Would you marry outside your race?

So how important is pushtunwali I know there is the :

-Melmestia:Hospitality
-Badal: Revenge
-Jirga
-Tor: Protection of woman's honor
-Tarboor: the hostility between cousins?

there are people who follow it religiously

there are then those that dont

personally the one part i will never follow is...if somebody killed my family and that same person came to seek refuge...i wouldnt give him refugee but give him the same fate...

aprt from that everything else is alright...hostility between cousins? that i have never heard of lol...

P_P is right. In all the Pathan tribes you will find Sayyids living with them since centuries. P_P belong to a village which is exclusively occupied by Sayyids in the heart of Mandarn Yousafzai's land. Since they are living from centuries with Pukhtoons they are merged in every Pukhtoon tribe. They hold lands, positions and a very special respect in every Pathan's eyes. They are respected because they belong to the bloodline of our Prophet (PBUH).

dare manana rora :)

blah blah mong

really cant expect anything less...lol

da aghyaar khabaray kho bilkul na manam

LOL NJamal ... Busted!

@OP, I believe Pashtuns are pretty hardcore about this sort of stuff, more so than the rest. Fair play to them I guess.

Am not being racist but why do pastuns act big headed with all the pastun code and stuff. I am a mix- punjabi, Pashtun, Kashmiri however consider myself as a Pakistani.
Like some members have mentioned about pure blood- no, that is just blatant racism- is half my blood pure and the other half impure??

The day when we get out of this thinking- this is the day we will progress as a nation.

The only thing that should matter is when we are cut we bleed green.

Why do you guys keep on mixing the stuff, by playing with words and at the end ,almost every discussion here is worthless.

I put forward my point based on the genetic theories/assumptions and as a student of medicine,it is logical and appropriate for me to take that course.

But taking philosophical POV on the very same subject; well we all know what that means.

LOL NJamal ... Busted!

@OP, I believe Pashtuns are pretty hardcore about this sort of stuff, more so than the rest. Fair play to them I guess.

You are right, we are pretty hardcore in this matter and for good reasons too.

^ Foozee you are going OTT. You want me to be banned? Refrain from such comments.

This thread is turning into pashtoons vs others thread lol

they started it by mocking me :P

i continued it

this is why pakistans never going to succeed...lol...ethnicities will never get along...ever...

another reason why i created this thread

i had a feeling people liek this would appear and chat ****

@ Fozzee You are really a fool he is telling me to leave this and you are not getting it.

Well it doesn't help when you speak a language that a majority of the readers can't understand what has been said.

nice responses guys

only njamal guessed correctly

majority of the pakistanis went for the pakistanis :P

the two indian dudes kfc zinger and chaiwala went for the indians...

lethal sami u completely guessed wrong haha...those are not the ppl at all :P...neither of them are called saba or the other 1 u said lol

order

1.afghan
2.pakistani
3.indian
4.indian
5.afghan
6.pakistani (pukhtun origin but punjabi speaking)

violet may : sorry dude-ess :P

so the general consencus here is that people would be willing to marry outside their culture?

are ye just saying it now just to look liberal or in reality that is how it is :P...because there are also those that have said they would only marry in their own culture

I went for 1 and then 6 and neither is Indian. Though I had an inkling that they wouldnt be. :D Dil ke aagey kisi ki nahin chalti :P

there are people who follow it religiously

there are then those that dont

personally the one part i will never follow is...if somebody killed my family and that same person came to seek refuge...i wouldnt give him refugee but give him the same fate...

aprt from that everything else is alright...hostility between cousins? that i have never heard of lol...

so if i remember correctly you won't follow 'nanawatay'?

Tarboor(the son of fathers brother?) I'm told stands in tge sense of rivaly between cousins.

Good luck to you finding an appropriate Pakhtun Wifey for yourself. I tell you one thing, there is nothing like finding the right life partner, I swear! So take your time and make the right choice. It is your life we're talking about, it's important. :moyo

What is this I am reading? mujhe toh bara maskha laga rahe the aap, ke shadi barbadi hai, shadi karke pachtao gay, shadi na karo toh acha hai, shadi kiye baghair hi sahi ho, bachelor life achi hai. :moyo

so if i remember correctly you won't follow 'nanawatay'?

Tarboor(the son of fathers brother?) I'm told stands in tge sense of rivaly between cousins.

i cant bring myself to follow it...but knowing me i probably will...i dont like bloodshed...unless im very angry

i jus dont see how anybody can forgive somebody who has murdered your family etc...its overly civilised...and inhuman( very few are this perfect)...all humans would want revenge...which is also an obligation...i dont know

it confuses me

i would howver protect somebody who needs my help...just the evil person who has harmed me is a bit iffy

@ Abdullah22 thats because of the saying that loha lohay ko katta hay. Because you share common lands with your cousins thats why this rivalry develops. But when you are in a fight with outsiders these same cousins (Tarboors) will be the first to come to your rescue.

does it mean "all the below mentioned guys are just picking up a fight,brother"

yes...why are u fighting with the guys below...leave it...may have said it wrong in anger and typing fast lol

to which fozee replied with insulting my sister most like...the pen etc noo stands for that...and he thinks i cant understand punjabi lol

ur pashto is pretty good man

yes...why are u fighting with the guys below...leave it...may have said it wrong in anger and typing fast lol

to which fozee replied with insulting my sister most like...the pen etc noo stands for that...and he thinks i cant understand punjabi lol

ur pashto is pretty good man

Thanks brother....it is GENES speaking.

Is it ok according to Islam, to take steps to keep your race pure?

cant understand why people are fighting here, out of jealousy?
I like the nation of pukhtun.
I always liked brave men and brave nation. From chechnya to the people of zulu.

According to ISLAM, NO; as is proven by the fact that PROPHET(saw) facilitated HADHRAT BILAL(RA)`s marriage to his(saw`s) blue blooded cousin.

^^^salam NASIR bhai.......can you please throw some light on 'SWARR'

You mean Swarra.

It was practiced till 30-40 years ago in Pathans but now it is very rare.

To end an enmity between the two parties usually a blood feud the Jirga would sometimes pronounce one party to give in marriage one or two of the girls from their family to the other party. In this way they were forced to bind in a relationship and end the enmity. In most of the cases the other party would return the girl or girls back in honor.

cant understand why people are fighting here, out of jealousy?
I like the nation of pukhtun.
I always liked brave men and brave nation. From chechnya to the people of zulu.

bhai i didnt say anything...i siad i was a sayyid pukhtun to which fozee and cavalry12 laughed

what i said was in retataliation and havnt been that rude since my initial comment in anger

i am not jealous of anybody...its a sign of severe weakness

@ummer : rora...a few bad seeds shouldnt make an opinion solid because there are very nice guys out there too...i know plenty but then i also know the very bad ones i stay away from

In Islam human beings are made equal no 'race' is superior to other.
Muslim are allowed to marry an other Muslim of any 'race'.

If someone doesnt want to marry outside its race only because of jhalat, arrogance or sense of superiority that's his/hers choice and we will be held responsible for our own actions no need to make a mountain of other ppl's act.

bhai i didnt say anything...i siad i was a sayyid pukhtun to which fozee and cavalry12 laughed

what i said was in retataliation and havnt been that rude since my initial comment in anger

Not accusing anyone particular. Just wondering why we find it hard to respect eachothers view of their orgin no matter how absurd they might seem to us.

I have also heard some ridiculous claims from punjabi side but didn't laughed at that guys view.

@ummer : rora...a few bad seeds shouldnt make an opinion solid because there are very nice guys out there too...i know plenty but then i also know the very bad ones i stay away from

Will keep that in mind and i agree with what you are saying but the point is that people just keep on posting here just for the sake of it,without adding anything to the table and come with beliefs that are not going to change,which most of the times are preformed and minds shut.

No way did i intend to hurt or demean anybody,what purpose would it have served me....i don`t know anybody here personally.

People here come to push there agendas and when you don`t fall in line with that, they resort to coercive tactics and personal attacks and FINALLY derail the very essence of the thread. Just look at the fate of thus very thread, you tried to experiment(with the photographs) and instead of cooperating they lead it to dead end.

^^ it genuinly isnt absurd though...i explained in my post why i am what i am...and njamal also backed it up

its a first time that nobody has belived me

normally its, you have to be a shia because your a sayyid...

Will keep that in mind and i agree with what you are saying but the point is that people just keep on posting here just for the sake of it,without adding anything to the table and come with beliefs that are not going to change,which most of the times are preformed and minds shut.

No way did i intend to hurt or demean anybody,what purpose would it have served me....i don`t know anybody here personally.

People here come to push there agendas and when you don`t fall in line with that, they resort to coercive tactics and personal attacks and FINALLY derail the very essence of the thread. Just look at the fate of thus very thread, you tried to experiment(with the photographs) and instead of cooperating they lead it to dead end.

yeah man i know...anyways not important anymore...dont care what they think...

i get where your comming from...story of my life man...but i make nothing of it because i also know some very nice guys from punjab...and for me they matter more than the various crap you get everywhere else...

@ Abdullah22 thats because of the saying that loha lohay ko katta hay. Because you share common lands with your cousins thats why this rivalry develops. But when you are in a fight with outsiders these same cousins (Tarboors) will be the first to come to your rescue.

thanks for the clarification.
Didn't understood it very well.

When I first heard about the concept I was surprised to know that the cousins hate eachother.

^^ it genuinly isnt absurd though...i explained in my post why i am what i am...and njamal also backed it up

its a first time that nobody has belived me

normally its, you have to be a shia because your a sayyid...

I never said it's absurd but some people like to view the negative in everything.

thanks for the clarification.
Didn't understood it very well.

When I first heard about the concept I was surprised to know that the cousins hate eachother.

That is not hate but you can call it rivalry. But it doesn't apply in all cases though.

Of course....

I am from Hyderabad, India and I am married to a girl speaking Hindi...

The cultures are different. But we belong to the same caste and religion. But Religion and Caste never came to my mind when I married her... :sachin

People who worry too much about caste, ethnicity, language are just ridiculous... As long as both can speak a common language and both understand eachother well, it should not matter. :kapil

Mithun and HK - dont ever post anything of such low quality on this forum or you will be banned.

Keep this discussion within bounds of decency. Thanks

hmm, interesting question.

has to be Pakistani, don't want any other nationality, and it probably won't be acceptable to the parents anyway.

would be perfect if she was Kashmiri, but its not a deal-breaker. :butt

interesting question...personally considering i grew up in pakistan and was born there then yes i am pakistani ( can speak urdu fluently and understand punjabi)

but am fully aware that im an afghani race ethnically,culturally and linguistically( pukhtun)

other afghans say im afghani...

but a pakistani pukhtun or afghani pukhtun i would marry...

AZ: are u kashmiri?

pata nai, none of my family have colored eyes, or are left-handed....:13:

genotypically its a frequent eye colour in kashmiris and afghans...both mountain folk

I think most people of scythian origin tend to have colored eyes.

Also among certain castes in India..

Konkanastha Brahmins in Maharashtra(blue/green eyes are very common)..
People from Himachal Pradesh often have colored eyes..
A lot of Punjabis also have colored eyes to go along with Kashmiris..

To a lesser extent in the rest of India. 1 in every 200 might have colored eyes.

Surprisingly my mom's 2 sister's have green eyes out of 7 siblings.Both my Grandpa and Grandma had brown eyes.

something I've learned about marriage in desi families is that you should try to get married with someone with similar culture as you .This makes people more compatible as opposed to people that marry outside their culture.Lets face it , when you have two people living together , there will be arguments and fights .Both of you will have to compromise .It becomes easier with a person of the same culture since the compromises aren't as much as compared to someone outside your culture. E.g if you are marring outside your culture their norms and values will be different from you in a lot of cases and will conflict directly with your's in some cases. When you are marrying with and with the approval of your family these things are less frequent . I am not sure if i am doing a good job explaining it because it sounded a lot more thought out in my head.May be I am not using the right vocabulary or something .Hopefully someone else here can explain it more eloquently .

Yes I'm considering marrying outside my culture nationality and ethnicity but not outside my religion. She might be Turkish unfortunately I have learned that most Turkish girls don't have the right character and a bad personality.

- Isn't Chinese/Japanese/east asian no matter how attractive some of them might be. Sorry but I do not wish to gift my kids epicanthic fold. 100%

Do you know that Turkish people are descended from the Turkic / Gokturk people who are a central asian people. They have Oriental blood.
Caught yourself in a little dichotomy there champ!

lethal sami u completely guessed wrong haha...those are not the ppl at all :P...neither of them are called saba or the other 1 u said lol

order

1.afghan
2.pakistani
3.indian
4.indian
5.afghan
6.pakistani (pukhtun origin but punjabi speaking)

dude i only got 5 and 6 wrong............and 6- u said that she's pukhtun origin so i was close..

5 looks like Aman Ali (Pak actress/model)...

2 is Saba Chaudary for sure.....u must be mistaking....

6 is best looking though:afridi