Will anyone ever catch Sachin Tendulkar?

LOL ... you knw... even if we dont agree on Akram and Tendulkar...
At least we agree on John Lennon...
The best music legend that ever was.... :19:

Ah a Tendulkar thread.

To answer the OP, I don't think anyone will catch his ODI record seeing as ODI cricket is likely to decline in frequency over the coming years.

Test cricket someone will beat it for sure, but I doubt any current batsman will.

Lara of course would have beat that record had he got to play so much cricket on dead flat roads :batman: or Ponting if he hid at number 4 instead of 3.

Random Aussie said:
Ah a Tendulkar thread.

To answer the OP, I don't think anyone will catch his ODI record seeing as ODI cricket is likely to decline in frequency over the coming years.

Test cricket someone will beat it for sure, but I doubt any current batsman will.

Lara of course would have beat that record had he got to play so much cricket on dead flat roads :batman: or Ponting if he hid at number 4 instead of 3.

Rone wale phir ro R A h e hein

Cheguvera said:
What about the opposite end of the spectrum where he is made out to be the greatest batsman of all time...when at least half a dozen in the history of the game are ahead of him, hands down...

The same bias also deems Kapil Dev to be the greatest allrounder in the 80s as well...

Those who are making him out to be one of the greatest are some of the best in cricket themselves including Lara, Richards, Bradman, most of the ex, current players, experts. So they have some credentials unlike some posters on the internet who know so little about the game of cricket that they really believe that a test match, let alone a series, can be single-handedly won by one player.

Random Aussie said:
Ah a Tendulkar thread.

there is no meaning of 'could have' or 'would have'...it's purely illogical....
question is who the hight run getter...now, if you argue Don Brandman would have set all the records, had he played 100 tests....

or Rahul, Kallis would have set the records,. had they been selected in the nation team at the age of 15....

your justification logically doesn't mean any thing....it' all about consistency, motivation, willingless, longevity, physical and mental fitness fitness...and that's too in the country like Indian where crickters are blown away with the fame and money...if anyone wants to learn handeling the pressure and fame...just learn from Sachin...

another perfect example is Vinod Kambli, who was equally very talented...but blown away with Fame, money and style...

onlycricket said:
there is no meaning of 'could have' or 'would have'...it's purely illogical....
question is who the hight run getter...now, if you argue Don Brandman would have set all the records, had he played 100 tests....

or Rahul, Kallis would have set the records,. had they been selected in the nation team at the age of 15....

your justification logically doesn't mean any thing....it' all about consistency, motivation, willingless, longevity, physical and mental fitness fitness...and that's too in the country like Indian where crickters are blown away with the fame and money...if anyone wants to learn handeling the pressure and fame...just learn from Sachin...

another perfect example is Vinod Kambli, who was equally very talented...but blown away with Fame, money and style...

:D

onlycricket said:
there is no meaning of 'could have' or 'would have'...it's purely illogical.......

Not really. If my ancestors did not die my clan would be ruling the earth.

Whats wrong with some iffy logic. :yk

*** is wrong with these bangla clowns..... giving life after life to this guy!

is there a consipiracy here?? i know SRT is richer than BCB itself
are they trying to hide him from bad form?

Romali, you got some direct raftaa with the god seems.

You are in business.

Random Aussie said:
Iss main koi hairani ki baat naheen kay yeh aik Indian keh raha hai :inzi
Oh my...the coaching is going on well :14:

Romali_rotti said:
Nah Nah no double Ton, I dont want SRT's highest score to be against Bangladesh hope he gets out soon....

He can get out at 201

Indiafan said:
Where's the Ponting snail pic?
:P

262lhtk.jpg

"If Tendulkar gets to atleast 159 today and remains not out, or get to 214 and goes out, he will have a higher average than ponting in tests! Go Tendulkar!"

pullshot said:
"If Tendulkar gets to atleast 159 today and remains not out, or get to 214 and goes out, he will have a higher average than ponting in tests! Go Tendulkar!"

It looks like you keep calculator in your pocket while watching cricket match... :))

onlycricket said:
It looks like you keep calculator in your pocket while watching cricket match... :))
It was a comment from someone on Cricinfo. He merely pasted it over here.

Bublu Bhuyan said:
Too bad you are another one making smart comments without checking out facts. Next time please do so. 70% of Tendulkar's centuries in ODI cricket has resulted in wins. Check-Mate !!

Oh, and no matter how brilliant you think the Akram was, I think he was a worthless match fixer who sold out his country and someone who had to tamper with the ball to get his wickets, just like how you think Tendulkar to be a useless run scorer. I'm sure you have no problems with it ?

Ambrose just took 10 wickets less than Akram and that's because of the less number of matches/innings played by him. But he took wickets at a far superior average and a better strike rate than Akram.

BTW, Ambrose, McGrath >>>>>>>>> Akram, Waqar

Oh dear :))) :))) :))) :)))

Geordie Ahmed said:
Oh dear :))) :))) :))) :)))
Oh man, if he can have an opinion that Tendulkar is a useless run scorer who spells doom for India (without any facts), then why can't I have the opinion highlighted by you (supported by facts) ?

Bublu Bhuyan said:
Oh man, if he can have an opinion that Tendulkar is a useless run scorer who spells doom for India (without any facts), then why can't I have the opinion highlighted by you (supported by facts) ?

of course you can have it BUT be prepared to be laughed at :))) :)))

Geordie Ahmed said:
of course you can have it BUT be prepared to be laughed at :))) :)))
Ambrose - 405 wickets @ 20.99, SR 54.5, Econ 2.30

McGrath - 563 wickets @ 21.64, SR 51.9, Econ 2.49

Akram - 414 wickets @ 23.62, SR 54.6, Econ 2.59

Waqar - 373 wickets @ 23.56, SR 43.4, Econ 3.25

:13:

Bublu Bhuyan said:

Stats doesn't matter. Who was talented? :)))

Garuda said:
Stats doesn't matter. Who was talented? :)))
It's about who produced better results. BTW, it's not that I consider McGrath and Ambrose better, I just tried suggesting it to Dr. Bassim, whether he can accept it or not.

Bublu Bhuyan said:

Lage raho bablu bhai. This is called mian ki jooti mian ke sar. :))

Bublu Bhuyan said:

if we get only one bowler of this league, we would rule the cricket world on the field...but sadly we have best bowler Zaheer and Ishant... :(

onlycricket said:
if we get only one bowler of this league, we would rule the cricket world on the field...but sadly we have best bowler Zaheer and Ishant... :(

Dil pe mat le yaar

May be thats why we have extra solid batting. just compensating the bowling.

Bublu Bhuyan said:

Geordie Ahmed : sleeping............ DO NOT DISTURB

Garuda said:
Dil pe mat le yaar

May be thats why we have extra solid batting. just compensating the bowling.

del pe lene wali baat hai yaar....Sehwag, Dravid, Sachin etc are among all time greats for India...by the time good bowlers arrives...they will be retired :-(...
India had the best chance to rule the world cricket in this era of great batsman...awesome batting but fissadi bowling...what a combination :))

bantu said:
Geordie Ahmed : sleeping............ DO NOT DISTURB

look who is talking...
you guys will point to agarkar for the most destructive bowler india ever had! and still have no shame in bragging akram and waqar

onlycricket said:
del pe lene wali baat hai yaar....Sehwag, Dravid, Sachin etc are among all time greats for India...by the time good bowlers arrives...they will be retired :-(...
India had the best chance to rule the world cricket in this era of great batsman...awesome batting but fissadi bowling...what a combination :))

Thats called "Shakti ka Shantulan".

"Balancing the powers"

Bublu Bhuyan said:

Whats that got to do with the price of fish?

Actually i have come to a logical conclusion...
To make Indian fans happy, you somehow just have to portray Tendulkar as the best cricketer there was..
Unmatchable, untainted and unbeatable
And they will shower you with praises and say how balanced you are with your opinions.
But if God forbid, Tendulkar is besmirched by someone's vile lips as a little less than Godlike.. Then be prepared for them to start a useless war :26:
All just to prove that Tendulkar is lovely.
For all i care, Tendulkar can make 40000 runs and score 100 centuries in Tests
Bradman >>> Lara = Ponting >>> Tendulkar
Now start crying and bring up more stats
And incidentally, ALL INDIAN posters are banned from celebrating on Tendulkar's hundreds in ODI after this Post from Bublu The Great

"Brett Lee's bowled well in one-day games against a team of no-hopers. One-day cricket is a joke. Kasper [Michael Kasprowicz] has done the hard yards, done nothing wrong and bowled his **** off. An idiot can get wickets in one-day cricket. Lee got dropped because he doesn't do the job in Test cricket. He has done nothing else but take one-day wickets. Why should he get picked again? If Brad Hogg, Andrew Symonds and Darren Lehmann take wickets in one-day cricket then what does that tell you about bowling in one-day cricket?".

And i repeat now.. start crying and blabbering about another useless century against Bangladesh, and be happy ... cuz he does score... against Zimababwe too... and Nowadays.. keep playing Sri Lanka.. cuz thats where he can thrash spinners ...

Dr_Bassim said:
To make Indian fans happy, you somehow just have to portray Tendulkar as the best cricketer there was..
And they will shower you with praises and say how balanced you are with your opinions.
But if God forbid, Tendulkar is besmirched by someone's vile lips as a little less than Godlike.. Then be prepared for them to start a useless war :26:
And incidentally, ALL INDIAN posters are banned from celebrating on Tendulkar's hundreds in ODI after this Post from Bublu The Great

"Brett Lee's bowled well in one-day games against a team of no-hopers. One-day cricket is a joke. Kasper [Michael Kasprowicz] has done the hard yards, done nothing wrong and bowled his **** off. An idiot can get wickets in one-day cricket. Lee got dropped because he doesn't do the job in Test cricket. He has done nothing else but take one-day wickets. Why should he get picked again? If Brad Hogg, Andrew Symonds and Darren Lehmann take wickets in one-day cricket then what does that tell you about bowling in one-day cricket?".

And i repeat now.. start crying and blabbering about another useless century against Bangladesh, and be happy ... cuz he does score... against Zimababwe too... and Nowadays.. keep playing Sri Lanka.. cuz thats where he can thrash spinners ...

wow!! Doctor sahib ko to Gussa aa gaya.
Sachin is God. :P

Lol.. its because in Pakpassion i see so many biases against favorite players.... that i dont know whether to laugh or to cry

For Indians, Tendulkar is the best , and no one can deride him.

For some Pakistanis, anyone who says anything against Afridi is just a joker trying to pass time. I mean he is good and when he is, but when he makes the most lame statements and the lame shots, they still defend him like he is the reason why cricket is alive
Personal biases... Thats all what Pakpassion is about for most fans....

Dr_Bassim said:
Lol.. its because in Pakpassion i see so many biases against favorite players.... that i dont know whether to laugh or to cry

For Indians, Tendulkar is the best , and no one can deride him.

For some Pakistanis, anyone who says anything against Afridi is just a joker trying to pass time. I mean he is good and when he is, but when he makes the most lame statements and the lame shots, they still defend him like he is the reason why cricket is alive
Personal biases... Thats all what Pakpassion is about for most fans....

I understand.

Just watched the movie "All The Best" and straight from the movie

"Chill Dr. Chill"

water-glass.jpg

Garuda said:
I understand.

Just watched the movie "All The Best" and straight from the movie

"Chill Dr. Chill"

water-glass.jpg
Lol thank you. I hope thats not mixed with drugs ? :26:

lol...Garuda is on a roll today. Have you visited the cricket clips section by the way and watched the hitler video? That cracked me up big time...I think Asif himself gave hitler a glass of water... :))

Bublu Bhuyan said:
It's about who produced better results. BTW, it's not that I consider McGrath and Ambrose better, I just tried suggesting it to Dr. Bassim, whether he can accept it or not.

You havent reported his post. Are you feeling OK?

Hooked _for_6 said:
Ponting: one step forward, two steps back! (In terms of catching up on centuries with Tendulkar)

Ponting doesnt care for records - never has & never will.

Team achievement is his sole priority...and his 'Team CV' looks impressive

Dr_Bassim said:

Let me preface what I'm going to say, by stating I am not Indian.

So what you are saying is there is NOTHING Tendulkar can do surpass Ponting and Lara? Even if he gets the record for the highest score in a Test or First Class game. Even if he scores twice as many hundreds as the next guy. Even if is Average surpasses Ponting...by Ten or Fifiteen.

What you've basically said is that your outlook is jaudiced it is worth nothing. So you hope you don't mind if I (and every other cricket fan) ignor it.

People think Tendulkar is the greatest because he hold all the big records. And unforunately for you Tendulkar's form is on the upstroke where as Ponting's is in a downward spiral.

In the end once Ponting looses the captaincy he will retire, still thousands runs and tens of hundreds behind Tendulkar.

Tendulkar is special player. I don't think we will see his likes again in my life. When he leaves cricket, a part of my love of cricket will die. :(

tdigi said:
lol...Garuda is on a roll today. Have you visited the cricket clips section by the way and watched the hitler video? That cracked me up big time...I think Asif himself gave hitler a glass of water... :))

Point me the link.

Hooked _for_6 said:

So what you are saying is there is NOTHING Tendulkar can do surpass Ponting and Lara? Even if he gets the record for the highest score in a Test or First Class game. Even if he scores twice as many hundreds as the next guy. Even if is Average surpasses Ponting...by Ten or Fifiteen.

What you've basically said is that your outlook is jaudiced it is worth nothing. So you hope you don't mind if I (and every other cricket fan) ignor it.

People think Tendulkar is the greatest because he hold all the big records. And unforunately for you Tendulkar's form is on the upstroke where as Ponting's is in a downward spiral.

In the end once Ponting looses the captaincy he will retire, still thousands runs and tens of hundreds behind Tendulkar.

Tendulkar is special player. I don't think we will see his likes again in my life. When he leaves cricket, a part of my love of cricket will die. :(
The point is not whether my outlook is prejudiced or not... the point is why cant Indian fans accept opposition of views... thats all i want... They just have to bring stats to downgrade our players... just to prove that Tendulkar is the best... thats my point..
oh btw, did i ever want my views to be Pulitzer Prize :26:
Do i want universal popularity of my views ?
Do you really think everyone thinks Tendulkar the best there ever was because you think he is the best ?
Does it matter you are Indian or not ?
dont be so naive... Have a heart... Learn to respect opinions. ;-)
The next time Tendulkar scores an Odi century i will keep picking Bublu's statement he used... *** for TAT :D

Dr_Bassim said:
The point is not whether my outlook is prejudiced or not... the point is why cant Indian fans accept opposition of views... thats all i want... They just have to bring stats to downgrade our players... just to prove that Tendulkar is the best... thats my point..
oh btw, did i ever want my views to be Pulitzer Prize :26:
Do i want universal popularity of my views ?
Do you really think everyone thinks Tendulkar the best there ever was because you think he is the best.
Does it matter you are Indian or not ?
dont be so naive... Have a heart... Learn to respect opinions. ;)

I have the same view point as you...
unfortunately all your pleas will go to deaf ears!

Seriously their minds are very complex :))) you better stop trying to increase their maturity level.,....
I have tried and failed

because he is an Australian? He looked desperate for his 100 in the last test to me

Dr_Bassim said:
D

No, YOU missed the point. When someone makes a factually incorrect statement, then people do have the right to bring up facts to disprove it. Also, they can give examples of other players to show that the wrong facts can make anyone look a lesser player

Indiafan said:
because he is an Australian? He looked desperate for his 100 in the last test to me

of course he was looking to get a ton as he was having a lean patch before that.... again he didnt score em against bangladesh in dead pitches

abdul2009 said:
of course he was looking to get a ton as he was having a lean patch before that.... again he didnt score em against bangladesh in dead pitches

So any batsman who is not having a lean patch and playing against BD should not score a Ton?

And yes, he didn't score them against Bangaladesh but against a team just 1 rank above them.

Indiafan said:
No, YOU missed the point. When someone makes a factually incorrect statement, then people do have the right to bring up facts to disprove it. Also, they can give examples of other players to show that the wrong facts can make anyone look a lesser player

Graeme Pollock had a test average of 60
Facts
Graeme Pollock >>>>> Tendulkar ??? :26:

Garuda said:
So any batsman who is not having a lean patch and playing against BD should not score a Ton?

And yes, he didn't score them against Bangaladesh but against a team just 1 rank above them.

and when did i say it?

sachin is greedy and you can see it if your eyes are not blinded by national bias...

he never misses test matches against bangla.
even in the 2 tons against pathetic bangla he was dropped like n number of times.
etc etc

many of his actions definately tend to suggest he is a very GREEDY player

Dr_Bassim said:
Graeme Pollock had a test average of 60
Facts
Graeme Pollock >>>>> Tendulkar ??? :26:

You didn't like people bringing stats and wanted ppl to respect other's opinion.

But why don't you let them have their opinion if they think SRT is best they have seen?

Else go for a full stats war. not just the average of one batsman.

Sorry mate..gotta disagree there. Case in point being the last test match against India in India.

He was bowling with part timers when Dhoni and Bhajji were batting just to avoid being on the wrong side of the match refree since he was behind the over rate. This when the Australian "team" was trailing the series 0-1. He could well have risked a ban and bowled with his strike bowlers to get that elusive one wicket which would have enabled his "team" to have better chances of winning the game and squaring the series.

Allan Border was furious and remarked on air "I am glad Ricky can't read what I think now. Because he is not going to like it one bit".

abdul2009 said:
and when did i say it?

sachin is greedy and you can see it if your eyes are not blinded by national bias...

I will take national bias out if you take hate glass and discuss.

he never misses test matches against bangla.

As a national player, he should go on date rather than playing test. What is ponting doing then. They are definitely not playing against the no1 test side.

even in the 2 tons against pathetic bangla he was dropped like n number of times.
etc etc

Well for this I would say "Tujhe mirchi lagi tho mein kya karoon"

many of his actions definately tend to suggest he is a very GREEDY player

Yahh too bad , too greedy to leave everyone behind. We don't have a selfless batsman like your team. I like that.

Garuda said:
You didn't like people bringing stats and wanted ppl to respect other's opinion.

But why don't you let them have their opinion if they think SRT is best they have seen?

:14: :14: :14:
sachin is the best... happy????

now go home please

Garuda said:

Because of this :26:

Hooked _for_6 said:

Its all good to have an opinion thinking Sachin is the best, but if he gets personal on my opinion ...
I have to start giving facts too.... dont I ? ;-)