Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

Imran Khan will be 67 years old in 2018...

and then it would be pppp's turn

only way...> long march and de-stabilize the govt through "youth"

(i was expecting split/hung parliament) and it robbed me all the fun :( )

IK and TUQ must do some thing.... PTI got some good %age ..enough to have a successful destabilize the system

PPP have become regional party at best now. PTI have taken place of PPP.

im just going to echo what kashif abbasi said on ary, failure to deliver in five years is now not an option.

I know there was rigging but with a heavey heart i have to say it wouldnt have made much difference.

Ona postive im glad to see the back of the anti pakistan parties namely the anp and ppp. The MQM have been blatantly exposed in karachi, and the PTI has emerged as a force in pakistan politics.

I used to be a Muslim leaguer becasue they were always better than the PPP so im hoping ganja does some good stuf economy wise and Imran and his crew sort out KP.

In a strange way its bette rimran isnt in power now becaue the country is going to face a massive problem and if ganja fails well he will be destroyed in a few years time.

This will give PTI time to build up their network. we went from nothing to something in three years. Phenomenal. People need to underrtsand what IK has achieved without rigging ot ghunda support. Naya pakistan is already here.

Agree with this whole heartedly. Inshallah PMLN will do better than PPP otherwise they will be wiped out just like PPP. Time for PTI to put their heads down and work in all the constituencies for the next 5 years and build up support. Also they can show their work in KPK so they dont get the inexperienced taana. All in all exciting times.

947173_566236756760367_192696945_n.jpg

A LOT of PTI voters voted for the first time jsut coz it was Imran, Many people travelled to pakistan just to vote for PTI. I know over 100 such people, and all of them are saying that they will not vote ever again if Imran takes this defeat lying down despite heavy rigging.

well then welcome to Pakistan is all I can say. I knew from day one that the ghunda's from the N were gonna do this but was too into the junoon to think it would help them. they always do this. Lets take it on the chin and implement change in KP, and watch ganja screw everything up as he always does. If he doesnt well then thats win win for everyone isnt it?

IK has a dilemma, if he moans and marches he loses, if he doesnt he loses a bit but overall he can still come back. He's still fit and can still try one last time. But remember its not about Imran its about insaaf! the party and ticket!

lolz@ BZ................go home and cry, you got your behind handed to you on a platter....only vote you got were from those Waderas's slaves and sheeple with zero brain cell :)))

PTI went from having one seat to 35+..........that's HUGEEEEEEEEEEEEEE leap
Congrats to KPK.......good job on kick out that utter trash called ANP

PML-N won't be able to do as much corruption with PTI in opposition and active media......they'll be thrown out in 5 years if they don't perform and they know that!!
Shahbaz is a showbaz and corrupt and controlling/power-hungry............BUT he does get a lots of work done also..
he is Not gonna be a CM, he's gonna be a bijli minister.......and i'm pretty optimistic the load-shedding problem is gonna be somewhat fixed!

Obviously , NOT the ideal results........but given the super-turd that sheeple were being served in the last 5 year .......this can't be any worse

??

i am not pti worker...why should i be crying..

tsunami... clean sweep with 30 seats...

well next time PTI will win for sure since overseas pakistanis can vote

Overseas pakistanis = educated (for the most part) = pti voters

And appear as sore losers....Rigging or not, the results seem pretty convincing.

you haven't been checking out the evidence........ its all caught on tape

Karachi and Lahore......rigging by both MQM and N-league all caught on tape

??

i am not pti worker...why should i be crying..

tsunami... clean sweep with 30 seats...

lol becharay, from govt to the gutter in five years..and in the next five years oblivion. by 2020 most people wont even remember the PPP. lol..hilarious.

also the funniest incident, your moata jiyala fawad chaudhry losing and he didnt even run on a PPP ticket..lol..what a shambles..

also wheres your great leader now? you have none left. Bilawal what a joke.lol

Whats the latest on Saad Rafique seat? How many seats have PTI won in Lahore?

well then welcome to Pakistan is all I can say. I knew from day one that the ghunda's from the N were gonna do this but was too into the junoon to think it would help them. they always do this. Lets take it on the chin and implement change in KP, and watch ganja screw everything up as he always does. If he doesnt well then thats win win for everyone isnt it?

IK has a dilemma, if he moans and marches he loses, if he doesnt he loses a bit but overall he can still come back. He's still fit and can still try one last time. But remember its not about Imran its about insaaf! the party and ticket!

There is no dilemma. Massively rigged elections, and he must fight. Dilemma would be PPP saying they were thrown out of punjab coz of rigging.

One last time =, one last time. This is not good enough. It is unfair on Imran's part to not back the people who voted for him. It's just unfair. No matter which way you look at it

well next time PTI will win for sure since overseas pakistanis can vote

Overseas pakistanis = educated (for the most part) = pti voters

No it won't happen unless IK and his party are able to break the traditional biradri shackles esp. in Punjab (65% of the voters reside in rural areas)

From another forum
I think there are two reasons for surprise here
1) PTI voter is new and emotional and expresses himself too much, he's very visible due to which expectations build up. As compared to PMLN voter, who is not much into showing the world that he exists, outside of ballot that is
2) Most of PTI supporters are active online, and that's another reason why surprise is in online virtual world
In summary PML-N voter is middle class, lower middle class , but big in numbers....they dont have online presence....many of them are shopkeepers who will never leave their business for rallies....they will keep quiet but will go and vote for mian sahib

lol becharay, from govt to the gutter in five years..and in the next five years oblivion. by 2020 most people wont even remember the PPP. lol..hilarious.

also the funniest incident, your moata jiyala fawad chaudhry losing and he didnt even run on a PPP ticket..lol..what a shambles..

also wheres your great leader now? you have none left. Bilawal what a joke.lol

from Zero seats to Pakistan's 2nd biggest party....

PPPP = from trash can to the gutter :)))

Firdous Appa is DOne, so no more Malik :D

you under estimating the dumbness of pakistani majority...

Next election will be won by PPPP

PPPP did not bother to campaign...

anyway, who cares...

Question is about IK...who will be 67 in 2018 ...and PPPP will back under Bilawal's leadership...

anyway, who cares...

Question is about IK...who will be 67 in 2018 ...and PPPP will back under Bilawal's leadership...

Bilawal and leadership??? that's an oxymoron

Munna doesn't know to speak proper urdu.

PPP is dead and GONEEEEEEEEEEEEEe

Even if people on merit are assigned those seats , it won't have any impact on who forms the government. My irrelevant comment was only for formation of government.
It could do.
Under a 1st pass the post system, even if only two parties were contesting all the seats, one party can win the vast majority of directly elected seats even though it gets less than 30% to 40% of the vote.

As an example, out of the 274 directly elected seats, say party A won 160 seats, each by a margin of 1,000, but Party B won the remaining 114 seats each by a margin of 40,000, then at a national level Party A will have 46 more seats but 4,400,000 less votes than party B, and thus a comfortable ruling majority of seats but far less votes.

If we now include the 70 women and minorities allocated seats, the situation changes again, as Party B will get the majority of the 70 allocated seats, thereby possibly giving them an overall majority.

In a multi-party system, with 3 or more big parties, the situation is even more complicted. In the UK under the 1st pass the post system, in the last 30 years both the Conservative and Labour govts. have had very large majorities but less than 40% of the votes and Liberals have sometimes had more than 25% of the vote but only 3% or 4% of the seats.

anyway, who cares...

you mean like the Malik triple hundred. Bhoal jao beta. In 2020 it will be even worse. Bhutto mar gaya hay, aur Bilawal loser hay. Becharay!

anyway, who cares...

IK 60, will be 65 in 2018.

There is no such thing as retirement age in politics. Hillary Clinton might become the next US President in 2016 at the age of 69!

But I believe the next election will (probably) be IK's last shot

IK looks like making century in age so he will become PM one day. This was great start.

IK 60, will be 65 in 2018.

There is no such thing as retirement age in politics. Hillary Clinton might become the next US President in 2016 at the age of 69!

But I believe the next election will (probably) be IK's last shot

as per SKMH record, he is 62 now!

Heart broken that PTI couldn't do much :(

Well there's a hope: if IK can revive KPK, he has all the ability to win next elections.

I really hope that IK should take break...3/4 years long and stay with his kids..in uk

and then return after 4 years and "lead inqilab"

I really hope that IK should take break...3/4 years long and stay with his kids..in uk

and then return after 4 years and "lead inqilab"

That is not possible in Pakistan because of the feudal and biradri mentality of 70% of our masses. Literacy is the key but it will take time. May not happen in our life time

The PPP/PML-N biradri votebank is by and large unaffected by performance

From another forum
I think there are two reasons for surprise here
1) PTI voter is new and emotional and expresses himself too much, he's very visible due to which expectations build up. As compared to PMLN voter, who is not much into showing the world that he exists, outside of ballot that is
2) Most of PTI supporters are active online, and that's another reason why surprise is in online virtual world
In summary PML-N voter is middle class, lower middle class , but big in numbers....they dont have online presence....many of them are shopkeepers who will never leave their business for rallies....they will keep quiet but will go and vote for mian sahib

I'm happy for sure. PTI's clean sweep was a dream, PML-N's victory was more likely given the facts on the ground and if you really know how politics work in Pakistan. I was hoping to be pleasantly shocked by a PTI tsunami but still glad PTI is victorious in KP. Also, happy about PPP losing badly and MQM being exposed. All in all, this election was positive. I was not expecting miracles to happen, hence now I am not in a deep state of depression like others....if not being sad is called being giddy than fine...I am giddy :)

anyway, who cares...

Bechara vote daalnay to aa na saka, leader kya karay ga? Abba ji nai party khatam kar di. Do you think the PPP workers are going to take this performance lying down? There will be revolt against current leadership. Even in this election we saw stalwarts like Naheed Khan and others step away from PPP.

Biggest challenge for PTI will be to continue to keep the flame alive....continue to be the party of change, keep the youth engaged and pro-active. Last thing PTI wants to do right now is to start crying foul and play the sore loser game. That will really demoralize the youth and next time they might not come out to vote. Move on and prepare for the future.....PTI has done very very good.

Bechara vote daalnay to aa na saka, leader kya karay ga? Abba ji nai party khatam kar di. Do you think the PPP workers are going to take this performance lying down? There will be revolt against current leadership. Even in this election we saw stalwarts like Naheed Khan and others step away from PPP.

this was pml-n's turn...

Biggest challenge for PTI will be to continue to keep the flame alive....continue to be the party of change, keep the youth engaged and pro-active. Last thing PTI wants to do right now is to start crying foul and play the sore loser game. That will really demoralize the youth and next time they might not come out to vote. Move on and prepare for the future.....PTI has done very very good.

You are right as well...sorry brother didn't mean to come off as rude.

PTI should make KPK heaven now and show everyone else what honesty is capable of.

I think PTI needs to concentrate more on the ground than on social media. If one thing this election has taught us is that dominance in electronic media and social media, etc. is worthless.

Imran khan from his playing days creates this " reality distortion" field for himself and his men. It has worked also in the past. By aiming so high, and by this unwavering self belief, he looks naive at times, but eventually one ends up buying it. I think it his way of pushing his mind and body and holding nothing back. And ofcourse motivating his people. So all this talk of Tsunami and naya Pakistan this election is a part of that distortion field. The man has fallen flat on his back so often and jumpedback that it is second instinct for him. He ends up getting the best out of his people. Probably it is this reality distortion that has taken them to 30 odd seats.

He is not afraid of dreaming. He is also not afraid of failing. But I guess people who seriously buy into that reality distortion as actual ground reality are bound to be disappointed.

PML-N won 12 out of 13 in Lahore.

Frankly I thought they would win 10, but there was clear rigging going on in the 2 or 3 they were losing. Electricity going away, sudden surge of votes, anyways. Our awam deserves this.

Really surprised by how badly PPP has done. I don't think Bilawal is really interested in politics, they need to do two things:

1. find a new leader
2. stop relying so much on Benazir and ZAB. Move on.

I think PTI needs to concentrate more on the ground than on social media. If one thing this election has taught us is that dominance in electronic media and social media, etc. is worthless.

Absolutel. ESP in our part of the world. Reality check for one and all.

Imran khan from his playing days creates this " reality distortion" field for himself and his men. It has worked also in the past. By aiming so high, and by this unwavering self belief, he looks naive at times, but eventually one ends up buying it. I think it his way of pushing his mind and body and holding nothing back. And ofcourse motivating his people. So all this talk of Tsunami and naya Pakistan this election is a part of that distortion field. The man has fallen flat on his back so often and jumpedback that it is second instinct for him. He ends up getting the best out of his people. Probably it is this reality distortion that has taken them to 30 odd seats.

He is not afraid of dreaming. He is also not afraid of failing. But I guess people who seriously buy into that reality distortion as actual ground reality are bound to be disappointed.

Great point....IK has achieved everything in life after being told its impossible. Even in 2002 and before, if you listen to his speeches, even in those times he was predicting clean sweep. It a mere motivational method, PTI supporters obviously bought into it and even the media thought this could become a reality after seeing the crowds and passion among his supporters. But what people forget is when 50,000 people come to a jalsa, 100,000 people stay home and may vote for another party, being the silent majority. The silent majority won this time.

Strangley enough i agree with everything saadibaba said. I also expected todays result but got caught up in the junoon near the end. PTI are stronger today than they have ever been and that is all down to the new voters and Imran.

It's not about PTI only it's about Pakistan. I don't know how this country will progress under Nawaz Sharif. All the best Pakistanis, you might not get clean water, fair justice, quality health system but you might get more jangla busses or roads or even Bullet trains.

anything less than 55 seats for PTI is a disappointment. I would be very disappointed. I hope PTI Calls for peaceful protests. our mandate in karachi and Lahore has clearly been stolen by MQM and PMLN.

so true. We need to focus on/target the rural/biradri population. That is where a general election is won or lost in Pakistan

i had remarked long time back that PTI is not going to win too many seats, and his supporters have cinderella complex. this election is a good reality check. they will smelled success and also realized that the path to success is always under construction. it is a good situation to be in, except those who wanted instant gratification. they won 20 odd seats so far just based on promise and euphoria, the next seats will come based on performance in KPK and their role as opposition.

There are many many candiates who got "0" votes ,so that means there father/son/brother/driver no one voted from them- the candidate didnt even vote for himself?

Proud of my KPK!! well done!

The frontrunner to become Pakistan’s next prime minister tonight promised to stand together with the West in taking on the miliatants, hours after voting finished in the country’s historic general election.

Nawaz Sharif's first interview. I say shut down the Nato supplies and force him to do tax reforms. I seriously think we should do this. (LOL ok maybe I am a bit crazy in wanting some reforms) :facepalm:

PTI should give control of Police to district Nazims in KPK and make MQM go crazy in Karachi.

someone who thinks these elections were not heavily rigged needs a reality check. Look at the number of votes PMLN candidates got.. impossible! They never had such a vote bank.

PTI should give control of Police to district Nazims in KPK and make MQM go crazy in Karachi.

lol what can PTI do if there is no stability in KPK and bombs go off every day? And for stability we need a 'no-drones' policy which will not happen. It's a lose-lose situation for PTI. =(

It could do.
Under a 1st pass the post system, even if only two parties were contesting all the seats, one party can win the vast majority of directly elected seats even though it gets less than 30% to 40% of the vote.

As an example, out of the 274 directly elected seats, say party A won 160 seats, each by a margin of 1,000, but Party B won the remaining 114 seats each by a margin of 40,000, then at a national level Party A will have 46 more seats but 4,400,000 less votes than party B, and thus a comfortable ruling majority of seats but far less votes.

If we now include the 70 women and minorities allocated seats, the situation changes again, as Party B will get the majority of the 70 allocated seats, thereby possibly giving them an overall majority.

In a multi-party system, with 3 or more big parties, the situation is even more complicted. In the UK under the 1st pass the post system, in the last 30 years both the Conservative and Labour govts. have had very large majorities but less than 40% of the votes and Liberals have sometimes had more than 25% of the vote but only 3% or 4% of the seats.

I didn't pay that much attention to popular vote deciding allotment of seats. Got it now. Thanks for explaining.

lol what can PTI do if there is no stability in KPK and bombs go off every day? And for stability we need a 'no-drones' policy which will not happen. It's a lose-lose situation for PTI. =(

Shut down the Nato supplies and that will choke IMF funding :) we have lots of cards to play here.

stopping NATO supply is a foreign policy which can't be executed by provinces methinks.

LOL Ok in that case Just send Insaf Students federation to block the road and have police provide them food/water + candies :facepalm:

Its alright . PTI can fix its mistakes and come back stronger in the nest 5 yrs .5 years is nothing in politics. Ganja was out of politics for almost 10 yrs and now is gonna be the next PM . These elections changed the way politics is done in Pakistan . That's the biggest positive out of all this.

Quite an anti climax for PTI trolls, with the record turn-out you'd think that they'll turn out to vote PTI but... :yk

Exactly.

I am so glad the people of Pakistan were able to see pass his rubbish fake imitation Obama campaign and view him for what he is.

It would have been dramatic had PTI won, a party basing his legitimacy on ethnicity, with no manifesto minus building motorways and a leader as charismatic as a bald hobbit with Down syndrome who supports Talibans, would have been dramatic for the imperial nation of al Bakistan really.

Thanks Allah al Khalifa Sher e Punjab would be the next PM. :bow:

Feel bad for PTI, Balti etc. This whole thread is littered with their posts mainly consisting of anti-PML-N stuff. Must be quite tough to not only see their party lose but to see PML-N win so convincingly.

I agree with sadibaba and greatkhan, yes there is disappointment of PTI not winning at least another 20 seats in Punjab but i never expected more than 50 seats anyway. I was hoping to be pleasantly surprised more than anything and it didn't happen.

I think Imran shouldn't focus too much on rigging (MQM will be MQM and overall culture wouldn't change overnight). Let's move on and accept the fact that people in Punjab were very satisfied with Shahbaz Sharif (Expected people to be lot more sensible but you can only try)

Let's show them in KPK what we are capable of and keep them under pressure to tackle corruption as well.

Feel bad for PTI, Balti etc. This whole thread is littered with their posts mainly consisting of anti-PML-N stuff. Must be quite tough to not only see their party lose but to see PML-N win so convincingly.

again it's not about party it's about Pakistan. Pakistan is not USA where at the end you shrug your shoulders and walk away. Nawaz and Imran are not potato patato like Omaba and Romeny. Pakistanis should prepare themselves to be miserable again for next 5 years.

Lol, you were supporting and hoping in favor of PTI yesterday, you are Sheikh Rashid Ahmed of PP. :)

I am out, I have no support for Pakistan Democracy anymore

I believe that people who chose same status co party again deserve to have a corrupt govt for next 5 years

Corrupt system, load shedding, poor economy, IMF loans will now remains. Atleast now I won't be depressed by TV shows making people sick to viewers by discussing poor performance and corruption by government.

Remember what IK said a nation won't be able to handle burden of corrupt government for next 5 years. Well since you all did not listen so now face it, all the best.

again it's not about party it's about Pakistan. Pakistan is not USA where at the end you shrug your shoulders and walk away. Nawaz and Imran are not potato patato like Omaba and Romeny. Pakistanis should prepare themselves to be miserable again for next 5 years.

Nawaz will still be better than PPP, so even though I don't expect major changes, at least you will see some improvements.

ppl are complaining abt ppl in Punjab, but keep in mind, Imran's focus was mainly in big cities like Lahore, Rawalpindi and ISL. but he didn't pay much attention in other industrial areas like Gujrat, Faisalabad, Sialkot where PML-N clean sweeped the election mainly coz of incentives given to businesses in their previous govt (national govt.)
if Imran Khan had paid a bit more attention in those cities and villages as well, he might have got more votes. but in the end its over and PML-N ll do a lot better than their previous term for sure. it ll be more like Musharaf Era where they were corrupt but their were projects too and there was money circulating. lets hope for best now

Let me predict, a yellow plane, yellow train, yellow cycle, yellow tanga, nothing will change, maybe little bit artificial improvement to make himself look good, but no permanent change that will benefit Pakistan in a long run.

Lol, you were supporting and hoping in favor of PTI yesterday, you are Sheikh Rashid Ahmed of PP. :)

Hoping is one thing, blindly believing in something is another thing. I'm trying to cheer you guys up. PTI is not realizing its own success.

Frankly, Balti and PTI made this thread into a PTI spam orgy....instead of focusing on discussions it became a image, video, cartoon fest....also don't like it when people become personal and take cheap shots at leaders of political parties. Just brings the level of debate down to the gutter.

Maybe they will learn theirlesson, stop trolling and learn to debate like real people.

Hoping is one thing, blindly believing in something is another thing. I'm trying to cheer you guys up. PTI is not realizing its own success.

Frankly, Balti and PTI made this thread into a PTI spam orgy....instead of focusing on discussions it became a image, video, cartoon fest....also don't like it when people become personal and take cheap shots at leaders of political parties. Just brings the level of debate down to the gutter.

Maybe they will learn theirlesson, stop trolling and learn to debate like real people.

This is a huge achievement, people will see it once they are done mourning. Lol