[VIDEOS] Mohammed Shami - An underrated star in all formats

Probably the 4th best quick from subcontinent, in all formats.

Mohammed Shami has been ruled out of next month's Indian Premier League owing to a left ankle injury, for which he will undergo a surgery in the UK.

Senior pacer Mohammed Shami has been ruled out of next month's Indian Premier League owing to a left ankle injury, for which he will undergo a surgery in the UK, a BCCI source told PTI on Thursday. The 33-year-old, who is not part of the ongoing Test series against England, last played for India in the ODI World Cup final against Australia in November. "Shami was in London in last week of January to take special ankle injections and he was told that after three weeks, he can start light running and take it from thereon. "But the injection hasn't worked and now the only option left is surgery. He will shortly leave for UK for surgery. IPL seems out of question," a senior BCCI source said on the condition of anonymity.

Shami, who was one of the architects of India's stupendous World Cup campaign with 24 wickets, played through pain as he had problems with his landing but didn't let it affect his performance.

Shami, who was recently conferred with the Arjuna Award, has 229 Test, 195 ODI and 24 T20 wickets in his decade-long career.

The development raises a question mark about the injury rehabilitation management programme planned by the National Cricket Academy (NCA) for Shami.

Now it is highly unlikely that the pace bowling artist would be able to make a comeback before India's Test matches at home against Bangladesh and New Zealand (October November).

His target could be the marquee away series against Australia.

People in the know of things believe that the NCA's conservative line of thinking has not worked in Shami's case.

"Shami should have gone directly for surgery and that should have been NCA's call. Just two months of rest and injections wouldn't have worked well and that's what has happened. He is an asset and the Indian team would need him in Australia," the source said.

NDTV

BCCI secretary Jay Shah while talking to media:

"Shami surgery is done, he is back in India. Shami's return is likely for the home series against Bangladesh."

As per reports, Mohammed Shami likely to make his return in Test series against Bangladesh

While recalling an incident from the Indian Premier League 2022 in which Hardik Pandya shouted at him, star India pacer Mohammed Shami spoke from the heart in an interview on a YouTube channel:

"I usually don't respond to such things, but when things get too bad, then I do speak up. We have a good connection and are friends. He didn't realize it at that moment. We've known each other for almost 10 years. He told me, 'I swear, I don't know what I've said.' Crores of people watch us on screen, we need to control our emotions."

While recalling an incident from the Indian Premier League 2022 in which Hardik Pandya shouted at him, star India pacer Mohammed Shami spoke from the heart in an interview on a YouTube channel:

"I usually don't respond to such things, but when things get too bad, then I do speak up. We have a good connection and are friends. He didn't realize it at that moment. We've known each other for almost 10 years. He told me, 'I swear, I don't know what I've said.' Crores of people watch us on screen, we need to control our emotions."
Thankfully this guy hardik didnt get the captaincy, moth pathetic guy of Indian team

In his first press conference as the newly appointed head coach of the Indian men's cricket team, Gautam Gambhir while addressing the media:

"He [Mohammad Shami] has started to bowl. The first Test is 19th September. That was always the goal (him making a comeback by that time). Whether he can make it back to the squad by that time, I'll have to speak with the guys at the NCA."

He’s no more underrated so this title can be changed now as he’s regarded by many as the greatest of all time after dominating not one not two but three consecutive World Cups.

Basit Ali on his YouTube channel has slammed Shami and said that he should have been more careful while talking about Inzamam:

"When Shami talks about Inzi bhai and calls him a cartoon, that's not right. Inzamam has led this country and captained it. Shami, your choice of words isn't good. We praise your bowling, but you should have chosen your words better. You didn't pick your words well, and that hurt me,"

"If you think Inzi bhai said something wrong, say it nicely. Don't call him a cartoon and all that. Have some respect. He's a senior. You should respect your seniors. If you don't, cricket will make you cry 300 days out of 365 and only make you happy for 65 days. So, please don't do this, it's a personal request."

“Be a bit more careful, you can't just say anything anywhere. Whatever question is asked, you keep giving indecent answers. I'm using the right word, indecent. You've used indecent language. Your elders probably never taught you this,"

Mohammed Shami said during his felicitation ceremony by the East Bengal Club in Kolkata:

“I can’t commit any time frame for my comeback. I am working hard on my match fitness, but hopefully I will compete for Bengal before I don Team India’s jersey. I will play two-three matches for Bengal.”

“I never thought that my injury was serious. The plan was to start the treatment after the IPL and the T20 World Cup.”

“But my condition turned bad during the ODI World Cup and I thought of starting the treatment at the earliest. Even the doctors were surprised to see the seriousness of my ankle injury.”

Mohammed Shami Nears Comeback After Ankle Injury Recovery

India fast bowler Mohammed Shami is making significant strides in his recovery from an ankle injury that has kept him out of cricket since the ODI World Cup last November. The expectation is that he will be ready to participate in India's home season, starting with a Test series against Bangladesh in September. The selectors have been updated on Shami's progress, and a decision on whether he should play at least one of the Duleep Trophy matches, beginning on September 5 in Anantapur, to prove his fitness will be made soon.

Shami is currently in the final stages of his rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru.

He resumed bowling last month for the first time since his surgery and has been gradually increasing his bowling workload, reporting no pain.

Prior to India's departure for the tour of Sri Lanka in July, chief selector Ajit Agarkar confirmed Shami has started bowling and indicated that the first Test against Bangladesh starting on September 19 in Chennai would be the goal for his comeback.

Ajit Agarkar stated as quoted by ESPNcricinfo, "We more or less know who the guys are, there are some injuries at the moment and hope they will be back up. Shami has started to bowl which is a good sign. September 19 is the first Test and that was always the goal. I don't know if that is his timeline for recovery, will have to ask the guys at the NCA about that."

Agarkar also emphasized the importance of depth in the fast bowling department given the packed Test schedule ahead.

He said, "There are so many Tests coming. We will need some depth. Bumrah, Shami, and Siraj have been around for a while, these are the obvious ones. But there will be some conversation around it. Got a lot of first-class cricket coming up so we can build guys up like that."

This underscores the need for a robust pool of fast bowlers who can be rotated to manage workloads and injuries.

Late last month in Kolkata, Shami expressed a desire to first play for Bengal before making his return to the national team. He also participated informally in motivational and fitness sessions with state players.

Even if Shami misses some or all of India's home Tests, which include two against Bangladesh and three against New Zealand, he has ample time to regain his bowling rhythm for the tour of Australia.

The team will depart shortly after the third Test against New Zealand ends on November 5. Additionally, the Ranji Trophy begins in October, and India's A team will play two first-class games in Australia from October 31, providing Shami with numerous opportunities to build his form.

Shami's ankle injury, which became apparent soon after the 2023 ODI World Cup, was initially considered minor. However, continuous swelling led to the decision for surgery, causing him to miss the home Tests against England in February-March and the IPL 2024 for Gujarat Titans.

Shami was instrumental in India's journey to the final of the ODI World Cup, taking 24 wickets in seven games at an average of 10.70 and a strike rate of 12.20.

As he nears full recovery, his return will be a significant boost for India's seam attack heading into a busy home season and the tour of Australia.

NDTV

BCCI secretary Jay Shah has confirmed that the pacer Mohammad Shami will be available for the Australia tour, he said:

“Our team is already well prepared. We have rested Jasprit Bumrah for a while now. Mohammad Shami is expected to be fit too. This is an experienced Indian side now. Seniors like Rohit and Kohli are fit,”

“Shami will be there (in Australia) because he is experienced, and we need him in Australia,”

BCCI secretary Jay Shah has confirmed that the pacer Mohammad Shami will be available for the Australia tour, he said:

“Our team is already well prepared. We have rested Jasprit Bumrah for a while now. Mohammad Shami is expected to be fit too. This is an experienced Indian side now. Seniors like Rohit and Kohli are fit,”

“Shami will be there (in Australia) because he is experienced, and we need him in Australia,”

Shami Eyeing Return for New Zealand Tests, Full Fitness for Border-Gavaskar Trophy Top Priority: Report​

India’s star pacer, Mohammed Shami is yet to make a return to international cricket, following his stellar show at the 2023 ODI World Cup. The 33-year-old bowler had picked up an injury to his ankle following which had to undergo rehabilitation.

According to a report by The Indian Express, Shami’s availability for the upcoming 2-match Test series against Bangladesh at home is also in doubt as the fast-bowler continues to build up to full fitness.

The report claims that Shami is targeted to make a return to domestic cricket where Bengal open their campaign in the Ranji Trophy on October 11. This would mean that he would also make his comeback to international cricket for the second or third Test against New Zealand.

It is also suggested that another plan of action is that Shami be sent with the India A team which tours Australia on October 31 where the team would take part in two four-day fixtures taking place at Mackay and Melbourne.

Despite getting back to bowling during his time with the National Cricket Academy (NCA), the BCCI have opted against his inclusion for the upcoming Duleep Trophy.

Anonymous sources in the report claim that they would take an approach similar to that of Jasprit Bumrah who had made his return to international cricket in the T20I series against Ireland.

“Since he hasn’t played in a while, he has to be integrated smoothly into the system. With Bumrah, we had the T20s in Ireland, which allowed us to increase his workload gradually. But with Shami, we are talking about Test cricket, where he has to bowl long spells. It will be a step-by-step process and the Australia tour is the ultimate goal,” said the sources.

The return of Shami for the Border-Gavaskar trophy remains a crucial aspect for Team India’s squad as they would rely on his experience to give the side the best chance of defending the title.

Team India is set to take on Bangladesh in the two Tests that begin in September 19. This will be followed by three more games against New Zealand after which the Indian squad will depart to Australia for the Border-Gavaskar trophy in mid-November.

Happy Birthday to a champion bowler! Hope he continues to do well.

India’s pace ace provides fitness update ahead of next WTC leg

India fast bowler Mohammed Shami last appeared in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 final.

Mohammed Shami has missed out on cricket action since the end of the global megaevent due to an ankle injury, for which he underwent surgery in February.

Recently, speaking at the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) annual awards ceremony, Shami revealed his comeback plans ahead of India’s second leg of WTC matches.

“I am working hard to make a comeback soon because I know I have been out of action for quite some time. I want to ensure there is no discomfort when I return. I have to work on my fitness so there is no discomfort,” Shami said.

India are presently leading the WTC standings with a point percentage of 68.52, and their upcoming series in the championship include Bangladesh (two Tests, home), New Zealand (three Tests, home), and Australia (five Tests, away). The Men in Blue would need favourable outings in these encounters to ensure a third successive final.

Shami has been a potent force for India over the last few years, both home and away, with 85 Test wickets at an average of 24.61 in the previous two WTC cycles. The pacer understands his importance and doesn’t want to rush his international return.

“The stronger I return, the better it is for me. I don't want to rush and risk getting injured again, be it against Bangladesh, New Zealand, or the Australia series.

“I've already started bowling, but I won't take any chances until I am 100% fit.”

In his quest to be fit and firing for India, Shami was open to the idea of featuring in the Ranji Trophy for his state team, Bengal.

“If I need to play domestic cricket to test my fitness, I will. What matters most is that I am fully ready for whatever comes next, regardless of the opposition or format."

Shami also discussed the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy in the conversation. India currently hold the trophy and have also won their previous two Test series in Australia.

“India are the favourites to win the series. They [Australia] are the ones who should be on the lookout."

India’s first WTC encounter in the upcoming leg begins against Bangladesh on 19 September in Chennai.

ICC

India’s pace ace provides fitness update ahead of next WTC leg

India fast bowler Mohammed Shami last appeared in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 final.

Mohammed Shami has missed out on cricket action since the end of the global megaevent due to an ankle injury, for which he underwent surgery in February.

Recently, speaking at the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) annual awards ceremony, Shami revealed his comeback plans ahead of India’s second leg of WTC matches.

“I am working hard to make a comeback soon because I know I have been out of action for quite some time. I want to ensure there is no discomfort when I return. I have to work on my fitness so there is no discomfort,” Shami said.

India are presently leading the WTC standings with a point percentage of 68.52, and their upcoming series in the championship include Bangladesh (two Tests, home), New Zealand (three Tests, home), and Australia (five Tests, away). The Men in Blue would need favourable outings in these encounters to ensure a third successive final.

Shami has been a potent force for India over the last few years, both home and away, with 85 Test wickets at an average of 24.61 in the previous two WTC cycles. The pacer understands his importance and doesn’t want to rush his international return.

“The stronger I return, the better it is for me. I don't want to rush and risk getting injured again, be it against Bangladesh, New Zealand, or the Australia series.

“I've already started bowling, but I won't take any chances until I am 100% fit.”

In his quest to be fit and firing for India, Shami was open to the idea of featuring in the Ranji Trophy for his state team, Bengal.

“If I need to play domestic cricket to test my fitness, I will. What matters most is that I am fully ready for whatever comes next, regardless of the opposition or format."

Shami also discussed the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy in the conversation. India currently hold the trophy and have also won their previous two Test series in Australia.

“India are the favourites to win the series. They [Australia] are the ones who should be on the lookout."

India’s first WTC encounter in the upcoming leg begins against Bangladesh on 19 September in Chennai.

ICC
No need to select him untill he is Fully fit .BGT should be his target to return in international cricket

INDIA Needs Shami in BGT so he can Play india A vs Australia A game to prove his fitness ahead of BGT

Last stretch of Shami's career. If his rehab is good then he might threaten to go past 300 but it looks unlikely. My guess is he'd retire with about 270 wickets - a solid achievement.

Shami will not go gently in the retirement. He will rage for one last time.

Hopefully he will get finally a world test championship.

Bumrah,Shami ,Ashwin and Jadeja deserve a WTC title .

From last 6-7 years they are best bowling attack around the world .

Just below wasim bunrah and imran.
Waqar vs shami will be answered in this upcoming bgt. Ahead of shoaib Asif zaheer vaas etc and srinath.

He deserves a wtc title. 100%. If we make finals this time I think he will win it.

Good solid bowler. I think he made his debut against us as Shami Ahmed. Bowled well but didn't seem exceptional.

I don't think many would have thought he had the career he ended up having.

Just below wasim bunrah and imran.
Waqar vs shami will be answered in this upcoming bgt. Ahead of shoaib Asif zaheer vaas etc and srinath.
He is far far behind Waqar in ODI and Test.

He is no more underrated. He's the undisputed greatest of all time ODI fast bowler ahead of Starc and Bumrah.

His performance in WC 2023 was one of the all time great performances in World Cup history. He overshadowed everyone by a mile in that tournament. Even Bumrah

Big Injury Setback For Mohammed Shami, Report Says Pacer Likely To Be Out For...

Indian cricket fans are eagerly waiting to see the highly-anticipated comeback of pacer Mohammed Shami, who has been out of action due to a knee injury. After giving a memorable performance in the ODI World Cup 2023, Shami underwent a surgery for his injury and has been recovering from it since then. It was expected that the star pacer will returning to the national duty for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against Australia in November this year but a recent development has left all the fans worried.

As per a report by the Times of India, Shami has now suffered a swollen knee, which will apparently take another six to eight weeks to heal.

This means that his participation in the five-match Test series against Australia will now be uncertain.

"Shami had resumed bowling, and he was looking on track to make a comeback to competitive cricket soon. But this knee injury has flared up recently. BCCI's medical team is assessing the injury, but it may require quite a bit of time," TOI quoted a BCCI source.

"It's a jolt for the NCA medical team. They have been working on him for over a year. They have one of the best workload management systems in place. The medical team is trying its best to put him back in the park soon."

Earlier in September, Shami had revealed that he is putting his best efforts to return to the field for Team India at the earliest.

"Koshish jaldi hi kar raha hoon kyun ke main janta hoon kaafi time ho gaya hai team se bahar rehte hue (I am working hard to make a comeback soon because I know I have been out of action for quite some time). However, I want to ensure there is no discomfort when I return. I've to work on my fitness, so that there is no discomfort," Shami had said.

"The stronger I return, the better it is for me. I don't want to rush and risk getting injured again, be it against Bangladesh, New Zealand or the Australia series. I've already started bowling, but I won't take any chances until I am 100% fit," he added.

NDTV

Big Injury Setback For Mohammed Shami, Report Says Pacer Likely To Be Out For...

Indian cricket fans are eagerly waiting to see the highly-anticipated comeback of pacer Mohammed Shami, who has been out of action due to a knee injury. After giving a memorable performance in the ODI World Cup 2023, Shami underwent a surgery for his injury and has been recovering from it since then. It was expected that the star pacer will returning to the national duty for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against Australia in November this year but a recent development has left all the fans worried.

As per a report by the Times of India, Shami has now suffered a swollen knee, which will apparently take another six to eight weeks to heal.

This means that his participation in the five-match Test series against Australia will now be uncertain.

"Shami had resumed bowling, and he was looking on track to make a comeback to competitive cricket soon. But this knee injury has flared up recently. BCCI's medical team is assessing the injury, but it may require quite a bit of time," TOI quoted a BCCI source.

"It's a jolt for the NCA medical team. They have been working on him for over a year. They have one of the best workload management systems in place. The medical team is trying its best to put him back in the park soon."

Earlier in September, Shami had revealed that he is putting his best efforts to return to the field for Team India at the earliest.

"Koshish jaldi hi kar raha hoon kyun ke main janta hoon kaafi time ho gaya hai team se bahar rehte hue (I am working hard to make a comeback soon because I know I have been out of action for quite some time). However, I want to ensure there is no discomfort when I return. I've to work on my fitness, so that there is no discomfort," Shami had said.

"The stronger I return, the better it is for me. I don't want to rush and risk getting injured again, be it against Bangladesh, New Zealand or the Australia series. I've already started bowling, but I won't take any chances until I am 100% fit," he added.

NDTV
Without playing cricket how he suffered another injury ?

We are doom if he is out of Border gavaskar trophy .

That's weird. Why are you saying he doesn't need to benefit from Bumrah when I am making no such claim? I am saying Bumrah is objectively a better white ball bowler.
I agree but it's very close. But are so damn good.

Bumrah is much harder to hit and that's why ge is slightly ahead.

NDTV

In an Interview with CricTracker Harbhajan Singh said:

“It will depend on the fitness Shami will carry. Shami is a big bowler, and I am a huge fan of him. The seam position Shami has, very few bowlers possess such precision. I would like to see him going there and performing for Team India,”

“Other than Shami, Akash Deep is the one. He has just played against Bangladesh. He is emerging to be a good bowler. Let’s hope that Shami joins Bumrah and Siraj, that would be really good. If young pacers accompany the team, they too will get the job done. Because this series is really important and winning there [Australia], will showcase your capability,”

Shami has unreal record in ODI WC. The best bowler in ODI WC history.

Avg 13
SR 15
Most numbers of 5-fers
in WC
Most numbers of 4-fers in WC
Total - 55 wickets

I know world cup is not every thing, but it's the biggest factor for anyone to be taken seriously in ODI format.

ShamiO.jpg

Shami might not be able to get to 100% fitness before BGT but BCCI will be looking to pick him even if he is half fit. He is such an asset.

Mohammad Shami spoke about his fitness on the sidelines of an event in Gurgaon on Monday:

“I am 100 per cent prepared. I am trying my best to be fully fit before the tour. Plenty has been said about the (Australia) tour, there’s a lot of hype around it. We do want to make three wins in a row,”

“It’s difficult but this also a test. Whether it’s physical or mental, you have to go through a test. As a player, when you are going through a serious injury, staying patient is paramount. If you can control it, positive results will follow,”

He will be most likely fit for 2nd half of BGT. He is going to play atleast one Ranji trophy match before BGT to prove his fitness.

India needs Shami and Bumrah duo for this BGT. Bumrah alone is not enough.

Big Blow To India! Mohammed Shami Not Named In Squad For Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Veteran pacer, Mohammed Shami has unfortunately missed out on the call-up for India’s tour to Australia for the upcoming Border-Gavaskar series, set to begin on November, later this year.

Shami has not played competitive cricket since his stellar exploits in the 2023 ODI World Cup. He has since been sidelined due to an ankle injury for which he had undergone surgery as well. He had a fantastic campaign in the ODI showpiece event where he finished as the highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 24 wickets in 7 games, breaking many records in the process.

Earlier reports suggested that the BCCI would look to bring Shami into the squad for the ongoing New Zealand series but his recovery is yet to be complete and the Indian cricket board might not want to take any additional risks.

In fact, the Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma prior to the New Zealand series also confirmed his intentions of not wanting to take an ‘undercooked’ Shami to Australia as well.

As per reports, Mohammed Shami may join the Indian squad in Australia and possibly be in action from the third Test at Gabba.

Australia head coach Andrew McDonald while talking to local media outlet:

"Mohammed Shami is a big loss. The way our batters speak about his relentless nature, his line and lengths, the way he goes about his business, a real good complimenting skill set to (Jasprit) Bumrah so think that one-two combo they'll lack a little bit, and they'll miss that."

"But needless to say we saw what happened last time, they had reserves that came in and did the job as well so they cannot be underestimated at all."

Mohammed Shami Is Back! Star Pacer Set To Play For Bengal In Ranji Trophy

Star Indian pacer Mohammed Shami, who last played a competitive match on November 19, 2023, is all set to make a comeback. According to an official release by the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) on Tuesday (November 12), the 34-year-old pacer has been added to the Bengal squad and will lead the team’s fast bowling attack in the Ranji Trophy 2024-25 Elite Group C match against Madhya Pradesh.

The fifth group-stage match of the ongoing season for Bengal, which will mark Shami’s comeback, is scheduled to take place at Holkar Stadium in Indore from Wednesday (November 13) onwards.

Mohammed Shami To Join Team India For Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Set To Leave For Australia With Rohit Sharma: Report​

Star India pacer Mohammed Shami has made a sensational comeback to competitive cricket. The right-arm pacer, who missed the action for around a year due to injury, played for Bengal in their recently-concluded Ranji Trophy match against Madhya Pradesh. Shami bowled 43.2 overs in the game and took seven wickets besides scoring a quickfire 36. Bengal went on to win the game by 11 runs. A fresh media report has claimed that Shami is set to be fast-tracked into India's Test squad.

A report in Dainik Bhaskar claimed that Shami is all set to be included in the India squad for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, starting November 22 in Perth. It added that Shami could fly to Australia with captain Rohit Sharma and both of them could join the team ahead of the first game. However, the report claimed that Shami's inclusion in the playing XI will be taken only after the match in Perth.

Shami showed remarkable performance on his first-class comeback to not only assure his boarding pass for the Australia series Down Under, but also guided Bengal to their first victory of this Ranji Trophy season against old nemesis Madhya Pradesh. Bengal in the last 15 years have always come a cropper against Madhya Pradesh.

But the presence of Shami certainly lifted the team's morale as Bengal defended a 338-run target by bowling out the hosts for 326 in the post-lunch session here on Saturday to clinch six points with an 11-run victory.

While grabbing 3 for 102 in 24.2 overs in the second innings, Shami removed former MI player Kumar Kartikeya much to the joy of the Bengal dressing room which was desperate for full points.

Bengal with 14 points are third in group C behind Haryana (20 points) and Kerala (18 points).

Shami has unreal record in ODI WC. The best bowler in ODI WC history.

Avg 13
SR 15
Most numbers of 5-fers
in WC
Most numbers of 4-fers in WC
Total - 55 wickets

I know world cup is not every thing, but it's the biggest factor for anyone to be taken seriously in ODI format.

View attachment 146524

Best bowler in ODI WC history is Glenn McGrath. He has 71 World Cup wickets and he played in 4 different World Cups (average of 18 in 39 World Cup games).

Shami hasn't played many World Cups. He played less than 20 matches. Not enough sample.

Speaking ahead of the curtain raiser of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in Perth, Morne Morkel acknowledged the impact Mohammed Shami:

"We’re definitely keeping a close eye (on him). Shami is a world class bowler. But also, on the same page, we need to understand that he has been out of the game for almost a year. And we also need to respect him and his body.”

“For us, it’s a massive win for us that he's back playing. It was a great win for him picking up wickets in the first game.”

“So how can we give him the best support? How can we give him the best opportunity to find his way back into the team? It's about being patient and giving his body to find its feet again with red-ball, white-ball, whatever format it might be. We are working closely with people back home. Glad to see him back on the field."

BCCI Not Planning To Fly Mohammed Shami For Test Series In Australia Anytime Soon: Report

Star Indian pacer Mohammed Shami, who picked up seven wickets in his comeback Ranji Trophy match for Bengal against Madhya Pradesh a couple of weeks ago after remaining on the sidelines for almost an year due to injury-related issues, is unlikely to travel to Australia anytime soon. According to a report in the Times of India on Wednesday (November 27), contrary to the speculation of Shami’s inclusion in the Indian team of the remaining four matches of the Test series between India and Australia, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is not planning to fly Shami to Australia in the near future.

Shami is playing in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy for Bengal these days, and in the two matches played so far, he has picked up four wickets. He finished with figures of 1/46 in four overs during Bengal’s tournament opener against Punjab and then dismissed three Hyderabadi batters for 21 in 3.3 overs during the second match played in Rajkot on November 25.

As per the available information, there has been no conversation around flying Shami to Australia right now, as the board is happy with the performance of fast bowlers picked in the squad for the five-match series.

Good. He's nowhere near match fit to bowl long spells.

Probably best to keep him fresh and available for the Champions Trophy and then phase him out post the England series in 2025.

Best bowler in ODI WC history is Glenn McGrath. He has 71 World Cup wickets and he played in 4 different World Cups (average of 18 in 39 World Cup games).

Shami hasn't played many World Cups. He played less than 20 matches. Not enough sample.
Best bowler in odi wc history is shami. Now go home and worship your gods and pray he is permanently injured.

During the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, there was a moment of concern in the Bengal camp when Mohammed Shami collapsed to the ground, clutching his lower back.

However, after receiving some quick treatment, he got back up and finished the over without any issues.

Mohammed Shami To Join Team India For Border-Gavaskar Trophy? Report Reveals BCCI's Latest Move​

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) continues to put a close look on the fitness of Mohammed Shami, who has made a comeback to competitive cricket after a long-standing injury. The right-arm pacer was not named for India's ongoing tour of Australia due to his injury before he recovered and became available for Bengal to play a Ranji Trophy game. Shami continues to play for the state side, now in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy - a domestic T20 tournament.

The BCCI is keen to include Shami for India's ongoing five-match Test series against Australia, but a lot depends on the fitness of the pacer. As per a report in Cricbuzz, a team from the BCCI Sports Science department and a national selector are currently camping in Rajkot to closely monitor the fast bowler. The BCCI will consider about including Shami in India's Test squad only after he gets a clearance from the Sports Science Department, the report added.

On the game front, Shami set up Bengal's comfortable win against Meghalaya with a measly spell in their Group A contest in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy in Rajkot on Sunday.

Elsewhere, Naman Dhir returned excellent figures of 5/19 to fashion Punjab's narrow seven-run win against Hyderabad in Group A, while Jharkhand recorded a thrilling one-wicket victory against Haryana in which Harshal Patel (2/16) and Yuzvendra Chahal (1/13) shone with the ball.

Shami continued to take giant strides in his comeback trail as he produced a sharp spell of 4-0-16-0 to help Bengal restrict Meghalaya to a modest 127 for six.

Bengal won by six wickets and 49 balls to spare at the Niranjan Shah Stadium.

Arien Sangma (37) and Larry Sangma (38) staged a recovery for Meghalaya with the bat.

In reply, Bengal stuttered when three of their batters got out for ducks but Abhisek Porel's 31-ball 61, with nine fours and two sixes, combined with Writtick Chatterjee's 25 not out, took them past the target.

We need him match fit. If he is ready to play a few tests in Australia it will be big boost. You can not rule out Bumrah missing 1-2 tests either. This is a 5 test series and Hazzlewood is already out of 2nd test.

Bumrah has a much better record, but in my eyes this man is as vital to our team as Bumrah. Huge, huge fan. I want him fully fit in the ongoing series.

Mohammed Shami Fitness Clearance Now "Formality", To Play Border-Gavaskar Series vs Australia From...​

Senior India speedster Mohammed Shami is set to compete in the last two Tests of the ongoing series against Australia with his playing kit already headed Down Under and the fitness clearance from the NCA's medical team being a "matter of formality". While the Brisbane Test (from December 14) could be touch and go for the Bengal veteran, it is a foregone conclusion that he will be seen in Melbourne on Boxing Day (December 26) in the fourth Test. A source close to the cricketer said that the NCA "fitness certificate" will come very soon.

"Shami's India kit has already been dispatched to Australia. He will complete Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 assignment and then leave," the source told PTI.

The 34-year-old Shami, who last played for India in the ODI World Cup final in November 2023, was forced into the long layoff due to an ankle surgery that needed surgery.

Just before his much-anticipated comeback against New Zealand, Shami developed swelling in the knee delaying his return.

Since the knockout round of Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy is taking place in Bengaluru, it is expected that the NCA (National Cricket Academy) medical team head Dr Nitin Patel and Strength and Conditioning trainer Nishant Bordoloi would be assessing him after Bengal finishes its campaign in the National T20 championship.

"Shami will be playing the pre-quarter final for us against Chandigarh. He will join us in Bengaluru by tomorrow. However, I am not sure if he will be available if we qualify for quarters or go the distance. Guess he will be fit and available for last two Australia Tests," Bengal head coach Laxmi Ratan Shukla, who has had a good look at his premier bowler, told PTI.

Shukla echoed sentiments of former India head Ravi Shastri, who feels that Shami is needed as early as possible in Brisbane.

Shukla said Shami had done the right thing by deciding to play SMAT after bowling 43 overs in a Ranji Trophy game in Indore against Madhya Pradesh.

"He has already shed around six kilograms of body weight. He has played seven T20 games in 13 days. If he plays pre-quarters it will be eight games in 16 days.

"Shami himself wanted to play fair amount of domestic cricket and inform NCA how his body reacts," Shukla, a former ODI player, said.

India won the first Test in Perth, while the second game, a day-nighter, is currently in progress in Adelaide.

Rohit Sharma said when asked about Mohammd Shami’s chances of playing in the ongoing Test series against Australia:

“Definitely, the door is very much open. But we’re just monitoring him because while playing Syed Mustaq Ali (Trophy), he again got some swelling in his knee, which obviously hampers his preparation to come and play a Test match,"

“We want to be very, very careful. We don’t want to bring him (Shami) here in a situation where he plays and then he pulls up sore or something happens. We want to be more than 100 percent sure with him because it’s been such a long time since he’s played cricket. And to be fair to him, we don’t want to put pressure on him to come here and do the job for the team."

“There are some professionals who are monitoring him. They (BCCI’s medical team) are there with him, and we will take the call based on what those guys feel there. Because they are the ones watching him every game, how he pulls up after the game, after bowling four overs, standing for 20 overs. So, we just have to be very, very careful. But again, like I said, that door is very much open for him to come and play anytime."

India desperately needs a for Shami. These newbies are not able to keep up the good work done by Bumrah.

If Shami comes back fit and firing, India has a great chance to win this series. If India has to feature Rama for the rest of the series, India are in trouble. Rama has been a cannon fodder so far. The other option Prasidh is probably even worse.

India needs Bumrah, Siraj and Shami in the lineup.

India desperately needs a for Shami. These newbies are not able to keep up the good work done by Bumrah.

If Shami comes back fit and firing, India has a great chance to win this series. If India has to feature Rama for the rest of the series, India are in trouble. Rama has been a cannon fodder so far. The other option Prasidh is probably even worse.

India needs Bumrah, Siraj and Shami in the lineup.
Rana is 22 years old ffs. Give him time.

For batsmen dumb induan fans will give them aeons to improve.

Clean bowled the chandigarh openers in his first ball of the over .

2 over 7 runs 1 wickets

I dont know why he is playing SMAT tournaments instead flying to Australia .
Mohammed Shami smashes 32*(17) in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2024

The right-hander played a terrific cameo to help Bengal post 159 after being 114/8 in the Pre Quarter-Finals.

Mohammed Shami smashes 32*(17) in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2024

The right-hander played a terrific cameo to help Bengal post 159 after being 114/8 in the Pre Quarter-Finals.

India needs to get this man in the next flight to Aus.

Enough of Rana. He can bully minnows like Bangladesh whenever Indian plays them next time. Against Big Boys, you need big guns like Shami.

Mohammed Shami bags a 2-fer in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2024 against Baroda, becoming the 8th Indian pacer to pick 200 T20 wickets.

Shami also became only the third Indian pacer to scalp 200 wickets across formats, joining Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar on the elite list.

Indian media is reporting Rohit Sharma doesn't want Shami in the team. Did these guys have a tiff?

Despite being considered for a return to Team India for the ongoing Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Mohammed Shami may choose to opt out. He feels he isn't ready for the demands of red-ball cricket after playing nine Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 games post his Ranji Trophy comeback. According to a BCCI source, Shami might prioritize the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 and the IPL 2025, where he has a significant deal with Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Shami's recent performance in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2024 for Bengal was notable, with 11 wickets in nine games and an unbeaten 32 off 17 balls. In his potential absence, India's pace attack will be led by Jasprit Bumrah, along with Mohammed Siraj, Harshit Rana, and Akash Deep.

India needs to get this man in the next flight to Aus.

Enough of Rana. He can bully minnows like Bangladesh whenever Indian plays them next time. Against Big Boys, you need big guns like Shami.
Again
Rana is 22 ffs. He is nowhere near finished. He is a good bowler.

Indian media is reporting Rohit Sharma doesn't want Shami in the team. Did these guys have a tiff?
The probably took it out of context. Probably they don't want him before being fully fit. He has played only one long format game since his return. Rest of the games were T20 games which doesn't test your fitness. Never a good idea to bank on a bowler returning from injury. Nobody knows what sort of rythm he will be in.

India captain Rohit Sharma said the team management in Australia was awaiting clearance from the medical team at the BCCI Centre of Excellence on Shami:

“I think it’s high time somebody from NCA talked about him. That’s our national cricket academy where he is rehabilitating. Those guys are the ones who need to come up and give us some kind of update,"

“But look, I understand he’s playing a lot of cricket back home, but there have been some complaints about his knee as well. The last thing you want is the player coming here and then pulling out in the middle of the game. You know what happens when that kind of thing happens,"

“There’s no way we want to take that chance unless we are like, not a hundred per cent, 200 hundred per cent sure. We’re not going to take any risk. But yeah, like I said in the last press conference, the door is open. If those guys at the NCA feel that he’s okay to go and recover and play, I will be happy to have him,"

It is not a good idea to rush a fast bowler. He may be able to play a test. But he could make the injury worse. Knee swelling is still there after every match. That is not good

Unless he is not fully fit, he should play these two tests in Australia. Take it up as a 2 test series. We are anyways 1-1 drawn.

A motivated Shami is lethal, but I wouldn't rush his comeback. He is old and another injury can be career ending.

He is not Fully fit to bowl 40+ overs in 5 day test cricket.

Bowling 4 over is very easy in T20 cricket . 2 over upfront and rest at the end of the innings.

I honestly thought that 5 years ago.

This guy’s looks are deceptive. He’s an extremely fit guy with a well oiled bowling action.
I think the injuries have been piling up as of late. He has done well for his age but the end might be nigh.

Hope he can play a couple of test series more before plans to retire.

Don’t see him playing beyond 10 tests and probably a CT from here.