Sri Lanka v Pakistan| 2nd Test - Day 2 | Colombo | 13/07/09

Mathews to Fawad Alam, FOUR, streaky boundary to move into the nineties, short and wide, Alam moves towards the line of the ball and looks to cut, takes a thick edge , the ball goes uppishly but just wide of a diving Jayawardene at gully

from Cricinfo

Nadeem Iqbal Khan from Saudi Arabia: "Reference to Ali comments regarding Salman Butt he played 22 tests and he is averaging only 28, similarly Faisal Iqbal played 23 tests and he is averaging only 26 even their First Class averages are not very impressive, on the contrary Fawadâ?Ts First Class average is around 57 & his bowling , fielding and playing better when under pressure are his plus points."

Fawad into the 90's now. He needs to do exactly what he did at the beginning of his innings, deal in singles/ doubles and just rotate the strike.

On_the_up said:
from Cricinfo

Nadeem Iqbal Khan from Saudi Arabia: "Reference to Ali comments regarding Salman Butt he played 22 tests and he is averaging only 28, similarly Faisal Iqbal played 23 tests and he is averaging only 26 even their First Class averages are not very impressive, on the contrary Fawadâ?Ts First Class average is around 57 & his bowling , fielding and playing better when under pressure are his plus points."

Yar chaps - We are Ok with scores and commentary pieces from Cricinfo but picking up comments from other users is not on.

Thanks

MIG

Even with only 6 fours so far, its been the way the strike has been rotated has been impressive, culminating in a strike rate of over 63.

pak4life said:
The last time a team came back from a total less than 100 scored in the first innings to win the match was over 100 years ago, in 1907, when England beat SA at Leeds after scoring 76. we can repeat history inshallah!

if this happens expect to see celebrations outside southall green st all just like the world cup!! oh my that day!!! i was no where near the place but seeing the scenes does somthing to my heart.

Yar chaps - We are Ok with scores and commentary pieces from Cricinfo but picking up comments from other users is not on.

Thanks

MIG
I though it was an interesting point and summarised the problem nicely that's all.

On_the_up said:
I though it was an interesting point and summarised the problem nicely that's all.

it was a false stat just to show alam is better

Butt also scored a century in his first match against Aus in Aus

iFrst-class 74 129 6 5092 290 41.39 14 20 28 0
List A 133 133 11 5543 150* 45.43 18 25 38 0

What a champ, what a player!

First pakistani to score a century overseas on debut.

Fawad you beauty!

Alam must be feeling nervous as he is heading towards his maiden test 100.I have yousuf with so much experience still feel the heat when he is nearing his 100.So we can understand kya haal hoga fawad ka.
InshaALLAH he is going to make it.
Alhamdulilah he has done it.Very well played son.

fawad alam has scored triple centuries for fun

Why would he get nervous approaching a mere 100 ?

Well done Fawad! Hopefully refocus now as its only half the job done.

Pakistan need a lead of atleast 200+ here!

Ali888 said:
fawad alam has scored triple centuries for fun

Why would he get nervous approaching a mere 100 ?

Tell me more

i hope fawad rubs the seniors noses in it by scoring 314* or 401* something

He has already shown up Malik who does not even know how to score centuries

178-1.

Lead by 28.

Amazing stufffffff.

1/4th job done, still more to do.

A brilliant day for Pakistan. Tomorrow will be a crucial day. I would still rate SL as the favorites but one thing is for sure. This match WILL produce a result.

bat till lunch on the 4th day. score close to about 300 lead, if we bat to lunch 4th day, we will have more than 300 lead. plenty of overs left the final 2 days to square up the series? what u say

Very well done pakistan for showing some fight and character, we can inshallah kick on from this platform tomorrow. This was the first day of this test series that TRULY belonged to Pakistan. Congrats fawad alam, he made a mockery of the nervous nineties! :D

pakistan played well today, hopefully they can bat and make 400. then sri lanka will need 250 which will be game on

Need to take it session by session. The morning session seems to be when it is most difficult to bat on this pitch. It is far too soon to erase the memories of the first session in this game or for that matter on the 4th day of the previous Test.

Hopefully if we can only lose no more than 1 wicket by lunch tomorrow then we can really push onto a lead in excess of 250.

Amoeba said:
Need to take it session by session. The morning session seems to be when it is most difficult to bat on this pitch. It is far too soon to erase the memories of the first session in this game or for that matter on the 4th day of the previous Test.
Didn't they have a new ball+morning session last time?

I could not see the match ....waiting for highlights.....can t describe what i am going through reading u bro's feelings....Mashahllah.....

cum on Pakistan.......do it man.........

I would love to admit that i never thought that Fawad will rise to the occasion with so brilliantly. ppl kept on talking about his fighting skills etc etc but reaching a maiden century and hitting six in 90s is a daring n classy act. luv u kidu....u made my day

Wow, Man.The guy has left me speechless.

Well Done Fawad.

Still we need to bat out tomorrow and a session and a half on 4th day, to set up a winning total.

But the moment belongs to Fawad. what a player.

Mashallah, well done Fawad, now every one has to take the responsibility and put a price on their wickets without slowing down too much.

I hope AT LEAST NOW - FAWAD can become a regular for Team Pak in all formats.

Pakistanis are so predictably unpredictable. They can bat tomorrow the whole day without losing many wickets, and the whole team can also get out before lunch.

Pakistan is in a good position now.. Thanks to Gul, Ajmal, Manzoor and FAWAD!!! The day belongs to Fawad.. Inshallah he'll continue in the same way tomorrow..
I hope YK scores a ton too..He needs some runs..

Pakistan effectively 28/1 and i just hope we dont get the early morning collapses that weve sufferred from twice already in this series.

Sri lanka are still in control of this match!

I agree that SL are still the favorites. The first session tomorrow will be very crucial and we can't afford to lose more than one wicket. There are three days left int his game, so the batsmen have ample time to play themselves in.

Yonuis , esp , has to convert his start into something meaningful.

was extremely busy today, and went to slep in the afternoon! can't believe I missed the great fightback! :(:(

and worst thing is TEN Sports are showing the Windies game so will have to wait till late night to get to see the highlights!!!!!!!!

Fawad and Younis maybe even need to have a few throw downs at them so they are ready to go from ball one tomorrow. Pakistan pretty much need to bat all day if they want to have a chance of winning this test match!

True, usually we throw away good positions and mornings do not go down well with us - as amjad said its effectively 28/1 a lot need to be done and sensibly too otherwise SL will walk away with it again.

I just saw Fawad's interview.. He looks very determined.
He said that the match has actually started NOW. We have passed the 150 mark..and our real 2nd innings has started NOW.

pakcricketfan said:
I just saw Fawad's interview.. He looks very determined.
He said that the match has actually started NOW. We have passed the 150 mark..and our real 2nd innings has started NOW.

He's correct - the game at this point has now been rendered to a one innings affair. We're 28/1 and just have to give the Sri Lankans a challenging target to chase. Another 150-200 runs and the game becomes tight, Upto 250 more and Pakistan's bowlers will have some good backing to work with. It can be done - there's plenty of time, and plenty of batting still left.

aashiqmizaaj said:
He's correct - the game at this point has now been rendered to a one innings affair. We're 28/1 and just have to give the Sri Lankans a challenging target to chase. Another 150-200 runs and the game becomes tight, Upto 250 more and Pakistan's bowlers will have some good backing to work with. It can be done - there's plenty of time, and plenty of batting still left.

right..
Fawad is full of confidence..Inshallah he'll further extend his score.. YK took a good start today, hopefully he can convert it into something substantial tomorrow. Then we have M Yousuf,Misbah,Malik and Akmal..Plenty of batting.. They must take full advantage of the great start provided by Khurram, Fawad and YK.