Official Pakistan 2013 General Elections thread

http://dawn.com/2013/05/15/pti-wins-top-slot-in-kp/

PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) , Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) finalised on Wednesday a formula over the formation of government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, according to which JI and QWP would get three ministries each whereas, the PTI would hold the chief minister and speaker positions in the province.

The Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) also announced that it would sit in the opposition benches of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s provincial assembly.The General Secretary of PTI Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Shaukat Youzafzai when contacted said : “Yes QWP, JI and PTI have agreed on a power sharing formula and the government formation formula would be announced today.

”The sources in PTI confirmed that the Qaumi Wattan Party would get the slot of Deputy Speaker, one senior minister and minister while the Jamaat-i-Islami would be getting two ministers and a senior minister’s slot.The PTI would also be announcing the names of the leader of the house shortly while the speaker’s slot would also be retained by it.“No we have not yet finalised the names of the Chief Minister and the Deputy Speaker but yes we would be retaining both the slots,” Shaukat said.

The PTI leaders Pervaiz Khattak and the Asad Qaiser are both engaged in power struggle for the coveted slot of the KPK chief minister and a decision with regards to who would head PTI’s rather inexperienced government is still awaited. Some sources also say that one of the coalition partners of the PTI has shown reservations on the name of Pervaiz Khattak so the PTI was mulling over the name of some other candidate, probably Asad Qaiser, which would be finalised after PTI chief Imran Khan approves the name later today. Shaukat Yousafzai also confirmed that they have a strength of 67 members now and the modalities for the government would be announced soon.

http://dawn.com/2013/05/15/imran-video/

LAHORE: Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan on Wednesday vowed to cooperate with incoming Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on terrorism and other major challenges following key elections.

Khan made the remarks from his hospital bed, where he is laid up with a fractured spine after falling at a campaign rally, after his Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf polled third place, behind Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N).

“We have decided that despite severe differences that we have, we will work together to resolve major national problems including terrorism,” Khan said in a video message aired during a PTI press conference.

Sharif had earlier pledged to work with Khan for the good of the country, after visiting the former cricket star in hospital on Tuesday.

“Elections are over and we all as a nation want to move forward,” Khan said, adding he wanted all politicians and the military to sit down together and find a solution to domestic terrorism, which has killed thousands of people in Pakistan.

“We cannot ensure prosperity until we eliminate the issue of terrorism,” he said.

Khan also has vowed to put together a provincial coalition government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and turn it into a “role model” for the rest of the country.

ECP should investigate rigging allegations

Expressed his reservations over the election process at some polling stations, Khan alleged Wednesday that vote rigging had taken place in 25 constituencies, and urged the Election Commission of Pakistan to immediately investigate allegations of rigging and irregularities and conduct a recount in four National Assembly constituencies.

“It is the responsibility of the Election Commission to satisfy the voters. We suspect polls have been rigged in 25 constituencies. Today we are giving the ECP four constituencies where recount should be carried out with the use of fingerprinting,” said Khan.

“We will submit an application today. The ECP has already ordered recount at one of these four constituencies, but without fingerprinting,” said the PTI chief, urging the use of fingerprints to make the process more credible.

“We have calculated that it will take two days for the ECP for the process of recount with fingerprints at four constituencies.”

Khan said that it was important to satisfy voters who were protesting in the streets of Lahore and Karachi. Khan also said that the exercise was also essential to curb rigging in the future, and to take the democratic process forward in a smooth and acceptable manner.

“This is the right of the people…and will ensure the democratic process grows stronger,” he said. “We expect the ECP to fulfill their responsibility.”

“These people who are protesting against alleged rigging…it is the ECP’s responsibility to satisfy them, otherwise these people will lose their faith on the democratic process and will not come out to vote in the future.”

MQM not to accept re-polling in Karachi’s NA-250

http://dawn.com/2013/05/14/mqm-not-to-accept-re-polling-in-karachis-na-250/

KARACHI: The Muttahida Qaumi Movement has rejected the decision by the Election Commission of Pakistan to conduct re-polling in NA-250, where polling was postponed on May 11 due to reports of alleged rigging and absence of electoral staff.

In a televised press conference on Tuesday, MQM leader Mustafa Kamal rejected the election commission’s decision, blaming the ECP of failing to ensure timely polling. Kamal said the commission was covering up its own failures by announcing re-polling at 43 polling stations of the constituency on May 19.

The MQM leader also said the party would protest against the ECP’s decision.

Polling was not held as per schedule at some stations in Karachi on May 11, after which the ECP postponed polling at 43 polling stations of NA-250, PS-112 and PS-113 constituencies.

The ECP announced earlier today that polling at the said stations would be held on Sunday.

Speaking at the press conference, Kamal said an investigation should be launched as to why polling could not be started at these polling stations and was delayed for hours.

The MQM leader also questioned why ballot boxes could not reach these stations despite the fact that polling was supervised by the ECP with the Army’s help.

The media’s attention was focused on NA-250 where PTI activists openly hurled abuses at MQM, which went unchecked by the election authorities, he alleged.

MQM has also announced to legally challenge the commission’s decision in the court.

the MQM will now do what they always do and kill some people, order a strike and thus help eliminate any chance of an election in NA-250.

Has Imran specified where he wants repolling?
PTI wants re-polling in 20 constituencies in Punjab (15 national and 5 provincial).

The 15 national constituencies are:
1. NA-57
2. NA-81
3. NA-85
4. NA-86
5. NA-93
6. NA-118
7. NA-120
8. NA-122
9. NA-125
10. NA-127
11. NA-128
12. NA-135
13. NA-168
14. NA-170
15. NA-190

The 5 provincial constituencies are:
1. PP-7
2. PP-68
3. PP-160
4. PP-281
5. dont know

http://dawn.com/2013/05/15/imran-urges-sc-ecp-to-take-rigging-complaints-seriously/

431955_10151474731899527_1650561006_n.jpg

Protests in Canada

PTI wants re-polling in 20 constituencies in Punjab (15 national and 5 provincial).

The 15 national constituencies are:
1. NA-57
2. NA-81
3. NA-85
4. NA-86
5. NA-93
6. NA-118
7. NA-120
8. NA-122
9. NA-125
10. NA-127
11. NA-128
12. NA-135
13. NA-168
14. NA-170
15. NA-190

The 5 provincial constituencies are:
1. PP-7
2. PP-68
3. PP-160
4. PP-281
5. dont know

http://dawn.com/2013/05/15/imran-urges-sc-ecp-to-take-rigging-complaints-seriously/

I thought they asked for repolling all over karachi as well, no?

Hard to rig when whole country is watching it closely instead of on election day.

i dont think it has anything to do with rigging a second time. Yes they know they have rigged it by enormous scales, and they also know they will be caught out if the elections take place all over Karachi a second time.

But, the main reason & i guess a valid reason as well is the fact that rigging was not limited only to Karachi, it was done in Punjab (@ different scales), KPK, Balochistan as well. So what MQM keeps on saying is, if you want elections again in Karachi, you might as well do it all over Pakistan again. Because rigging was prevalent all over Pakistan on the 11th.
You cannot have one rule of law for one state/city and another for another city.

i dont think it has anything to do with rigging a second time. Yes they know they have rigged it by enormous scales, and they also know they will be caught out if the elections take place all over Karachi a second time.

But, the main reason & i guess a valid reason as well is the fact that rigging was not limited only to Karachi, it was done in Punjab (@ different scales), KPK, Balochistan as well. So what MQM keeps on saying is, if you want elections again in Karachi, you might as well do it all over Pakistan again. Because rigging was prevalent all over Pakistan on the 11th.
You cannot have one rule of law for one state/city and another for another city.

Its not like ECP is doing reelection in all of Karachi right? Just in those 43 polling stations where it was stopped. And also they can easly check with help of Nadra if votes are real or bogus. It may take 2-3 days or even couple weeks but it doesnt matter.

If fingers print are checked then next time no one will bother to rig.

Its not like ECP is doing reelection in all of Karachi right? Just in those 43 polling stations where it was stopped. And also they can easly check with help of Nadra if votes are real or bogus. It may take 2-3 days or even couple weeks but it doesnt matter.

If fingers print are checked then next time no one will bother to rig.

Yes. The next 3-4 days should go someway in making things clear.

Me and Imran Khan were planned to be assassinated at Liaqat Bagh on 9th of May: Sheikh Rashid

Get ready for some more bloodshed in Karachi..The Altaf bhai way of handling things

Me and Imran Khan were planned to be assassinated at Liaqat Bagh on 9th of May: Sheikh Rashid

I do not know about Liaqat Bagh but there were serious threats to Imran Khan that's the reason that guards were over anxious to give him body cover on that lift even if there was not enough space on the ladder...

Get ready for some more bloodshed in Karachi..The Altaf bhai way of handling things

Their support is at the lowest point now among public, media or internationally....

So, it would be best chance for an army operation to eliminate their militant wings,

Bloodshed at this stage will cost them heavily..

Their support is at the lowest point now among public, media or internationally....

So, it would be best chance for an army operation to eliminate their militant wings,

then they will cry about political victimization?

NS tried this in 1997 and it was a disaster...PMLN would be stupid to try it again it would suicide for them

easy thing for NS will be to quietly spend 5 years as PM and eat and fill his pockets as much as possible...might be his lost shot at this

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/c0t26_Pb-ho" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

KARACHI: The Sindh government in early hours of Thursday postponed the scheduled May 19 re-polls in some polling stations of Karachi’s NA-250 constituency due to security concerns, DawnNews reported.

In a letter written to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the Sindh government has apologized on failing to conduct the re-polls in the much debated constituency of the metropolis citing serious security concerns.

The Election Commission had announced re-election in some 43 polling stations of a national and two provincial assembly seats from Karachi.

Polling was postponed in the said NA constituency on May 11 due to reports of alleged rigging and absence of electoral staff and material.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) had rejected the ECP’s decision on Tuesday and has been staging a protest sit-in outside the commission’s building in Karachi ever since.

The party wants to see re-poll in the whole constituency rather than as they say in only 43 ‘posh’ polling stations.

On the other hand, MQM’s opponents – Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) and Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) – are protesting for re-polling across the city.

Meanwhile, Muttahida Qaumi Movement, in the latest development, has announced to call off their sit-in till the ECP comes to a decision regarding the petition filed by the party on the issue.

Speaking to the party protesters, Dr Farooq Sattar said they will decide the further course of action after the ECP’s verdict later on Thursday.

Now what.

^ Just watch. PTI leadership is not joining these protests. If that remains the case, forget about PTI winning this.

I was at Shahra-e-Faisal protest and Arif Alvi was there, so was Ali Zaidi (NA 252 candidate) and some other PS and NA leaders. Even MWM and JI had presence there. Now what do you want? Should Imran be leading those protests? :P

Imran has wisely distanced central leadership from these protests. This wasnt systematic and countrywide rigging, it was rather selective rigging operated mainly at constituency level, except for Karachi ofcourse :P . That is why PTI has accepted election results however they've launched complain in those selective seats.

@ waqar

Chill maro...

Mujhe to Lagta hai aab yeh Tehreek, Seraiki, Sindhi aur Urdu-speakers from karachi walay chalaien gay!

the latest in karachi is everyone's going to rush to the polling stations in the re-elections and by elections to vote for bat

I hope it stays this way but did someone notice how talibans were all over Karachi before the elections and now it's all good. I was even surprised at the increased violence and attacks just before the elections otherwise there was hardly anything of that sort till couple of months before elections.

Dr Shahid Masood's tweet on same issue

"Before elections there were no political gatherings in Karachi bc of Taliban Threat!Good to see they have allowed dharnas after elections.

I hope it stays this way but did someone notice how talibans were all over Karachi before the elections and now it's all good. I was even surprised at the increased violence and attacks just before the elections otherwise there was hardly anything of that sort till couple of months before elections.

Dr Shahid Masood's tweet on same issue

"Before elections there were no political gatherings in Karachi bc of Taliban Threat!Good to see they have allowed dharnas after elections.

As many people mentioned, MQM are experts is dramas. Blowing up stuff to gain sympathy and blocking political campaigning in karachi was a neat plan wasnt it.

I agree totally...Infact their influence is at its lowest right now..People are ready to come on live TV and call him all sorts of names(The protesters on 11th May).

You cannot have a better time to strike...But the problem again is the only force capable of doing that are the Armed forces...and they have been in bed with MQM for the past two decades.

I was at Shahra-e-Faisal protest and Arif Alvi was there, so was Ali Zaidi (NA 252 candidate) and some other PS and NA leaders. Even MWM and JI had presence there. Now what do you want? Should Imran be leading those protests? :P

Imran has wisely distanced central leadership from these protests. This wasnt systematic and countrywide rigging, it was rather selective rigging operated mainly at constituency level, except for Karachi ofcourse :P . That is why PTI has accepted election results however they've launched complain in those selective seats.

Actually yes, Imran should be leading those protests! I think his statements have been a lot more aggressive in the last day or two. I dont understand why you think Imran distancing himself from these protests is a wise thing

@ waqar

Chill maro...

Mujhe to Lagta hai aab yeh Tehreek, Seraiki, Sindhi aur Urdu-speakers from karachi walay chalaien gay!

Yaar for this tehreek to be fruitful, you cant have these gatherings all over the place. Someone has to lead them. PTI leaders have been there, but I would like Imran to be there as well

Talat Hussain speaks out.

922993_10151390296396766_1474585806_n.png

PTI supporters make fake Twitter tweets and FB accounts to spread ''rigged Punjab elections'' claim.. ...Fake tweets from Talat Hussain,Javed Choudhary,Saleem Safi,Abdul Kadeer Khan

That's pathetic, i have personally sent many tweets to ask people to stop this non sense as it doesn't help your cause. We are as disappointed as anyone out there but doesn't mean you start doing this.

Talat is actually very frustrated with PTI fans (partly his own fault the way he reacted after Imran fell). He was arguing with Asad Umar without making much sense and even Asad had to respond "Mujhay tou Talat sahib ka argument bilkul samajh hi nahi aa raha" which shows Talat was making no sense and was sounding quite bitter in his criticism.

how do we know this is NOT a fake account also???

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ZDJQuYOrUh4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Dont know if this has been posted here before but if they were so well prepared to cheat I am not so sure that PMLN would have gotten many of the seats anyway. I know this is not a PMLN video but this just makes me sure that the rigging is a lot more prevalent than People realize. And the voting turnout of 40-45% in the last few election probably are lies as well.
I checked around that many people don't vote just give their ID to 1 person in the family and that person goes out and votes for all the 10-12 people in the family. PTI is right in asking for 2nd election in Karachi as I am now sure instead of the 2-3 seats I was expecting PTI can actually grab 12 or more seats in Karachi.
And with a free and fair election PTI would have grabbed 70-80 seats rather than the 45-50 even the most ardent but politically aware PTI supporter was expecting. But we got just 30 so 40-50 seats were stolen from us.

But the problem again is the only force capable of doing that are the Armed forces...and they have been in bed with MQM for the past two decades.

How the heck have they been "in bed" with the MQM for the past two decades? Do you not remember Operation Clean Up and the Jinnahpur affair (http://archives.dawn.com/archives/35615) of the mid 1990s under NS's direction? Look, I'm not defending the MQM whatsoever (and for what it's worth, I'm "Urdu-speaking," whatever that means.. I'm Pakistani, and that's it), but those who experienced the unrelenting violence which plagued Karachi in the 1990s, and which is known to have been under the direction of the federal government and the armed forces, including my own family members, have very real reason to be wary of PML-N and NS coming to power.

I would love to see AH's hold on my city wane and become an eventual nullity, but let's get out history right before we jump to conclusions.

How the heck have they been "in bed" with the MQM for the past two decades? Do you not remember Operation Clean Up and the Jinnahpur affair (http://archives.dawn.com/archives/35615) of the mid 1990s under NS's direction? Look, I'm not defending the MQM whatsoever (and for what it's worth, I'm "Urdu-speaking," whatever that means.. I'm Pakistani, and that's it), but those who experienced the unrelenting violence which plagued Karachi in the 1990s, and which is known to have been under the direction of the federal government and the armed forces, including my own family members, have very real reason to be wary of PML-N and NS coming to power.

I would love to see AH's hold on my city wane and become an eventual nullity, but let's get out history right before we jump to conclusions.

The armed forces got in bed with MQM after the 2nd election under Musharaff. The first election were actually quite fair and MMA even won quite a few seats in Karachi. Musharaff started off well doing all the right things. But like they say power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. To stay in power he started selling our country first to US and then to PMLQ and MQM which is more or less the same as PMLN just the head of the snake is different.
And people of Karachi are rightfully scared of Pmln as the head of the party at the moment is something like MQM under a different guise and are they likely to clash in Karachi. If Pti is able to wrest control from then it would be a lot safer for people in Karachi.

306740_577111508985855_117976427_n.jpg

phixed :asif

Vote kum ho gaye :))) ....zameen khaa gayee ya asman nigg'el gaya

only in Pakistan!

The armed forces got in bed with MQM after the 2nd election under Musharaff. The first election were actually quite fair and MMA even won quite a few seats in Karachi. Musharaff started off well doing all the right things. But like they say power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. To stay in power he started selling our country first to US and then to PMLQ and MQM which is more or less the same as PMLN just the head of the snake is different.
And people of Karachi are rightfully scared of Pmln as the head of the party at the moment is something like MQM under a different guise and are they likely to clash in Karachi. If Pti is able to wrest control from then it would be a lot safer for people in Karachi.

I think you're simplifying and conflating the parties and their origins and objectives, but I get what you mean. And I'm not disputing the fact that the Army likely colluded with MQM or at least stood idly by while they wreaked havoc on the city, but all I'm saying is it's important to understand all the issues as well as the historical background. Loag aiseyhi faaltoo dehshatgardi par nahin utar aatey hain. There's a root cause for these things, and Operation Clean-Up was an extremely painful event for Karachiites to endure. I believe the previous poster had said "the past two decades." That's just simply wrong.

Yes it's final that Siddique Khan of PTI has won the election on PP7 so Ch Nisar can't become CM Punjab :) , now he will go back to his other option of Petroleum ministry.

Isn't that Irfan Siddiqui? lol and people think these people are unbiased, neat and clean journalists. Let's see if we can find Ata ul Haq Qasmi and Mushtaq Minhas there as well.

Yep, the man in glasses is Irfan Siddiqui....

Ata ul Haq Qasmi was actually seen sitting in a PML N victory meeting next morning after elections...

Yep, the man in glasses is Irfan Siddiqui....

Ata ul Haq Qasmi was actually seen sitting in a PML N victory meeting next morning after elections...

EXACTLY!! Some people still think these people aren't biased.

Does anyone know under what NA and PA seat(#) does lalamusa, kharian etc.. come in? Like is it NA 96? And which party won there?

its 104 or 106

Noon league won all of these apart from the middle one where pervez elahi won NA105 I believe

I think Kharian is NA104 where N gunda Abid Raza won with 94k votes and PTI second with 60k.

N-League entirely swept away from Taxila/Wah :))
I was amazed on hearing that Ch. Nisar had managed to win a provincial seat from our constituency. Justice has been served now Alhamdulillah.

It will be interesting to see what the other recounts bring up.

N-League entirely swept away from Taxila/Wah :))
I was amazed on hearing that Ch. Nisar had managed to win a provincial seat from our constituency. Justice has been served now Alhamdulillah.

It will be interesting to see what the other recounts bring up.

On recounts they check finger prints?

i thought there was no rigging in Punjab...where are the PMLN supporters now...abhi bhi andhe ho ya kuch nazar aa raha hai

TAXILLA: Senior Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) leader Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan lost Punjab’s provincial assembly seat from Taxilla’s PP-7 to Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) candidate Siddiq Khan after a recount in six polling stations of the constituency, DawnNews reported.

Uffffffffffffffffffffff chalo
THIS WARRANTS RE ELECTION

map1.jpg

PTI share of votes more but less seats but N less share and more seats. Why cant seats be divided based on votes? That way people wont consider their votes wasted.

Proportional representation though leads to perpetual coalitions and exactly the kind of horse-trading and political bargaining behind the scenes that people detest in Pak politics. FPTP is terrible though so some kind of compromise like AV which they have in Australia would be better as it redresses the excesses of FPTP without the need for full PR that would lead to permanent parliamentary deadlock.