Official: Pakistan Vs England 1st Test Day 4 [15/11/05]

There are around 150 overs left in the match and Pakistan must bat for at least 60 of them to try and save the match. If they bat for anything longer than 75 overs, Pakistan has a good chance of winning.

I think Butt is an EXCELLENT player of short bowling...
everytime flintoff or harmison banged it in short and fast, Butt was always quick to either jump up and defend or move away.

Even now cricbuzz says he had "no trouble moving away." shows he has a good eye and isnt scared of the ball.

I think there was just this one time that he sort of half lobbed it to leg slip area, very close to Jones.

Ace Base said:
There are around 150 overs left in the match and Pakistan must bat for at least 60 of them to try and save the match. If they bat for anything longer than 75 overs, Pakistan has a good chance of winning.

spot on :14:

tahaqureshi said:
I think Butt is an EXCELLENT :13: player of short bowling...
everytime flintoff or harmison banged it in short and fast, Butt was always quick to either jump up and defend or move away.

Even now cricbuzz says he had "no trouble moving away." shows he has a good eye and isnt scared of the ball.

I think there was just this one time that he sort of half lobbed it to leg slip area, very close to Jones.

Hes good, not excellent. hes been out numerous times to short jab pull in short career. also hes been lucky twice when 1st he spooned shortball just away from keeper and then was lucky 1st ball of today.

also remember wicket is very flat.

hes done good thou.

slog sweep for 4 by butt.. onto 98 and then gets a single to go to 99.

pak 227/3

Oh man, if he doesn't get teh strike again then lunch nahey hazam hoy ga

can somone put salman's century celebration after he scores one..(Inshallah)?

i think butt would like his 100 before lunch it would take abit of preassure of him

Very few Pakistani batsmen are truly comfortable against the short ball. Inzamam is an obvious exception, as I think was Saeed Anwar.

Dot ball and thats lunch!

pak 232/3 @ lunch

101 run partnership. very good session!

Ace Base said:
Very few Pakistani batsmen are truly comfortable against the short ball. Inzamam is an obvious exception, as I think was Saeed Anwar.
Ijaz and Majid were others, but by and large there are more that generally struggle than there are batsmen who are comfortable

Hes good, not excellent. hes been out numerous times to short jab pull in short career. also hes been lucky twice when 1st he spooned shortball just away from keeper and then was lucky 1st ball of today.

also remember wicket is very flat.

hes done good thou.

Yeah I guess you're right..lol I got carried away with his great innings today..

But I do think he has worked on it, and he's got a better temperament for short bowling and hopefully he'll convert himself into an excellent player of the short ball

And Butt is 99 NOT OUT at lunch!

summary - Current Partnership: 101 runs, 30.2 overs, RR: 3.33

in session - 107 runs 1 wkt 36 overs...

pakistan need to more sessions like this... along way to go for pakistan to save match 1st and then even thinking about victory.

lead 88 (88/3 in reality)

And some of you guys wanted to leave Butt, our only specialist opener, outa first test earlier. Unbelievable.

Good stuff. Man I am glad excellent fight back from the brink from everyone. They just need to keep on playing atleast to the end of today. 3 an over is good enough. Get the lead to somewhere between 250 plus and then have a go at England. Pitch has to be breaking up by the end of today. Even if there is a hint of uneven bounce then Danish, Shoaib and Shabbir would be hard to play.

Boys
For those of us who aren't watching - can u guys please help us with regular score updates as well as the usual stuff. Thanks a lot!

Good session for pak. We could ask for no more. Any close calls this morning?

Both Inzi and Salman but are scoring well below the team run rate of 3.36

Inzamam and Salman have identical run rates of about 2.88 runs per over.

If this continues the overall run rate will start falling until it becomes close to that of these two batsmen.

TaZ said:
Boys
For those of us who aren't watching - can u guys please help us with regular score updates as well as the usual stuff. Thanks a lot!

Good session for pak. We could ask for no more. Any close calls this morning?

Yeah I think inzi was ALMOST plumb lbw.

Daoud said:
Ijaz and Majid were others, but by and large there are more that generally struggle than there are batsmen who are comfortable

Daoud akhi, what other batsmen in the current Pakistani team are good players of the short, fast ball?

Good session by Pakistan. Why isn't anybody else exicted??? See this exactly it. When we are doing good we all talk about what needs to be done more but when we are doing bad everybody joins the boat on axing players.

Congrats Inzi on your excellent 50 :14:
Salman Butt congrats on your 99 :14:

umarbeast said:
Good session by Pakistan. Why isn't anybody else exicted??? See this exactly it. When we are doing good we all talk about what needs to be done more but when we are doing bad everybody joins the boat on axing players.

:14: :14: :14:

umarbeast said:

Well done pakistan, but I think the reason people aren't talking is because they know we are not totally ahead and everybody is tentatively optimistic and a little bit nervous and one wicket falling could deaden our chances. So it's not that we don't give credit to the session of play, but we are nervous as to how significant this session of play will be.

That being said, cheers to Inzimam and Butt for playing a good session.

another good session now and we could take the game away from england

tahaqureshi said:
I think the match is heading for a draw.
Thats why Pak need to score faster. Ideally Pak would've declared just before end of today to give our bowlers enough time. But thats not gonna happen with a lead of 88 at lunch.

HunkyPunky said:
Thats why Pak need to score faster. Ideally Pak would've declared just before end of today to give our bowlers enough time. But thats not gonna happen with a lead of 88 at lunch.

i think saving wickets should be the first goal scoring fast can be done later also.

HunkyPunky said:
We got two full sessions today..

Shayan_Sohail said:
i think saving wickets should be the first goal scoring fast can be done later also.

That first goal was the objective of the first innings and we choked. Eng came out attacking and survived longer and scored way more than us. Offense is the best defense.

Ace Base said:
Daoud akhi, what other batsmen in the current Pakistani team are good players of the short, fast ball?
Current team - none. Malik is a definate no. Butt is usually a bit late on the pull, but is good through the offside. Youhana can be ok, but is often late. Havent seen Raza. Kamran Akmal almost exclusively plays through the offside
Imran Farhat is good but hes a compulsive hooker. Imran Nazir isnt bad though. Shame about the rest of his game

Mubarak Butt bhai. memorable ton. but he needs to carry on and INSHALLAH convert this into a big one

CONGRATS TO BUTT!!!!!!!!!! Well done!

A slight appeal there for a run-out against Inzy, he was slowly jogging to the crease

What is he doing??? I think the food hasn't been digested yet lol!

first inzi almost run out now salman decision is gone to the third umpire

Now waht is we have in UNFAIR umpiring ...

technology gone bad .... and umpire gone cheat

yaar khuda k liye over by over score update dediya karo koi!!!!!

everyone is just talking abt the individual scores of Inzi & Butt...but whats the team score at the moment?

I don't see why Allott is raging so much, you can't see the bails actually OFF the stumps until the bat is past the line

I can't believe the commentators. The law says that the bails have to be totally off to rule a batsman out, and when the bail was off, Salman was in. Rameez should stand up talk the batsmans case.

all i can say SubhanAllah. Salman gets a life clearly out not given. may Allah bless Salman

offstump said:
hahaha finally a decision goes our way! butt not out

not really funny....decision was clear...bails were dislodged imo - wonder what Botham has got to say>?