England reach 96/1 in reply to Pakistan's first Innings total of 556 at stumps on Day 2 of the first Test

Cricket Warrior

It was a significantly better session for England, but Pakistan took the honors on day one. The highlight of the day was the impressive 253-run partnership between Shan Masood and Abdullah Shafique. The Pakistan skipper faced immense pressure heading into this match, but he relieved that burden with a magnificent century. Although he was a bit scratchy at the start and survived an LBW decision, the introduction of Shoaib Bashir allowed him to score some boundaries and settle in.

Shafique proved to be the perfect partner, complementing Masood's innings while also scoring at a good pace. However, both batsmen fell within 16 balls, with Atkinson and Leach taking their wickets. Babar and Shakeel appeared poised to see the day through, but Babar's poor run in Tests continued as he fell to Woakes in the penultimate over of the day.

Pakistan has set a solid foundation for a massive first innings total, and now it’s up to their middle order to capitalize.

Teams:

Pakistan
(Playing XI): Saim Ayub, Abdullah Shafique, Shan Masood(c), Babar Azam, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Rizwan(w), Agha Salman, Aamer Jamal, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Abrar Ahmed

England (Playing XI): Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope(c), Joe Root, Harry Brook, Jamie Smith(w), Chris Woakes, Gus Atkinson, Brydon Carse, Jack Leach, Shoaib Bashir

=======

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

550 minimum is still there for the taking, can't let England continue the momentum they built in that last session

If Pakistan don't score 500 here it would be due to pathetic batting of Zimbabar and saud.

They both are responsible for the misbah approach to this innings.

Pakistan lost first test against Bangladesh even after scoring 448 in the first innings.

Here they must score above 500 even 550 to be in commanding Position.

When you've won the toss and put 300+ on the first day you have achieved heaps and mainly brought 2 slips, fwd st leg and silly point into play when your bowlers bowl.
Pak need to get 550-575+, declare at about tea and throw everything at Eng who would be fried dry after 1.75 long days, let scoreboard pressure take over. Well played to Shan masood who must have been under immese pressure in the lead up particualy after the recent loss.

Great first day for Pak. Only wish Shafique had also made substantial hundred instead of losing concentration.

Anyway, over to the middle order boys to scale Mt. 500 today

Pakistan needs to score 550+ here. Cannot be declaring early on this flat deck.

who thinks we will have a result in this game ?
Pitch Report: "There was a lot of conjecture about this pitch. There was grass but it did not respond to the pacers. The spinners had to give it a real rip. The cracks are widening up. If the fast bowlers are looking for something then they will have to wait for reverse swing. It is still a good track for batting. The spinners will start to get something after tea," reckons Aamir Sohail.

Naseem 2 of 21 - is he taking himself as a serios no 6 & still protecting Rizzu & Agha :rolleyes:

Naseem Shah is barely hanging on. Why Saud is giving him a strike too much? Just keep the strike and score some runs, bro.

This is why they should have sent Rizwan to bat last evening. Now Naseem will keep wasting time.
320/4 on a placid surface and still the cowards can't play positively

This is why they should have sent Rizwan to bat last evening. Now Naseem will keep wasting time.
320/4 on a placid surface and still the cowards can't play positively
Why doesn't naseem just get put? He's served his job?

Why haven't thr management told him to go bang bang? Hit a few strokes, if you hit some it elevates the score? And if he gets out, no worries a batter replaces him?

@Ahmed216 this is why I don't like pakistan's overall approach to cricket. Just watch the recent India vs Bangladesh test series and see how they managed to win a 2 day test game.

If it was pakistan it would be a guaranteed draw.

This overall culture has made me hate pakistan cricket which is a shane since hafeez, Haris sohail, Fakhar and even past Babar at the top all had tue right intent? Even azhar ali later in his career started playing attacking cricket?

the fact that The most rubbish player in the team can play better and even he only has a strike rate of 80 whereas england last time all butchered us on the same rubbish pitch with 100+ sr's speaks volume.

Pakistan crikcet is 30 decades behind every team
What a disgusting pitch

Seriously pak pitches have to be the worst going around

The new ball has zero bite on this surface. Even edges are not carrying. This is the time to put pressure back on England by scoring quickly. Bashir is the bowler you want to target.

Seems like Bangladesh has left some scars and Pakistan is being ultra cautious in order not to repeat the msitake.

This pitch is a ghastly one I am afraid.

Man how insulting must it be to Anderson to be on this tour as a consultant or whatever, knowing full well that he could do a much better job than this England bowling attack.

Negative batting by Saud.
100% Agreed but what is naseem doing at the other end?

Pathetic batting from these 2? Bhai your night watchman duties are over? Kya 100 of 400 balls score karna hai kya?

Just start slogging like a maniac, maybe you'll hit some and get the scoreboard ticking?

This is my issue, Pakistan plays tests from draws and are always suprised when they lose or win.

No idea on how to win test games

Pakistani pitches have always been some of the worst .

SL and Indian pitches have always been way more entertaining.
Some of? Bro they are the worst. Name a single test pitch that worse?

What kind of soil they use. This has some unique characteristics. Once the ball is pitched it loses a lot of speed .

10 overs, 20 runs.

Pakistan playing like a minnow on a dead pitch.
Timid, meek approach.

If naseem shah can bat for half hour in the morning against a new ball with out any issues, any pitch is a dreadful

@Ahmed216 this is why I don't like pakistan's overall approach to cricket. Just watch the recent India vs Bangladesh test series and see how they managed to win a 2 day test game.

If it was pakistan it would be a guaranteed draw.

This overall culture has made me hate pakistan cricket which is a shane since hafeez, Haris sohail, Fakhar and even past Babar at the top all had tue right intent? Even azhar ali later in his career started playing attacking cricket?

the fact that The most rubbish player in the team can play better and even he only has a strike rate of 80 whereas england last time all butchered us on the same rubbish pitch with 100+ sr's speaks volume.

Pakistan crikcet is 30 decades behind every team
We did prepare couple of really good grassy surfaces against BD. We underestimated BD pace attack.

This surface is also not that bad. There's decent pace and bounce. The art of batting long is learnt on such surfaces.

Because we are so used to white ball cricket now we don't have the patience to watch attritional cricket.

If it breaks up under the sun then the game can move very quickly on day 4,5.
Problem is we don't have enforcers in bowling attack.

Naseem needs to go,

He has to bowl too. No point wearing yourself down already being made of glass

We did prepare couple of really good grassy surfaces against BD. We underestimated BD pace attack.

This surface is also not that bad. There's decent pace and bounce. The art of batting long is learnt on such surfaces.

Because we are so used to white ball cricket now we don't have the patience to watch attritional cricket.

If it breaks up under the sun then the game can move very quickly on day 4,5.
Problem is we don't have enforcers in bowling attack.
Bro, I have enough experience to know this

If naseem Shah is still at the crease and hit a 6 just now, If Abdullah who averages 11 in 2024 hit a century, if Shan who's statistically the worst test opener to play for Pakistan for a decade is hitting a 150, and even saud who recently had poor form and was under a bit of pressure in both one day cup and his international career is hitting a 50 qith zero pressure

Then either the bowling is utter rubbish, the pitch is utter rubbish or likely both.

If the bowling is rubbish however, and as you claimed pitch is good, then England is at fault and pakistan should ragdoll them.

I'll withhold judgment until England bats, but something is telling me England are about to repeat what they did to pakistan last time

Innings going nowhere at this rate, Pakistan tuk tuking , it seems Pakistan will be content with a draw here after a series of home defeats..

Jimmy Anderson is in the building, coming late after playing golf.

iJhHswt.png

Why doesn't naseem just get put? He's served his job?

Why haven't thr management told him to go bang bang? Hit a few strokes, if you hit some it elevates the score? And if he gets out, no worries a batter replaces him?
I just don’t get how we lack basic batting strategy. Shan and Abdullah’s intent was refreshing yesterday.

Now we’re back to Misball.

And just I type that Naseem gets a knock on the fingers! Dumb dumb dumb

I just don’t get how we lack basic batting strategy. Shan and Abdullah’s intent was refreshing yesterday.

Now we’re back to Misball.

And just I type that Naseem gets a knock on the fingers! Dumb dumb dumb
There's no common sense and neither any instructions from the coach either.

Nasser Hussein: If Pakistan is to win this test match, they need to score runs quickly, especially on a flat pitch like this.

Eng are expected 0-3 comfortably. If Pak get away with a draw here it’s like reaching a icc ko stage.
Theyv just been pumped 0-2 by Bangladesh remember.

Nasser Hussein: If Pakistan is to win this test match, they need to score runs quickly, especially on a flat pitch like this.
You next all format captain too scared to bat on a track where it hardly bounced above his shoulder height (he’s 5ft 2),

This is what happens

Eng are expected 0-3 comfortably. If Pak get away with a draw here it’s like reaching a icc ko stage.
Theyv just been pumped 0-2 by Bangladesh remember.
“Be happy with what you get…..only we force that you get what we want only”