Serendipity

First Class Player
India V Aus - Boxing day Test, STARTING @11.30 P.M - 25TH - GMT

Australia v India, 1st Test, Melbourne

Ponting calls for tempered approach

Siddhartha Vaidyanathan in Melbourne

December 25, 2007

You hear the bowling machine clank, hear the ball thud onto bat, and voices echo around the walls. You see Anil Kumble calmly compose himself and hear him answer every question patiently. There's a calm about the indoor nets at the MCG, an air of assurance almost. All until Ricky Ponting walks in, rattles answers as if he's at an examination, laughs, and fills the room with an energy that was missing earlier. And all this without a microphone.

Both are tremendously aggressive cricketers but while Kumble exudes a quiet sort of energy, Ponting is more animated. It's a possible sign for the series: Australia going all out for the kill, India preferring the silent ambush; one side intent on coming out swinging, the other hoping for the crucial, fatal, counter-punch. You feel it in the answers: one gushing about the quality of his side, the other saying, wait and watch.

Both are colossal figures for their respective sides - one arguably the country's greatest bowler, the other being mentioned in the same breath as the Don [Bradman] - and it's fitting that they will walk out to toss in a gigantic arena that is the MCG. Kumble's priority was predictable: "put runs on the board". He's spent most of his career traveling with a batting line-up that has unraveled abroad. He himself is a different bowler when he has the comfort of runs on the board. He thrives on applying pressure, revels in bogging the opposition down. He's also clear that he's "first a bowler and then a captain". One cannot afford to come in the way of the other.

Ponting's career has coincided with Australia's golden age. He knows the conditions, knows the pitfalls, more importantly knows how to win. He holds forth on the Melbourne weather, the pitch and the conditions. Occasionally he throws in an 'aw, look mate' but never does he let up on the speed. He's spent the previous two hours in an optional net session, joined by around ten kids frolicking around. He mainly faced throw downs but the Christmas cheer was unmistakable - his team-mates' children having a go in the side nets.

Ponting is mostly dead-certain. The pitch isn't just damp, it's "very, very damp". He remembers Shane Warne's dictum for the MCG - "If it seams, it spins" - but knows he possesses the ammunition of work around it. "Mitchell Johnson impressed everybody against Sri Lanka. Stuart Clark's Test record at the moment is as good as any going around. I'm very confident we're going to take 20 wickets in every Test we play this summer."

Occasionally they both echo the same sentiment. India will first try and plot a means to get 20 wickets but Kumble is well aware of the need to keep the batsmen quiet in case they hit a roadblock ("We have plans and bowlers to hit the right areas"). Ponting also knows, from past experience, that Australia will have to refrain from over-attacking. "Last time [in 2003-04] we did over-attack some of their players just the little bit ... If you look to the way we played against India last time [2004], we bowled a bit differently." He knows the dangers of a bouncer barrage. "It's not how many you bowl, but when you use them."

And just once in a while they drop their guard. Ponting, for all his aggression, knows the importance of a tempered approach. He feels they over-attacked in Adelaide last time around and "probably let them score a few too many runs". Kumble, for all his guarded responses, bursts through forcefully towards the end: "I am positive that we will be able to do well here on this tour. I don't see any reason why we can't win." No Indian team has managed to do so in the last 60 years, and this one is up against it, but Kumble will know a thing or two about scaling barriers.

Siddhartha Vaidyanathan is an assistant editor at Cricinfo

© Cricinfo

Australia v India, 1st Test, Melbourne

Australia all set for MCG dominance

Siddhartha Vaidyanathan in Melbourne

December 25, 2007

Fresh from blasting the Pakistan attack to all corners, Sourav Ganguly has a stiffer task at hand, and that too in his 100th Test © AFP

Take a walk in Melbourne's Central Business District and the theme is simple: big. There's the impressive Rod Laver Arena, the imposing Crown Casino, rows of skyscrapers, and the enormous MCG. Nobody needs any directions for the G, as it's referred to here, just get near the vicinity and look for the massive light towers. G is for gigantic.

Come Boxing Day and close to 70,000 are expected to fill the arena, a ground where Australia haven't lost since 1998 - that too in a nail-biter against England. The last time they drew here was against South Africa in 1997. The previous eight Tests have all ended in Australian victories. The chances of another Australian win? Huge.

The last few years have seen India evolve into a fine Test side but this will be their biggest test of all. A maiden Test win in South Africa was bookended by historic series wins in West Indies and England but they will need to pull rabbits, parrots and kangaroos out of the same hat to have a chance here. They've come with a weakened pace attack and a batting line-up four years older than 2003. The nature of the challenge ahead of them? Massive.

Ricky Ponting didn't want to reveal the team composition but suggested a return to Test cricket for Brad Hogg, the chinaman bowler whose last Test was more than four years ago. He will back up Stuart Clark, a mean seam bowler in the Glenn McGrath mould, and left-armer Mitchell Johnson, who has tasted success against India in the one-day format. The pacey Shaun Tait may miss out but all could change if the pitch is damp on the first morning.

"He is a guy that can break a game open in a matter of couple of overs," Ponting said of Tait. "What we lost in McGrath and Warne we gained in a few other guys doing different roles."

India are likely to go in with a similar combination: three seamers complementing Anil Kumble, though there could be a toss-up between Ishant Sharma and offspinner Harbhajan Singh. Ponting didn't think Ishant would play but a five-wicket haul in the recent Bangalore Test against Pakistan could see him win a spot as the third seamer. Zaheer Khan and RP Singh, architects of the Indian win in England, will be expected to take the new ball. It has been confirmed, meanwhile, that Rahul Dravid will open the batting along with Wasim Jaffer, with Yuvraj Singh bolstering the line-up at No.6.

Tony Ware, the head groundsman, thinks the pitch will be flat but feels bowling first may be the way to go. Ponting didn't rule out the possibility. "Through this year, in domestic cricket, the pitch has been very flat. But this has got more moisture in it than any of the first days of other games. So, it's going to be a tricky decision. It's probably going to be bowler-friendly from the looks of it. It's going to be pretty slow and seam around."

What has he usually preferred at this ground? "I don't win that many tosses so I can't tell."

India's best batsman on current form is expected to walk in at No.5. It will be Sourav Ganguly's 100th Test. As a captain he's thrived against Australia but his batting heroics are largely confined to his sublime hundred in Brisbane last time around. Ponting offered a note of caution: "I've been lucky to play a hundred Test matches. I was quite nervous going in, and I put a bit more pressure on myself going in. I'm sure Sourav will be feeling a bit anxious and a bit nervous as well."

Ganguly won't mind being nervous initially if he achieved what Ponting managed: a unique feat of scoring a hundred in each innings of his 100thTest. The scale of celebrations that will follow that feat? Big, really big.

Teams (likely)
Australia - 1 Phil Jaques, 2 Matthew Hayden, 3 Ricky Ponting (capt), 4 Mike Hussey, 5 Michael Clarke, 6 Andrew Symonds, 7 Adam Gilchrist (wk), 8 Brett Lee, 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Stuart Clark, 11 Brad Hogg

India - 1 Wasim Jaffer, 2 Rahul Dravid, 3 VVS Laxman, 4 Sachin Tendulkar, 5 Sourav Ganguly, 6 Yuvraj Singh, 7 MS Dhoni (wk), 8 Anil Kumble (capt), 9 Zaheer Khan, 10 RP Singh, 11 Ishant Sharma/Harbhajan Singh

Siddhartha Vaidyanathan is an assistant editor at Cricinfo

© Cricinfo

Whats the weather like in Melbourne anyone?

Is this game going to get underway on time?

I want us to play positive cricket and give a good fight irrespective of the result .

Is it me or is India being overrated by these journalists? Its not going to be a close series.. India are going to be swept away by the Aussie juggernaut.

Lets hope the Aussies can shut them up!

I would say win the toss and Bat, surely Aussies will do just that get runs on the Board and then have a go at indian batsmen, Indian batsmen probably be too nervous to bat first up win the toss and bowl first to expose any moisture ,my advice would be to bat first, this would be positive intent.

Just an hour to go and hope India lose the toss and Brett Lee comes tearing in...the stage is set, 100,000+ in the MCG on Boxing Day and one of my fave bowlers runs through the Indian top order with some fiery bowling coupled with a few words like Happy Holidays!!!

My prediction if India bat first - 60-4 at lunch
If Aus bat then 115-1 at lunch...Jacques to be 50+ not out and Ponting to cream some sumptious pull shots!!

aus win the toss and will bat.

kumble blames the umpires already for the forthcoming loss.

So its 6:30 US Eastern time, right??
20 mins to go then. I would be a lot more excited if Pakistan was playing. It really does get dull when Pak isnt playing.

india going with two spinners ... hahahha .. bad move !

kashif77 said:
india going with two spinners ... hahahha .. bad move !

Harbahajan will do no worse than Ishant. He would have been murdered by Aus considering how wayward he was against Pakistan.

Indians are warming up again. and now umpires are out and players taking field

Australia vs India | 1st Test | Melbourne | Day 1 | 26/12/07

About to begin guys Aus have won the toss and elected to bat first !!!

I switched on Sky Sports to watch a match which I hoped to be on a bouncy, fast Australian track, a welcome change from the recent slow and low dross seen in the India-Pakistan series...fourth ball of the match hardly reaches the keeper's ankles...how dull...sleep beckons.

0/1

about 8 plays and misses so far. Great bowling by Zaheer Khan.

India bowling really well so far. Nice to see a wicket with life and also nice to see the sun

Moisture in the surface has provided some entertainment. India only have two seamers so the Aussie opening pair need to be watchful in the first hour at least. Harbajhan might get a bit of grip on this surface so I expect him to bowl sooner rather than later.

RP and Zaheer are too unlucky on this flat flat pancake. Too many edges to boundaries exactly in the gaps.

3rd slip is back in now. swing looks to go a little less now or maybe the bowlers are tired each with six overs

Aussies in attacking mood.In last 10 overs they have piled on 55 runs.

These hapless Indian bowlers will be smashed to all parts of the ground just as I had predicted. What will be end of the day score. Indians will be lucky to pick up a wicket but I think it will be something like 0-375.

No Indian commentator yet (channel 9). Something going on in a section of crowd. Some Indian supporters were facing some other spectators and having some fun

Aus 89-0 after 20 overs

Time for Kumble to put the ball where his brain that picked 2 spinners including himself is and get smashed rather than his poor bowlers.

^^ not too great bowling i guess. :))

but im not watching so i might be wrong. :|

I have been watching for the last 10-15 minutes and seems like a batting wicket. Totally devoid of grass. Australis 600+ runs....India should also score a lot of runs.....
In my books it is a drawn game!

Chappell might be talking about the Buchanan issue later in the cricket show

Fast and bouncy pitch my foot ! It reminds me of some of the flat pitch that we find in Faisalabad, St.Johns, Chennai. Well played Australia. Nothing in it for bowlers. It is a complete graveyard for spinners. India needs to get lucky 10 times to get 10 wickets.

typical...australia bat first and take the game /confidence and hence the series away from the opposition .....India wont recover from here.....

jackal786 said:
Fast and bouncy pitch my foot ! It reminds me of some of the flat pitch that we find in Faisalabad, St.Johns, Chennai. Well played Australia. Nothing in it for bowlers. It is a complete graveyard for spinners. India needs to get lucky 10 times to get 10 wickets.

haha...already you are crying...haha

I don't see Australians taking 20 wickets on this beauty of batting surface. India should hang themselves if they do manage to lose 20 wickets on this pitch.

can't believe this pitch ... what the heck was the curator so afraid off ??

imo .. this match has a high likelihood of a draw.

what a shame.

UsmanhailsAfridi said:
haha...already you are crying...haha

Australia scored 400 runs on day 1 at adelaide in 2004/05 and went on to lose the Test against India. So don't get ahead of yourselves. :p

kashif77 said:
can't believe this pitch ... what the heck was the curator so afraid off ??

imo .. this match has a high likelihood of a draw.

what a shame.

Even before the match Curator pronounced it is going to be flat because he didn't have time to prepare the pitch. But from what they are telling, this pitch has been flat right through the first class season.

Our bowlers apart from Zaheer look frustrated out there .Body language is poor .Hope will have some energy after lunch.

Indian fielding is going to look very ordinary here. Relative to Hayden and Jaques Indians are moving in slow motion.

Very impressed with Jaques, he looks like a natural for the team.

ye wow...quite a start...it would be nice to c india win this session to make the match interesting

India's goal is draw. Should have gone with Pathan instead of known failure like Harbhajan who could not get anything right on Indian surfaces let alone off spinner graveyard Australian surfaces.

On this kind of a wicket it is surprising that the Aussies didn't go in with Tait. His ability to bowl express pace through the air and those searing yorkers would negate the pitch to some extent. Lee and Johnson can crank it up but short and sharp bursts from a bowler as dangerous as Tait can be lethal on any surface.

Hopefully Hogg will get plastered in this test so that Tait can return in the second test as he will add to the entertainment value.

The Aussies will have 600 halfway through day 2 and all the pressure will be on India.

Hayden survives. Kumble drops a catch at point. It was low to left but catchable and not a very hard or half chance
Aus 144-1

saffer said:
typical...australia bat first and take the game /confidence and hence the series away from the opposition .....India wont recover from here.....

^^ :))) :))) you sound so confident!! :))

Ponting bowled by Zaheer coming around the wicket
Aus 162-2
Hussey in

jackal786 said:
Zaheer deserves it. Superb delivery.
True .He bowled magnificently and got the big wicket at the right time with a beauty of a delivery.

haha

so now the wicket is not flat again...where are my indian friends....jackal786 bhai....kya pitch flat hai?....

UsmanhailsAfridi said:
haha

so now the wicket is not flat again...where are my indian friends....jackal786 bhai....kya pitch flat hai?....

It is a flat pitch. Those were superb deliveries. Pitch did absolutely nothing. Kumble's wickets are more due to lack of practice against Kumble.

wow.....maybe I have to eat those words...ponting and hussey out for almost nothing...GO INDIA !!