[VIDEOS] Mohammed Shami - An underrated star in all formats

One of the biggest blunders, which doesn't get much talked about, of Kohli/Shastri was to drop Shami for Bhuvi in world cup semis. I had mentioned multiple times in this forum that Shami as ODI bowler is miles ahead of Bhuvi yet in 2019 the hype was just so much around Bhuvi that a few matches Shami played in WC was because Bhuvi was injured. Shami is a champion bowler.

They are not even comparable.
Shami is ahead by a fair margin.
The averages tell the whole story here.
Zak and especially Srinath did not have the support that Shami has and this generation of Test batsmen are poor against any kind of movement compared to what Zak and Srinath had to bowl to. So IMO, its an unfair comparison.

This.

Zaheer and Srinath had to bowl to far better batsmen than Shami is bowling to though it's not his fault.

Using that logic you can prove that Cummins and Zaheer are equally good but having seen both of them(Shami and Zaheer) I really don't see much competition.
When the difference in performance and averages is so high than these era differences and all don't really matter.

<b>‘Easily among the best three seamers in the world': Kohli lauds 'world-class' Mohammed Shami after Centurion exploits.</b>

<I>Kohli named Shami among the top-3 seamers in the world at the post-match presentation ceremony.</I>

Mohammed Shami ended the first Test in Centurion with eight wickets in his bag which included a five-wicket haul in the first innings, and India's Test captain Virat Kohli heaped high praise on the fast bowler.

Shami, accompanied by India's terrific pace bowlers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj, played a huge role in India's 113-run victory against South Africa on Thursday.

Kohli named Shami among the top-3 seamers in the world at the post-match presentation ceremony and added that he had an “impactful” performance in the game.

“Absolutely world-class talent. For me, he is easily among the best three seamers in the world right now. Just the way he bowls on pitches which don't seem to do often like the others, he gets the extra bit from every pitch purely because of his strong wrists, his seam position and ability to hit the lengths consistently,” Kohli said.

“(He bowls on) areas where you can't leave the ball and that's absolutely his biggest quality. Very happy for him to get 200 wickets and again an impactful performance.”

Kohli also lauded the Indian fast bowling trio and insisted that the pacers have played a major role in bailing India out of tough situations, which remains a “hallmark” of the team.

“Knew the bowlers will do the job. Spoke about it in the change room - the fact he didn't bowl much in the first innings, it allowed SA to get around 40 more runs (Bumrah). Just the way these guys bowl together has been a hallmark of our team getting a result in difficult situations,” said the Indian Test captain.

India will next face South Africa in the second Test in Wanderers, which was also the venue where Virat Kohli and co's Test domination kickstarted in 2018. The Kohli-led team had then defeated the Proteas at the venue in a closely-fought game by 63 runs.

Hindustan Times

<b>‘Easily among the best three seamers in the world': Kohli lauds 'world-class' Mohammed Shami after Centurion exploits.</b>

<I>Kohli named Shami among the top-3 seamers in the world at the post-match presentation ceremony.</I>

Mohammed Shami ended the first Test in Centurion with eight wickets in his bag which included a five-wicket haul in the first innings, and India's Test captain Virat Kohli heaped high praise on the fast bowler.

Shami, accompanied by India's terrific pace bowlers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj, played a huge role in India's 113-run victory against South Africa on Thursday.

Kohli named Shami among the top-3 seamers in the world at the post-match presentation ceremony and added that he had an “impactful” performance in the game.

“Absolutely world-class talent. For me, he is easily among the best three seamers in the world right now. Just the way he bowls on pitches which don't seem to do often like the others, he gets the extra bit from every pitch purely because of his strong wrists, his seam position and ability to hit the lengths consistently,” Kohli said.

“(He bowls on) areas where you can't leave the ball and that's absolutely his biggest quality. Very happy for him to get 200 wickets and again an impactful performance.”

Kohli also lauded the Indian fast bowling trio and insisted that the pacers have played a major role in bailing India out of tough situations, which remains a “hallmark” of the team.

“Knew the bowlers will do the job. Spoke about it in the change room - the fact he didn't bowl much in the first innings, it allowed SA to get around 40 more runs (Bumrah). Just the way these guys bowl together has been a hallmark of our team getting a result in difficult situations,” said the Indian Test captain.

India will next face South Africa in the second Test in Wanderers, which was also the venue where Virat Kohli and co's Test domination kickstarted in 2018. The Kohli-led team had then defeated the Proteas at the venue in a closely-fought game by 63 runs.

Hindustan Times

Yep, Shami is in the top 3 seamers in world cricket right now without a doubt.

Looking forward to him taking 300 test wickets and 200 ODI wickets now.

I love the skiddiness that he produces, which is particularly evident on wearing pitches. I bet he is a nightmare to bat against.

Yep, similar to what Simon Jones before his injuries, he also had a fantastic skill set and was very skiddy

He will remain underrated forever with this kind of performance.

Averages over 40 in Eng after 13 matches. Definitely not his favorite place to tour.

No peak, no noteworthy performance in any year, even a brilliant series is hard to find in test cricket.

A nothing more than a good support bowler. Best performance is WTC Final vs NZ. Performed well in that game with Bumrah missing out completely.

Mohammed Shami Becomes Fastest Indian Player To Achieve This Milestone In ODI Cricket
Buttler went for the pull shot against Shami but couldn't get it right as he holed out to Suryakumar Yadav at deep backward square leg on 30. His departure left the hosts in a deep hole at 59/7 .

London: Indian pacer Mohammad Shami had a field day with the new ball against England in the first 10 overs of the first ODI game of the three-match series. He broke the record for the fastest Indian bowler to take 150 ODI wickets when he got rid of England captain Jos Buttler with a jaffer at The Oval. Mohammad Shami only took 80 ODI matches to get to his 150th wickets in the format and he thus surpassed the previous Indian record, held by Ajit Agarkar who did that in 97 matches. The Indian fast bowler was at his very best as he ran riot through the England batting lineup with Indian sensation Jasprit Bumrah.

Australia’s ace pacer Mitchell Starc holds the record for being the quickest player to reach 150 wickets in ODI matches. He did it in 77 matches and is followed by former Pakistan spinner Saqlain Mushtaq at the second spot.

The Indian pacer and Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan are jointly in the third position at the moment. Mohammad Shami was bowling in the 15th over of the match when he dropped his third delivery short and Jos Buttler went for the pull shot but couldn’t get it right as he holed out to Suryakumar Yadav at deep backward square leg on 30 runs.

Indian, then, bundled England out for just 110 runs in 25.2 overs. A total of four England batsmen got out without scoring a single run which also gave a chance to the Indian fans to start a meme fest against the home side on Twitter. Indian cricket fans called the home side ‘Duckland’ on Twitter as India’s bowlers ran riot through the opposition batting lineup.

On the other hand, Jasprit Bumrah also became only the third Indian bowler in the history of cricket to grab 4 wickets in the first 10 overs of an ODI match. Former cricketers and fans were in awe of the brilliance of the Indian bowlers.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...er-to-take-150-wickets-in-odi-cricket-1030876

In two successive games, India failed to defend decent totals at the Asia Cup and are on the brink of exit from the Super 4 Stage of the continental event. After failing to defend 181/7 against Pakistan on Sunday, they again faltered while defending 173/8 against Sri Lanka on Tuesday night. In the game against Pakistan, India's Bhuvneshwar Kumar conceded 19 runs in the 19th over. In the game against Sri Lanka, he conceded 14 runs in the 19th over. Both the performances dealt a major blow to India's chances in the respective games.

Analysing the loss to Sri Lanka, former Indian cricket team coach Ravi Shastri said the Indian squad was short of at least one more quality pacer. While Jasprit Bumrah did not feature in the Asia Cup due to injury, Mohammed Shami was not picked.

"When you need to win, you got to prepare better. I think the selection could have been better, especially for the fast bowlers, you know the conditions here. There wasn't much for the spinner. I was quite surprised that you came here with just 4 fast bowlers. You needed that extra one. Someone like Mohammed Shami sitting at home and cooling his heels, baffles me. After the IPL he had, for him not to be able to make the cut is, obviously, I am seeing something different," Ravi Shastri said on Star Sports.

Once Shastri gave his take, former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram said: "Does the coach have input in selecting the team?" To this, the former Team India head coach replied: "He does, but he is not part of the selection. He can only contribute by saying 'this is the combination we want', then it is up to the captain in the meeting to take that forward."

"There should have been one extra fast bowler. One spinner less in the 15-16. You don't want to be caught in a situation where one guy has a fever and then you have no one else to play with. You have to play another spinner which can be embarrassing in the end," he stated further.

In the match, chasing what looked like a par score at the innings break, the Sri Lankans were off to a blazing start with openers Kusal Mendis (57 off 37 balls) and Pathum Nissanka (52 off 37 balls) putting on 91 runs at a brisk rate.

The fifty was up in the sixth over with both batters regularly finding the gaps and the boundaries with consummate ease, putting tremendous pressure on the Indian bowling attack that looked clueless against the positive approach adopted by the two Lankan batters.

However, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal had other ideas as he struck twice in the 12th over to put the brakes on Sri Lanka's march.

Ravichandran Ashwin sent back Danushka Gunathilaka (1) to leave Sri Lanka in a spot of bother at 110 for three in the 14th over.

In the first ball of the next over, Sri Lanka suffered a body blow as Chahal got the big wicket of Mendis, who was trapped lbw in front of the wicket

But Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka and (33 not out) and Bhanuka Rajapaksa (25 not out) remained till the end to complete the task for their team with a match-winning, fifth-wicket partnership of 64 runs.

NDTV

Bring back the bowler who has an economy of 10 in T20I's. Or maybe he will play in Hardik's 2nd team.

So, the all format star hasn't been selected for the T20I world cup.
I am sure he is disappointed with his economy rate of 10.

Unfortunately, Shami has not done enough to be remembered as a country great also.

Among the current generation, below names are ahead of him and I am not even counting those who will surpass him in future comfortably:-

1.Cummins
2.Anderson
3.Rabada
4.Bumrah
5.Boult
6.Starc
7.Hazelwood
8.Broad

He is not even among the top 8 active fast bowlers of this generation. Guys like Hazelwood have won T20 World Cup for their team and Broad is closing on 600 test wickets.

Anyhow not a front runner in T20Is.
He has a good record in ODIs. Will be more than enough if he chips in with good contributions in upcoming ODI and test events.
not everyone needs to be ATG, as long as they bring in key performances in imp matches and events.

So, the all format star hasn't been selected for the T20I world cup.
I am sure he is disappointed with his economy rate of 10.

Shami has played only 17 T20Is in his entire career which spanned for around 10 years. Compare this with Shaheen Afridi who already played 40 T20 games in 3.5 year career. So this 10-economy rate (which in reality is 9.54) you keep talking about is bit mislaid. He is a brilliant bowler and the only reason he is not in the team bcoz you can only pick 15 members

Bhaijaan, Samson has also played only 16 T20Is but according to you he has already got plenty of chances. Kuch toh consistency rakho. :91: :inti

In Australian conditions, his pace will be more handy than Bhuvi Kumar who is a medium pace trundler.

Bhaijaan, Samson has also played only 16 T20Is but according to you he has already got plenty of chances. Kuch toh consistency rakho. :91: :inti

Chote, Shami has played 60 tests and 82 ODIs and won countless of games for India in career span of 10 years. So, 17 T20Is is too small a sample size.

Samson has played only 7 ODI, so 16 T20Is is good representation.

Clear? :91:

:inti

Chote, Shami has played 60 tests and 82 ODIs and won countless of games for India in career span of 10 years. So, 17 T20Is is too small a sample size.

Samson has played only 7 ODI, so 16 T20Is is good representation.

Clear? :91:

:inti
We are talking about T20Is here. Kya logic hai bhai tere. :bow:

Using your logic Jadeja is granddaddy of Pandya in International cricket. :91: :inti

We are talking about T20Is here. Kya logic hai bhai tere. :bow:

Using your logic Jadeja is granddaddy of Pandya in International cricket. :91: :inti

Most teams take other formats into consideration when giving a player longer rope. Examples being MS Dhoni who was a failure in international T20s with just 1 half century but played/captained India for years based on his exploits in other formats/IPL. Another example being M.Rizwan from Pakistan who avgs just 23 in ODIs but regular in that format & in tests due to his exploits in T20s. Another example is Rohit Sharma himself who don't have much to show in international T20s but captain of Indian team.

You cant take just T20 stats in solo and discount big players.

Most teams take other formats into consideration when giving a player longer rope. Examples being MS Dhoni who was a failure in international T20s with just 1 half century but played/captained India for years based on his exploits in other formats/IPL. Another example being M.Rizwan from Pakistan who avgs just 23 in ODIs but regular in that format & in tests due to his exploits in T20s. Another example is Rohit Sharma himself who don't have much to show in international T20s but captain of Indian team.

You cant take just T20 stats in solo and discount big players.

May be this is the reason why India is struggling to make a good T20I team. :inti

Shami was never a T20 bowler. It's time to phase him out in all formats to be honest . He's aging and that pace has declined over time

May be this is the reason why India is struggling to make a good T20I team. :inti

Reality is, India is a brilliant T20 team with the highest win% among all test playing teams. We just beat England in England who is one of the most fearsome T20 side in the world. Yes, we have not won any T20 world cup but hopefully that will be addressed soon.

Not sure why you think India is struggling in T20s. As far as I am concerned, all good with our T20 side... Sab changa si.

Shami was never a T20 bowler. It's time to phase him out in all formats to be honest . He's aging and that pace has declined over time
And Shaz was saying that we missed Shami big time in Asia Cup.

But then who will we play?

If we go with Shami or Siraj, then people will say they have poor stats.

If we go with Harshal or Bhuvi then they are trundlers and trundlers won't do well in Australia.

Kya kare? Match dekhna band kar de? :inti

Shaz is not a modern day coach. He was a motivator , man manager etc. but I don't think he understands the importance of having specific players for specific phases of the game. Sadly, there seems to me to be no serious attempt to both select and make bowling plans using match ups etc.

Can confidently say that Pakistan in the last one year and now even SL are ahead of us in that. I thought Dravid and Co would be a bit more willing to overhaul our approach but it doesn't seem to me to be the case anymore

But then who will we play?

If we go with Shami or Siraj, then people will say they have poor stats.

If we go with Harshal or Bhuvi then they are trundlers and trundlers won't do well in Australia.

Kya kare? Match dekhna band kar de? :inti
Why haven't we given a chance to Sudeep Tyagi and Mohsin Khan and instead are stuck with these trundlers?

Shaz is not a modern day coach. He was a motivator , man manager etc. but I don't think he understands the importance of having specific players for specific phases of the game. Sadly, there seems to me to be no serious attempt to both select and make bowling plans using match ups etc.

Can confidently say that Pakistan in the last one year and now even SL are ahead of us in that. I thought Dravid and Co would be a bit more willing to overhaul our approach but it doesn't seem to me to be the case anymore
Yeah, Pakistan looks much more organized and prepared than us.

Team has become so stale under Dravid. Test cricket which should have been his forte, has proved to be another disaster in his reign.

Why haven't we given a chance to Sudeep Tyagi and Mohsin Khan and instead are stuck with these trundlers?

They follow a certain process and stick to it but I feel in T20s, your approach needs to be different, should be willing to take risky decisions.

Reality is, India is a brilliant T20 team with the highest win% among all test playing teams. We just beat England in England who is one of the most fearsome T20 side in the world. Yes, we have not won any T20 world cup but hopefully that will be addressed soon.

Not sure why you think India is struggling in T20s. As far as I am concerned, all good with our T20 side... Sab changa si.

Once again the answer is in your post itself. Even South Africa used to be good in bilaterals in ODIs but Australia had the trophies. :inti

Absolutely made mince meat of Aussie batters today!

20th over:

2 2 W W W W

Underrated player. But he didn't fielded one bit and just bowled the 20th over which means he is yet to become match fit and there is no guarantee of him getting the first game vs Pakistan.

Shami's strength is new bowl but it was good to see him do the job in death overs, however can he do it in the main games is the real question.

If he plays 3 more years he will have 300+ test wickets.
Never rated him highly but if he does so he is the best test bowler from SC after 2 Ws retirement.

Shami is one INdian bowler who is the closest to Pakistan style of bowling. Reversing, targeting of stumps, skiddy. Always on the look out for wickets rather than bowling wide yorkers. If strictly talk about performance against main test nations (excluding Afghanistan) he has the second highest strike rate among the 100 wicket club behind Starc. In t20 he never found his range. In his defense played a grand total of 17 games. That's it. Some of them on absolute roads.

When SSA met Shami yesterday:

Afridis-Fan-Boy-Moment-In-Front-Of-Shami1400_634d4b729745a.jpeg

As the two players crossed paths, Afridi greeted the senior Indian pacer warmly and asked him: “Shami bhai kaise hai aap (How are you).”

“Jab se maine bowling start kari hai tabse mai aap ko follow kar raha hu, aap ki na wrist position aur seam ka jawab nahi hai (I am following you since I started bowling and from that time I have been a big fan of your wrist position and upright seam,” said Shaheen.

“Agar release point acha ho jayega na seam bhi theek ho jayega (if the release point is on point, then the seam will be automatically good)," said Shami.
https://www.mensxp.com/sports/crick...ridi-fan-boy-moment-mohammed-shami-video.html

The guy who wasn't even being considered for the squad not too long ago.

Because the likes of Mohanty Harvinder Chetan Sharma believe that trundlers like Harshal Patel are better.

Jaise wo khud hai, waise ghatiya unke selection.

"Bit Angry But Didn't Express": Coach On Mohammed Shami's Reaction On Initial T20 WC Non-Selection

Speedster Mohammed Shami has managed to stay economical in the ongoing T20 World Cup and along the way he has taken four wickets as well. The pacer showed his ability first in the warm-up game against Australia, where he bowled just a single over, which was the final over of the game, and he defended 11 runs, helping India register a narrow win. However, it is important to remember that Shami was not originally named in the World Cup squad, and he was only a late inclusion after being named the replacement for injured Jasprit Bumrah.

Now, Shami's coach Mohammad Badruddin has revealed the pacer's initial reaction on not being named in the World Cup squad originally.

"Shami was a bit angry but didn't express it. He was very hopeful he will be selected as T20 world cup was in Australia. Those pitches suit his bowling. He was upset when the selection didn't happen but never showed it. He went on playing or being at NCA, or here at his farm, toiling away on the pitch. I would tell him that it's my gut feeling that he would play the world cup; he would blush and stay silent. See now he is playing," the pacer's coach told the Indian Express.

Shedding light on the pacer's preparations, the coach said: "We kept around ten wet balls and he used to bowl non-stop. Wet ball is hard to grip, it's where skills come handy. Shami must on an average used to bowl hundred odd balls daily to perfect his art. Look now, he is doing well in that too," his coach reveals," the coach Badruddin says. The Bangladesh offered proof. On resumption after rain, Shami, who had given 21 runs in his first spell of two overs which included a 16-run over, struck with his first ball to Shanto. It was Adelaide, but it was Sahaspur in some ways."

"He has a few acres of land. And if there are no crops grown, he brings a tractor and resurfaces the whole mud. Shami will run for hours, he still does, he is not the one, who believes much in the gym, for him running is key," his childhood coach Badruddin said. Shami has two full fledged pitches made for him. One is slow and one is fast," he stated further.

Team India are currently at the top of Group 2 standings with 6 points, and they will take on Zimbabwe in their last Super 12 match on Sunday at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

NDTV

With due respect Shami was never known for T20I bowling skill. He bowls perfectly hittable lengths. He is okay. His lengths are suitable for Test matches/ODIs. There are better bowlers like Moshin Khan (who is injured), Khaleel, Umran, Kartik Tyagi. Even here Siraj would have been better. He is doing okay so far. I won't be shocked if his bowling gets taken apart in one of the match. India was desperate since India left out all the 140k bowlers. Pandya is the fastest among the current lot. Hit 145k. That tells you everything. Pandya is a 2nd change bowler.

Shami has been a very good bowler for India in the past decade.

Hopefully he carries the form and reaches to 500 wickets in international cricket.

Another impactless tourney for him. Those sixes by Buttler have probably put an end to his miserable limited overs career.

I think he has past his expiry date..need to phase out. Two poor games vs SL.

With the emergence of Siraj, Umran, Arshdeep, Prasidh etc, Shami I think should concentrate only on Tests. He has had a good ODI career but during his peak due to fitness and other reason he did not play much but now I don't think he is needed in white ball formats. Same goes to Bhuvneshwar Kumar, even though he was our highest wicket taker in T20 in 2022.

What is status of Prasidh fitness? Is he available?

Bhuvi was highest wicket taker in T20 only because he played the most matches. In T20 World Cup, I think he picked lesser wicket than Arshdeep, Pandya and Shami all three.

What is status of Prasidh fitness? Is he available?

Bhuvi was highest wicket taker in T20 only because he played the most matches. In T20 World Cup, I think he picked lesser wicket than Arshdeep, Pandya and Shami all three.

Not sure what his status is. He isn't playing any domestic cricket as well. Hope he gets fit soon as he is a good option for India in white ball formats.

Shami is slightly underated because he gets outshone by Bumrah. Otherwise he is right up there with best Indian bowlers. His Strike Rate is very good in both formats.

Tests
Player Span Mat Wkts Avg Econ SR 5W
JJ Bumrah 2018-2022 30 128 21.99 2.69 48.9 8
R Ashwin 2011-2022 88 449 24.3 2.77 52.5 30
RA Jadeja 2012-2022 60 242 24.71 2.43 60.9 10
Mohammed Shami 2013-2022 60 216 27.45 3.28 50.1 6
B Bedi 1966-1979 67 266 28.71 2.14 80.3 14
SP Gupte 1951-1961 36 149 29.55 2.34 75.7 12
N Kapil Dev 1978-1994 131 434 29.64 2.78 63.9 23
A Kumble 1990-2008 132 619 29.65 2.69 65.9 35
B Chandrasekhar 1964-1979 58 242 29.74 2.7 65.9 16
UT Yadav 2011-2022 54 165 30.2 3.51 51.6 3
PP Ojha 2009-2013 24 113 30.26 2.68 67.5 7
EAS Prasanna 1962-1978 49 189 30.38 2.4 75.9 10
J Srinath 1991-2002 67 236 30.49 2.85 64 10
DR Doshi 1979-1983 33 114 30.71 2.25 81.7 6
IK Pathan 2003-2008 29 100 32.26 3.28 58.8 7
MH Mankad 1946-1959 44 162 32.32 2.13 90.6 8
I Sharma 2007-2021 105 311 32.4 3.15 61.6 11
Harbhajan Singh 1998-2015 103 417 32.46 2.84 68.5 25
Z Khan 2000-2014 92 311 32.94 3.27 60.4 11
KD Ghavri 1974-1981 39 109 33.54 3.11 64.5 4
NS Yadav 1979-1987 35 102 35.09 2.56 81.9 3
S Venkataraghavan 1965-1983 57 156 36.11 2.27 95.3 3
RJ Shastri 1981-1992 80 151 40.96 2.35 104.3 2

ODI's
Player Span Mat Wkts Avg Econ SR 5W
JJ Bumrah 2016-2022 72 121 24.3 4.63 31.4 2
Mohammed Shami 2013-2023 87 159 25.95 5.6 27.7 1
YS Chahal 2016-2023 71 119 27.22 5.26 31 2
N Kapil Dev 1978-1994 225 253 27.45 3.71 44.2 1
Kuldeep Yadav 2017-2023 77 127 27.59 5.17 32 1
AB Agarkar 1998-2007 191 288 27.85 5.07 32.9 2
J Srinath 1991-2003 229 315 28.08 4.44 37.8 3
M Prabhakar 1984-1996 130 157 28.87 4.27 40.5 2
IK Pathan 2004-2012 120 173 29.72 5.26 33.8 2
Z Khan 2000-2012 194 269 30.11 4.95 36.4 1
A Kumble 1990-2007 269 334 30.83 4.29 43 2
I Sharma 2007-2016 80 115 30.98 5.72 32.4 0
A Nehra 2001-2011 117 155 31.6 5.21 36.3 2
BKV Prasad 1994-2001 161 196 32.3 4.67 41.4 1
Harbhajan Singh 1998-2015 234 265 33.47 4.3 46.6 3
R Ashwin 2010-2022 113 151 33.49 4.94 40.6 0
UT Yadav 2010-2018 75 106 33.63 6.01 33.5 0
B Kumar 2012-2022 121 141 35.11 5.08 41.4 1
RJ Shastri 1981-1992 150 129 36.04 4.21 51.2 1
RA Jadeja 2009-2022 171 189 37.36 4.92 45.5 1
SC Ganguly 1992-2007 308 100 38.35 5.06 45.4 2
Yuvraj Singh 2000-2017 301 110 38.42 5.08 45.3 1
SR Tendulkar 1989-2012 463 154 44.48 5.1 52.2 2

Shami is underrated due to being bad in T20s. In ODIs also, his economy is extremely mediocre. Economy matters in ODIs.

For example, if you are saving runs in death overs, that's GOLD. Upfront with new ball, picking wickets matter though.

Shami is underrated due to being bad in T20s. In ODIs also, his economy is extremely mediocre. Economy matters in ODIs.

For example, if you are saving runs in death overs, that's GOLD. Upfront with new ball, picking wickets matter though.

He is of two extremes. He can be your villain on a given day also a hero. But as far as Test goes he and Umesh have been champion bowlers in home conditions in the absence of Bumrah.

What about this?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sound on. Stunning.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvAUS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvAUS</a> | BT Sport 1<a href="https://t.co/Q36AFsKy4o">pic.twitter.com/Q36AFsKy4o</a></p>— Cricket on BT Sport (@btsportcricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/btsportcricket/status/1623730445006561280?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 9, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What about this?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sound on. Stunning.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvAUS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvAUS</a> | BT Sport 1<a href="https://t.co/Q36AFsKy4o">pic.twitter.com/Q36AFsKy4o</a></p>— Cricket on BT Sport (@btsportcricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/btsportcricket/status/1623730445006561280?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 9, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Almost NSFW.

In an exclusive interaction with Hindustan Times on the sidelines of the DP World International League T20 (ILT20), Azhar Mahmood spoke about his desire to work with the likes of Shami, Umran Malik and Mohammed Siraj in the Indian Premier League and insisted that he would welcome the idea to work in the IPL in the capacity of a coach.

“I've to pass on my experience with everyone. I don't really care; sports has no boundaries. I've played in IPL for the Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders. I've worked with Shami. I remember when he was having an issue with his seam position and he sent me a text message,” Mahmood said.

“I keep in touch with these guys. Whenever I see them (Shami, Bhuvneshwar), they come and ask me about their issues. I don't mind working with anyone... it doesn't matter if they are an Indian, or Pakistani, or even an Englishman. I'm a coach. Cricket has given me a lot and it's my time to give back to the game,” Mahmood said.

Hands down the most potent bowler ever to play in India. Outstanding strike rate. Among 50 plus wicket takers...

strikerate.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">𝐓.𝐈.𝐌.𝐁.𝐄.𝐑 🔥<a href="https://twitter.com/MdShami11?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MdShami11</a> sends back Labuschagne to scalp the second wicket for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TeamIndia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TeamIndia</a> 👌<br><br>Follow the match ▶️ <a href="https://t.co/8DPghkx0DE">https://t.co/8DPghkx0DE</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvAUS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvAUS</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/mastercardindia?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@mastercardindia</a> <a href="https://t.co/LT3ao2kFBk">pic.twitter.com/LT3ao2kFBk</a></p>— BCCI (@BCCI) <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI/status/1633704852118441984?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 9, 2023</a></blockquote>

Mohammad Shami outstand with 4/11 in 4 overs in IPL 2023

FvIlAboaMAAT4JQ

Interesting to see Shoaib Akhtar's name there too

xLU8nN1.png

Interesting to see Shoaib Akhtar's name there too

xLU8nN1.png

Also Dhawal Kulkarni there in IPL qualifier 1 vs RCB 2016. ABD single-handedly pulled off that game after Kulkarni blew away the lineup of Gayle, Kohli, Rahul and Watson.

Mohammad Shami 4/20 for GT vs SRH

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">.<a href="https://twitter.com/MdShami11?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MdShami11</a> with the new ball is a MOOD 🔥🔥 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TATAIPL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TATAIPL</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GTvSRH?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GTvSRH</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/gujarat_titans?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@gujarat_titans</a> <br><br>Relive his lethal start with the ball here 🎥🔽 <a href="https://t.co/2Na7SBcDu8">pic.twitter.com/2Na7SBcDu8</a></p>— IndianPremierLeague (@IPL) <a href="https://twitter.com/IPL/status/1658180059688218624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 15, 2023</a></blockquote>

Top wicket-taker in the group stages in IPL 2023

fpDtaXx.png

Brilliant from Shami to remove the number one ranked batter!

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="VXGOoup"><a href="https://imgur.com/VXGOoup">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Mohammed Shami, while speaking to a local Indian media outlet, expressed his opinion on the best captain he played under, stating:

"Look, it is a tough question. These things start with comparisons, but you will say that the one who is most successful (is the best captain). So for me, it is MS Dhoni because no one has been as successful as him."