Ireland vs Pakistan | Only Test | Dublin | May 11-15, 2018 | Day 2 | Match Thread

Need to get 250 minimum. Excited to see what Shadab and Faheem can do with the bat.

Can't play 5 batsmen v England. None of the top 5 are consistent in scoring and England will have them 3-4 down for nothing regularly

Well we've beaten our 2007 WC total.

Sarfraz needs time in the middle especially if he's batting at 6, not another "busy 20" before getting out.

the amount of fear from English bowling here is just mind boggling..
Remember this team may be weak but they are not cowards :amir3

Shafiq does not play extraordinarily fast but the reason for his success against fast bowlers compared to everyone else is that he does not play at the pace of a snail.

It's not even fear of the English bowlers. It's our really ooor too order which will be unable to score consistently

Disappointing, Shafiq was looking good for a ton.

Again, this is exactly why we need another specialist batsman. Sarfraz needs to deliver a captain's knock.

Thanks.. that's always tough to counter even for experienced players.. a 200 first innings and our bowling can take them down hopefully..

I bet Amir will be struggling to take wickets in this condition as well

Playing 5 bowlers is an attacking move but the problem is Amir's last name is none for.

Repeatedly have said should have played 6 batsmen. This is far too predictable. Not sure what the 'thinktank' were thinking.

Shadab can only improve his batting by batting. He hasn't has many chances to bat at international level since making his debut.

Np yar..We need to bowl the right line and conditions & pitch will do the rest. Dont see Ireland crossing 200 if we follow basics.

No yaar pitch is gonna ease out under the sun so won't remain like this. Pitch was fresh n moist this morning but will ease out. We have better bowlers tho so should be fine

Shadab looking clueless so far. Can't even get bat on ball on deliveries which are on leg stump.

Pathetic batting from Sarfraz. Why play at that delivery when he was leaving the ball well?

For all the hate Kamran Akmal gets on this forum, seriously is Sarfraz any better?

Another insignificant 20 odd and he was giving catching practice.

We should not let Ireland to take more than 50 runs lead. Pathetic batting display

Faheem needs batting practice. Hasn't batted enough since his international debut.

As I said before with this tail we can go from 4 down to all out very quickly. Completely the wrong selection.

This is beyond my wildest dreams so far tbh.

Thompson went at 6 an over in our last domestic game.

For all the hate Kamran Akmal gets on this forum, seriously is Sarfraz any better?

Another insignificant 20 odd and he was giving catching practice.

Since 2016 English LO tour barrimg a couple of innings, his batting has been rubbish.

The England matches won't go into the 5th day. Same batting line has been struggling in UAE so no idea what people expect in England early summer

Where are the backers of this 'young and talented team'?? Top 6 barring Shafiq and Azhar are non existent

pathetic

and why are we playing a batsman short like we've got 3 atg batsman in the xi

azam needs to be dumped post the uk tour if he can't make any runs
maybe he just isn't destined to play test

At the press conference today some Pakistani journalist should ask Sarfraz for both an explanation and an apology for his shot.

people need to take a chill pill... too much negativity around here.. comon now!!! I am not even watching :( but hopeful..

Still here.
Support them, will come good.

So we are OK with losing TEST MATCHES so that a few blokes can go through some self discovery??? :facepalm:

You don't learn in International cricket that's why there is FC cricket and the top performers there are selected......... Oh wait!!

So we are OK with losing TEST MATCHES so that a few blokes can go through some self discovery??? :facepalm:

You don't learn in International cricket that's why there is FC cricket and the top performers there are selected......... Oh wait!!

This is probably the best squad Inzi could have selected for this tour.

Why are you wrist slitting :danish

This is a “young and talented team” ... they are learning.

I am not wrist slitting but this is what happens when you drop top performers from domestic and play blokes because they 'look' good in the nets.

We are struggling against a nation who's playing their first test and even if we somehow manage to overhaul them (due to their inexperience) even half good teams with proper FC players will give us a hiding just like SL did in the UAE last year

On bhai its the 1st innings.
Just relax. We will win inshallah.

Can't wait for the pitch to magically go flat when we bowl :amir2

Yes the revolutionary knows best because he's God fearing and played cricket :14:

No bro - unless you think the likes of Fawad Alam, Aizaz Cheema and Iftikhar Ahmed should be in the team because they are top F.C. performers....

I thought the whole point of preparing green pitches in domestic cricket was so that we'd be better equipped to bat in seam/swing friendly conditions ?!

By doing so our batsmen have forgotten how to construct long innings. Too many get in and make starts before getting out.

On bhai its the 1st innings.
Just relax. We will win inshallah.

Of course we will win because Ireland is massively inexperienced in handling test pressure at the business end but half good teams as shown by SL earlier in the UAE will phaintify us unless we play the correct players for the correct formats!!

Had 'fans' had their way Pakistan would've been still playing Umar Akmal probably.........