Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

@PTI

I havent heard of him before. Is he a political heavyweight? And if so, I hope he realizes that he wont get a PTI ticket

Holy... Saadibaba, for God's sake stop your 360 degree arguing. You are making no sense. First you say people in rural areas have a short outlook, then you say they are more intelligent for supporting people who buy their votes by doing a few things here and there.

The fact that people are forced to vote in such a way is exactly why we need as many educated, well informed people to vote as possible. And if you are so hell bent on the fact that the expats are acting superior, well the fact that PTI is gaining momentum in so many areas means that even people living in Pakistan want a change. IK is able to draw large crowds from ALL walks of life because people support change. Stop arguing where there is no argument. :/ It's like banging my head against the wall; reading your posts.

If there is so much support for a new movement, and the expats are fired up along with the people living in Pakistan, then by all means a show of support is nothing wrong. Avoid the pictures if you want, these people have a right to express their opinions.

I live in Pakistan, and I've been to rural areas and these members of the PPP/PML-N who 'work' for their areas? More often than not it's just to garner a bit of support. Enough people complain of being made promises and then being abandoned. Open your eyes and stop inhaling the substance friend.

Sigh, I suppose I have anger issues and am paranoid too...

Anyway, back to the thread.

^^^

Chill my friend. Can't a person not express himself without everyone jumping on his back. I've already answered the questions you've raised in your post. Like others, you have taken my initial argument and expanded it into other topics. But anyhow, you have the right to disagree with my opinion and that is just what it is, an opinion. Try to avoid reading my posts if it causes you such mental torture, certainly don't wanna see you and others like you having a nervous breakdown, lol.

Imran Khans confidence is AMAZING. I am really starting to believe we're going to win a majority.

Sasti Roti Scandal Exposed

BJCK7ThCIAIcoq2.jpg

Imran Khans confidence is AMAZING. I am really starting to believe we're going to win a majority.

He said it in the public gathering today. Sher pe Thappa Lagana 11 May Ko :yk

Someone then told him Sir Sher Nahi Balla :))

PTI candidate Khan Sher Afridi (NA-45 Khyber Agency I) leads huge rally & Jalsa in Landi Kotal on 28 April 2013.

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=343128275809497" width="320" height="240" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Good Governance: Rs 25bn loans taken for 'Sasti Roti' scheme but #Punjab govt. had no money to pay back: AG's report

^^^

Chill my friend. Can't a person not express himself without everyone jumping on his back. I've already answered the questions you've raised in your post. Like others, you have taken my initial argument and expanded it into other topics. But anyhow, you have the right to disagree with my opinion and that is just what it is, an opinion. Try to avoid reading my posts if it causes you such mental torture, certainly don't wanna see you and others like you having a nervous breakdown, lol.

Quite chill sir jee.
Merely countering your opinion with my own. It happens on a forum. :O

P.S: Lived in Karachi for 20 years. I'm immune to nervous breakdowns.

imran khan clarified hasan nisar's anger towards him... hinted at not handing out tickets himself...

<iframe width="600" height="350" src="http://tune.pk/player/embed_player.php?vid=72672&folder=2013/04/29/&width=600&height=350&autoplay=no" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen scrolling="no"></iframe></p>

^ I saw this show. Imran's confidence is amazing. He makes you believe that he will sweep without any problems.

Imran literally sledged nooras, saying "Now that I have noon league on the mat, mujhay in pe tars aa raha hai" :))

Imran mentally disintegrating PMLN

Please check the worth of remittances, the worth of the Pakistani economy- and then check if our economy would be good enough without it. I don't think so, it's already in turmoil with billions of dollars worth remittances.
Going by your logic, if some Pakistani who is currently unemployed in Pakistan, goes abroad to find employment, doesn't love his country. Total BS. We all have to earn $$$, some of us have to move abroad to do it.
Oh and Please, I am in the middle east, and I just moved here a few years ago.I have seen the daily hurdles and problems the common man faces, in Pakistan. It is an indisputable truth that the average overseas Pakistani is much more well-educated than the average Pakistani living in Pakistan is. Nobody is saying they are more knowledgeable or wise than the average Pakistani in Pakistan. They are certainly more well educated, indisputable fact.

so where did u have your education then? given you just said that you moved few years ago from Pakistan? I am curious

aur yeh bharam internet pe hi hotay hain tumhare hamza, ya office mein bhi you carry on this posh public school boy t**t attitude?

^ I saw this show. Imran's confidence is amazing. He makes you believe that he will sweep without any problems.

Imran literally sledged nooras, saying "Now that I have noon league on the mat, mujhay in pe tars aa raha hai" :))

i have to say the campaign he is running is astonishing....sweep on 11th may for sure now inshAllah

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=546952391994233" width="400" height="300" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Guys, I'm thinking of not casting my vote. People are telling me there will be a lot of bloodshed on election day :/

There was supposed to be a lot of bloodshed last time but nothing happened.
Have faith in Allah. That's all I can advise.

My family keeps telling me not to go, but I keep telling them it's okay.

I'll have to make a decision soon enough.

Quite chill sir jee.
Merely countering your opinion with my own. It happens on a forum. :O

P.S: Lived in Karachi for 20 years. I'm immune to nervous breakdowns.

Lol, I've lived in Karachi longer than you. Unless you're living in certain areas, its hard to claim any immunity to emotions.

IK is brutal when it comes to playing psychological games with his opponents. Remember that black tiger T shirt he wore to the finals of the WC.

A bit premature to ask but in case PTI wins a majority in Punjab assembly or manages to get into power through coalition, who will be the candidate for CM from PTI ?

IK is brutal when it comes to playing psychological games with his opponents. Remember that black tiger T shirt he wore to the finals of the WC.

How can I forget. Have you heard the story of why he wore that? It was deliberate. He wanted the interviewer at the toss to ask about it, and that's exactly what happened. And rest as they say, is history.

I saw Imran's interview with inzi and rameez, where he explained his mind games, and then rameez and inzi would explain what went on in the pak dressing room as a result of those mind games.

It was truly amazing to understand how Imran thinks. You should watch it

My family keeps telling me not to go, but I keep telling them it's okay.

I'll have to make a decision soon enough.

Whatever you decide just make sure to keep safety as your highest priority.

How can I forget. Have you heard the story of why he wore that? It was deliberate. He wanted the interviewer at the toss to ask about it, and that's exactly what happened. And rest as they say, is history.

I saw Imran's interview with inzi and rameez, where he explained his mind games, and then rameez and inzi would explain what went on in the pak dressing room as a result of those mind games.

It was truly amazing to understand how Imran thinks. You should watch it

Yes, that's what I was referring to. Remember how he used Qadir in England. He created this whole myth about him as unplayable before he even bowled a single ball, English players were crapping in their pants thinking about facing Qadir. Lol.

:)) completely forgot about that. That was a brilliant strategy indeed.

He is playing mind games with PMLN as well. It's quite clear now

Anyone here from Taxila? I heard the jalsa there was amazing! Lots of junoon
Reporting! I wasn't at the jalsa unfortunately as I'm in Lahore currently. The jalsa was spectacular and some of my friends attended it.
The response of the crowd was amazing! Made me proud :)

397935_10151447030934527_1394702619_n.jpg

Imran Khan's got them where he wants them. Now deliver the knockout punch. The Tsunami March aka 13 Jalsas on GT road should deliver the knockout punch :)

:)) completely forgot about that. That was a brilliant strategy indeed.

He is playing mind games with PMLN as well. It's quite clear now

also shows he has a good analogical mind, where he can lift off an idea/strategy used in a different arena and use it somewhere else completely different, yet yielding similar results :)

toyota ceo, used the supermarket shelf strategy for his toyota car production is an example

From another angle. Shows the crowd that was hidden from the camera in the first one :)

308642_10151447292499527_1883602596_n.jpg

Reporting! I wasn't at the jalsa unfortunately as I'm in Lahore currently. The jalsa was spectacular and some of my friends attended it.
The response of the crowd was amazing! Made me proud :)

]

0tt0! How can I forget the Wah Cantt Insafian :)

This is good to know. So I guess, Ch Nisar is going down from Taxila

0tt0! How can I forget the Wah Cantt Insafian :)

This is good to know. So I guess, Ch Nisar is going down from Taxila
Ch. Nisar has already gone down my friend :) I'm predicting him to suffer his heaviest defeat in years! Insh'Allah.
JI is expected to come second. ;-)

What you saw in todays Taxila/Wah jalsa were the upper/middle class educated youth. Who are getting quality education and most of the benefits which the common Pakistani lacks.
Yet, they are still willingly to do their part in bringing a positive change to the Pakistani society.

An article on Maryam Nawaz in Guardian.

Maryam Sharif feels the love as she canvasses for her father, who is likely to become Pakistan's PM for a third time

Jason Burke in Lahore
Saturday 27 April 2013

The Observer

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/apr/28/pakistan-nawaz-sharif-daughter-maryam
----

The convoy slows. In front of the candidate's vehicle, men dance. Rose petals are hurled from the rooftops. Motorbikes swarm. "Look, look who is coming," supporters shout. A white tiger on top of a van yawns and stretches a paw. A small child and a 90-year-old party worker are hauled through the crowd to offer garlands.

"It's a beautiful feeling to be loved," says Maryam Sharif, leaning back in the seat of her luxury SUV three days into her first election campaign. "My shoulders hurt from waving six hours a day. I need to learn to wave wisely."

Sharif's constituency is in the heart of Lahore, the second biggest city of Pakistan. In two weeks, the nuclear power, so crucial to western strategy in the region and the fight against Islamist extremism worldwide, will hold a general election. It will be the first time in the 66 years since independence that one democratically elected civilian government will serve out its full term and be replaced by another.

Every day bombs kill three, four, a dozen. The last election, held in 2008, had been postponed after Benazir Bhutto, the two-time former prime minister, was assassinated by extremists at a rally. Despite continuing violence, authorities say these polls will be held on time.

Maryam Sharif is not actually standing herself. She is canvassing on behalf of the candidate in National Assembly Constituency 120. This is Nawaz Sharif, president of the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz), or PML-N, and the man who polls predict is likely to become prime minister for the third time when the votes are finally counted. He was first elected from this constituency in 1985 at the start of his political career. Maryam is his daughter.

"I didn't know what to expect but the response is massive. Every household is showering us with petals, throwing garlands. It's so invigorating. I didn't know the love for Nawaz Sharif until I went into the field campaigning," she says.

In Lahore, capital of Punjab province, the Sharifs are on home turf. The family live on a sprawling estate south of the city. At elections in 2008 they swept the city itself and won control, too, of Punjab province, the richest and most influential part of Pakistan. Maryam's uncle, Shahbaz, was chief minister of Lahore until elections were called last month.

"It's in the genes but it's not a family affair," Maryam, 39, says quickly. Pakistan is not short of political dynasties. The most famous is the Bhuttos. Benazir's father, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, founded the Pakistan People's party (PPP) and won power in the 1970s before being deposed and hanged by military dictator Zia ul-Haq. Her 24-year-old son Bilawal, a recent Oxford graduate, is joint chairman of the party. Bhutto's widower, Asif Ali Zardari, is president and the effective leader of the outgoing PPP government. The threat to Bilawal from extremists is so high he can barely campaign, addressing small crowds under heavy security.

Maryam, a mother of three, met Benazir Bhutto once, during the Sharifs' eight-year exile that followed the military coup that ended her own father's most recent spell as prime minister in 1999. Despite their ideological differences, the older woman left an "indelible impression", Maryam said.

The charismatic Benazir Bhutto, educated at Oxford and Harvard, instinctively pro-western, culturally Muslim rather than personally devout, enjoyed deep support in western capitals. But Nawaz Sharif has long inspired suspicion overseas and the 63-year-old business magnate's continued popularity has perplexed many.

But, analysts say, the very factors that jar with western diplomats are those that guarantee support among a large number of Pakistanis. Most recent polls say that Sharif's PML-N will win 41% of the votes in the forthcoming election. The party's own predictions are more conservative but still point to a significant victory.

At the party's newly refurbished campaign headquarters in Lahore's plush suburb of Model Town, rows of young workers sit at screens monitoring live TV broadcasts and social media. They are focused not on the national news channels followed largely by the elite, still less the English-language press or Twitter, but on the hugely popular local channels and Urdu-language publications.

Campaign workers say they believe 20% of the 85 million who can vote in two weeks are undecided. Of the core PML-N vote, only a sixth are in the big cities, they say. Most are in medium-sized towns unknown in the west. And Nawaz Sharif's fortune is seen as something to aspire to, not criticise.

The family also have a reputation for religious and social conservatism and being close to Jamaat-e-Islami, the local branch of the Muslim Brotherhood. Early support came from Zia ul-Haq, who launched a broad-ranging Islamisation campaign in Pakistan. When in power in the 1990s, Sharif pushed legislation strengthening traditional Islamic law in Pakistan, though supporters said the aim was to outflank the right. When forced into exile, by a military coup, the Sharifs were offered a haven by Saudi Arabia.

Equally disconcerting for Washington, Nawaz Sharif opposed Pakistan's support for the US-led "war on terror" and has called for an end to the drone strikes in the restive west of the country that have killed scores of top al-Qaida militants in recent years.

But if this worries the west, it strikes a chord with many Pakistani voters, particularly outside the urban elite. The core constituency, say party strategists, is "small town small traders". "We get called provincial and narrow-minded. But that's fine. We aren't. Our message is, 'Let's continue to build a better Pakistan'. It's about their hopes," one said.

The main opposition in the Punjab is no longer the Bhuttos and their PPP but Imran Khan, the cricketer-turned-politician. His Pakistan Movement for Justice party has attracted many, especially among the young, who want change. "They are sick of the same old faces. Sharif has done nothing to help the people in this constituency. Their basic needs of health, education, security are not being met," said Dr Yasmin Rasheed, a 63-year-old former gynaecologist campaigning for Khan against Maryam and her father.

Rasheed's supporters repeat well-known allegations of graft and incompetence during Sharif's earlier times in power when, it is claimed, cronies were loaned huge sums from state banks and tariffs manipulated to favour the family's business interests. PML-N officials deny the charges and point to the party's history of "competent management" which they say brought the country motorways, better relations with neighbouring India and successful, if controversial, nuclear tests in 1998. They point, too, to more recent development in Lahore, such as the ambitious new Metro Bus public transport system. The massive power cuts are blamed on the federal government.

Maryam Sharif's entry into politics – and talk of her as a potential future leader – also counters another image problem: that the party is too male.

"When you see the leader's daughter come forward then that shows the open mindset of the leadership allowing space for women in senior positions," said Anusha Rehman, a former PML parliamentarian and key official.

However, few claim that the leaders of the party share the suffering of the common people in Pakistan. Nor perhaps would voters expect or want them to. Though the NA-120 constituency includes the newly widened streets of central Lahore, there are many neighbourhoods where families live in dark one-room apartments with intermittent electricity and minimal sanitation. Food prices are soaring. Pockets of malnutrition and disease remain.

"It's not your financial status, it's the will to do something for others that matters. On the street, I am part of their ordeal. It's not about the class you belong to … it's the compassion you hold in your heart," Maryam said.

Outside the crowd is thicker than before. Meat shops line this street and the petals falling from rooftops land amid bones and blood. "Look who's coming," the party activists shout. Grinning butchers wave gory hands. The candidate's smiling daughter waves back.

Ch. Nisar has already gone down my friend :) I'm predicting him to suffer his heaviest defeat in years! Insh'Allah.
JI is expected to come second. ;-)

What you saw in todays Taxila/Wah jalsa were the upper/middle class educated youth. Who are getting quality education and most of the benefits which the common Pakistani lacks.
Yet, they are still willingly to do their part in bringing a positive change to the Pakistani society.

I am getting excited!! But I want to ask, why do you say Nisar is going down, and PTI will win with a huge margin? Is it based on this jalsa, or the situation on the ground there?

Ground realities. The urban vote is 80% in favour of the PTI. I toured the rural areas and people there are mostly willing to vote for the PTI. The youth are overwhelmingly pro-IK.

This jalsa only swung the undecided vote towards PTI. The youth factor in these elections will play a HUGE role!

@0tt0

That's awesome! I want Ch Nisar crushed by the balla. Bohot bolta hai ye. Do you have information about any other areas too?

@Insaf
This should be good for swing voters. I am donating for Naya Pakistan, if she is part of it :P

^^

LOL agar fake hoti to mein vo Ilfazz istamaal kerta jo mein nein kiye hain :P

Still few things not right that need to be fixed :)

Kya junnon ha Taxila walon mein...Cha gaye o tum log.....The calmness and happiness on Imran and Ghulam Sarwar khan's faces told the story..:)

^^

LOL agar fake hoti to mein vo Ilfazz istamaal kerta jo mein nein kiye hain :P

Still few things not right that need to be fixed :)

Got confirmation that this was actually a PTI themed fashion show, where all clothes were PTI related. The designer sold everything!!

DOes anyone have Imran's complete speech at Taxila? I heard part of it, and the junnon there is making me want to hear the entire thing

None of the channels covered it extensively,...

Almost all the evening crowds are bigger than noon crowds but channels have other programmes to show during that time..:(

What's the update about funding insaftak?

I just checked two funding pages at elections.insaf.pk and both give the impression that not many people are contributing. The counter is far from the goal :-/

Looks like Imran is spending whole day in home constituency Mianwali today

1 NIAZI BUS ADDA ESA KHEL(10 00 AM),
2 QAMAR MUSHANI HOCKEY STADIUM(11 00 AM),
3 SHAKAR DARA(12 00AM),
4 SUMAILKELL STADIUM,DAUDKHEL(2 PM),
5 MIANWALI CIRCUS STADIUM(5 PM)

^ He got not much time for his own campaign in 4 cities he is contesting. Would have been better for PTI if he could continue 5-6 jalsa in other part of Pakistan but understandable that he needs at least a day for his home seat.

guys I am a PTI fan, but this threads titile should be

PTI election updates

we should probably have another thread to discuss actual eletion news, battle grounds etc

An independent candidate , Abdul Fateh Magsi , in Jhal Magsi has been killed

guys I am a PTI fan, but this threads titile should be

PTI election updates

we should probably have another thread to discuss actual eletion news, battle grounds etc

Noone is stopping the Nooras or PPP fans posting their election updates.

@PTI

I havent heard of him before. Is he a political heavyweight? And if so, I hope he realizes that he wont get a PTI ticket

Brother he Belong to Tamman Family and related with Late Ex-MNA.This is his post on facebook.

"ASSLAM"O"ALIKUM,
Kch Din pehly Maine Pmln suporter ko Kushkhabri sunaye thi.aur ye bhi kaha tha k dosri kushkhbri P.T.I suporter ko bhi sunaoun ga..(x)MNA SARDAR MANSOOR HAYAT TAMMAN.son\of FEDRAL MINSTOR SARDAR MUHAMMAD HAYAT TAMMAN(Late) ne Apny pory panal k sth PTI join kr le ha....Ye kisi Taruf k Mohtaj nhi ye wo azeem, Leadr ha jo ek surway k mutabiq PAKISTAN K (13) Punjab k (3) aur Chakwal k (1Pehly) num pe itna Arsa Iqtedar mn rehty hoey Curption se Pak rhey en ke Daman Curption se pak ha aur imran Khan KO Bhi ayesy logoun ke zarort thi..aur sbse barhi bat pory chakwal mn ayesa koi Leadr nhi Jiski qualification Sardar sab se zeayda ho ye 3 bar MNA rhey aur enka apna zati bank vote ha 40 se 50 hazar... aur en k bank vote k elwa ab PTI k panal mein NA 61 pe x MNA SARDAR MANSOOR TAMMAN pp23 x MPA col sultan SURKHRO PP 22 PE x MPA Taqi shah aur Peer Nisar Joji....INSHALLAH hamesha ke trh esbar bhi Moqabla Sardran Tamman ka he apas mn hoga....
ab Deahkna ye NA 61 ke awam (Baly)k zareaye ya (Shear)k zareya apny talagang ke PaG bachaye ge....*"

Yes, loved that Bit of sledding. IK is oozing with confidence.May ALLAH give success to PTI in elections..ameen

PTI candidates specially youth candidates needs to carry out extensive campaign.
I came across some of my friends and relatives whom i have been working on to vote for PTI and lately they told me that in their constituency there is no PTI candidate.Then i have to search and tell them about PTI candidate.
So if a voter is not sure about PTI candidate in his area it can even lead that voter not to go out on 11th may to vote.This may harm PTI chances.
PTI can use SMS strategy and other means which are cost effective but atleast make a common voter know that PTI have candidate in their area.

I have always found Javed Chaudhry and Kamran Khan singing for N league....

Javed Chaudhry's tone and behavior in yesterday's program was utterly disgusting ...He kept mocking Sheri Mazaari ....

Many other anchors conduct their programmes in a much better way...

Shahbaz Sharif just held a press conference against Imran Khan. Journalists obviously got scripted questions so Shabaz can take out all his frustration. All questions were asked about Imran's speeches in various jalsas so Shabaz can prove that Imran actually supports Zardari.

Meanwhile Wazirabad jalsa has been canceled and the reason they are telling is the helicopter landing problem...

Meanwhile N league candidate in Bakhar has been disqualified by Highcourt on the pretext of defualting......