Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

Yes, there was rigging, but it wouldn't have mattered much, other than Karachi, or a couple of seats in Lahore.

It is naive to believe that the Army rigged on behalf of PML(N) when Mian sb's first statement after getting to know the elections result was to say that he is going to India and will release the Kargil report.

Just wait and watch how it unfolds, neither the fauj or the Baray Mian camp has forgiven each other for 1999. However, the same cannot be said of Ch. Nisar faction.

PTI had atleast had a minimum of 20 seats which have been stolen from them, and these were major seats in ISL, LHR, MULTAN,PINDI. It does make a huge difference in having seats in those areas.

Hashmi sb won in 48 from Islamabad. 49 was always going to be a tough fight between the three parties.

Lahore was rigged specially in 125 and maybe even in 122. But where else did you guys gave a tough fight?

Which one in Multan were you front-runners for?

Pindi was always going to be PML(N) territory and i am surprised you guys even managed to bag 3 seats there.

Name me one country where an honest, charismatic leader led a dark horse, and new political force, by molding it into an institution with intra party election, grass root support, and campaigners like TRs who did everything without any finanacial support

Yes but no party has gone from 0 to forming the government anywhere. This is the thing, people had their expectations far too high that they were always going to be disappointed with the outcome.

Punjabis voting for PTI. Pathans voting for PTI. Urdu speaking people voting for PTI. where does ethnic bias come into all this?
No the ethnic biases for the other parties, that has been built up over decades. Punjabis voted for PML-N, Sindhis voted for PPP/MQM, Balochis voted for Baloch parties and Pathans voted for the Pathan leader of PTI.

People have to accept that these parties, PPP/PML-N have had their vote bank built up over decades, especially in the rural areas. Someone mentioned earlier, it was a 'silent majority' vote - these people don't go to big urban jalsas and rallies, but they are still sizeable in number. For every 50,000 at a jalsa, there are about a 100,000 at home with their own voting preferences.

PTI won't be able to change people's traditional voting biases overnight. It'll happen over time, let them prove themselves in KPK government, and if they have a good administrative track record, that'll translate to the rest of the country.

People simply went to a tried and tested party, with a previous experience of government, and the only alternative, in their eyes, to the PPP.

But as mentioned, this experience BS won't be used against PTI in 2018 - they will HAVE a track record, they will be able to say 'look we've tackled unemployment/energy crisis etc.'

Let's say I accept that PMLN would have still won. But having PTI with 70 odd seats (and I firmly believe we would have won a lot more) breathing down its neck, with PTI making inroads in Lahore, with PTI making inroads in karachi, things would have been completely different.
You'd still be in opposition though, and at least now PTI can sit in parliament, initiate legislation, campaign for electoral reforms within the parliamentary system and hold the government to account.

Before all PTI could do is protest on the outside, but now they are involved in the decision making process.

This is my point. Pakistan cannot afford another 5 years of this shh!!t. How many more people do you want to get killed in bombings? Do you think nooras can effectively manage this country that's under so much debt, has no energy, no investment coming in? Pakistan cannot afford another 5 years of this!
We've suffered 66 years of this anyway though, but the problem has been this constant flip-flop from martial law to civilian govt.

Musharraf made martyrs out of both PPP and PML-N. Look at 1997, PPP were annihilated at that election, and PML-N in 1999 were on their way to collapse, then Musharraf launched a coup and gave them shaheed card.

Now PPP cannot play shaheed card, their vote bank has collapsed and PTI has more or less overtaken them, and if PML-N fail, then their vote bank will collapse and PTI will gain too.

PPP could rely on a vote bank across all provinces, so no matter how bad they were in government, they still had a majority in NA due to alliances and so on.

PML-N is not a national party though, this is a weak government and PTI have the chance to extract some serious reforms.

They know they can only survive if they have a good track record and perform in government, which would be to the benefit of everyone, but if they don't perform, then PTI can come in.

Dont forget, CJ set to retire this year, Kayani set to retire this year, President set to retire this year. What do you think NS will do? Appoint his cronies and then watch this country go down the trash hole
They won't be able to stuff cronies into those posts, there will be uproar and the govt will fall. Again PML-N government is weak due to their limited support in only one province. They have to be seen as cooperating with all parties and so there will have to be cross-party support for those appointments.

Army is virtually a state within a state and NS won't be able to influence that decision. Last time NS tried something like that and he was thrown out of office.

President - depends on Electoral College votes, PML-N won't have a majority in EC.

PTI was hard done in Punjab. There's no doubt about it.
Losing by margins of 5-6k in many constituencies of Punjab, you can't deny the instances of rigging taking place. Demonstrations won't change a thing seeing just how incompetent ECP is!

Abrar ul Haq's interview posted above. It would help you guys understand just how the entire process was planned.

PPP probably will win in 5 years, I think they wanted to give imran the most volatile region of the country to make sure he is out of the equation come 5 years. Nawaz will carry on WOT, drone strikes, probably make deals with ttp to bomb pti areas and there is nothing IK will be able to do apart from protest.

InshaAllah it does not turn out like this.

There is a little something in politics called swing. Surely in relative terms it is a good result for PTI.

New democracy is as gradual a process as it is a revolutionary one. Keep your heads screwed onto your shoulders; from what I can see, Imran Khan looks to have the best interests of Pakistan at heart, and this is only the end of the beginning for him.

PPP probably will win in 5 years, I think they wanted to give imran the most volatile region of the country to make sure he is out of the equation come 5 years. Nawaz will carry on WOT, drone strikes, probably make deals with ttp to bomb pti areas and there is nothing IK will be able to do apart from protest.

InshaAllah it does not turn out like this.

Punjab is done with PPP, now its PTI turn. Unless Noras can fix allot of things like terrorism and loadshedding.

We're tied at three now.

Dr Shahid Masood was right, and I was laughing at him. He said these elections will be rigged and damn right they were.

I'm not saying it was totally rigged but some constituencies were. PTI deserved 40-50 seats

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/3ZIsE3iw_O0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

http://dawn.com/

QUETTA: Most parts of Pakistan saw major shakeups in political parties’ positions, and Balochistan was no exception. In the troubled province, nationalist parties seem to have emerged as the strongest political players according to the unofficial results of the 2013 elections. The Baloch nationalist group, National Party (NP), got eight provincial assembly seats and two national assembly seats. Similarly, the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) secured 10 provincial assembly and three national assembly seats while emerging as the largest parliamentary group in the province. PkMAP won four provincial assembly seats in Quetta city, while PML-N and Majlas Wahdat ul Muslimeen (MWM) each won one seat.

However, the Balochistan National Party led by Baloch nationalist leader Sardar Akhtar Mengal refused to accept PkMAP’s victory and termed it a conspiracy to keep BNP away from parliament.BNP chief Mengal said that his party would not accept the election results and that his party`s victory was ‘turned into’ a defeat deliberately, on two provincial assembly seats, by returning officers.PkMAP chief Mehmood Achakzai won two national assembly seats from Quetta and his hometown Chaman. Achakzai`s victory in Quetta seems to be the result of his party’s stance and criticism of targeted killings of Punjabis and Hazaras. It was mostly settlers who voted for Achakzai on NA-259.According to unofficial results, PML-N won eight provincial assembly seats in Balochistan. PML-N had already unconditionally backed Achakzai for the NA seat in Quetta. Nawaz Sharif and also have strong ties, so an alliance between them appears to be natural when it comes to formation of the future government in Balochistan.Nawaz also happens to get along well with Dr. Malik Baloch and Senator Hasil Bizenjo of NP.

Chances for a coalition government between the three seem strong. Interestingly, the former ruling party PPP could not retain a single seat in Balochistan whereas the evergreen JUI-F of Fazlur Rehman retained six seats in the Pakhtun-dominated areas of Balochistan. JUI-F will prefer to sit on the opposition benches since the party has remained in power for the last ten years in Balochistan with a lion’s share in the provincial government. Voter turnout was low in Baloch areas and a candidate from Awaran won the provincial assembly seat with just six hundred and forty votes. Baloch separatists had opposed the elections and shutter down and wheel jam strikes were observed for three days on the call of Baloch National Front. However, the turn out in Quetta and other Pakthun-dominated areas was high.

PPP wiped out in Balochistan.

PTI needs to start protests and make voice for this rigging and come on road.I am sure PML-N wont be able to counter them considering PTI can hold protest in big numbers across punjab..KPK and Karachi.
This is the time to stand up.Do or die situation.No need to just loose heart and accept defeat.
Awaam is waiting for the leader to take courage as he promised when he showed dreams to people of change.Now saving common from these thugs revenge is your responsibility Kaptaan.

Protests have started already!

:)) :)) :))

theek hai bhai.

37497450955412577162740.jpg

Maulana Fazl want to form government with PLM N in KPK.If they can lure some independents to their camp, PTI would not be able to form government there.

The wrist slitting has begun. PTI supporters need to take a chill pill. I don't think anyone was expecting this margin of victory by PML-N but in a way good. Now they can't hide behind split mandate or blame it on not having a clear majority. Heavy load on PML-N's shoulders now. Hope they do better for the sake of our country.

Maulana Fazl want to form government with PLM N in KPK.If they can lure some independents to their camp, PTI would not be able to form government there.

So PTI didnt even win enough seats to form goverment in KPK? But lets keep blaming Punjabis!

Your hate for Pashtuns is oozing out here.

Anyway, to address Sadibaba, I'm not that sad about the result (well a bit. I expected 40 seats or 45)

I'm sad about ECP and karachi/lahore.

They won 31 seats. They are the party with the most votes. JUI F and PML N have around 12 each.

Why was Asad Umar made head of campaign is beyond me.....has he run even a small district campaign before....what has his experience been in politics....what does he really knows about how politics work in Pakistan.....he is a corporate guy with great ideas about the economy....I think PTI made a huge mistake by putting the campaign on his shoulders. Personally I like him though and would have loved to have his as our PM, but running an election campaign requires a whole different set of skills.

He might have made mistakes, but unless we had a real MASTER of an election campaign, I couldn't see us winning more than 60-70 seats.

40 seats would've been really good.

30+ is adequate.

Your hate for Pashtuns is oozing out here.

Anyway, to address Sadibaba, I'm not that sad about the result (well a bit. I expected 40 seats or 45)

I'm sad about ECP and karachi/lahore.

And your and others hate for punjabis is obvious here.

PTI will form a great opposition- would be icing on the cake if Imran becomes opposition leader. Will keep Nawaz in check, unlike last 5 years friendly opposition.

One thing I fail to understand, wasnt the PPP the one in power and not PML-N? Then wouldnt the party in power have a chance to rig? Why would PPP and its police/rangers stay silent and let another party win? And how can a party not in power be able to rig to such an extent?

And tell me 1 thing i said against pukhtoon? And dont quote that Afghan nationalist lies!

That post itself was stinking of pashtoon hate.

Anyway, I don't want to get into this stupid argument. To me, Pashtun Punjabi doesn't matter.

That post itself was stinking of pashtoon hate.

Anyway, I don't want to get into this stupid argument. To me, Pashtun Punjabi doesn't matter.

I just said if PTI cant form goverment in KPK then why blame on Punjabis? What about Balochistan? Nothing in there suggested that.

One thing I fail to understand, wasnt the PPP the one in power and not PML-N? Then wouldnt the party in power have a chance to rig? Why would PPP and its police/rangers stay silent and let another party win? And how can a party not in power be able to rig to such an extent?

PML-N have been in power in Punjab for last 30+ years...

In spite of massive rigging he still won the majority here which shows how many people voted for PTI.

Good on PTI supporters for completely ignoring top leadership. they have let us down!

Any rigging videos available please send it to Arif Alvi on his twitter account, he will be sending those over to SC & ECP

ECP is sold out. That bhudda didnt even like to answer anyone question. He just had to say one thing, congrats on free and fair election. :jf

Good on PTI supporters for completely ignoring top leadership. they have let us down!

the leadership or supporters?

If the supporters, I agree

Just give it a little time. Top leadership are thinking of something I'm sure.

As a die hard fan I am really disappointed in our leadership. I have never seen this weak side of IK. Sir Ik this is the time when your tigers are cornered and we need you to lead. As Ik himself said leader leader hota he geedar nahi

Guys i dont want IK to come out as loser! Its time to show Pakistan how its done by governing KPK.

ECP is sold out. That bhudda didnt even like to answer anyone question. He just had to say one thing, congrats on free and fair election. :jf

I said it at the time when he was appointed that he is bad news.

But PTI walay and their typical naivete, particularly Imran, that Fakhru was acceptable...

Hilarious...Altaf has just demanded Karachi be separated from Pakistan in other words a threat of insurgency if their peeeepal maandayte is not accepted...

Now he is threatening those standing at teen talwar...

What a Hitler...

Hilarious...Altaf has just demanded Karachi be separated from Pakistan in other words a threat of insurgency if their peeeepal maandayte is not accepted...

What a Hitler...

Altaf has always wanted his own little state. stupid comment after pml-n won.

Every single person was impressed with PTI's election campaign. It was wonderfully planned. Let's not try to find faults just for the heck of it

Guys i dont want IK to come out as loser! Its time to show Pakistan how its done by governing KPK.

IK is not the loser, the people want their votes truthfully used, and not rigged!. How hard is that to comprehend for some people?

If we could have got even 20-30 more seats it would have made a huge difference to the amount of say we had in the National Assembly, Presidential election, electoral reforms etc..

We need seats and we must fight for it!. Why should PTI easily let go of seats which were ours in the first place?

Altaf has always wanted his own little state.

Really, then what has Kiani and ISI been doing all these years...sorry I forgot selling Pakistans to Americans and killing Pakistanis on behalf of NATO...

PTI supporter make #LalikChowk the new Tehrir Square!!!! #RiggingAgainstPTI

top leadership. Seems like they have accepted the results

i fully support everything you have said in this thread. I will be in pak within the next few days, can't wait to be a part of the protests! you and insaftak should carry on with your jazba. been following you guys on here since forever!

What a Hitler...

Karachi isnt MQM jagheer, if not for blatant rigging then MQM would have lost! He knows that he's days are numbred, not enough MQM urdu speaking votes anymore. Next generation want something better then militant party in Karachi.

Imran Khan and other leaders have tweeted that ECP should take action.

The leaders should join the protests!

Relection and Justice needed.

What a Hitler...

this speech is funny, would be even funnier if he wasnt the biggest terrorist in pakistan

i fully support everything you have said in this thread. I will be in pak within the next few days, can't wait to be a part of the protests! you and insaftak should carry on with your jazba. been following you guys on here since forever!

Thanks!

I've been going crazy on facebook and twitter. I dont think people realize the seriousness of all this. Half of PTI voters will be disillusioned and iwll never vote again in their lives if Imran doesnt protest. This country will be in a bigger mess.

I have asked PTI leadership about calls for a march. Im seriously ********, and if nothing happens, this country is royally screwed

Imran Khan and other leaders have tweeted that ECP should take action.

The leaders should join the protests!

Relection and Justice needed.

I have been reading those tweets from Imran, and I hope he is just kidding. ECP and taking action against thugs are mutually exclusive.