions otherwise fakhar is good to go for both home/away

After one good tournament, fakhar is a better overseas player than Rohit who scored centuries in places like Aus and SA. Here we are talking about ODI, pitches are pretty much flat everywhere. There is no away or home these days with LOI.

Fakhar as he is in form, I would open him with Shikar. I would move Rohit down. I would not pick Babar as we have better version of him at 3. I would keep Rohit, Rahul, Raina, Iyer etc in the middle. I would pick Karthik as a keeper over Dhoni or Sarfaraz, mainly for his batting and not a bad WK. it’s hard to choose between Hardik and Faheem but Hardik has played a few good knocks with the bat and his bowling is 8mproving, I would pick him for all rounder. Bowlers I would pick Hasan Ali for sure. Remaining two places for fast bowlers. It would be between Amir, Bhuvi and Bumrah. As this is for ODI, I would pick Amir and Bumrah. Spinner position is between Shadab and Kuldeep for me. Kuldeep has not played much yet. I would take Shadab, he is a better batsman as well..

Here is my 11.

Fakhar
Shikar
Kohli
Rahul
Rohit
Karthik
Hardik
Shadab
Hasan
Amir
Bumrah

12th man. Raina, Iyer, Rayudu, these three can switch with Rohit or Rahul if either of them don’t perform well in first few games.

I hate Kohli as a captain. But as I could keep both Sarfaraz and Dhoni in the eleven others don’t have international captaincy experience, I pick Kohli to captain this team.

Only Hasan and Amir make the combined Pakistan-India ODI XI in my opinion. Babar deserves a spot based on his statistics, but I would prefer a more aggressive option.

Babar is surplus to requirements when you have Kohli and Rohit in the team. Another anchor like him is excessive.

This Pant guy looks special to me - might be the next Yuvraj. He has not proven himself in international cricket yet, but you can take your chances with talents like him, and India knows how to develop its batsmen.

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli *
KL Rahul
Pant
Dhoni +
Pandya
Amir
Hasan
Yadav
Bumrah

I went for KL Rahul over Babar because he is more explosive. He can play the Babar role but also do more.

Shadab is a better all-round cricketer than Yadav, but the latter is a better bowler. Considering the batting strength of this team, I don't think Shadab's superior batting would make a difference.

Amir vs Bhuvneshwar was a tough call, since both are good defensive options. However, Amir has slightly more wicket-taking ability, which is why he gets the nod.

This team has everything - batsmen who can anchor the innings and also turn it on when required (Kohli, Rohit, Dhawan, Rahul, Dhoni), two explosive hitters (Pant, Pandya), two strike bowlers (Hasan, Bumrah) and one defensive bowler to keep things tight (Amir). In addition, an excellent spinner.

Yes. I like Pant too. That’s one of the reasons why I hate Dhoni more these days. Many people call him hack. That’s not right at all.

So certain posters are putting people like KL Rahul and Pant in their elevens, both of whom don't even make India's first eleven, but they will magically make the first eleven of a combined Pak-Ind ODI side :))

I'd go with

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli
Rahul
Shubman
Pant(wk)
Hardik
Shami
Bumrah
Bhuvi/Kuldeep(depending on conditions)
Chahal

In a 15 man squad, the other 3 should be Shaw,Babar, Avesh.

So certain posters are putting people like KL Rahul and Pant in their elevens, both of whom don't even make India's first eleven, but they will magically make the first eleven of a combined Pak-Ind ODI side :))

It’s all based on potential and talent. Otherwise nobody would have picked Amir in their 11. He performs one out of 10 matches.

Moreover Many of us feel, these two have not been given proper chances in the Indian team.

This is the combined 11 of a top team and average lower ranked team.

^ On potential and leadership abilities

Fakhar (vc)
Babar
Kohli
Haris
Sarfraz (c)
Shadab
Faheem
Kuldeep
Hasan
Amir
Bumrah

^ On potential and leadership abilities

Fakhar (vc)
Babar
Kohli
Haris
Sarfraz (c)
Shadab
Faheem
Kuldeep
Hasan
Amir
Bumrah

Potential/ talent and you are leaving out some of the top talent like rohit, Rahul and Shikar, that too for average stroke makers like Babar and Harris. :facepalm:

It’s like me picking up Ishant and umesh over hasan and Amir.

Potential/ talent and you are leaving out some of the top talent like rohit, Rahul and Shikar, that too for average stroke makers like Babar and Harris. :facepalm:

Rohit is a selfish player and I dont like selfish players, Rahul I have watched enough to see that Babar and Haris are better than him (have much better records too) in odis. Kid has a long way to go. Dhawan unfortunately missed out as Fakhar is a lion heart and I will pick him in a big match.

And lol at Haris and Babar as average stroke makers. What next should I select Hussain Talat on potential?

Rohit is a selfish player and I dont like selfish players, Rahul I have watched enough to see that Babar and Haris are better than him (have much better records too) in odis. Kid has a long way to go. Dhawan unfortunately missed out as Fakhar is a lion heart and I will pick him in a big match.

And lol at Haris and Babar as average stroke makers. What next should I select Hussain Talat on potential?

Some Indian and “Pakistani” fans say that Manish Pandey saab is better than all of our batsmen.

Must be some attention seeking Pakistanis. Domestic follow ki nai, players ka pta hai nahi aur aa jatay hain burayyan krnay. In both odis and tests, our young lot is getting closer and closer to their Indian counterparts. Soon we will be at par. Malik, Hafeez aur Shehzad ki dunya sai bahir niklain to inhain pata chalay na..

It is nothing when a glorified slogger like Fakhar is classified as a big match player after just one instance of a fluky innings

Class is permanent - if MS thinks he'll play even till 2023 WC, I am sure he'll do it in proper merit, without politics and he'll deliver as well. There are temporary slump for every player, he was passing through that. Also, MS set such an standard that the expectation was sky high, still what he is doing as a WK-Batsman is better than most. MS is a perfect team man - he could have broken many of SRT's ODI records by volume, had he kept batting at 3 and stopped keeping, but he chose the tougher route, which benefited his country.

As a Captain, he is easily the best around in South Asia - just see what he is doing with CSK team. He isn't spring chicken any more and does the most physically demanding job in the game, therefore it's getting tougher day by day, but even as a specialist bat at 5 (& DK keeps from 6), he'll be an asset for IND team in WC.

It is nothing when a glorified slogger like Fakhar is classified as a big match player after just one instance of a fluky innings

Hahahahaha. It would be better for you to stay quiet before further embarrassing yourself.

Class is permanent - if MS thinks he'll play even till 2023 WC, I am sure he'll do it in proper merit, without politics and he'll deliver as well. There are temporary slump for every player, he was passing through that. Also, MS set such an standard that the expectation was sky high, still what he is doing as a WK-Batsman is better than most. MS is a perfect team man - he could have broken many of SRT's ODI records by volume, had he kept batting at 3 and stopped keeping, but he chose the tougher route, which benefited his country.

As a Captain, he is easily the best around in South Asia - just see what he is doing with CSK team. He isn't spring chicken any more and does the most physically demanding job in the game, therefore it's getting tougher day by day, but even as a specialist bat at 5 (& DK keeps from 6), he'll be an asset for IND team in WC.

Thanks for the reply.
I always believed that he will be vital to india in the upcoming wc. He is among the calmest players under pressure situations and there will be atleast 2 to 3 situations where team will benefit from him be it in batting or his presence on field to guide kohli.
If he gets back to his best like in this ipl he would single handedly resolve our middle order problems.

Bhuvi is overrated in odis. Not wicket taker. And this is coming from indian.

My bowling would be:

Hassan
Amir
Bumrah
Kuldeep
Chahal/Shadab

hahaha.. bhuvi is not a wicket taker but Amir is..

Yes Bhuv Kumar with a bowling average of 38 in ODIs is a better bowler than Amir who has a bowling average of 29.

Sometimes it helps to remain quiet rather than speak up and expose your lack of knowledge.

The guy who thinks that nobodies like usman are better batsman than the likes of Kohli and Rahane is now giving us lectures about batting. The irony.

Point me to the post where I said Usman is better than Kohli and Rahane ??
Pathetic post. Next time be careful and dont say things which arent true.

No Indian wants Manish Pandey in the team. I don't know where you're getting your 'facts' from.

Combined Pakistan-India XI means nothing, because Pakistan is a mediocre, low ranked team while India is a world class highly ranked team.

Any Pakistan-India combined XI will mainly be composed of Indian players. Both KL Rahul and Pant should be permanent fixtures in the team.

Must be some attention seeking Pakistanis. Domestic follow ki nai, players ka pta hai nahi aur aa jatay hain burayyan krnay. In both odis and tests, our young lot is getting closer and closer to their Indian counterparts. Soon we will be at par. Malik, Hafeez aur Shehzad ki dunya sai bahir niklain to inhain pata chalay na..

Yes, we have been hearing this nonsense for years. Get rid of XYZ and this will happen, that will happen. Before you, people came to this forum with Umar and Shehzad in their usernames and after you, someone will come with XYZ in their names.

The fact is that the gap between India and Pakistan is only widening. Their cricketing culture, mentality, coaching, infrastructure, exposure etc. is only a sign of things to come.

No doubt Babar and Haris are very good players. They are a lot better than the dross we have been producing for years, but they are only deaf kings among blind men. India will always produce superior batsmen, and they have surpassed us in the bowling department as well.

You are only setting yourself up for disappointment with your delusional thinking. No, we will not be "soon at par". We will continue to languish at the bottom of the rankings, while India will continue to be ranked in the top 3.

That is the reality of the situation, take it or leave it. The U-19 World Cup was only a sign of things to come - the gulf between young Indian players and young Pakistani players will only widen.

PCB simply cannot compete with the resources of BCCI.

Hafeez and Kohli in the same batting line up, that would be a mouth watering prospect, both undisputed modern greats of the game.

KL Rahul has an extra gear that neither Babar nor Haris can dream of possessing. He is a special player who can not only play the anchor role but also be very explosive when required. He has greatly underperformed in ODIs so far, but it is only a matter of India giving him a consistent run at a fixed position.

If you do not like selfish players, you should have seconds thoughts about how much you like Babar, a zero impact ODI batsman who has not learned how to pace an ODI innings in three years. Haris is a better batsman than him, but his fitness is shambolic, which is why he cannot play long innings like Babar.

A fit Haris is undoubtedly a better player than Babar. It is a shame that the selectors did not give him an opportunity earlier. Babar is out of his depth if Pakistan needs to chase 300+. He kills the momentum of the innings and consumes too many dot balls in the first half of his innings.