Day 3, Test 2 Thread. Pakistan Vs England [22/11/05]

The lead is most important, and in order to get lead we must wickets quickly, but getting them out 2day is not possible cause we will only have one hour to bowl afer tea.

yk said:
The lead is most important, and in order to get lead we must wickets quickly, but getting them out 2day is not possible cause we will only have one hour to bowl afer tea.

A Kaneria or Shoaib special would do it.

yk said:

Yes, of course, if Pakistan is to win this is most important.

However, I prefer looking at it from England's perspective. They HAVE to prevent a Pakistani victory AND try and win. Their problems are two-fold. Hence the pressure on them is greater.

Sooner, rather than later, they'll realise they can't really win this one. That's when they go into defense mode and play for a draw.

So I think, a draw is the most likely result.

Do the bowlers look like they are just going through the motions? Or does it look like they are putting in some effort?

Ace Base said:
Yes, of course, if Pakistan is to win this is most important.

However, I prefer looking at it from England's perspective. They HAVE to prevent a Pakistani victory AND try and win. Their problems are two-fold. Hence the pressure on them is greater.

Sooner, rather than later, they'll realise they can't really win this one. That's when they go into defense mode and play for a draw.

So I think, a draw is the most likely result.

If England play for the draw, they will lose.

Karachi 2000 was lost because Moin Khan was playing for the draw.

Invictus said:
It does'nt matter who but as long as wickets are picked up. I wont mind a 50-60 runs lead.

50-60 will be fine.

All we will need to do tomorrow is score 240 or so....290-300 target on day 5 pitch. England will crumble.

CrickFan said:
hair has a racist look on his face everytime pakistanis appeal
hair did not upheld some very close shouts against inzy n youhana earlier on. except for those controversial catches and that run out, i think the umpires have done a wonderful job as far as lbw's, bat/pads, etc are concerned. just because he dint give those lbw decisions [ only one was really close ], doesnt mean u can call him a racist. he is strict, yes but rascist? i dont think so

zaf1986 said:
If England play for the draw, they will lose.

Karachi 2000 was lost because Moin Khan was playing for the draw.

Akhil kareem, I think you are right about this although Pakistan have to bowl really well for that to happen.

tahaqureshi said:
Do the bowlers look like they are just going through the motions? Or does it look like they are putting in some effort?

Everyone is trying their hardest!

There are a lot of appeals. Some of them closer than others. Danish has already been lectured by Hair about over appealing. The momentum looked to be with us but England settled down a bit by the end of the session. We will need an early wicket....in the next 5 or 6 overs. Then we can run through them.

Honestly this eventful series has really fired me up. I want this series so much!

Hitman said:
I don't think we'll be able to get a substantial lead, if any.

Just a matter of one wicket hitman.

Then we are into Grandma, Hoggard and the medium pacer.

50-60 will be fine.

All we will need to do tomorrow is score 240 or so....290-300 target on day 5 pitch. England will crumble.

Exactly my thoughts.

50 runs should be sufficient. Even if your batting collapses you'll get about 200 runs to bowl at. On the 5th day, this is very, very tricky.

Ace Base said:
Akhil kareem, I think you are right about this although Pakistan have to bowl really well for that to happen.
Inshallah, akhi, optimism!!

Honestly this eventful series has really fired me up. I want this series so much!
So true! I firmly thought Pak are going to get thrashed 3-0 esp after the Ashes win. Multan has been a turnaround - I still cant believe it!

The harami you mean, Hoggy is the medium pacer. At least Afridi made him look like a club standard medium pacer. :D

Hitman said:
I don't think we'll be able to get a substantial lead, if any.

I have the same feeling, but the longer England bat, the more problems for them coz then their bowlers will have to get us out quickly and cheaply so that the target is small.

50-60 will be fine.

but u never know with Pakistan batting. if we are able to get these last wkts cheaply actually it wil be a tricky little period for Pak batsman to survive. Pakistan has the tendency to throw initiative. bcoz of our inept fielding our batsman will not have the freedom of a big lead and have to play cautiously in the 2nd innings. our first priority shd be to save the game.

Although I hate to say it, Kaneria is only a 5th Day specialist against good attacks.

He'll do them in on Thursday, but we need the wickets now and again he will have to rely on the batsmen to build up a sizeable lead, whereas Warne-like bowlers create pressure themselves.

Kaneria really needs to cut down the variations, work on his in-drift, of which he's perfectly capable of bowling and bring in more of the Oohs and Aahs.....or in Kaneria's case WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHH!!

And should we be highly optimistic about that wicket? (I wouldn't know cos I ain't watching the match) :13:

Giles bhi ullu ka ****** Akhtar k yorker ka wait kar raha hai........

zaf1986 said:
If that is our priority, we deserve to lose.

We should be looking to win. ALL the way.

why we deserve to lose if we are looking to win the series. We should definitely go for a win. But bhai zaf we missed loads of chances and it seem wont get a sizeable lead (around 150) to be in that comfort zone where our batsman wud have played their natural game. Faisalabad is famous for Pakistan batting collapses and u never know. thats what i mean by playing cautious. i have this bad feeling that a collapse is somewhere on the card. may be its bcoz that Inzi is bound to fail in 1 inning or so acc to the law of avg.

as i said i hope i m wrong and Pakistan wins this test match to wrap the series.

nedian21 said:
why we deserve to lose if we are looking to win the series. We should definitely go for a win. But bhai zaf we missed loads of chances and it seem wont get a sizeable lead (around 150) to be in that comfort zone where our batsman wud have played their natural game. Faisalabad is famous for Pakistan batting collapses and u never know. thats what i mean by playing cautious. i have this bad feeling that a collapse is somewhere on the card. may be its bcoz that Inzi is bound to fail in 1 inning or so acc to the law of avg.

as i said i hope i m wrong and Pakistan wins this test match to wrap the series.

Merey bhai, playing cautiously I agree with. Playing for the draw I don't agree with it.

We didn't field too well I agree. But inshallah with a lead between 60-70, we can force a result.

Kaneria needs to come off now. Akhtar and either Afridi or Sami should be bowling.

108.5 Danish Kaneria to Jones, FOUR, short ball, outside off, goes for
the cut shot, edges it to slip, Younis has not seen it, another
chance goes down

Of course, if such precise fielding continues, then Pakistan could find themselves in a spot of bother.

Shoaib very unlucky there, just missed the off stump.

zaf1986 said:
Merey bhai, playing cautiously I agree with. Playing for the draw I don't agree with it.

We didn't field too well I agree. But inshallah with a lead between 60-70, we can force a result.

ya INSHALLAH.

Dropped catch?! What you all on about? That wasnt a chance

Look on the bright side, though.

Kaneria just 18 runs away from the prerequisite 100 before he gets a wicket. Just be patient, guys.

It came off the bat far too quickly nothing much Younis could have done about that. It was a chance for a non existant short third man

Shoaib can now join the elite group of bowlers who have managed to tame Ashley Giles.

Cricbuzz crack me up:

Some dude on the shoutbox: "afridi is chucker, especially in the one dayers" - ***?

Now dan must keep teh pressure on at the other end. NO BOUNDARIES AND NO NO BALLS

How Giles never got out in that Shoaib over, is beyond me!!!

Billy said:
Shoaib can now join the elite group of bowlers who have managed to tame Ashley Giles.
He's already in that group for his yorker to Giles in Multan. :D

i think wicket is coming because kaneria is coming close to 100 runs

I give Giles two more overs. Whatever happens today, he will fall before close of play.

Inside edge from Giles gets him a single! Shoaib having no luck

alghazzali said:
Please tell me that was sarcasm!!

Half... but he has actually only had 2 bowlers in recent series who've made them their bunny; Warne and Shoaib. His baseball shot off McGrath to bring up his 50 will live long in the memory.

Another 90mph yorker dug out!!!! How much longer before it gets through

England seem prepared for the yorkers and short balls are not too helpful on this pitch!!

But if we knock one over, we'll run through the rest.

It is even stevens now .. maybe England are in a better frame of mind bcoz they have fought back well (with enormous contributions from Pakistani fielders) ..if Pakistan batting collapses in the second innings ..who know ..England may level the series

good bowlin by pak here

england tail proving to be extremely irritating - good match this!

England won't even be able to match Pakistan's score by close of play.

They might do it some time tomorrow, but that doesn't leave them much time to build a substantial lead. And besides, they don't have the batsmen to enable them to do so.

CrickFan said:
It is even stevens now .. maybe England are in a better frame of mind bcoz they have fought back well (with enormous contributions from Pakistani fielders) ..if Pakistan batting collapses in the second innings ..who know ..England may level the series

Either it will be a draw, or pakistan will win. :D

Kaneria might have won matches Pakistan - but I don't know how many he has cost them .. I don't have the records ..anyone who bowls that many overs is bound to get wickets

What the heck is Waqar talking about. Is he watching the same game or what. He keeps on pointing out that Pakistan will be batting in the 4th innings, and if they have to chase 200 on the last day, it will be difficult. Yeah, that will be difficult, but he's got the teams mixed up. :20: