Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

Saw Naseem Zehra show on NA-250 Karachi, talking to people on the street. These kind of shows should always be taken with a grain of salt but for whatever it was worth, majority said they would vote for PTI followed by Nawaz and they were not some burger bachas, mostly were poor, working class middle aged people. Very few said they would vote for MQM and PPP.

Lagta hai tsunami Karachi main bhi aa rahi ahi. :)

Dabang baba ji... cha gaye baba ji... (sorry some video's just have to be embedded :)

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=295682887233291" width="720" height="450" frameborder="0"></iframe>

so far meri predictions sahi jaa rahi hain (unfortunate but noora's are starring at defeat and cant hazam it)

nUntitled-2-752013.gif

Saw Naseem Zehra show on NA-250 Karachi, talking to people on the street. These kind of shows should always be taken with a grain of salt but for whatever it was worth, majority said they would vote for PTI followed by Nawaz and they were not some burger bachas, mostly were poor, working class middle aged people. Very few said they would vote for MQM and PPP.

Lagta hai tsunami Karachi main bhi aa rahi ahi. :)

These shows are 100% fixed, but yes we can win 3-4 seats in karachi if things go right for us. PTI needs a lot of work on karachi and rural sindh strategy.

pti don't need seats in sindh, they have PPP for that :zardari an alliance is on the cards and why not :ik

I check the thread from time to time but it is wall to wall PTI spam rather than an actual discussion, so not much to do/say.

^^ A picture is worth 1000 words AZ, let's have a discussion then?
NAwaz-the-Builder-final-530x393.jpg

I check the thread from time to time but it is wall to wall PTI spam rather than an actual discussion, so not much to do/say.

Run pmln run:P
No need for discussion anymore ,all the facts are out in the open- now we just following the campaign here.

hard to 'build a nation' when you are not willing to work with any other party or group of people.

Hard to work with people who operate with our typical old mentality

- Different law for ruling elite and normal awaam (e.g call a judge and ask him for favourable decision but poors can wait for decades to get justice)

- Leaders can invest billions overseas and ask others to invest in Pakistan

- Leaders can enjoy protocol of 1500 guards when law and order in rest of country is worst ever

- Favouritism/Nepotism (Appoint your favourite teachers, policemen, patwaris, officers etc and award construction contracts to closed ones i.e. Nawazish)

List can go on but if you think like a patriotic Pakistani, our problems will never be resolved if we continue to rule with same mentality

This is how Tabdeeli starts every morning

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10152814762335230" width="1280" height="720" frameborder="0"></iframe>

NA-162 Sahiwal by Election Result:
Zahid Iqbal PML(N) Winner
Another Noora Down > Zahid Iqbal, PMLN candidate from NA 162 disqualified by LHC.

Today's constituency jalsa schedule in Lahore with Imran Khan:

4PM: NA-126: Ghalib Market
5PM: NA-128: Railway Ground Raiwind
6PM: NA-125: XX Block Ground, Defence
7PM: NA-122: Allama Iqbal Raoad, Gari Shahu
7:30PM: NA-123: Ali Park, Shawala Chowk, Baghbanpura
8PM: NA-120: Nehru Park, Sanat Nagar
9PM: NA-119: Gawalmandi Chowk
11PM: NA-118: Degree College, Abdul Razaq Stadium, Shahdara

Hard to work with people who operate with our typical old mentality

- Different law for ruling elite and normal awaam (e.g call a judge and ask him for favourable decision but poors can wait for decades to get justice)

- Leaders can invest billions overseas and ask others to invest in Pakistan

- Leaders can enjoy protocol of 1500 guards when law and order in rest of country is worst ever

- Favouritism/Nepotism (Appoint your favourite teachers, policemen, patwaris, officers etc and award construction contracts to closed ones i.e. Nawazish)

List can go on but if you think like a patriotic Pakistani, our problems will never be resolved if we continue to rule with same mentality

talk about jumping to conclusions...did you even read what I wrote?

this isn't a cricket team where one guy's decision is the bottom line, you have to to work with others.

so far he has been unwilling to do so, and that is not a formula for success.

Run pmln run:P
No need for discussion anymore ,all the facts are out in the open- now we just following the campaign here.

4 days to go, sab pata chal jayega.

The only thing I hope our dear Insafians will do is accept whatever is decided, accept the peoples' mandate and not make claims of rigging or any such rubbish.

I am more than willing to do so in any scenario, are you?

Noora League has become a full fledged political wing of the murderous terrorist outfit.

ISLAMABAD: Besides fielding the Lashkar-e-Jhangvi-linked Chaudhry Abid Raza from NA-107 (Gujrat), the PML-N has awarded another party ticket to Sardar Ebaad Dogar from NA-178 (Muzaffargarh) despite his being an ardent disciple of the Sipah-e-Sahaba Pakistan (SSP) who had announced Rs20 million-bounty to assassinate Salman Taseer for siding with an alleged blasphemy accused, Aasia Bibi.

Nawaz Jhangvi the true son of Zia.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5ZEpOVwmdk

excellent points made by Kh. Saad Rafique

Are you kidding me? completely writing off pti in south punjab, accusing pti of making an indirect alliance with mqm. PTI is using voilence? After what hanif abbassi's guards did to PTI's tabdeeli razakar, he shouldn't even be talking about violence, but here he is uttering rubbish. He is in for a very big phainta along with others like him on 11th may inshAllah.

All PTI flags were asked to be lowered and only the Pakistan Flag upheld.
This is change.

BJpdIizCEAIQz0t.jpg

Are you kidding me? completely writing off pti in south punjab, accusing pti of making an indirect alliance with mqm. PTI is using voilence? After what hanif abbassi's guards did to PTI's tabdeeli razakar, he shouldn't even be talking about violence, but here he is uttering rubbish. He is in for a very big phainta along with others like him on 11th may inshAllah.

where is the case against Hanif Abbasi?

yes PTI is indirectly helping PPP in Punjab and MQM in Karachi by thinking they will win it all alone, pure arrogance.

anyways, on the lighter side of things:

<iframe src="http://player.vimeo.com/video/65567498" width="500" height="375" frameborder="0" webkitAllowFullScreen mozallowfullscreen allowFullScreen></iframe> <p><a href="http://vimeo.com/65567498">Jiye Bhutto - E Sharp (Official)</a> from <a href="http://vimeo.com/user18154799">E Sharp</a> on <a href="http://vimeo.com">Vimeo</a>.</p>

4 days to go, sab pata chal jayega.

The only thing I hope our dear Insafians will do is accept whatever is decided, accept the peoples' mandate and not make claims of rigging or any such rubbish.

I am more than willing to do so in any scenario, are you?

Yes AZ we accept and expect in naya pakistan you will be given full respect whatever ur political veiws are:D

Man IK confidance is contagious:ik

How can we get a new IK smiley? one from last few months?

well, even if PTI sits in opposition, Imran will keep the govt in check, so I guess its good either way, but better if he forms govt. :imran

Yes AZ we accept and expect in naya pakistan you will be given full respect whatever ur political veiws are:D

Man IK confidance is contagious:ik

How can we get a new IK smiley? one from last few months?

lol yaar I have no political 'views', we all just want the best for our country that's it.

for that we need to get rid of the plague that is PPP first.

use the other one :imran

well, even if PTI sits in opposition, Imran will keep the govt in check, so I guess its good either way, but better if he forms govt. :imran

Opposition can only do so much, it will be a blunder to not form govt. if he can.

will have already come a long way from being zero for past 15 years to a key cog in the political setup.

Opposition can only do so much, it will be a blunder to not form govt. if he can.

will have already come a long way from being zero for past 15 years to a key cog in the political setup.

Well, he will certainly oppose the govt strongly if he sits in opposition, unlike a certain opposition since the last 5 years, a strong opposition can actually topple a government.

:))):))):))
https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10100549972727261" width="212" height="318" frameborder="0"></iframe>
<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10100549972727261" width="212" height="318" frameborder="0"></iframe>

talk about jumping to conclusions...did you even read what I wrote?

this isn't a cricket team where one guy's decision is the bottom line, you have to to work with others.

so far he has been unwilling to do so, and that is not a formula for success.

Zardari surely has formula for success then :)

PMLN is better than PPP Zardari because Zardari is known wolf and PMLN has sheep clothing.

so geo spend 2 hrs each in diffrent towns possibily speaking to 100s of ppl ,how did they decide which 20 to show in this 8 mins program?

woh to program ka editor hi bata sakta hai :amin

Zardari surely has formula for success then :)

PMLN is better than PPP Zardari because Zardari is known wolf and PMLN has sheep clothing.

indeed he does, nobody can dispute Zardari's political acumen in that regard.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PTI">#PTI</a> emerging as a new version of <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PMLN">#PMLN</a> (urban vote bank) and <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PMLN">#PMLN</a> is replacing <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PPP">#PPP</a> (rural vote bank).</p>— Umar Cheema (@UmarCheema1) <a href="https://twitter.com/UmarCheema1/status/331708111096250368">May 7, 2013</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>Mr Imran Khan called me this morn to apologise for assault on me on Sunday. He promised to denounce violence against women at next jalsa#PTI</p>— Quatrina(@QuatrinaHosain) <a href="https://twitter.com/QuatrinaHosain/status/331700538750152704">May 7, 2013</a></blockquote>

PPP loses, PTI gains Shia votes

PAKISTAN Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan has quite wisely attracted a section of Shia vote bank which has traditionally been voting for PPP and Tehreek-e-Jafferia Pakistan in past elections.

Traditionally, PPP has been the choice of most of the voters of the Shia community in most of the general elections since 1988 due to its moderate stance. However, this vote bank which stands around 10 to 15% in almost every constituency of Punjab, KPK and even more in most of the districts falling in Sindh may show its support towards Imran on May 11, and there are multiple reasons for this.

PPP, along with other factors which has annoyed its voters due to the issues related with deliverance also seems to be on the losing side when it comes to the general voters belonging to Shia community who remained quite perturbed over the constant target killings of their brethren in Pakistan.

The sheer inability of the PPP government to protect Shia population, the target killing of members of Hazara community in Quetta and other parts of Balochistan as well as the tragedies like Abbas Town, Karachi have not only added to the resentment among voters but also brought them closer to Imran for a visible shift in its stance towards moderate and extremist forces.

PML-N, another mainstream party, somehow, doesn’t seem as the best of choices in general voters belonging to Shia community due to its alignment with banned outfits and most of them are considering Imran as a better option to vote.

This is noteworthy that even after the trend-setting rally of October 30, 2011 when Imran emerged as a genuine challenge to the mainstream parties, he remained under fire from moderate sides for his inclination towards Difa-e-Pakistan Council or for attending public meetings which were also attended by pro-Taliban elements. However, he showed a clear cut change in his political strategy and came up as a different politician in the later days which has not only restored PTI’s popularity graph but also attracted voters which traditionally remained inclined towards other parties. Imran Khan, quite intelligently removed the tag of being a pro-extremist forces as he was the first mainstream leader to visit Quetta and attend the sit-in staged by the bereaved families of the suicide attack victims of Hazara community.

Besides, he also condemned Lashkar-e-Jhangvi for carrying out attacks on Shia community besides demanding justice for the victims.

Very recently in Lahore, the women members of his family launched the party’s election campaign after visiting the shrine of Bibi Pak Daaman.

Recently, an SMS campaign against PML-N’s alignment with a banned organisation is also underway which reflects resentment of Shia voters against the party.

I hope PTI wins as I want to see a real change in the country, but I personally think PML-N looks stronger and will probably win.
This is really exiting.

If PTI doesn't win many of the posters here will say that the elections were not fair. Will bump this post (but I hope I can avoid that) to see the reactions InshaAllah.

Chairman PTI folding his hands infront of the workers and asking for a way out at MeQ Karachi

BJpzwCdCQAEWWr4.jpg

Nawaz does not rule out coalition with PPP

LAHORE: PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif does not totally rule out a coalition with the PPP after the elections but deferred the repeated questions from Karan Thapar of CNN-India in a detailed interview spread over two sessions.

Karan asked Nawaz: “The polls clearly suggest yours will be the single biggest party, but the polls are also suggesting you won’t have a majority on your own and you would have to form a coalition. Would you consider looking to the PPP for support because they already have a majority in the Senate?

Nawaz Sharif: Well, I think this country needs a strong government; this country doesn’t need a split mandate. Split mandate will not solve the problems of this country, as I just now mentioned that the problems are huge and the challenges are huge. So we need a strong government. But I don’t rule out the possibility of a coalition.

Karan: With the PPP?

Nawaz Sharif: No, no I am just... I am answering your question. I feel that let everybody go to the elections, then come back in parliament, we will see what the position is in parliament and how the parties have, you see, lined up and then we will see if we can really—if we are not in majority, of course, we have an agenda. And those people who would share our vision, who will be prepared to share our vision, I think there is no harm that we all sit down together because as I said it’s not any personal battle that I am fighting.

Karan: It is Pakistan...

Nawaz Sharif: It is Pakistan’s battle that I am fighting. To pull the country out of the mess that it is in, so, therefore, I think everybody who would share that vision will have to sit down together across the table to see that we can jointly bring the country out of difficulties it is facing.

Karan: Let me put it like this: In 2008 after the last elections, you briefly formed a coalition with the PPP. This time around to encourage the PPP to support you, would you consider something like offering Asif Zardari a second term as president because that post now, the presidency, as you know, is a ceremonial post, it doesn’t carry any power that it did previously.

Nawaz Sharif: These are the answers which could be given after the elections; I cannot really answer these questions at this stage. This is, I think, very premature stage to answer these questions, but I would, certainly if you come back to Pakistan after the elections, I will be very happy to answer these questions.

Link : http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-13-22710-Nawaz-does-not-rule-out-coalition-with-PPP

Moral : DONT VOTE PML-N otherwise bear ZARDARI-PPP FOR NEXT FIVE YEARS.

BREAKING NEWS: Firing at PTI office, Lahore. No casualties

935748_371211322980779_1590675744_n.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>ShbzSharif wasted Rs30bn on sasti roti in 2009,PM Raja wasted Rs47bn in 2012-13 ($1bn).Now time to beg IMF for $300m to run Pak after June !</p>— Rauf Klasra (@KlasraRauf) <a href="https://twitter.com/KlasraRauf/status/331715527095492609">May 7, 2013</a></blockquote>

Jo Mujhy Ballay se Phaintee Lagaega un se Kaise Debate karunga: Nawaz Sharif hahahah

Exclusive interview with Noam Chomsky on Pakistan elections

In the coming elections, all indications are that a coalition government will be formed. The party of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif is leading the polls with Imran Khan’s (relatively) newly-emerged party not far behind. Do you think an impending coalition government will be sufficiently equipped to handle the myriad problems facing the country that you have just pointed out, such as civil-military imbalance, drone attacks, extremist violence etc.

NC: Well, we have a record for Nawaz Sharif but not the others. And judging by the record, it’s pretty hard to be optimistic. His [Sharif's] previous governments were very corrupt and regressive in the policies pursued. But the very fact that there is popular participation can have impact. That’s what leads to change, as it has just recently in North Africa (in Tunisia and Egypt). As far as change goes, significant change does not come from above, it comes through popular activism.

Link: http://dawn.com/2013/05/07/exclusive-interview-with-noam-chomsky/

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>so PMLN comes up with thr adv with IK fumble "sher per nishan lagana hy".title of the adv "jaadu jo sir cherh ker bolay" <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23electionpolitics">#electionpolitics</a></p>— shahzeb khanzada (@shahzebkhanzda) <a href="https://twitter.com/shahzebkhanzda/status/331729459185078272">May 7, 2013</a></blockquote>

So this is their version of attack advertisement .........:)))

How many peoples take these facts in account when they make predictions ? i) the massive turn-out (as the climate is heavily politicized) as compared to 2008, ii) less fraud and virtual votes, iii) new younger electorate which will go in PTI's way as per specialists and iv) deceived PPP/PML(N)/... electorate which will go to PTI's way.

316051_10151460043974527_1817899682_n.jpg

Generators have tired as electricity is not available since 6 morning and now time is about 5 afternoon.....They only supplied it for few minutes in between to intrigue us.....

Change of heart: Disgruntled ANP leader backs PTI candidates

PESHAWAR: Awami National Party’s (ANP) disgruntled leader and former lawmaker Arbab Zahir has announced his support for Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) candidates contesting elections from NA-4 and PK-10, said a statement issued by the PTI’s media cell on Monday.
Zahir, who has been elected twice from NA-4 on an ANP platform, has considerable influence in the constituency which constitutes Peshawar’s rural areas.
“The support of a seasoned ANP leader for PTI candidates has strengthened the party’s position in the area,” said PTI’s former provincial information secretary Shah Farman. “The PTI will emerge as the largest political force in the country after May 11 elections,” added Farman who is contesting from PK-10.

shah-farman.jpg

When contacted, ANP office bearers said they have asked the party’s leadership to take disciplinary action against Zahir for betraying the party at such a crucial time. “He has violated the party’s discipline by lending support to Gulzar Khan (PTI’s candidate for NA-4) and action must be taken against him,” said the ANP president in PK-11, Noor Rehman.
Rehman alleged Zahir was supporting Gulzar, a former bureaucrat, due to their friendship.
Unlike the urban areas of Peshawar, PTI is less popular in the rural areas. However, with Rehman’s support and influence, the party can tap into ANP’s vote bank in
the region.
Published in The Express Tribune, May 7th, 2013.

Source: http://tribune.com.pk/story/545277/c...ti-candidates/