Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

^ MQM has a huge lead already from the previous polling. The repolling is on 43 polling stations only. And PTI voters are nos scared of coming out to vote.

So even if PTI wins the repolling, they wont be able to win the seat

As far as Im aware both PPP and MQM have boycotted elections from that seat. I dont see how they can be awarded the seat now?

165398_622090147818674_971967822_n.jpg

13232_622090451151977_1982521047_n.jpg

Some photos from PTI Balochistan protest.

It was 120 odd seats to 20 odd. :facepalm:

What's a protest for a single seat going to achieve?

Better to focus on asking and understanding why people voted for corruption... And then challenge that position....

If you know about American History, there was only one Rosa Park who challenged the system.

PESHAWAR: The Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) have announced names for three ministries in the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa provincial government.
Sirajul Haq, Inayatullah Khan and Habibur Rehman have been put forward for the ministries of education, zakat and finance.

So I guess we are looking at interest free banking and madrasah style schooling in KPK. Tabdeeli !

Imran Khan Official Facebook

We find it interesting that it is almost 11:00pm in Pakistan, and yet the Vote Count from just 43 polling stations of a single constituency - where as per media turnout was not more than 20% - is not complete but on 11th May by this time winners for entire Pakistan had been conclusively determined courtesy a handful of news outlets and victory speeches were delivered.

YESSS!!!

Proud to be from NA 250. Proud to be from a constituency that fought for its riots and didnt lie down and give up.

Lahore!!! Wake up and be brave

YESSS!!!

Proud to be from NA 250. Proud to be from a constituency that fought for its riots and didnt lie down and give up.

Lahore!!! Wake up and be brave
Errrr.... there are protests going on in Lahore since May 11 :|

Protest ended tonight in Lahore after Imran Khan's request.

Said get ready for protest in front of ECP Islamabad on May 24, 2013.

nice result, although the boycott

i want to see someone compare how many votes the original victor got and how many alvi got in the re run

election process wasnt completed on 11th May, voting only started at these station at 5:30 - 6pm and few hours later ECP announced repolling in these stations. So we'll never know who would've won based on 11th may poll

Very important point raised by Runner up in post 7846. It took this long for the results to come out of one constituency, where turnout was around 20%. Yet on may 11, everything was so fast.

Once again, Imran must ask for repolling in all of karachi and most if not all areas of punjab.

Dont like repeating myself, but I cant stop thinking how PTI would have won more seats in karachi, and punjab.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>11th May results show that <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PTI">#PTI</a> was leading with 30K votes - makes sense as to why MQM boycotted they could not face defeat on paper</p>— Awab Alvi PTI@NA-250 (@DrAwab) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrAwab/status/336238603128680448">May 19, 2013</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>its now further established that PTI won <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23NA250">#NA250</a> on the 11th & then won again on the 19th - can someone pass the hankie to "you know who" ;)</p>— Awab Alvi PTI@NA-250 (@DrAwab) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrAwab/status/336241492240764928">May 19, 2013</a></blockquote>

Kudos to Arif Alvi. He fought very hard for this seat with never give up attitude.

So I guess we are looking at interest free banking and madrasah style schooling in KPK. Tabdeeli !

Please stop judging political parties before they have performed

and even as a die hard pti supporter, our education policy was horrible. We were trying to make urdu the language of education .

Very important point raised by Runner up in post 7846. It took this long for the results to come out of one constituency, where turnout was around 20%. Yet on may 11, everything was so fast.

Once again, Imran must ask for repolling in all of karachi and most if not all areas of punjab.

Waqar, you've become a bit of a wrist slitter.

Just admit it, we lost. The awaam DID by in large want N-league to win.

Yes, we were snatched from 10-13 seats that we deserved. (lahore, Narowal, okara ect where there was open rigging)

Imran should try and force re-polling in Narrowal and maybe NA 125 but we can't ask for more.

Move on guys, elections are over. This is all topi drama to distract from real issues. I am watching IK very closely, he has to show some character now. He has lost elections, rigging or no rigging. Can he show us how to loose gracefully or will he keep crying on it. I want to see the reconstruction of Pakistan begin yesterday. Power, water, stability, we need all these things immediately. What is the plan for that? Let us start with KPK.

IK giving up NA-56 and retain his Mianwali seat?

Yes, we were snatched from 10-13 seats that we deserved. (lahore, Narowal, okara ect where there was open rigging)

:)) :)) :))

then why did IK only point out 4 seats which he was most concerned about?

please, grow up and enough with this immature BS.

IIRC he wanted re-counting with finger prints on 25 NA seats.

I can personally name a few I know.

In Narrowal there was khulai-aam rigging

and I know people who were in NA 125 who told me how your favorite Khwaja Saad Rafique was telling us to go and not vote for PTI.

Arguing with AZ is like arguing with a :farhat supporter...

...Futile

Or a man who supports Khwaja Saad Raffique after these elections. I'm LMAO'ing at what a fraud he turned out to be when AZ said, 'woh acha banda hai'.

Well, you can't blame AZ for not minding. After all, he's a PML N supporter who doesn't admit he supports a party. :msd

:)) in Narowal there was khulay-aam rigging...you were there I suppose?

oh lemme guess, Twitter High Court proved it right? :)) :))

funny how there is SO much evidence yet no-one is taking PTI's claims seriously...quite an incompetent party it seems :imran

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/wbXC_FDua_M" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

@AZ, when CJ is a cousin of Rana Sanaullah, even Twitter HC will pass a better judgement than SC if it involves Noora League :moyo

Orya Maqbool Jan, the Zaid Hamid of news anchors...and of course Mubasher Lucman :)) :))

Insafians really need to get a better class of news anchor to fight for them.

Oh wadday genius....

Did u want Ik to ask for recount on all 272? He wants recount with thumb impression on 4 seats which would help support his claim of rigging, if bogus voting gets proven... 25 seats are those where Ik feels PTI was sure shot winner n their mandate has been stolen.

And yes!! we all know, Saad Rafique is unbeatable :kukri

:)) in Narowal there was khulay-aam rigging...you were there I suppose?

oh lemme guess, Twitter High Court proved it right? :)) :))

funny how there is SO much evidence yet no-one is taking PTI's claims seriously...quite an incompetent party it seems :imran

Twitter ect are saying there is rigging everywhere.

Two friends from Okara called me and said there was khulai aam rigging.

As for Narowal, There are videos of ballot boxes thrown around.

Abrar-ul-haq showed ballot papers stamped by shairs without any names in big amounts.

Also ML showed an SMS that Abrar sent BEFORE the elections of how Ahsan Iqbal (and we all know how big of a ghunda he is) was threatening people to vote for him.

Jo bhi hai, I can't help but laugh at Khwaja Saad Rafique being exposed like this.

Orya Maqbool Jan, the Zaid Hamid of news anchors...and of course Mubasher Lucman :)) :))

better learn to form a better argument than ":)):))"

coz Not a single word you said was in response to that vid.

309995_10151400842996766_1507426355_n.jpg

I want to see Noora league's actions (NOT words) on this issue...........considering they're a product of NRO 2.0, have my fingers crossed and pray for those innocents murdered and made to live like its 9/11 everyday:moyo

Move on guys, elections are over. This is all topi drama to distract from real issues. I am watching IK very closely, he has to show some character now. He has lost elections, rigging or no rigging. Can he show us how to loose gracefully or will he keep crying on it. I want to see the reconstruction of Pakistan begin yesterday. Power, water, stability, we need all these things immediately. What is the plan for that? Let us start with KPK.

I don't think you have been following these elections closely then, PTI has moved on and you can read more stories in media about formation and strategies of KPK government than even federal government. Point is if you are a candidate and have witnessed rigging yourself, would you move on without even asking to double checK? How difficult is it to re count on 4-5 seats confirming thumb impression?

Check this for example (still waiting for FINAL result), Jahangir Tareen of PTI who apparently lost by few thousand votes may actually win his seat after recount. There are news that 25000 bogus votes have been discovered during re count and still going, his opponent may even win in the end but don't think it's better to recount for everyone's peace of mind?

941902_178670098958843_863876567_n.png

Would you move on quietly when this happens?

we're actually watching altaf bhai very closely now. Considering his party has failed in 10 years to give karachiites peace and tranquility! I suggest you worry about your great leader as the pressure to bring him to account will continue! Inshallah the end of the MQM has begun!

I know you must be in love with Mushtaq Minhas and Irfan Siddique.Right?

better learn to form a better argument than ":)):))"

coz Not a single word you said was in response to that vid.

go read his retarded columns, you will get your answer.

Lucman's credibility is already in the gutter as it is.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="http://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x100yyv"></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x100yyv_imran-khan-latest-video-message-19th-may-2013_news" target="_blank">imran khan latest video message - 19th may 2013</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/Malik_Jee" target="_blank">Malik_Jee</a></i>

Waqar, you've become a bit of a wrist slitter.

Just admit it, we lost. The awaam DID by in large want N-league to win.

Imran should try and force re-polling in Narrowal and maybe NA 125 but we can't ask for more.
Depends on how you think about it.

If this kind of stuff happened in urban areas, one can only imagine what went on in semi urban and rural areas. When PTI can dent MQM in Karachi, defeat Ch Nisar and defeat saad rafique only for him to cheat to win, then why cant they win against lesser candidates?

Smokers’ Corner: Lurching for meaning

I’m sure, by the time this column appears on these pages, a lot has already been said, written and investigated about the rather stunning results produced by the May 11 election.

It was interesting to note that, alas, though the electronic and social media is effective in generating hype and virtual commotions, they do not necessarily impact voting trends the way one was expecting them to.

If one believed in the sustained hype about PTI’s ‘tsunami’ in the social media, he or she was understandably left mouthing incoherent and disoriented gibberish on Twitter and Facebook the moment it became clear that PMLN would bulldoze all opposition, especially in the Punjab.

Not only was PTI drubbed severely in the Punjab by PMLN, it could not even go past the number of seats won by the PPP — a party that was pushed into the corner by threats and attacks by the TTP and came to the election as a highly unpopular outfit after spending five chaotic and mismanaged years as the outgoing ruling party.

In Sindh where, according to the electronic media, PMLF and the Sindhi nationalists were set to finally topple the PPP’s traditional supremacy, they simply failed to even slightly check the PPP’s sprint towards victory. The PPP ended up winning a comfortable majority in both the national as well as provincial assembly elections in the region.

However, the electronic media was correct in predicting the success of the MQM, the major party of Sindh’s capital, Karachi. The party managed to retain its electoral hold in the city, even though PTI accused it of rigging the election.

The truth is, even if one takes back a chunk of the votes that the MQM received, it will still manage to win in Karachi. Those residing outside Karachi, or for that matter, away from the more congested areas of the city, have yet to figure out the rather complex and paradoxical nature of the party’s electoral popularity among the Urdu-speaking majority in Karachi and in parts of Hyderabad.

MQM cannot be defeated in Karachi with lofty middle class idealism and moralism or with flag-waving patriotism. Not only are these perceived by MQM voters to be tools and excuses to undo the economic and political interests of the city’s Urdu-speakers, these also don’t unclog gutters, mend electricity wires, and guarantee regular water supply to areas far way from trendy boulevards and shopping malls of Clifton and Defense.

Apart from PMLN’s stunning show in the Punjab, the other most interesting bits about the election was the way PTI managed to gather a semblance of respectability by winning big in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK).

Though the media did allude to PTI’s growing popularity in KP, however, during the last few weeks of the election campaign, when the province’s outgoing ruling party, the ANP, was suffering a continuous series of brutal assaults by the extremists, TV channels began to float the idea that the ANP might benefit from a sympathy wave.

Nothing of the sort happened and the party was rudely wiped out by PTI that managed to win the largest number of seats in KP.

But perhaps the most noteworthy bit, at least to me, was to see how Peshawar in KP and Rawalpindi in the Punjab voted. Both these cities went to the PTI.

Rawalpindi was swept by the left-liberal PPP in the 1970 and 1977 election. It gave a split verdict between the PPP and the conservative PML (IJI), in the 1988 election, before falling completely in the lap of PMLN throughout the 1990s.

The PPP did manage to win a few seats here in the 2002 and 2008 election, but Rawalpindi remained to be a PMLN stronghold until this year’s election.

PTI dislodged PMLN’s supremely here on May 11, and ironically, it did so in an election in which the PMLN completely swept the rest of the Punjab!

Peshawar where PTI enjoyed a clean sweep on May 11, has turned out to be an even more (if not the most) temperamental city when it comes to elections. Its seats were shared between the left-wing NAP and the right-wing JUI in 1970.

Then between 1988 and 1997, these seats altered between the PPP and the left-liberal ANP before going completely to the right-wing alliance of religious parties, the MMA in the 2002 election.

In 2008, Peshawar re-adjusted itself and once again voted for the secular ANP and the PPP, only to obliterate both these parties in 2013 and give the centre-right PTI all four of its seats.

Some observers believe that whereas voting in Rawalpindi still takes place on the basis of ideology — reflecting Punjab’s shift from left to right ever since 1990 — voting trends in Peshawar however, always exhibit the city’s pragmatic nature where its Pashtoon and Hindko voters are merciless in judging both left and right parties purely on the basis of performance.

http://dawn.com/2013/05/19/smokers-corner-lurching-for-meaning/

MQM cannot be defeated in Karachi with lofty middle class idealism and moralism or with flag-waving patriotism. Not only are these perceived by MQM voters to be tools and excuses to undo the economic and political interests of the city’s Urdu-speakers, these also don’t unclog gutters, mend electricity wires, and guarantee regular water supply to areas far way from trendy boulevards and shopping malls of Clifton and Defense.

neither do the MQM. The apologists of terror multiply!

go read his retarded columns, you will get your answer.

Lucman's credibility is already in the gutter as it is.

I would trust him over the crooks of PML any day of the week. Each of their parliamentarians will already be planing to get a return on their investsment, afterall all those biryanis they paid for at their rallies dont come free. Some people will never lose their serf mentality!

Both PTI supporters and AZ have valid points. We cannot escape from the fact that journalists in Pakistan have chosen sides and their own bias shows when they write about a certain individual, party or an issue.

However, we should use our common sense, coupled with a few independent news outlets and form our on opinions instead of pointing towards a journalist view point to drive a point home. Unless reference is being made in relation to investigative journalism.

Now AZ, so far 25,000 votes have been found to be bogus in NA-154. Do you not think it's fair to uphold almost all requests for a re-count put forward by PTI? Mainly in NA 125 and NA 122?

SMQ has been attacked by "naamaloom afraad" and is on his way to the aiport under rangers protection.!

The liberal secular freedom loving MQM strikes again!

Depends on how you think about it.

If this kind of stuff happened in urban areas, one can only imagine what went on in semi urban and rural areas. When PTI can dent MQM in Karachi, defeat Ch Nisar and defeat saad rafique only for him to cheat to win, then why cant they win against lesser candidates?

I see were you're coming from. You do have a point.

It's like that student who always fails and finally gets an A grade but is told "No, you're getting a C"

I've sort of settled for a C while I know we deserve more.

Both PTI supporters and AZ have valid points. We cannot escape from the fact that journalists in Pakistan have chosen sides and their own bias shows when they write about a certain individual, party or an issue.

However, we should use our common sense, coupled with a few independent news outlets and form our on opinions instead of pointing towards a journalist view point to drive a point home. Unless reference is being made in relation to investigative journalism.

Now AZ, so far 25,000 votes have been found to be bogus in NA-154. Do you not think it's fair to uphold almost all requests for a re-count put forward by PTI? Mainly in NA 125 and NA 122?

AZ wont reply and if he will, it will be full of calling PTI supports burgers and twitter army and "oh pti is too mainstream for me"

In their campaign N league candidates and leadership kept giving deadlines for ending load shedding...They kept saying that Shahbaz Sharif will be Power Minister and will end load shedding in 2 to 3 years ....

Now neither Shahbaz Sharif is going to be Power Minister nor they are ready to give any deadline...

First noora punch even before taking oath...:)))

I see were you're coming from. You do have a point.

It's like that student who always fails and finally gets an A grade but is told "No, you're getting a C"

I've sort of settled for a C while I know we deserve more.

Badshas never settle for Cs :)

Even with rigging, PTI defeated political heavyweights. One can only imagine what would have happened had the elections been fair. When a party can win seats with 20 something year olds and defeat the likes of Ameer Muqam, when they can dent MQM in their den, then I firmly believe that PTI would have been the dominant party in KP and Punjab, and would have won more seats in Karachi.

I will never settle for this C, and I want Imran to come out and fight. He has changed pakistani politics a lot. PTI ran a modern and effective election campaign that at least I have never seen in pakistan.

Imran must fight and take what's rightfully his and ours. I am happy that ECP didnt allow recounting in many areas. I wanted Imran to come out and protest, and lead a march. And that is exactly what he is doing on May 24.

In their campaign N league candidates and leadership kept giving deadlines for ending load shedding...They kept saying that Shahbaz Sharif will be Power Minister and will end load shedding in 2 to 3 years ....

Now neither Shahbaz Sharif is going to be Power Minister nor they are ready to give any deadline...

First noora punch even before taking oath...:)))
Does any of this surprise you? There is a reason this party and there supporters are called nooras. They have no idea what they are talking about, they never do

if there is a genuine case for it then by all means, not on a whim.

Re-count for what in 125 and 122, just because PTI lost?

Hamid Khan actually won comfortably in the DHA polling stations.

Badshas never settle for Cs :)

Even with rigging, PTI defeated political heavyweights. One can only imagine what would have happened had the elections been fair. When a party can win seats with 20 something year olds and defeat the likes of Ameer Muqam, when they can dent MQM in their den, then I firmly believe that PTI would have been the dominant party in KP and Punjab, and would have won more seats in Karachi.

I will never settle for this C, and I want Imran to come out and fight. He has changed pakistani politics a lot. PTI ran a modern and effective election campaign that at least I have never seen in pakistan.

Imran must fight and take what's rightfully his and ours. I am happy that ECP didnt allow recounting in many areas. I wanted Imran to come out and protest, and lead a march. And that is exactly what he is doing on May 24.

I can get where you're coming from.

Still I'm not sure if we should go out and protest. If Imran Khan says to protest, I will. And maybe this is what you're saying as well. If Imran does decide to lead a march, a lot of people like me will get convinced.

But it's gone too far now. Maybe if IK wasn't on a hospital bed we could've protested for re-elections. Right now, we can protest for Re-Elections or at least finger print counting on the 25 NA constituencies that have solid proof of rigging.

I can get where you're coming from.

Still I'm not sure if we should go out and protest. If Imran Khan says to protest, I will. And maybe this is what you're saying as well. If Imran does decide to lead a march, a lot of people like me will get convinced.

But it's gone too far now. Maybe if IK wasn't on a hospital bed we could've protested for re-elections. Right now, we can protest for Re-Elections or at least finger print counting on the 25 NA constituencies that have solid proof of rigging.

Why do you think it's gone too far?

@Badsha

Yaar come on, that doesnt matter. NS gave a victory speech when only 15% of the votes had been counted. What's wrong is wrong.

if there is a genuine case for it then by all means, not on a whim.

Agreed. PTI has provided strong evidence to ECP in relation to 26 NA seats.

Re-count for what in 125 and 122, just because PTI lost?

Well. PTI team believes that they have a evidence to prove rigging against their candidates on at least 26 NA seats. However, they have proposed that ECP to carry out re-counting on just 4 out of those 26.

Now if rigging is established on those 4 then the ECP must address the matter on the remaining 22 seats and if there is no rigging then PTI will not insist for a re-count on the remaining 22 seats.

Hamid Khan actually won comfortably in the DHA polling stations.

Nothing is certain until and unless we have a re-count my friend. Finally, I fail to understand why would someone who genuinely won worry about a re-count, they should actually insist for one, win again and then rub it in.

^ because he knows its like a house of cards...... One gets proven to be rigged and the whole thing falls apart.

Well if rigging has taken place then I'm sure AZ too would support re-polling in those constituencies.

Just know this, we do not want "stability" by means of rigged elections and nor do we intend to stay quiet and wait another 5 years. We will fight now so that we can teach ECP and all those involved in rigging that we will no longer tolerate incompetence and rigging.

@Badsha

Yaar come on, that doesnt matter. NS gave a victory speech when only 15% of the votes had been counted. What's wrong is wrong.

Dude I know people of Pakistan are not much used to elections but this naivete' is ridiculous. When we had elections in Karnataka recently, all TV channel had announced which party was going to win and who gets how many seats, two weeks before the votes even began to be counted. And yes, congress was already smug and BJP had almost accepted defeat. And all the channels were exactly right when the vote counting was finished

In today's age of exit polls and projections, you don't need to wait for the official complete count of vote. That doesn't indicate fixing

Noora update :

Mulak par itna qarsa hai jo pehla kabhi nhi tha, khazana khali hai...pehla qarz utaren ya bijli ka bohraan khtm kren ? (Nawaz Sharif ka aaj ka khitaab )

What do you guys say ? They should end energy crisis first or repay the loan ??

Ishaq dollar is going to be Finance Minister yet again..:(

Dude I know people of Pakistan are not much used to elections but this naivete' is ridiculous. When we had elections in Karnataka recently, all TV channel had announced which party was going to win and who gets how many seats, two weeks before the votes even began to be counted. And yes, congress was already smug and BJP had almost accepted defeat. And all the channels were exactly right when the vote counting was finished

In today's age of exit polls and projections, you don't need to wait for the official complete count of vote. That doesn't indicate fixing

You should read the entire chain to understand what I was referring to. It has nothing to do with exit polls and predicting results

Noora update :

Mulak par itna qarsa hai jo pehla kabhi nhi tha, khazana khali hai...pehla qarz utaren ya bijli ka bohraan khtm kren ? (Nawaz Sharif ka aaj ka khitaab )

What do you guys say ? They should end energy crisis first or repay the loan ??

Ishaq dollar is going to be Finance Minister yet again..:(

haha the excuses have started coming out....forget bullet train noora fans :D

aur yeh bijli ka bohran kiya hal karen gay jo khud bijli kay bill nahi pay kartay for last 106 months...

ITTEFAQ FOUNDRIES of Nawaz Sharif has not paid Rs. 40,436,412.00 to LESCO for using electricity from last 106 months. Its connection has not even been DISCONNECTED as you can see in the Status. Why ? You know the answer. Here is the link to the LESCO Top Defaulters page (Sr # 12):

http://www.lesco.gov.pk/News&Media/5000071.asp

Noora shareef crippling awam with increase loadshedding these days and increasing the price per unit. As soon they official take cahrge, they will reduce the price agian and reduce teh load shedding to claim credit for fulfilling the 'promise'. That's all they can do. A proper drama!