Eng v Aus: 423 runs to win in 17 ovrs + final day [14/8/05]

Amjid Javed

PakPassion's 100,000 posts man
Theres no way Australia are gona win this test, however can they get a draw or will england win?

Australia 24/0 (399 more runs to win) or 90 overs to survive!
:20:

play will go until 1830 pm only so seems like aussies have to bat all day tmoz to save match...!

If any team can do it then it is the Aussies, but it looks like a Draw to me if they go in tomorrow with all wickets in hand.

agree Amjid.

I think they should go for it for the first 20 overs or so. If they have lost a couple of wickets they should play it safe.....otherwise keep going for it.

Whatever happens, it is going to be tough but as someone (apologies, forgot who and can't be bothered to check) said earlier, if anyone can do it, the Aussies can! It will take something special.

agree Amjid.

I think they should go for it for the first 20 overs or so. If they have lost a couple of wickets they should play it safe.....otherwise keep going for it.

Whatever happens, it is going to be tough but as someone (apologies, forgot who and can't be bothered to check) said earlier, if anyone can do it, the Aussies can! It will take something special.

i wudnt go about it that way. best way is to play session by session and see the situation is at tea. aussies over-agressiveness has cost them to many wickets already this series... on flip side being to negative can be bad.. aussie must just bat normally but with some common sense...!

As our fine neighbours discovered in Bangalore!

I agree with you. Just play normal cricket for two sessions. Put away the bad balls, keep rotating the strike......if they need 150 from 30 overs at the end with 7 wickets in hand, I'd put my money on Australia to win.

As our fine neighbours discovered in Bangalore!

I agree with you. Just play normal cricket for two sessions. Put away the bad balls, keep rotating the strike......if they need 150 from 30 overs at the end with 7 wickets in hand, I'd put my money on Australia to win.

pakistan v england at old trafford in early 2000 was another example where going defensive can cost a team a game.

The pressure will get to the aussies and i expect england to bowl them out.....unless warne has other ideas!

Aussies r not gonna loose this test for sure!...it will be either a draw or a record breaking win!

can't wait for tomorrow's play!

arsal_pakfan said:
Aussies r not gonna loose this test for sure!...it will be either a draw or a record breaking win!

can't wait for tomorrow's play!

Er, why?

just my predictions :D

anyways i dont think English bowlers have it in them to bowl Australians out again on this dead pitch in just 1 day!...watching the game i thought as if its a sub-continent wicket!

Aussies have the quality to pull it off. A draw here sets up the series nicely.

The way Australia have been playing, the wont even come close. Apart from Langer and the now injured CLarke, none of the batsman have done much of note. Although Warne has batted really well

omg, there a mile long queue outside ground now just for tickets for todays play.

£10 for adults and £5 for kids...

i hope and pray Inshallah this match will be a draw or an australian win. They must win!

Read on Cricinfo, people queuing since 7.00 am at OT today.
Come on England! (Never thought i'd ever type those words :).)Knock that arrogant, hypocritical Aussie team on its Ass!

I read in Yetserdays's Jang that Inzi is very impressed with the way Eng. are playing as a team, and watching their performances closley, as part of their preparations.

I reckon it's gonna be a great series when eng tour Pak.

Aussies will most likely lose this one.

The batsmen all seem out of form (No ton so far), and the england bowlers seems to have them worked out and are they are feeling very confident.

oh no langer goes to hoggard in 2nd over of the day...

If Hoggard performs today, all bowlers would be termed successful come next Test match.

Imran_The Man! said:
Read on Cricinfo, people queuing since 7.00 am at OT today.
Come on England! (Never thought i'd ever type those words :).)Knock that arrogant, hypocritical Aussie team on its Ass!

I read in Yetserdays's Jang that Inzi is very impressed with the way Eng. are playing as a team, and watching their performances closley, as part of their preparations.

I reckon it's gonna be a great series when eng tour Pak.

great series. aray Imran bhai we shd request PCB to tell ECB that their are serious security prbs. bcoz i m expecting a Great thrashing of Pakistan test team. sound pessimistic but thats the fact. England has become a superb test team and Pakistan the less said is better.

lets see Ponting has the nerves of steel like Steve had. its the time for Ponting to show the world that he is comparable to Inzi, Sachin or Lara or even Kallis who recently saved a match for South Africa. if Kami and Abdul can do it then 9 Aussies shd do it. ok England bowling is way too strong than Indians but we only had 4 wkts and no specialist batsman left. Ponting, Hayden, Martyn and Gilli are too good and shd still save this match

hoggard looks like hes gone knock pointing over any minute.

AJ bhai if class batsman like Ponting, Hayden and Langer have been jumping and dancing around against the new ball attack of Harmison and Hoggard then just imagine what will happen to our bachay batsman. Salman, another operner and YK :31: .

nedian21 said:
AJ bhai if class batsman like Ponting, Hayden and Langer have been jumping and dancing around against the new ball attack of Harmison and Hoggard then just imagine what will happen to our bachay batsman. Salman, another operner and YK :31: .

:21: am sure you wanted s malik as an opener...!

now can u see why i dont want malik to open! :19:

:21: am sure you wanted s malik as an opener...!

now can u see why i dont want malik to open! :19:

hmm u have a good memory. ya i am still with Malik as opener. as there is no better option. he has a big heart and atleast can do something. there is some chance with him scoring a scratchy 50 but with Hameed, Taufiq or Farhat i cant even expect a 20. if Pakistan team management can unearth a good decent opener then i m fine with that. But will support Malik ahead of Farhat, Hameed or Taufiq.

nedian21 said:
hmm u have a good memory. ya i am still with Malik as opener. as there is no better option. he has a big heart and atleast can do something. there is some chance with him scoring a scratchy 50 but with Hameed, Taufiq or Farhat i cant even expect a 20. if Pakistan team management can unearth a good decent opener then i m fine with that. But will support Malik ahead of Farhat, Hameed or Taufiq.

s malik should invest in armour body suit and take out life insurance if hes gona open against this lot. he cudnt handle bouncers from best/powell...

it was his 1st innings as test opener. atleast showed some balls and scored some runs in the 2nd innings. at the end of the day runs matter. doesnt matter how he has got them. 2nd thing there is no better alternative . i want to see him at number 5 or 6 as a genuine test batsman but right now there is no place for him. opening is the only slot and the guy has fighting qualities and i m sure he will grab this chance

nedian21 said:

The reason's below for why the Aussies can't handle the English attack:
  • They are ageing
  • They haven't faced a good attack for a while.
  • They have been pressurised by the media, more than the English players.
  • Lack of confidence
  • A well prepared English attack.
  • Lack of form.
  • No bowling to back them up, as was the case in the recent past.
These are the reasons in no particular order, there are many more that have contributed to the Aussie's present state. Most of these reasons will not be applicable to the Pakistani team.

We have a young side, who recently faced world-class spinners in India and not to forget facing the Oz bowlers at home and in form.
We won't have as much English Media in Pakistan, England will find sub-continent conditons hard, we might have an injury-free side. And the biggest difference is AFRIDI.

what a shot by pointing off flintoff sixxxxxxxxxxx

alghazzali said:
The reason's below for why the Aussies can't handle the English attack:
  • They are ageing
  • They haven't faced a good attack for a while.
  • They have been pressurised by the media, more than the English players.
  • Lack of confidence
  • A well prepared English attack.
  • Lack of form.
  • No bowling to back them up, as was the case in the recent past.
These are the reasons in no particular order, there are many more that have contributed to the Aussie's present state. Most of these reasons will not be applicable to the Pakistani team.

We have a young side, who recently faced world-class spinners in India and not to forget facing the Oz bowlers at home and in form.
We won't have as much English Media in Pakistan, England will find sub-continent conditons hard, we might have an injury-free side. And the biggest difference is AFRIDI.

Ghazzali bro if the same Aus batsmen are batting against any attack then the picture wud be completely difference. so ageing point is useless. Hayden, Ponting, Langer, Martyn and Gilli can still murder any bowling attack apart from this English attack which is too good. ur 2nd point is the most valid one. they havent faced a really good attack. at times Shoaib and some other bowlers have given them problems but bcoz of lack of any good support bowler Aus were able to get back into the match. also they still trying to impose themselves as they used to do and have been quite successful but against this attack they shd go back to basic and play normal and at times defensive cricket.

Aus have always been very strong mentally to be pressurised by media and hype etc. i dont think so that is the case. the only reason of their failure i can see is that their batsman are not ready to accept this that they cant impose and play authoritative cricket against this attack. also no support bowlers for Mc Warne. and Ponting sucks as captain. Gilli or Warne wud have been better captains.

now come to our great test side. we have a young side. so what does this prove. we faced Aus bowlers. ya obviously we faced them. if u r playing matches against them u will face them :19: but what we did against them is the question. biggest ever defeat in Perth and 9 wkts defeats in other 2 against the same ageing Aussies. There is a big difference b/w Indian bowling and English. England were able to clinch a series victory with their pathetic side last time when they toured Pakistan. and remember Pakistan had a very good side in those days. so dont give this reason that conditions will be difficult for them. and about Afridi. yar i dont know some Ppers have made Afridi into a new saviour type thing. ok he has improved a lot in recent months and have really played well. but common he is still not a test level opener or a test number 6. what big DIFFERENCE will Afridi will be able to make. dont get me wrong i m also his big fan but dont make Afridi into a Miandad or Tendulkar type thing.

Nedian bhai, ageing has come into it i.e knowing it's most likely the last Ashes series for most of them.

Aus have always been very strong mentally to be pressurised by media and hype etc.

Even the best would surrender under this hype, these players have been scrutinised so much, we forgot it's a cricket game. So the pressure of losing to the Poms with the last Ashes series for the likes of Mcgrath and Gilly can be overpowering. The pressure is inevitably there.

we faced Aus bowlers. ya obviously we faced them. if u r playing matches against them u will face them :19: but what we did against them is the question.

You are bang on, but I really do hope our batsmen learnt from their mistakes.

so dont give this reason that conditions will be difficult for them.

Its a first time for most. Harmison and Flintoff won't be half as effective as they are here.

I was only joking about Afridi, but on a serious note, I think the guy can provide such mental blows, that even the best tend to get nervous.

hayden gone superb over from flintoff

aus 96/2

The wickets at old trafford and edgbaston are just like those in pakistan. only diffrence is swing. however thru pace and bounce harmison/flintoff will cause problems for our batsmen...

Anyone who thinks englands bowlers wont cause problems on asian tracks are kidding themselves... weve struggled against bowlers like balaji, collymore and dilhara fernando... so pakistan fans plz dont delude urselfs..!

nedian21 said:
great series. aray Imran bhai we shd request PCB to tell ECB that their are serious security prbs. bcoz i m expecting a Great thrashing of Pakistan test team. sound pessimistic but thats the fact. England has become a superb test team and Pakistan the less said is better.

Some time ago you might have been right, but the team has come on leaps and bounds in the last 8 months. They showed in India, and WI, that they can play well as a team.

Hopefully England will bring out the best in them. It should be a cracking series, with good cricket from both sides.

Cm'on England, get into that tail!

MARTYN GONE..!

Seem like LBW law has changed according to steve bucknor you can be given out lbw of the bat!

Aus 130/3

f****** hell!

martyn given out lbw even though there was a thick inside edge

bucknor once again ruining the spectacle!

Steve Bucknor might have made a wrong decision against Australia, but it'll be the Indians to speak out loud about it.

MARTYN GONE..!

Seem like LBW law has changed according to steve bucknor you can be given out lbw of the bat!

Aus 130/3

we all think that Bucknor and Shepard have been biased towards India / Pakistan but they have become really inept umpires recently. 1 andhay sai tu jaan choot gayee lets c when we will get rid of this Steve Blind Bucknor.

Aus 154/3

pointimng slaps giles for two 4s in a row..

According to Cricinfo, Martyn was lucky before lunch anyhow:

Martyn lived something of charmed life in his brief innings up to the lunch break, including one amazing stroke of fortune. Facing Simon Jones, Martyn flashed outside off stump, seemingly playing-and-missing, as the ball flew through to the wicketkeeper. However, when TV replays with the snickometer were shown, there was clearly a noise as the ball passed the bat. England's fielders, though, didn't make a sound and Martyn just coolly prepared to face the next ball.

Ponting is the key here. he is playing really well. wud be a captain's innings Steve Waugh / Brian Lara/ Salim Malik type knock .

Whatever happens - the Australian domination of world cricket is OVER ! Read my Lips !!! Its Over ! Well done England !

katich gone... what a **** shot.. ball going across him.. flashes and is caught 3rd slip.

Aus 165/4

Katich gone. Aus in big **** with Clarke injured. Gilli has been somewhat Freddie bunny. idont think he will survive long.

AJ - who're you rooting for ? Pls dont say something silly like the best team ok !

Wheres RH and why isnt he dancing on the streets ?

MenInGreen said:
AJ - who're you rooting for ? Pls dont say something silly like the best team ok !

well u cant expect him to dance and post, can u?

ye to pakistanion ki khasiat hai :D

RH aint no Pakistani - he is a sympathiser but his true love in Engerland !

RH is realistic about England's chances. Gilchrist and ponting are still there. So no dancing yet.

MenInGreen said:

im hoping for a drawn test match!

Looks to me for cricket lovers - its a win win .

1. If Aus win today - it would have been one of the greatest 4th inning chases ever
2. If Eng win today - will prove that Aussie power is on its way down - some very interesting times ahead
3. If its a draw - it will be a nail biting one!

So enjoy everyone !

MenInGreen said:
Looks to me for cricket lovers - its a win win .

1. If Aus win today - it would have been one of the greatest 4th inning chases ever
2. If Eng win today - will prove that Aussie power is on its way down - some very interesting times ahead
3. If its a draw - it will be a nail biting one!

So enjoy everyone !
Must be a great match for all you neutral fans.

I support England, but Pakistan first. The only thing I can't bear, is the English arrogance after a victory like this. That might just work in the favour of Pakistan.

Let the celebrations begin.....

55.6 Flintoff to Gilchrist, one run, full and on the stumps, worked
through the leg side for a single