South African Invitation XI v Pakistanis | Tour Match | East London | 27/1/13 | Day 3

and the trend continues..

Hendricks to Misbah-ul-Haq, no run

and the trend continues..

what do you expect misbah to do in a test match with 5 down and only tail to follow? hit 6's?

End of days play;

Misbah ul haq; 53 runs in 123 balls @ S/R of 41.46.
5 fours and 2 sixes. so thats 7 balls where 32 runs were scored.
The remaining 116 balls he scored 21 runs.

Over all not a bad day for Pakistan - mopped up the tail relatively cheaply and a good opening stand once again. Towards the end of the day Misbah and Sarfraz also batting well MashAllah.

Fantastic effort my Misbah here today. The middle order is proving to be a bit of a worry for Pakistan but Misbah leading from the front and showing grit and determination and putting a high price on his wicket.

Sarfraz MasAllah has also been very promising in this warm up game so far. Hope he continues to perform with the bat and also with the gloves through out the series.

Pak should probably look to declare over night giving the SAf Inv a target of 312 and giving the bowlers a good solid day of bowling. If Pakistan to declare over night that would be perfect since it would set up for a potentially exciting day of cricket tomorrow and our bowlers will get as close as possible to real match practice.

Bring back akmal..bring back anwar..bring back miandad..bring back hanif..
Tuk tuk misbah blah blah blah..quality of posters gets worse every year

Exactly, disgusting to see certain posters whining about Misbah's strike rate in almost every thread. It's becoming really annoying.

In case you haven't noticed, most posters are on a vendetta against Misbah.

Even if we win the series 3-0, people will not acknowledge Misbah.

Stumps, Excellent stuff from Misbah at the end.
Middle order a worry but IA they will get back in form in the First Test Match.
They should declare after a lead of about 350 a win would do the team altogether a lot of good.

Hopefully Misbah can return to his 2011 form where he scored like 10 consecutive 50's than we'll surely have a series to watch ;)

Well doesnt matter how he got them atleast he got them. Great innings by Misbah. Will look forward to it against Africa and sarfraz has impressed today too. Hope he again makes a big score.

atleast Misbah has clicked. Now hopefully Azhar, YK and Asad will click in 1st inning of 1st test match.

Little kids who are so used to watching T20s, and unstable, and implosive pakistan sides, that they cant handle the fact that Misbah has provided stability to the team, and strike rate doesnt really matter in tests, specially if the batting lineup is somewhat fragile.

Sarfraz is looking really good mashallah and we know Younis and Misbah are class batsmen. I am just worried about Azhar and Asad.

Azhar really struggled in India, and at times was embarrassing himself while I am not too sure how well Asad would play the SA pacers.

Sarfraz is looking really good mashallah and we know Younis and Misbah are class batsmen. I am just worried about Azhar and Asad.

Azhar really struggled in India, and at times was embarrassing himself while I am not too sure how well Asad would play the SA pacers.

Actually Not worried about Azhar..... He usually shows determination in the real Tests.. without giving away his wicket.. The only worry is Asad..

Over all not a bad day for Pakistan - mopped up the tail relatively cheaply and a good opening stand once again. Towards the end of the day Misbah and Sarfraz also batting well MashAllah.

Fantastic effort my Misbah here today. The middle order is proving to be a bit of a worry for Pakistan but Misbah leading from the front and showing grit and determination and putting a high price on his wicket.

lol hahahaha
Yar ab Itna bhi tael Nahi lagao Misbah ko. These are lil known club level bowlers he is facing.
Instead of an oil bottle we will prolly need a large size diaper for Misbah when he faces the actual SA bowlers in the test match.

lol hahahaha
Yar ab Itna bhi tael Nahi lagao Misbah ko. These are lil known club level bowlers he is facing.
Instead of an oil bottle we will prolly need a large size diaper for Misbah when he faces the actual SA bowlers in the test match.

Gotta love your vendetta against Misbah, really adds character to your posts:amir

Nice to see playersgetting time in the middle, unfortunately the bhoys not going for the win in this crucial decider for whether the pakistan team could survive in south african domestic cricket or not

Been a good practice match, Hafeez and Jamshed have got runs and time in the middle in both innings, and Sarfaz and Misbah have got runs and time in an innings too, Sarfaz might even get two successes out of two, already top scoring for us in the first innings.

Younis I'm not worried about, he's had experience and success in SA before.

Asad and Azhar may be a little worrying, hadn't had success or much time out there, still they've done well in internationals recently so hopefully will come good. It's nice that at least four of our batsmen went out and got good scores.

Think Misbah and Sarfaz should bat as long as they can stay in tomorrow, get some more practice getting used to the conditions. Once they're out, declare and get the bowlers on. Don't really need to overwork the bowlers though, this practice match mainly for the batsmen.

In case you haven't noticed, most posters are on a vendetta against Misbah.

Even if we win the series 3-0, people will not acknowledge Misbah.

I have no problem with Misbah's batting style... The problem is the mind set that every batsmen should be defensive one... You need variety on the team, one aggressive batsmen is a must... Mark my words Pakistan can never improve batting unless they have atleast one aggressive batsmen... Every other team has it... We don't have the same apporach in bowling, we look for aggressive wicket taking bowlers, the same applies to batting...

The rise of Auses was starting with Haddin at top and Gilly at 7... Indian get much better results when they had Sewag at open... Auses replace Haddin with Warner to keep aggression going... SA has Amla, Eng had KP... We are not going to develop aggressive batsmen if entire nation is after aggressive batsmen... Umer Akmal was our best bet, but every past and present test cricketer is after him, and so or the selectors, as if we a long line of Rahul Dravidian in our current line up... It just boils me when team strategically does not even look for aggressive batsmen, it is a must, if you want to improve batting

India has the same problem in bowling department, they don't look for aggressive fast bowler... Atleast we all agree without aggressive fast bowlers you cannot win test matches... My argument is in batting that's also as important... With KP England cannot win because Cook knows without his aggression, no matter how many centuries he score they will not win... Pakistan need this more than anybody else because our defensive batsmen or not traffic strong defense any way... We need a change of culture in batting department... That's my main greviance with Misbah... He just don't like batsmen getting out rashly, but aggressive batsmen will and you need to give them this room, no risk no reward... I don't want everybody to play like that but somebody must do that, the one that has natural tendency and shots should be nurtured rather than discouraged...

this is test cricket and misbah is not an opener ... dont count how many balls misbah took... look at the partnerships he made that is the contribution which is needed in tests. test matches are to test the ability for batsman to stay at the crease and bowlers ability to nag thise batsman with good lines and lengths its all a game of patience.. which luckily misbah has. so please before you make yourself look silly and post misbahs tuk tuk think about what he is playing

Azhar Ali is woefully out of form. He was also struggling in the President's cup. Pakistan needs him to fire for a chance to a fighting total

Asad Shafiq is also finding it difficult to move his feet. He needs practice some dancing in the bars

lol hahahaha

Didn't you mention in a previous post that you will credit Misbah if he leads from the front? Granted that this is just a tour match but give him credit for batting well.

I have no problem with Misbah's batting style... The problem is the mind set that every batsmen should be defensive one... You need variety on the team, one aggressive batsmen is a must... Mark my words Pakistan can never improve batting unless they have atleast one aggressive batsmen... Every other team has it... We don't have the same apporach in bowling, we look for aggressive wicket taking bowlers, the same applies to batting...

The rise of Auses was starting with Haddin at top and Gilly at 7... Indian get much better results when they had Sewag at open... Auses replace Haddin with Warner to keep aggression going... SA has Amla, Eng had KP... We are not going to develop aggressive batsmen if entire nation is after aggressive batsmen... Umer Akmal was our best bet, but every past and present test cricketer is after him, and so or the selectors, as if we a long line of Rahul Dravidian in our current line up... It just boils me when team strategically does not even look for aggressive batsmen, it is a must, if you want to improve batting

India has the same problem in bowling department, they don't look for aggressive fast bowler... Atleast we all agree without aggressive fast bowlers you cannot win test matches... My argument is in batting that's also as important... With KP England cannot win because Cook knows without his aggression, no matter how many centuries he score they will not win... Pakistan need this more than anybody else because our defensive batsmen or not traffic strong defense any way... We need a change of culture in batting department... That's my main greviance with Misbah... He just don't like batsmen getting out rashly, but aggressive batsmen will and you need to give them this room, no risk no reward... I don't want everybody to play like that but somebody must do that, the one that has natural tendency and shots should be nurtured rather than discouraged...

Nasir Jamshed. Hope that now your dislike towards Misbah will be lessened.