Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

Apparently sialkot jalsa is reported to be above 100K attendees.... aur Showbaaz sharif ko geo sey request kar ke andhaira ujaala jalsa karna para to cover up the dismal showing...

OK the thought of following NFP on twitter was too disgusting.

I just unfollowed him

Saadi, tabdeeli thori dair ke liay he aye the, phir chali gaye :P

^^^

Lol, I hope the tabdeeli that IK is supposed to bring last a little longer than this one.

People queuing up for Imran Khan Jalsa today!

316361_443042872456377_1082800826_n.jpg

The goons recruited in Punjab Police by Nawaz Sharif as ASIs in 80s and 90s have now been promoted up to the ranks of DSPs and SPs......And now these men will try to pay back Nooras.....

It is quite understandable ....If a person has been given a out of merit favour over a deserving one then he is bound to be loyal to his favour for his life...

Pathetic effort from PTI Gujranwala candidates and office bearers.....They should have done much better to bring people in for the Jalsa....I could not see any effort from them to mobilise people in my locality....

I also could not go there because of some inevitable urgency .....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="fr"><p>Great spirit around to go out and vote on the 11th. Seniors tell me after Bhutto they seeing this spirit now. Record turn out expected.</p>— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) <a href="https://twitter.com/AliZafarsays/status/331349374363906048">6 mai 2013</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="fr"><p>Everywhere I ask 9 out of 10 say @<a href="https://twitter.com/imrankhanpti">imrankhanpti</a>. What is PML-N's strategy ?</p>— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) <a href="https://twitter.com/AliZafarsays/status/331459727605260289">6 mai 2013</a></blockquote>

The goons recruited in Punjab Police by Nawaz Sharif as ASIs in 80s and 90s have now been promoted unto the ranks of DSPs and SPs......And now these men will try to pay back Nooras.....

It is quite understandable ....If a person has been given a favour out of merit over a deserving one then he is bound to be loyal to his favour for his life...

Talking of Punjab police :)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="fr"><p>And this is from all sections of society. Asked these folks from Punjab police today. All said @<a href="https://twitter.com/imrankhanpti">imrankhanpti</a>. <a href="http://t.co/qO1Bwp69oQ" title="http://twitter.com/AliZafarsays/status/331467217399074816/photo/1">twitter.com/AliZafarsays/s…</a></p>— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) <a href="https://twitter.com/AliZafarsays/status/331467217399074816">6 mai 2013</a></blockquote>

Why are rich kids called burger? Why not expensive restaurante? Since burgers are dirt cheap anyway.

bad day for naawaz sharif, video emerges of his corruption from park lane to pak and he also says he'l reign in the army and investigate the mumbai attacks again on cnn

Classic :

Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me, fool me thrice I'm a #PMLN supporter :D

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="fr"><p>Ata-ul-Haq Qasmi sb's bitterness in today's column shows <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PTI">#PTI</a> is posing serious challenge to <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PMLN">#PMLN</a><a href="http://t.co/Uut4GY1zJx" title="http://e.jang.com.pk/pic.asp?npic=05-06-2013/Pindi/images/06_10.gif">e.jang.com.pk/pic.asp?npic=0…</a></p>— Umar Cheema (@UmarCheema1) <a href="https://twitter.com/UmarCheema1/status/331361544527036417">6 mai 2013</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="fr"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PTI">#PTI</a> 's wind blowing---stronger and stronger by every passing day!</p>— Umar Cheema (@UmarCheema1) <a href="https://twitter.com/UmarCheema1/status/331395959810584576">6 mai 2013</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="fr"><p>Any idea of the crowd when @<a href="https://twitter.com/cmshehbaz">cmshehbaz</a> went to Sialkot last Saturday. I heard it was 5000. It must be worrying for <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23PMLN">#PMLN</a> if correct.</p>— Umar Cheema (@UmarCheema1) <a href="https://twitter.com/UmarCheema1/status/331407758853275648">6 mai 2013</a></blockquote>

^I'm sure that the picture has been posted, but that's the Sialkot jalsa Umar Cheema's talking about, kudos to Geo for using old videos

944942_10151596926086351_1224400273_n.jpg

Three PTI supporters gunned down

FAISALABAD: Three relatives of a Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) candidate for PP-51 were gunned down allegedly by the supporters of the Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) on Sunday over an election-related dispute in Chak Jhumra, police said.

The Muzaffar Tatla group, of Chak 185-RB, killed Safdar Bajwa, Ghulam Murtaza, Ali Raza and injured Ihtesham at their outhouse.

Police said the Tatla group had arranged a meeting for PML-N candidates for NA-75 Ghulam Rasool Sahi and PP-51 Azad Ali Tabbasum.

The Safdar Bajwa group which was supporting the PTI exchanged words with the Tatla group but locals intervened into the issue and pacified both sides.

Later, the Tatla group called the members of the Bajwa group, including Safdar Bajwa, Ghulam Murtaza, Ali Raza and Ihtesham at their outhouse to settle the issue. During the talks, the armed people of the Bajwa group opened indiscriminate fire killing Bajwa, Mustafa and Raza on the spot.

Ihtesham sustained bullet injuries and was shifted to hospital where his condition was pronounced stable.

Ajmal Cheema told Dawn that the three deceased were his close relatives who were gunned down over the election dispute.

City Police Officer Raja Riffat Mukhtar said both groups had brief fallout some three days ago but the issue was resolved. He said the bodies had been shifted to morgue for autopsy and action would be taken against the accused people after the registration of a case. He said both parties were trying to resolve the issue but the situation turned ugly resulting into the killing of three people.

Tariq Bajwa, who is contesting as PPP ticket for NA-75, said the incident was the result of a dispute over tickets distribution by the PML-N and the PTI. He said he had tried hard to pacify both sides but his efforts proved futile owing to the negligence of the police. He said the incident could have been avoided if police had taken precautionary measures after both groups had exchanged words three days ago.

He claimed that Bajwa group had also gunned down two people of Tatla group. However, the CPO did not confirm this report.

Bajwa said that the killers had celebrated the murders as they danced at the bodies.

http://dawn.com/2013/05/06/election...rs-gunned-down/comment-page-1/#comment-657725

JI had a good jalsa in Karachi ...it must have encouraged PTI supporters to gather tomorrow at Mizar-e-Quaid....but high turnout can not be expected at 11 am on a short notice....It is kind of a surprise jalsa...

PTI supporters are taking some serious beating all over punjab. It's time for leadership to wake up and protect our supporters. We have failed to highlight police +PMLN goons brutalities.

Mjha lagta hai k kisi din Nawaz Sharif taqreer krta krta ro para ga stage par......I admire the innocence he brings on his face during his speech as if he is the most downtrodden person on this planet..

Bara mian chota mian se bara adakaar hein..:P

Moeed Pirzada trolling :sharif :))

Someone must have told Imran that aggression pays in Election campaign, and apparently this flaying of cricket bat against the circus tigers is helping PTI a lot! this morning I saw a dream; it was grainy and hard to grasp as morning dreams are, but I remember either it was Imran or some young boys who were beating a meek looking lion or tiger, who looked terrified and wanted to run and then the "bhosa fillings" of the stuffed animal started to come out...it was hilarious! Lol! ...I am sure they won't turn this into an Advertisement..it was only a dream!

Good to see Sikh brothers joining the tsunami as well.

Minorities should vote PTI as the current parties have utterly failed to protect the lives and properties of all Pakistani citizens - especially the minorities.

NFP on Twitter:

IK: "bullet train, airport chooro.....insaan bunaoo ! Taaleem do. Insaan khud hi airport buna lain ge..."

See what you're missing Waqar :P

^^

Can't make out if its a spoon or fork from the pic. Maybe a spoonfork. ;)

tjgear_6608_012608_29139.jpg

If its kheer, either SMQ has never seen kheer in his life or he is one nadeeda person :)

Khan Sahab in Karachi right now. There is no Jalsa there so what is he doing there?

Iftikhar Ahmed on Kamran Khan confident that Nooras have 80 confirmed seats in Punjab. I like him as the jawabdeyh host and he has a lot of experience covering elections but I really, really hope he is wrong because if what he says is true, PMLN will easily form a government without even sweating for an alliance.

I like his interviews but as an analyst, not sure how much weight to give his predicitons. I think Cyril at Dawn is probably the most unbiased journalist around right now who is in the field touring all over rural and urban Punjab. His last article seemed to indicate that there is a second wave of 'tsunami' coming and IK may surprise a lot of people. Having said that he also stated that anyone making predicitons right now on who will win how many seats are "only the brave or foolish"

I think it will be very difficult for IK to make alliance with any of the two major parties.

I wonder, if PML-N and PPP also do not form an alliance, what then ???

Hung parliament ? Another election ? Caretaker govt. for another 6 month or an year ?

I like his interviews but as an analyst, not sure how much weight to give his predicitons. I think Cyril at Dawn is probably the most unbiased journalist around right now who is in the field touring all over rural and urban Punjab. His last article seemed to indicate that there is a second wave of 'tsunami' coming and IK may surprise a lot of people. Having said that he also stated that anyone making predicitons right now on who will win how many seats are "only the brave or foolish"

Yeah, I read Cyril's article. A lot of conflicting opinions coming from Pak journalists. Some are perhaps being driven by sentiment rather than reason, such as Hassan Nisar who was predicting a PTI clean sweep because of a gut feeling. Others are quite simply biased or maybe even induced to write PTI off.

As PPers and especially if you're young and active on social media it seems like its 90% PTI, but obviously thats not the ground reality.

Amir Mateen is another one who seems to making points based on ground realities and not giving predictions..

I think it will be very difficult for IK to make alliance with any of the two major parties.

I wonder, if PML-N and PPP also do not form an alliance, what then ???

Hung parliament ? Another election ? Caretaker govt. for another 6 month or an year ?

Even that looks very unlikely. PPP's entire marketing strategy is naming and shaming PMLN; there was a 1hr+ press conference of R Malik today about Sharif family's corruption and another one apparently tomorrow. I mean thats their entire hand basically given that they are reluctant or unwilling to lead rallies. It would be a loss of face for PMLN to ally with PPP now.

So basically I can't see why PPP or PMLN would agree to an alliance.

Even that looks very unlikely. PPP's entire marketing strategy is naming and shaming PMLN; there was a 1hr+ press conference of R Malik today about Sharif family's corruption and another one apparently tomorrow. I mean thats their entire hand basically given that they are reluctant or unwilling to lead rallies. It would be a loss of face for PMLN to ally with PPP now.

So basically I can't see why PPP or PMLN would agree to an alliance.

You really think PPP cares about face saving? Are you forgetting the alliance of PPP with Qaatil league? Both PPP and PML-N would join hands with each other if it got them power. They still think that the awaam are a bunch of fools.

100 seats is the magic number IMO. I don't see PPP winning that many, that leaves PML-N and PTI. Lets imagine a scenario that PML-N wins 80 seats and PTI 90 seats. To get to 172 they both will still need alliances and none of the smaller parties seats will be enough to cross the finish line, even if you combine them all together. That means either they form an alliance which seems next to impossible right now or both sit in opposition or one of them make alliance with PPP. Bottom line unless PML-N and PTI agree to form an alliance, every other scenario will have to include PPP in the coalition govt. Unless Ofcourse the tsunami materializes in person and PTI get to 120 + seats.

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=295664567235123" width="1280" height="720" frameborder="0"></iframe>

100 seats is the magic number IMO. I don't see PPP winning that many, that leaves PML-N and PTI. Lets imagine a scenario that PML-N wins 80 seats and PTI 90 seats. To get to 172 they both will still need alliances and none of the smaller parties seats will be enough to cross the finish line, even if you combine them all together. That means either they form an alliance which seems next to impossible right now or both sit in opposition or one of them make alliance with PPP. Bottom line unless PML-N and PTI agree to form an alliance, every other scenario will have to include PPP in the coalition govt. Unless Ofcourse the tsunami materializes in person and PTI get to 120 + seats.

We have a loophole :)

The democratic party... We can always send the decision to elected Central executive committee :)

I want PTI to sit in opposition though!

PAKISTAN Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan has quite wisely attracted a section of Shia vote bank which has traditionally been voting for PPP and Tehreek-e-Jafferia Pakistan in past elections.

Traditionally, PPP has been the choice of most of the voters of the Shia community in most of the general elections since 1988 due to its moderate stance. However, this vote bank which stands around 10 to 15% in almost every constituency of Punjab, KPK and even more in most of the districts falling in Sindh may show its support towards Imran on May 11, and there are multiple reasons for this.

PPP, along with other factors which has annoyed its voters due to the issues related with deliverance also seems to be on the losing side when it comes to the general voters belonging to Shia community who remained quite perturbed over the constant target killings of their brethren in Pakistan.

The sheer inability of the PPP government to protect Shia population, the target killing of members of Hazara community in Quetta and other parts of Balochistan as well as the tragedies like Abbas Town, Karachi have not only added to the resentment among voters but also brought them closer to Imran for a visible shift in its stance towards moderate and extremist forces.

PML-N, another mainstream party, somehow, doesn’t seem as the best of choices in general voters belonging to Shia community due to its alignment with banned outfits and most of them are considering Imran as a better option to vote.

This is noteworthy that even after the trend-setting rally of October 30, 2011 when Imran emerged as a genuine challenge to the mainstream parties, he remained under fire from moderate sides for his inclination towards Difa-e-Pakistan Council or for attending public meetings which were also attended by pro-Taliban elements. However, he showed a clear cut change in his political strategy and came up as a different politician in the later days which has not only restored PTI’s popularity graph but also attracted voters which traditionally remained inclined towards other parties. Imran Khan, quite intelligently removed the tag of being a pro-extremist forces as he was the first mainstream leader to visit Quetta and attend the sit-in staged by the bereaved families of the suicide attack victims of Hazara community.

Besides, he also condemned Lashkar-e-Jhangvi for carrying out attacks on Shia community besides demanding justice for the victims.

Very recently in Lahore, the women members of his family launched the party’s election campaign after visiting the shrine of Bibi Pak Daaman.

Recently, an SMS campaign against PML-N’s alignment with a banned organisation is also underway which reflects resentment of Shia voters against the party.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-5-175800-PPP-loses-PTI-gains-Shia-votes

aaj hi looney maang raha tha karachi keh kisi halkay ka...

Independent surveys to scientifically monitor the progress of the NA-250 Constituency show some very interesting results

PTI leads with 38%, MQM trails at 30% while JI gained to 15% (after their seat adjustment with PML-N)

So with only five days left the results clearly show that the competition is between PTI & MQM, while JI a distant third, is evidently dividing the anti-MQM vote bank to only help ensure MQM to sneak a win

Spread the message, make people aware that we all need to be united for a Naya Pakistan starting from Karachi.

942226_10151447693098063_487454071_n.jpg

honestly the independent cadidate jibran nasir is taking away all the votes from PTI
he has support but prolly will not win
HE is only dentoing PTI's vote bank which is not good news.

I have seen two great videos from Azm-e-Pakistan day by PTI. One was the one with Imran sitting with chants in the background, and then there was another one with kids talking about change.

Was Azm-e-Pakistan day covered by any channel? If so, can anyone post links to it?

Thanks for the updates guys, quite busy at work :( (WRONG TIMING)

Watched a show in Faisalabad today and same old rona dhona about Imran being new and inexperienced and Nawaz Sharif very cool, calm and experienced (Astaghfirullah). I have seen immense change in the last few months but sadly not enough roads, bridges or metro buses built by Imran so what's his right to rule our enlightened and knowledgeable nation.

Thanks for the updates guys, quite busy at work :( (WRONG TIMING)

Watched a show in Faisalabad today and same old rona dhona about Imran being new and inexperienced and Nawaz Sharif very cool, calm and experienced (Astaghfirullah). I have seen immense change in the last few months but sadly not enough roads, bridges or metro buses built by Imran so what's his right to rule our enlightened and knowledgeable nation.

Not to worry. Sharif's jalsa in Faisalabad was nowhere near as big as that of Imran just a day earlier. Change is in the air.

Last night was also the largest jalsa in Multan's history.

<iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10200423055191730" width="1280" height="720" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Right now Imran is neck to neck with Nalayk league... if not a touch ahead of them...

what will make or break the whole thing is their final round/shot... the rally kam jalsa from lhr on GT road to Pindi to Isl with 12-13 stoppages...

this will tell you if there will be a clean sweep or not, if masses show up for the rally and then each jalsa point, then you will know for sure, that tsunami aaye gi nahin, aa gai hai...

at the same time, if that does happen, i wont be surprised if nalayk league or any other opposition tries to get violence/blasts etc to deter the elections...

thats all in a nut shell...