PCB vs BCCI MoU case: BCCI seeks 15 cr ($2m) legal fee from PCB [Post #375]

I'm surprised many PP heavy hitters are missing from this thread. It would make it a livelier discussion to have their input and ideas.

too bad they are sitting this one out. disappointing.

What happened?

Former Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Najam Sethi has termed the ICC’s decision to dismiss the country’s compensation claim against the BCCI for not honouring a bilateral MoU as “vague and absurd”.

Terming the decision a “politically motivated” one, Sethi, who convinced the PCB to file the compensation case against the BCCI, said Pakistan were forced to lose a strong case.

“We’ve pursued the case in the best possible manner. But we also must not forget that India have an extremely strong lobby in the ICC. Even then, this judgment is extremely vague and absurd,” Sethi said.

“I seriously believe that this judgment is politically influenced. India’s strength in ICC is unquestionable at times.”

The ICC had dismissed Pakistan’s compensation claim of around USD 70 million against BCCI earlier this week, saying the MOU signed between the two boards to play six bilateral series is not a legally binding agreement as claimed by the PCB legal team.

According to the MoU, which was signed at the time of the formation of ‘Big Three’ in 2014, both India and Pakistan were due to play six bilateral series between 2015-2023, four of which were supposed to be hosted by Pakistan.

But no series has been played between the two nations till date as the BCCI didn’t get didn’t get clearance from the government.

Sethi, who was the PCB chairman when the case was filed, said nearly 9000 documents were presented in the case but the judgement was made up of just two paragraphs.

“Even in that judgment, there are so many contradictions. First they claimed that PCB’s version was right and if the signed document is viewed with the microscope, then there was a legal binding on the BCCI to fulfill,” he told a television channel.

“On the other hand, they said that if the document is viewed with the telescope, there are many other things involved which needs to be considered and hence the decision should go in the favour of BCCI.”

The former PCB chairman expressed surprise that the ICC committee had even accepted the oral orders of the Indian government as solid and concrete evidence.

“This kind of judgment is shocking to say the least,” Sethi said.

Sethi also said that the PCB took the compensation case to ICC for arbitration and litigation on the advice of top lawyers in the UK and Pakistan.

“We knew that India will put pressure on the ICC to give the verdict in their favour, but we were expecting a decision from where things can move forward. “However, this judgment leaves a bad taste and unfortunately it seems that cricket between the arch-rivals is expected to resume only when India will want to play Pakistan,” he said.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...m-against-bcci-is-absurd-najam-sethi-5460077/

Former Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Najam Sethi has termed the ICC’s decision to dismiss the country’s compensation claim against the BCCI for not honouring a bilateral MoU as “vague and absurd”.

Terming the decision a “politically motivated” one, Sethi, who convinced the PCB to file the compensation case against the BCCI, said Pakistan were forced to lose a strong case.

“We’ve pursued the case in the best possible manner. But we also must not forget that India have an extremely strong lobby in the ICC. Even then, this judgment is extremely vague and absurd,” Sethi said.

“I seriously believe that this judgment is politically influenced. India’s strength in ICC is unquestionable at times.”

The ICC had dismissed Pakistan’s compensation claim of around USD 70 million against BCCI earlier this week, saying the MOU signed between the two boards to play six bilateral series is not a legally binding agreement as claimed by the PCB legal team.

According to the MoU, which was signed at the time of the formation of ‘Big Three’ in 2014, both India and Pakistan were due to play six bilateral series between 2015-2023, four of which were supposed to be hosted by Pakistan.

But no series has been played between the two nations till date as the BCCI didn’t get didn’t get clearance from the government.

Sethi, who was the PCB chairman when the case was filed, said nearly 9000 documents were presented in the case but the judgement was made up of just two paragraphs.

“Even in that judgment, there are so many contradictions. First they claimed that PCB’s version was right and if the signed document is viewed with the microscope, then there was a legal binding on the BCCI to fulfill,” he told a television channel.

“On the other hand, they said that if the document is viewed with the telescope, there are many other things involved which needs to be considered and hence the decision should go in the favour of BCCI.”

The former PCB chairman expressed surprise that the ICC committee had even accepted the oral orders of the Indian government as solid and concrete evidence.

“This kind of judgment is shocking to say the least,” Sethi said.

Sethi also said that the PCB took the compensation case to ICC for arbitration and litigation on the advice of top lawyers in the UK and Pakistan.

“We knew that India will put pressure on the ICC to give the verdict in their favour, but we were expecting a decision from where things can move forward. “However, this judgment leaves a bad taste and unfortunately it seems that cricket between the arch-rivals is expected to resume only when India will want to play Pakistan,” he said.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...m-against-bcci-is-absurd-najam-sethi-5460077/

He knew all these but still filed a case :facepalm:

Sethi is only trying to spite the BCCI-PCB relations further making Ehshan Mani's job even more difficult.

Did he know the outcome before trying this and was still trying to shore up his popularity as a tough PCB chairman?

But PCB has got everything to lose. Sethi will do everything to ensure that Ehsan Mani's every effort to bring normalcy goes in vain as he is already sueing PCB and wants PCB to get damaged as much as possible and that will put MANI in a bad light..

So Even the weakened BCCI with Supreme Court leashes are still humbling everyone, don't know what will happen when BCCI bigwigs comeback after the upcoming BCCI elections with Supreme Court Committee gone, there will be some payback lined up for everyone, specially ICC and PCB. What do you say? [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

The BCCI didn't do anything against the WICB when it abandoned the tour to India, don't think the BCCI will be going after the PCB either.

[MENTION=143290]Reddy[/MENTION] It will be a tough time for cricketing fraternity when BCCI will come back with their elected office bearers.

WICB didnt drag BCCI into a court so tough times ahead for PCB. Sethi must be enjoying this as he damaged PCB as much as he can while filling up his own pockets and he also sued PCB for defaming him regarding his expenses when he was PCB chairman. Ehsan Mani has a lot to repair after what Sethi did. Firstly fight with SETHI itself , second how to escape bearing the expenses of BCCI. Sethi ne khub fansaya PCB aur Ehshan Mani Sahab ko har taraf se.

The BCCI didn't do anything against the WICB when it abandoned the tour to India, don't think the BCCI will be going after the PCB either.

West Indies pulled out due to their internal conflicts which didn't malign bcci. It was their misfortune and BCCI fully understood the situation. It wasn't WICB vs BCCI.

But PCB purposefully try to damage BCCI. no way BCCI will just walk away as if nothing happened.

These two situations are totally different. BCCI is known for holding grudges.

In past, though PCB was ranting, BCCI didn't pay attention. But by dragging into arbitration, PCB created a conflict and BCCI will try to make an example out of this situation. Yes, it'll be like a bollywood drama.

West Indies pulled out due to their internal conflicts which didn't malign bcci. It was their misfortune and BCCI fully understood the situation. It wasn't WICB vs BCCI.

But PCB purposefully try to damage BCCI. no way BCCI will just walk away as if nothing happened.

These two situations are totally different. BCCI is known for holding grudges.

In past, though PCB was ranting, BCCI didn't pay attention. But by dragging into arbitration, PCB created a conflict and BCCI will try to make an example out of this situation. Yes, it'll be like a bollywood drama.

The damages to the BCCI due to the actions of the West Indies was around $40 million, the PCB has not caused even close to 1% of that headache.

It isn't about money. It is about reputation and influence.

Though BCCI lost much more, they didn't take any action against WICB.

But even after winning the case, BCCI is sueing PCB which is much lesser amount.

That should give you an indication about intention of BCCI.

But even after winning the case, BCCI is sueing PCB which is much lesser amount.

The PCB will present its case as to why it should not be held liable for BCCI's legal fees and hopefully the PCB refuses to pay the BCCI and files a case against the ICC for trying to force it to do so.

BCCI lost almost nothing. We played a series vs SL within two weeks of Windies pulling out. SL of 2014 were a bigger draw than WI and BCCI hardly lost anything.

The PCB will present its case as to why it should not be held liable for BCCI's legal fees and hopefully the PCB refuses to pay the BCCI and files a case against the ICC for trying to force it to do so.

Someone wrote in the thread that UK law asks for losing party to pay legal costs of the winner.

BCCI lost almost nothing. We played a series vs SL within two weeks of Windies pulling out. SL of 2014 were a bigger draw than WI and BCCI hardly lost anything.

Then why would the BCCI sue the WICB for $42 million in damages after the cancellation?

It was within BCCI's right to do so. WICB had a contractual obligation.

I'm surprised after all this time you haven't figured out how contracts work

Exactly. And previously BCCI has helped SL Cricket when they were in a lot of financial trouble. We play a lot of cricket with SL.

But with PCB its different. Mainly due to their ego bound hot-headed approach to everything. In their minds they see themselves as the absolute equals to BCCI because they have the same vote as BCCI.

Reality though is very very different and every board recognizes that and therefore tries to maintain friendly ties with BCCI. This further drives PCB nuts as none of the big boards treat PCB even remotely with the same courtesy as they do with BCCI when they bend over backwards to accommodate BCCI . They just dont get it that just like in any Business relationship there is such a thing as credibility, power and creditworthiness that drive these equations with BCCI and not the voting power. To them being nice to BCCI is a sign of weakness and cowardice. And this keeps multiplying every time they run into a setback. Victim mentality kicks in and knee jerk reactions will ensue making the situation even worse.

Ehsan Mani has already started the conciliatory approach and has even gone on to accept that they would have asked BCCI to pay for costs if PCB had won.

BCCI threatened to sue WICB for a few days but I don't think actually went ahead as SL agreed to tour immediately.

It was within BCCI's right to do so. WICB had a contractual obligation.

I'm surprised after all this time you haven't figured out how contracts work

Lol but according to the MOU, the BCCI had to uphold their obligations to play Cricket with Pakistan. Why criticize the PCB for suing then.

BCCI threatened to sue WICB for a few days but I don't think actually went ahead as SL agreed to tour immediately.

I believe what happened was the BCCI and WICB reached a compromise where the WI agreed to play matches in the future as compensation for that cancelled tour.

Lol but according to the MOU, the BCCI had to uphold their obligations to play Cricket with Pakistan. Why criticize the PCB for suing then.

Still don't know the difference between an MOU and a Contract huh? even after PCB got slapped around by PCB's appointed lawyers. Dman, thats pretty bad.

I understand the difference, its a fine line and the only reason why the PCB is because the BCCI wrote the final verdict. My question is why criticize the PCB for suing if you are say the BCCI had the right to sue the WICB?

I believe what happened was the BCCI and WICB reached a compromise where the WI agreed to play matches in the future as compensation for that cancelled tour.

Or an underhand deal to ensure that all WI players picked by franchises will be available for entire IPL season.

Lol, so the WI players were worth $42 million? That is some pretty incompetent valuation by the richest cricket board in the world

I understand the difference, its a fine line and the only reason why the PCB is because the BCCI wrote the final verdict. My question is why criticize the PCB for suing if you are say the BCCI had the right to sue the WICB?

the fact that you think its a fine line between MOU and a contract tells me you have little to no experience in business dealings.

Contracts have remedies and penalties and therefore the right to sue for damages.

MOU's don't.

the fact that you think its a fine line between MOU and a contract tells me you have little to no experience in business dealings.

Contracts have remedies and penalties and therefore the right to sue for damages.

MOU's don't.

Contracts have exit clauses as well where either party can exit under extenuating circumstances.

Well there you go. Even contracts which are two steps after MOU’s have exit clauses.

NOU’s by themselves r worthless as PCB learned the costly way. It appears u haven’t

In 2009 PCB tried to arm twist ipl by threatening to not issue NoC to Pakistani players. Soon 2019 will be here and PCB still paying for the gamble to armtwist bcci.

I loved how BCCI handled that threat. Never issued any counter threats , spewed bile in weekly press conferences or anything. Just quietly let PCB screw themselves and went about their business in a professional manner. Epic.

Well there you go. Even contracts which are two steps after MOU’s have exit clauses.

NOU’s by themselves r worthless as PCB learned the costly way. It appears u haven’t

The issue was not the MOU by themselves, it was the intent of the BCCI i.e. the BCCI entered into the MOU fraudulently, insincerely and the fact they didn't go out of their way to seek govt approval for playing Pakistan and the continuing suspicion that the problem is not the Indian govt but the BCCI is justified.

Intent? is there a clause spelled out for that in the MOU?

Even Pakistan lawyers are not aware of the differences between MoU and contracts (as we saw in this episode), so it should come as no surprise that ordinary Pakistani fans are just as ignorant of such matters.

BCCI had to spend $4 million for this case, right? That's exactly 10% of $40 million. :facepalm:

Think MoUs are done with parties with integrity - that's all this proves and unfortunately PCB have learnt a harsh lesson. Seems that all the goodwill they thought they had generated came to nothing with a counterparty with very dodgy intentions.

So you believe the Govt of India has no say in matters ?

Bhai Savak you are a one man Army for pakistan /PCB, Respect you for that......

I don't think PCB is just getting booed for suing, it's the whole recipe that is bad...

First of all it's India V Pakistan, then the history of PCB screwing BCCI in 2009. Then the big 3 proposal which PCB rightly fought tooth n nail but then did a underhand deal with BCCI for money, execution was poor as it was just MoU.

Later BCCI didn't need them for big 3 and in any case the proposal fell off and PCB didn't get anything in return, so they threatened, blackmailed, requested and pretty much did everything to get India back. The last throw of the dice was a court case, which they lost and then the very next day PCB was back to requesting and seeking a series....

When you are willing to sell your stated principles for the sake of a few bucks, do not expect everything to go in your favour.

So you believe the Govt of India has no say in matters ?

Maybe Yes. But let there be no doubt that the BCCI itself is more interested in damaging and hurting Pakistan Cricket than the Indian Govt itself.

When you are willing to sell your stated principles for the sake of a few bucks, do not expect everything to go in your favour.

Everything went in favor of the other 9 ICC members vis a vis the BCCI. Why do these so called phrases just apply to the PCB?

Maybe Yes. But let there be no doubt that the BCCI itself is more interested in damaging and hurting Pakistan Cricket than the Indian Govt itself.

Why would they even bother to spend time talking to PCB and sign a MoU if they wanted to hurt PCB ? Wouldnt they just refuse to deal with PCB?

[MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION] I think you have gone over the edge, mate. You should stop filling your mind up with such conspiracies and what not.

It's a simple matter. Don't think so much about it.

If I'm not wrong, the MoU (and effectively the bilaterals) was what BCCI said they will give to the PCB for their vote for the Big 3.

PCB sold their integrity then and there for a few bucks. I don't think PCB (or any of their supporters) are in any position to talk about integrity when their morals have been so lose from the start.

Its not even a MoU. Its a LoI or letter of intent.

Neither BCCI nor Indian govt is interested in damaging Pakistan cricket. Stop thinking too much. Get a grip.

If BCCI plays cricket with every other board except PCB then it means that PCB needs to find out the reason why they are the odd one out. They know the reason of course but they want to live in denial.

It is not unusual for the winning side to seek reimbursement for court and other legal costs. While 4Mil is insignificant for BCCI, I think they are trying to send a message. If they do win and are allowed to get this money from the PCB, they have two options:
1) Ask PCB for the money which I think PCB will refuse
2) Go to ICC with the court order asking them to arbitrate. ICC can either force PCB to pay and if they still declibe, will pay BCCI directly deducting the 4Mil from future ICC payouts to PCB

Either way PCB looses. Najam Sethi should have paused and thought this through before pushing through with this pointless lawsuit

It is not unusual for the winning side to seek reimbursement for court and other legal costs. While 4Mil is insignificant for BCCI, I think they are trying to send a message. If they do win and are allowed to get this money from the PCB, they have two options:
1) Ask PCB for the money which I think PCB will refuse
2) Go to ICC with the court order asking them to arbitrate. ICC can either force PCB to pay and if they still declibe, will pay BCCI directly deducting the 4Mil from future ICC payouts to PCB

Either way PCB looses. Najam Sethi should have paused and thought this through before pushing through with this pointless lawsuit

This was not a pointless lawsuit, it was a lawsuit filed on principle and a just cause. The outcome does not make it pointless

I wonder if the PCB can sue the lawyers who mislead them on their chances in the case?

If I'm not wrong, the MoU (and effectively the bilaterals) was what BCCI said they will give to the PCB for their vote for the Big 3.

PCB sold their integrity then and there for a few bucks. I don't think PCB (or any of their supporters) are in any position to talk about integrity when their morals have been so lose from the start.

Lol, so every country that voted for the Big 3 is devoid of integrity then?

No. Every country that changed it's original stance on the Big 3 issue just because of the prospect of earning some money (bilaterals) is devoid of integrity.

This was not a pointless lawsuit, it was a lawsuit filed on principle and a just cause. The outcome does not make it pointless

your own PCB chairman has admitted that PCB would have done the same thing (recover costs) and is therefore taking the behind the closed doors approach to resolve the matter. There is such a thing called - reality. The more you refuse to accept it the more it will hurt you.

No. Every country that changed it's original stance on the Big 3 issue just because of the prospect of earning some money (bilaterals) is devoid of integrity.

Plenty of countries did that, there were 6-7 countries that were against the Big 3 model but eventually changed their stances to vote in favor of it because they accepted the reality that they were powerless to stop it from happening.

your own PCB chairman has admitted that PCB would have done the same thing (recover costs) and is therefore taking the behind the closed doors approach to resolve the matter. There is such a thing called - reality. The more you refuse to accept it the more it will hurt you.

You can't always accept harsh realities, I believe you do your best to fight injustice. Being powerless to do so is a different matter but atleast history will know you tried.

Its like how vast majority of people would give up trying to pursue a girl completely out of their league and the person eventually fails but atleast down the road he will hold his head up high given that he tried his best.

You can't always accept harsh realities, I believe you do your best to fight injustice. Being powerless to do so is a different matter but atleast history will know you tried.

Its like how vast majority of people would give up trying to pursue a girl completely out of their league and the person eventually fails but atleast down the road he will hold his head up high given that he tried his best.

The only difference here is there was no injustice committed on PCB.

You kidding me. You obviously won't realize by try dealing with 10-20 years of no international cricket in your home country with teams making false promises to tour and then cancelling at the last minute and causing huge financial losses.

It took the BCCI one cancelled/abandoned tour by the WI to file a $42 million case.

You kidding me. You obviously won't realize by try dealing with 10-20 years of no international cricket in your home country with teams making false promises to tour and then cancelling at the last minute and causing huge financial losses.

It took the BCCI one cancelled/abandoned tour by the WI to file a $42 million case.

Are you kidding me who is responsible for instability in Pakistan ,other teams???It is not other teams responsibility to make sure PCB is having money. Aussies cancelled Bangladesh tour while it is harsh, but reality is it is a loss for them so they did what is best for them.

WI abandoned the tour midway and that is totally different from what PCB is facing India has no obligation to do anything for Pakistan.

Are you kidding me who is responsible for instability in Pakistan ,other teams???It is not other teams responsibility to make sure PCB is having money. Aussies cancelled Bangladesh tour while it is harsh, but reality is it is a loss for them so they did what is best for them.

WI abandoned the tour midway and that is totally different from what PCB is facing India has no obligation to do anything for Pakistan.

The level of instability in Pakistan is open for interpretation, but the PCB has proven by successfully hosting 10-15 international games in Pakistan that full proof security can be provided to international teams and that cricket can be played here. Teams are responsible for fulfilling their bilateral and contractual obligations. If other teams insist on doing apparently what is best for them vis a vis Pakistan then the PCB has the right to do what is best for them vis a vis other teams i.e. lawsuits.

Just because it has hosted few matches by paying the mainly retired players large money, Pakistan becomes safe in the eyes of all other countries. They have full right to decide what is best for them.PCB has right to do what they want including law suits, just don't expect anything to come out them.

Justice has been served in this case and PCB is not entitled to get even a dime.PCB needs to stop acting all entitled and act as if it other boards job to make sure it is properly funded.

I want BCCI to go hard on them with this counter suit.

Just because it has hosted few matches by paying the mainly retired players large money, Pakistan becomes safe in the eyes of all other countries. They have full right to decide what is best for them.PCB has right to do what they want including law suits, just don't expect anything to come out them.

Justice has been served in this case and PCB is not entitled to get even a dime.PCB needs to stop acting all entitled and act as if it other boards job to make sure it is properly funded.

I want BCCI to go hard on them with this counter suit.

So what if the players were retired and they were paid money, does that make their lives less valuable in the eyes of the terrorists? The point is the PCB and the Pakistani govt has given a sufficient sample size that it can safely hold international cricket in Pakistan and provide fool proof security and playing cricket in Pakistan is safe.

Other boards should be held liable for not honoring their bilateral arrangements and causing losses to other boards.

Going by the reactions in Pakistan media / ex players it seems like BCCI's hold on ICC is highly exaggerated. Relax guys don't make them seem like a superpower or something. It was a weak case in legal terms. Sethi and legal consultants duped PCB of millions in a clear case of treason and cheating. What is most astonishing however is instead of holding these people accountable the media has very conveniently put it all on BCCI's imaginary super powers on a neutral arbitration committee. The people of Pakistan deserve better instead of being fed conspiracy theories and political propaganda. Sad state of affairs all around.

Your Bhaijaan also laughs at Indians who seek a false sense of pride in such matters. Please get back to ground and breathe that poisonous air in your dirty cities. You're still a third rate country going by standard of human life and BCCI's riches don't make your life any better.

Hate to burst some people's bubble and ruin their sunday but you have to serve cold facts to people sometimes.

Taqliya

Bhaijaan

So what if the players were retired and they were paid money, does that make their lives less valuable in the eyes of the terrorists? The point is the PCB and the Pakistani govt has given a sufficient sample size that it can safely hold international cricket in Pakistan and provide fool proof security and playing cricket in Pakistan is safe.

Other boards should be held liable for not honoring their bilateral arrangements and causing losses to other boards.

That is not for you or PCB to decide if Pakistan is safe to hold matches.It is upto other teams to decide if they want to travel to Pakistan or even play Pakistan.

England and Australia play Ashes every 2 years because both parties are willing. It is PCB who tried to take advantage of board like Bangladesh by asking them to tour to Pakistan or not play at all.

Nobody owes PCB anything.ICC rightly saw what a farce that lawsuit was and dismissed it.PCB and its fans need to stop living in lala land and come back to reality.

Thankfully you are neither a lawyer nor an official providing certified legal advice so its ok. If one knowingly pursues a legal option whose outcome, during exploration is determined to be adverse then it is pointlessly stupid and frivolous.

An MOU is always a non-binding agreement between multiple parties. It simply serves as a guideline for the subsequent contract where the details are hashed and vetted by all parties including lawyers. All the talk about fairness, agreement, verbal confirmation during an MOU is nonsense and has no legal standing. Even a law student would know that.

I am positive that PCB has access to some pretty savvy lawyers and legal scholars who would know this and would have provided the same advice to Mr. Sethi. Why he chose to ignore it at his own peril would only be best known to him and I for sure would want to know what was he thinking

If BCCI wins and they very likely will, PCB will have to cough up the $$$ whether the want it or not. Its a no-win for PCB caught between a rock and a hard place.

Plenty of countries did that, there were 6-7 countries that were against the Big 3 model but eventually changed their stances to vote in favor of it because they accepted the reality that they were powerless to stop it from happening.

None of them did it on a quid pro quo basis.

And most importantly, none of them are sitting on their high horse questioning the integrity of BCCI/India like MIG did.

When you're all equally guilty, it's more than a little hypocritical to be pointing fingers.

Bhai this is 2018 not 1018 ... you dont settle things thru confrontation in business matters especially against far more powerful opponents. Looking at your posts the words you use ("fight" , "injustice" etc ) it is unmistakable that you still operate like we are in the dark ages all completely ego driven.

I will give you a very good example of how these things are done today: BCCI 30yrs ago was in the same boat and were at the mercy of Eng and AUS when it comes to matters in ICC. These two boards had unilateral veto powers. Fast forward just 10-15 yrs later all of that was dismantled. And it was done thru shrewd business acumen and sharp politicking and it resulted in hosting 2 Worldcups in India. Not a single shot was fired and we didnt even have a top team at that time like we do today. Not saying BCCI did it all alone but the main masterminds were all BCCI Businessmen.

This is how its done. Not by filing stupid court cases , having motor mouth loose cannon PCB CEO's making irresponsible statements ( One of your PCB Chief actually accused Eng of match fixing in public :facepalm: ), try to sabotage WC2011, revoke permissions to play in IPL 2009 etc etc. If you do such Peurile things nobody in the world will take you seriously.

Come to think of it this loss is better than a win IMO. Because had PCB won you could be rest assured that they would kiss goodbye to any hope for series in the future. Now there is atleast some scope for reconciliation provided PCB acts responsibly and with wisdom ( yes a lot of things have to fall in place but still )

But the way of the PCB (And Pakistan by and large ) is like that of a warrior whose first choice option is always confrontation.

Succinctly put, Tusker.

BCCI's current might was not built in days or months. It took decades of silent hard work (most notably by Dalmiya & Bindra, latter is quite an underrated cricket administrator) behind the scenes.

Its common sense that you don't get into fight with someone you're planning to do business with even if you hate that entity with a passion.

Succinctly put, Tusker.

BCCI's current might was not built in days or months. It took decades of silent hard work (most notably by Dalmiya & Bindra, latter is quite an underrated cricket administrator) behind the scenes.

Its common sense that you don't get into fight with someone you're planning to do business with even if you hate that entity with a passion.

Let me clarify, I dont think the PCB hates the BCCI at all

Maybe not. But Sethi surely did. And he let his emotions take over a business decisions. And PCB is now suffering the consequences of it. Even Mani has said as much.

I'm surprised that Sethi isn't being criticized more for dragging PCB into such a position and doing so much damage to it. You should be a lot more angry with Sethi than you should be with the BCCI or the ICC.

Maybe not. But Sethi surely did. And he let his emotions take over a business decisions. And PCB is now suffering the consequences of it. Even Mani has said as much.

I'm surprised that Sethi isn't being criticized more for dragging PCB into such a position and doing so much damage to it. You should be a lot more angry with Sethi than you should be with the BCCI or the ICC.

Sethi didn't hate the BCCI at all. He was doing what was best for the pcb getting the $60 million

I didn't mean it that way. That was just an example to cite that business interests take precedence over everything in today's world. BCCI understood this better than probably everyone else and that's why they are where they are.