New Zealand take control of the 2nd Test as Pakistan reach Stumps on 0/2 on Day 4

Evenly poised?

Can Pakistan's last wicket-pair emulate New Zealand's effort from the first innings?

9FpmZHQ.png

==

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

Hasan and Naseem should get a rocket for throwing away their wickets unnecessarily.

Pakistan could have so easily got a lead here but now they are likely to fall good 30 runs short . Could be a decisive lead in this situation.

Another collapse has ceded the initiative.

New Zealand will try and rack up 350-400 and bowl after lunch Day 5 or sooner if can get the runs

Use Naseem to attack the off stump. Put a man back on the square leg boundary to avoid leg side boundaries. He needs to use the short ball to push them back on an uneven surface

There should be some rules introduced in PCB.

Wasting balls for milestones should not be considered Halal Cricket.

Sarfraz Ahmed is the only lion in the team who plays at consistent pleasant strokes at healthy rates.

If other players batted half as good as Sarfraz Ahmed, we would be leading by 125-150 now.

It seems this match is going to a Fifth day loss or draw. Which makes a series 0-0 draw. Not a good advertisement at all for Test cricket.

You cannot just block out sessions in against this level of opposition. If you just sit there long enough, they will get you. That's why you as a batsman need to be proactive and get your hits in before they get you.

Shakeel-Salman partnership was 53 from 150 balls. They could've easily made those 25 overs count for 80/90 runs and we'd be on par now, but maybe all out. Instead, we did nothing, and then collapsed anyway. A lose-lose.

If the RR of 3.78 from the Sarf-Shakeel partnership continued into the Shakeel-Salman one, they'd have scored 95 runs together and scores would be tied. Why did Shakeel slow down???

All hope is not lost obviously, there are 2 days left. However, that post-Tea batting has cost us a far better position. Inexplicable.

You cannot just block out sessions in against this level of opposition. If you just sit there long enough, they will get you. That's why you as a batsman need to be proactive and get your hits in before they get you.

Shakeel-Salman partnership was 53 from 150 balls. They could've easily made those 25 overs count for 80/90 runs and we'd be on par now, but maybe all out. Instead, we did nothing, and then collapsed anyway. A lose-lose.

If the RR of 3.78 from the Sarf-Shakeel partnership continued into the Shakeel-Salman one, they'd have scored 95 runs together and scores would be tied. Why did Shakeel slow down???

All hope is not lost obviously, there are 2 days left. However, that post-Tea batting has cost us a far better position. Inexplicable.

I liked the innings of Imam.

But suddenly, he put the brakes on all scoring.

Maybe the Multan Express lost traction due to grease from the Morning Siri Paye?

He was hitting 1 run off 30 balls when he reached 80*. It was very bizarre and hard to watch.

This has been an atrocious season by Pakistan.

On par with that 0-11 (or was it 0-12) away season by Indians a decade-ish ago. India, although, were a force at home.

Good news is: this mental torture will end in 2 days (maybe earlier :yk ).

Hopefully, Babar will be sacked as the captain and next time Pak play a healthy Shaheen will be back, Insha'Allah.

Nothing positive to say about the pathetic cricket Pakistan have played in these 3 home series.

I liked the innings of Imam.

But suddenly, he put the brakes on all scoring.

Maybe the Multan Express lost traction due to grease from the Morning Siri Paye?

He was hitting 1 run off 30 balls when he reached 80*. It was very bizarre and hard to watch.
Shakeel was slow to start only getting runs with Sir and even Sarfraz went from 45(50) to 55 (80).

They're all protecting their stats

Shakeel was slow to start only getting runs with Sir and even Sarfraz went from 45(50) to 55 (80).

They're all protecting their stats

Sarfraz is excusable. He had a good plan of attacking spinners whilst anchoring his wicket during the pending collapse.

I believe he was batting at 100+ SR after he got his fifty (then got stumped by the thinnest of margins).

Sarfraz was beyond excellent.

Shakeel indeed started very slowly and slowed again once he got his century. Had he kept batting at a constant rate, Pakistan would be in the lead now. But if you blame him, where will Pakistan be without his runs or the balls he faced ? Probably looking over an innings defeat.

Pakistan only hope of winning is restricting NZ to around 200 and chase it. Seems unlikely with this bowling attack.

Shakeel to go back pavilion without putting any on the scoreboard. NZ will score at 4.0 and get a 170/0 stand.

Pakistan tail enders: 8 runs combined from 4 batters
NZ tail enders: 124 runs combined from their 4

That's the difference and likely why Pakistan will go on to lose the game.

Last 5 wickets lost for 22 runs. That is unacceptable for modern standards, bowlers should be dropped for batting irresponsibly especially when they have left a well set batsman stranded at the end and have badly cost the team a decent position, that is the only way these tail enders will take their batting seriously.

Pakistan tail enders: 8 runs combined from 4 batters
NZ tail enders: 124 runs combined from their 4

That's the difference and likely why Pakistan will go on to lose the game.

Sodhi destroyed our tail wheras Abrar was easily played by everyone including number eleven. This tells you how over rated Abrar is with the ball.

Hilarious to single out Abrar when all of our bowlers got smashed. But carry on with your biased ridiculous agenda.

This amount of turn wasn't happening in day 2 either.

Mir Hamza strikes early. Conway missed the ball. Chalo koi nahi.

Hamza gets Conway.
Speed only 122 kmph though. He completely missed it.

Only way Pakistan can come back in the match is if Kiwi batsmen make mistakes and give away their wickets. It is possible, they're human as well.

Hamza's wicket

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/k81dxq" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

The quicker they score, more time their bowlers will have to go at the Pakistani Batsmen. Need to restrict the scoring rate..runs are flowing so far.

Hasan and Naseem should get a rocket for throwing away their wickets unnecessarily.

That would've made sense if Saud showed any semblance of initiative to score. Saud wasn't scoring at all. They were right to attack.

Kane slow inning cost first test for nz ,now he is doing same things

Saud's brainless blocking has put us in a really difficult spot.

Had he played normally, we could've easily had a 50-60 run lead. That would have given us a chance to win.

Williamson is a world class blunter on flat wickets.

Pakistan surely must have the worst success % in their reviews. Some of the reviews are so absurd & desperate.

Abrar as usual ineffective in comparison to Sodhi

When Pakistan were batting especially the lower order and tail, wickets won't stop to fall. Now the wicket looks good again.

Iam expecting nz to score at 3.5 per over and with the lead already they have, it will take them to around 300.Do you really think Pakistan will go for the victory on day 5 chasing around 300?

Pakistan may or may not go for the victory, but would NZ make a risky declaration where they could lose the match and series or would they bat till they they have batted Pakistan out of the match ?

300 in 100 overs is not very unimaginable, if Pakistan survive that many overs they will reach very close to the target. I wonder NZ would like to risk that.

Pakistan may or may not go for the victory, but would NZ make a risky declaration where they could lose the match and series or would they bat till they they have batted Pakistan out of the match ?

300 in 100 overs is not very unimaginable, if Pakistan survive that many overs they will reach very close to the target. I wonder NZ would like to risk that.
300 runs on day 5 wicket is not that easy to achieve. Except babar, sarfraz no one in this lineup scores freely. If Pakistan lost 2 or 3 quick wickets they will play for draw. I have watched Pakistan cricket enough to predict, how they think in these type of situations.

Another beautiful scorecard to wake up to. Pakistan will either fluke a draw after being 7-8 down or lose by 100+ runs.

I am loving every moment of Pakistan’s humiliation but those who love Pakistan cricket & support the team, I don’t know how you can bother to watch this nonsense.

What happened to Abrar not getting wickets today, Batsmen playing him easy so far.

That's been the story of his career since his debut first innings bowling performance. The real mystery is why is the Pakistani think tank still deluded that they have a mystery spinner in their ranks.

NZ doesn't need to make risky declaration. They can target 300 in 75 overs and give a target of 340 in 100 overs. Pakistan will never try to chase that.

That's been the story of his career since his debut first innings bowling performance. The real mystery is why is the Pakistani think tank still deluded that they have a mystery spinner in their ranks.

Mystery spinners rarely work in test cricket. Maybe a match or two at max.

Test cricket rewards regular stock outswing, seam movement, off spin, leg spin.

Mystery spinners rarely work in test cricket. Maybe a match or two at max.

Test cricket rewards regular stock outswing, seam movement, off spin, leg spin.

And the Pakistani team management where someone like Saqlain Mushtaq is the head coach does not know this?

Watching Babar on the field frustrates the hell out of me. I don't think the guy is least bothered by the teams performance and the fact we will end our home season in 2022 without a single win and having lost to the top sides.

Mr brave decision will find out this evening/Tom morning what a brave decision is when Nz score at 4s and declare.. Southee to put Babar under the pump. Pakistan deserve every bit coming their way.

The longer NZ bat good for Pakistan. Don't even think about chasing now, match is out of reach. Be ready to survive 90 overs on the final day.

62 more overs today and if they want to make up for yesterdays lost overs then 67 more but i dont think more than 58 60 will be possible. Pakistan will need to take the proceedings slowly , not fire away 3 minute overs as agha sahab is doing.

A Foreign team not even from SC is batting more comfortably than you in your own home Conditions. What has become of Pakistan team under Babar. Forget improving record in Australia, SA and England now at home things are getting worse..

Nz need a 130 plus runs session and then may be add another 70 80 in the first 15 overs of last session. Cant see pakistan chasing 250 plus.